View Full Version : England v Pakistan

15-07-2016, 04:10 PM
England up against it again after a top-order failure. (Not quite a collapse, but not what you want from your top batsmen. Cook and Root carrying the rest again.

Bales doesn't convince; Vince even less so, and why bring back Ballance?

I think we're going to see the difference between a world-class wrist spinner and Moeen.

And could someone please shoot Geoffrey Boycott before his next spell in the commentary box? He's a patronising, arrogant "I-know-everything-there-is-to-know-about-creeckitt" bloody ..... Yorkshireman!

15-07-2016, 04:12 PM
Bring back KP :greengrin

15-07-2016, 06:28 PM
Bring back KP :greengrin

He wouldn't come back.

Really enjoyed watching Yasir today. Can't wait to see him in the fourth innings on a turner.

Finn2015
16-07-2016, 10:23 AM
Regardless of how the result ends, it's been refreshing to see an even contest which we didn't get with the recent Sri Lanka series

16-07-2016, 01:30 PM
Regardless of how the result ends, it's been refreshing to see an even contest which we didn't get with the recent Sri Lanka series

Yup. This developing into a really good match.

England bowling well right now. Could go either way.

Azhar just gone lbw Woakes for 23. Pakistan 3 down for 59. Lead of 126.

16-07-2016, 01:47 PM
Misbah gone for 0 - Moeen, caught Hales.

60-4. Pakistan rocking - maybe not as balanced as we thought?

16-07-2016, 02:09 PM
Younus gets a life on an appeal. Very close.

England are bowling very very well.

Finn2015
16-07-2016, 02:12 PM
England maybe getting on top here. Scoring rate very slow and bowlers look threatening

16-07-2016, 08:12 PM
Been an entertaining match so far, proper Test cricket and nicely poised too. This isn't going to be a draw but you could see how either side could find the win.

Pakistan have got to be favourites but it would be silly to write England off at this stage.

Finn2015
16-07-2016, 09:46 PM
Been an entertaining match so far, proper Test cricket and nicely poised too. This isn't going to be a draw but you could see how either side could find the win.

Pakistan have got to be favourites but it would be silly to write England off at this stage.

True. England have got some world class batsmen so not over by any means

Finn2015
17-07-2016, 05:11 PM
Pakistan end up winning comfortably.

17-07-2016, 05:14 PM
Poor result for England.

17-07-2016, 05:17 PM
This is why I love Test cricket.

17-07-2016, 07:46 PM
This is why I love Test cricket.

It was the kind of match that you would want to show someone who hadn't seen Test cricket before. So they could see :greengrin

Gem of a Test.

18-07-2016, 09:46 AM
It was the kind of match that you would want to show someone who hadn't seen Test cricket before. So they could see :greengrin

Gem of a Test.

Aye. Alistair Cook said the batting was "naive". I would say "stupid".

Thing is, they had all the time in the world to make the runs. If just TWO more of the "top order" had screwed the nut and stayed long enough to make 40 each, the likelihood is that England would probably have won sometime this morning.

Is it impossible for guys like Root and Hales and Moeen to remember what kind of cricket they're playing and adjust their attitude and technique accordingly? If they had each made 30-40 runs ....

A batsman or two digging in and grafting for a while to take the shine off the ball and some of the steam out of the bowlers - too much to ask?

Surely Moeen has to be dropped? Anderson and Stokes back?

And send to the Wizard of Oz for brains for some of the England batsmen?

22-07-2016, 02:27 PM
Cook scores his 29th Test century as England get off to a flier in the 2nd Test, score currently sitting at 190-1.

22-07-2016, 03:58 PM
Cook out for 105, Vince out yet again driving at a wide one and Root moves into the 100s, England currently 255-3.

22-07-2016, 06:29 PM
England 314-4 at close of play on day 1 with Root unbeaten on 141.

23-07-2016, 10:56 AM
Root reaches 150 for the 5th time in his test career, Woakes going along nicely in the mid 30s in his nightwatchman role.

23-07-2016, 12:05 PM
427-5 @ lunch, Woakes out for 58, Root 185 no.

24-07-2016, 11:30 AM
Play resumes after rain with Pakistan 518 behind on 71-5.

24-07-2016, 12:35 PM
Pakistan 119-8 @ lunch.

24-07-2016, 04:12 PM
Pakistan 119-8 @ lunch.

All out for 198. Lead of 391.

Cook doesn't enforce the follow-on.

Now 11-0 lead 402, and it's raining .... :confused:

24-07-2016, 05:02 PM
All out for 198. Lead of 391.

Cook doesn't enforce the follow-on.

Now 11-0 lead 402, and it's raining .... :confused:
Why didn't he enforce the follow on? The forecast isn't great and his bowlers were still relatively fresh.

24-07-2016, 05:10 PM
Why didn't he enforce the follow on? The forecast isn't great and his bowlers were still relatively fresh.

THAT is what everyone on telly is asking.

The best guess seems to be he was concerned that Stokes and Anderson were just back form injury and might need a wee rest.

Damp conditions and an interrupted session breaking the batsmen's concentration - what's not to like?

46-0 - 437 ahead. How many more does he want?

24-07-2016, 06:21 PM
489 ahead at close of play and still no sign of him putting Pakistan back in. England are about 70 runs past the highest ever total scored in the 4th innings to win a match in test match history, most odd!

25-07-2016, 01:01 AM
489 ahead at close of play and still no sign of him putting Pakistan back in. England are about 70 runs past the highest ever total scored in the 4th innings to win a match in test match history, most odd!

I don't understand it. If he was thinking about giving Bales and Vince a chance of making a few runs, why did he open the innings himself, and why did Root come in at 3?

It must be about giving Ben Stokes and Jimmy Anderson a full night's rest before bowling tomorrow. That's about the only thing I can think of.

25-07-2016, 01:51 AM
I don't understand it. If he was thinking about giving Bales and Vince a chance of making a few runs, why did he open the innings himself, and why did Root come in at 3?

It must be about giving Ben Stokes and Jimmy Anderson a full night's rest before bowling tomorrow. That's about the only thing I can think of.

I'm sure I heard Hussein say that he expected England to bat for the first hour or so tomorrow, what the point of that would be I have no idea.

25-07-2016, 10:05 AM
England continue to bat, most odd! Cook makes his fastest test match half century.

25-07-2016, 10:43 AM
England declare on 173-1 setting Pakistan a target of 565 for the win. That 40 mins of batting was almost cruel so, might well serve its purpose in the matches to come. Root matches his fastest test match 50. 325 runs in total for Root.

25-07-2016, 11:15 AM
8-1 from 5 overs.

Benny Brazil
25-07-2016, 11:56 AM
I'm sure I heard Hussein say that he expected England to bat for the first hour or so tomorrow, what the point of that would be I have no idea.

I do think sometimes England are over cautious and want to make sure they dont get beat rather than win a test - but I agree with England batting again - gives the bowlers a rest - as was said Stokes and Anderson just back from injury - also tires out the Pakistan team physically by keeping them in the field for another few overs and will hurt them mentally as well.

25-07-2016, 12:33 PM
8-1 from 5 overs.
47/2 at lunch

25-07-2016, 03:05 PM
I stand corrected. :applause:

Cook now has a very good century, Root and Hales equally good half-centuries. 173-1.

Three happy batsmen, and now the bowlers are having fun.

Pakistan sinking like the Titanic.

Hope Stokes recovers for the Third Test. Maybe his injury was behind Cook's decision to bat again? Give him every chance to recover?

25-07-2016, 03:24 PM
Pakistan 163-6, Michelle McManus getting ready for a song! :-)

25-07-2016, 03:45 PM
Pakistan 163-6, Michelle McManus getting ready for a song! :-)

The Cookie-Monster obviously judged everything just right!

Isn't Joe Root a glorious batsman? :not worth

25-07-2016, 03:53 PM
Isn't Joe Root a glorious batsman? :not worth

A joy to watch. As I've posted before he is so technically correct in almost everything he does and still has time for a flamboyant stroke or two. He is up alongside Bell, Hick (until the WI pace attack destroyed him) and KP as the batsmen I've enjoyed most watching playing for England over the last few years. (All very good fielders too).

25-07-2016, 04:09 PM
A joy to watch. As I've posted before he is so technically correct in almost everything he does and still has time for a flamboyant stroke or two. He is up alongside Bell, Hick (until the WI pace attack destroyed him) and KP as the batsmen I've enjoyed most watching playing for England over the last few years. (All very good fielders too).

He has the capacity to play for two days and give no chances. And unlike some, he can play in a Test match, make his hundred, then turn out in a T20, blitz a lightning 50, then turn in a solid innings in a 50-over ODI and back to Test cricket and another hundred.

He's a perfect example of how all the different forms of the game can positively feed off one another. I'm becoming a bit of a groupie, TBH.

OOPS! 8 gone. Michelle better tune up quick ....

25-07-2016, 04:46 PM
All over. Terrific performance, and JR even takes a wicket?

Is there no end to this young man's versatility? :greengrin

25-07-2016, 04:56 PM
I've been out and about since lunch, who got the MOTM? ;-)

25-07-2016, 05:24 PM
I've been out and about since lunch, who got the MOTM? ;-)

You have to ask?

Joe Root. Spoke very well at the presentation - not just a great batsman, a very decent young guy. I don't like the expression, but a very fine role-model for young cricketers.

I have to say that that was one of the finest innings I've ever seen in Test cricket. They never looked like getting him out - it was only when he started to push on at the end that he was caught out. And then 71 off 48 balls in the second innings. Very impressive.

25-07-2016, 08:00 PM
Just wanted to give you another chance to wax lyrical.

26-07-2016, 02:09 AM
Just wanted to give you another chance to wax lyrical.

That's why I love Test cricket.

But I have to say I'm beginning to see the point of T20. Old Tom Lord and WG would have loved it. So much razzamatazz, so many pretty cheerleaders, so many opportunities for corruptive wagering and manipulation of the media.

It's truly Victorian, in every sense of the word ....

03-08-2016, 11:40 AM
Pakistan make early inroads at Edgbaston, England 80-3, Hales, Root and Cook gone.

03-08-2016, 11:51 AM
Pakistan make early inroads at Edgbaston, England 80-3, Hales, Root and Cook gone.

Ballance needs a score for himself and the team.

Finn2015
03-08-2016, 05:16 PM
Good days cricket, nip and tuck. Eng 286-9

04-08-2016, 09:08 AM
Ballance needs a score for himself and the team.

Well, he got one. I rather like him - he has a nice style about him. Good day's cricket yesterday and well done Sohail on his five-for.

In another place ... Terrific rearguard action by West Indies in Kingston with Roston Chase the first West Indian to score a century - 137 n.o. - and take five wickets in a Test for the Windies for 50 years.

Some bloke called Sir Garfield St Aubrun Sobers did it 50 years ago almost to the day at Headingley against England. England lost by an innings and 55, which led to accusations in the patriotic (read, racist) press of the day that Wes Hall was 'chucking'.

04-08-2016, 06:59 PM
Pakistan 257-3. A wicket with the 4th ball of the first over, a wicket with the last ball of the day and a run out in between. Attritional viewing today or old school test match cricket? Take your pick.

Finn2015
04-08-2016, 07:02 PM
Pakistan 257-3. A wicket with the 4th ball of the first over, a wicket with the last ball of the day and a run out in between. Attritional viewing today or old school test match cricket? Take your pick.

Well it all amounts to Pakistan being in the box seat

05-08-2016, 07:35 AM

England bowled badly.

Pakistan batted 'conservatively'. They're now in a position to push on; they should be close to a lead of 300 by close of play today if they bat well and positively.

England need a good-class spinner, and IMO Moeen isn't him.

05-08-2016, 08:24 AM
England bowled badly.

Pakistan batted 'conservatively'. They're now in a position to push on; they should be close to a lead of 300 by close of play today if they bat well and positively.

England need a good-class spinner, and IMO Moeen isn't him.

England have been guilty of bowling too short quite frequently over the past few years and did the same for most of yesterday, did they not learn from the length Pakistan bowled on Wed? I thought Anderson's behaviour was embarassing yesterday, it just wasn't cricket! :-)

Finn2015
05-08-2016, 08:53 AM
England have been guilty of bowling too short quite frequently over the past few years and did the same for most of yesterday, did they not learn from the length Pakistan bowled on Wed? I thought Anderson's behaviour was embarassing yesterday, it just wasn't cricket! :-)

Anderson has a history f this. Comes across as a petulant school boy at times

05-08-2016, 09:55 AM

Anderson has a history f this. Comes across as a petulant school boy at times

Petulance and bad sportsmanship? Must have been taking lessons from Dr Grace.

Or Steve Waugh, maybe ....

05-08-2016, 10:33 AM
Pakistan 274-4.

05-08-2016, 11:14 AM
296-5

05-08-2016, 01:22 PM
367-7

Finn2015
05-08-2016, 01:39 PM
374-8. Lead for Pakistan but not s much as it might have been

06-08-2016, 06:38 AM
Fine display of batting by England yesterday, struggling to see past a draw unless the pitch falls to bits.

Finn2015
06-08-2016, 07:36 AM
Fine display of batting by England yesterday, struggling to see past a draw unless the pitch falls to bits.

Don't know. I can see England setting a good target and knocking Pakistan over

06-08-2016, 08:10 AM
The pitch seems to be helping the batting side as the match goes on, that could easily change though.

06-08-2016, 10:58 PM
This could get very interesting tomorrow.

This was a very good day's cricket - England grafted their way through to tea, and then Bairstow and Ali cut loose. Pakistan were disappointing - sometimes they were bowling so wide you'd think their bowlers had double vision - but England's batsmen were very solid throughout.

This has been some Test series, and it looks like going right down to the wire ....

Finn2015
07-08-2016, 06:08 AM
I'd like a draw tbh, would really set up a winner takes all final test

07-08-2016, 04:26 PM
Don't know. I can see England setting a good target and knocking Pakistan over

Thats what happened. :-)

Finn2015
07-08-2016, 05:58 PM
Thats what happened. :-)

I'll go on further and predict it will finish 3-1 England

07-08-2016, 08:05 PM
Never watched any of the last two days play, football comes first. :-)

Finn2015
07-08-2016, 08:32 PM
Never watched any of the last two days play, football comes first. :-)

Me either with work and then the match yesterday etc. Just followed online

11-08-2016, 11:49 AM
England batting first and currently 77-4.

11-08-2016, 09:09 PM
England looking good, a few of the top order are struggling like Vince and Hales, but the lower order are digging in when it counts moeen ali has shown what a fine cricketer he is. Pakistan have some decent players aswell but fold under pressure

Finn2015
12-08-2016, 08:01 AM
3-1 England. Pakistan had their chance in this match and I don't see anything other than an England win now

Off the bar
13-08-2016, 10:57 AM
3-1 England. Pakistan had their chance in this match and I don't see anything other than an England win now

You sticking by that prediction? Pakistan look well on top now!

13-08-2016, 01:43 PM
Well done Younus :thumbsup:

I have to confess, I hadn't been playing close attention and when I saw his name I didn't think it was the Younus Khan, I thought he had retired a while back :greengrin. Great player and a stalwart for Pakistan.

I've not seen any mention of the sad passing of Hanif Mohammad anywhere - I was too young to see him but this is a lovely article (http://www.espncricinfo.com/blogs/content/story/663597.html) in Cricinfo describing just how important a player he was in Pakistani and international cricket.

Finn2015
13-08-2016, 10:34 PM
You sticking by that prediction? Pakistan look well on top now!

In a word, no. Pakistan obviously in a very strong position and a 2-2 score looks highly likely. Excellent series

14-08-2016, 10:32 AM
The constant shouting from the Pakistan WK before almost every delivery is getting on my thrupennies! :-)

30-08-2016, 04:25 PM
England on course for well over 400 in the 3rd ODI, great effort so far.

30-08-2016, 04:54 PM
England set a new world record ODI score - 444-3!

30-08-2016, 06:39 PM
Crash bang wallop, great stuff!

Finn2015
01-09-2016, 09:45 AM
England are liking a seriously impressive one day outfit now. If the World Cup was now they would be heavy favourites

03-09-2016, 08:39 AM
England are liking a seriously impressive one day outfit now. If the World Cup was now they would be heavy favourites

It's been a very good summer for them in all forms of the game.

There's still concern at Test level about the batting - they need an opener and at least one other consistent top-order batsman - but the ODI's have been spectacular, especially the series against Pakistan. The fourth match looked (very briefly) as if Pakistan were finally fighting back, until Stokes and Bairstow sparked the fightback the other way.

Can someone work with Lane on his concentration at Test level - he has all the shots and surely has it in him to be a top Test batsman - and can we find a number four somewhere to back up Cook (good captain, nice guy) and Root (:not worth)?

Finn2015
03-09-2016, 07:27 PM

Looking not liking 🤔