View Full Version : Mark Lawrenson

15-06-2016, 02:16 PM
The man is a drain.

Moan, moan, moan, whinge, whinge whinge.

He's so scathing and negative. He just looks for things to criticise and on the rare occasions he's forced to say something positive, it comes out reluctantly or as a backhanded compliment.

A bit like this post, when I think about it.

I feel weary listening to him.

15-06-2016, 02:19 PM
The man is a drain.

He's so scathing and negative. He just looks for things to criticise and on the rare occasions he's forced to say something positive, it comes out reluctantly or as a backhanded compliment.

I must be in a minority, because I quite like him as a co-commentator. He will often point out things that are not shown on camera, such as how a sub has changed a team's formation.

As a studio pundit, I agree - he's often tired and negative.

15-06-2016, 02:23 PM
A complete and utter fud :agree:

Finn2015
15-06-2016, 02:29 PM
How he played for Ireland is beyond me, hypes England as well as anyone

15-06-2016, 02:32 PM
He said on the five live podcast before the opening games.

'Wales have no chance of topping the group'.

Bullseye tached bawbag.

15-06-2016, 03:05 PM
the man is soooo boring.. I get more excited about root canal treatment more than listening to him...

15-06-2016, 03:06 PM
Looks like Droopy the dog, sounds like he's been told he has only days to live.

15-06-2016, 03:06 PM
He's okay in small doses.

(((Fergus)))
15-06-2016, 03:10 PM
He must have dirt on a MOTD producer.

15-06-2016, 03:17 PM
How he played for Ireland is beyond me, hypes England as well as anyone

He played for the Republic under the "I've had a pint of guiness rule" which was so widely used back then :-)

15-06-2016, 03:22 PM
At least ten years past his sell by date. Sounds like its a real drag for him to be at any tournament - all expenses paid by the BBC of course.

15-06-2016, 03:22 PM
He has the coupon of someone trying to haud in the turtle's heid.

Finn2015
15-06-2016, 03:24 PM
He played for the Republic under the "I've had a pint of guiness rule" which was so widely used back then :-)

My parents are Irish and I support Ireland and see myself as Irish and I'm sure the vast majority of players who played for Ireland are proud of their roots. However, people like mark lawrenson I'm suspicious of.

Fisherrow Harp
15-06-2016, 03:24 PM
Used to loath him on football focus and on TV in general. Though I have warmed to him on 5 live, though it might be he doesn't get on my nerves quite as much as Alan Green used to.😊

Finn2015
15-06-2016, 03:44 PM
Used to loath him on football focus and on TV in general. Though I have warmed to him on 5 live, though it might be he doesn't get on my nerves quite as much as Alan Green used to.😊

I stand corrected! Alan green makes lawrenson look happy clappy!

15-06-2016, 03:59 PM
The man is a drain.

Agree, he is beyond miserable and seems to hate football.

15-06-2016, 04:03 PM
He's just annoying. I don't know how he's kept going for so long. He looks as though he's physically withering away.

To his credit, he played in a cracking Liverpool team so he knows what football used to be about. Whether that still applies is debatable.

15-06-2016, 04:19 PM
If it requires knowledge of football outside of the EPL he doesn't have a scooby.

If I was getting paid a fortune to swan around the world watching football I'd at least try to show a bit enthusiasm He just seems totally bored and uninterested in what he's doing.

15-06-2016, 05:04 PM
Once saw a p'ss take of him where he had a traditional thatched roof from an English cottage on his head instead of hair. Haven't taken him seriously since.

15-06-2016, 05:05 PM
Had a look at his BBC predictions and he did actually get a lot of them bang on, would've made a fair few quid following them.

He called England Russia being 1-1 which was surprising.

Fisherrow Harp
15-06-2016, 07:00 PM
Quite like Slaven Billic, he reminds me of Slavoj Zizek.

15-06-2016, 07:05 PM
Had a look at his BBC predictions and he did actually get a lot of them bang on, would've made a fair few quid following them.

He called England Russia being 1-1 which was surprising.

1-1 is his thing. Does it for all big games in EPL. Football 365s media watch page made a big thing about it.

gogsy23
15-06-2016, 07:18 PM
The man is a trumpet. There are so many poor pundits nowadays its hard to get decent ones

15-06-2016, 07:36 PM
The man is a drain.

Have to agree 100%

An absolute bore,how the Beeb don't give him the elbow I'll never know

15-06-2016, 07:47 PM
Once saw a p'ss take of him where he had a traditional thatched roof from an English cottage on his head instead of hair. Haven't taken him seriously since.

Haha i remember that, possibly on baddiel & skinner?

15-06-2016, 08:39 PM
Horrid, horrid commentator, studio analyst etc.

He sounds like I would if I was commentating on the "Prettiest Jambo baby" awards.

Simultaneously bored and disgusted, except he's getting paid a wedge to comment on top class international football.

15-06-2016, 09:39 PM
:faf::faf::faf::faf:
He has the coupon of someone trying to haud in the turtle's heid.

15-06-2016, 09:50 PM
Does anyone really call him Lauro? He doesn't strike me as one of the boys.

Another sad attempt by the Beeb to be laddish I'll be bound.

15-06-2016, 10:50 PM
He's about as positive as Andy Walker. The two of them could be used to calm down stag parties that are having a bit too much fun. Utter fun sponges the pair of them.

seanshow
15-06-2016, 10:51 PM
I wish Bbc would utilise the no commentary option on the red button and just leave the crowd noise, it takes these anglified epl loving twats off my tv ( this guy must be good because he was in Stoke city reserves...ect) I don't give a flying :)

High-On-Hibs
16-06-2016, 06:03 AM
He is the Irish equivalent of Alan Hanson. A complete bore to listen to and an erse licker for ingurland.

16-06-2016, 06:33 AM
How he continues to get a job I dont know. Uninterested, hugely negative and thinks his opinion carries some weight and lacks any knowledge outside of the EPL. He can make a good game sound dull and a bad game want you to end it all.

16-06-2016, 08:56 PM

His definitely clenching the turtles exit closed in this one.

16-06-2016, 09:18 PM
He is the Irish equivalent of Alan Hanson. A complete bore to listen to and an erse licker for ingurland.

Totally agree - made worse by the fact he really is a p***k !!

17-06-2016, 03:18 PM
His only redeeming feature is that he makes listening to Owen Hargreaves on BT sport seem not quite so bad after all.

17-06-2016, 03:55 PM
I like his nihilistic doom

https://youtu.be/ZQriRjxNKqg