BH Hibs
14-06-2016, 02:50 PM
Well done Paul

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/6574

YAS!

3 years too. Ya dancer!

Take him into and beyond his testimonial season.

Great stuff. Congratulations Hamlin.

Fantastic, now let's quit the chopping and changing and allow him and McGregor to develop a partnership.

SJM
Good news.

There's only one Paul Hamlin!!

Gaz
Sorry typo

14-06-2016, 02:53 PM
Excellent news 👍🇳🇬🏆

Eaststandee
14-06-2016, 02:54 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ck6yezuXAAElLd6.jpg:large:flag:

MKHIBEE
14-06-2016, 02:54 PM
It's al good news from Easter Road at the moment, long may it continue

14-06-2016, 02:56 PM
Excellent news :thumbsup:

14-06-2016, 02:57 PM
And done while our manager was stated to be away on a jolly :greengrin

14-06-2016, 03:01 PM
Lennon will know some of our players pretty well already and that'll include Paul Hanlon. I'm delighted that Lennon wants Paul Hanlon as part of his team.

I hope and wonder if Stevenson will makes his cut too.

14-06-2016, 03:01 PM
Good news and hopefully we release something else shortly. Hibs have a habit of making announcements in flurries.

livi hibs 1875
14-06-2016, 03:04 PM
Good news and hopefully we release something else shortly. Hibs have a habit of making announcements in flurries.

he he. have you heard anything.

Absolutely delighted with this news ! :thumbsup:

Good news :flag::flag:

14-06-2016, 03:07 PM
MAJOR PREDICTION

Paul Hanlon will be capped by the end of this contract.

14-06-2016, 03:09 PM
Really made up with this. Could be the biggest signing of the season for us. Paul is a hibee and hope his loyalty pays off. Speaks volumes of the club when Premiership and no doubt teams from England wanted him. Well done to hibs and Paul! Can't wait for the new season. 🏆🏆🏆🏆

14-06-2016, 03:13 PM
MAJOR PREDICTION

What. His salary?

14-06-2016, 03:22 PM
So happy with this news! Vital for us.

14-06-2016, 03:24 PM
Brilliant news! :thumbsup:

14-06-2016, 03:25 PM
Great news! Paul's been a good servant to Hibs and a supporter of the club too. Really delighted for him.

GlasgowHibee
14-06-2016, 03:27 PM
Turned down Aberdeen for us, just goes to show something special is happening at this club.

Getting our best centre half who is at a good age signed up on a 3 year deal is a good piece of business. Great news!

Excellent news !!

Great progressional - top guy and understands what it means to play for Hibs !

Get buying those season tickets and support the club!

MAJOR PREDICTION

Don't know why he hasn't been capped already, Scotland havent exactly been blessed with good center backs for about ten years now.
Suppose he still has a lot to improve on.

murray26
14-06-2016, 03:28 PM
Over the moon with this news.. Great statement of intent from us.. This could be a rather enjoyable preseason..

14-06-2016, 03:29 PM
Don't know why he hasn't been capped already, Scotland havent exactly been blessed with good center backs for about ten years now.
Suppose he still has a lot to improve on.

I'm guess Paul himself would acknowledge he has developed consistency in the last two seasons - as it has been out of the top flight , it probably hasn't had the recognition it deserves

14-06-2016, 03:30 PM
excellent news :aok:

14-06-2016, 03:31 PM
Looking forward to hearing him talk and give his reasons. As well as his support of the club and wanting more success I'd imagine Lennon must've spoken to him and explained his plans.

He's one of our own
Paul Hanlon
He's one of our own.

14-06-2016, 03:32 PM
He's a class act, this is brilliant news.

14-06-2016, 03:34 PM
I'm guess Paul himself would acknowledge he has developed consistency in the last two seasons - as it has been out of the top flight , it probably hasn't had the recognition it deserves
Hasn't deterred McGinn from being capped - when the likes of an unattached 35 year old Gordon greer is being called up for pre world cup friendlies you've got to wonder whether Strachan just doesn't rate him or not.

14-06-2016, 03:40 PM
I'm a Hanlon fan and I've always thought he was a good player. He has, imo, improved over the past couple of years.

I wonder how often Strachan has seen him? If he's seen him, I'd have thought he'd be picking him ahead of the likes of Greer.

If he goes on press reports, remember we're constantly out-thought by football geniuses like Houston who shout for all to hear that to beat Hibs you just need to lump balls in the box.

Hanlon has been a feature at the centre of that defence so maybe that counts against him?

14-06-2016, 03:40 PM
Hasn't deterred McGinn from being capped - when the likes of an unattached 32 year old Gordon greer is being called up for pre world cup friendlies you've got to wonder whether Strachan just doesn't rate him or not.

35! Mental.

Hanlon's been unfortunate that he's been developing in poor Hibs teams and a couple of his injuries have been at very costly times for Hibs.

I'd imagine there's a couple of guys in the Scottish Prem who are still ahead of him but I'd expect him to be banging on the door next season when we're looking good for top 6.

aussie_hibee
14-06-2016, 03:43 PM
Brilliant news.

14-06-2016, 03:44 PM
No coincidence our form has dropped in the last three seasons during periods he's been out.

Used to think he wasn't strong enough, but he's pushed through that and become a fine centre back.

14-06-2016, 03:47 PM
Gail meltdown in 3.......2.........1.......

A cup winning legend. Fantastic news.

14-06-2016, 03:47 PM
Hasn't deterred McGinn from being capped - when the likes of an unattached 32 year old Gordon greer is being called up for pre world cup friendlies you've got to wonder whether Strachan just doesn't rate him or not.

Greer would love to be 32! Great news & a major contributor to our cup win, did i really just say that?
His goal at pbs & his pen in semi really summed him up. PS this deal was in progress long before NL joined. At most he will have rubberstamped
I think we still have a wait for 1st real NL deal.

14-06-2016, 03:49 PM
35! Mental.

Hanlon's been unfortunate that he's been developing in poor Hibs teams and a couple of his injuries have been at very costly times for Hibs.

I'd imagine there's a couple of guys in the Scottish Prem who are still ahead of him but I'd expect him to be banging on the door next season when we're looking good for top 6.
***** me my mistake, an unattached 35 year old then :rolleyes:. I personally rate McG more however giving a chance i think they can forge a good cb partnership- definitely a partnership good enough for the SPL. As for being capped I can't see it, world cup qualifiers start in sept and he has never been mentioned or been involved in any training sessions that strachan has used to give "certain players" the "experience of the international environment" as McGhee puts it.

Thegreenside
14-06-2016, 03:50 PM
Am I right in saying if he sees this contract through he will be due a testimonial?

14-06-2016, 03:52 PM
Am I right in saying if he sees this contract through he will be due a testimonial?

Should be, he made his debut in 2008 and this contract will take him to 2019

Thegreenside
14-06-2016, 03:53 PM
Should be, he made his debut in 2008 and this contract will take him to 2019

Good news, like Stevenson he deserves one

14-06-2016, 03:53 PM
Fantastic news, heard it when I was down getting my photo taken as Paul appeared with one of the club reps

14-06-2016, 03:56 PM
Great news I like Hanlon a lot :agree:

14-06-2016, 03:59 PM
Personally think we will have to go some way to get a better signing this transfer window!

Well deserved!

banarc7062
14-06-2016, 04:00 PM
What. His salary?

And this is your business, why???

14-06-2016, 04:00 PM
I'm saying nothing till I've seen what the splendid Gail has to say on this issue.

Perhaps something like:

"Never understood the Hanlon love-in. When he's not been injured he's inconsistent or even poor. You would have thought with Lennon's experience in the game he could have found somebody better. But I'll support him, like I do all Hibs players."

1875Hibees
14-06-2016, 04:05 PM
Turned down Aberdeen for us, just goes to show something special is happening at this club.
Aberdeen lol. They are competing for the Premiership title and we are in the Championship and we will still sell more season tickets than them, or certainly near the same.

1875Hibees
14-06-2016, 04:05 PM
Glad it looks like we are starting to give out more longer term deals. I hate 1 and 2 years deals.

Time For Heroes
14-06-2016, 04:06 PM
Excellent news

gogsy23
14-06-2016, 04:10 PM
Brilliant, twice now he could have left for free but again has chosen to stay. Another huge boost for the club

14-06-2016, 04:13 PM
Lennon will know some of our players pretty well already and that'll include Paul Hanlon. I'm delighted that Lennon wants Paul Hanlon as part of his team.

I hope and wonder if Stevenson will makes his cut too.

Lewis will have to prove himself all over again. As he has done many times before.

I have a feeling Lenny will like him - they're about the same height and both put in a shift!

14-06-2016, 04:22 PM
Great news. Anyone seen Gail? I'm worried.

14-06-2016, 04:24 PM
Great news. Anyone seen Gail? I'm worried.

Gail is currently in doctors asking for removal of chip on his / her shoulder....

14-06-2016, 04:51 PM
Paul's a classy defender who doesn't just lump it up the park like most Scottish Centre Backs. Very likely to be a full international in the near future IMO.

A great piece of business by the Club.

14-06-2016, 04:58 PM

Re-read his post. He isn't asking how much he is being paid.

14-06-2016, 05:01 PM
Aberdeen lol. They are competing for the Premiership title and we are in the Championship and we will still sell more season tickets than them, or certainly near the same.

"Or certainly near the same"...not quite as definitive. ;-).

LustForLeith
14-06-2016, 05:01 PM
Said on here recently that i thought he was off based on the fact that he hadn't signed a new contract and we didn't get promoted. Delighted I was wrong! :greengrin

Could be the best signing of the summer for us.

Finn2015
14-06-2016, 05:05 PM
Haven't been able to get online today so turning this on to great news. Important and vital for the season ahead. Great news

14-06-2016, 05:09 PM
No coincidence our form has dropped in the last three seasons during periods he's been out.

Used to think he wasn't strong enough, but he's pushed through that and become a fine centre back.

Haven't been his greatest fan over the years but since Stubbs installed the training to improve the squads core-strength he's got better and better. Delighted he's chosen to stay. #hibslegend

14-06-2016, 05:20 PM
Re-read his post. He isn't asking how much he is being paid.

Thanks. It was just a joke about what kind of cap he might get. Not a funny one granted.

For what it is worth I think he is only going to get better during this period of his career. This is a great piece of business by the club.

14-06-2016, 05:24 PM
In other news Hearts sign Faycal Rherras.

Sounds like a gastrointestinal complaint...

14-06-2016, 05:53 PM
Brilliant news. We've now secured Paul just as he is heading into the best years of his career. Congratulations Paul and well done Hibs :thumbsup::thumbs:

Its great being a Hibee the noo :greengrin

14-06-2016, 06:02 PM
Excellent news:thumbsup: very pleased with this

14-06-2016, 06:04 PM
#PrayForGail

14-06-2016, 06:12 PM
In other news Hearts sign Faycal Rherras.

Sounds like a gastrointestinal complaint...

Is it pronounced facial rear ass? If so it must be an illness where his face resembles an erse. Childish I know😎

Oh and fantastic news Paul has signed for 3 years, we struggle when he's not in the team. 👍

14-06-2016, 06:15 PM
I'm very happy about this as Paul is a cracking defender.
I do hope we get cracking adding some width and creativity into the team.
Very thin up top and in wide areas.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

14-06-2016, 06:19 PM
Is it pronounced facial rear ass? If so it must be an illness where his face resembles an erse. Childish I know

Oh and fantastic news Paul has signed for 3 years, we struggle when he's not in the team. 

think it's pronounced faecal

playing for a faecal football team

14-06-2016, 06:43 PM
That is fantastic news! Well done to the club and congratulations to Paul on his new deal - delighted he'll still be around for the forseeable :thumbsup:

14-06-2016, 06:58 PM
Is it pronounced facial rear ass? If so it must be an illness where his face resembles an erse. Childish I know

Oh and fantastic news Paul has signed for 3 years, we struggle when he's not in the team. 

Faecal Rear-ass.

It's what Levein suffers from when the going gets tough.

See Dens Park (1986), Sprinklergate (2016), and "The whole squad's got the squirts" (2016).

14-06-2016, 07:01 PM
Good news, especially considering the reported interest from Aberdeen.

Rasta_Hibs
14-06-2016, 07:04 PM
Well done Paul, great to have you signed on again! The defence is always better with Hanlon in it!

If another Hibs player deserves to score a last minute bullet header from a corner to win the national cup trophy then its Paul Hanlon. I hope to see it happen again!

147lothian
14-06-2016, 07:27 PM
Delighted with the news, classy central defender, Paul has came on so well in the last two years that if we were where we should be, in the spl, he would be getting caps for Scotland, IMO, im glad he see's us going up this year and has pledged his future with us, a great signing!

14-06-2016, 07:27 PM
Great to hear Legend Paul Hanlon has signed a new contract. :thumbsup:

Glory Glory

Bay Area Hibees
14-06-2016, 07:29 PM
Yes!!! Huge news

14-06-2016, 07:30 PM

No, it's pronounced 'faecal' - to match the colour of their shirts.

14-06-2016, 07:31 PM
Great news :thumbsup:

14-06-2016, 07:33 PM
Very happy with this as him and McGregor will be the best defensive pairing in the league by an absolute mile and should give us stability in that position over the next 2-3 years.

Have to say though I don't agree with others that he is an international standard centre half but more than good enough for Championsip / Premiership.

14-06-2016, 07:35 PM
Unsung hero. Great news.

14-06-2016, 07:39 PM
Very happy with this as him and McGregor will be the best defensive pairing in the league by an absolute mile and should give us stability in that position over the next 2-3 years.

Have to say though I don't agree with others that he is an international standard centre half but more than good enough for Championsip / Premiership.

Sadly Scotland aren't blessed with centre halves of that standard and that's why I think Paul should get in.

14-06-2016, 08:01 PM
Delighted to see Hanlon back, both as an individual player and because his partnership with McGregor is a good one.

14-06-2016, 08:04 PM
Think your misinterpreted the posters meaning.

14-06-2016, 08:04 PM
Excellent news. First of many good pre-season signings we hope!! :thumbsup:

14-06-2016, 08:10 PM
Probably been mentioned but what a dude - breaking off from his honeymoon to re-sign for the Hibees!

SON OF PADDY
14-06-2016, 08:28 PM
Delighted to see Hanlon back, both as an individual player and because his partnership with McGregor is a good one.

I agree completely ! Paul Hanlon was a stand out last season, as was Darren McGregor.
Brilliant news👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

14-06-2016, 08:45 PM
Not a bad first signing b Lennon Says Pauls best years are ahead of him and he (Lennon) can improve him Three year contract was probably what Paul was holding out for and gives him some greater security now he is just married
Great piece of business

14-06-2016, 09:15 PM
fantastic news. gives the club and fans a major boost of confidence. we all know the league is not going to be a "breeze" but with the players we have at the back almost secured, it's a great position to be in . would like to see big Gunnarsson on the books as he's hardly put a foot wrong anytime he played.

14-06-2016, 09:27 PM
fantastic news. gives the club and fans a major boost of confidence. we all know the league is not going to be a "breeze" but with the players we have at the back almost secured, it's a great position to be in . would like to see big Gunnarsson on the books as he's hardly put a foot wrong anytime he played.

Whilst I would also be happy to see Gunnarson back at ER, I don't think it will happen without Fontaine leaving

I cant imagine now that Forster is coming back us having 5 central defenders of that quality / cost on the wage bill when we are short in other areas

14-06-2016, 09:32 PM
I'd much rather have Gunnarson than Foster

14-06-2016, 09:32 PM
so that's a settled back line for next season then

Hanlon 3 years
Fonts 1 year left
McGregor 1 year left
Stevenson 1 year left

how the heck did i miss out our captain duh ! David Gray 1 year left...and another extension please :)

that's three contracts needing looked at when we go up next year :)

gunny away back

14-06-2016, 09:39 PM
so that's a settled back line for next season then Hanlon 3 years Fonts 1 year left McGregor 1 year left Stevenson 1 year left that's three contracts needing looked at when we go up next year :) gunny away back

I would imagine that if we are looking solid in the league around Christmas time we'll see Stevenson extend his contract...

KinchHibee
14-06-2016, 09:51 PM
Excellent news. Hopefully sees the contract through and reaches a testimonial year.

Stevenson delivered the Scottish Cup in his testimonial year... No pressure for 2018/19 Paul :greengrin

14-06-2016, 09:53 PM
who's gunny back to? not surplus to requirements there? would hope so.

14-06-2016, 09:57 PM
I would imagine that if we are looking solid in the league around Christmas time we'll see Stevenson extend his contract...

hope darren McGregor gets an extension :agree:

his parent club valerenga, got a call-up to the Norwegian squad just as he was setting out on our SC victory parade :)

14-06-2016, 09:59 PM
As tempted as forster maybe to return hes bound to look at hanlon and mcgregor as centre choice front picks, gray the natural right back. Wouldnt be surprised if he refuses it.

Delighted Hanlon is tied down, can tell from his interview he was keen to stay from the start.

14-06-2016, 10:09 PM
hope darren McGregor gets an extension :agree:

his parent club valerenga, got a call-up to the Norwegian squad just as he was setting out on our SC victory parade :)that virtually sorts that then, unless his parent club are 2nd div.? or do they want to sell? still think he will be one that slips the net which is a shame. started doing all the right stuff, at crucial times.

14-06-2016, 10:09 PM

got 6 months left on his contract with Valerenga.

I would be delighted to get him tied up on a permanent deal as i was impressed with him when he got the chance.

Forster and Gunnerson would be back up for the fullback positions but also able to operate in central defence or in a 3 man defence if needed.

14-06-2016, 10:55 PM
got 6 months left on his contract with Valerenga.

I would be delighted to get him tied up on a permanent deal as i was impressed with him when he got the chance.

Forster and Gunnerson would be back up for the fullback positions but also able to operate in central defence or in a 3 man defence if needed.

I like Gunnarson.

livi hibs 1875
14-06-2016, 11:01 PM

I like Gunnarson.
Aye i like him too ,he hit the bar in one of the wee games on the way to winning the Scottish cup final:flag:

15-06-2016, 06:49 AM
Great news for Paul and Hibs 👍

15-06-2016, 07:13 AM
so that's a settled back line for next season then

Hanlon 3 years
Fonts 1 year left
McGregor 1 year left
Stevenson 1 year left

how the heck did i miss out our captain duh ! David Gray 1 year left...and another extension please :)

that's three contracts needing looked at when we go up next year :)

gunny away back

If Jordon Forster does resign, I am not convinced Fontaine will be here.

15-06-2016, 07:43 AM
Great news and keeps the momentum going.

15-06-2016, 08:25 AM

I like Gunnarson.

So do I. Great attitude, tall, pretty decent pace, solid and useful going forward. His last ditch tackle in the Cup Final summed the guy up ! Would not be disappointed to see him back at ER. Now a Legend, of course.

15-06-2016, 08:31 AM
I think Fonts and Gunnarson may move on.

15-06-2016, 08:41 AM
If Jordon Forster does resign, I am not convinced Fontaine will be here.

I agree, latterly he was only playing a bit part, also not too keen on the astro pitches. A move back south may be good for him, I'd get Gunnarsson signed.

15-06-2016, 08:43 AM
I think Fonts and Gunnarson may move on.

Gunnarsson has moved on, back to his own club as he was only on loan.

15-06-2016, 08:49 AM
Gunnarsson has moved on, back to his own club as he was only on loan.

Ok not come back then. :greengrin

woodythehibee
15-06-2016, 08:55 AM
Delighted for Hibs and Paul.

An excellent player who acts professionally both on and off the park. Makes it even better that he's a die hard hibby too :aok::flag:

15-06-2016, 02:40 PM
Excellent news. Good to see Hibs getting things sorted out early again.

15-06-2016, 02:55 PM
Be great if we could snap up big Gunnar even at the end of his deal. He said when he joined us that he could play anywhere at the back so I assume he was also our cover for LS.

A great option when we went to 5-3-2 and he seemed to really love it here and find a connection with the club.

Super_JMcGinn
16-06-2016, 06:36 PM

Your last paragraph is where I stand, all these posts on how he has improved year on year, International class etc, what a pile of tosh, just remember his defending in the 1st leg against Falkirk for their equaliser, or should I say lack of defending when he let a guy half his size turn and get a shot away, that sums him up for me not and never will be strong enough to be a quality centre half.

Will always be a legend as part of our cup winning team and is a decent defender at this level, but let's not kid ourselves he is something he is clearly not.

Please remember that is my opinion and save your insults for someone else. :na na: This is in no way directed at this particular poster.

16-06-2016, 06:55 PM
Your last paragraph is where I stand

You've laid into him relentlessly, and said he's "not good enough". Now you're agreeing that he's "more than good enough for Championsip / Premiership"?

Got to love a good bit of revisionism. :aok:

16-06-2016, 07:14 PM
Fair enough Gail, pretty reserved really :wink:

To you and Since90+2 (great name btw!) On the international front who do you think is ahead of him for Scotland that he's not got a chance of passing?

16-06-2016, 07:20 PM
Your last paragraph is where I stand, all these posts on how he has improved year on year, International class etc, what a pile of tosh, just remember his defending in the 1st leg against Falkirk for their equaliser, or should I say lack of defending when he let a guy half his size turn and get a shot away, that sums him up for me not and never will be strong enough to be a quality centre half.

Will always be a legend as part of our cup winning team and is a decent defender at this level, but let's not kid ourselves he is something he is clearly not.

Please remember that is my opinion and save your insults for someone else. :na na: This is in no way directed at this particular poster.Hanlon is far more than a decent defender at this level. He is probably the best defender at this level.

16-06-2016, 07:34 PM
Hanlon is far more than a decent defender at this level. He is probably the best defender at this level.

He's not the best defender in this league, McGregor is.

16-06-2016, 07:36 PM
He's not the best defender in this league, McGregor is.

Opinions, opinions eh.

16-06-2016, 07:48 PM
Question - Who was the last Hibs player before Paul to score for us in 8 consecutive seasons?

Mickey Weir? Keith Wright? Arthur Duncan?

Super_JMcGinn
16-06-2016, 07:49 PM

You've laid into him relentlessly, and said he's "not good enough". Now you're agreeing that he's "more than good enough for Championsip / Premiership"?

Got to love a good bit of revisionism. :aok:

I don't accept I have laid into him relentlessly at all, I got involved in a few discussions and I dared to question his ability, I stand by what I have said about him. My main criticism of him was he can't deal with high balls into the box, I happen to think that is the primary role of a centre half, some don't, but Ii happen to think had we a Rob Jones in our defence last year instead of a Paul Hanlon we would have won the league comfortably.

There are threads and posts galore telling us what a great defender Hanlon he is, I just don't get how he escapes all the criticism that the likes of Gray Stevenson Fontaine and just about everyone else in the team receive whenever they have a sub standard performance or make a mistake, he has made plenty I can assure you, and rarely are they mentioned.

There was a poster on here who put out team ratings for the cup final and had him as our best defender saying he won all his aerial battles, I had to laugh at that because he didn't have a single header that I remember in our box in the 80 minutes he played. That happens quite regularly on here though, the poster conveniently missed his mistake with virtually his first touch of the the ball which was a howler and he gave away a silly free kick just outside the box, which thankfully came to nothing.

Anyway I'm never going to criticise a player who played a huge part in our cup win, if not in the final itself and will always be a Hibs legend in my eyes for that reason alone.

i'm sorry but I won't be replying to anyone else on the matter of Paul Hanlon ( thank goodness I hear you all say ) :greengrin GGTTH

16-06-2016, 08:00 PM
I don't accept I have laid into him relentlessly at all

I stopped reading after this blatant denial of reality.

16-06-2016, 08:02 PM
I stopped reading after this blatant denial of reality.

:greengrin:aok:

Benny Brazil
17-06-2016, 07:21 AM
I don't accept I have laid into him relentlessly at all, I got involved in a few discussions and I dared to question his ability, I stand by what I have said about him. My main criticism of him was he can't deal with high balls into the box, I happen to think that is the primary role of a centre half, some don't, but Ii happen to think had we a Rob Jones in our defence last year instead of a Paul Hanlon we would have won the league comfortably.

There are threads and posts galore telling us what a great defender Hanlon he is, I just don't get how he escapes all the criticism that the likes of Gray Stevenson Fontaine and just about everyone else in the team receive whenever they have a sub standard performance or make a mistake, he has made plenty I can assure you, and rarely are they mentioned.

There was a poster on here who put out team ratings for the cup final and had him as our best defender saying he won all his aerial battles, I had to laugh at that because he didn't have a single header that I remember in our box in the 80 minutes he played. That happens quite regularly on here though, the poster conveniently missed his mistake with virtually his first touch of the the ball which was a howler and he gave away a silly free kick just outside the box, which thankfully came to nothing.

Anyway I'm never going to criticise a player who played a huge part in our cup win, if not in the final itself and will always be a Hibs legend in my eyes for that reason alone.

i'm sorry but I won't be replying to anyone else on the matter of Paul Hanlon ( thank goodness I hear you all say ) :greengrin GGTTH

You should have just posted that.

17-06-2016, 07:57 AM
You should have just posted that.

He'll have nothing left to post now.

Jay
17-06-2016, 08:01 AM

You think that Paul Hanlon single handedly stopped us winning the league (comfortably!) ? I mean not getting us through the play offs, but actually winning the league?
Rangers finished 11 points ahead of us, I'm not sure of your definition of comfortably but let's be conservative and say you think PH lost us around 15 points?

You said it was your last word so you won't answer :)

17-06-2016, 11:02 AM
You think that Paul Hanlon single handedly stopped us winning the league (comfortably!) ? I mean not getting us through the play offs, but actually winning the league?
Rangers finished 11 points ahead of us, I'm not sure of your definition of comfortably but let's be conservative and say you think PH lost us around 15 points?

I think Gail must be an ex girlfriend of his.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Weststandwanab
17-06-2016, 11:13 AM
That would make a lot of his posts make some sense - kinda.

Super_JMcGinn
17-06-2016, 11:29 AM

I shall make an exception for you Mrs. S :greengrin.

I don't think he cost us it single-handedly no, but I do think had we a Rob Jones type in our defence it would have deterred the high ball into our box tactic that teams like Falkirk found we couldn't deal with, and cost us a few points in a few of our games at the end of the day,

A Rob Jones type would have inspired confidence in our defence as well given Ox wasn't the one for coming off his line.

Given our strength in midfield and upfront I do believe we would have won that league comfortably against an average at best Rangers team.

Again only my opinion and I am definitely retiring on that note ( in the Paul Hanlon debate that is :greengrin )

17-06-2016, 01:19 PM
I shall make an exception for you Mrs. S :greengrin.

I don't think he cost us it single-handedly no, but I do think had we a Rob Jones type in our defence it would have deterred the high ball into our box tactic that teams like Falkirk found we couldn't deal with, and cost us a few points in a few of our games at the end of the day,

A Rob Jones type would have inspired confidence in our defence as well given Ox wasn't the one for coming off his line.

Given our strength in midfield and upfront I do believe we would have won that league comfortably against an average at best Rangers team.

Again only my opinion and I am definitely retiring on that note ( in the Paul Hanlon debate that is :greengrin )

It always amazes me that you refuse to credit Hanlon for playing in the best defence in the league between the end of August and the end of February. :confused:

Benny Brazil
17-06-2016, 01:27 PM
It always amazes me that you refuse to credit Hanlon for playing in the best defence in the league between the end of August and the end of February. :confused:

And for refusing to accept that part of the reason we are in the championship is due to Paul's injury at a key stage in our relegation season.

17-06-2016, 02:00 PM
And for refusing to accept that part of the reason we are in the championship is due to Paul's injury at a key stage in our relegation season.

He also played a big part of that season and wasnt great, i like hanlon and think he is a decent player but no where near as good as some make out on this board

17-06-2016, 02:34 PM
He also played a big part of that season and wasnt great, i like hanlon and think he is a decent player but no where near as good as some make out on this board

Weren't we mid-table when he was awarded our POTY in March as he got injured?

Wasn't great, but the best we had.

17-06-2016, 02:54 PM
Weren't we mid-table when he was awarded our POTY in March as he got injured?

Wasn't great, but the best we had.

Cant mind who got player of the year but that season none of them deserved it in my opinion, as i say i like hanlon and decent enough for the level we are at but not as good as some on here make him out to be