View Full Version : Edinburgh City v Hibs match updates

07-07-2016, 06:34 PM
Hibernian team to face Edinburgh City: Virtanen, Gray, McGregor, Hanlon, Stevenson, Boyle, Bartley, McGeouch, Carmichael, Stanton, Cummings

From the twitter. Looks like a 4-5-1 with Boyle/Carmichael on the wings. Also do my eyes deceive me but is Jason's hair unstyled?

07-07-2016, 06:35 PM
Could be a 4-3-3. stanton and carmichael in either midfeild or up top

07-07-2016, 06:48 PM
Subs?

07-07-2016, 06:49 PM
Subs?

Too early give the starting 11 a chance 😄

w pilton hibby
07-07-2016, 06:50 PM
Subs?

Hibernian substitutes: Oxley, Fontaine, Holt, Keatings, Fyvie, Handling, Harris, Crane, Martin, Dunsmore, Porteous

07-07-2016, 06:51 PM
Subs?

Oxley, Fontaine, Holt, Keatings, Fyvie, Handling, Harris, Crane, Martin, Dunsmore, Porteous

07-07-2016, 06:53 PM
Sunshine on Leith on the tannoy and Gray leads the team out carrying the Holy Grail.

07-07-2016, 06:55 PM
Looking a bit rusty. City have first shot on target.

07-07-2016, 06:56 PM
Good save from their keeper from Cummings.

07-07-2016, 06:59 PM
1-0, McGregor header. Gray cross?

1-0 McGregor header.

1-0 hibs,

McGregor heads home a Stevenson cross.

Darren McGregor with a nice header for the goal

07-07-2016, 07:00 PM
Hibernian substitutes: Oxley, Fontaine, Holt, Keatings, Fyvie, Handling, Harris, Crane, Martin, Dunsmore, Porteous

Great cross in that lead to the Goal

Billy
Who scored :faf::thumbsup:

SJM
07-07-2016, 07:01 PM
Good stuff mon the cabbage!

alnewhaven
07-07-2016, 07:03 PM
Boyle ? Makes it 2

2-0. Boyle taps in Gray cross, Cummings may have got the last touch.

Give that to Boyle

2-0 Boyle

Cummings goal

Or boyles goal

Or someone's goal

07-07-2016, 07:04 PM
Who scored :faf::thumbsup:

You listening on HTV Billy?

All our goals since Lennon took charge have been from Crosses

City announcer gives goal to Cummings

07-07-2016, 07:05 PM
Sounds like it was all Boyle but Cummings got last touch so credited with the goal

07-07-2016, 07:05 PM
City announcer gives goal to Cummings

2nd goal was quality. Big Bart's is about 2 stone over weight

07-07-2016, 07:06 PM
do away goals count double

:)

alnewhaven
07-07-2016, 07:07 PM
Stanton 3

3-0, Stanton.

3-0

07-07-2016, 07:08 PM
Stanton with a tap in after a Cummings shot beats keeper and comes off post

07-07-2016, 07:08 PM
It'll note long until we hear about how 3-0 isn't good enough.

Blah blah blah

07-07-2016, 07:09 PM
Stanton goal

SJM
07-07-2016, 07:09 PM
This is a lot better hibs. Delighted for Sammy.

07-07-2016, 07:10 PM
If any of the young lad's have came back from loan better players, all the better.

alnewhaven
McGeouch number 4

4 McGeough

07-07-2016, 07:11 PM
4-0, McGeouch shot from distance.

This is some performance!

McGeouch with a cracker from outside the box

On you go sam prove the doubters wrong:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Billy
You listening on HTV Billy?

Yeah, listening in :thumbsup:

Blah blah blah

3-0 is just not good enough...... Oh 4-0, that's better

07-07-2016, 07:12 PM
Mcgeouch Goal

07-07-2016, 07:12 PM
Lennon clearly telling the team to go direct and shoot from outside the box.

07-07-2016, 07:13 PM
Gray blocks a Hanlon header on the line for some reason.

07-07-2016, 07:13 PM
Gray misses a free header at the back post.

That guy will never score a header..

07-07-2016, 07:14 PM
Are city really bad ?

SJM
07-07-2016, 07:15 PM

Blah blah blah

Any need?

07-07-2016, 07:15 PM
Gray could deliberately score 5 og's to see us lose 5-4 and I'd still name him my MOTM nowadays.

07-07-2016, 07:16 PM
Hibs were 2.25 to keep a clean sheet in this game. Let's keep it tight at the back boys!

Calm doon Hibs

Any need?

Don't get it myself.

Complaining about negativity by creating a negative atmosphere.

07-07-2016, 07:18 PM
Cummings has a near Raith moment. Offside anyway though.

07-07-2016, 07:18 PM
Cummings misses from 2 yards. And is offside. And the shot from Gray was probably going in anyway.

HibeeLR
07-07-2016, 07:20 PM
Why have the goals stopped Hibs?!

07-07-2016, 07:22 PM
No more goals yet Lennon out

07-07-2016, 07:27 PM
Hibs subs having a slash at the side of the pitch.

Got to love pre season.

07-07-2016, 07:29 PM
Have we hit the bar yet?

SJM
07-07-2016, 07:30 PM
If any of the young lad's have came back from loan better players, all the better.

Sammy and Forsts' where devastated when Stubbs told them they could leave so this second chance and a manager who might believe in them could do them the world of good, point to prove and a second chance.

hibsfan
07-07-2016, 07:31 PM
Someone needs to tell these kids at the back to shut up!

07-07-2016, 07:31 PM
Is it half-time yet?

07-07-2016, 07:32 PM
Someone needs to tell these kids at the back to shut up!

Why?

07-07-2016, 07:32 PM
Yeah it's half time. Pretty uneventful last few minutes.

hibsfan
07-07-2016, 07:33 PM
The same offensive songs over and over and over again - disgraceful

07-07-2016, 07:33 PM
There's some kids up the back of the stand. They've invented a chant which consists primarily of "Warburton's a fanny, he wears a fanny's hat" and they think it's literally the funniest thing they've ever heard.

07-07-2016, 07:35 PM
There's some kids up the back of the stand. They've invented a chant which consists primarily of "Warburton's a fanny, he wears a fanny's hat" and they think it's literally the funniest thing they've ever heard.

It was posted on the cup final thread and people here found it hilarious. Unless people just change their mind because it's bairns singing it?

07-07-2016, 07:36 PM
4-0 at half time 👍

Though I did hear ecfc are missing one of their starting XI

GreenArmy1875
07-07-2016, 07:36 PM
Is Forster injured?

07-07-2016, 07:37 PM
Is Forster injured?

Think he was carrying a niggle before the Berwick game.

SJM
07-07-2016, 07:38 PM
Don't get it myself.

Complaining about negativity by creating a negative atmosphere.

Troublemaking. At least I'm waiting until Ox is on :greengrin:

GreenArmy1875
07-07-2016, 07:38 PM
Think he was carrying a niggle before the Berwick game.

1875Hibees
07-07-2016, 07:39 PM
This the first football game you have been to? Get a grip.

07-07-2016, 07:40 PM

Are you ok mate?

07-07-2016, 07:41 PM
Kids..... Singing..... The horror!!!!!!

07-07-2016, 07:42 PM
Are folk really complaining about kids singing at a football match?

Offensive songs? Gies peace.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Finn2015
07-07-2016, 07:47 PM
Kids going and singing is part of the fun and should be encouraged. If they can sing and have fun it's a no-brainer they will continue to go as an adult

07-07-2016, 07:47 PM

What songs?

07-07-2016, 07:48 PM
I think Keatings, McGinn, Fyvie and Dunscore have come on for Cummings, Boyle, McGeouch and Gray.

07-07-2016, 07:49 PM
It's a local derby your going to have hatred singing

(Yes I am taking the piss)

07-07-2016, 07:50 PM
It was posted on the cup final thread and people here found it hilarious. Unless people just change their mind because it's bairns singing it?

Personally I found our version of the "magic hat" song funnier, but each to their own. :wink:

07-07-2016, 07:51 PM
I think Keatings, McGinn, Fyvie and Dunscore have come on for Cummings, Boyle, McGeouch and Gray.

Harris not McGinn

Swap McGinn for Harris I think

alnewhaven
McGinn on? Sure it's Harris

Topographic Hibby
Wait till they start singing about the EC manager's religion and setting off flares.....next stop the open-top bus nod to the polis and a pitch invasion from City......

Harris not McGinn

Ah okay, makes more sense.

hibsfan
07-07-2016, 07:52 PM
they aren't songs that should be sang at football matches - at any age. Not a parent / adult to be seen - their language has been appalling and have been singing 'warburton' songs about girls in the crowd - if we are encouraging this in fans of the future - we should be ashamed

If someone would start Hibs chants though... Maybe that would get them onside

07-07-2016, 07:53 PM
they aren't songs that should be sang at football matches - at any age. Not a parent / adult to be seen - their language has been appalling and have been singing 'warburton' songs about girls in the crowd - if we are encouraging this in fans of the future - we should be ashamed

Take the stick out your arse and let the laddies enjoy the football.

07-07-2016, 07:53 PM
Have we hit the bar yet?

Aye, Boyle is getting a round in. :greengrin

hibsfan
07-07-2016, 07:57 PM
Take the stick out your arse and let the laddies enjoy the football.

At the cost of everyone else? I can tell you that the guys sat in front of me are about to lose it!

07-07-2016, 07:58 PM

Think you should take up bowling.

07-07-2016, 07:58 PM
At the cost of everyone else? I can tell you that the guys sat in front of me are about to lose it!

Well I suppose you'd have got to find something to moan at.

07-07-2016, 07:59 PM
Ten pin would be too noisy, maybe crown green?

hibsfan
07-07-2016, 08:00 PM
I don't expect a church service... But my kids shouldn't have to listen to this

07-07-2016, 08:00 PM
3-0, Stanton.

Don't those words above look wonderful...ah for the 70s :-)

07-07-2016, 08:01 PM

Your banging your head against a brick wall complaining I'm afraid, what your describing seems to pass for normal fare now a days.

07-07-2016, 08:02 PM
I don't expect a church service... But my kids shouldn't have to listen to this

Don't mollycoddle your kids, they will have heard worse.

hibsfan
07-07-2016, 08:03 PM
I can assure you they won't have and they go to Easter road every match...

07-07-2016, 08:04 PM
Hanlon, Stanton and Carmichael off. Fontaine, Handling and Holt on.

07-07-2016, 08:05 PM
Yawn....

And the latest score is?

They're singing "Jason Cummings baby" now. We okay?

Fuzzywuzzy

Consisted of 'princess fionas a fanny, she wears a fannys hat. Didn't get much further than that. No Bob Dylan's among them.

07-07-2016, 08:06 PM

Your kids go to the football every week and have never heard worse than someone being called a word that rhymes with canny?

I think they may not be being entirely truthful with you.

TAHibby
07-07-2016, 08:07 PM
Worse than some of the stuff that gets sung at tynecastle?

07-07-2016, 08:07 PM

Unless you're with them 24/7 they've definitely heard a lot worse than the word fanny

Edit: Christ it's that tame it doesn't even get censored on here

07-07-2016, 08:09 PM
Hibs 9/2 -3 goals

C'mon the Hibs :thumbsup:

hibsfan
07-07-2016, 08:09 PM
Credit where credits due... They're now onto keatings on fire... First football song... It's only taken 1hr25mins...

Game has been pretty dull this half

07-07-2016, 08:10 PM
Credit where credits due... They're now onto keatings on fire... First football song... It's only taken 1hr25mins...

FFS get your kids out of there, they will be terrified.

Lee Marvin
07-07-2016, 08:10 PM

Even duller than your recent posts?

07-07-2016, 08:11 PM

Wait a minute you're happy with a song about someone being burned to death but not a fanny's hat. I'm disgusted.

Virtanen, Stevenson, McGregor and Bartley off. Oxley, Crane, Martin and Porteous on.

If you are that offended then why not say something.

07-07-2016, 08:12 PM
Wait a minute you're happy with a song about someone being burned to death but not a fanny's hat. I'm disgusted.

It's a throwback to the days when people were burnt at the stake. Dark days indeed.

07-07-2016, 08:13 PM
Is there a game in progress by any chance?

07-07-2016, 08:14 PM

There is but nowt happening.

07-07-2016, 08:15 PM

It's all gone a bit dull tbh. Typical pre season fare.

07-07-2016, 08:16 PM
1-4

07-07-2016, 08:16 PM
4-1.

Bit of mix up between keeper and centre back, looked like they left it to each other.

07-07-2016, 08:17 PM
Oxley!!!

A kid has been ejected. Remaining kids singing "stewards on fire".

TAHibby
Warburtons a fanny, he wears a fannys hat. It works against Dumbarton and other ***** like that. But when he played the hibees, suddenly it dawned...To win the Scottish cup he'd need a ****ing wand!

This song can't be the issue surely 😂

Did Virtannen have anything to do?

07-07-2016, 08:18 PM

1 easy save from distance.

Kicking looked ok and he did what he had to do well enough. Hard to judge on tonight though.

Topographic Hibby
Oxley!!!
Three pages about Ox!!!!

Just watch....

Nope

Barman Stanton
07-07-2016, 08:19 PM
Warburtons a fanny, he wears a fannys hat. It works against Dumbarton and other ***** like that. But when he played the hibees, suddenly it dawned...To win the Scottish cup he'd need a ****ing wand!

This song can't be the issue surely [emoji23]

That song should be encouraged!

07-07-2016, 08:19 PM
Three pages about Ox!!!!

Just watch....

My dad sitting next to me just said the exact same thing

07-07-2016, 08:20 PM

Put your phone away and watch the football mate.

This hibs tv commentary guy is brutal. Lots of details of the game when there's nothing happening, but when someone scores your left guessing what's happening.

hope Cliff is only on his holidays.

Hibs hit the post then open goal is missed for the rebound.

07-07-2016, 08:21 PM
Keatings hits the post on an open goal and Holt misses said open goal with a header on the rebound.

07-07-2016, 08:21 PM
Three pages about Ox!!!!

Just watch....

To be fair didn't look like there was much communication between Defender and keeper, both parties need to do better

07-07-2016, 08:23 PM
To be fair didn't look like there was much communication between Defender and keeper, both parties need to do better

Then the keeper should have taken charge

07-07-2016, 08:25 PM

You've got to be having a laugh?

07-07-2016, 08:25 PM
Holt looks quite handy in the air.

07-07-2016, 08:26 PM
5-1, Keatings.

We've just killed Edinburgh City as a club.

Edinburgh City dead as a club. 5-1

Keatings goal after good play by Holt.

07-07-2016, 08:27 PM
✋🏻-☝🏻️

07-07-2016, 08:27 PM
1-4

ffs

07-07-2016, 08:28 PM
Fyvie taken out by a pretty poor tackle in a friendly. No need.

lugz
I don't see the problem with people moaning about Oxley, he was on for less than 10 mins against an amateur outfit and was partly at fault for a goal.

I'm in no way a Oxley basher but players have to be held accountable even in friendlies.

Fyvie limping now.

07-07-2016, 08:29 PM
5-1, Keatings.

07-07-2016, 08:30 PM
Not really any need for the ironic cheers when Oxley made the save there.

Topographic Hibby
07-07-2016, 08:31 PM
5-1, Keatings.

No!!!!

We'll be in administration next!!!

07-07-2016, 08:31 PM
5-1, Keatings.

Yippee

07-07-2016, 08:32 PM
Hibs fans are an absolute joke sometimes! Jeering Oxley who may be in goals for us in Europe in 7 days time!

07-07-2016, 08:33 PM
6-1 Handling

07-07-2016, 08:34 PM
6-1, Handling.

Phew! Edinburgh City no longer dead as a club.

07-07-2016, 08:37 PM
Hibs fans are an absolute joke sometimes! Jeering Oxley who may be in goals for us in Europe in 7 days time!

That's ridiculous if true. I don't think he's great but it looks like he'll be playing next week so doing anything that might affect his confidence is beyond stupid.

It'll no doubt be the same eejits that used to hound liam craig and that were getting on Fyvie's back when he had 2/3 poor games.

07-07-2016, 08:38 PM
That's ridiculous if true. I don't think he's great but it looks like he'll be playing next week so doing anything that might affect his confidence is beyond stupid.

It was totally uncalled for.

He hasn't helped his cause with the goal but the jeering was just silly.

07-07-2016, 08:39 PM

I don't think he will

07-07-2016, 08:43 PM
I don't think he will

No? You think we'll sign someome and put him in to a big game a couple of days later having never played with the defence? Suppose the alternative of sticking with Oxley doesn't really guarantee us much security either.

07-07-2016, 08:44 PM
No? You think we'll sign someome and put him in to a big game a couple of days later having never played with the defence? Suppose the alternative of sticking with Oxley doesn't really guarantee us much security either.

Agreed. We certainly didn't do that in a Scottish cup semi.

Seems like Stanton Harris and handling all did well 👍👍

07-07-2016, 08:45 PM
The Hibs TV seemed to blame Porteous more than Oxley

Godsahibby
07-07-2016, 08:46 PM
No idea who the defender was but totally at fault.

07-07-2016, 08:51 PM
Oh my god why is this even a discussion, we won 6-1 and he's probably getting sold?

07-07-2016, 08:52 PM

Oxleys fault for me. Starting position and decisiveness very poor. Said to my son in the first half to watch the starting positions of the two goalies. Oxleys is often far too far back and slow to react. I would have said it was ironic cheers rather than jeers though. No need for that as his confidence looks shot already.

Some great stuff played tonight with Keating's goal the highlight for me. Thought Harris was our best player again. Involved in nearly every attack, lively, shots on goals and good assists particularly his ball to Handling. Stanton did well again too and I like the look of Martin.

Sunday against better opposition will be interesting.

07-07-2016, 08:53 PM
Did Shaw get a chance? How did he play?

07-07-2016, 08:53 PM
Oh my god why is this even a discussion, we won 6-1 and he's probably getting sold?

People with nothing better to do and those who just like a moan. I for one will be cheering Oxley, as he more than played his part in the cup winning run.

07-07-2016, 08:54 PM

Some people are only happy when it rains.

07-07-2016, 08:55 PM
No idea who the defender was but totally at fault.

Not sure tbh.

I'd be expecting my keeper to take charge there. A young, inexperienced CB should have been told in no uncertain terms by the keeper to either launch it or leave it. As it was no one took control and the forward had an easy finish.

SJM
07-07-2016, 09:03 PM
I was only kiddin' who cares? We performed brilliant and Oxley will be gone in the next few days. Jumping on his back and in fighting makes no sense. Exactly why I apologised it's petty.

07-07-2016, 09:04 PM
People with nothing better to do and those who just like a moan. I for one will be cheering Oxley, as he more than played his part in the cup winning run.

Getting himself suspended for time wasting was a very important contribution. [emoji23]

Marco G
07-07-2016, 09:09 PM
Getting himself suspended for time wasting was a very important contribution. [emoji23]

Its support like yours that really will give him a boost! Hope Oxley stays and plays some blinders (though doubt you would agree).

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

07-07-2016, 09:10 PM
Given the abuse ox gets he will probably be glad to get away.Some of it is ott.

07-07-2016, 09:13 PM
Given the abuse ox gets he will probably be glad to get away.Some of it is ott.

People blaming oxley are dicks. The young lad made a mistake

Marco G
07-07-2016, 09:14 PM
I don't see the problem with people moaning about Oxley, he was on for less than 10 mins against an amateur outfit and was partly at fault for a goal.

I'm in no way a Oxley basher but players have to be held accountable even in friendlies.
Accountable as in getting booed? Should not happen, whether its a friendly or a cup final, it has the same negative affect on the team imho.

07-07-2016, 09:14 PM
Mr Lennon needs to have a word with some of our "fans " methinks!

07-07-2016, 09:15 PM
Accountable as in getting booed? Should not happen, whether its a friendly or a cup final, it has the same negative affect on the team imho.

Well said.

07-07-2016, 09:16 PM
People blaming oxley are dicks. The young lad made a mistake

So I'm a dick for expressing an opinion? Whilst pretty clearly criticising the abuse that followed.

Thanks very much.

07-07-2016, 09:17 PM
Oxley shouted 'head, head, head' to Porteous.....he headed it but didnt get enough purchase on it. Oxley wasnt on his toes enough for me....both to blame.

07-07-2016, 09:22 PM

This song can't be the issue surely 

Fanny in the USA often refers to a "rear end", but I guess in this case it would serve just as well.

07-07-2016, 09:24 PM

It was the defenders fault. Could Oxley screaming at him in the build up to the goal. Kid should have put it out the park, but he'll learn

lugz
07-07-2016, 09:24 PM

No not booing and heckling him at games but people are allowed to voice their opinion on here when he messes up again. I was only responding to the people saying there would be 3 pages about him.

07-07-2016, 09:27 PM
Decent crowd tonight, any idea what the attendance was?

07-07-2016, 09:28 PM
The defender should certainly have dealt with it better and if he does Oxley isn't called upon.

I was a bit unsighted, but my initial feeling was the shot seemed to go straight through Oxley, but maybe not.

I don't think the jeering was related to the game at all, I think it was related to the Stewards grabbing a wee boy who had sneaked in?

Marco G
07-07-2016, 09:29 PM
No not booing and heckling him at games but people are allowed to voice their opinion on here when he messes up again. I was only responding to the people saying there would be 3 pages about him.
Sorry then. The way I read it you were agreeing that him making a possible mistake entitled him to receive dogs abuse from a few eejits!

Marco G
07-07-2016, 09:36 PM
Sorry then. The way I read it you were agreeing that him making a possible mistake entitled him to receive dogs abuse from a few eejits!

Should have added a few eejits -who were at the game-, I dont argue with folk on this site saying what they like, just think that at a match we do too much slagging off and not enough supporting sometimes (all imho) and that has a much bigger effect on the team than all the stuff we spout on here!.

Saturday Boy
07-07-2016, 09:39 PM
Decent crowd tonight, any idea what the attendance was?

Edinburgh City Twitter account gave it as 2522. Probably City's biggest attendance, from reading the programme notes.

Finn2015
Decent run out and nice to see a few on the score sheet. Step up in class on Sunday so will be a decent test

lugz
Should have added a few eejits -who were at the game-, I dont argue with folk on this site saying what they like, just think that at a match we do too much slagging off and not enough supporting sometimes (all imho) and that has a much bigger effect on the team than all the stuff we spout on here!.

Completely agree mate.

07-07-2016, 09:43 PM
Absolutely delighted for young Harris from the reports on here. I never thought hed recover his form after that injury. Really hoping he takes the league by storm.

07-07-2016, 09:44 PM
Jeering of Oxley was shameful. How does that help us win? Imagine how horrible he felt after that.

Finn2015
07-07-2016, 09:47 PM
Jeering of Oxley was shameful. How does that help us win? Imagine how horrible he felt after that.

Sad to hear that. We can all have opinions and discuss his performances and critique but to boo him is pretty poor

HappyHanlon
07-07-2016, 09:48 PM

I hope Mark leaves...purely to get away from pish like that.

Seriously no need!

Saturday Boy
07-07-2016, 09:48 PM
Edinburgh City Twitter account gave it as 2522. Probably City's biggest attendance, from reading the programme notes.

That should really be a + 1 for the kid who climbed the fence and ran along the front of the stand. With his hoodie and balaclava, I wasn't sure whether he was Zorro or a suicide bomber :wink:. Brighten up a flat period of the game.

07-07-2016, 09:53 PM
Absolutely delighted for young Harris from the reports on here. I never thought hed recover his form after that injury. Really hoping he takes the league by storm.

He's actually looked quite bright in the two games. I seem to remember him doing reasonably well in pre season the last couple of years before drifting away when the real stuff started though.

Hard to judge, given the opposition,!but we were much better than down at Berwick on Tuesday. Sluggish first 10 minutes but we moved the ball a lot quicker after that in the first half.

I'd expect the team that starts at the weekend to be pretty close to what we see against Brondby, at least for 45 minutes.

07-07-2016, 09:54 PM
FFS get your kids out of there, they will be terrified.

Hibs kids in choir
hibsfan's kids are terrified

Ell_Chrisso
07-07-2016, 09:56 PM
I think some fans need to remember it was only 7 weeks ago that all of these players delivered the only achievement that we all wanted to see in our life time...

Starting supporting, not hating!!

07-07-2016, 10:02 PM
Oxley needs to leave for his own good - folk are never going to give him a chance. The young laddie was a mile short with his pass back and the striker nipped in.

The jeering when he made a save was out of order.

07-07-2016, 10:02 PM
Thought Crane did well when he came on. Good pace and sharp passing.

McGeough ran show first half

Not often see the Hibs scoring 6 against any opposition

Playing two wingers worked well

07-07-2016, 10:03 PM
And the wee laddies were wee pricks btw, not for their singing but for the **** they were giving to the old steward.

07-07-2016, 10:13 PM
as much as i understand the fans frustrations with the ox i really can't understand the booing, we've had some right rank players over the years but i've never felt a need to boo one of our players :rolleyes: sorta counter-productive me thinks

07-07-2016, 10:19 PM
So. Who won, who scored?

07-07-2016, 10:20 PM
And the wee laddies were wee pricks btw, not for their singing but for the **** they were giving to the old steward.

And for running about with balaclavas on. What was that all about?

07-07-2016, 10:35 PM
So I'm a dick for expressing an opinion? Whilst pretty clearly criticising the abuse that followed.

Thanks very much.

No. I don't think you are a dick....but seconds later everyone was slagging Oxley. The young lad made a mistake nothing to do with Oxley. Im not an oxley fan but to blame him for that is absurd. By the way the boy Portoues is highly regarded but will make mistakes!

07-07-2016, 10:36 PM
Hibs kids in choir
hibsfan's kids are terrified

Ooh, very clever :greengrin

hibsfan
07-07-2016, 10:44 PM

Once again - sensible conversation is difficult to find on here...

Funny - the stewards took one of them away and the chat all around us was... 'About time' and 'thank god for that'

07-07-2016, 10:46 PM
Re Oxley and Porteous, I didn't see it but when did we get to the state where any single mistake becomes the be-all and end-all??

Oxley's a keeper, all keepers make mistakes (you think Neuer isn't dwelling on the second French goal just now?), the value of a keeper is based on how few they make. If he made a mistake tonight with a defender he's probably never played with then hopefully it means it won't be a mistake that happens again in a serious match.

Porteous is a defender, all defenders make mistakes (you think Kimmich isn't dwelling on the second French goal just now?). Likewise, he's probably had no real gametime with Oxley and he will have learned a lot from that goal, more than he probably learned from ninety minutes last Saturday against Hawick! Again, it's learning that will reduce the chance of it occurring in a serious match.......

07-07-2016, 10:54 PM
Seems like a good run out and a good few scoring too, particularly pleased Stanton, Harris and Handling are doing fairly well and Lennon has them slightly more direct with wide men.

As for Oxley, can we no just leave it out now, I think we can all agree he divides the fans and it looks like he'll be gone soon enough, I'm no fan but I never understand the need to boo any player during a game, by all means boo after a very poor team performance but during a games helps no one.

07-07-2016, 11:06 PM
Thought Harris looked good when he came on. Seemed to have his confidence back. OK - opposition wasn't great but he had a few good runs, getting to bye line and getting crosses in. Yeah - some of The crosses weren't the best but he looked like he was willing to run and beat defence like he did a couple years back.

Still to be convinced by Carmichael. I remember seeing him ripping Lewis apart at Dumfries a couple of seasons ago. He's never quite repeated that here. Was neat and tidy tonight but needed to be more fur etc.

Everyone else who played had decent games.. Only downer was the young lad Porteous not putting enough oomph on header back to Oxley. If blame is to be apportioned for their goal it was Porteous more than Oxley at fault

Good overall workout. Good to bag a few goals with 6 different scorers. McGeoughs the pick of the bunch. Onwards and upwards. GGTTH

07-07-2016, 11:07 PM

Funny - the stewards took one of them away and the chat all around us was... 'About time' and 'thank god for that'

Says more about you lot moaning about the kids and the steward for taking one away than the lads themselves. Bairns out at the fitba having fun? God forbid! If a bunch of young lads having a laugh at the fitba offends you then seriously mate you need to put things in perspective...

07-07-2016, 11:09 PM

For what it's worth, over the last few years I've introduced my son and then my daughter to Hibs games, starting them around fiveish, they're eleven and eight now.

I'm really uncomfortable with them hearing swearing, especially in the context it occurs at a match. Admittedly, I can let out a swear word in front of them very easily, driving is usually the highest risk as I'm very intolerant of other drivers :greengrin

At football the swearing can often be in a far more abusive vein however and if you have primary school-aged children then it's not a great situation - they're immediately wondering why it's okay for someone to call someone else an effing c or whatever, for something not really important in the grand scheme of things.

I certainly don't buy into the argument that it's football, you pay your money and you can say whatever - that's a lazy excuse.

What I do get is that at its best, football is emotional and when it gets emotional there's more likelihood of people using 'expressive language'. That's human nature.

There's also the factor that a lot of behaviour is younger guys, fuelled up, who don't have the filters that most of us develop as we grow up and get older. I said and sang some things in my teens and twenties I would be mortified to admit to now, generally because my inhibitions were lowered through what I'd imbibed and being in a crowd. I'm not sure there's anything right about that but equally I'm not sure how you avoid that.

I struggle with it - I hate my children hearing some of the things they hear at our games but I know that it's ridiculous not to expect it and it's my choice to expose them to it.

No easy answers, but I guess there's some middle ground where folk don't get accused of being killjoys and other folk aren't castigated for language and tone that you'd pay to hear at the Comedy Fringe

07-07-2016, 11:11 PM
Re Oxley and Porteous, I didn't see it but when did we get to the state where any single mistake becomes the be-all and end-all??

Oxley's a keeper, all keepers make mistakes (you think Neuer isn't dwelling on the second French goal just now?), the value of a keeper is based on how few they make. If he made a mistake tonight with a defender he's probably never played with then hopefully it means it won't be a mistake that happens again in a serious match.

Porteous is a defender, all defenders make mistakes (you think Kimmich isn't dwelling on the second French goal just now?). Likewise, he's probably had no real gametime with Oxley and he will have learned a lot from that goal, more than he probably learned from ninety minutes last Saturday against Hawick! Again, it's learning that will reduce the chance of it occurring in a serious match.......

And having been told the kind of guy Oxley is he'll be first to tell the young lad to keep his head up, learn from it and forget about it. Sad some feel the need to jeer him.

07-07-2016, 11:17 PM
Says more about you lot moaning about the kids and the steward for taking one away than the lads themselves. Bairns out at the fitba having fun? God forbid! If a bunch of young lads having a laugh at the fitba offends you then seriously mate you need to put things in perspective...
Not that bothered about the running about, as nippy as it was standing up to let them past every two minutes, and not that fussed about the songs, but they could definitely learn a bit of respect as to how they talk to people, most notably the old steward at the gate.

I'm not prudish in the slightest but I thought the way they spoke to, and acted up in front of the guy was disgusting.

07-07-2016, 11:45 PM

2087 of those were Hibs fans according to the match report.

HappyHanlon
08-07-2016, 07:09 AM
2087 of those were Hibs fans according to the match report.

Decent considering it's Edinburgh trades, Euro semi final and a Thursday night.

Callum7
08-07-2016, 07:18 AM
Anyone else see the boy who walked away with his chair?

(no this isn't a punchline)

08-07-2016, 07:20 AM
Thought Dylan ran the show. Harris looked very good when he came on and a constant threat, lets hope he can keep it up. Stanton also played fairly well although he was always given acres of space. Thought Crane looked excellent when he came on for Lewis, always looking to get forward but with good quality passing and alot of pace. Scott Martin also looked good when he came on. Purely based on last nights showing I think Harris still definitely has a part to play at Hibs this coming season and Crane could definitely push Lewis hard for the LB spot. Still think Stanton will struggle for game time unless we don't both Henderson or Commons or similar players. Same story with Martin, think he might struggle for game time but he's definitely one for the future.

08-07-2016, 07:25 AM

Definitely the young lad's fault but some just couldn't wait to get on Oxley's case. Ridiculous behaviour. Some absolute erses at the game last night.

08-07-2016, 07:33 AM
Thought Stanton was awesome last night. Harris was alright, not as impressive as he was on Tuesday. Think a few times he was trying too hard, but his strike from long range was a great effort.
McGeouch ran the show in the first half and Fyvie must have been fouled about 20 times in the second half! More minutes under the belt.
Think we'll see fewer subs and a stronger team on Sunday

Ryan69
08-07-2016, 07:41 AM

Its also based on how many saves they make.....and sorry but Oxley barely makes a save.

08-07-2016, 07:52 AM
Its also based on how many saves they make.....and sorry but Oxley barely makes a save.

Oxley has no blame to take for that goal last night. Watch it again and someone explain to me how that is his mistake?

08-07-2016, 08:11 AM
Pardon my ignorance, but who is the Porteous guy being mentioned? Development squad?

JimboHibs
08-07-2016, 08:25 AM
http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/10495520/hibs-thrash-edinburgh-city

Highlights from lastnight.

08-07-2016, 08:35 AM
http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/10495520/hibs-thrash-edinburgh-city

After viewing that I don't see how Oxley is getting the blame for their goal. Its nitpicking to say the least.

08-07-2016, 08:48 AM
After viewing that I don't see how Oxley is getting the blame for their goal. Its nitpicking to say the least.

Beyond nitpicking GB, some folk are just too desperate to be critical. Anyone attributing blame to Oxley for that is an indulgent self pleasuring troublemaker. Get a grip suckahs, it aint clever.

New strip looks good, plenty of goals and great to see Stanton and Handling ( who has certainly filled out) getting amongst the goals. Maybe these guys have something to offer this season.

LustForLeith
08-07-2016, 08:50 AM
And for running about with balaclavas on. What was that all about?

I wonder what Neil Lennon was thinking watching as someone ran around the pitch with a balaclava on?

08-07-2016, 08:54 AM

100% young laddies fault, he will learn from it hopefully

08-07-2016, 08:54 AM

I see Dylan MaGooch is back playing for us haha!!

08-07-2016, 09:04 AM
For what it's worth, over the last few years I've introduced my son and then my daughter to Hibs games, starting them around fiveish, they're eleven and eight now.

I'm really uncomfortable with them hearing swearing, especially in the context it occurs at a match. Admittedly, I can let out a swear word in front of them very easily, driving is usually the highest risk as I'm very intolerant of other drivers :greengrin

At football the swearing can often be in a far more abusive vein however and if you have primary school-aged children then it's not a great situation - they're immediately wondering why it's okay for someone to call someone else an effing c or whatever, for something not really important in the grand scheme of things.

I certainly don't buy into the argument that it's football, you pay your money and you can say whatever - that's a lazy excuse.

What I do get is that at its best, football is emotional and when it gets emotional there's more likelihood of people using 'expressive language'. That's human nature.

There's also the factor that a lot of behaviour is younger guys, fuelled up, who don't have the filters that most of us develop as we grow up and get older. I said and sang some things in my teens and twenties I would be mortified to admit to now, generally because my inhibitions were lowered through what I'd imbibed and being in a crowd. I'm not sure there's anything right about that but equally I'm not sure how you avoid that.

I struggle with it - I hate my children hearing some of the things they hear at our games but I know that it's ridiculous not to expect it and it's my choice to expose them to it.

No easy answers, but I guess there's some middle ground where folk don't get accused of being killjoys and other folk aren't castigated for language and tone that you'd pay to hear at the Comedy Fringe

08-07-2016, 09:58 AM

Not really getting the bit where you swear readilly in the car, but hate hearing your children hear sweary words at games. It's fitbaw, people let off steam. I'd be more concerned about controlling my tongue in front of them myself than what some random says at a game?

08-07-2016, 10:17 AM
The wee boy (who was about 12) did not have a balaclava on he had a scarf up to his eyes and a hat on. No harm done at all just a daft young laddie having a laugh.

08-07-2016, 10:19 AM
swearing at a football match is part of football! violent and aggressive language is not - there's a difference.

What is the big deal about swearing? they are words that do no harm! just another form of expression. I suspect your children will learn that using fowl language is inappropriate in most situations however in others less so - football matches for example.

08-07-2016, 10:59 AM
swearing at a football match is part of football! violent and aggressive language is not - there's a difference.

What is the big deal about swearing? they are words that do no harm! just another form of expression. I suspect your children will learn that using fowl language is inappropriate in most situations however in others less so - football matches for example.

Any reasonable person knows the difference between swearing in frustration at the fitba and the type of full on prolonged foul mouthed rant that some grown men think is acceptable just because it's the
If they need to 'vent' like that then it's therapy they need.

08-07-2016, 11:06 AM
Just seen the highlights, no blame can be put on oxley for that goal, defender made a mess of it, but its a friendly and rather they done it now than in the league

08-07-2016, 11:23 AM
Any reasonable person knows the difference between swearing in frustration at the fitba and the type of full on prolonged foul mouthed rant that some grown men think is acceptable just because it's the
If they need to 'vent' like that then it's therapy they need.

Agree there is a huge difference the odd swear word not and again fine but as you suggest angry, aggressive and prolonged rants are unacceptable especially when kids around.

08-07-2016, 11:25 AM
Never mind the young laddies and the swearing... were there any Hibs supporting Nazis there?!

08-07-2016, 11:26 AM
Why are our keepers wearing last year's away kit?

08-07-2016, 01:27 PM
Why are our keepers wearing last year's away kit?

Was wondering this myself.

08-07-2016, 02:08 PM
Oxley was blameless for that goal.

08-07-2016, 02:13 PM
Never mind the young laddies and the swearing... were there any Hibs supporting Nazis there?!

:na na:started to worry when they started to sing hail hail

08-07-2016, 02:15 PM
started to worry when they started to sing hail hail

08-07-2016, 02:16 PM
Watched the highlights and I still think Oxley is the most at fault for their goal. The ball traveled 50 yards or so and Oxley could easily have got to it had his starting position been good and he had been positive. He looked hesitant and put pressure on a young Centre Half unnecessarily. Porteous never covered himself in glory either. In the first half there were a number of balls that went beyond our centre halves and in front of our keeper. Admittedly they weren't quite as good as the one that we conceded for but they weren't any issue at all because Virtanen was quick off his line and started another attack quickly.

I don't think the Ox is as bad as some make out but he is very low on confidence and that is a disaster for a Keeper. If he stays he has my support but I would play Virtanen to start the season if we don't get another first choice keeper.

Logie
08-07-2016, 02:28 PM
Thought Hibs played really well last night fair enough only Edinburgh City but was happy with nearly all performances! Big Marv was class bouncing people off the ball 😂 Young CH definitely at fault for the goal, he left it so short for Ox not much he could have done imo! Was embarrassing about 5/10 mins later Ox caught a ball and everyone cheered sarcastically which I thought was a joke! He's not the best keeper we have ever had but no where near the worst either and abuse he gets is ridiculous!!

08-07-2016, 03:26 PM
Watched the highlights and I still think Oxley is the most at fault for their goal. The ball traveled 50 yards or so and Oxley could easily have got to it had his starting position been good and he had been positive. He looked hesitant and put pressure on a young Centre Half unnecessarily. Porteous never covered himself in glory either. In the first half there were a number of balls that went beyond our centre halves and in front of our keeper. Admittedly they weren't quite as good as the one that we conceded for but they weren't any issue at all because Virtanen was quick off his line and started another attack quickly.

I don't think the Ox is as bad as some make out but he is very low on confidence and that is a disaster for a Keeper. If he stays he has my support but I would play Virtanen to start the season if we don't get another first choice keeper.

Total nonsense, but heigh- erroneously blame away.

08-07-2016, 06:14 PM

Sorry but completely wrong, there is no way oxley was to blame for that goal, the centre half made a mess of it

08-07-2016, 06:19 PM
Unfortunately it does not matter how many times you watch it the ox boo boys will not change there views.Do not blame him one bit for that goal.:top marks

08-07-2016, 07:34 PM
The boo boys were straight on to it. Unfortunately the volume of their erroneous shouts make folk doubt themselves.

Don't doubt yourself guys - you do know more about football than them. Shouting loudly doesn't make you right.

Galahibby
08-07-2016, 07:48 PM
Oxley has no blame to take for that goal last night. Watch it again and someone explain to me how that is his mistake?

It wasn't. I'm just glad some people on here see it. Banging my head against a brick wall trying to get that point over to some twat on twitter! No wonder the laddie's thinking about leaving :bitchy:

Galahibby
08-07-2016, 07:56 PM
.I don't think the Ox is as bad as some make out but he is very low on confidence and that is a disaster for a Keeper

Is it any wonder? Our support would have Neuer low on confidence at times.