View Full Version : Golovkin v Kell Brook Sept 10th

08-07-2016, 04:57 PM
Madness, absolute madness but respect to Kell for having the balls to get ko'd inside the first few rounds!!!

08-07-2016, 05:13 PM
Wow! Don't think this will be as good a fight as GGG Vs Eubank would be, but respect to Brook for taking it. The Eubanks are apparently a nightmare to deal with and this seems to prove that.

K-Zazu
08-07-2016, 07:34 PM
When my old man txt me saying golovkin is fighting brook I thought he had made a mistake and said brook instead of Eubank Jnr. Brook is a massive WW and will be making a lot of money but he's a huge underdog in this fight . Looking forward to it

08-07-2016, 07:54 PM
Looking forward to it.

Massive respect to Brook. He's a classy operator and a world champion.

Don't see him winning but wish him all the luck in the world.

08-07-2016, 08:01 PM
It's a great fight for Brook really.

He wins and he becomes a superstar who will have top names desperate for a shot at him. If he loses then there will still be options for him as no one expects anything of him anyway.

FWIW I like Golovkin but I think he's beatable. Due to his style he takes a lot of shots as he presses forward and I think with the right game plan he is there to be got at. Whether Brook can do it is another matter of course.

08-07-2016, 09:13 PM
Reminiscent of Khan v Canello and the same outcome I fear. I kinda feel for both fighters, they're both dangerous and struggle to get big fights as nobody wants to fight them. But let's be honest, it's a total mismatch!

IMO Kell is struggling to make 147 these days and a move up was eventually inevitable but this seems like a mad move for him, it's a big payday though so might actually pave the way for a Khan fight (that's a humungous payday for both of them) a couple of fights down the line. Can't see him winning this, the size mismatch will be telling and can only really see Golovkin walking him down and finishing him early.

08-07-2016, 10:37 PM
Reminiscent of Khan v Canello and the same outcome I fear. I kinda feel for both fighters, they're both dangerous and struggle to get big fights as nobody wants to fight them. But let's be honest, it's a total mismatch!

IMO Kell is struggling to make 147 these days and a move up was eventually inevitable but this seems like a mad move for him, it's a big payday though so might actually pave the way for a Khan fight (that's a humungous payday for both of them) a couple of fights down the line. Can't see him winning this, the size mismatch will be telling and can only really see Golovkin walking him down and finishing him early.

A completely different fight to Canelo V Khan imo.

Both have a great jab and judge distance very well. Brook has power at welterweight but whether or not that translates to middleweight remains to be seen and imo is the key to this fight. I expect GGG to win in the mid-late rounds but this is a much better fight than some are giving it credit for. If Brook somehow manages to win this he instantly becomes an elite level fighter, no matter what his profile is raised considerably. A win-win and nobody can accuse him of avoiding anyone now. Can't wait for this fight!

09-07-2016, 06:49 AM
Very good interview with Eddie Hearn here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AuMgE6Y7oI

Explains that Eubank Senior was demanding full control of the ticket prices and effectively wanted to run the whole event - that's why the fight fell through and was offered to Brook instead 😂. Junior is a great fighter but his Dad could do some serious damage to his career if he's not careful.

03-09-2016, 08:55 AM
One week to go. Can't wait for this. Call me crazy but I've got a feeling Kell Brook might just do this on points.

K-Zazu
03-09-2016, 01:24 PM
One week to go. Can't wait for this. Call me crazy but I've got a feeling Kell Brook might just do this on points.

Really can't see it myself. This is the best p4p fighter on the planet for me. He isn't all about power either, this guy can also box, Olympic silver medalist .. Great ring IQ.. One of the best jabs in boxing. I just can't see Brook taking his power for 12 rounds and I certainly can't see brook winning by KO..

Golovkin will end it between rounds 7-9

03-09-2016, 02:08 PM
Really can't see it myself. This is the best p4p fighter on the planet for me. He isn't all about power either, this guy can also box, Olympic silver medalist .. Great ring IQ.. One of the best jabs in boxing. I just can't see Brook taking his power for 12 rounds and I certainly can't see brook winning by KO..

Golovkin will end it between rounds 7-9

A very logical prediction to make, mines is based mostly on a hunch tbh. Will be a very tough fight for Brook.

I'd disagree on GGG being p4p best. He does have a lot of power and great boxing skills but he's by no means unbeatable and hasn't been properly tested yet. He admits himself that Brook will be his toughest opponent to date.

K-Zazu
03-09-2016, 02:21 PM
I can see what u mean by he hasn't been properly tested yet .. But who would at 154-168 would test him? And who is your p4p no 1?

03-09-2016, 10:00 PM
Kell Brook gets all my respect for taking the fight and for having gone to the US to fight for world titles.

But he's not going to win.

04-09-2016, 06:59 AM
I can see what u mean by he hasn't been properly tested yet .. But who would at 154-168 would test him? And who is your p4p no 1?

Canelo would be the obvious choice here, although I think GGG wins; if Canelo stops pissing about and takes the fight in the next year or 2. If he manages to drag it out any longer there's a chance that GGG starts to decline as he's a good few years older. Other than that I think Eubank Jr also gives GGG a very tough nights work as he has a good chin and attacks with ferocity.

As for current p4p, I'd put Andre Ward above Golovkin especially if he beats Kovalev later this year. Would've loved to see Ward v GGG but that's probably unlikely now that he's moved up in weight.

K-Zazu
05-09-2016, 07:21 PM
Canelo clearly ducked golovkin, just don't think golden boy and de la Hoya fancy it whatsoever but we shall see eh, and as for Eubank Jnr I really don't think he is world level at the moment. Golovkin is 34 so he's still got a good 2/3 years at the top then he will retire, probably undefeated.

My top 3 p4p fighters are

ggg
Lomachenko
Roman Gonzalez

Looking forward to kova,ward fight. I think this fight is all wrong for kovalev and ward schools him. Although I would love a Krusher KO !

K-Zazu
05-09-2016, 07:28 PM
Remember it wasn't so long ago people were saying that golovkin could knock out Carl froch so what could he do to kell? I really hope brooks corner pull him out early if he's taking a beating

05-09-2016, 08:57 PM
Defintely seems like he is ducking GGG. Canelo is a huge draw in America and Mexico so it's currently the biggest fight in world boxing. I'd love to see GGG knock him out, don't leave it to the corrupt judging that Canelo frequently benefits from.

I'd have GGG high in a p4p list but couldn't put him top at the moment because of his relatively poor CV. Convincing wins over Brook and Canelo would change that though.

08-09-2016, 12:27 PM
I really hope he does. He's one of the most likeable guys in the game. Does anyone know what time it's due to start?

08-09-2016, 12:38 PM
I really hope he does. He's one of the most likeable guys in the game. Does anyone know what time it's due to start?

Between 10-11 I'd have thought.
I really like Kell. Would love him to win this but can't see it. Fair play to him for taking it on but I suppose he can't really lose as he's expected to lose as he's fighting a better fighter at a weight he's not used to.

08-09-2016, 12:44 PM
I really like Kell. Would love him to win this but can't see it. Fair play to him for taking it on but I suppose he can't really lose as he's expected to lose as he's fighting a better fighter at a weight he's not used to.

It's going to be tough for him, but he's an unbeaten fighter and he got a chance.

08-09-2016, 02:29 PM
It's going to be tough for him, but he's an unbeaten fighter and he got a chance.

He's no chance IMO, Kell's unbeaten at Welterweight, Golovkin is as heavy handed as they come and a natural middleweight, the wee half steps he takes to cut the ring off is almost impossible to counteract. In saying that I'll be cheering on Kell and would love to be proved wrong, if he's going to win I feel he has to swarm him from the first bell and try and take him out early before GGG establishes any kind of rhythm.

08-09-2016, 04:17 PM

Agree with this. Very likeable person.

To win would be one of the greatest ever achievements by a British boxer and if it does happen then I can't think of anyone else i'd like to see do it more than Kell Brook. Very difficult night ahead of him though.

08-09-2016, 04:21 PM

He defintely could have used a tune-up fight to get used to the weight before taking on the likes of GGG. A very bold move that should be respected regardless of the outcome.

09-09-2016, 08:03 AM
He's no chance IMO, Kell's unbeaten at Welterweight, Golovkin is as heavy handed as they come and a natural middleweight, the wee half steps he takes to cut the ring off is almost impossible to counteract. In saying that I'll be cheering on Kell and would love to be proved wrong, if he's going to win I feel he has to swarm him from the first bell and try and take him out early before GGG establishes any kind of rhythm.
To say he has no chance is a bit harsh, but I do worry whether he'll be able to handle the power of golovkin, especially in the latter rounds.

K-Zazu
09-09-2016, 08:53 PM
Lots of rumours going about that Gennady has the flu . Looked really unwell either that or Eddie Hearn has spiked him 😂

09-09-2016, 10:33 PM
Lots of rumours going about that Gennady has the flu . Looked really unwell either that or Eddie Hearn has spiked him 😂

Wasn't his usual smiley self at the weigh-in and apparently didn't stick around for any interviews after the press conference yesterday or the weigh in today. I have to say, I did think he was leaving it a bit late only coming to the UK on Sunday from California. In my experience travelling that distance Eastbound, it takes a bit more than a week to aclimatise to the time zone. Sure it's nothing, there's too much at stake for him to be fighting with any serious ailments.

10-09-2016, 07:23 PM
I felt a bit sorry for Charlie Edwards there. Fighting a guy as experienced as that after 8 fights is madness imo.

10-09-2016, 07:44 PM
I felt a bit sorry for Charlie Edwards there. Fighting a guy as experienced as that after 8 fights is madness imo.

The term "thrown to the wolves" seems appropriate.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 07:50 PM
Callum Smith looking solid here.

10-09-2016, 08:01 PM
The term "thrown to the wolves" seems appropriate.

Aye that's what I was thinking.

10-09-2016, 08:02 PM
Very assured so far.

10-09-2016, 08:02 PM

A future world champion without doubt. The best of the smith brothers imo.

10-09-2016, 08:06 PM
All over. Decent finish

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 08:21 PM
Looked good there. I dont know if he could handle Degale just now.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 08:22 PM
The Haskins,Hall fight should be a cracker, not a lot of love between these two.

10-09-2016, 08:25 PM
Interview with GGG looking much more relaxed and happy. Always comes across well despite his lack of English. A complete animal in the ring though.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 08:26 PM
He looked more like himself there. Good to see him smiling.

10-09-2016, 08:31 PM
The Haskins,Hall fight should be a cracker, not a lot of love between these two.
Haskins should be too good though. He's already beaten Hall convincingly.

10-09-2016, 08:38 PM
Can't see anything else bar GGG knocking out KB.

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 08:39 PM
Really looking forward to the Haskins v Hall fight - think this one could be the best of the night.
As for Brook v Golovkin - my prediction is it will be over by the sixth - Golovkin too strong and powerful will win by KO.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 08:48 PM
I dont see there being a stoppage. If GGG is not 100% I can see Brook winning on points.

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 08:49 PM
Is that Naseem Hamed at ringside?? Jeez He's fairly put the beef on.

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 08:52 PM
I dont see there being a stoppage. If GGG is not 100% I can see Brook winning on points.

You dont think that Kell going up two weights means GGG will have too much power for him?

10-09-2016, 08:53 PM
Is that Naseem Hamed at ringside?? Jeez He's fairly put the beef on.
It is him. He's been that size for a while now. :greengrin

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 08:56 PM
Haskins making Hall look a little clumsy at times.

10-09-2016, 08:59 PM
It is him. He's been that size for a while now. :greengrin

He's had no problem moving up the weights, don't see why it should be a problem for Brook 😉😂

10-09-2016, 09:02 PM
He's had no problem moving up the weights, don't see why it should be a problem for Brook 😉😂
Exactly. I was watching some of the build up and Brook was eating 9 meals a day to get up to the weight. I've never seen a man happier at his work. :greengrin

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 09:23 PM
Haskins should be too good though. He's already beaten Hall convincingly.

Closer than their last meeting, still looking like Haskins though.

10-09-2016, 09:28 PM
Closer than their last meeting, still looking like Haskins though.
It's a real 50/50 now. Good fight.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 09:31 PM
Yep. Haskins not done enough in the last couple. He could lose this.

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 09:34 PM
Thought it was a lot closer than some of the judges scores

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 09:35 PM
No way it was as wide as those score cards.

10-09-2016, 09:38 PM
No way it was as wide as those score cards.
No wonder the crowd were booing, Haskins probably did enough, but no way was there that much between the 2 fighters.

10-09-2016, 09:42 PM
Let's get ready to rumble

10-09-2016, 09:43 PM
Had it much closer than some of the judges there. Although I think to talk a belt away from a champion on points, you need to do a wee bit more than what Hall done there.

JimboHibs
10-09-2016, 09:45 PM

I cant see anything other than a comfortable win for GGG.....don't mind who wins would be fantastic for Brook if he was to win though just cant see it.

10-09-2016, 09:45 PM
Had it much closer than some of the judges there. Although I think to talk a belt away from a champion on points, you need to do a wee bit more than what Hall done there.
Agreed. The champ has a couple of rounds in hand.

10-09-2016, 09:48 PM
GGG to get knocked down and go on to win the fight. 16/1 worth a £10, £5 each on Brook in either the 5th or 10th. :greengrin

10-09-2016, 09:49 PM
How many are in attendance? It looks a huge crowd, I heard it sold out in 11 minutes.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 09:51 PM
Atmosphere is electric

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 09:52 PM
Here we go.....

10-09-2016, 09:56 PM
I love how they always pay to bring Michael Buffer over for these big fights. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE.

10-09-2016, 10:00 PM
How many are in attendance? It looks a huge crowd, I heard it sold out in 11 minutes.

9 minutes. :greengrin

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 10:01 PM
I never understand crowds booing boxers, especially guys like GGG. Deserves a bit of respect.

10-09-2016, 10:04 PM
Brook looks terrified.

GGG looks like he's away to take his dog a walk, coolness personified.

10-09-2016, 10:05 PM
I'm currently at fever pitch

10-09-2016, 10:06 PM
Brook looks terrified.

This. Never seen a fighter look so nervous before a fight. Worrying.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 10:06 PM
I'm currently at fever pitch

Me too, I think i have messed myself already.

10-09-2016, 10:08 PM
Brook looks terrified.

GGG looks like he's away to take his dog a walk, coolness personified.
I think brook looks quite relaxed

10-09-2016, 10:08 PM
I love how they always pay to bring Michael Buffer over for these big fights. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE.

He must love it though. What a job!

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 10:11 PM
Kell's hurt straight away

edit - but responds well:greengrin

10-09-2016, 10:13 PM
Kell's hurt straight away

edit - but responds well:greengrin
Fought back like a lion though

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 10:13 PM
What a start. No way this goes the distance.

10-09-2016, 10:16 PM
He must love it though. What a job!

It is a good pay day for him as well.

Benny Brazil
This is ******g awesome stuff!!

****in come on kell, great round.

10-09-2016, 10:17 PM
Good pagger .

10-09-2016, 10:17 PM
Golovkin has some chin.

10-09-2016, 10:21 PM
What a fight this is.

Wow ! Stay off the ropes Kell.

Benny Brazil
Brook is getting caught by too many punches which are hurting him

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 10:25 PM
Kell losing the exchanges on the ropes.

10-09-2016, 10:25 PM
Brook is getting caught by too many punches which are hurting him
He's still landing his own though.

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 10:26 PM
He's still landing his own though.

True but dont think they have the same power that GGG is landing with

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 10:28 PM
Bizarre ending

Really.

Godsahibby
That was one of the best fights I've watched proper fighting.

10-09-2016, 10:29 PM
That's a ****in joke. Spoiled a great fight.

Ricky Bobby
What is the trainer thinking

That right eye is ****ed. GGG is an absolute monster, that power is beyond a joke.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 10:32 PM
If Brook was really hurt he would have taken a knee.

10-09-2016, 10:33 PM
That right eye is ****ed. GGG is an absolute monster, that power is beyond a joke.
He wasn't anywhere near a beaten fighter, his corner should be sacked. They were throwing in the towel after 1 punch. The fix was in.

10-09-2016, 10:34 PM
Trainer called it spot on for me, he was starting to get a hiding.

Godsahibby
10-09-2016, 10:36 PM
Was a great fight till then probably right thing to do. Hats off to kell brook for taking the fight and impressed but GGG is something very special.

10-09-2016, 10:36 PM

Agreed. Right decision.

Eye was knackered, he was taking heavy hits and while he was returning some they weren't looking like they'd cause any bother.

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 10:37 PM
GGG just said it right - Kell didnt hurt him - he's not a middleweight

10-09-2016, 10:38 PM
In what way was he getting a hiding? It was up to the point of the towel being thrown in the best fight I've seen this year. Shocking by his corner.

Benny Brazil
10-09-2016, 10:39 PM
In what way was he getting a hiding? It was up to the point of the towel being thrown in the best fight I've seen this year. Shocking by his corner.

Kell just said he thinks he has a broken eye socket from the first round

Ricky Bobby

By the time the towel went in you could argue that. But the trainer was waving the towel while Kell was still throwing back.

Brook wasn't boxing at the end. He was avoiding getting hit.

In "real time" it looked strange, looking at the replays, Brook wasn't throwing anything back. Probably a good idea the trainer finished it.

Brook is a hero though!!

10-09-2016, 10:42 PM
By the time the towel went in you could argue that. But the trainer was waving the towel while Kell was still throwing back.
That's what is annoying me.

10-09-2016, 10:42 PM
Brook doesn't seem to happy with his trainer.

10-09-2016, 10:43 PM

He was starting to buckle at the very point his corner threw the towel, it was done. Exciting fight, but the trainer called it spot on.

10-09-2016, 10:48 PM
Good fight, but probably the right decision from brooks corner to stop the fight. I gave one round to Brook, it was only a matter of time.

On another note, GGG is ****ing awesome. Would love to see him back in the UK for another fight.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 10:48 PM
Kell saying the trainer was too quick to throw in the towel,

10-09-2016, 10:49 PM
Brook should move up to light middleweight - he'd clean up there. I think he'd beat Canelo as well if the fight was in the Uk.

10-09-2016, 10:50 PM
I'm not sure what to make of the towel coming in but Kell wasn't throwing anything back in anger and was going to get seriously hurt. At the end of round 4 Kell looked absolutely ****ed on his stool. He went for the early stoppage and it never came, I'd argue he never hurt Golovkin in the slightest but it was a good fight while it lasted. You can't box on with a broken eye socket if you're seeing double as your focus is gone and you can't judge distance and your shots look mistimed and messy just like Kells did. He'd be a superstar at light middleweight.

10-09-2016, 10:51 PM
He was starting to buckle at the very point his corner threw the towel, it was done. Exciting fight, but the trainer called it spot on.

His corner were waiving the towel after 1 punch. I've watched 1000s of fights and I've never seen a fighter been retired by his corner while he was winning the fight. Very strange imo.

10-09-2016, 10:55 PM
His corner were waiving the towel after 1 punch. I've watched 1000s of fights and I've never seen a fighter been retired by his corner while he was winning the fight. Very strange imo.

Brook wasn't close to winning that fight. He gave a good account of himself, but over the piece he was getting beat convincingly. GGG was a league above.

10-09-2016, 10:56 PM

Do you genuinely believe Kell Brook could've won another round in that fight?

10-09-2016, 10:56 PM
I'm not sure what to make of the towel coming in but Kell wasn't throwing anything back in anger and was going to get seriously hurt. At the end of round 4 Kell looked absolutely ****ed on his stool. He went for the early stoppage and it never came, I'd argue he never hurt Golovkin in the slightest but it was a good fight while it lasted. You can't box on with a broken eye socket if you're seeing double as your focus is gone and you can't judge distance and your shots look mistimed and messy just like Kells did. He'd be a superstar at light middleweight.
He was ahead on points and he hadn't been seriously hurt. Injury or not, this was his chance to become the best of the best. It was there for him and his corner took it away. That chance will never come again.

10-09-2016, 10:58 PM
He was ahead on points and he hadn't been seriously hurt. Injury or not, this was his chance to become the best of the best. It was there for him and his corner took it away. That chance will never come again.

I'd love to see those scorecards. I gave brook one round.

10-09-2016, 10:59 PM
Do you genuinely believe Kell Brook could've won another round in that fight?

Yes. He'd won previous rounds and he was looking great. Golovkin had hit him with his best and Brook was still there. What makes you think that the rest of the fight would've panned out any different?

10-09-2016, 11:00 PM

He could've been 5-0 up in rounds but of the fight went on he'd have been in a hospital bed right now instead of walking back to his dressing room.

10-09-2016, 11:01 PM
I'd love to see those scorecards. I gave brook one round.

I had it pretty even, Eddie Hearn said Brook was ahead on the judges scorecard.

10-09-2016, 11:02 PM
Yes. He'd won previous rounds and he was looking great. Golovkin had hit him with his best and Brook was still there. What makes you think that the rest of the fight would've panned out any different?

Well we will agree to disagree, IMO Kell would've been seriously hurt if that was allowed to continue. He landed a few punches yeah, but Golovkin was never troubled.

10-09-2016, 11:04 PM

Eh? At no point was he winning the fight. He said himself that his eye was goosed early, his corner would also know that. Again, he was starting to rock and his corner called it spot on.

10-09-2016, 11:04 PM
He could've been 5-0 up in rounds but of the fight went on he'd have been in a hospital bed right now instead of walking back to his dressing room.

I'm sorry, but that's not the way I was seeing the fight going. It was nip and tuck, 2 good fighters doing what we all wanted to see. How you can envisage Brook being hospitalised from what I watched is beyond me.

10-09-2016, 11:05 PM
Eh? At no point was he winning the fight. He said himself that his eye was goosed early, his corner would also know that. Again, he was starting to rock and his corner called it spot on.

The judges scorecards had Brook ahead

10-09-2016, 11:07 PM
I had it pretty even, Eddie Hearn said Brook was ahead on the judges scorecard.

Was a great fight and easy to get caught up in the event itself. But I thought GGG was better by miles. Eddie Hearn generally talks a load of pish especially when it involves his top fighters. He's a promoter at the end of the day.

10-09-2016, 11:09 PM
The judges scorecards had Brook ahead

They may well have but at no point was he in charge of the fight.

10-09-2016, 11:15 PM
They may well have but at no point was he in charge of the fight.

I didn't say he was. It was up until his corner threw in the towel the best fight I've seen this year. You can dispute who was winning, but surely you can't argue it was game on when the towel was being waved? Golovkin has never been properly tested until tonight and the test should have continued

10-09-2016, 11:25 PM
I didn't say he was. It was up until his corner threw in the towel the best fight I've seen this year. You can dispute who was winning, but surely you can't argue it was game on when the towel was being waved? Golovkin has never been properly tested until tonight and the test should have continued

I've already said the fight was done when the towel was waved, watch it again.

Ricky Bobby
10-09-2016, 11:31 PM
Watched the fight again and the right decision was made. Another couple of seconds i think the ref would have taken the decision out of the trainers hands anyway.

10-09-2016, 11:36 PM
Kell had zero chance of winning the fight, he was taking a hiding in that last round and looked like he had given up on his stool before he came out, his eye socket was broken, he couldn't see properly and he was in with the most brutal puncher boxing has seen in decades. Again, he could've won every single round up until that point a bit like Khan had done with Canelo Alvarez earlier this year, but that fight tonight was going to end up with Kell being very, very badly hurt. Towel coming in was the right thing to do from the corner IMO although I agree, great fight and Brooks gameplan was spot on, he just never had the power to make it work against GGG or the chin to take those ferocious hits for 12 rounds.

10-09-2016, 11:38 PM
Kell had zero chance of winning the fight, he was taking a hiding in that last round and looked like he had given up on his stool before he came out, his eye socket was broken, he couldn't see properly and he was in with the most brutal puncher boxing has seen in decades. Again, he could've won every single round up until that point a bit like Khan had done with Canelo Alvarez earlier this year, but that fight tonight was going to end up with Kell being very, very badly hurt. Towel coming in was the right thing to do from the corner IMO although I agree, great fight and Brooks gameplan was spot on, he just never had the power to make it work against GGG or the chin to take those ferocious hits for 12 rounds.

I agree I think. Brook didn't seem happy with his trainer but these guys are warriors and will stay in as long as they can. GGG says brook never hurt him tho. I don't believe that.

Willis1875
10-09-2016, 11:39 PM

Spot on.Brooks corner made the right decision given that his eye socket is broken.Would be hard enough fighting 1 GGG never mind 5

11-09-2016, 09:37 AM
Wether or not Brook was ahead with the judges, he was getting hurt, and GGG wasn't. The judges scorecard was never going to be relevant, it was never going the distance.

Brooks corner did the right thing. The only way it was going was a more serious injury.

11-09-2016, 11:02 AM
Wether or not Brook was ahead with the judges, he was getting hurt, and GGG wasn't. The judges scorecard was never going to be relevant, it was never going the distance.

Brooks corner did the right thing. The only way it was going was a more serious injury.

Agreed. He needs an operation on his fractured eye socket which apparently happened in the second round. Could've been a lot worse if the fight had continued. Only have to go back a few months to the Nick Blackwell v Eubank Jr fight to see how dangerous it can be when fighters are allowed to continue without intervention.

Brook can hold his head high after that performance, he done himself proud. He's raised his profile considerably and won a lot of fans. This fight will prove to be pivotal in his career and he'll have much bigger fights than he was having before; probably in the light middleweight division. So I'm sure he'll look back on it and thank his trainer for pulling him before there was a more serious injury.

Can see why people are annoyed as it was a really exciting fight. But the safety of the fighters has to come before entertainment.

11-09-2016, 04:55 PM
Almost 24 hours on and as the dust settles and after having watched the fight again I've got nothing but huge respect for Brook for the way he fought last night, absolute balls of steel and he's earned huge respect throughout the boxing world for that performance last night. The stoppage was bang on and I'm glad he's walked away from that last night able to fight again next year rather than having his career ended, once that eye socket shatters it's career over and so happy he's only broken it and can have it repaired and heal naturally. Some quotes below in relation to the fight and stoppage:

Kell Brook: "He's like a father figure. It was the right decision and I can fight another day," he said. "I was getting caught, and getting caught. It could have ended up seriously bad."

David Haye: "That stoppage was absolutely spot on. You've got to realise, Kell Brook is a current welterweight champion - he had no business taking that onslaught on the ropes.

"I'm so happy Dominic Ingle did that and didn't watch his fighter get drilled to the canvas, because give it six months and he's back in the ring, he's still earning money for his family, he's still defending his welterweight title.

"Great bit of corner work by Dominic Ingle - the best I've seen for a very long time."

Eddie Hearn: "He is still world champion at welterweight. It's going to be difficult for him to go back to 147lbs but in terms of worldwide stock, I think Kell's rose considerably," the promoter said.

"[US TV network] HBO asked me if I would do the re-match with Golovkin but I can see him [Brook] returning to light-middleweight, there are some huge fights out there for him.

"There is the Canelo [Alvarez] fight, the Amir Khan fight should have happened a dozen times and hasn't, maybe they feel it is the right time for that, there are other world champions out there at light-middleweight.

"The Golovkin re-match, if people want to see it in time to come, who knows? But it is not something that is going to happen in the very near future."

Personally I don't think he'll ever fight GGG again as he just doesn't have the power or the defence over 12 rounds to win that fight and he's just not cut out for middleweight. Canelo fight is absolutely huge and that would be winnable for Kell, I think a fight with Khan would be a big money spinner and he wins that IMO. Some great fights against fellow brits at 154 too.

12-09-2016, 09:38 PM
Are all the guys that disagreed with the stoppage fully behind the Eubanks comments as well?

HibernianJK
13-09-2016, 08:56 AM
Are all the guys that disagreed with the stoppage fully behind the Eubanks comments as well?

About his corner not owning a towel? I'm betting he would wish they had a towel after the 1st round with GGG. Although I wou;dn't mind seeing Eubank on the canvas

13-09-2016, 08:57 AM
About his corner not owning a towel? I'm betting he would wish they had a towel after the 1st round with GGG. Although I wou;dn't mind seeing Eubank on the canvas

How funny would it be if he got knocked out cold by GGG after all of this. A detestable prick.

13-09-2016, 09:33 AM
I watched the fight on Sunday when i got up, and Brook fought a good fight and was brave as a lion, but he was just not strong enough against a great fighter like Golovkin.

The fight may well have been close, but his eye was knackered and he was not throwing any punches back.

The corner were right in throwing the towel in, he was just taking punishment and was never going to win or even protect himself properly.

13-09-2016, 11:54 AM

Mainly the part about how he should’ve carried on – “pain is good” etc. He shouldn’t have worried about fighting another day and just taken the beating.

13-09-2016, 08:25 PM
Strange comments from Eubank after the Blackwell fight

14-09-2016, 01:01 PM
Eubank has inherited his old man's drivel.

14-09-2016, 02:28 PM
Brooks corner called it spot on. He would have been telling them his eye was a problem between rounds and if his vision was impaired he could have been in all sorts of bother. A corner has a duty to protect their fighter and Ingle made the right call.

Eubank is just an idiot. He's not even the best fighter at his weight division in the UK never mind on Golovkins level and after all he's been through this year his comments are ill thought out.

As for GGG he's undoubtedly a ferocious puncher but he does take a lot of shots and I reckon he is beatable. Staying out of his range and peppering him with jabs and lead rights would look like the plan. Easier said than done of course. Following the lead of Mayweather might be the way to do it but whether anyone at that weight has the speed and skill is another matter.

18-09-2016, 09:20 AM
Liam Smith was outclassed and knocked out by Canelo last night. Another brave performance by a Uk boxer, but just not good enough to mix it up with the likes of GGG and Canelo at world level.

Really looking forward to Crolla v Linares next week on Sky. That should be a great fight. I remember Linares fight with Kevin Mitchell last year; one of the best fights I've seen in the last year or so. Expect this to be very similar.