View Full Version : Hibs v Motherwell

10-07-2016, 01:21 PM
Trialist in goals!

Today's Hibernian team: Trialist, Gray, McGregor, Hanlon, Stevenson, Bartley, McGinn, Fyvie, Boyle, Cummings, Holt.

10-07-2016, 01:22 PM
Stuck ootside

Lee Marvin
10-07-2016, 01:23 PM
Trialist in goals!

Today's Hibernian team: Trialist, Gray, McGregor, Hanlon, Stevenson, Bartley, McGinn, Fyvie, Boyle, Cummings, Holt.

Will be interesting to see the formation with those 11

sauzee=legend
10-07-2016, 01:26 PM
I would suggest
4-1-3-2

Callum7
As I said on another thread with people not being able to get inside does this explain that there seems to be so many tickets left for today and Brondby? Has the database lost ST?

LioNeilMessi
If we signed this goalie today I take it he'd be ineligible for the Brondby tie? Plus anyone know who it is?

spudhib
Looks like a flat 442.

10-07-2016, 01:27 PM
Subs: Virtanen, Fontaine, Dunsmore, Crane, McGeouch, Martin, Carmichael, Stanton, Handling, Keatings.

andrew70
10-07-2016, 01:30 PM
Looks like a flat 442.

McGinn out wide left? I hope not.

10-07-2016, 01:32 PM
Harris?

10-07-2016, 01:35 PM
Anybody in ground recognise the goalie?

10-07-2016, 01:36 PM
Ticket scanners not working in the east.

spudhib
McGinn out wide left? I hope not.

Agree he should be narrower but looks like left mid to me.

Lee Marvin

It's surely the young lad from West brom?

10-07-2016, 01:37 PM
No Ox?

10-07-2016, 01:39 PM

Not at game but will be Yrialist Alex Palmer 19 year old from West Brom Lennon said he would start the game

10-07-2016, 01:41 PM
Bit annoyed Insall isn't getting a chance

10-07-2016, 01:48 PM
Looks like a flat 442.

Do you mean the attendance?

10-07-2016, 01:50 PM
Do you mean the attendance?

Could be right - thousands of folk getting turned away for trying to get in with bairn tickets!

10-07-2016, 01:51 PM
It's surely the young lad from West brom?

Not at game but will be Yrialist Alex Palmer 19 year old from West Brom Lennon said he would start the game

Cheers. :aok:

10-07-2016, 01:53 PM
Could be right - thousands of folk getting turned away for trying to get in with bairn tickets!

and where's the 150.000 people that attended the Cup Parade?

:devil:

Fuzzywuzzy
10-07-2016, 01:54 PM
Someone palmer in goals as trialist. Missed first name

10-07-2016, 01:54 PM
They didn't even look at my ticket to get into the east. Lots of people knocking on the doors to get in, so quiet today as well. Imagine it's gonna be a farce on Thursday if there's any sort of a decent crowd.

No explaination just a wave through. Is it the scanners or is it the issue with kids tickets?!?

10-07-2016, 01:55 PM
and where's the 150.000 people that attended the Cup Parade?

[emoji317]
All been nicked by police Glasgow. They know the baddies are in there somewhere.

10-07-2016, 01:57 PM
Heard the goalie is Dave Trialist.

10-07-2016, 01:57 PM
They didn't even look at my ticket to get into the east. Lots of people knocking on the doors to get in, so quiet today as well. Imagine it's gonna be a farce on Thursday if there's any sort of a decent crowd.

No explaination just a wave through. Is it the scanners or is it the issue with kids tickets?!?

Time Petrie was sorting out this farce!

10-07-2016, 01:59 PM
Smallest crowd since the new east

Hfc_Since1875
10-07-2016, 02:02 PM
Flat midfield four with Fyvie on the left it seems! Strange!

10-07-2016, 02:04 PM
1-0 Motherwell.

Good free kick

10-07-2016, 02:04 PM
New goalie just got done big time for the goal.

10-07-2016, 02:05 PM
1-1 Cummings tap in after a good ball back in from a cleared corner.

1-1 Cummings

1-1 holt done well in the box to tee up for Cummings.

1-1 already.

10-07-2016, 02:06 PM
New goalie just got done big time for the goal.

Tbf to him it was some hit.

10-07-2016, 02:07 PM
Time Petrie was sorting out this farce!

It'll no be a farce if it's sort for Thursday when we should expect a better crowd.

10-07-2016, 02:13 PM
Good punch from the goalie in amongst a crowd of bodies. He's a big lad.

10-07-2016, 02:15 PM
Wheres my machine gun to get rid of these seagulls? :-)

10-07-2016, 02:16 PM
Good punch from the goalie in amongst a crowd of bodies. He's a big lad.

Anyone moaning that he should've caught it instead of punching?

10-07-2016, 02:17 PM
I like Holt already. Very strong in the air and doing more running than I expected.

10-07-2016, 02:18 PM
2-1 Holt. Great play by McGinn and Cummings.

10-07-2016, 02:18 PM
Cummings tees it up for Holt. 2-1
Partnership? [emoji3]

10-07-2016, 02:20 PM
Decent save by the keeper, made a bit of a meal of it but kept it out.

10-07-2016, 02:22 PM
Another ball in from wide that could have been finished. Noticeably more width again today.

10-07-2016, 02:24 PM
3-1 McGinn header from a Stevenson cross from WIDE.

10-07-2016, 02:24 PM
3-1 Mcginn. Header from a great Stevenson cross.

10-07-2016, 02:25 PM
Some ball in by Lewis.

10-07-2016, 02:25 PM
Imagine the score if Lennon was there lol

10-07-2016, 02:27 PM
Another ball in from wide that could have been finished. Noticeably more width again today.

Believe this was Lewis as well as just grabbing an assist. 'No final ball' pfffffffft. Good going Hibs! :thumbsup:

TAHibby
10-07-2016, 02:27 PM
3-1 McGinn header from a Stevenson cross from WIDE.

Daffy.gif

10-07-2016, 02:29 PM
Fyvie wide from a Gray cross, should have scored.

Booooooooo

10-07-2016, 02:32 PM
Another good save by the keeper

10-07-2016, 02:35 PM
Another good save by the keeper

Keeper is Alex Palmer according to Hibs Twitter

Brummie_Hibs
10-07-2016, 02:37 PM
Something has to be done about those seagulls.

10-07-2016, 02:39 PM
Good save the Motherwell keeper after a Boyle run and shot.

10-07-2016, 02:39 PM
Goalie appears to be just wearing last seasons away kit.
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160710/b7d21061251fce1df43b60fbb88dae96.jpg

10-07-2016, 02:40 PM
Goalie appears to be just wearing last seasons away kit.
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160710/b7d21061251fce1df43b60fbb88dae96.jpg

Same as the other night.

No doubt whoever makes the strips has been held up writing reports about the pitch invasion.

Ergye
10-07-2016, 02:42 PM
Something has to be done about those seagulls.

A friend of mine got defecated on. 😆

Wonderful entertainment.

10-07-2016, 02:47 PM
3-1 half time. Good half thus far.

10-07-2016, 02:47 PM
3-1 half time. Good half thus far.

Played really well.

10-07-2016, 02:48 PM

Wonderful entertainment.

It's what ya need...
- Roy Castle

10-07-2016, 02:48 PM
Would be grateful for a wee summary of how we performed in the 1st half.

10-07-2016, 02:49 PM
Watching on Hibs TV and the number of seagulls on view is astonishing....

10-07-2016, 02:49 PM

Wonderful entertainment.

Brilliant , Ha ha

10-07-2016, 02:52 PM
Touch of class from Leeann. Walks into away end and sits next to a disabled supporter at half time. Pity she isn't in the running for PM instead of the two bloodsuckers.

HibeeLR
10-07-2016, 02:52 PM
How many of the Motherwell first team playing?

10-07-2016, 02:53 PM
Watching on Hibs TV and the number of seagulls on view is astonishing....

#BringBackBooth

sauzee=legend
10-07-2016, 02:54 PM
I would suggest
4-1-3-2

10-07-2016, 02:54 PM
How many of the Motherwell first team playing?

First pick 11 according to 'Well fans.

10-07-2016, 02:56 PM

Playing really well.

Goalie got done for the goal although it was a good strike. He's done well since and made a couple of good saves.

Defence has looked ok, both Gray and Stevenson keen to get forward.

We have bossed the midfield, Bartley his usual, McGinn and Fyvie are running the show and Boyle has looked lively.

Holt has worked away and had a few good touches, took his goal well. Cummings has also done well and worked hard. Potential for a partnership imo.

Overall we have done well. Moved the ball quickly, plenty width and pace and we have scored 3 good goals and created more chances.

HibeeLR
10-07-2016, 02:57 PM

Cheers. Good going so far considering that then 👍😀

10-07-2016, 03:01 PM
Playing really well.

Goalie got done for the goal although it was a good strike. He's done well since and made a couple of good saves.

Defence has looked ok, both Gray and Stevenson keen to get forward.

We have bossed the midfield, Bartley his usual, McGinn and Fyvie are running the show and Boyle has looked lively.

Holt has worked away and had a few good touches, took his goal well. Cummings has also done well and worked hard. Potential for a partnership imo.

Overall we have done well. Moved the ball quickly, plenty width and pace and we have scored 3 good goals and created more chances.

Thanks PB

10-07-2016, 03:02 PM
McGoooosh for Bartley
Fontaine for Hanlon

10-07-2016, 03:03 PM

Wonderful entertainment.

Motherwell fans are shockin' 😳

10-07-2016, 03:04 PM
Kitty's not kept her fitness up at preseason

Wee Effen Bee
10-07-2016, 03:04 PM
Fantastic free kick from Motherwell. Goalie no chance!
great response from Hibs within a minute then it's been total dominance from us: good interplay up front; strong midfield and solid defence. Not really giving 'Well opportunities to create any kind of attacking chances. Very sound Hibs performance so far.:top marks

10-07-2016, 03:05 PM
McGeough effort well saved.

10-07-2016, 03:06 PM
McGinn header wide, good start to the half.

10-07-2016, 03:06 PM
Fantastic free kick from Motherwell. Goalie no chance!
great response from Hibs within a minute then it's been total dominance from us: good interplay up front; strong midfield and solid defence. Not really giving 'Well opportunities to create any kind of attacking chances. Very sound Hibs performance so far.:top marks

And McGhoo - face tripping him I hope. Detestable man

10-07-2016, 03:09 PM
Fyvie subbed and straight up the tunnel, hope he's ok. Stanton on.

10-07-2016, 03:12 PM
Good link up with Holt and Cummings again then Boyle shoots over from a tightish angle.

10-07-2016, 03:15 PM
How fit/mobile does Holt look?

10-07-2016, 03:16 PM

He looks fine imo. He's been neat and tidy in what he does.

10-07-2016, 03:17 PM

Could do with losing a but weight, but looks decent. Had some cracking passes and looks like him and jc may be a ideal partnership

10-07-2016, 03:18 PM

Excellent so far. Looks like a clever player.

10-07-2016, 03:19 PM
Virtanen on for Palmer
Cummings replaced by Keatings.

robinp
10-07-2016, 03:23 PM
4-1

10-07-2016, 03:23 PM
4-1 Keating. Great strike after McGeough made a good challenge and it broke to him

10-07-2016, 03:25 PM
Considering two seasons ago we were just relegated and last season we had the Scott Allan saga this is the first season in ages that I'm getting excited about.

Ardenttwo
10-07-2016, 03:30 PM
Is McDonald on for Well

10-07-2016, 03:30 PM
This performance here is the marketing for the European tie...

10-07-2016, 03:31 PM
Is McDonald on for Well
Yes he is but not being seen much. We are pretty dominant.....

Is McDonald on for Well

He started yep

Good score so far.

Did many people turn up/get in to actually watch it?

Is McDonald on for Well

He started according to the teamsheet tweeted

Is McDonald on for Well

He started. Think he was subbed off at ht. Never really did anything or have a chance to do anything. We have been excellent all over the pitch.

10-07-2016, 03:32 PM
Considering two seasons ago we were just relegated and last season we had the Scott Allan saga this is the first season in ages that I'm getting excited about.

We look far more ready this season than either of the last 2.

McGinn replaced by Carmichael

10-07-2016, 03:32 PM
Good score so far.

Did many people turn up/get in to actually watch it?

4000ish maybe, pretty quiet.

10-07-2016, 03:34 PM
Almost 5. Great ball by Holt, Boyles shot was well saved.

10-07-2016, 03:34 PM
On today's viewing Holt is 10x the signing McDonald will ever be.

10-07-2016, 03:35 PM
Holt off, Handling on.

10-07-2016, 03:36 PM
He started. Think he was subbed off at ht. Never really did anything or have a chance to do anything. We have been excellent all over the pitch.

He's still on he's just pish

10-07-2016, 03:36 PM

Kinda expected today considering. Great day if Murray wins Wimbledon and Hibs thump Motherwell.

Must be said I never thought I'd live to see Hibs win the Scottish and someone from Britain (never mind a Hibby Scotsman) win Wimbledon. Could we do both in 2016?! 👍🏼

10-07-2016, 03:38 PM
He's still on he's just pish

Aye just noticed that! Honestly thought he was off. Totally agree though. He has been pish.

10-07-2016, 03:38 PM
Boyle and McGreggor off

Martin and Dunsmore (I think) on.

Sioux
10-07-2016, 03:41 PM
We look far more ready this season than either of the last 2.

McGinn replaced by Carmichael

Not possible. Lennon's in Paris, we don't have a real keeper, short on strikers, no new left back, no sign of a goal a scoring midfielder, won't be trying a leg against Bronby and not enough Hibsnetters complaining about the club's lack of recent progress.

Have I missed anything:greengrin

10-07-2016, 03:43 PM
Not possible. Lennon's in Paris, we don't have a real keeper, short on strikers, no new left back, no sign of a goal a scoring midfielder, won't be trying a leg against Bronby and not enough Hibsnetters complaining about the club's lack of recent progress.

Yes. Club don't give two hoots about Brondby game. Marketing dept are pish.

10-07-2016, 03:43 PM
Handling with a chance but just a bit slow getting his shot off. Keeper punches clear after making a bit of a meal of his jump.

10-07-2016, 03:45 PM

Only that the .netter-wetters have gone missing and there's no one to tell us we were s***e today. Must be a coincidence that we are winning comfortably.....:greengrin

Ardenttwo
Is McDonald on for Well

Stevenson effort well saved. Corner

10-07-2016, 03:46 PM
Good link up between Carmichael and Martin, ball squared to McGeough who shoots wide

10-07-2016, 03:48 PM
Full time. Good run out.

Holt got motm.

10-07-2016, 03:50 PM
Full time. Good run out.

Holt got motm.Thanks for the updates.

Very promising.

Anyone run on the pitch at FT?

Curly1875
10-07-2016, 03:51 PM

Still no DVD! PETRIE!!!!

10-07-2016, 03:52 PM
Anyone run on the pitch at FT?

Some seagulls are rioting it's disgusting.

Wee Effen Bee
And McGhoo - face tripping him I hope. Detestable man

Cheers PB.

That's a bit disappointing, TBH

p.s. Thanks very much for the updates

10-07-2016, 03:53 PM
Was McGhee attacked at all?

Wee Effen Bee
10-07-2016, 04:14 PM
Very accomplished performance from Hibs. Totally in control: against their first team? Our drive from back to front appeared to be much slicker and we denied Motherwell any real decent chances. Not sure who else we will bring in as each department looks to be well covered - especially by the young laddies coming through. It's only a friendly and I still believe Brondby are favourites on Thursday but, I defy anyone to come on and be negative about today's performance.:aok:

10-07-2016, 04:16 PM
Holt a deserved Motm. Really looked liked what we need.

hailhail22
10-07-2016, 04:17 PM

Wonderful entertainment.

I moved upto the FF upper for the second half, could see that happening to me 😮

10-07-2016, 04:23 PM
Very impressed by the performance. Trialist keeper had no chance at the goal and did what little he had to do well. Defence coped with Blythe and McDonald who I think were Motherwell's best players pretty well. Midfielders getting into the box more was great to see. Holt and Cummings scoring and setting up the goals for each other was excellent.

Really looking forward to the sterner test v Brondby now.

Sioux
10-07-2016, 04:23 PM
Only that the .netter-wetters have gone missing and there's no one to tell us we were s***e today. Must be a coincidence that we are winning comfortably.....:greengrin

Just got back to the car and sure I saw some of them walking along Montgomery Street. They had blankets over their heads and all you could hear was a sobbing almost whispering chorus of "why are we no sheight"

RealRonnieKirk
10-07-2016, 04:28 PM

I was at the game. What you talking Ronnie?

10-07-2016, 04:29 PM
Very impressed by the performance. Trialist keeper had no chance at the goal and did what little he had to do well. Defence coped with Moult and McDonald who I think are Motherwell's best players pretty well. Midfielders getting into the box more was great to see. Holt and Cummings scoring and setting up the goals for each other was excellent.

Really looking forward to the sterner test v Brondby now.

He had no chance at the goal because his positioning was all wrong. Should have been a simple tip over the bar. However it was the first minute of the game and he looked like he was trying to sort out an unfamiliar defence at the time.
Didn't have much else to do today. Motherwell were poor. I'd hate to have to make a decision on a contract based on today's game.

10-07-2016, 04:37 PM
Really liking the fact we seem to be creating and scoring more chances.

A lot more width in our set up it seems too.

10-07-2016, 04:38 PM
Very encouraging performance.

looking forward to Thursday.

10-07-2016, 05:09 PM
I was at the game. What you talking Ronnie?

This is getting like the two Ronnie's

RealRonnieKirk
10-07-2016, 05:24 PM
This is getting like the two Ronnie's

There is only one Ronnie here, and that's me.

hhibs
10-07-2016, 05:28 PM
Yes. Club don't give two hoots about Brondby game. Marketing dept are pish.

Really..........there is one..........

Thegreenside
10-07-2016, 05:35 PM
Who was the trialist in goals

10-07-2016, 05:36 PM
Decent game for pre season, impressed by team today. 👍

10-07-2016, 05:37 PM
Who was the trialist in goals

Alex Palmer from West Brom

Thegreenside
10-07-2016, 05:40 PM
Alex Palmer from West Brom

Cheers👍

10-07-2016, 05:41 PM
Wonder if a certain Mr Cowan, who has been most vociferous in his criticism of Hibs and has never missed an opportunity to belittle us, will even mention it next time he hosts Off the Ball?

Tam, your boys took a hell of a beating!

10-07-2016, 05:45 PM
First impression from today was we are far more fluid, getting the ball from back to front quickly but without lumping it, we played with far more width, Boyle gives us this naturally and Stevenson is happy bombing down the left.
Midfield did a lot of inter twining and the team in general seemed to be working harder in general.
Holt and Cummings seemed to work fairly well together, still early doors but looking promising.
Also good to see the goals being spread out a lot more and lots of chances were created.
All the players looked comfortable when they came on in whatever position they were, there's not a real lot needing to be added to the squad from what I saw today, maybe someone like Henderson and another striker as I can't see Handling playing there.

10-07-2016, 05:46 PM
Wonder if a certain Mr Cowan, who has been most vociferous in his criticism of Hibs and has never missed an opportunity to belittle us, will even mention it next time he hosts Off the Ball?

He's on his hols, shame he missed it

10-07-2016, 05:52 PM
I know it was a friendly today, but this is what Hibs need to be doing to every team that visits ER in the coming season.

10-07-2016, 05:53 PM
Goals from today https://t.co/27NC2Yjl7P

10-07-2016, 05:53 PM
imo two defenders at the motherwell goal made up the well players mind...pretty amateurish wall imo, keatings goal was a cracker, pick of the bunch(imo) was the 3rd, great cross from stevenson and a bullet header from super john, a good first half performance followed by 76 substitutions in the 2nd half upset the play a bit :agree:

oh aye they damn seagulls jeezo, by far the worst that i've saw at ER

oh and p.s. bit of a laugh when the murrawell physio tripped up :greengrin i'm sure she survived

10-07-2016, 05:54 PM
Hibs were excellent today, Motherwell much less so, McDonald was pish and IMO we have dodged a bullet.

Holt will be a great signing, reads the game well, deft touch and always talking to players around him.

Thought Cummings linked the play really well too.

They did look to play as a pair sometimes and that was encouraging.

Defence did well after a slowish start.

Midfield were excellent.

All the subs came on and did their prospects no harm at all.

Some great goals / great play.

Continuing on from Edinburgh City game, I would say we are playing at a far higher tempo and are far more incisive.

For me, the team mostly picks itself:

Goalie (TBC)

Gray McGregor, Hanlon Stevenson

McGinn, Bartley, Fyvie & McGeouch (although that's harsh on Boyle who did well) and depending on preferred formation may be difficult to accommodate all 4

Holt Cummings

Very early days for judgement on Goalie, but I didn't think he looked too clever at Goal (very unprepared / unready) and he seemed a bit weak to me. If Oxley had lost that goal this place would be in meltdown.

To be fair though it was a great strike.

IMO we could do with at least one other striker and sorting out the Goalie situation properly, but other than that I would be happy with what we have (although I think there will be at least 2 very good quality signings to come)

John McGinn was super again!

Again IMO we are really going to enjoy watching this Hibs team this year and I am greatly looking forward to the coming season.

10-07-2016, 05:58 PM
There is only one Ronnie here, and that's me.

You're Andy Goram and I claim my 50 quid.

10-07-2016, 06:04 PM
Hibs were excellent today, Motherwell much less so, McDonald was pish and IMO we have dodged a bullet.

Holt will be a great signing, reads the game well, deft touch and always talking to players around him.

Thought Cummings linked the play really well too.

They did look to play as a pair sometimes and that was encouraging.

Defence did well after a slowish start.

Midfield were excellent.

All the subs came on and did their prospects no harm at all.

Some great goals / great play.

Continuing on from Edinburgh City game, I would say we are playing at a far higher tempo and are far more incisive.

For me, the team mostly picks itself:

Goalie (TBC)

Gray McGregor, Hanlon Stevenson

McGinn, Bartley, Fyvie & McGeouch (although that's harsh on Boyle who did well) and depending on preferred formation may be difficult to accommodate all 4

Holt Cummings

Very early days for judgement on Goalie, but I didn't think he looked too clever at Goal (very unprepared / unready) and he seemed a bit weak to me. If Oxley had lost that goal this place would be in meltdown.

To be fair though it was a great strike.

IMO we could do with at least one other striker and sorting out the Goalie situation properly, but other than that I would be happy with what we have (although I think there will be at least 2 very good quality signings to come)

John McGinn was super again!

Again IMO we are really going to enjoy watching this Hibs team this year and I am greatly looking forward to the coming season.

He will not go with 4 central midfielders, Boyle, Harris or Carmichael will play out wide, it's the way he's setting it up.

10-07-2016, 06:10 PM

Gee, that was like watching "The Birds". Alfred Hitchcock's version, not Frank McAvennie's! :greengrin

10-07-2016, 06:13 PM
Gee, that was like watching "The Birds". Alfred Hitchcock's version, not Frank McAvennie's! :greengrinHa ha true, at one point whilst viewing it on my phone I followed a seagul instead of the ball !! 😳

He will not go with 4 central midfielders, Boyle, Harris or Carmichael will play out wide, it's the way he's setting it up.

Think he'll start with the same 10, plus a change with the goalie

I agree but IMO they are our top 4 midfielders

Who do you expect to miss out?

Presumably Bartley or Fyvie, with Bartley the most likely?

10-07-2016, 06:26 PM
Hard to tell by the angle but to blame the goalie for that seems ridiculously harsh.

If a hibs player scored that it would be classed as a screamer

Sergio sledge
10-07-2016, 06:28 PM
Hard to tell by the angle but to blame the goalie for that seems ridiculously harsh.

If a hibs player scored that it would be classed as a screamer

Yup, looking at the highlights it was right in the top corner, in off the bar on the side the wall was set up to cover. Very harsh to blame the goalie for that.

10-07-2016, 06:43 PM
Yup, looking at the highlights it was right in the top corner, in off the bar on the side the wall was set up to cover. Very harsh to blame the goalie for that.

Having seen it again on Tv, I agree and retract holding him responsible for it.

10-07-2016, 06:45 PM
No way was our goalkeeper to blame for their goal.
It was simply a well-struck bullet that no keeper would have got near - right into the top left hand corner and off the woodwork.

10-07-2016, 06:52 PM
No way was our goalkeeper to blame for their goal.
It was simply a well-struck bullet that no keeper would have got near - right into the top left hand corner and off the woodwork.

The boy will sign

10-07-2016, 06:57 PM
The boy will sign

To be where in the pecking order

10-07-2016, 07:13 PM

Can only assume to challenge Otso for the number one spot. we have Laidlaw as number 3. So number 1 or 2, depending on who earns it.

10-07-2016, 07:15 PM
Thought the trialist keeper did well. Wasn't to blame for the goal, was brave on a couple of occasions. coming through a ruck of players to fist the ball away. Motherwell didn't really pose that much of a goal threat, however, anything that did come the keepers way he dealt with well.
Now I know it was only a friendly, but if I was a Motherwell fan I would be worried about the forthcoming season. As for us, don't think we need too many new faces, an experience "old head" keeper, [yes I know I have just praised the trialist, but we REALLY need promotion this season and even though I liked what I saw of him today, don't think he is the standard we need just now], another goal-scoring midfield player, [hopefully Commons], and another wide player [with pace], and that would be it for me, as imo we have adequate cover for all other positions.
Holt looks a really good addition to the team, holds the ball up well, brings other players into the game, good positional sense and for his age does a lot of running. Plays the game with a huge smile on his face. Like him already. :greengrin

scooby
10-07-2016, 07:31 PM
Thought the trialist keeper did well. Wasn't to blame for the goal, was brave on a couple of occasions. coming through a ruck of players to fist the ball away. Motherwell didn't really pose that much of a goal threat, however, anything that did come the keepers way he dealt with well.
Now I know it was only a friendly, but if I was a Motherwell fan I would be worried about the forthcoming season. As for us, don't think we need too many new faces, an experience "old head" keeper, [yes I know I have just praised the trialist, but we REALLY need promotion this season and even though I liked what I saw of him today, don't think he is the standard we need just now], another goal-scoring midfield player, [hopefully Commons], and another wide player [with pace], and that would be it for me, as imo we have adequate cover for all other positions.
Holt looks a really good addition to the team, holds the ball up well, brings other players into the game, good positional sense and for his age does a lot of running. Plays the game with a huge smile on his face. Like him already. :greengrin

Can't argue with any of that, good assessment of what I watched today. I thought we looked good, Holt and Keatings impressed and our fringe payers looked eager to impress.
Interesting to see how we do against Brondby.

10-07-2016, 07:37 PM

I have a feeling Lennon will use the squad more than Stubbs did, we have a hard fought campaign coming up, a league and 2 domestic cups, we need to keep everyone fresh and injury free.

10-07-2016, 07:46 PM

We need three keepers so he'll be one or two in the order of things if he signs.

10-07-2016, 07:48 PM

Although Id agree they are our best midfielders, I dont think they should all be shoehorned into the team if there is a more effective system (something I think Stubbs was guilty of). The evidence so far suggests Lennon will go with wide players which means that some of them will miss out, but I dont think its a bad thing as it will provide actual competition for places.

10-07-2016, 08:00 PM
You're Andy Goram and I claim my 50 quid.

There is only one ronnie kirk Have no idea who the real ronnie kirk is !!!!! Green Grin Its a mystery

Hibs331875
10-07-2016, 08:04 PM
Thought Marvin Johnston(goal scorer) looked decent, would take him in a second

NikGunnarsson
10-07-2016, 08:10 PM

Just a different thought but how much better are the Motherwell highlights than ours. A club of our size should really have free highlights in HD and upload them on youtube as well.

Hibs331875
10-07-2016, 08:13 PM
Just a different thought but how much better are the Motherwell highlights than ours. A club of our size should really have free highlights in HD and upload them on youtube as well.
Spot on, if they didn't show so much as freeview maybe more fans would pay the £5.99 a month! Money that would improve the content quality.

10-07-2016, 08:13 PM

Can I just check - is this the same Tam Cowan that said a couple of weeks ago that we'd skoosh this league?

SJNB Hibby
10-07-2016, 08:18 PM
Ha ha true, at one point whilst viewing it on my phone I followed a seagul instead of the ball !! 

There was a seagull clearly offside on all of our goals!!

10-07-2016, 08:20 PM
Him and Ainsworth. Two quality players.

Gordy M
10-07-2016, 08:24 PM
To any of the guys/girls that were there today...what is our style of play like compared to last season. Stubbs obv liked us to retain possession, but on occassion i felt we were quite slow in getting in forward, esp against the so called 'weaker' teams. Has lennon got us playing differently? Are we playing with more pace/width? Thanks

10-07-2016, 08:25 PM
Some excellent goals today. Holt's chest and flick to Jason for the first was excellent. The second goal was a cracker. Great defending McGinn with a defense splitting pass and Jason returns the favour to Holt. Stevenson, whose crossing was very good today, with a fine centre and McGinn bullets a header home for the third. The last was a bit scrappy but may have been my favourite. Pressing high up the field late on in a friendly by Dylan, good ball from Sammy and a fine finish from Keats.

The team performance was very good today. The big difference for me is we are a wee bit quicker and sharper passing and most importantly we are actually taking our chances. Holt has made a difference and there were signs of a partnership forming.

Hibs331875
10-07-2016, 08:27 PM
To any of the guys/girls that were there today...what is our style of play like compared to last season. Stubbs obv liked us to retain possession, but on occassion i felt we were quite slow in getting in forward, esp against the so called 'weaker' teams. Has lennon got us playing differently? Are we playing with more pace/width? Thanks
Alot more urgency than under Stubbs, I personally think Boyle looks a different player, gets more service cause we're pushing the ball wide. Early days but Cummings and Holt could be a great partnership!

ionahibby

Tbf to tam Cowan he has always said that he has a soft spot for us on off the ball a couple of times and most of the time he says stuff in jest, though saying that he did moan his backside off after the cup final on all the shenigans.

To any of the guys/girls that were there today...what is our style of play like compared to last season. Stubbs obv liked us to retain possession, but on occassion i felt we were quite slow in getting in forward, esp against the so called 'weaker' teams. Has lennon got us playing differently? Are we playing with more pace/width? ThanksCrisper and quicker. Even the pressing was done at pace and higher up the park. I am encouraged by what I saw.

The boy will sign

Happy with that if he does.

I was impressed by him today. He didn't seem daunted at all and was talking a lot. He had a good save low to his right, another from a close range header which I thought he'd made a bit of a meal of at the time but it was actually a good save and had a decent punch in anongst bodies as well.

Finn2015
10-07-2016, 08:28 PM
Great game and throughly enjoyed it despite the seagulls threatening to **** on everyone. I know it's only a friendly but the team looked fluid and on the ball and again it illustrated that we should be a top division side

Babyshamble
10-07-2016, 08:32 PM

Tam, your boys took a hell of a beating!tam Cowan is only doing his job.he is a pundit.he has a go at every team apart from his own.which is fair enough.if you listen to off the ball after the final you will find out for yourself that he has a soft spot for hibs.

Gordy M
10-07-2016, 08:38 PM
Alot more urgency than under Stubbs, I personally think Boyle looks a different player, gets more service cause we're pushing the ball wide. Early days but Cummings and Holt could be a great partnership!
Sounds encouraging....cheers

RealRonnieKirk
10-07-2016, 08:57 PM
There is only one ronnie kirk Have no idea who the real ronnie kirk is !!!!! Green Grin Its a mystery

Don't listen to this imposter. I'm Ronnie Kirk.

10-07-2016, 10:07 PM
tam Cowan is only doing his job.he is a pundit.he has a go at every team apart from his own.which is fair enough.if you listen to off the ball after the final you will find out for yourself that he has a soft spot for hibs.

I have got a softspot fot 'funny guy' Tam. Quicksand

10-07-2016, 10:22 PM

Looks like the experienced campainer that he is, looks miles offside as the play develops then gets himself onto the shoulder of the CH, could do for Jason what Mixu did for Kenny Miller in teaching him so much.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-07-2016, 06:59 AM
Looks like the experienced campainer that he is, looks miles offside as the play develops then gets himself onto the shoulder of the CH, could do for Jason what Mixu did for Kenny Miller in teaching him so much.

Remember brewster doing it for o'connor too.

Its exactly what someone like cummings needs - he wont have played with someone that much more experienced and seasoned in his whole career. Ideal opportunity to improve himself.