View Full Version : Match Updates Brondby 0-1 (Gray) Hibs

21-07-2016, 04:52 PM
Here we go again!

Team news, boozers, pastry updates here

Humo
21-07-2016, 04:55 PM
Hibs fans starting to pour into the stadium now. It's been a sea of green and white from the station to the stadium!

Sent from my SM-A500F using Tapatalk

21-07-2016, 04:59 PM
Mates have been sending me videos all day. So, so jealous right now.

Hopefully the boys can do the business on the park. Not expecting a result but a good performance that allows us to hold our heads high will be fine.

21-07-2016, 05:06 PM
Live score app has Keatings playing, Cummings not.

Live score app is colin nish

21-07-2016, 05:09 PM
Laidlaw in goals

21-07-2016, 05:10 PM
Best team we could name with Fyvie out injured. Good luck lads.

Laidlaw starts in goals. Cummings and Holt up top.

From 3rd choice at Raith to Europa League in a couple of months. Huge chance for the guy to stake his claim.

STARTING LINE-UP | Laidlaw, Gray, McGregor, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, McGinn, McGeouch, Holt, Cummings.

SUBS | Virtanen, Crane, Forster, Stanton, Harris, Keatings, Boyle

21-07-2016, 05:11 PM
Laidlaw starts in goals. Cummings and Holt up top.

From 3rd choice at Raith to Europa League in a couple of months. Huge chance for the guy to stake his claim.

Massive night for him.

21-07-2016, 05:11 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibsOfficial 2m2 minutes ago
STARTING LINE-UP | Laidlaw, Gray, McGregor, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, McGinn, McGeouch, Holt, Cummings.

Hibernian FC ‏@HibsOfficial 2m2 minutes ago

21-07-2016, 05:13 PM
Massive night for the goalie.

I worried Lennon was gonna stick with 4 at the back.... I've said for the last 6 months or so that against the top sides that can cause us trouble 532 is the best system to play. Chuffed.

Cmon Hibs right fi the start we can do this 💚💚💚

21-07-2016, 05:15 PM
Read an interview with Palsson earlier who said his current team played 4-4-2 against them at the weekend and they got humped 4-0. Hopefully they're just rotten.

Come on Hibs, Berlin is calling me.

thommo1875
21-07-2016, 05:15 PM
Anyone know a good stream for the game?

21-07-2016, 05:18 PM
Why is Premier Sports showing us what appears to be the entire Copa America when Brondby v Hibs coverage is advertised as starting at 6?

21-07-2016, 05:23 PM
Gutted Boyle has been dropped. He was our key man in the last game

#persevered
21-07-2016, 05:24 PM

I like the look of this, it's solid. Huge night for Laidlaw though, hope he has a belter.

21-07-2016, 05:28 PM
Anyone know a good stream for the game? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

iPad universal hd TVs available in ocficial apple App Store

21-07-2016, 05:28 PM
Why is Premier Sports showing us what appears to be the entire Copa America when Brondby v Hibs coverage is advertised as starting at 6?
6.55 I believe

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

TheCabbage
21-07-2016, 05:40 PM
Doesn't do much for Otso's confidence. What happens now if we need to call on him?
Can see him being unhappy and looking for the exit door now.

21-07-2016, 05:42 PM

21-07-2016, 05:44 PM
Doesn't do much for Otso's confidence. What happens now if we need to call on him?

Same as an outfield player. You drop a clanger, you risk being dropped.

21-07-2016, 05:44 PM

I'd rather the manager picked the team he thinks will win rather than worrying about Virtanens state of mind. It's unlikely either he or Laidlaw will be our number 1 this season anyway.

thommo1875
21-07-2016, 05:45 PM
iPad universal hd TVs available in ocficial apple App Store

Cheers [emoji1184]

Can see him being unhappy and looking for the exit door now.Why can you see that? This could motivate him to improve and fight for his place.

I am too, however believe Boyle will rip them a new one with half an hour to go as heat here is rather warm

Should have added if he comes on as sub

TheCabbage
21-07-2016, 05:48 PM
Why can you see that? This could motivate him to improve and fight for his place.

Overlooked for Logan.
1 game, 1 mistake overlooked for Raiths reserve keeper.

If it was me in my role my CV would be out there if it appeared I wasn't rated.

TheCabbage
21-07-2016, 05:50 PM
I'd rather the manager picked the team he thinks will win rather than worrying about Virtanens state of mind. It's unlikely either he or Laidlaw will be our number 1 this season anyway.

A bigger gamble playing Laidlaw than Otso IMO.
Do we know how many games he's played, last first team game etc.

Not slating him - just know nothing about him

TheCabbage
21-07-2016, 05:51 PM
Anyway time for Premier Sports

21-07-2016, 05:53 PM
A first choice keeper should have been in weeks ago to prepare for the new season. However, having chose Otso last week, he should have stuck with him today. Yeah it was a howler, but let's see how he would have reacted from that. Laidlaw is a much bigger gamble here.

21-07-2016, 06:02 PM
These Danes are a noisy bunch.

21-07-2016, 06:03 PM
Looks like 3-5-2

21-07-2016, 06:04 PM
Looks like the same ref as last week can anyone confirm?

21-07-2016, 06:07 PM
Decent energetic start...compared to Aberdeen earlier!

I don't think so.

The guy last week was Spanish iirc, I'm sure they said this one's Romanian.

He's started off a bit differently to last week's - if that isn't a booking for McGregor's challenge then I don't know what is.

norwayhibs

Romanian ref I think

21-07-2016, 06:08 PM

Different ref

21-07-2016, 06:08 PM
guid hibs support

21-07-2016, 06:10 PM
Marv slow with possession a couple of times already. A bit quicker feet so we can string a few passes together

21-07-2016, 06:10 PM
No sure about this zonal marking malarky :rolleyes:

21-07-2016, 06:12 PM
No sure about this zonal marking malarky :rolleyes:

Zones don't score goals!

21-07-2016, 06:15 PM
Gray as so often last season is out best out ball, tons of space down the right hand side.

21-07-2016, 06:15 PM
Gray as so often last season is our best out ball, tons of space down the right hand side.

CyberSauzee
21-07-2016, 06:16 PM
Amazing how many folk are shouting for foul throws. Read the rules

21-07-2016, 06:19 PM
Holt in serious pain after a 3rd foul

21-07-2016, 06:19 PM
Ref does not want to give Hibs any free kicks!

21-07-2016, 06:20 PM
The numbers on the back are pure Fishers era, aren't they? Never thought I'd see Ralphy Callachan in orange boots!

I think that we're doing not too bad, a wee bit of fortune and maybe.
Hope the referee isn't going to let them away with those challenges.

Going to have to be serious assault for us to get a free kick in this game

Ergye
21-07-2016, 06:25 PM
Desperately need Henderson to deliver....

21-07-2016, 06:25 PM
Soft free kick against, yet Holt nearly gets murdered and they are getting away with it. :rolleyes:

Ell_Chrisso
21-07-2016, 06:27 PM
Watching on a nice river on the tinternet, we've started well

21-07-2016, 06:28 PM
We need to make set pieces count and not waste them.

21-07-2016, 06:28 PM
If ye cannae get the 'ba get the man. That's the Brondby motto.

21-07-2016, 06:31 PM
If ye cannae get the 'ba get the man. That's the Brondby motto.

:agree: But in Danish.

Ergye
21-07-2016, 06:33 PM
We are a much better team.

These are the facts.

21-07-2016, 06:33 PM
Danish Falkirk. Alternating seamlessly between crunching tackles and moaning about every decision.

Ell_Chrisso
21-07-2016, 06:34 PM
Referee again is a joke

21-07-2016, 06:34 PM
Need a goal now.

21-07-2016, 06:35 PM
Were growing with confidence, referees is pish

21-07-2016, 06:36 PM
Ref utterly honks.

Wonder how many times Lennon would have been sent to the stand tonight. Shocking decisions. Literally not an inch from this ****

Ref giving them everything and us nothing.

Fontaine gets fouled and the referee gives a foul to brondby

sigh

commentator and michael stewart both commenting on the referee giving brondby fouls but not hibs, same old same old

Ref is brutal . Cmon Hibs

What is it with the **** referees these days?!

Referee is a tool.

21-07-2016, 06:37 PM
Brondby nowt special.
Ref a twat. Total twat.
Needs to stick up top more.
We have a chance.

21-07-2016, 06:38 PM
Just noticed the Crabbies writing is blacked out on the keepers jersey, must be a law in Denmark against alcohol advertising.

Ergye
21-07-2016, 06:39 PM
Good save from Callum Laidlaw... Pushed it away like a bus down Easter Road... :greengrin

Hero76
Big marv is struggling like

Brondby nowt special.
Ref a twat. Total twat.
Needs to stick up top more.
We have a chance.

W. B. Yeats?

Laidlaw makes his first save

Referee is a tool.

Agree. Holt getting nothing except kicks up front.

21-07-2016, 06:40 PM
OMFG! As soon as a Brondby player hits the deck its a free kick. JC been wiped out twice in the last 5 mins and nothing... :rolleyes:

21-07-2016, 06:41 PM
Big marv is struggling like

So is Mcgeoch,he doesn't look fit to me.

21-07-2016, 06:42 PM
Holt wanting the players to play further up the park

21-07-2016, 06:44 PM
:agree: But in Danish.

Hvis ik' du kan få bolden spark manden.

21-07-2016, 06:45 PM
We really are offside far too offen for my liking.

21-07-2016, 06:46 PM
This is just horrific from this ref

21-07-2016, 06:47 PM
Ok nothing special but happy at that. Can't get going cause of this prick in charge but just need to slightly up the tempo. Nothing to lose now

21-07-2016, 06:49 PM
We've not looked out of place. Not a lot of creativity but decent enough at the back, keeper has done fine and we have shown a couple of glimpses that we could cause problems.

Referee is a farce.

Ergye
I feel we will go on and win this game...

Get your money on the Hibees...

Not convinced that was offside. Wish we had henderson so badly. Very happy with ht score, but there will be a deep sense of regret if we don't go through now, especially with the manner of the goal conceeded

21-07-2016, 06:50 PM
So is Mcgeoch,he doesn't look fit to me.
Agree, both seem to be running on empty already and Stevenson just not making any progress down his wing with poor ball delivery.

gogsy23
Happy at ht. One of the times he wont be offside he will bury it. Push a bit further up now.

Berwickhibby
Ref has been awful

21-07-2016, 06:51 PM
Reckon we will see Boyle & Keatings very soon

21-07-2016, 06:52 PM
Hvis ik' du kan få bolden spark manden.

:not worth Well, some translation program's not worthy! :wink:

Agree, both seem to be running on empty already and Stevenson just not making any progress down his wing with poor ball delivery.

I like Lewis a lot but his final ball isn't his strong point. I'd get him off the corners.

Good save from Callum Laidlaw... Pushed it away like a bus down Easter Road... :greengrin

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

10/10

21-07-2016, 06:53 PM
HT Brondby/Referee 0 Hibs 0

The Captain....
21-07-2016, 06:56 PM
Another rocket of a referee, 0-0 at half time, still in the tie tho. No need to change too much just now other than to tell them to be a bit more composed in possession, bit too many punts up to Holt so far.

Need to somehow get McGinn in the game, and McGeouch come to that.

Still optimistic tho.

21-07-2016, 06:56 PM
Anyone know what kind of money Brondby pay their players as they seem to have attracted fairly decent level from around Europe and even South Africa. See the manager also good level.

21-07-2016, 06:57 PM
We need need to do more before it passes us by. It's there for us.

XXIVMMXVI
21-07-2016, 07:00 PM
Solid first half, just need to get runners closer to Holt and Cummings. Officials just as bad tonight as they were last week. Brondby are there for the taken. Cmon the cabbage.

21-07-2016, 07:01 PM
I thought the ref in the first leg was really poor, this guy is far worse. Brondby are getting everything, Holt and Cummings are being fouled regularly and nothing given. That said, we need to change what we're doing. Stevenson works hard but his crossing is pretty average at best. We do need to attack down the right a lot more too, we had a lot of possession in the first half, but most of it was coming down the left. Just my opinion.

21-07-2016, 07:01 PM
Holt played a lovely ball to McGinn but was needlessly flagged offside. He's done this numerous times since he joined. What is the point of just standing offside?

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

21-07-2016, 07:02 PM
Can't see where we are supposed to score, we have offered very little going forward. Without Henderson we have no-one who can whip in a ball, seems to me that we are 2nd to every, ball and physically they are dominating - Bröndby are no great shakes as a team, but we are harmless, we give away possession too much and the usual inability to find a team mate more than 2 yards away. Cummings has done zilch, apart from complain and beg for a yellow card - we haven't tested their goalie once. A lucky break and Hibs could score - maybe even go on to win this, but somebody has to have a serious talk with the team before the 2nd half starts. Referee is awful - quite ludicrous ...

21-07-2016, 07:02 PM
Here we go. 'Mon the Hibees

21-07-2016, 07:03 PM
That's a ****ing shocker on Gray.

21-07-2016, 07:04 PM
mon hibs lets make them sweat a bit by getting a goal

gogsy23
How is that not a booking?

Can't see where we are supposed to score, we have offered very little going forward. Without Henderson we have no-one who can whip in a ball, seems to me that we are 2nd to every, ball and physically they are dominating - Bröndby are no great shakes as a team, but we are harmless, we give away possession too much and the usual inability to find a team mate more than 2 yards away. Cummings has done zilch, apart from complain and beg for a yellow card - we haven't tested their goalie once. A lucky break and Hibs could score - maybe even go on to win this, but somebody has to have a serious talk with the team before the 2nd half starts. Referee is awful - quite ludicrous ...

21-07-2016, 07:05 PM
Good ball in, Gray should hit the target.

I'll let him off though.

Ahhh Gray should have burst the net. He can do what he likes though.

Gray should done better with a header.

21-07-2016, 07:06 PM
Few more encouraging signs going forward early doors.

21-07-2016, 07:09 PM
Think holt will do well in this league. Bully's and hustles so well.

gogsy23
21-07-2016, 07:11 PM
Theyre very cute with their fouls. Clear barge on mcginn

Say what you like about JC but he is running his socks off tonight.

Holt tripped up in that last attack and nothing done about it

21-07-2016, 07:12 PM
As much as we've not created loads I've been impressed with this defending. Solid

started the second half really promising with good running and pressure on the Brondby defence and looking like we could make something happen, now just seem to have gone back to the lumping it up into space route and keeping most men behind the ball

Nice wee bit play again.

21-07-2016, 07:14 PM
Superb tracking from John McGinn. He really is different class.

21-07-2016, 07:15 PM
This is either gonna be 1-0 us or 0-0.

21-07-2016, 07:16 PM
Superb strength from Lewis when isolated.

21-07-2016, 07:16 PM
Superb tracking from John McGinn. He really is different class.

How you watching??

21-07-2016, 07:17 PM
How you watching??

Modbro on the phone.

21-07-2016, 07:17 PM
Stevenson has been fouled almost every time he has touched the ball

21-07-2016, 07:18 PM
That wasn't far away.

Ergye
This is either gonna be 1-0 us or 0-0.

We will win.

Brondby ultras seem to have turned into the Brondy booers. They aren't happy.

21-07-2016, 07:19 PM
Yaaaaasssss David Gray you absolute sexy beast.

Hacking *******s

Daaaaavid ****ing graaaay

David Gray......I love you.

Gray!!!! Yesss

Well deserved and a great finish.

Off the bar
Yesssss captain fantastic let's ****ing do these ****s now

21-07-2016, 07:20 PM
YASSSSSSSSSSSSS :thumbsup::flag:sir david

Yessssssssssssss

David Gray can pump my bird, my mum and anyone I know if he wants.

Captain my captain!

Ergye
Woooooooooooooooooooohooooooooooooooooooooooooo !!!

Benny Brazil
LEGEND !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :hibees

Man love!

David gray can pump me if he wants

Get in

Wow. Get in.

Si_17
Get the **** in there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

21-07-2016, 07:21 PM
David Gray. There's nothing he can't do :thumbsup:

was just about to post if we got one we would get two :) half way there

vercol36
Statue! Statue! This man deserves a *****ing statue!

MartinfaePorty
Woo-hoo!!!!!

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Forever_Green93
YAAAAASSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!! Mon the HIBS!!!!!

We seem to be scoring when we are on top unlike the last two seasons!

David Gray......I love you.

take it that means we have scored ?

21-07-2016, 07:22 PM
Get in!

Cmon Hibs we can do this.

McGinn gives away a corner

What a position we are in. 1 more goal and we can even afford to lose one.

KSA Hibee
21-07-2016, 07:23 PM
Mon the mighty cabbage !!!

Just got a stream for the corner(s) before the goal..

Off the bar
Can hear the hibs fans loud and clear on the radio! Allez allez allez oh

21-07-2016, 07:24 PM
I love my team. That is all

If we score again we'll be in such a strong position with 2 away goals. Come on we can do this!

Ergye
:cb

We ARE the Hibs...

21-07-2016, 07:25 PM
Brondby ultras seem to have turned into the Brondy booers. They aren't happy.

They'll be f'n suicidal now then PB. :wink:

Mcpakeisgod
21-07-2016, 07:25 PM
Scenes

21-07-2016, 07:26 PM
Another corner....

21-07-2016, 07:26 PM
plzzz hibs c'mon

21-07-2016, 07:27 PM
:cb

We ARE the Hibs...

We ARE good, we have Brondby on the run...

if we can get another they are toast IMO :cb

That wasn't far away. Laidlaw giving it the 'Halliday hands'.

21-07-2016, 07:28 PM
This on the radio?

My god that chap in the hat was sunburnt

This on the radio?

Yep 810MW

Off the bar
This on the radio?

Through hibs.TV

21-07-2016, 07:29 PM
This on the radio?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/36821930

For how big they are we look quite dangerous at corners and the like.

Ergye
We haven't won a Euro tie for 10 years apparently.

We haven't had David Gray in those 10 years. With this man anything is possible.

21-07-2016, 07:30 PM
Maybe time for a wee change to freshen it up and add a bit pace? Keatings or Boyle maybe?

HibeeLR
I can't take these nerves and I'm not watching it 😂😅 Cmon Hibs!

Finally a booking for one of these dirty Hertz cants.

Is a 1-0 win enough or extra time

Extra time. We score again and they need 2 though.

Mcpakeisgod
David gray's playing like a man possessed

I ****ing LOVE David Gray. He is immense.

21-07-2016, 07:31 PM
Reports coming in that Superman wears David Gray pyjamas at night.

Gray looks hurt

KSA Hibee
Have to admit this time last year I had "fallen out of love" with my team and was happy to miss games at ER .. No matter what the final score is tonight the love affair is back on ... Just proud to be a Hibby again💚💚💚

This isn't looking good for Gray

Gray looks like he's took a sore one

21-07-2016, 07:32 PM
Bad injury for gray. Dirty hacking *******s

Grays done here I think. That looks dislocated or close to it.

Ell_Chrisso
And some wanted Gunnarson at Right back

Playin with 10 men just now

And some wanted Gunnarson at Right back

He'd have been a good sub to have tonight if Gray does go off injured.

Boyle for Gray at RWB??

21-07-2016, 07:33 PM
Boyle for Gray at RWB??

McGreggor out there and switch to 442 is also an option.

renato
David Murphy finally has an heir apparent for the classy, full back extraordinaire for the cabbage.

Still off the pitch...

21-07-2016, 07:34 PM
maybe if the referee had booked one o these dirty hacking grunts earlier the boy might have thought twice about that tackle on sir david

Boyle on

That's bad news without Captain Fantastic. Hope he's not out for too long.

Boyle on for Gray.

Bit of a goalmouth scramble, heartily defended in the end.

hibee62
Playin with 10 men just now

Didn't the new rules say you didn't have to go off for treatment if the fouler was booked? Could be a farce if they score!

Using his strip as a makeshift sling, Boyle coming on for him

21-07-2016, 07:35 PM
That was actually superb from Holt there to buy that free kick.

https://twitter.com/deanocx/status/756208540973428736

hertz with.......a penalty, princess bawbag misses...save :greengrin

What a blow. Gray was having an unbelievable game.

Didn't the new rules say you didn't have to go off for treatment if the fouler was booked? Could be a farce if they score!

Not sure tbh.
Subbed for Boyle now

renato
21-07-2016, 07:36 PM
Deary me Baubag, awful pen...

They're loosing the plot

KSA Hibee
Calsberg Thursday on the cards .. Yams miss a penalty

hertz with.......a penalty, princess bawbag misses...save :greengrin

What a night so far.

21-07-2016, 07:37 PM
Holt limping now as well.

21-07-2016, 07:37 PM
need far better delivery than that one Dylan

21-07-2016, 07:38 PM
God bless David Gray. game is most definitely there for the taking now!

Holt limping now as well.

and so it starts, picking up injuries :(

Big Marv has had a better 2nd half. Broke up the play well.

21-07-2016, 07:39 PM
What a night so far.

itll be carlsberg as long as we win, never mind them!

Ergye
21-07-2016, 07:39 PM
https://twitter.com/deanocx/status/756208540973428736

Scenes !! Immense...

21-07-2016, 07:40 PM
Oooooft some free kick that.

what a ***** decision by that referee...wtf do we get them from

Hdjdjsisnsnsidudhdbdtoydotdotddyodyoyld

EDIT: sorry that ball just landed on my keyboard

21-07-2016, 07:41 PM
Scenes !! Immense...

Keep it sensible though or we might have to call in those defenders of virtue and righteousness from Govan to keep order.

21-07-2016, 07:41 PM
Sitting deeper now...

IrnBru22
21-07-2016, 07:42 PM
The stream in watching has no commentary, can hear the Warburton song loud n clear

21-07-2016, 07:42 PM
Always worry when you see Dylan on the deck

21-07-2016, 07:43 PM
mon hibs 90+ 2 will be quite nice

21-07-2016, 07:44 PM
What a bunch of whinging wee lassies this mob are.

21-07-2016, 07:45 PM
Pukki is a we diving dick! Good decision by the ref with the yellow

Well done keeper. Big and strong behind it.

yellow for McGregor, pukey goes down, outside box though

Forever_Green93
Pukki went down far too easily.

Off the bar
C'mon hibs

21-07-2016, 07:46 PM
keatings coming on

renato
21-07-2016, 07:46 PM
What a bunch of whinging wee lassies this mob are.

Which of course is at odds with their uber aggressive "pressing" when not in possession.

21-07-2016, 07:47 PM
Cmon Hibs lets keep this tight!

Big difference in the way Hibs are pressing the ball this season under Lennon.

Good save there from Laidlaw, thought that was a goal!

21-07-2016, 07:48 PM
Keatings coming on. The stream from Premier Sports is frustratingly jumpy

Keeper has just been denied a great save there.

Not complaining though.

great save from laidlaw

MartinfaePorty
Great save!

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Amazing save by Laidlaw. Then we get the goal kick. Come on. We can do this.

Keatings on for Cummings.

21-07-2016, 07:49 PM
Keatings on Cummings off

This is nervy

Under heavy pressure now

21-07-2016, 07:50 PM
Well done Hanlon. Another free kick though.

Last chance I think, c'mon Hibs

One last chance for them

they're on top now :(

Which of course is at odds with their uber aggressive "pressing" when not in possession.

I think the euphemism is Street Wise...

...which means cynically fouling the opposition and rolling on the ground, greeting like a Bairn, when the opposition comes near you.

last free kick for them

That was an attocious free kick.

Extra time. Well done Hibs, heroic performance again.

21-07-2016, 07:51 PM
Well done Hibs, players look exhausted though. They've done us proud whether we progress or not.