View Full Version : Hibs connection with Portugal?

10-07-2016, 09:42 PM
There's bound to be a link, tenuous or otherwise, that our creative posters can find.

Porty?

10-07-2016, 09:44 PM
There's bound to be a link, tenuous or otherwise, that our creative posters can find.

Porty?

Played Nottingham Forest in Portugal.....

10-07-2016, 09:45 PM
The Lisbon Lions won the European Cup, if it wasnae for Hibs they would not have existed.

10-07-2016, 09:45 PM
We pumped sporting in 1972/73

10-07-2016, 09:46 PM
Got wee Latapy from a Portuguese club, Boavista maybe ?

Konte played for Porto. He was a hibs legend.

C Ronaldo has a John McGinn tattoo and duvet cover.

The Lisbon Lions won the European Cup, if it wasnae for Hibs they would not have existed.

Good shout......Sellic thieves

skyehibee
10-07-2016, 09:48 PM
Filipe Morais

10-07-2016, 09:48 PM
Filipe Morais

A Londoner :greengrin

10-07-2016, 09:49 PM

And at other times Porto, Belenenses and Guimaraes. We're always slaughtering Portugese teams :greengrin

10-07-2016, 09:51 PM
And at other times Porto, Belenenses and Guimaraes. We're always slaughtering Portugese teams :greengrin

Aye Benfica might give us a game I suppose :greengrin

10-07-2016, 09:51 PM
A Londoner :greengrin

Born there!

10-07-2016, 09:52 PM
the scorer plays for Sorting Lisbon . we pumped them 6-2 at ER. Stanton would never let him score like that. END OFF.

10-07-2016, 09:53 PM
Born there!

Yep. I remember being in the press room after a game at ER and Morais was the player coming in to be interviewed. One hack asked if Morais could speak English :greengrin

Callum7
10-07-2016, 09:54 PM
Hadn't won a 'big' trophy in over 100 years

10-07-2016, 09:56 PM
Aye Benfica might give us a game I suppose :greengrin

I hear we've offered them plenty but they're feart.

Finn2015
10-07-2016, 09:56 PM
A few hibees down the years must have gone Portugal on holiday so there's the link

10-07-2016, 10:00 PM
Played Nottingham Forest in Portugal.....

I was at that game. Pish

10-07-2016, 10:01 PM
A few hibees down the years must have gone Portugal on holiday so there's the linknever been there but used to drink the wine, in a funny shaped wee bottle.Mateus or something like that. not intae that now though.:wink:

10-07-2016, 10:02 PM
I was at that game. Pish

So was I, nice place for a match though:wink:

10-07-2016, 10:02 PM
Portugal manager tonight brought AEK Athens to ER back in 2001. He loves the Hibs.

10-07-2016, 10:05 PM
We taught Brazil how to play football and they speak Portuguese

10-07-2016, 10:16 PM
GreenGoblin resides there...

10-07-2016, 10:16 PM
never been there but used to drink the wine, in a funny shaped wee bottle.Mateus or something like that. not intae that now though.:wink:

Mateus Rose?

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=mateus+rose&client=firefox-b&tbm=isch&imgil=cwHr8VVJzukCUM%253A%253BPHAYvQOiAOUmiM%253Bh ttp%25253A%25252F%25252Fwww.tesco.com%25252Fgrocer ies%25252Fproduct%25252Fdetails%25252F%25253Fid%25 25253D255245360&source=iu&pf=m&fir=cwHr8VVJzukCUM%253A%252CPHAYvQOiAOUmiM%252C_&usg=__iMWMIS0z2bUwqRx_wH59pKfbvuc%3D&biw=1920&bih=971&ved=0ahUKEwi0ooSU9unNAhUmL8AKHe6VApAQyjcIOQ&ei=MsmCV7TBB6begAbuq4qACQ#imgrc=cwHr8VVJzukCUM%3A

10-07-2016, 10:21 PM
Hibs legend with a 100% successful Edinburgh derby scoring record.....Ricardo Vaz Te 😀

10-07-2016, 10:24 PM
Watching Portugal this evening made me nostalgic for the Miller days.

10-07-2016, 10:28 PM
Hibernian - Undefeated in European Football by a Portuguese Club :aok:

1961–62 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup Belenenses agg (6–4)
1967–68 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup Porto agg (4–3)
1970–71 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup Vitoria Guimaraes agg (3–2)
1972–73 European Cup Winners' Cup Sporting Portugal agg (7–3)

10-07-2016, 10:44 PM
GreenGoblin resides there...

11-07-2016, 12:23 AM

Aye and I wis at baith legs.
Purple strips for the first time.

11-07-2016, 02:15 AM
Portugal manager tonight brought AEK Athens to ER back in 2001. He loves the Hibs.

Is that right? Good trivia that.

ozhibs
11-07-2016, 05:28 AM
Hibernian - Undefeated in European Football by a Portuguese Club :aok:

1961–62 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup Belenenses agg (6–4)
1967–68 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup Porto agg (4–3)
1970–71 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup Vitoria Guimaraes agg (3–2)
1972–73 European Cup Winners' Cup Sporting Portugal agg (7–3)

Those were the days :wink:

11-07-2016, 06:33 AM
Watching Portugal this evening made me nostalgic for the Miller days.

Until Bayern humped Sporting a few seasons ago, our 6-1 victory was their biggest ever Euro defeat. IIRC, we still hold that honour for Napoli & Rosenborg. My local bar owner in Olhos D'Agua is a Sporting fanatic & I've promised to introduce him to the great Jim O who scored a hat trick at ER!

11-07-2016, 10:47 AM
Green socks. Portugal copied from Hibs. True that is... I think

11-07-2016, 11:29 AM
Easter Road and the Algarve are two of my favourite places on Earth.

11-07-2016, 11:36 AM
Russell Latapy spent a large part of his career playing in Portugal and was playing there just before he signed for us (IIRC)

11-07-2016, 11:37 AM
The Portugese team has historically had a number of Brazilians and some female Hibbies also have...

...OK, I won't finish that as it's a family board.

11-07-2016, 11:45 AM
Our walking football team containing a few Hibbies played out there in May ..... you could see that the Portuguese national team had adopted our style of play, hence their success in the tournament, I had wondered who these folk round the pitch taking notes were :greengrin

11-07-2016, 02:49 PM
Until Bayern humped Sporting a few seasons ago, our 6-1 victory was their biggest ever Euro defeat. IIRC, we still hold that honour for Napoli & Rosenborg. My local bar owner in Olhos D'Agua is a Sporting fanatic & I've promised to introduce him to the great Jim O who scored a hat trick at ER!

Now that was a night

The tornadoes in full flow

11-07-2016, 03:31 PM
Now that was a night

The tornadoes in full flow

Sure was!! 5 goals down the slope!! Scored 5 goals in a half 5 times that season. One was near the turn of the year but I can't remember the opponents, only that they were p--- poor & played in a really manky strip, famously described by Alan Bold as like spilt red wine lying in an overflowing ash tray!!

Green Cabbage 7
11-07-2016, 08:31 PM
Ricardo Vaz te