View Full Version : berwick rangers 1 v hibs 1 (Cummings)

berwickhibee
04-07-2016, 10:40 AM
who is coming to see the Scottish cup winning legends play for the 1st time since THAT day??

good prices at £10 and £5.

black and gold will be open pre and post match, also the grove pub will be open, 5 minute walk to ground, and with a wee bit of parking if you get there early.

I cant wait to see the boys again and add in a new management team, should be decent. GGTTH

andrew70
04-07-2016, 10:45 AM
Heading down with a mini-bus of 15 for some hospitality Berwick Style.

Probably hit the Black and Gold before we nip across to the ground.

Was hoping for more signings before then but will make do with Holt.

berwickhibee
04-07-2016, 10:51 AM
Heading down with a mini-bus of 15 for some hospitality Berwick Style.

Probably hit the Black and Gold before we nip across to the ground.

Was hoping for more signings before then but will make do with Holt.

suited and booted dunbar style!!!:wink:

andrew70
04-07-2016, 11:46 AM
suited and booted dunbar style!!!:wink:

Scottish Cup winning polos....Looking forward to a chilled night in England. :wink:

05-07-2016, 07:17 AM
6.05 train from waverley.
Pubs be okay with colours?

andrew70
05-07-2016, 07:32 AM
6.05 train from waverley.
Pubs be okay with colours?

Never been an issue previously so you should be alright

weststandhibby
05-07-2016, 08:35 AM
Driving down - where's best to park? Ta

andrew70
05-07-2016, 08:40 AM
Driving down - where's best to park? Ta

There's on street parking on the roads leading to Shielfield plus there is a car park on the grass as you turn right into the stadium area. I can't remember the charge for it though

05-07-2016, 01:25 PM
I'm going. Taking the car as working right after it.

05-07-2016, 02:15 PM
Any decent places nearby for a pub meal ? Other than the Leaping Salmon which I know from my brewery days, Im not too familiar with other hostelries 🍺👍

05-07-2016, 04:26 PM
I'm going down too. Well it would be rude not to.

berwickhibee
05-07-2016, 05:15 PM
Any decent places nearby for a pub meal ? Other than the Leaping Salmon which I know from my brewery days, Im not too familiar with other hostelries 

probably too late but brewers arms is good.

05-07-2016, 05:36 PM
probably too late but brewers arms is good.Cheers mate, we ended up in the Salmon, the pints of Shipyard are going down well 🍻👍

05-07-2016, 05:47 PM
No trialists in the first team.

Oxley, Gray, McGregor, Fontaine, Crane, Boyle, Fyvie, McGinn, Harris, Holt, Cummings

Subs Virtanen, Stevenson, Hanlon, Carmichael, McGeouch, Handling, Bartley, Stanton, Dunsmore, Shaw, Porteous

Christ we're going for it tonight then!

DAVE1875
05-07-2016, 05:50 PM
Keatings injured or lacking fitness?

05-07-2016, 05:50 PM
What's that?

Width with Wingers with pace
Target man up top

Interesting :agree: :greengrin

Happy to see callum crane getting a start tonight

05-07-2016, 05:51 PM
Keatings injured or lacking fitness?

Think lennon said he had a slight knock but will be fine for Thursday

05-07-2016, 05:53 PM
Time is kick off ?

05-07-2016, 05:55 PM
No sign of Big Jordon ... Any ideas why

Big fan of that team.

Time is kick off ?

05-07-2016, 05:56 PM
No sign of Big Jordon ... Any ideas why

He's got a slight injury

05-07-2016, 05:56 PM
Anyone periscopeing the game?

05-07-2016, 06:00 PM
5 upfront? :greengrin

ShinyFantastic
05-07-2016, 06:00 PM
Oxley....

hibsfan
05-07-2016, 06:02 PM
Can we rely on someone periscoping the game for us who can't make it?

05-07-2016, 06:10 PM
Oxley, Gray, McGregor, Fontaine, Crane, Boyle, Fyvie, McGinn, Harris, Holt, Cummings

Subs Virtanen, Stevenson, Hanlon, Carmichael, McGeouch, Handling, Bartley, Stanton, Dunsmore, Shaw, Porteous
Good to see Dan C back!

05-07-2016, 06:34 PM
First game as reigning Scottish Cup champions. :cb

05-07-2016, 06:38 PM
Disappointed that there's only one nee signing to either write off as usual or proclaim to be the best player ever immediately.

Harris is going to have to come in for the same treatment unfortunately to help meet my quotas.

05-07-2016, 06:42 PM
Any eagle eyed supporters notice any potential new signings in the stands?

05-07-2016, 06:44 PM
1-0 Hibs

05-07-2016, 06:45 PM
1-0 12 secs.

Off the bar
1-0

1-0 Hibs (12 seconds)

1-0 after 12 seconds :greengrin

12 seconds :hilarious

Mon the Scottish Cup holders

Cummings goal Harris assist

Twiglet
05-07-2016, 06:46 PM
Did they kick off early? We're not in yet.

05-07-2016, 06:47 PM
So.... 3 goals in the last 12 minutes of football then?

This confirms a couple of things

Hibs will win the league
Lennon is the best manager ever
Cummings is the best striker ever

new scottish record scoreline 37-0

jingler1954
1 0 Hibs 12 seconds

05-07-2016, 06:48 PM
Did they kick off early? We're not in yet.

its 747??

high bee

Hibs will win the league

Harris has rediscovered his form... His sale will fund the helipad.

Nevi_SOL

Hibs will win the league

And Harris is back to his best 😀

high bee
05-07-2016, 06:49 PM
So.... 3 goals in the last 12 minutes of football then?

All against different variations of Rangers, none of which are Glasgow Rangers.

05-07-2016, 06:50 PM
Harris continues his top assist stats from last season.

05-07-2016, 06:50 PM
Boyle hits the bar.

05-07-2016, 06:51 PM
Boyle hits the cross bar

05-07-2016, 06:52 PM
boyle hits the bar.

05-07-2016, 06:52 PM
Boyle hits the bar.

He's never going to be sober, is he?

05-07-2016, 06:53 PM
I'm not sure if the 'Boyle hits bar' comments are related to the match or how he handled the post-cup win celebrations.

05-07-2016, 06:53 PM

05-07-2016, 06:54 PM
McGinn hits bar

McGinn hits bar too

McGinn hits the bar, This could get messy :greengrin

Everyone hits the bar.

Lol...

It's not a football match, it's a pi$$ up !

05-07-2016, 06:55 PM
mcginn hits the bar. Everyone hits the bar.. Na na na na na na na na na

05-07-2016, 07:01 PM
He's got a slight injury

Ok cheers

Off the bar
05-07-2016, 07:05 PM
1-1

05-07-2016, 07:06 PM
1-1

Ergye
05-07-2016, 07:07 PM
1-1

No style. No bottle. Lennon out.

1-1 Boooooooo

Oxley should've had it..

05-07-2016, 07:08 PM
Sounds like a wee defensive issue there

Greenworld
05-07-2016, 07:09 PM
Oxley out rubbish

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Ergye
Oxley should've had it..

Conrad would've.

ClewsHibs
How's Holt doing so far?

05-07-2016, 07:10 PM
Dare I say it. Typical of last season....

:greengrin:

05-07-2016, 07:11 PM
Oxley bashing started already.Only 20mins gone.Not taken long has it.:rolleyes:

Ergye
05-07-2016, 07:11 PM
How's Holt doing so far?

He looks better than Ibrahimovic. But not as good as Stokes.

05-07-2016, 07:14 PM
Nah good finish with at least 10 in front of him

05-07-2016, 07:15 PM
sigh

05-07-2016, 07:15 PM
Berwick hit the bar now !

05-07-2016, 07:16 PM
Horrible commentary on HTV.

berwick hit the bar.

05-07-2016, 07:16 PM
is hibs tv streaming this for "overseas" viewers?

05-07-2016, 07:17 PM

No, just audio

No just audio coverage via a mobile phone.

Can't get hibs tv audio on my iPhone.

Billy
05-07-2016, 07:18 PM

It's audio only tonight. There are no facilities at Berwick so the guys are having to use a mobile to get commentary out.

05-07-2016, 07:19 PM
So Hibs have chances and then Berwick score with their 1st real one?

Stubbs out.

Billy
05-07-2016, 07:20 PM
Can't get hibs tv audio on my iPhone.

Support email is: support@hibernianfc.co.uk

05-07-2016, 07:21 PM

Stubbs out.

Aye and Bobby Williamson can gtf anaw......

05-07-2016, 07:22 PM
Looks like flat 4-4-2, how is the lad Crane doing?

Ryan69
05-07-2016, 07:22 PM

Stubbs out.

I would be very interested to see what ratio of first shots in a game against Oxley end up in the net.
I've been saying it for nearly 2 years....and nothing changes.
Should be nowhere near our first team!

05-07-2016, 07:24 PM
I thought oxley was signing for Southend ?

05-07-2016, 07:24 PM
I would be very interested to see what ratio of first shots in a game against Oxley end up in the net.

Aye we heard you the first time........

05-07-2016, 07:25 PM

So you've been saying it from before Oxley played, that was prescient! FWIW, The Rangers scored with their only 2 shots on target in the final. I blame Oxley, oh wait a minute!

05-07-2016, 07:25 PM
Forfar 1-0 up on Dundee utd

05-07-2016, 07:27 PM
Forfar 1-0 up on Dundee utd

Mixu out.

05-07-2016, 07:28 PM
Mixu out.

Whit happened to Jim MacLean......

05-07-2016, 07:29 PM
'Do you think I'm going to answer a stupid question like that....?'

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

05-07-2016, 07:30 PM
Mixu out.

Mixu ain't the manager

Still chasing that John Barnes round Dundee, lamping him every chance he gets...

You can if you want if you can find one stupid enough

05-07-2016, 07:31 PM
Mixu ain't the manager

Whooooosh

Mixu ain't the manager
Yes, I know.

Things didn't improve when he was dropped. Stats show that you're wrong.

05-07-2016, 07:32 PM
Mixu ain't the manager

Did you feel something whistle over yer heid?

'Do you think I'm going to answer a stupid question like that....?'

Don't ever offer me that again.

Why do we need the London Hearts webmaster statto dude when there's seemingly plenty Hibees stepping up to the plate?

05-07-2016, 07:34 PM
Mixu ain't the manager

Aken, Ivan Golac is.

05-07-2016, 07:35 PM
Aken, Ivan Golac is.

Is he? I thought he was coaching Andy Murray......

Things didn't improve when he was dropped. Stats show that you're wrong.

All that proves is we replaced home with another rotten goalie.

Don't ever offer me that again.

Aken, Ivan Golac is.

Smell the flowers.

05-07-2016, 07:36 PM
Aken, Ivan Golac is.

What happened to Jerry Kerr?

05-07-2016, 07:37 PM

Na that's Buddy Landel.

Nah your hinking off Amelie Mauresmo

Smell the flowers.

Was it not more smell the weed?

05-07-2016, 07:38 PM
Nah your hinking off Amelie Mauresmo

I think of her a lot frankly.....

05-07-2016, 07:38 PM
Na that's Buddy Landel.

Nah your hinking off Al Bundy.

05-07-2016, 07:39 PM
Yes, I know.

You do now

05-07-2016, 07:39 PM

Not to be confused with the Bhundu Boys.

Right enough of this, what's happening in the game?

05-07-2016, 07:40 PM
805 guests eh?

**** off cheats!

05-07-2016, 07:41 PM

Al bundys daughter was decent back in the day.

05-07-2016, 07:42 PM
Not to be confused with the Bhundu Boys.

Right enough of this, what's happening in the game?

**** the game. HibbyAndy got me thinking of women tennis players. Might have to go ambush the wife....

Green Reaper
05-07-2016, 07:43 PM
Are we still playing? Nothing happening?

05-07-2016, 07:44 PM

Not much usually happens during half time

05-07-2016, 07:44 PM
**** the game. HibbyAndy got me thinking of women tennis players. Might have to go ambush the wife....

05-07-2016, 07:45 PM

You wouldn't think it with all the bull on here.

Virtanen replaces Oxley, McGeough for McGinn at HT.

All that proves is we replaced home with another rotten goalie.

Two Scottish Cup winning goalies. I always thought the team who'd finally win the cup for us would be treated as heroes, evidently not. What a shame.

05-07-2016, 07:46 PM

Just think of Martina. You'll be off the idea quickly, so you can concentrate on the game.

05-07-2016, 07:46 PM
Two changes for Hibs at HT as Virtanen replaces Oxley and McGeouch replaces McGinn #GGTTH

Green Reaper
05-07-2016, 07:49 PM
Not much usually happens during half time

Duh! Nothing on the match for ages though so I can be excused. Where was I....Al Bundys daughter, yep remember now 😀

cookin_on_gaz
05-07-2016, 07:50 PM
Just think of Martina. You'll be off the idea quickly, so you can concentrate on the game.

Or Martina with Billy Jean

Green Reaper
05-07-2016, 07:52 PM
Or Martina with Billy Jean

Or the Williams brothers

05-07-2016, 07:52 PM

Always fancied three submissions or a knockout with Arantxa Sanchez Vicario. She had muscles on her eyebrows but what a session that would have been.....😜

05-07-2016, 07:55 PM
Holt has ball in net but is offside.

cookin_on_gaz
05-07-2016, 07:55 PM
Or the Williams brothers

Ouch...I had to think a wee while about that one :not worth

05-07-2016, 07:56 PM
Holt has ball in net but is offside.

How has he looked?

Not sure if you are there or just updating from elsewhere.

05-07-2016, 07:57 PM
55: SUBS: Callum Crane is off to be replaced by Lewis Stevenson and Liam Fontaine is replaced by Paul Hanlon

Was the goal Oxley's fault or are we just blaming him anyway? Couldn't make it down tonight

How has he looked?

Not sure if you are there or just updating from elsewhere.

Just updating from Twitter feed. Sitting in Sunny London.

Ryan69
05-07-2016, 07:58 PM
So you've been saying it from before Oxley played, that was prescient! FWIW, The Rangers scored with their only 2 shots on target in the final. I blame Oxley, oh wait a minute!

He's been with us for 2 years...1 on loan.

Never does the spectacular!

Theinsider
05-07-2016, 07:58 PM

What Hingis? 😜

IrnBru22
05-07-2016, 07:59 PM
Had to turn the commentary off after 5mins. Literally every 3rd word is "ehh" .. Doing my nut in

05-07-2016, 07:59 PM
What Hingis? 😜

I would have given her something to grunt about 😀

05-07-2016, 08:00 PM
I would have given her something to grunt about dde00

Was that not Monica Seles??

05-07-2016, 08:01 PM

i know that, he played his 1st game for us 2 years ago next month. You said you were calling him out nearly 2 years ago. As I said that was prescient!

SJM
05-07-2016, 08:02 PM

There's no point in arguing your point with Ox's fan club. It will never ever happen.

Stubbs didn't trust him, Lennon has told him he's free to leave that speaks all the volumes it needs to.

05-07-2016, 08:03 PM
I would have given her something to grunt about 

I'm mare off a Sabine Lisicki kinda guy, Thighs like tree trunks

05-07-2016, 08:04 PM
There's no point in arguing your point with Ox's fan club. It will never ever happen.

Stubbs didn't trust him, Lennon has told him he's free to leave that speaks all the volumes it needs to.

Another silly comment. Whether he stays or goes he should get everyone's support while he is still a Hibs player.

05-07-2016, 08:05 PM

I'm not & never have been an Oxley fan but the abuse he gets on here is ridiculous. Particularly when people say they were critical of him before he even played!

SJM
Another silly comment. Whether he stays or goes he should get everyone's support while he is still a Hibs player.

He does. Pretending he's any good is the silly part though. He will be gone soon enough regardless.

: SUBS: Bartley, Handling and Carmichael on for Cummings, Boyle and Fyvie #GGTTH

05-07-2016, 08:06 PM
65: SUBS: Bartley, Handling and Carmichael on for Cummings, Boyle and Fyvie #GGTTH

SJM
05-07-2016, 08:07 PM
I'm not & never have been an Oxley fan but the abuse he gets on here is ridiculous. Particularly when people say they were critical of him before he even played!

He doesn't get abuse. He gets the rightful opinion he's not good and sells the pies. Thankfully our old and new manager know this too and we brought in and we will bring in a replacement. That's me out the Oxley debate.

Some people simply never tire of sticking the boot in again and again and again.

cookin_on_gaz

This...plus no one has said yet if the goal was his fault or not.

: SUBS: Bartley, Handling and Carmichael on for Cummings, Boyle and Fyvie #GGTTH

Was it at Berwick last year that Danny Handling got injured?
Good to see him back.

05-07-2016, 08:08 PM
That's me out the Oxley debate.

Thank ****.

05-07-2016, 08:09 PM
65: SUBS: Bartley, Handling and Carmichael on for Cummings, Boyle and Fyvie #GGTTH

https://www.periscope.tv/w/1ynJOPqkomvxR

05-07-2016, 08:10 PM
Thank ****.

Don't you hold back now B.

Thank ****.

He doesn't get abuse. He gets the rightful opinion he's not good and sells the pies. Thankfully our old and new manager know this too and we brought in and we will bring in a replacement. That's me out the Oxley debate.

Is it just the Oxley debate ? It would be handy if you ducked out a few more as your constant drivel is very tiresome.

05-07-2016, 08:11 PM
Thank ****.

You beat me to it......

05-07-2016, 08:13 PM
David Gray scored out first goal of last season in pre season away to Berwick. Don't think he managed another away from home until......

Is there anything actually happening at the game?

Off the bar
Gray hits the bar!

05-07-2016, 08:14 PM
Must admit SJM would cause an argument in an empty house.

cookin_on_gaz
https://www.periscope.tv/w/1ynJOPqkomvxR

Thanks for this :wink:

Gray hits the bar!

What size is this ****ing bar, everyone's hit the thing

Motherwell losing 3 1 at cowdenbeath. Bit of a surprise there.

Off the bar
05-07-2016, 08:15 PM
Shaw and Stanton on for Holt and Harris

David Gray scored out first goal of last season in pre season away to Berwick. Don't think he managed another away from home until......

Can't remember his last goal, you'll have to remind me.

What size is this ****ing bar, everyone's hit the thing

05-07-2016, 08:16 PM
Shaw and Stanton on for Holt and Harris

Are you at the game? If so you're well named. How has Holt played?

IrnBru22
05-07-2016, 08:20 PM

One of the commentators said Holt was his motm so far

05-07-2016, 08:24 PM

There'd be no point in doing that - it was done last year and when it came out he was better or on par with the Rangers and Falkirk keeper something else had to be going to use.

Him drinking coffee and having a beard was one reason.

Off the bar
05-07-2016, 08:24 PM

Sat in sunny London listening to hibs.TV and drinking lazily so not best placed to pass judgment of Holt, but sounds like he's put himself about a bit and had one header hit the top of the net.

05-07-2016, 08:26 PM
There'd be no point in doing that - it was done last year and when it came out he was better it in a par with the Rangers and Falkirk keeper something else had to be going to use.

Him drinking coffee and having a beard was one reason.

:agree: the coffee complaint was absurd.

05-07-2016, 08:30 PM
FT 1-1

05-07-2016, 08:31 PM

The beard complaint was fair.

05-07-2016, 08:31 PM

The whole thing is absurd. I'm not his biggest fan but the scapegoating is ridiculous. We've got guys on here not even at the game tonight blaming him for the goal [emoji849]

05-07-2016, 08:32 PM
Sat in sunny London listening to hibs.TV and drinking lazily so not best placed to pass judgment of Holt, but sounds like he's put himself about a bit and had one header hit the top of the net.

One of the commentators said Holt was his motm so far

05-07-2016, 08:35 PM

so he couldn't even hit the bar like everyone else did :(

05-07-2016, 08:35 PM

His coffees were always far too strong when he was a barista, he never stopped any shots going in apparently.

05-07-2016, 08:40 PM
His coffees were always far too strong when he was a barista, he never stopped any shots going in apparently.

Bloody hell. Next we'll be hearing his shots-to-stretched milk ratio was the worst in the whole coffee shop. Unforgivable.

Stuarty27
05-07-2016, 08:41 PM
Imagine if we play like that vs Bronby...

Could be another Malmo

05-07-2016, 08:41 PM
Was there no 4 minutes of injury time? Did we no get any corners?
Where's Davie Gray when you need him?

Ah'm away to listen to the Ballad of Conrad Logan.

05-07-2016, 08:42 PM
Pre season friendly and all that,

Not a bad run out and great to see Holt playing so well, he'll cause defences bother all year.

Can't say I'm not a little disappointed to see Harris starting, Stanton on the bench etc. I'm for second chances but these guys have shown too often they are not up for it and Lennon shouldn't be wasting his time checking if these guys are up for it.

Hopefully they get found out early doors to avoid any mishaps. I suspect I'm in for a bashing re Harris setting up goal and having lots of assists last season but they've not got it in my opinion.

Maybe Lennon will see differently but hopefully they either show a lot more in pre season or he works out who can play quickly enough. No room for mistakes this season.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

05-07-2016, 08:44 PM

Not a bad run out and great to see Holt playing so well, he'll cause defences bother all year.

Can't say I'm not a little disappointed to see Harris starting, Stanton on the bench etc. I'm for second chances but these guys have shown too often they are not up for it and Lennon shouldn't be wasting his time checking if these guys are up for it.

Hopefully they get found out early doors to avoid any mishaps. I suspect I'm in for a bashing re Harris setting up goal and having lots of assists last season but they've not got it in my opinion.

Maybe Lennon will see differently but hopefully they either show a lot more in pre season or he works out who can play quickly enough. No room for mistakes this season.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

Hopefully they contribute to a successful season rather than wishing them to fail :rolleyes:

05-07-2016, 08:44 PM

Could be another Malmo

I know. The way they were playing you'd think it was a pre season friendly.

05-07-2016, 08:45 PM
Hopefully they contribute to a successful season rather than wishing them to fail :rolleyes:

Indeed.....very odd way of thinking

Stuarty27
05-07-2016, 08:48 PM

Only you could be happy with a 1-1 draw with ******g Berwick Rangers!

They have half the Musselburgh jnrs in there team!

Pre season or no pre season a 1-1draw wi Berwick is a shocker

Excellent retort if I may say so.

Ryan69

Without google searching...The key word was NEARLY

Seems like Harris had a good run out honestly.

Could be another Malmo

hahaha. Start the list.

Lee Marvin
05-07-2016, 08:50 PM

I'm thoroughly embarrassed by that result. Completely and utterly shameful.

Lennon has to go! No excuses

Harris best player for hibs tonight.

Why in the world would NL let them go without seeing for himself what they are capable of?

05-07-2016, 08:51 PM

Do we look like we will be ready in a week?

05-07-2016, 08:51 PM

Lennon out, this sort of thing would never have happened pre season under butcher or Stubbs.

05-07-2016, 08:52 PM
Must admit SJM would cause an argument in an empty house.

That depends on how many of his usernames he can log in with :hilarious:

We go through this every pre season. It's pre season ffs - it actually doesn't matter a ****. Not even a wee bit.

its a semi competitive fitness exercise... get a grip.

05-07-2016, 08:53 PM
We go through this every pre season. It's pre season ffs - it actually doesn't matter a ****. Not even a wee bit.

Exactly. The result in these games means nothing. Personally I'd just have them played behind closed doors.

Tobias Funke
05-07-2016, 08:55 PM
It would be handy if you ducked out a few more as your constant drivel is very tiresome.

This would be my preference.

05-07-2016, 08:56 PM

Good to hear. Hope he grabs his chance.

Exactly. The result in these games means nothing. Personally I'd just have them played behind closed doors.

I would prefer it if we could take away internet access from the hystericals on this site......

Tobias Funke

05-07-2016, 08:58 PM
Do people really not understand how a friendly works. Players levels are like 75%, tackles are half hearted to ensure no one gets injured, players are rotated, and systems are worked on. Now put that aside we could easily have had 4 goals tonight....just the bar getting in the way. Suddenly thinking we are now going to get humped in Europa is madness. Motherwell must think they are going down now i presume! :confused:

05-07-2016, 09:00 PM

:rotflmao:Yep, I defo said I was happy with it. In fact I consider tonight even better than the 21st of May.

It's a pre season friendly, in fact the first one of the season. As long as the players are getting fitter, we're playing a range of players to try them out and Lennon gets more understanding of the squad then quite frankly I don't give a ****.

We'll be ready for the league which is our only priority for this season.

05-07-2016, 09:00 PM
By the sounds of it Harris was our best player. Can't believe there are some on here that actually want to see him fail. What is wrong with some people? Jeezo!!

05-07-2016, 09:02 PM

05-07-2016, 09:07 PM
Sam played well in the 15 minutes he was on:thumbsup:

05-07-2016, 09:09 PM

Good to hear Butcher hung him out to dry and his confidence was shot His injury is well behind him and he played a lot of games last season in this league so if Lennon thinks he deserves a place in the squad thats fine by me
However its unlikely that Harris Stanton and Handling will all get first team game time so they all know what they need to do when they get an opportunity

05-07-2016, 09:12 PM
Lennon’s players failed to clear their lines properly from Steven Thomson’s corner – Berwick’s first of the game – the ball falling for McKenna 20 yards out, the midfielder hitting it first time and appearing to catch Oxley by surprise as his low shot skipped into the far corner of his net.

05-07-2016, 09:13 PM

Yep, honeymoon period for Lennon over.

Get him out before the first League match if this keeps up.

Marco G
05-07-2016, 09:21 PM
Do we look like we will be ready in a week?

Dont think that is likely and never could be. As long as we are ready for the first league match I will be happy cause that is really all that matters this season.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

High-On-Hibs
05-07-2016, 09:26 PM
Lennon out! :grr:

05-07-2016, 09:31 PM

Your posts on here are consistently ridiculous.

05-07-2016, 09:32 PM
Your posts on here are consistently ridiculous.

Absolutely. I started ignoring this boy a couple of years back. Unfortunately when folk quote him I still get to see his nonsense.

Salt N Sauzee
05-07-2016, 09:33 PM
Bedwetters. Bedwetters everywhere...

05-07-2016, 09:39 PM

I didn't think he was but I guess that is a matter of opinions.

And to avoid being misconstrued: I would be delighted if Harris et al were to demonstrate the initial promise they showed. I would just rather time was not wasted 'if' they're not up to it as Stubbs had decided.

HibeeLR
05-07-2016, 09:40 PM
There's no winning with some people, first game of preseason and people already moaning...🙄

05-07-2016, 09:43 PM
Very good first 20 minutes then the rest of the game was pretty poor and a typical friendly.

Plenty work to be done.

05-07-2016, 09:50 PM
Its all about getting match fit, the result is irrelevant. We made 11 subs for goodness sake. Some folk on here get a bit Leeds Utd. Boozy was decent but I dont think he was our best player.

05-07-2016, 09:54 PM
Only a run around tonight. Not at all fussed about results. Pre-season very rarely reflects competitive matches. Although this is not the squad I want going in to Europe.

05-07-2016, 09:57 PM
I didn't think he was but I guess that is a matter of opinions.

And to avoid being misconstrued: I would be delighted if Harris et al were to demonstrate the initial promise they showed. I would just rather time was not wasted 'if' they're not up to it as Stubbs had decided.

Its up to Lennon. Not Stubbs.

05-07-2016, 10:01 PM
Its up to Lennon. Not Stubbs.

Ok.

Read it, I used past tense.

Of course it's now up to Lennon.

05-07-2016, 10:11 PM
Nothing like a match updates thread to remind you of some of the complete Fannies that have been missing since May.

SJM
05-07-2016, 10:13 PM

I think you would have to ask the admins if I log on with any other username johnnyboy. You seem to have a problem with me though as you like a wee snipe to yourself. Say hello to your other half 👍 it's only a football forum and I know you and you love the hibs.

05-07-2016, 10:14 PM
We could have been beat 3-0 tonight or won 10-0 wont make any difference come falkirk away on match day 1. GGTTH

05-07-2016, 10:14 PM
Lennon’s players failed to clear their lines properly from Steven Thomson’s corner – Berwick’s first of the game – the ball falling for McKenna 20 yards out, the midfielder hitting it first time and appearing to catch Oxley by surprise as his low shot skipped into the far corner of his net.

Are these your words Ozy, or have you read them somewhere else?

Oxley probably had about fourteen players in his line of vision and the ball sweetly hit and always going away from Oxley's dive.

SJM
05-07-2016, 10:17 PM
Why are we playing our first pre season friendly this evening, a wee before a massive match yet many other sides have played a good few games prior to tonight? Stubbs or not there should be forward planning surely? Or are some going to pretend it's a glorified friendly again against Malmo and then pounce on anyone complaining about the price.

Personally, we should be prepared for Europe and £22 is a fair price for a proper European night. People are contradicting themselves all over the shop though.

cookin_on_gaz
05-07-2016, 10:32 PM
Why are we playing our first pre season friendly this evening, a wee before a massive match yet many other sides have played a good few games prior to tonight? Stubbs or not there should be forward planning surely? Or are some going to pretend it's a glorified friendly again against Malmo and then pounce on anyone complaining about the price.

Personally, we should be prepared for Europe and £22 is a fair price for a proper European night. People are contradicting themselves all over the shop though.

Maybe because Neil Lennon has only been in the door for just over a week. The European game is not a massive match. Every league game this season , however, are massive matches and pre season friendlies are preparation for this to allow Lennon to assess his best team and formation.

SJM
05-07-2016, 10:43 PM
Maybe because Neil Lennon has only been in the door for just over a week. The European game is not a massive match. Every league game this season , however, are massive matches and pre season friendlies are preparation for this to allow Lennon to assess his best team and formation.

That won't go down well with the posters having a go at others complaining about the price of our European match which may be the same posters saying the European match isn't massive as we haven't prepared for it.

Lennon was appointed about a month ago, a week after Dundee Utds manager. Since then they have signed a good few players, shaken the cobwebs with about 3 or 4 games and aren't playing in Europe next week. I would have loved us to make a right go of this but it doesn't seem to be the case in Europe this year. Fair enough but why charge for a big European night when it's not being treated as one by the club?

05-07-2016, 10:43 PM
Are these your words Ozy, or have you read them somewhere else?

Oxley probably had about fourteen players in his line of vision and the ball sweetly hit and always going away from Oxley's dive.

Cut and paste from evening news match report. Meant to post the link at the same time but I mucked it up.

05-07-2016, 10:48 PM
Cut and paste from evening news match report. Meant to post the link at the same time but I mucked it up.

:aok: Harsh on Oxley IMO though

05-07-2016, 10:48 PM
Good run out tonight. A good bit of timber needing shifting from some of the players or the new tops are not very flattering. Plus points - Harris looked sharp and got involved from the start. Crane played quite well. Holt was decent and put a lot of effort in. Fyvie looked like he has spent the whole summer in McDonalds but was everywhere as usual. Fontaine looked very assured and looked super fit. Carmichael and Stanton very lively for their Cameos. Dylan and Danny Handling avoided injury.

The not so good - Cummings might have been in McDs with Fraser but he didn't looked at the races despite a goal after 10 seconds with a schlaffed finish. Oxley was very late down to their goal but he may have been unsighted. Yet again though one shot on target conceded and it results in a goal against. McGinn started brightly but wasn't his usual self.

With every player being subbed it wasn't really a game to judge the performance but in the first 20 minutes we looked really bright. It all went a bit downhill when they scored. Decent support from Hibs with 4-5 hundred travelling at a guess and a lovely drive up the coast on the way back.

05-07-2016, 10:52 PM
It was mostly awful tonight but it's their first game and Lennon himself said the team are nowhere near full fitness yet.

hibeemikey21
05-07-2016, 10:55 PM
It was mostly awful tonight but it's their first game and Lennon himself said the team are nowhere near full fitness yet.

Not the best thing to say when:

A) you're the manager and therefore responsible for fitness
B) A week before a crucial and tough European fixture

05-07-2016, 10:59 PM

What do you expect him to say after our first pre season game?

cookin_on_gaz
05-07-2016, 11:00 PM
That won't go down well with the posters having a go at others complaining about the price of our European match which may be the same posters saying the European match isn't massive as we haven't prepared for it.

Lennon was appointed about a month ago, a week after Dundee Utds manager. Since then they have signed a good few players, shaken the cobwebs with about 3 or 4 games and aren't playing in Europe next week. I would have loved us to make a right go of this but it doesn't seem to be the case in Europe this year. Fair enough but why charge for a big European night when it's not being treated as one by the club?

As far as money goes, even charging £22 is a lot less than you would have to pay to watch all the games in the league cup group stage, which we bypass anyway.

05-07-2016, 11:04 PM

Lennon has said the League is our priority and that the team won't be ready for the European game.

Is it that crucial?

05-07-2016, 11:09 PM
Harris was MOTM by far tonight.

05-07-2016, 11:10 PM

West lower
05-07-2016, 11:11 PM

So you would rather we were in Dundee Utd's position ? All those fabulous signings drew with Forfar tonight. If that is them after having blown the cobwebs off then bring them on. I would imagine if that was Hibs drawing with Forfar you would still be ripping in.
These games mean sweet fa.

05-07-2016, 11:11 PM
Dissapointing result but good to see a few players get a run out.
holt looks a handful in the air (perhaps some heading practice to tune him up)
but we were okay. Nothing to worry about. Good finish from their perspective through at least 10 bodies at edge of box.
happy to get photo taken with two new Hibee legends, particularly Mr D Gray and L Stevenson

05-07-2016, 11:19 PM

You think Europa game is a massive match I personally couldn't give a toss about it, games we could do without TBH. Our one and only priority is getting out this league and nothing else, we didn't expect to win the cup and have Europa league games to contend with and thus these games should be the last thing on our minds. Get shot of them without too much humiliation and concentrate on the league.

SJM
05-07-2016, 11:33 PM
You think Europa game is a massive match I personally couldn't give a toss about it, games we could do without TBH. Our one and only priority is getting out this league and nothing else, we didn't expect to win the cup and have Europa league games to contend with and thus these games should be the last thing on our minds. Get shot of them without too much humiliation and concentrate on the league.

I complained about the prices of the European match, got slaughtered. I got told it's a massive night for us, I got slaughtered.

You don't see the posters on here, well established, who say the European matches don't matter and aren't worth it get slaughtered off the ones who argue it's a massive match and the prices are fair. When it came out it was £22 for a ticket to Brondby I, as usual got called trolling for saying it was too much for a glorified friendly based on others on here's opinions too. I'll pay it, it's not a glamour European match though when we have only been back in training a week and I get ripped for basically having the same opinion
Just turning it round.

SJM
05-07-2016, 11:37 PM

Can whoever moderates here please confirm that using any single IP address I log on from, home, work, phone, bus In the morning, that there's not any other user I log on as nor has there been because the wee old gang you see time and time again teaming up on people are talking Pish. And if I was, as a newbie, like J-c an my-jo are and belittling a poster and making false posts about them whilst following them about the place I'm sure I would get a talking to.