View Full Version : Shrewsbury Town v Hibernian

14-07-2016, 09:38 AM
We're playing Shrewsbury in a pre-season friendly on Sunday 31st July - 12.30pm kick off.

Apologies if already mentioned elsewhere...

TamHibs
14-07-2016, 09:41 AM
Prices are decent aswel.

£10 adults

14-07-2016, 09:44 AM
Prices are decent aswel.

£10 adults
£60 minimum in fuel though

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

14-07-2016, 09:45 AM
Blurb from Shrewsbury.

http://mobile.shrewsburytown.com//news/article/2016-17/hibs-to-visit-greenhous-meadow-3184727.aspx

12:30 KO! 😱

14-07-2016, 09:53 AM
Shrews have a few well known faces in Ian Black, Ryan Mcgivern and Gary Deegan, though James Collins has just left them.

Finn2015
14-07-2016, 09:53 AM
Brill not far from there!!!!

cheltenhamhibee
14-07-2016, 09:54 AM
Hopefully will be heading up for this, any other West Country/ Welsh Hibbys thinking of making the trip ?

14-07-2016, 10:16 AM
Trust it to be a Sunday!

Oh well.

14-07-2016, 10:17 AM
Shrews have a few well known faces in Ian Black, Ryan Mcgivern and Gary Deegan, though James Collins has just left them.

Now THAT's a well-known face I'd like to re-arrange ....

14-07-2016, 10:17 AM
Train fare from Waverley is £127 return. Have to leave Sat. eve so hotel needed. No chance.

14-07-2016, 10:27 AM
Hopefully will be heading up for this, any other West Country/ Welsh Hibbys thinking of making the trip ?

Me, Bathhibby and my two boys will be coming up.

14-07-2016, 10:31 AM
285 miles, 12.30 kick off, FFS:rolleyes:

14-07-2016, 10:32 AM
I think the kick-off time will be related to the fact that it's also the Club's Open Day that day.

14-07-2016, 10:33 AM
FYI

A wee guide to the ground.

http://www.footballgroundguide.com/leagues/england/league-one/greenhous-meadow-stadium-shrewsbury-town.html#adirections-and-car-parking

14-07-2016, 10:36 AM
If we beat Brondby, we could be away in Europe the Thursday before or after. Think I'll hang fire on this

andrew70
14-07-2016, 10:43 AM
If we don't get through in Europe I will probably drive down through the night for this get down for a brekkie. Benefit of early kick off is getting home that bit earlier for work the next day.

14-07-2016, 10:44 AM
Anything from Hibs yet?

14-07-2016, 11:01 AM

Why would Hibs agree to this, stupid KO time for fans wanting to go down to watch the game, was at that ground last season and it is a nightmare drive, was looking forward to a pre season friendly down South but will be giving this one a miss due to the KO time.

14-07-2016, 11:42 AM

Would love to have watched them playing against each other

14-07-2016, 11:45 AM
Will be in Ireland that week, which fortunately takes away any thoughts of making the trip down.

14-07-2016, 11:56 AM
Would have been all over this but go on holiday the previous Thursday. Went to their new ground a couple of years ago watching Bolton in the League Cup and it wasn't much to write home about to be honest.

14-07-2016, 12:09 PM
You can't get down on the Sunday by train in time for kick off so unless you're driving you'd have to stay over on the Saturday night. 12:30 ko is rubbish and I think this is purely to stop fans getting bevvied before it.

14-07-2016, 12:19 PM

Not sure who I hate more, Black or McGivern.

14-07-2016, 12:22 PM
Good stuff! Only an hour or so from Liverpool! 😀

14-07-2016, 12:23 PM
FYI

A wee guide to the ground.

http://www.footballgroundguide.com/leagues/england/league-one/greenhous-meadow-stadium-shrewsbury-town.html#adirections-and-car-parking

It's a pretty bland ground and there's no pubs nearby either. The old Gay Meadow was a lot better for pubs etc

14-07-2016, 12:42 PM
Train fare from Waverley is £127 return. Have to leave Sat. eve so hotel needed. No chance.

If you split the fare at Preston you can get there for £67 return, down on Sat afternoon to Preston, cheap digs, train to Shrews Sun am then back via Gla on Sun night.

14-07-2016, 12:44 PM
If you split the fare at Preston you can get there for £67 return, down on Sat afternoon to Preston, cheap digs, train to Shrews Sun am then back via Gla on Sun night.

ScotRail Guards are on strike on the Sunday night so there wont be any trains after around 19:30 from Queen st to Edinburgh

14-07-2016, 12:54 PM
Anything from Hibs yet?

14-07-2016, 01:10 PM
ScotRail Guards are on strike on the Sunday night so there wont be any trains after around 19:30 from Queen st to Edinburgh

Bus from weej - the capital, probably be a bit cheaper too.

14-07-2016, 01:25 PM

About 1hr 30 mins I reckon, I'm in Liverppool that Sunday too but other plans unfortunately.

14-07-2016, 01:36 PM
It's a pretty bland ground and there's no pubs nearby either. The old Gay Meadow was a lot better for pubs etc

My mate runs this pub http://baileyhead.co.uk/ in nearby Oswestry. Well worth a visit if you're in the area.

wpj
14-07-2016, 01:42 PM

Won't be able to join you this time, shame!

14-07-2016, 01:49 PM
Bus from weej - the capital, probably be a bit cheaper too.

Aye, watch me!

14-07-2016, 02:06 PM
Aye, watch me!

Im only referring to the Sunday night. Theres a bus from Buch Street at 2355.

Hibeewilly
14-07-2016, 02:23 PM
Are you thinking of running a bus BF ?

14-07-2016, 04:36 PM
Booked hotel in telford, see the family on the Saturday, fitba on the Sunday. Can't beat it

14-07-2016, 05:39 PM
Won't be able to join you this time, shame!

Shame. Might stay with the godson and make a weekend of it 😀🍻

high bee
14-07-2016, 05:57 PM

Haven't been in about 4 years but the Brooklands is on the Meole Brace roundabout about 5-10 mins walk to the ground, it's a bar/restaurant that is normally busy before match day. If you have a designated driver they can park there for £5 too.

Cheshire Hibby
14-07-2016, 06:20 PM
Brill not far from there!!!!

Me too. Looking forward to it already.

Finn2015
14-07-2016, 06:32 PM
Me too. Looking forward to it already.

Will be a good day out, Shrewsbury nice place

Nailsea Hibby
14-07-2016, 08:37 PM
Will be a good day out, Shrewsbury nice place

Horrible drive but will need to head up

14-07-2016, 10:28 PM
I'll be heading down.

My Mother and four older siblings were all born in Shrewsbury and my parents are buried there so an emotional trip for me

14-07-2016, 10:48 PM
Are you thinking of running a bus BF ?

No, I know the Four in Hand are looking into running one though

15-07-2016, 06:07 AM
Haven't been in about 4 years but the Brooklands is on the Meole Brace roundabout about 5-10 mins walk to the ground, it's a bar/restaurant that is normally busy before match day. If you have a designated driver they can park there for £5 too.

My godson and family live about 2 minutes from the Brooklands and is a no bad pub. Certainly walkable to the Shrews ground and is as good as any pub in the locality.

GreenT
15-07-2016, 04:06 PM
Can't see anything on their fixture list and Hibs haven't mentioned it. Can't see it happening if we beat Brondby.

15-07-2016, 04:12 PM
Can't see anything on their fixture list and Hibs haven't mentioned it. Can't see it happening if we beat Brondby.

Birmingham game rumoured to be in doubt as well. No ticket sales from Hibs yet and rumours that the police were not happy with rival fans travelling up for this.

15-07-2016, 04:15 PM

Sunday 31st July will see SPL side visit
SPFL side and Scottish Cup holders Hibs will be the visitors to the Greenhous Meadow for Micky Mellon’s sides’ final game of pre-season.

It will give Town a good test as they prepare for the Sky Bet League 1 kick-off season and it will coincide with the club’s annual Open Day.

Ticket prices have been kept low to help encourage as many young supporters to come along to the game and also to take part in the Open Day.

There are connections between the clubs with Ryan McGivern and Gary Deegan having played for Hibs, who currently have one Grant Holt in their ranks.

Town CEO Brian Caldwell is pleased to have finally confirmed the opposition for the final weekend of pre-season.

“We are delighted that Hibs have agreed to the game and it will be good to have the Scottish Cup holders at the Greenhous Meadow”, said Brian.

“We did have some issues getting a game on the Sunday to coincide with the open day but we have got one.

“I think it will be the first time that Hibs have visited the Greenhous Meadow and we look forward to welcoming them on Sunday 31st July.

“It will be a 12:30pm kick-off and for the open day there will be activity before the game and plenty more afterwards.

“Jamie and his team in the community have a full list of events over the day and we will be announcing those shortly.”

It’s taken Town a while to confirm the final game but it is one that Micky Mellon’s side is looking forward to. The test that Hibs will pose ahead of the start of the season should be a good one for Town.

“Micky's delighted that we have got Hibs as he wanted a good test especially in the final pre season match and he knows that they are a good footballing side”, added Brian.

“It will be a good test for the players in the lead up to the important game at home to MK Dons on the first day of the season and hopefully we can encourage as many local people along for the match and Open Day.

“Hibs are a good strong team and a big club in Scotland so it will be a hard one for the team.”

Ticket Prices for the game have been set at:-
Adults - £10
Concessions - £5
U18s - £1

Tickets will go on sale soon.

Read more at http://www.shrewsburytown.com/news/article/2016-17/hibs-to-visit-greenhous-meadow-3184727.aspx#Xu7Fset8jfsHthTE.99

15-07-2016, 04:17 PM
http://www.shrewsburytown.com/news/article/2016-17/hibs-to-visit-greenhous-meadow-3184727.aspx

15-07-2016, 04:17 PM
Birmingham game rumoured to be in doubt as well. No ticket sales from Hibs yet and rumours that the police were not happy with rival fans travelling up for this.

Birmingham started selling tickets for this on Wednesday.

http://www.bcfc.com/news/article/2016-17/hibernian-birmingham-city-3182078.aspx

15-07-2016, 04:22 PM
Big time MvGivern's career has really taken off eh 😂 Prick

15-07-2016, 04:40 PM
Quite fancy it but expensive trip in the train. Might need to save the sheckles for Berlin as well.

15-07-2016, 05:40 PM

After a wee bit further research you can get the bus to Birmingham overnight in both directions for £38 return plus £14 return on the train on match day from Birmingham - Shrewsbury.

15-07-2016, 05:50 PM
Birmingham started selling tickets for this on Wednesday.

http://www.bcfc.com/news/article/2016-17/hibernian-birmingham-city-3182078.aspx

Yes i know. Game still be called off though.

15-07-2016, 07:00 PM
Yes i know. Game still be called off though.

Hibs selling tickets too :wink:

16-07-2016, 10:54 AM
I'll be heading down.

My Mother and four older siblings were all born in Shrewsbury and my parents are buried there so an emotional trip for me

Hope you bring back some happy associations Jonny.

HibbyDave
16-07-2016, 12:09 PM

Pub won't be open before kick off at 12.30 on a Sunday surely?

16-07-2016, 12:13 PM
Pub won't be open before kick off at 12.30 on a Sunday surely?

11am opening on a Sunday I think. Used to be noon in England but think it's been changed slightly.

16-07-2016, 02:54 PM
11am opening on a Sunday I think. Used to be noon in England but think it's been changed slightly.

Yip, 11:00 opening down here on Sunday's like any other day.

17-07-2016, 08:10 AM
Does anyone think this could be moved to the Saturday if we lose Thursday?

17-07-2016, 08:23 AM
Does anyone think this could be moved to the Saturday if we lose Thursday?

I would very much doubt it, the Shrews seem to be using the game as an integral part of their open day.

On a side, not that you can read too much into pre season results but they lost 4-0 at home to Cardiff yesterday.

gorgie greens
18-07-2016, 08:10 AM

Will be heading up myself have you got any plans yet

18-07-2016, 10:45 AM
Bit of info on their open day.

http://mobile.shrewsburytown.com//news/article/2016-17/club-open-day-3186399.aspx

cheltenhamhibee
18-07-2016, 10:48 AM
Will be heading up myself have you got any plans yet

Will be heading up in the car with a few mates (non Hibbys, but will be for that day) hopefully will manage to get a couple of beers in beforehand

HibsNibs
18-07-2016, 11:10 AM
Wow! - driving home from Ingerland that day. Wonder if Mrs. Nibs fancies a detour off the M6 and getting home a few hours later than originally planned.

18-07-2016, 11:12 AM
Wow! - driving home from Ingerland that day. Wonder if Mrs. Nibs fancies a detour off the M6 and getting home a few hours later than originally planned.

Of course she would, she'd enjoy it even more if it's a surprise!

18-07-2016, 11:34 AM
Have Hibs confirmed this game yet?

18-07-2016, 11:37 AM
quality only an hours drive for me !

18-07-2016, 11:52 AM
Have Hibs confirmed this game yet?

It's not on the official site. Think will depend on Europe. If we qualify, think they may send a development team

18-07-2016, 11:54 AM
It's not on the official site. Think will depend on Europe. If we qualify, think they may send a development team

Thats what I was thinking. Won't be going if it's a development team.

18-07-2016, 01:36 PM
5 hour drive on a Sunday morning. Can't say I'm enthusiastic about this game

gorgie greens
18-07-2016, 07:20 PM
Taking my boy to his first game only 84 miles .its confirmed on the Shrewsbury website

drummondst
18-07-2016, 10:38 PM
Looking forward to a relatively short hop to Shrewsbury from Leamington.
Pushbike to Tile Hill ( Coventry) , then train via Brum International to Shewsbury,
arrive 11.09 & depart back 15.33, arriving back home about 6 ish. Not as mad
as it seems so as can have a drink as detailed below & £14.90 return.
Time for a quick bevvy in the Brooklands first, as opens at 11 am on a
Sunday & can personally recommend The Coach & Horses, Swan Hill, in town
after the match as the quintissential real ale type pub, with food. As myself and
the good lady visited there last October on a day out.
Next match after this due to work commitments etc is September 17th
v Ayr . On the 7.15 via Birmingham arriving 12.22 at Waverley & return on 18.52
getting back in Leamington 00.22
Double edge sword if train is late back as will get delay compensation. Again !
Has only cost £30.75 return , on an advance booking split ticket via Lancaster .
GGTH
Drummond Street

19-07-2016, 12:44 AM
Looking forward to a relatively short hop to Shrewsbury from Leamington.
Pushbike to Tile Hill ( Coventry) , then train via Brum International to Shewsbury,
arrive 11.09 & depart back 15.33, arriving back home about 6 ish. Not as mad
as it seems so as can have a drink as detailed below & £14.90 return.
Time for a quick bevvy in the Brooklands first, as opens at 11 am on a
Sunday & can personally recommend The Coach & Horses, Swan Hill, in town
after the match as the quintissential real ale type pub, with food. As myself and
the good lady visited there last October on a day out.
Next match after this due to work commitments etc is September 17th
v Ayr . On the 7.15 via Birmingham arriving 12.22 at Waverley & return on 18.52
getting back in Leamington 00.22
Double edge sword if train is late back as will get delay compensation. Again !
Has only cost £30.75 return , on an advance booking split ticket via Lancaster .
GGTH
Drummond Street

Is there a tune we should sing this to? :singing::partyhibb:singing:

26-07-2016, 09:42 PM
Where's everybody meeting up beforehand? Looks like Brooklands or the Charles Darwin for watering holes near the ground.

26-07-2016, 09:46 PM
Defo heading down to this!

26-07-2016, 10:31 PM
3 of us heading down on the saturday by car and staying in a local guest house. Looking forward to it.

27-07-2016, 03:29 AM
Is there a decent Irish pub in Shrewsbury?

27-07-2016, 07:48 AM
Is there a decent Irish pub in Shrewsbury?

There is the James Collins bar, although the pints taste like someone has pissed in a glass.

29-07-2016, 03:02 PM
Anyone going down tomorrow for the night? Looking for recommendations for local boozers. Where are people drinking on Sunday before game?

29-07-2016, 03:09 PM
Anyone going down tomorrow for the night? Looking for recommendations for local boozers. Where are people drinking on Sunday before game?

You might struggle to get a pint before the game. It's a half 12 kick off.

29-07-2016, 04:46 PM
You might struggle to get a pint before the game. It's a half 12 kick off.

Pubs open at 11

29-07-2016, 04:50 PM
Pubs open at 11

Few pubs we have looked at open at 12? Do you know any that open at 11am?

29-07-2016, 06:03 PM
On a Sunday the vast majority of pubs in Shrewsbury will open at 12.

Montgomerys Tower is a Spoons pub in the town centre that will be open early and I think the Salopian Bar (good if you're into ale and bottled beers from all over the place) opens at 11.

The new ground is on the outskirts of Shrewsbury so bear that in mind. There is a pub fairly near the ground, think its called the Charles Darwin. Its pretty moderate but from memory has a decent size carpark the landlord will let you leave your car or minibus in.

29-07-2016, 10:14 PM
On a Sunday the vast majority of pubs in Shrewsbury will open at 12.

Montgomerys Tower is a Spoons pub in the town centre that will be open early and I think the Salopian Bar (good if you're into ale and bottled beers from all over the place) opens at 11.

The new ground is on the outskirts of Shrewsbury so bear that in mind. There is a pub fairly near the ground, think its called the Charles Darwin. Its pretty moderate but from memory has a decent size carpark the landlord will let you leave your car or minibus in.

🖒 heading to the charles darwin tomorrow night to check it out as its not far from where we are staying.

29-07-2016, 10:23 PM
Not sure if HibsTV are streaming this game but looks like Shrewsbury have a player (http://www.player.shrewsburytown.com).

JOD
29-07-2016, 11:42 PM
Nice piece by Gary Keegan on the Shrew website about his time at Hibs . He had a tough time with the broken jaw etc.,

But tell you what he scored 1 of the best goals I have ever seen at Easter Road against Aberdeen.

I was sitting in West Stand and was right in line when he hit it. What a strike !!

Well done and forever in my Hibee memory.

Biscuit
30-07-2016, 06:59 AM
Will be making the relatively short trip up from Cheltenham with my Son - his first game since the cup win, mine since Brondby at home where I was really impressed with our high tempo tactics. Looking forward to seeing them in the Midlands as I reckon it will be the possible starting XI for next weekend, hopefully with a new GK and maybe Henderson (delivers) although looking less likely it will be in time.

wonder how many Hibees will be there Sunday? Might get there early just in case! :flag:

30-07-2016, 07:03 AM

If you're there in Saturday night, one of my favourite pubs in Shrewsbury is the Dun Cow in the town centre. Decent pint and atmosphere as well.

30-07-2016, 07:52 AM
Just a word of warning for anyone travelling. Came down the m6 yesterday, took almost 6 1/2 driving to Birmingham. Lots of roadworks, so give yourself a little more time

30-07-2016, 09:07 AM
If you're there in Saturday night, one of my favourite pubs in Shrewsbury is the Dun Cow in the town centre. Decent pint and atmosphere as well.

Cheers 🖒

30-07-2016, 09:07 AM
Just a word of warning for anyone travelling. Came down the m6 yesterday, took almost 6 1/2 driving to Birmingham. Lots of roadworks, so give yourself a little more time

Thanks for the heads up. Leaving shortly.

30-07-2016, 05:28 PM
Thanks for the heads up. Leaving shortly.

Was brutal today, but arrived in Telford. Train to Shrewsbury tomorrow, looking forward to the game.

30-07-2016, 06:21 PM
Was brutal today, but arrived in Telford. Train to Shrewsbury tomorrow, looking forward to the game.

Had no problem came down m74/m6 met no roadworks and arrives in shrewsbury 5 hrs later

LustForLeith
30-07-2016, 06:35 PM
What type of team are Hibs putting out? Is it a select side or as close to the first team as possible?

30-07-2016, 06:38 PM
I won a right a few quid yesterday, wish i'd got the 4IH bus now. oh well, just need to drown myself in Strongbow instead!

30-07-2016, 07:31 PM
I see Skybet have priced up tomorrows match and we're 7/4 to win.

30-07-2016, 07:38 PM
What type of team are Hibs putting out? Is it a select side or as close to the first team as possible?

Dunno but Forster rocked up in a Beamer just before 2. looks like players parked their cars in the spare land at corner of East and FF before getting into the team bus (well there was a bus beside the club shop just before 2pm.

30-07-2016, 07:40 PM

I'm guessing first team, given it's over a week since our last game and almost a week until the next. Full dress rehearsal. I don't know anything about Shrewsbury (apart from their stadium is next to a river, which isn't really relevant!), but I think we'll be firing on all cylinders and will win comfortably.

30-07-2016, 09:04 PM
Can someone boo McGivern for me.

30-07-2016, 09:07 PM
I'm guessing first team, given it's over a week since our last game and almost a week until the next. Full dress rehearsal. I don't know anything about Shrewsbury (apart from their stadium is next to a river, which isn't really relevant!), but I think we'll be firing on all cylinders and will win comfortably.

Their old stadium, Gay Meadow, was next to a river. They've moved now so make sure you go to the new stadium!!

LustForLeith
30-07-2016, 09:45 PM
I see Skybet have priced up tomorrows match and we're 7/4 to win.

That's what i was thinking. Shrewsbury are favourites but if it's as close to a full strength Hibs team, one that's already beaten Bronby and Birmingham, that's worth a punt

30-07-2016, 11:23 PM
Their old stadium, Gay Meadow, was next to a river. They've moved now so make sure you go to the new stadium!!
They used to have an old guy called Fred Davies with a coracle who would retrieve the lost balls from the Severn.

31-07-2016, 12:26 AM
Was his middle name "parrot face"?
Apologies to younger viewers.

31-07-2016, 01:26 AM
Down here already. Visited many pubs. All good but bring your hard hat. Time for bed. Goodnight.

Nailsea Hibby
31-07-2016, 05:14 AM
Down here already. Visited many pubs. All good but bring your hard hat. Time for bed. Goodnight.

Just about to leave, why hard hat ? :flag:

31-07-2016, 06:15 AM
Got the kids up, leaving soon to head to Bath to pick up my Dad (Bathhibby), then road trip!

Boys are very excited, it's my youngest lads first Hibs game. He was up straight away and into his full Hibs kit. Oh to be 5 again.

31-07-2016, 07:42 AM
I'll be in the road from Liverpool at about 10. Bringing my son as well for his first Hibs game!

31-07-2016, 07:45 AM

Shrew beat Birmingham also. Expect them to be a good test. A draw for me.

31-07-2016, 08:02 AM
Just about to leave, why hard hat ? :flag:

Was going to ask that as well? Why the hard hat?!

31-07-2016, 08:32 AM
Quick pit stop at the M5 Gloucester McDonalds for breakfast.

31-07-2016, 08:50 AM

Strange.

31-07-2016, 08:59 AM
All the pubs are hard hat pubs.

31-07-2016, 09:05 AM
Hibs to win 2-0 16/1. I stuck a tenner on it

QMU-1875
31-07-2016, 09:06 AM
Game on hibs.tv?

31-07-2016, 09:22 AM
Great to hear the passion getting passed on down to the next generation. What a great opportunity to get the kids in and rightly proud of their team getting into winning habits. It's been poor fare for the kids until recently. Promotion aside this is probably the next biggest opportunity Hibs must seize.

31-07-2016, 09:29 AM
Just arrived after a 5 hour drive.

31-07-2016, 09:33 AM

What's a hard hat pub?

31-07-2016, 09:42 AM
What's a hard hat pub?

Building sites? Works in progress? low ceilings?

31-07-2016, 09:47 AM

Had a great night last night in Montgomery Tower then The Beach.
Back in Monty Tower now for a bevvy and breakfast.

31-07-2016, 10:14 AM
Gutted, out on the piss last night, and i've just woken up and missed the Lancashire Hibs double decker that left at 9am. :boo hoo:

31-07-2016, 10:34 AM
A 343 system. Love it

Hibs team to play Shrewsbury: Laidlaw, McGregor, Hanlon, Fontaine, Harris, McGinn, Martin, Stevenson, Keatings, Holt, Cummings #STFCvHFC

mike1875
31-07-2016, 10:38 AM
Hibs team to play Shrewsbury: Laidlaw, McGregor, Hanlon, Fontaine, Harris, McGinn, Martin, Stevenson, Keatings, Holt, Cummings #STFCvHFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/STFCvHFC?src=hash)

Hibs substitutes: Virtanen, Crane, Forster, Carmichael, Boyle, Stanton, Shaw

31-07-2016, 10:40 AM
What's up with Bartley? Really hope McGeough can keep himself fit and this niggle he has isn't something that'll be repeating itself again. Looking a bit short in that area of the park.

31-07-2016, 10:41 AM
In the Brooklands pub (just off the main roundabout) with a few Hibees having a pre match pint now. Sun is shining and the beer garden is nice.

Free parking BTW.

bathhibby
31-07-2016, 10:47 AM
At the Brooklands - pretty good

31-07-2016, 11:01 AM
Mcgeoch and Bartley not in squad Presume being saved for Falkirk game if both have minor tweaks
But it highlights why we need Henderson back or someone else in as we lnow from last season that both these players can be prone to injury
Not so long ago Dylan said he was over his injuries but if we are having to manage tweaks this early in season its a bit of a worry for me as he is a key player
Gives Martin a chance to stake a claim v Falkirk though

Nutmegged
31-07-2016, 11:02 AM
Just noticed the team lines, does anyone know why our goalies are using squad numbers but the outfield players are using 2-11? Seems strange.

31-07-2016, 11:04 AM
Is the painter starting for Shrewsbury?

31-07-2016, 11:14 AM
What is the team please.

31-07-2016, 11:15 AM
What is the team please.

See post 23

31-07-2016, 11:19 AM
I take it McGivern isn't playing. He'll be needing his usual 12 bottles of Magners on a sunday, can't let a triviality like being a pro footballer get in the way of that.

31-07-2016, 11:19 AM
Not on Hibs tv for overseas viewers? Not even commentary?

31-07-2016, 11:21 AM
McGirven starts for Shrewsbury. Hopefully McGregor goes through the imposter

hongkonghibee
31-07-2016, 11:25 AM
I was hoping for audio commentary on hibs TV of this match as often in the past we get audio for the away pre season friendlies. As an annual season ticket holder for hibs TV I did expect an email or something on the official site . After all the complaints about Hibs TV not showing our European ties , It seems they still haven't learnt anything about communication with us. I guess its not on?

Tha Cabbage Kid
31-07-2016, 11:25 AM
Nothing!😢

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

31-07-2016, 11:26 AM

doubt it, very much..

Might get commentary but recent correspondence suggest you can count on home league matches being televised live..and commentary for away league games if possible...but aall other games will be reviewed on a 'game by game' basis.

Tha Cabbage Kid
31-07-2016, 11:27 AM
What's the deal with the goalkeeping situation. I thought maybe Marciano or Murphy my get a trial game????

31-07-2016, 11:29 AM
What's the deal with the goalkeeping situation. I thought maybe Marciano or Murphy my get a trial game????

Lennon said he expected Rocky to arrive tomorrow. Murphy is only a rumour. Re Hibs TV it's on their Twitter that they're unable to provide.

hongkonghibee
31-07-2016, 11:32 AM
doubt it, very much..

Might get commentary but recent correspondence suggest you can count on home league matches being televised live..and commentary for away league games if possible...but aall other games will be reviewed on a 'game by game' basis.

yes that's my understanding too. But if they are going to decide on a "game by game" basis, they need to inform us of their decision.:confused:

Tha Cabbage Kid
31-07-2016, 11:32 AM
Lennon said he expected Rocky to arrive tomorrow. Murphy is only a rumour. Re Hibs TV it's on their Twitter that they're unable to provide.
So disappointing. Can't understand the problem here. Why can't we get coverage?

31-07-2016, 11:35 AM
0-1 cabbage

31-07-2016, 11:35 AM
Was just about to ask if we had scored yet

31-07-2016, 11:36 AM
1-0 us. Fontaine.

one nil - Fontaine header after 4 mins.

1-0 us. Fontaine.

:partyhibb

31-07-2016, 11:37 AM
0-2 Holt

2 nil

one nil - Fontaine header after 4 mins.

Free kick floated into the box fontaine nods in

31-07-2016, 11:39 AM
HOLT second with diving header after cross from the left

31-07-2016, 11:41 AM
2-0 holt

31-07-2016, 11:42 AM
Is the painter starting for Shrewsbury?
Injured and apparently had a big falling out with the assistant manager.

skyehibee
31-07-2016, 11:45 AM
@jpdhfc has a periscope of the game if anyone is interested

31-07-2016, 11:45 AM

Apparently the dressing room walls had a gloss finish and he'd asked for matt.

31-07-2016, 11:47 AM
McGivern mis-kicks the ball and it affords Hibs a chance. The ball is worked to McGinn, but his first-time effort is over the bar

Some things never change.

31-07-2016, 11:49 AM
McGivern mis-kicks the ball and it affords Hibs a chance. The ball is worked to McGinn, but his first-time effort is over the bar

Some things never change.

He's not wearing green anymore. Thank **** that's changed :greengrin

31-07-2016, 11:52 AM

He probably heard that Black had a tenner on Hibs -2.

31-07-2016, 11:57 AM
@jpdhfc has a periscope of the game if anyone is interested

Can't find them on periscope SH . Is that the correct letters .

31-07-2016, 11:58 AM

find him on twitter. its not great tbh

aarsan
31-07-2016, 11:59 AM

Watching on periscope but not very good view from behind the goal

31-07-2016, 12:03 PM
How many fans have gone down for the match?

31-07-2016, 12:07 PM

Cheers bud . Second half will be much better to watch .

31-07-2016, 12:08 PM
How many fans have gone down for the match?

Someone tweeted about a 100 .

31-07-2016, 12:08 PM
Someone tweeted about a 100 .

jonny
31-07-2016, 12:10 PM
Watching on periscope but not very good view from behind the goal

Do you have a direct link? I've got periscope but really have no idea how to work it.

31-07-2016, 12:13 PM

Found a much better periscope on Twitter
@m_blackburn88 (Ryan Dunbar )

31-07-2016, 12:13 PM
Do you have a direct link? I've got periscope but really have no idea how to work it.

Search on Twitter for my above post mate

31-07-2016, 12:18 PM

The guy just showed our fans on periscope . Looked more like 200 plus to me :)

jonny
31-07-2016, 12:21 PM
Search on Twitter for my above post mate

Thanks pal. Got it now 👍

31-07-2016, 12:22 PM
I cancelled my Hibs TV for Summer so I'm not missing out, but sad for my fellow overseas fans who are paying for a service we are not getting. Once again...

31-07-2016, 12:28 PM

At least that number, and the hot food ran out before half time. Underestimated the number of away fans apparently. Decent Hibs turnout here

31-07-2016, 12:30 PM
I cancelled my Hibs TV for Summer so I'm not missing out, but sad for my fellow overseas fans who are paying for a service we are not getting. Once again...

Recently made clear to me in no uncertain terms that what we sign up for is live coverage of home LEAGUE games and if possible commentary from away league games.

Other games considered on a game by game basis..but don't expect every game live...resources/cost /time/logistical constraints etc.

31-07-2016, 12:30 PM

I think that's very harsh SH, the Hibs TV staff and output is superb value and gets better each season - missing a pre-season game which I think Hibs TV had no control over is not the end of the world, surely ?

I thought last year was the best yet in terms of quality, value, excitement and commentaries. I thought they deserved all the plaudits.

31-07-2016, 12:31 PM
At least that number, and the hot food ran out before half time. Underestimated the number of away fans apparently. Decent Hibs turnout here

That's a brilliant effort mate .Well done to all who made it . Especially with the 12-30 ko and traveling involved . I salute each and every one of you .

31-07-2016, 12:35 PM
At least the pie stand should have had a lick of paint over the summer!!

31-07-2016, 12:38 PM
Any subs at h/t?

31-07-2016, 12:38 PM

Mixup over the painting. Assistants wife was furious

31-07-2016, 12:40 PM
50' A low cross from Harris is almost turned in by McGivern

Oh it never stops with that boy..

31-07-2016, 12:43 PM
1-2. Deflected free kick.

31-07-2016, 12:47 PM
3-1 Cummings.

31-07-2016, 12:47 PM
Cummings!!

31-07-2016, 12:49 PM
4-1 Keatings 62mins

4-1 Keatings.

Good to see the goals going in.

Great goal by Keats. Brilliant touch over the keeper

31-07-2016, 12:50 PM
Another game with the goals spread out. Good to see.

31-07-2016, 12:51 PM
Ryan McGivern still ***** i see.

31-07-2016, 12:52 PM
Could we be about to kill Shrewsbury as a club?

KSA Hibee
31-07-2016, 12:52 PM
Ryan McGivern still ***** i see.

Always thought he was a wizards sleeve !!

31-07-2016, 12:54 PM
I think that's very harsh SH, the Hibs TV staff and output is superb value and gets better each season - missing a pre-season game which I think Hibs TV had no control over is not the end of the world, surely ?

I thought last year was the best yet in terms of quality, value, excitement and commentaries. I thought they deserved all the plaudits.

Hardly harsh - we also missed the European League games this season (home and away) and the Hearts Scottish Cup game last season! - While the stream quality has certainly improved the overall service for the subscribers is most certainly not getting better, it is getting markedly worse - communication with HIBS TV is also poor to non-existant -

31-07-2016, 12:56 PM
Very impressive pre season this has been

31-07-2016, 12:58 PM

Think we're in for a good season.

31-07-2016, 12:59 PM
And some folk think SPL is on a par with League One or even Two!

31-07-2016, 01:00 PM

Agree, a lot more confident about the quality in depth of our squad as well.

31-07-2016, 01:02 PM

The lower leagues in England are well overrated.

Yes, they are competitive but that's primarily because they are made up of teams at a similar level of mediocrity.

I think the reason that we've been quiet on the signing front is simply that we're not screaming out for many new players.

Agree, a lot more confident about the quality in depth of our squad as well.

Even more impressive considering how few signings we've made and stokes and hendo are gone

Finn2015
31-07-2016, 01:03 PM

Agree scottish football isn't great but sometimes we do it down to much

High-On-Hibs
31-07-2016, 01:05 PM
Even more impressive considering how few signings we've made and stokes and hendo are gone

There's been a major culture shift over the past couple of years. It's not always about the players you have, but rather, the mentality that is instilled into them. All of these players look like winners.

31-07-2016, 01:06 PM
Ryan McGivern still ***** i see.He was good for 18 of his 24 months here.

31-07-2016, 01:06 PM
Recently made clear to me in no uncertain terms that what we sign up for is live coverage of home LEAGUE games and if possible commentary from away league games.

Other games considered on a game by game basis..but don't expect every game live...resources/cost /time/logistical constraints etc.

Thanks for letting me know we're not getting the cup games in August. Did not know that! I have to work one Saturday too, so might leave it until September to sign up again. Cheers for the info.

johncrobertson@
31-07-2016, 01:07 PM
469 Hibees in a crowd of 2007 Official - Superb support!

31-07-2016, 01:08 PM
469 Hibs fans there, excellent!

31-07-2016, 01:08 PM
He was good for 18 of his 24 months here.

He was brilliant in the Wotherspoon derby.

31-07-2016, 01:09 PM

It was 469. Pretty impressive considering the kick off time and the fact that it's Shrewsbury.

31-07-2016, 01:09 PM

Tbf we beat Motherwell 4-1 ( who are in the SFPL ) so they have kinda got a point . Lol
Maybe we should join a super league now :)

high bee
31-07-2016, 01:11 PM
There's atleast one vote against Scottish teams entering the English leagues should it ever come to fruition, these teams would fall further down the pyramid ;)

31-07-2016, 01:11 PM

I'm harsh!!!!!!!!! 🙈

Anyway, Well done Hibs today, looking good!

31-07-2016, 01:12 PM
It was 469. Pretty impressive considering the kick off time and the fact that it's Shrewsbury.

Most teams don't bring that much to ER . Fantastic effort which has been rewarded with a fantastic result . Bring on Uncle Festers bairns :)

The Captain....
31-07-2016, 01:15 PM
Has to be said Hibs looking very impressive in pre season..scoring goals, not conceding many...I'd imagine Lennon is delighted. Had a good chance to see nearly all of the squad at some point.

Really looking forward to Falkirk now.

hhibs
31-07-2016, 01:16 PM
Hardly harsh - we also missed the European League games this season (home and away) and the Hearts Scottish Cup game last season! - While the stream quality has certainly improved the overall service for the subscribers is most certainly not getting better, it is getting markedly worse - communication with HIBS TV is also poor to non-existant -

They do know how this lack of communication,lack of plain good manners even, gets right up our noses or is it they just don't give a toss
Whatever it is it needs sorted

Tha Cabbage Kid
31-07-2016, 01:18 PM
Full time?

mike1875
31-07-2016, 01:21 PM
Full time?

yeah 4-1 :thumbsup:

31-07-2016, 01:22 PM
Great result. :flag:

31-07-2016, 01:23 PM
Another decent result. I think this season is going to be a cracker

From the Shropshire Star.

FT: Town 1 @HibsOfficial 4: Good 90 minutes for Town but Hibs showed how to finish #salop

— Shrewsbury Town FC (@shrewsweb) July 31, 2016
Read more at http://www.shropshirestar.com/sport/shrewsbury-town-fc/2016/07/31/shrewsbury-town-v-hibernian-live/#f9qGCTUxqj0XKyeR.99

Well done Hibs and well done to the fans who made the trip down.

31-07-2016, 01:25 PM
They do know how this lack of communication,lack of plain good manners even, gets right up our noses or is it they just don't give a toss
Whatever it is it needs sorted

Can't understand for the life of me the complete lack of any response from them on this, there is potential money to be made here but they just don't seem interested in putting it right.

31-07-2016, 01:28 PM

He was immense for his first 6 and absolutely brutal for his last 6. I've never seen a player go downhill so rapidly.

31-07-2016, 01:29 PM
From the Shropshire Star.

FT: Town 1 @HibsOfficial 4: Good 90 minutes for Town but Hibs showed how to finish #salop

— Shrewsbury Town FC (@shrewsweb) July 31, 2016
Read more at http://www.shropshirestar.com/sport/shrewsbury-town-fc/2016/07/31/shrewsbury-town-v-hibernian-live/#f9qGCTUxqj0XKyeR.99

Admittedly I only watched it on periscope so can be hard to tell what's happening at times but we looked streets ahead of them.

31-07-2016, 01:29 PM

Spot on mate

Pretty harsh some of the abuse he gets

31-07-2016, 01:31 PM
Shrews confirmed 469 Hibs fans 👏🏻👏🏻

31-07-2016, 01:36 PM
Spot on mate

Pretty harsh some of the abuse he gets
I disagree him and admiral Nelson a massive part of butchers duds that tooK us down - well merited imo

31-07-2016, 01:38 PM
As good a pre season as we've had for some time ... banged in loads of goals against decent opposition, conceded very little and won away in Europe against a team folk have actually heard of, not only that, but we have played well too.

Europe aside you can never be positive that a good pre season will lead to a good league campaign, but it has to be said the signs are good .... I still think Falkirk away will be a tough game for us though, not least because its on a surface we haven't played on since last season. I presume Falkirk's go to attacking move is still the long throw, so we have to be ready for that ... as we proved last season and England proved in the Euros, you have to stop their first man winning the ball but be ready if he does.

31-07-2016, 01:41 PM
I disagree him and admiral Nelson a massive part of butchers duds that tooK us down - well merited imo

Those two played a part but their role is often exaggerated.

Whoever was to blame for us going into a season thinking that James Collins and Rowan Vine, supplied by Paul Cairney and Alex Harris (with no backup in case they got injured, which they both did) is the main culprit for us finding ourselves facing a third season out of the top flight.

All things said, the defence wasn't that bad. Of them all, Jordon Forster probably made the most mistakes that cost us points.

It was our lack of goals that got us relegated.

Danny f*****g Haynes and the rest of them.

31-07-2016, 01:42 PM

Nelson was another who was brilliant when he started. Simply put Butcher decimated our team.

31-07-2016, 01:44 PM
As good a pre season as we've had for some time ... banged in loads of goals against decent opposition, conceded very little and won away in Europe against a team folk have actually heard of, not only that, but we have played well too.

Europe aside you can never be positive that a good pre season will lead to a good league campaign, but it has to be said the signs are good .... I still think Falkirk away will be a tough game for us though, not least because its on a surface we haven't played on since last season. I presume Falkirk's go to attacking move is still the long throw, so we have to be ready for that ... as we proved last season and England proved in the Euros, you have to stop their first man winning the ball but be ready if he does.

I think that in some ways our lack of transfer activity will work to our advantage.

Holt and Laidlaw are the only players bedding into our team and they have spent the entire pre-season with the squad.

Some of our rivals have made sweeping changes, as we have in recent years.

I'm pleased with pre-season and I am very confident we have what it takes.

31-07-2016, 01:47 PM
Those two played a part but their role is often exaggerated.

Whoever was to blame for us going into a season thinking that James Collins and Rowan Vine, supplied by Paul Cairney and Alex Harris (with no backup in case they got injured, which they both did) is the main culprit for us finding ourselves facing a third season out of the top flight.Except those players were 5th when Fenlon left...

It was Heffernan and Collins and the midfield was Craig, Thomson, Taiwo and Robertson which was actually a solid hard working midfield.

31-07-2016, 01:47 PM
I think that in some ways our lack of transfer activity will work to our advantage.

Holt and Laidlaw are the only players bedding into our team and they have spent the entire pre-season with the squad.

Some of our rivals have made sweeping changes, as we have in recent years.

I'm pleased with pre-season and I am very confident we have what it takes.
Signs are encouraging to say the least - when u think at least 3 new players will be added to this squad by end of August - good times ahead I'm very hopeful

31-07-2016, 01:49 PM
Signs are encouraging to say the least - when u think at least 3 new players will be added to this squad by end of August - good times ahead I'm very hopeful

Also Gray and Fyvie to return from injury 👍🏼

31-07-2016, 01:50 PM
Also Gray and Fyvie to return from injury 👍🏼
Absolutely no Mcgeouch or Bartley today either 👍👍

31-07-2016, 01:53 PM
Except those players were 5th when Fenlon left...

It was Heffernan and Collins and the midfield was Craig, Thomson, Taiwo and Robertson which was actually a solid hard working midfield.

Heffernan was often injured. How many did he score for us? Decent player at Killie, didn't work out at all for him with us.

It's a solid, hard-working midfield all right but where'e the creativity? Who's going to score or carve out a chance? All four are sitting midfielders (ok, maybe you could do something more with Craig further forward) and they'll get nowhere relying on those 4 to create goals. Full-backs - are Maybury and McGivern going to create?

I'm sure we've been over this before. We were 5th but it was early in the season and we'd been terrible in some of the games (even games we'd won). Fenlon knew he'd lost the dressing room, he'd put a pile of crap together and he knew the writing was on the wall.

That summer's transfer window is the most destructive we've ever had as a club.

31-07-2016, 01:59 PM
Heffernan was often injured. How many did he score for us? Decent player at Killie, didn't work out at all for him with us.

It's a solid, hard-working midfield all right but where'e the creativity? Who's going to score or carve out a chance? All four are sitting midfielders (ok, maybe you could do something more with Craig further forward) and they'll get nowhere relying on those 4 to create goals. Full-backs - are Maybury and McGivern going to create?

I'm sure we've been over this before. We were 5th but it was early in the season and we'd been terrible in some of the games (even games we'd won). Fenlon knew he'd lost the dressing room, he'd put a pile of crap together and he knew the writing was on the wall.

That summer's transfer window is the most destructive we've ever had as a club.

There is literally no chance we'd have been relegated that season. Collins and Heff were forging a partnership, Craig was scoring goals from midfield, a small bad run of form but other than that we weren't going down.

31-07-2016, 02:06 PM

That summer's transfer window is the most destructive we've ever had as a club.Fenlon lost the toxic home support, Butcher lost the dressing room. We wouldn't have been relegated had Fenlon seen out his contract.

31-07-2016, 02:10 PM
Fenlon lost the toxic home support, Butcher lost the dressing room. We wouldn't have been relegated had Fenlon seen out his contract.

We wouldn't have got the brief bounce that we got when Butcher took over either.

I'm 100% convinced we'd have been relegated under Fenlon.

31-07-2016, 02:14 PM
This could probably be merged with the cliché thread now without anyone noticing :greengrin

31-07-2016, 02:19 PM
We wouldn't have got the brief bounce that we got when Butcher took over either.

I'm 100% convinced we'd have been relegated under Fenlon.Brief bounce? Fenlon had 4 wins and 3 draws from the first 11 games. Butcher got 4 wins and 7 draws from 25 games.

I'm 100% convinced we wouldn't have been relegated and all facts point to this.

31-07-2016, 02:31 PM
Brief bounce? Fenlon had 4 wins and 3 draws from the first 11 games. Butcher got 4 wins and 7 draws from 25 games.

Yip, Fenlons time was up, but for Petrie to employ Terry ****in Butcher on his managerial career, it just goes to show you the kind of background checks that man did.

Butcher should never have been anywhere near the club, him and his sidekick took us down, along with the man who appointed him.

Fenlon while boring the crap out of us, would never have took us down in my opinion.

Finn2015
31-07-2016, 02:33 PM
Shrews confirmed 469 Hibs fans 👏🏻👏🏻

Great turn out for a friendly cos I live an hour from Shrewsbury and it's a pain to get to so well done all who attended

31-07-2016, 02:34 PM
Yip, Fenlons time was up, but for Petrie to employ Terry ****in Butcher on his managerial career, it just goes to show you the kind of background checks that man did.

Butcher should never have been anywhere near the club, him and his sidekick took us down, along with the man who appointed him.

Fenlon while boring the crap out of us, would never have took us down in my opinion.Yep, pretty much. I've never said it was pretty under Fenlon but if we had sucked it up for another 6 months and appointed Leeann with us still in the SPL we might be in an even better spot than we are now.

We might never have won the Scottish Cup, though :greengrin

31-07-2016, 02:39 PM
Fenlon lost the toxic home support, Butcher lost the dressing room. We wouldn't have been relegated had Fenlon seen out his contract.

Yep, hope the protesters haven't had the cheek to show their faces at ER since

31-07-2016, 02:43 PM
Brief bounce? Fenlon had 4 wins and 3 draws from the first 11 games. Butcher got 4 wins and 7 draws from 25 games.

I can't remember off the top of my head but Butcher did ok up until about Christmas, our results and performances had improved a bit.

January was poor and from then on it was a disaster.

You can interpret stats how you like. We had poor players playing poorly under Fenlon albeit they got the odd result. The odd result will skew things over about 11 games (iirc Fenlon left after 11 games) as opposed to over a season.

31-07-2016, 02:51 PM
Time to look forward, I'm no longer interested in the bleak days of Fenlon/Butcher - especially in a current Match day thread.

31-07-2016, 02:52 PM

You are Hibs Transfer News on Twitter.

31-07-2016, 03:02 PM
I can't remember off the top of my head but Butcher did ok up until about Christmas, our results and performances had improved a bit.

January was poor and from then on it was a disaster.

You can interpret stats how you like. We had poor players playing poorly under Fenlon albeit they got the odd result. The odd result will skew things over about 11 games (iirc Fenlon left after 11 games) as opposed to over a season.We had poor players playing poorly who were 5th and on a run of 2 losses in 9? That isn't an odd result skewing anything, that is decent form.

31-07-2016, 03:05 PM

Excellent result Hibernian. Good fan turnout too, well done all the fans who made the travel.

macd123
31-07-2016, 03:05 PM

I'm hopeful but wary. The best pre season i have seen was under JC. I think we beat Bolton and Middlesbrough and Alan O´Brien looked like a world beater. Teams rarely park the bus and fly into tackles in pre season but that will be the test for us - turning the 1-0 defeats into wins.

31-07-2016, 03:12 PM
I can't believe a thread about a Hibs friendly against Shrewsbury has ended up going o about Fenlon v Butcher and who would or wouldn't have taken us down.

McGivern was decent on loan but was honking when he signed, up town on the bevvy with Collins, Cairney and Vine most nights, Heffernan was injured most of the time, Collins was a headless chicken.

We would've stayed up with Fenlon but bored out of our minds, Butcher lost it in January when he told the whole squad they were away at the end of the season and they downed tools, Thomson and McPake were dropped for standing up to Butcher and Malpas when all the bullying was going on.

Time to move on, good squad we have now and a Scottish cup win, lets look forward for a change.

31-07-2016, 03:13 PM
A very good win today, scoring a good few goals and the defence seems solid enough, well done.

31-07-2016, 03:15 PM
Great result.

CyberSauzee
31-07-2016, 03:29 PM
Shrewsbury were ****3. 1563 attendance. Some very good Hibs performances. Will be backing Shrewsbury for relegation. Us for Championship. 5/4 still available. Get on. Better than a savings account.