View Full Version : Nigel Farrage
High-On-Hibs
28-06-2016, 09:31 AM
Anybody listening to his speech in Brussels right now? Comedy gold. :faf:
Trying to claim that no deal would be better for the UK than for the EU. :faf:
28-06-2016, 09:33 AM
first time i've actually enjoyed watching this european parliament stuff :greengrin it's a blast
28-06-2016, 10:00 AM
Alyn Smith MEP got an ovation for his speech, remember Scotland wants to remain.
28-06-2016, 10:06 AM
Alyn Smith MEP got an ovation for his speech, remember Scotland wants to remain.
:agree: as did the norn ireland woman Martina Anderson, who was it that said something about the budget will improve due to the EU not having to pay nigel farage a salary :greengrin
28-06-2016, 10:07 AM
Anybody listening to his speech in Brussels right now? Comedy gold. :faf:
Trying to claim that no deal would be better for the UK than for the EU. :faf:
I'm suffering from "fremdschämen".
28-06-2016, 10:15 AM
:agree: as did the norn ireland woman Martina Anderson, who was it that said something about the budget will improve due to the EU not having to pay nigel farage a salary :greengrin
Think it was a Belgian.
28-06-2016, 10:23 AM
Think it was a Belgian.
just watched another highlight on the news, it was indeed the belgian gadgey
28-06-2016, 12:35 PM
That was absolutely hilarious. Think he enjoyed that as much as I'd enjoy scoring a 90th minute goal vs the Huns to win the Scottish Cup for Hibs.
High-On-Hibs
28-06-2016, 01:31 PM
That was absolutely hilarious. Think he enjoyed that as much as I'd enjoy scoring a 90th minute goal vs the Huns to win the Scottish Cup for Hibs.
I don't think he enjoyed it anywhere near as much as he was pretending to. He'll be ******* bricks every bit as much as Boris. Only difference is, he isn't accountable.
28-06-2016, 02:37 PM
I don't think there has ever been as corrosive and insidious a British politician as Nigel Farage.
Detestable, evil little man.
28-06-2016, 03:29 PM
Personally I find absolutely nothing funny or hilarious about the mess that revolting wee chancer and his cronies have made of things.
28-06-2016, 03:31 PM
I don't think there has ever been as corrosive and insidious a British politician as Nigel Farage.
Detestable, evil little man.
David Coburn is on par, thankfully he doesn't get the platform farage seems to get.
High-On-Hibs
28-06-2016, 03:45 PM
Personally I find absolutely nothing funny or hilarious about the mess that revolting wee chancer and his cronies have made of things.
I was laughing at him, not with him just to be clear about it.
28-06-2016, 03:55 PM
He's like Alan Patridge, played without the satire. A total James Hunt.
28-06-2016, 04:31 PM
David Coburn is on par, thankfully he doesn't get the platform farage seems to get.
Farage is capable of being a charmer which is partly what makes him so dangerous. Coburn has the charisma of a spoon and won't be an MEP for much longer whether or not Scotland stay in the EU.
For anyone who missed it, here is the speech
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kOzNsQyamvk
28-06-2016, 08:34 PM
Arguably politician of the year or decade however given he has achieved his political goal almost single handedly with virtually no party machine. Remarkable really.
28-06-2016, 08:41 PM
Arguably politician of the year or decade however given he has achieved his political goal almost single handedly with virtually no party machine. Remarkable really.
**** of the decade would be more appropriate. The starred out word rhymes with 'hunt' for anyone in any doubt.
Agree with your claim about politician of the whatevever. But to say he achieved it single handedly is utter pish. Your party provided him the mechanism.
28-06-2016, 09:07 PM
Agree with your claim about politician of the whatevever. But to say he achieved it single handedly is utter pish. Your party provided him the mechanism.
And the BBC which handed him a microphone and a regular seat at the table when his bunch were just a single issue protest party - which they pretty much still are.
AndyM_1875
28-06-2016, 09:14 PM
Totally. And the Tory Party shoulders most of the blame for this absolute shambles. Their utter incompetence in offering a referendum that nobody out with of the swivel eyed bigoted UKIP types really wanted to settle an ego trip in the Tory party will stick to them forever as the economy crashes and the United Kingdom fractures.
But also let's not forget a print media run by right wing sociopaths who drip fed dog whistle racism to the English public for a decade creating the circumstances where an absolute chancer like Farage could get his way.
All so unnecessary and avoidable.
And the BBC which handed him a microphone and a regular seat at the table when his bunch were just a single issue protest party - which they pretty much still are.
Marine le Pens call to arms and endorsement of his victory in the EU today says it all to me. I worked in France when her auld man led the national front back in the 90's, hoped we'd have moved on by now.
Totally. And the Tory Party shoulders most of the blame for this absolute shambles. Their utter incompetence in offering a referendum that nobody out with of the swivel eyed bigoted UKIP types really wanted to settle an ego trip in the Tory party will stick to them forever as the economy crashes and the United Kingdom fractures.
But also let's not forget a print media run by right wing sociopaths who drip fed dog whistle racism to the English public for a decade creating the circumstances where an absolute chancer like Farage could get his way.
Good summation.
High-On-Hibs
28-06-2016, 10:08 PM
I know you'll get slated for that comment. But I regrettably say that you're probably right. My fear now is that because the Conservatives are now faced with the decision of keeping the single market or denying free movement of Labour. They'll choose the single market for the sake of the economy, which will then cause a massive influx of support for UKIP.
An absolutely terrifying thought.
28-06-2016, 10:20 PM
I know you'll get slated for that comment. But I regrettably say that you're probably right. My fear now is that because the Conservatives are now faced with the decision of keeping the single market or denying free movement of Labour. They'll choose the single market for the sake of the economy, which will then cause a massive influx of support for UKIP.
An absolutely terrifying thought.
Denying the free movement of labour will choke the economy too - either way, they are goosed in their perfect isolation.
Root cause: years of unchecked nonsense about immigration peddled by politicians, reacting to an agenda promoted by newspapers.
High-On-Hibs
28-06-2016, 10:31 PM
Denying the free movement of labour will choke the economy too - either way, they are goosed in their perfect isolation.
Root cause: years of unchecked nonsense about immigration peddled by politicians, reacting to an agenda promoted by newspapers.
Indeed. I have no doubt that UKIP will be the leading party of the UK by 2018. I know many people will laugh about that prospect and convince themselves that it will never happen. But then again, nobody ever thought that the SNP would be in the position that they are in now just several years ago.
I genuinely believe that Scotland's exit from the UK is imminent. It's just a matter of time. Even although I will be delighted with that result, I will feel great sorrow for both England and Wales and Northern Ireland if they aren't able to secure an exit.
29-06-2016, 04:33 AM
All for show. Farage is now desperately attempting to remain relevant and his gurning mug will be everywhere.
29-06-2016, 06:38 AM
His speech was like listening to the ramblings of a drunken ex-boyfriend of the bride at a wedding. Horrible little man.
mmmmhibby
29-06-2016, 06:40 AM
Then theres this, not a peep from mainstream media. I don't agree that any politician should be subjected to abuse on this scale.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CmE8BtfWQAAqiRl.jpg
29-06-2016, 07:08 AM
Then theres this, not a peep from mainstream media. I don't agree that any politician should be subjected to abuse on this scale.
Doesn't suit the establishment. Conversely there was a very large rally at Westminster last night (pro remain) which was covered by C4 News but haven't seen anything on BBC.
29-06-2016, 07:14 AM
Indeed, we should condemn and punish the offenders in the same way that we condemn and punish the **** that sent racist tweets earlier in the week. Pathetic stuff from all concerned.
29-06-2016, 08:08 AM
Have these tweets been sent to Farage or is it people talking nonsense among themselves?
If it's the latter, then Farage hasn't been subjected to abuse.
If he's receiving death threats or other types of abuse, I'm sure he'll report it to the police and make it public.
29-06-2016, 08:59 AM
Whilst this sort of talk is definately tasteless, I still can't help thinking "you reap what you sow".
Rasta_Hibs
29-06-2016, 09:50 AM
The bitter hatred, intolerance and spite coming from left minded people is being shown to the world. No sane thinking person would attempt to justify or defend these comments.
29-06-2016, 09:59 AM
The bitter hatred, intolerance and spite coming from left minded people is being shown to the world. No sane thinking person would attempt to justify or defend these comments.
I don't defend these comments, however it would be naive to think that it is only left minded people who think farage is a dangerous pr*ck of a man! he has absolutely F all in common with the Scottish electorate and I hope to never see him again on my tv
mmmmhibby
29-06-2016, 10:16 AM
From looking at certain parts of the media recently its heavily anti-leave. No impartiality whatsoever, project hysteria in full swing. Am fed up wi it already lol. This shall be my last post on this, as a new season beckons and I canny wait for PROJECT LENNON, lol.
29-06-2016, 10:21 AM
No one is defending them.
29-06-2016, 10:23 AM
From looking at certain parts of the media recently its heavily anti-leave. No impartiality whatsoever, project hysteria in full swing. Am fed up wi it already lol. This shall be my last post on this, as a new season beckons and I canny wait for PROJECT LENNON, lol.
A crashing economy with £3 TRILLION of losses since the result announced, the $/£ exchange rate at is lowest ever value & the £/Euro rate has canned. The annuities market has all but collapsed and two of the biggest banks in the UK had to stop trading on Monday due to losses.
None of the political parties are coherent right now, those who lead Leave have been shown to be glib and shameless liars with their 'promises' falling apart already. Businesses are evaluating leaving the UK (the latest to be Vodafone).
Questions are rightly being asked - that's not hysteria - that's scrutiny.
29-06-2016, 10:23 AM
If I look at "certain parts of the media", I see it's heavily pro leave. I try not to look there, though. It's dirty.
29-06-2016, 12:19 PM
Absolutely, Andy.
No one should condone the sort of comments on Facebook and elsewhere regarding killing Farage - if only because his murder would simply canonise him and probably bring on someone much, much worse - but I can understand the rage and frustration behind them.
But Cameron's spineless surrender to demands for a referendum - to protect his own position as leader and for no other reason as far as I can see - was despicable. Even Blair looks good in comparison,and he makes Neville Chamberlain look like a man of principle and honour.
Farage and his buddies, assisted and abetted by Cameron and HIS buddies, have landed this country in as big a mess as we've been in since the end of WW2.
Like the deputy says in 'No Country for Old Men' - "It's a mess, ain't it, Sheriff?" And the Sheriff replies, "If it ain't, it'll do till the mess gets here ..."
High-On-Hibs
04-07-2016, 09:10 AM
Giving a live speech now. What an odious, divisive, self centred little worm he is.
Says he doesn't want to be a career politician. Well he's certainly done well for himself out of the career of politics.
04-07-2016, 09:25 AM
Giving a live speech now. What an odious, divisive, self centred little worm he is.
Says he doesn't want to be a career politician. Well he's certainly done well for himself out of the career of politics.
Stepped down as UKIP leader, again.
Nige, you won't be missed.
High-On-Hibs
04-07-2016, 09:28 AM
Stepped down as UKIP leader, again.
Nige, you won't be missed.
Enjoy the 5 minutes while it lasts.
04-07-2016, 10:01 AM
. Even Blair looks good in comparison,and he makes Neville Chamberlain look like a man of principle and honour.
I not sure I'd go that far - Blair has the dubious distinction as having the faint whiff of the war criminal about him.
Cameron's sin was being easily bullied by the flanks of his own party and easily led by "media" pressure to allow such a farce as has been unleashed.
Most of the Tories involved in Brexit on either side, were in it for their own careers. Blair had delusions of something slightly higher.
04-07-2016, 10:56 AM
Jon Hillcock @jonhillcock 22m22 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/jonhillcock/status/749913476127158272) Farage: "I've done my bit"pic.twitter.com/dx2GrgkAix (https://t.co/dx2GrgkAix)
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cmg6OfIVYAEuL5P.jpg
04-07-2016, 11:01 AM
I not sure I'd go that far - Blair has the dubious distinction as having the faint whiff of the war criminal about him.
Cameron's sin was being easily bullied by the flanks of his own party and easily led by "media" pressure to allow such a farce as has been unleashed.
Most of the Tories involved in Brexit on either side, were in it for their own careers. Blair had delusions of something slightly higher.
Agree completely re Blair and it might be more than a faint whiff of a criminal depending on what Chilcit comes back with. I expect it will be a whitewash though.
As for Farage, tin hat on here but I think he's made an important contribution to UK politics. There have been issues with the EU for some time (I'm sure anyone voting remain wouldn't argue it was perfect) and Labour/Tory politicians repeatedly failed to address or barely even acknowledge them. Farage made it a mainstream issue, which it should have been in the first place. Maybe if it was a mainstream issue earlier on we could have came up with a better arrangement and wouldn't have had to leave. He also has some decent ideas outside the EU (the 30% tax bracket springs to mind and IIRC he spoke out against the Iraq war).
That being said, I didn't like some of his immigration chat in the referendum, particularly the poster. It annoyed me that he focused so much on immigration when for me that wasn't the main issue. He should have really left after the last election and it's for the best that he leaves now - he's a devisive politician and the country need to unite and move on.
speedy_gonzales
04-07-2016, 05:06 PM
It annoyed me that he focused so much on immigration when for me that wasn't the main issue.
It wasn't for me either. But for so many, apparently everywhere in England with the exception of London, it was!
I've been fortunate to work for extended periods in places like Sheffield, Derby, Southampton and many others. The people there are the same as everywhere else but some of the conversations I've had (and not just recently) were a little disconcerting when it came to the likes of immigration and 'foreigners',,,
I can't say they're wrong, it's their opinion based on their experiences & fears. Sometimes I think we're shielded up here in Scotland from the influx of migratory workers, either through geography, weather or opportunity.
04-07-2016, 06:56 PM
Johnson and Farage, a couple of jakeys who wake up from a binge having shat the bed, then sneak out the dosshouse by the back door. (Apologies to Irvine Welsh).
Oh and speedy, I have plenty of mates from south of Watford who welcome migrants, and are baffled as to why there is such a ridiculous ****storm in the media. It sounds as if you've simply been talking to folk who don't like immigrants. And you definitely CAN say they are wrong.
04-07-2016, 07:37 PM
Johnson and Farage, a couple of jakeys who wake up from a binge having shat the bed, then sneak out the dosshouse by the back door. (Apologies to Irvine Welsh).
Oh and speedy, I have plenty of mates from south of Watford who welcome migrants, and are baffled as to why there is such a ridiculous ****storm in the media. It sounds as if you've simply been talking to folk who don't like immigrants. And you definitely CAN say they are wrong.
Having lived in both Surrey and Hampshire for the past 4 years, it was the same there - there's such a large migrant population on the periphery of London and mostly, they're received warmly and have very vibrant communities that integrate very well. Unsurprisingly, these places all voted Remain!
06-07-2016, 07:00 AM
Having lived in both Surrey and Hampshire for the past 4 years, it was the same there - there's such a large migrant population on the periphery of London and mostly, they're received warmly and have very vibrant communities that integrate very well. Unsurprisingly, these places all voted Remain!
It's always the same. Exactly the same as here in Switzerland. The places that actually receive the most migrants consistently, live day-to-day in multi-cultural communities consistently vote in favour of migrants/against anti-migration causes.
In those regions where the migrant % is way, way lower, the locals vote against migrant initiatives/for anti-migration causes out of some mix of fear, NIMBY-ism and casual racism, despite never having really experienced living cheek to jowl with migrants.
06-07-2016, 09:30 AM
It's always the same. Exactly the same as here in Switzerland. The places that actually receive the most migrants consistently, live day-to-day in multi-cultural communities consistently vote in favour of migrants/against anti-migration causes.
In those regions where the migrant % is way, way lower, the locals vote against migrant initiatives/for anti-migration causes out of some mix of fear, NIMBY-ism and casual racism, despite never having really experienced living cheek to jowl with migrants.
It's the same where I live in London and can believe it's very similar in the Home Counties and Switzerland. However these are generally very wealthy parts of the world that have benefited most from migration (I realise this is a massive generalisation about Switzerland).
However the impact of migration is not uniform across the UK and its wrong to dismiss people who live in other, probably less prosperous, parts of the U.K. as casual racists just because they voted to leave. I'm guessing none of us have traveled round these parts of the country extensively and have no real knowledge of how it has affected communities and every day lives. Dismissing them as casual racists seems pretty ignorant to me and if
Remain want to talk about tolerance they should start showing a bit more respect for those that disagree with them.
07-07-2016, 07:59 AM
It's the same where I live in London and can believe it's very similar in the Home Counties and Switzerland. However these are generally very wealthy parts of the world that have benefited most from migration (I realise this is a massive generalisation about Switzerland).
However the impact of migration is not uniform across the UK and its wrong to dismiss people who live in other, probably less prosperous, parts of the U.K. as casual racists just because they voted to leave. I'm guessing none of us have traveled round these parts of the country extensively and have no real knowledge of how it has affected communities and every day lives. Dismissing them as casual racists seems pretty ignorant to me and if
Remain want to talk about tolerance they should start showing a bit more respect for those that disagree with them.
I did say it was a mix of the 3 factors to be fair :greengrin
I just can't get my head around the logic of people in an area - be it poor or rich - consistently voting in favour of - potentially or definitely - punitive measures against a group of people with whom they have precious little contact/experience.
I mean, rail against the system for sure ("Migrants get washing machines from the council before I do" and so on and soforth) but you vote against/for "the system" at general elections. People can't/don't want to separate between flaws/failings in the system and the people they see as "benefiting" from those flaws/failings and that worries/saddens me.
07-07-2016, 09:31 AM
I did say it was a mix of the 3 factors to be fair :greengrin
I just can't get my head around the logic of people in an area - be it poor or rich - consistently voting in favour of - potentially or definitely - punitive measures against a group of people with whom they have precious little contact/experience.
I mean, rail against the system for sure ("Migrants get washing machines from the council before I do" and so on and soforth) but you vote against/for "the system" at general elections. People can't/don't want to separate between flaws/failings in the system and the people they see as "benefiting" from those flaws/failings and that worries/saddens me.
You make a fair point and to be honest, I don't understand why someone would do that either. But that's kind of my point - I live in a city that has benefited massively from migration and haven't ever lived anywhere that hasn't so can't claim to understand how it has affected different communities and lives. I suspect the same could be said for a lot of politicians, media and bitter remain voters that get on their high horse about lack of tolerance with absolutely no sense of irony (some of them also say old people should have a lower weighting on their vote in the same sentence). There are reasons other than migration that people voted on.
I'm not aiming the above at you or any one else on here , but it's something that has annoyed me a bit in the aftermath of all of this. No one seems to be paying much attention to why people voted to leave and if we want a parliament that represents the people then we need to listen to everyone instead of dismissing those who think differently - something Farage managed to do better than most other party leaders.