View Full Version : Next weeks draw

14-06-2016, 05:21 PM
Not sure if this has been covered, but see Monday's Europa draw, will we find out for definite who we play or is there the potential for a tie v the winners of the previous round??

Just for booking up and getting holidays and giving work enough notice should I want to change. As it stands I've booked the fortnight off which isn't leaving me with many more days holiday should we progress and I need to keep some days back for Chrismas etc.

14-06-2016, 05:25 PM
I would guess there's potential for us to draw one of the first round teams and according to this - http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2017/matches/index.html those games aren't played until the 30th June & 7th July.

We might draw a team like us though who has gone straight into it in the 2nd round.

Cluny Hibs
14-06-2016, 06:34 PM
We might not find out exactly who we'll play on the 20th but at least we'll find out the home and away leg dates. Just found this on the uefa website:

Draw procedure
• Each side in each seeding group is allocated a number. Balls containing the seeded numbers are placed in one bowl, with balls for the unseeded numbers in the same group positioned in another.
• A ball is taken from each bowl and put into a large empty bowl in the middle, where they are shuffled.
• The clubs whose numbers correspond to the first ball drawn play their first game at home, against the teams whose numbers match the next ball drawn.

It might have been posted before but this is another good site for info:

http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/seedel2016.html
(http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/seedel2016.html)
Cheers.

Green Man
14-06-2016, 06:49 PM
There are 12 confirmed seeds for the second qualifying round. The other 21 seeds will have progressed from the first qualifying round. There's a good chance therefore that we won't know our actual opponents until the week before, bit of a pain for folk making travel arrangements.

Marco G
14-06-2016, 06:55 PM
There are 12 confirmed seeds for the second qualifying round. The other 21 seeds will have progressed from the first qualifying round. There's a good chance therefore that we won't know our actual opponents until the week before, bit of a pain for folk making travel arrangements.So we play a seeded team, and when we beat them we become a seeded team in the third qualifying round.

14-06-2016, 06:55 PM
If a round 2 seed is eliminated in round 1, the team that eliminated them assumes their seeding in round 2.

14-06-2016, 06:56 PM
So we play a seeded team, and when we beat them we become a seeded team in the third qualifying round.

Only if that team would have been seeded in round 3.

14-06-2016, 06:58 PM
There are 12 confirmed seeds for the second qualifying round. The other 21 seeds will have progressed from the first qualifying round. There's a good chance therefore that we won't know our actual opponents until the week before, bit of a pain for folk making travel arrangements.

:agree: Only seeded teams confirmed so far are;

Genk
Maribor
Austria Vienna
Partizan Belgrade
Maccabi Haifa
Hajduk Split
Grasshopper Zurich
Stromsgodset
Osmanlispor
Slavia Prague
BK Hacken
Panionios

If we get drawn against any of these sides, we will know by next Monday who we are playing and when we are playing the home and away legs.

If it's any other tie then we won't know until 7th July who we are playing against, although we will still know when the home and away legs will be.

Marco G
14-06-2016, 07:04 PM
Only if that team would have been seeded in round 3.So does that mean there are more unseeded teams than seeded in round 2? I had assumed we would play a seeded team or a team that had beaten a seeded team which comes to the same for us being seeded in round 3?

14-06-2016, 07:08 PM
:agree: Only seeded teams confirmed so far are;

Genk
Maribor
Austria Vienna
Partizan Belgrade
Maccabi Haifa
Hajduk Split
Grasshopper Zurich
Stromsgodset
Osmanlispor
Slavia Prague
BK Hacken
Panionios

If we get drawn against any of these sides, we will know by next Monday who we are playing and when we are playing the home and away legs.

If it's any other tie then we won't know until 7th July who we are playing against, although we will still know when the home and away legs will be.

Couple of revenge missions there. Surprised I haven't heard of Osmanlispor before, Turkish team would be a nightmare but there are a few great away teams in there.

That said, there's gonna be so many other teams added it's unlikely to be one of them.

14-06-2016, 07:09 PM
So does that mean there are more unseeded teams than seeded in round 2? I had assumed we would play a seeded team or a team that had beaten a seeded team which comes to the same for us being seeded in round 3?

Half and half I think. We'll definitely be unseeded.

14-06-2016, 07:11 PM
So does that mean there are more unseeded teams than seeded in round 2? I had assumed we would play a seeded team or a team that had beaten a seeded team which comes to the same for us being seeded in round 3?

Out of the teams who are confirmed to enter at the second qualifying round, there's 12 seeded teams and 6 unseeded teams (including us).

If we win our first tie, we'll become seeded for the third qualifying round.

Green Man
14-06-2016, 07:17 PM
The seedings for each round are done based on the club's UEFA coefficient (ours is 3.960 which places us firmly in the unseeded half of the second round draw). As the draws for the second and third rounds are made before all of the qualified teams are known, the higher coefficient is used for seeding purposes (e.g. Videoton enter in the first round but their coefficient would put them in the seeds for the second round, so whoever wins that tie will be seeded). I'm not sure if I've explained that very well, but my head hurts a bit from thinking about it so hopefully I have.

Green Man
14-06-2016, 07:20 PM
If we win our first tie, we'll become seeded for the third qualifying round.

That's not definite - if we beat a team with a fairly low coefficient e.g. Brondby or Slavia Prague, we would be unseeded in the third round.

14-06-2016, 07:21 PM
Logistical nightmare this is gonna be booking up for. I'd be happy with any the mentioned seeded teams but Prague or Greece would be brilliant

Green Man
14-06-2016, 07:33 PM
Logistical nightmare this is gonna be booking up for. I'd be happy with any the mentioned seeded teams but Prague or Greece would be brilliant

Watching Hibs in Prague would be a dream for me, I love the city. If the away leg is first I can't make it, so it would be Sod's law for us to draw Slavia!

14-06-2016, 07:35 PM
For once, can we please not get a "our season starts in Spring so we're raring to go" Scandinavian team? Would like to see us with a chance this time.

14-06-2016, 08:12 PM
That's not definite - if we beat a team with a fairly low coefficient e.g. Brondby or Slavia Prague, we would be unseeded in the third round.

True, forgot about that. :aok:

14-06-2016, 08:17 PM
As long as I can get the dates off work sorted next week the travel arrangements should be fine.

If we avoid Israel, Ukraine and Turkey I'll be pretty happy.

14-06-2016, 08:20 PM
As long as I can get the dates off work sorted next week the travel arrangements should be fine.

If we avoid Israel, Ukraine and Turkey I'll be pretty happy.

Don't really fancy a match against Partizan Belgrade either to be honest! :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=792I7sFEGy4

Green Man
14-06-2016, 08:23 PM
True, forgot about that. :aok:

Can't blame you for that, there's a lot to get your head round with the qualification process!

14-06-2016, 08:28 PM
Don't really fancy a match against Partizan Belgrade either to be honest! :greengrin

Aye that looks 'interesting' right enough.

14-06-2016, 08:36 PM
In the interests of personal safety (not that I'm adverse to a ruck, but...) I will not be travelling to Serbia, nor Turkey. I might put Russia on that list and any far flung Russian independent backwater 5 time-zones away. Other than that, I'm game for wherever.

Finn2015
14-06-2016, 08:56 PM
Can't blame you for that, there's a lot to get your head round with the qualification process!

My head hurts and tbh I'll just see what the draw brings

Skåne Hibs
14-06-2016, 09:03 PM

Shocking behaviour! Having a wee bonfire and no marshmallows or sausages!

14-06-2016, 09:05 PM

WTF? :shocked:

14-06-2016, 09:07 PM
Watching Hibs in Prague would be a dream for me, I love the city. If the away leg is first I can't make it, so it would be Sod's law for us to draw Slavia!

Yeah, I'd love Prague. Just nowhere Russian please.

14-06-2016, 09:36 PM

I had an Uncle who played for Partizan Belgrade

14-06-2016, 09:43 PM
don't want Maribor, scary people. think they'd sort oot the Russian hooligan probs nae bother :greengrin Austria, Hungary,good. Cyprus (not been) and the Estonia areas would be nice but anywhere near UKE/Crimea/Ruski might be risky and I know it's hard to get cash in this country for their currency

Edson Arantes
14-06-2016, 09:44 PM
Better be Barca or Real or I'm not going.

14-06-2016, 09:48 PM
Better be Barca or Real or I'm not going.don't be silly, they don't get us till the 4th round .

14-06-2016, 10:08 PM
Would not be going to Serbia (been once on way to macedonia)

14-06-2016, 10:41 PM
Aye that looks 'interesting' right enough.

I wonder what Andy Walker would make of it all [emoji16]

14-06-2016, 11:01 PM

Worse than 1980? :greengrin

14-06-2016, 11:05 PM
Worse than 1980? :greengrin

He would prob claim our fans running on the pitch was more dangerous than setting a stadium on fire to be honest. Anything to put the boot into us

14-06-2016, 11:06 PM
Genk, Austria Vienna, Slavia Prague or any team from Scandinavia would do me. :aok:

14-06-2016, 11:16 PM
Would not be going to Serbia (been once on way to macedonia)my son and his girl went travelling all over that area and although wary of Serbia, they raved about the people and also liked the friendliness they encountered in Albania and Macedonia.

14-06-2016, 11:19 PM
Genk, Austria Vienna, Slavia Prague or any team from Scandinavia would do me. :aok:

I quite fancy a trip to Vienna.

Finn2015
15-06-2016, 06:46 AM

An absolute disgrace no doubt😀

15-06-2016, 07:18 AM
Austria Vienna, please.

Nice wee stadium, good bier (Ottakringer), bit of culture, I already know all the transport routes to the stadium and I could meet some of my ex-colleagues.

Interesting factoid: Austria Vienna play in purple and Rapid Vienna play in green. So the whole city is Hibs' colours :greengrin

MKHIBEE
15-06-2016, 08:47 AM
This might help make some sense of the draw
http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/seedel2016.html

15-06-2016, 08:55 AM
Kazakhstan would be the worst draw. TBF anywhere you need a visa will be murder due to the short time frame. These qualifying rounds should be regionalised.

15-06-2016, 08:56 AM
Vienna would be amazing. Absolutely brilliant city and weather should be good in July time.

Dont think we would have much of a chance of progressing though.

15-06-2016, 09:18 AM
Can we get a welsh club?

paddy1875
15-06-2016, 09:41 AM
I might be daft asking this, but.... If hearts go through can we draw them?

15-06-2016, 09:42 AM

I think we can assuming they are seeded for the second round.

15-06-2016, 09:42 AM
Can we get a welsh club?

Very unlikely if we are unseeded.

paddy1875
15-06-2016, 09:44 AM

They're seeded for the 1st round, so if they win they'll be seeded in the next?

TamHibs
15-06-2016, 09:49 AM

Clubs from the same country cant draw each other until at least the quarter final stage

15-06-2016, 09:51 AM

Nope.

No two clubs from the same country can meet until after the group stages.

Prior to the draw clubs are sorted into groups of ten to twelve to ensure this doesn't happen.

paddy1875
15-06-2016, 09:51 AM
Clubs from the same country cant draw each other until at least the quarter final stage

Cheers for the info

15-06-2016, 09:54 AM

I'm in Prague for the second leg so hoping to draw Slavia with the home leg first :greengrin

MKHIBEE
15-06-2016, 10:18 AM
Can we get a welsh club?
Only if one wins their 1st round tie, they will then be seeded for the 2nd round, we are unseeded so it's possible

15-06-2016, 10:20 AM
Vienna or erm, Prague! :)

15-06-2016, 10:28 AM
I had an Uncle who played for Partizan Belgrade

Mine played for Red Star Belgrade But it was best kept unspoken :wink:

15-06-2016, 10:43 AM
Couple of revenge missions there. Surprised I haven't heard of Osmanlispor before, Turkish team would be a nightmare but there are a few great away teams in there.

That said, there's gonna be so many other teams added it's unlikely to be one of them.

Throw in Partizan Belgrade into that nutter mix. Belgrade was great with Scotland, wouldn't fancy it with club football though.

When we were there we had our own Police escort who followed us around the bars.

hibby rae
15-06-2016, 01:06 PM
Mine played for Red Star Belgrade But it was best kept unspoken :wink:

Really? I would prefer it all to be out in the open.

Finn2015
15-06-2016, 03:25 PM

We will beat them at this stage then 😄

15-06-2016, 05:00 PM

:greengrin We will leave it at that before people question our sexuality!

15-06-2016, 05:11 PM
Bit cauld in the winter though???

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

15-06-2016, 05:17 PM
Would not be going to Serbia (been once on way to macedonia)

Took trips to Bosnia and Montenegro from Croatia the past couple of days cuz. Lovely places but Belgrade currently a bit out of reach and I'm not too unhappy about that....

15-06-2016, 05:36 PM
Remember the last time we played Hadjuk Split. Can't believe it's 43 years ago.

16-06-2016, 10:41 AM
Don't know if the following link helps or confuses even more regarding the draw.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016%E2%80%9317_UEFA_Europa_League

16-06-2016, 04:22 PM
Any countries that we (as fans) wouldn't be able to go to because of VISA regulations? Or ones that would be too dangerous to go to?

16-06-2016, 08:04 PM
Slavia Prague, 2nd leg has, has to be away from home. I'm on holiday until the 18th but will gladly extend it to accommodate an away trip.

Hibs3-2
17-06-2016, 11:10 AM
Anyone know what time the draw is due to start?

17-06-2016, 11:19 AM
Anyone know what time the draw is due to start?

Champions league and Europa cup start at 11am

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
17-06-2016, 11:21 AM
Took trips to Bosnia and Montenegro from Croatia the past couple of days cuz. Lovely places but Belgrade currently a bit out of reach and I'm not too unhappy about that....

Ive been to Belgrade - we had a great time, iy was a good city.

Visiting on fitba business might be a different story though...

17-06-2016, 11:24 AM
Wouldn't fancy anywhere in eastern europe after the antics of the russian ultras tbh.

19-06-2016, 06:18 PM
Remember the last time we played Hadjuk Split. Can't believe it's 43 years ago.

This.....wow 43 years !!

19-06-2016, 06:28 PM
Wouldn't fancy anywhere in eastern europe after the antics of the russian ultras tbh.

Out of the sides who have already qualified for the seeded positions, I would be giving Serbia, Turkey, Greece, Croatia and Israel a wide berth.

I also wouldn't be going to Montenegro, Bosnia, Albania, Macedonia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Belarus or Georgia.

I would consider going anywhere else though I think.

19-06-2016, 06:33 PM
Croatia, Bosnia or Czech Republic please

Hillsidehibby
19-06-2016, 06:38 PM
Wouldn't be gutted if we got Hadjuk Split as I am in Split for the first leg. :agree:

19-06-2016, 07:15 PM
Croatians love Scots. We'll be fine there.

19-06-2016, 07:16 PM
Just back today from spending a week in Split. Magnificent city with loads of squares and harbour area for bevvys.

Great weather, the women are incredible and it's only around £1.90 a pint.

:party:

19-06-2016, 07:17 PM
Croatians love Scots. We'll be fine there.

Fantastic country as well.

I'd also fancy Bosnia if it wasn't so expensive to get to. Couple of my mates went to Sarajevo last year and absolutely loved it.

19-06-2016, 07:21 PM
Split would be great. I reckon I'd do 3 nights.

Can fly direct from Newcastle aswell.

19-06-2016, 08:55 PM

I'd also fancy Bosnia if it wasn't so expensive to get to. Couple of my mates went to Sarajevo last year and absolutely loved it.

Yup. I went into an electric shop in Rijeka for a phone charger and got it for nothing because I was Scottish :hilarious Also got a free coffee in a Split cafe as an apology because they asked me if I was from England.

Went to see Rijeka play in a Europa League qualifier and they couldn't have been nicer. Granted they then kept getting done for racism but they were nice to me.

19-06-2016, 08:58 PM
Split would be great. I reckon I'd do 3 nights.

Can fly direct from Newcastle aswell.

Jet2 fly direct from Edi, dunno what days though.

Just back from 10 days in Pogdora, about an hour out of Split. Croatia is a fantastic country.

19-06-2016, 09:02 PM
Jet2 fly direct from Edi, dunno what days though.

Just back from 10 days in Pogdora, about an hour out of Split. Croatia is a fantastic country.

They only do that route on a Sunday so you would have to stay for a week.

19-06-2016, 09:05 PM
They only do that route on a Sunday so you would have to stay for a week.

It's also an expensive time to travel from Scotland to any tourist destination

22-06-2016, 08:18 PM

Completely redundant now that we know the draw but if you book yourself a holiday to Dubrovnik, trips to both Bosnia and Montenegro are easy and cheap.
Never got as far as Sarajevo, but Mostar is worth a look.

22-06-2016, 08:42 PM
Ive been to Belgrade - we had a great time, iy was a good city.

Visiting on fitba business might be a different story though...

Belgrade is a great place, the riverboat bars at this time of the year offer up some spectacular views (if you know what I mean)! :-)