View Full Version : Turkish coup
HibbyDave
15-07-2016, 09:43 PM
Breaking news tonight of a military coup in Turkey.
I know it's a football forum..... Sometimes reality interferes with our wee fit ba world. I hope everyone there is ok.
15-07-2016, 10:08 PM
Breaking news tonight of a military coup in Turkey.
I know it's a football forum..... Sometimes reality interferes with our wee fit ba world. I hope everyone there is ok.
A coup would normally seem like a bad thing but with that guy Erdogan in charge it might be the lesser of two evils.
15-07-2016, 10:10 PM
Apparently he has just landed in Qatar, or at least on his way to Qatar.
15-07-2016, 10:12 PM
He is now known as Erdogone
15-07-2016, 10:29 PM
A coup would normally seem like a bad thing but with that guy Erdogan in charge it might be the lesser of two evils.
Any idea what he's like in goals?
15-07-2016, 10:46 PM
Apparently he has just landed in Qatar, or at least on his way to Qatar.
Was there a fee or was he a Bosman
15-07-2016, 11:12 PM
Probably to do with disastrous chess playing of Erdogan. Becomes friendly with Putin and he is a goner. Don't think this'll help the Kurds one bit mind either. I might try Pokemon if we don't rip up the league early on. The world is grim.
15-07-2016, 11:28 PM
Great time for the Yams to be heading to Krasnodar. About 50 miles east of Crimea, Ukraine border to the north and Turkey to the south.
Don't tell them but their 5 - 1 hand signal translates as up yours Ataturk . :greengrin
Wee Effen Bee
15-07-2016, 11:45 PM
Another **** up by the west. We funded, armed and trained the PPK (Kurds) latterly to help fight ISIS and, along with Erdogan, promised to look at their claims for setting up Kurdistan. Then we renege on the deal and we, USA other countries, along with NATO, still want to class them as terrorists. Make your minds up! Too much bloodshed in the world and its the innocent civilians who suffer the most.
Turkish president, via Skype, says that people think they are tough with their tanks and he wants people to demonstrate and show them who's really tough.
Aye, erm, you go first then mate.
Wee Effen Bee
16-07-2016, 12:15 AM
Turkish president, via Skype, says that people think they are tough with their tanks and he wants people to demonstrate and show them who's really tough.
Aye, erm, you go first then mate.:tee hee:
He will be leading them on...from the rear. A bit like Lord Melchet:
https://www.youtube.com › watch
Ergye
16-07-2016, 12:30 AM
Aye, erm, you go first then mate.
Usually what I am like on Skype too. Demonstrating a big weapon.
He's a hard line muslim who wants to take Turkey back to bad old days of Islam, the country is split 50/50 old and new with the younger generation wanting to be more westernised. There's also talk of major corruption from him and seemingly the army have a duty to look after the rights of the people and stop anyone attempting supreme control, which he was trying to do, it's what Mustafa Kemel Ataturk and his army fought for all those years ago.
Seemingly all internet access to anyone not Turkish has been taken away by the corrupt government.
PompeyHibs
16-07-2016, 12:40 AM
Has Gazza turned up yet with the fishing Rods and beer!
16-07-2016, 01:09 AM
He's a hard line muslim who wants to take Turkey back to bad old days of Islam, the country is split 50/50 old and new with the younger generation wanting to be more westernised. There's also talk of major corruption from him and seemingly the army have a duty to look after the rights of the people and stop anyone attempting supreme control, which he was trying to do, it's what Mustafa Kemel Ataturk and his army fought for all those years ago.
Seemingly all internet access to anyone not Turkish has been taken away by the corrupt government.Seemingly the army / what are you on aboot? let's send in the Paras, that will sort it oot eh? . Admins, please delete this nonsense. lets have some oul' Panasonic film of the battle of aznac. Churchill was right, etc etc.deary f/kin me
16-07-2016, 02:02 AM
Turkish coup? Don't know about that but I used tae love them wee purple foil wrapped Turkish Delights......
16-07-2016, 03:25 AM
Seemingly all internet access to anyone not Turkish has been taken away by the corrupt government.
There is no God and Ataturk is the Messenger. I don't like Erdogan either because his democratically elected government are suppressing expression in his country and despite the relative economic success of this modern, Muslim country, this autocracy isn't compatible with Islamic ideals of discourse, intellectual critique and consultation. Allowing public choice and democracy, respect for minorities, Kurds, Shi'a are entirely in scope of Islam. That's why UN use the writings of Imam 'Ali on governance as template for good government, believe it or not. His letter to Malik ibn al Ashtar on appointing him governor of Egypt to be precise.
Shooting deadly missiles at innocent civilians from up high, like some helicopter pilots for Turkish airforce are seemingly doing, doesn't seem like good governance either, unless keeping down those bad old Muslims non-violently removing army from their tanks offends the sensibilities and distorts the stereotypes for those who like to see our beautiful colourful world in black and white.
16-07-2016, 05:25 AM
No really a topic for a Hibs Football Forum though.
UK is currently trying to resolve its own Political shambles, should we start a separate thread on the main page for that?
Seemingly the army / what are you on aboot? let's send in the Paras, that will sort it oot eh? . Admins, please delete this nonsense. lets have some oul' Panasonic film of the battle of aznac. Churchill was right, etc etc.deary f/kin me
Quoting what was on the news, so if you want to delete the news too, on you go. :confused:
There is no God and Ataturk is the Messenger. I don't like Erdogan either because his democratically elected government are suppressing expression in his country and despite the relative economic success of this modern, Muslim country, this autocracy isn't compatible with Islamic ideals of discourse, intellectual critique and consultation. Allowing public choice and democracy, respect for minorities, Kurds, Shi'a are entirely in scope of Islam. That's why UN use the writings of Imam 'Ali on governance as template for good government, believe it or not. His letter to Malik ibn al Ashtar on appointing him governor of Egypt to be precise.
Shooting deadly missiles at innocent civilians from up high, like some helicopter pilots for Turkish airforce are seemingly doing, doesn't seem like good governance either, unless keeping down those bad old Muslims non-violently removing army from their tanks offends the sensibilities and distorts the stereotypes for those who like to see our beautiful colourful world in black and white.
I agree re shooting of missiles etc. military coups have taken place in the past in Turkey, Erdogan has been strengthening his power, the coup seems to have collapsed and his powers may be about to get even stronger, dark times coming in that area of the world.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
16-07-2016, 07:58 AM
I agree re shooting of missiles etc. military coups have taken place in the past in Turkey, Erdogan has been strengthening his power, the coup seems to have collapsed and his powers may be about to get even stronger, dark times coming in that area of the world.
Well they wont be joining the EU anytime soon.
We might be back in by then...!
(((Fergus)))
16-07-2016, 12:13 PM
Are you referring to the Arab Human Development Report?
16-07-2016, 12:17 PM
Quoting what was on the news, so if you want to delete the news too, on you go. :confused:
Don't worry J-C, his drunken ramblings were spread across a number of threads last night. Some folk should be breathalised before posting on here.
16-07-2016, 12:29 PM
Looks like it's been averted and erdogon is still in charge.
Quite a few civilians dead though unfortunately.
16-07-2016, 12:31 PM
Over 2000 judges now been removed from office. This has been staged by Erdogan.
16-07-2016, 12:34 PM
Over 2000 judges now been removed from office. This has been staged by Erdogan.
It certainly seems very convenient. With so many potential opponents removed from their office he seems to have tightened his grip on power.
18-07-2016, 07:07 PM
Don't worry J-C, his drunken ramblings were spread across a number of threads last night. Some folk should be breathalised before posting on here.
I got a right telling off from said poster for posting similar to this last week, you're not wrong though! :-)
18-07-2016, 09:22 PM
It certainly seems very convenient. With so many potential opponents removed from their office he seems to have tightened his grip on power.
Yepp, he must have had the list already prepared in his top drawer.
(((Fergus)))
21-07-2016, 05:26 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cn509jaVUAEPF4m.jpg
28-05-2023, 09:33 PM
another 5 years of Erdogan, unfortunately, Putin will be a very happy little git
at least it was close Turkey elections 2023: Erdogan wins five more years as Turkey's president - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/world-europe-65686238)
28-05-2023, 09:46 PM
another 5 years of Erdogan, unfortunately, Putin will be a very happy little git
at least it was close Turkey elections 2023: Erdogan wins five more years as Turkey's president - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/world-europe-65686238)
I'm not sure the alternative was any better.
28-05-2023, 09:48 PM
Certainly not looking at the last two weeks of the campaign. I doubt it helps Putin in any meaningful way.
29-05-2023, 06:10 PM
I've had a couple of relatives suggesting that the votes from Turkish people living in Germany swung the vote in Erdogan's favour.
Not sure if that's true, but it is the case that he has a massive following among Turks, and people of Turkish descent, in Germany (65% in a recent poll).
I personally find that totally crazy.
29-05-2023, 06:19 PM
I've had a couple of relatives suggesting that the votes from Turkish people living in Germany swung the vote in Erdogan's favour.
Not sure if that's true, but it is the case that he has a massive following among Turks, and people of Turkish descent, in Germany (65% in a recent poll).
I personally find that totally crazy.
Having listened to his rival droning on about sending refugees home in full on Farage type rants, I'm thinking that Erdogan might be the lesser of the two evils.
29-05-2023, 06:36 PM
Having listened to his rival droning on about sending refugees in full on Farage type rants, I'm thinking that Erdogan might be the lesser of the two evils.
Fairy nuff.
30-05-2023, 09:36 AM
Turkish lira collapsing just now. I’m going on holiday there this year so it will likely mean my spending money goes further. Not so good for Turkey though.
31-05-2023, 07:28 PM
Turkish lira collapsing just now. I’m going on holiday there this year so it will likely mean my spending money goes further. Not so good for Turkey though.
Snap. Good news for us.
31-05-2023, 07:42 PM
the opposition were at least looking towards the west and the EU, first link on Google
https://www.politico.eu/article/turkey-anti-recep-tayyip-erdogan-opposition-reset-eu-nato/
Erdogan still won't give permission for Sweden/Finland to join NATO until he gets what he wants, doesn't help that Russia is building a nuclear reactor in Turkey, and financing it
31-05-2023, 08:44 PM
the opposition were at least looking towards the west and the EU, first link on Google
https://www.politico.eu/article/turkey-anti-recep-tayyip-erdogan-opposition-reset-eu-nato/
Erdogan still won't give permission for Sweden/Finland to join NATO until he gets what he wants, doesn't help that Russia is building a nuclear reactor in Turkey, and financing it
Finland joined Nato in April.
Stairway 2 7
01-06-2023, 05:50 AM
Erdoğan will make a deal for Sweden joining, it will involve them getting American fighter jets. Finland was the most important, seeing they have the land border with Russia.
Saying that Erdoğan is a **** bag to his own people and the kurds, just a shame the opposition was the same
I am going as well. Was about 8 lira to the pound last year. Will need to check the rate. Assume prices will also have risen. It was still good value though.
02-06-2023, 11:46 AM
I am going as well. Was about 8 lira to the pound last year. Will need to check the rate. Assume prices will also have risen. It was still good value though.
1 pound is 26 lira now.[emoji102]
Willis1875
02-06-2023, 03:14 PM
Slightly off the topic of Erdogan but staying with Turkish Lira,I’m away there at the end of June….what’s best bet currency wise to take Euros or Lira?
02-06-2023, 03:25 PM
Slightly off the topic of Erdogan but staying with Turkish Lira,I’m away there at the end of June….what’s best bet currency wise to take Euros or Lira?
I’ve not been yet but everyone is advising me that the locals all wants Euros.
02-06-2023, 03:57 PM
I’ve not been yet but everyone is advising me that the locals all wants Euros.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNot been for a while but Euros (even £) seemed to go farther.