View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Brondby IF

Pages : 1 [2]

PompeyHibs
14-07-2016, 08:03 PM
Our bench is very week
Out of the players on there i'd keep Fontaine and Keatings.

Three weeks until the important stuff starts this is just part of our pre season.

Hopefully a few good signings in next week or two 🍻

Q. How is Holt playing? Is he a handful up front?

14-07-2016, 08:04 PM
Hanlon with a goalsaving block.

Ergye
14-07-2016, 08:05 PM
Can someone please just DELIIIIIIIIIIVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEER for Gray...

Tha Cabbage Kid
14-07-2016, 08:06 PM
mon keats get a goal!!!!

14-07-2016, 08:06 PM
We brought Eoin Doyle the green messi back!? :dizzy:

Oopsie. Autocorrection kept making him Foyle as well

14-07-2016, 08:07 PM
So are the top teams in the Championship.

You might form a better opinion if you were watching this team, so I'm quite happy with our chances in the league.

14-07-2016, 08:07 PM
Dylan and Marv off for Keatings and Fontaine.

Odd. 4-3-3 and Hanlon into def mid?

14-07-2016, 08:09 PM
Hanlon's gone into midfield. Guessing Bartley was exhausted.

Denied an absolute stone Waller.

Sake

14-07-2016, 08:10 PM
What the ****

Penalty shout but ref took it as a legal block.

Never a pen. He dived. Would have scored if he didn't.

Who dived

hibIBZ
14-07-2016, 08:11 PM
We are being royally shafted here

Who dived

Holt. Threw his arms up in the air and collapsed his legs.

Who dived

Hholt

So why would he dive then?

Penalty shout but ref took it as a legal block.

So why did he dive then and why didn't he get booked?

14-07-2016, 08:12 PM
Holt. Radio says it was a dive and should've been booked. Also should've shot.

14-07-2016, 08:12 PM

Agree. Not sure if Holt made the right decision

14-07-2016, 08:13 PM
So why would he dive then?

No idea. If I'm wrong then I've no problem admitting it, I'm right in line with it, looked an absolute dive to me.

14-07-2016, 08:13 PM
Mon the Hibs! Get em to 1-1 and then tie the ball to Gray...

14-07-2016, 08:14 PM
So why did he dive then and why didn't he get booked?

He prob didn't get booked cos the ref is useless. Think he maybe won a competition to get to ref this game.

14-07-2016, 08:15 PM
McGinn's trying his heart out. Otto did well there. Well off his line

14-07-2016, 08:15 PM
He prob didn't get booked cos the ref is useless. Think he maybe won a competition to get to ref this game.

Fair enough, wasn't having a go just curious because I'm not at the game

14-07-2016, 08:17 PM
Very competitive game. Two equally matched sides.

14-07-2016, 08:18 PM
Harris to turn the game for us

I've seen some awful referee performances at ER but this one is quite something

Looked like a dive to me which was bonkers as his touch was sublime to put him clear on goal.

14-07-2016, 08:19 PM
Sounds like we're chucking bodies forward. 0-1 isn't an awful result but 0-2 is.

Harris on for Boyle, 'mon Boozy!

Through ball to Jason. Hit his heel. Nae luck.

Very open now. We could score or lose one in this last 15.

14-07-2016, 08:21 PM
Very open now. We could score or lose one in this last 15.

Fair call. They have had one shot on target. Not sure if we've bettered that.

14-07-2016, 08:26 PM
What time are we at?

14-07-2016, 08:26 PM
They sound no great shakes according to radio but we seem unable to create good chances

14-07-2016, 08:27 PM
What time are we at?

Off the bar
14-07-2016, 08:27 PM
C'mon hibs

Ergye
14-07-2016, 08:28 PM
Attendance 13454:flag:

I don't think Keatings is trying hard enough. He's got far more effort than that in the tank.

What time are we at?

Five minutes maybe left

They sound no great shakes according to radio but we seem unable to create good chances

Job 1 for Lennon. Watch a video of last season (barring the Cup Final) and then make a plan to sort. We have the ability in the team. Need a screamer tonight…. :pray:

14-07-2016, 08:29 PM
Offside again?

14-07-2016, 08:30 PM
Job 1 for Lennon. Watch a video of last season (barring the Cup Final) and then make a plan to sort. We have the ability in the team. Need a screamer tonight…. :pray:

Surely he's done that already!

14-07-2016, 08:31 PM

Gray Stevenson McGregor Hanlon Fontaine all very solid. McGinn McGeoch Boyle industrious. Toothless up front. No goal threat from midfield either.

14-07-2016, 08:32 PM
3 mins to go

14-07-2016, 08:33 PM
Fizzling out

14-07-2016, 08:35 PM
A 15 second Europe campaign. Well done Hibs

**** off

14-07-2016, 08:35 PM
3 mins to go

And then another 90 to take em out

14-07-2016, 08:36 PM
All about the performance. The league is the priority and games like this can only help us get off to a running start.

What a **** post

rodhibs55
**** off
Correct

Played well after a shaky start! Positive signs but couldn't seem to score which is still a problem. Plenty time to turn the tie around!

Dagnall. Farid and Stokes away and only Holt added to firepower and some folk saying he may not be able to play 90 minutes every week so another striker probably needed and Henderson was top scoring midfielder
So its something we need to think about
McGregor and Hanlon sounded like they played well

Sergio sledge
14-07-2016, 08:37 PM

Rubbish. Get a grip, seriously.

**** off

Couldn't have put it better myself.

Stop being an erse.

**** off

He always was a moaning ******

14-07-2016, 08:38 PM

Was there a need

All to play for next week. If we score first then its game on , and how would that affect them? Key is not to panic or concede early next week. Keep it tight and wr can win this. Looking forward to the trip now knowing we are right in this

Nelly070
Win or lose over the 2 legs, Europe is only a distraction from what we all want this year

We actually played reasonably well. We may go out, we may even go with that being the winning goal, but I've left there confident we'll win this league.

14-07-2016, 08:39 PM
I was fearing going over to a meaningless game if we had lost by 2 or 3

14-07-2016, 08:39 PM
Jeez. Believe it of not it was mainly tongue in cheek. I'm well aware game was even and its not all over!

Message boards can comr across sometimes very wrong. Believe me!

Hopefully its not all over yet

14-07-2016, 08:40 PM
All to play for next week. If we score first then its game on , and how would that affect them? Key is not to panic or concede early next week. Keep it tight and wr can win this. Looking forward to the trip now knowing we are right in this

Game plan, take our chances, doable.

rodhibs55

Spot on

It'll take quite the performance to win this away from home, let's be realistic. When was the last time we won away from home against an established(ish) team? FC Whatdoyoumacallit from the Baltics notwithstanding.

Still, we're still in it and the fat lady isn't even in the changing rooms yet so it's all to play for. I wonder if Lennon will be back in the dugout or is there a ban pending?

hibIBZ
Thought we showed signs of encouragement. Faster play in the midfield. Still having problems carving out chances. Thought defence was generally ok. Bad mistake for the goal but a very inexperienced goalie who looked terrified.
I thought there was very little between the teams.

Officiating was some of the worst i have seen for a while. Game management and decision making was terrible

RealRonnieKirk

HibeeHendo
Still in it.

14-07-2016, 08:41 PM
We actually played reasonably well. We may go out, we may even go with that being the winning goal, but I've left there confident we'll win this league.

Great, said many times we'll romp the league this season. Really belive so.

Jeez. Believe it of not it was mainly tongue in cheek. I'm well aware game was even and its not all over!

Message boards can comr across sometimes very wrong. Believe me!

Hopefully its not all over yet

Well I'll apologise and retract my "**** off" but you should've used a smiley :greengrin

It'll take quite the performance to win this away from home, let's be realistic. When was the last time we won away from home against an established(ish) team? FC Whatdoyoumacallit from the Baltics notwithstanding.

Still, we're still in it and the fat lady isn't even in the changing rooms yet so it's all to play for. I wonder if Lennon will be back in the dugout or is there a ban pending?

21st May.

14-07-2016, 08:42 PM
21st May.

To be fair he said 'established' team...

14-07-2016, 08:42 PM
Well I'll apologise and retract my "**** off" but you should've used a smiley :greengrin

Using mobile! Hopeless for any smiley or so.

rodhibs55
14-07-2016, 08:43 PM
21st May.

He He Still drunk on it.

14-07-2016, 08:45 PM
Fairly positive display. McGinn was excellent, rest of the squad looked rusty but that's to be expected. Still think we need a few players. Goalkeeper, left back, winger and another striker are necessary for me.

14-07-2016, 08:47 PM
Really should have been going there 1-0 ahead, instead of 0-1 down. It was a tight game, but we were marginally the better side.

If they have another gear, as I suspect, they'll punish us back at their place and win the tie easily.

If that is the extent of both teams abilities, and we can take our chances, the tie could still be won, although very much an outside shot now.

14-07-2016, 08:47 PM
Thought it was decent game bar the first 10 seconds , the ref was shocking

Interesting to see him take off Bartley and move Hanlon into that position

QMU-1875
14-07-2016, 08:49 PM
Better team. Anyone seen if the Cummings effort was onside or no?

The Kaiser
14-07-2016, 08:51 PM
Anywhere to see the highlights?

RealRonnieKirk
14-07-2016, 08:51 PM

Dagnall. Farid and Stokes away and only Holt added to firepower and some folk saying he may not be able to play 90 minutes every week so another striker probably needed and Henderson was top scoring midfielder
So its something we need to think about
McGregor and Hanlon sounded like they played well

14-07-2016, 08:52 PM
Really should have been going there 1-0 ahead, instead of 0-1 down. It was a tight game, but we were marginally the better side.

If they have another gear, as I suspect, they'll punish us back at their place and win the tie easily.

If that is the extent of both teams abilities, and we can take our chances, the tie could still be won, although very much an outside shot now.

If they have another gear its a really tough one. However we may be better able to create chances on the break. Looking forward to it!

14-07-2016, 08:53 PM

You are just repeating what i posted earlier nothing real about that green grin

14-07-2016, 09:03 PM
Fairly positive display. McGinn was excellent, rest of the squad looked rusty but that's to be expected. Still think we need a few players. Goalkeeper, left back, winger and another striker are necessary for me.

McG was superb aswell

Callum7
14-07-2016, 09:04 PM
Anyone got a picture of the banner?

14-07-2016, 09:06 PM
Well I hope that there's highlights somewhere, because in his interview after the game Lennon said he'd seen a replay of it 5 or 6 times and it was definitely onside, Cummings timed his run perfectly.

14-07-2016, 09:07 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160714/b5498d6a8529800a1d833a8ceb1b6586.jpg

14-07-2016, 09:07 PM

I asked when it was admired on radio Scotland at the time.

14-07-2016, 09:08 PM
McG was superb aswell

Thought Mcgeough was decent but wasted on the left of midfielder. Would like to see him and Mcginn in the middle this season with Boyle and other winger either side of them

OsloHibs
14-07-2016, 09:11 PM
I think Holt went down too easy.

14-07-2016, 09:12 PM
5-3-2 works best for the personnel we have.
I'm sure there will be more new faces but a 4-4-2 just now leaves us with at least one midfielder out of place, while Boyle & Harris are keeping better players out of the team.

Not all doom and gloom though. Keep it tight and we can maybe sneak one on the break or from a set-piece. Then Jason can dink in the shoot-out winner...

rodhibs55
14-07-2016, 09:15 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160714/b5498d6a8529800a1d833a8ceb1b6586.jpg

Absolutely brilliant

14-07-2016, 09:21 PM
Missed Fyvie imho as he takes the ball from deep and provides drive going forward. Pretty decent performance though and another 90 minutes for the majority of first team starters.

Logie
14-07-2016, 09:21 PM
Thought we played well tonight, struggled to break them down a bit at times but Mcgregor was motm for me with McGinn just behind who played well! Missed Fyvie he buzzes about the park and we missed that tonight! Ref and linesmen complete farse!!!!

14-07-2016, 09:26 PM
Brondby were a bunch of dirty hardmen and nothing like the technical, skilful, pacy side you'd expect from a decent euro outfit. Hibs more than help their own and really unlucky to lose the game. Struggle to see us winning the tie now, but proud of the way the lads went about their business. McGinn was class.

14-07-2016, 09:29 PM

not the clearest photo, my phone camera lens is goosed.

14-07-2016, 09:34 PM
not the clearest photo, my phone camera lens is goosed.

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160714/d22ca451fcdef3c6299037b0d89b94d3.jpg

14-07-2016, 09:35 PM
Thought Mcgeough was decent but wasted on the left of midfielder. Would like to see him and Mcginn in the middle this season with Boyle and other winger either side of them

I meant big Daz at the back haha

14-07-2016, 09:40 PM
When are Hibs going to get the goalkeeper's position sorted out, once and for all? By that, I mean signing a good, reliable, experienced, fully fit goalkeeper? The problem is that such a goalkeeper wont come cheap, and he may not want to play in the Championship.

The lad in goals tonight looked nervous, and you simply must not gift any team (especially at this level against street-wise opponents like Brondby) a goal of a start like the one tonight, right from the kick-off.

Self inflicted defeat tonight, not helped by appalling officiating. What's new?

lugz
14-07-2016, 09:42 PM
All in all a very even match. We done well to recover from the early mistake and not let it put us down. Only difference between the sides imo is that they are more composed on the ball.

McGinn was once again brilliant best player on the park by quite a distance. For us i thought McGregor also had a very good game.

Going into the 2nd leg this is nothing to fear against them, get the first goal of the match and anything can happen.

14-07-2016, 09:47 PM
I meant big Daz at the back haha

Your original post makes much more sense now!

14-07-2016, 09:57 PM
Lennon said JC goal was onside, he had seen it after match from 5 different angles. Slated the ref. Was sent off for giving linesman a hard time. JC offside goal was the only shot on target. Holt dived for penalty. Also Otso looks nervy. Same nervy display on his first appereance at Caley. Still deserved a draw.

The Pointer
14-07-2016, 10:06 PM
For a period in the second half we were quite dominant and it probably took that long for us to realise we're good and have the measure of them. I thought wee Stevie was outstanding and the subs made a difference especially (because I had a seat low down in the east) Keatings who wriggled about quite impressively and put in one nugget of a challenge. Apologies to the couple beside me as I can get quite animated.

Jdawg
14-07-2016, 10:11 PM
Thought Bartley was very slow and poor tonight, missed Fyvie.

On that showing Fyvie will walk straight back into the team. Offers far more than Bartley.

I do like Bartley though, he's had some great games since he joined.

14-07-2016, 10:11 PM
Lennon said JC goal was onside, he had seen it after match from 5 different angles. Slated the ref. Was sent off for giving linesman a hard time. JC offside goal was the only shot on target. Holt dived for penalty. Also Otso looks nervy. Same nervy display on his first appereance at Caley. Still deserved a draw.No it wasn't. We had at least 2 others in the first half that I can remember. We also hit the post.

14-07-2016, 10:17 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/t31.0-8/13724939_10209340326328207_4355273687591185064_o.j pg

14-07-2016, 10:19 PM
what's this utter p@sh

Just before the hour, the 11,000 Hibs fans inside Easter Road erupted as Cummings smashed home a cute Martin Boyle cross from the right-hand side, but the assistant referee flagged for offside.
A furious Lennon made his feelings clear to the fourth official and was sent to the stand for his troubles.

they had a small two sections(not even filled) behind the goals...2,500 brondby fans ? aye right, try 250-300 max silly reporter

14-07-2016, 10:54 PM
As good as game of football that we have seen at Easter Rd in a while. Brondby...hard working, close down quick, well organised. Hibs played some lovely stuff tonight. To my eyes we were more direct than last season but are obv missing a bit of match fitness. We could well get a result away but I'm not that bothered...our only job this year is to win the league and i fully believe we will....especially when Henderson comes back...and two other players.

14-07-2016, 10:56 PM
Thought Bartley was very slow and poor tonight, missed Fyvie.

On that showing Fyvie will walk straight back into the team. Offers far more than Bartley.

I do like Bartley though, he's had some great games since he joined.

Big man takes a long time to get fit...he's a unit.

14-07-2016, 10:57 PM
No it wasn't. We had at least 2 others in the first half that I can remember. We also hit the post.

Was it not Boyle who hit side net & some thought it was a goal

14-07-2016, 10:57 PM
No it wasn't. We had at least 2 others in the first half that I can remember. We also hit the post.

mcgregor had a good header that the goalie put behind ...somehow we didn't get the corner from it.

14-07-2016, 10:59 PM

https://s31.postimg.org/5g2oi26bv/goal.jpg

Bigger if you click the link, I've paused just as Boyle squares the ball. Onside in my book

14-07-2016, 11:03 PM

Bigger if you click the link, I've paused just as Boyle squares the ball. Onside in my book

I have watched it a good few times and freezed it like your shot. Definitely onside in my book. First competitive game of the season and already we have a howler from the officials that could cost us. We are going to be winning by huge margins when the decisions even out.

Tom Hart RIP
14-07-2016, 11:08 PM
Sorry if mentioned before but I noticed Liam Henderson at the game. Hope he liked the banner.

hibbytam
14-07-2016, 11:11 PM

He's 100% onside there, you can see by the lines on the pitch. Even looks like JC is behind the ball, and certainly the 2 defenders are infront of him.

15-07-2016, 04:39 AM
I thought their goal was off side? Not seen our 'goal' yet

15-07-2016, 06:57 AM
I thought their goal was off side? Not seen our 'goal' yet
Their goal looks offside to me too. It really is incredible how many important decisions go against us particularly in big games.

15-07-2016, 08:03 AM
They were a big powerful team and after such a horror start we grew into the game. Had Cummings goal stood we may have went onto win. However, in the last minute (or David Gray time) we get a free kick near the touchline. We then let a centre-half (fontaine) take the kick which he puts right out the park. That is why he is a centre-half and not a midfield player or striker. Bring back Hendo. Oh and the Hero's banner was superb.