View Full Version : What's Edinburgh got?

12-06-2016, 09:10 PM
On the train to Liverpool on Friday night,I changed at Wigan and ended up in the same carriage as a bunch of lads from the weege heading to Liverpool for the weekend. Was sitting minding my own business listening to their chat to a group of girls when the conversation turned to Edinburgh. One of them giving it all the chat to the girls said, Edinburgh's pretty crap it's full of posh folk and pretend Scots. The real Scotland is Glasgow and went on to have a conversation with a couple of older couples who said they holidayed in Edinburgh and loved it. The mouthy reply was "Naw man you it aw wrong, what do yer think Edinburgh has that Glesgae disnae"? I couldn't resist, sitting with my back to them I shouted "The Scottish Cup".

"Aw for **** sake big man yer no a Hibby are yeh" was his reply. Cue a rendition of Stokesys on fire from his mates who it turns out are Celtic fans and he was the token Ger. Made my night 😀

12-06-2016, 09:12 PM
Good man!

Weegies are jealous of Edinburgh.

12-06-2016, 09:18 PM
Good man.

What does Edinburgh have that Glasgow doesn't? Haha, where do you start.

12-06-2016, 09:19 PM
Good man.

A road to Glasgow?

Callum7
12-06-2016, 09:20 PM
Good man.

class.

12-06-2016, 09:21 PM
Well played.

I like Edinburgh and Glasgow tbh, they both have different things going for them. I know a lot of Edinburghers who feel the same, I've yet to meet a weegie willing to concede Edinburgh has any positives. A lot of the people I have encountered seem to have a bit of a chip on the shoulder.

SJM
12-06-2016, 09:23 PM
Glasgow and it's shops and pubs is a great day out if you're in the city centre, the further you get away from it walking over the Clyde bridges it's complete dumps.

Fantastic reply. That, David Gray, Easter Road and the castle.

12-06-2016, 09:24 PM
Glasgow is home to some wonderful music tbh.

12-06-2016, 09:26 PM
Afraid a lot of Glaswegians have a massive inferiority complex.

They feel the need to put down Edinburgh, whereas to most of us through here, Glasgow is an irrelevance.

Certainly 9 times out of 10 when I hear about these type of "debates" they have been started by someone from the west (who is most likely not even from Glasgow, just one of the dump like new towns on the edge).

Finn2015
12-06-2016, 09:27 PM
I think Edinburgh is better for tourists, retained an atmosphere and history whereas Glasgow is more commercialised. That's my feeling any way

12-06-2016, 09:30 PM
Glasgow is home to some wonderful music tbh.

Circa 1986 I was privy to watching the Bundhu Boys live for about 3 months in a little bar on St Vincent Street as they had a manager based in Glasgow. Some of the best live music I've ever seen and I once got very drunk with Andy Kershaw who later promoted the band.

I like the city.

12-06-2016, 09:39 PM
I had a couple of nights in Glasgow in 2016 and watched my team win the Scottish Cup final.

12-06-2016, 09:50 PM
Edinburgh used to win hands down imo but it's closer than it used to be.

Edinburgh has gone down hill in a number of ways within the last 20 years. Pubs, shopping, nightlife, music venues etc I think Glasgow wins hands down.

I've always liked Glasgow but could never live there. It's a bit too "in your face" and the "friendliness" of the people wears me down. I prefer to keep myself to myself.

Having said that I loved living in Dundee so what do I know.

DAVE1875
12-06-2016, 09:51 PM
They're both miles better than Aberdeen

12-06-2016, 09:53 PM
Baths?

12-06-2016, 09:57 PM
When I first started work at 18 my boss was a weegie ... we became firm friends and a funnier nicer guy you couldn't meet, he wasn't a fitba fan more into books and hill walking and a guid pint .. a fantastic bloke and it broke my heart when I heard he had been killed in a car crash a few years after he left the Borders.

When me and my mate found ourselves penniless and trying to get back to Edinburgh from the weegie after a game at St Mirren (during the George Best era) a guy in Glasgow gave us enough money to get a bus to the outskirts and another guy .. a night watchman at a factory on the outskirts gave us a cup of tea.

When they aren't in big groups and especially groups of fitba fans weegies are some of the nicest people you will meet.

But having said that Edinburgh kicks Glasgow's arse in so many ways it's a waste of time even trying to make a comparison .. it truly is one of the worlds great cities for the arts, culture and at times is heartbreakingly beautiful to look at .... and in spite of what the weegies like to say the folk have great character too ... they just don't go around making a big noise about it.

12-06-2016, 10:08 PM
Think its fair to say Glasgows cornered the hate filled sectarianism market.

12-06-2016, 10:47 PM
I think Edinburgh is better for tourists, retained an atmosphere and history whereas Glasgow is more commercialised. That's my feeling any way

12-06-2016, 10:52 PM
Edinburgh is a big town that does a great line in tourist tat.

Glasgow is a proper city.

12-06-2016, 11:19 PM

Its not proper enough to be the Capital though eh?

12-06-2016, 11:34 PM

Interesting take. Having left it 15 years ago and worked all over I realise Edinburgh is an international destination, Glasgow not so. Edinburgh is a cultural capital that hosts the biggest arts festival (still) in the world. Smaller than Glasgow - and growing faster - but still a city (Inverness now is for God's sake...) A sizeable financial centre, a parliament (which Glasgow wanted as an independent one more than Edinburgh to my disgust) 4 universities, several cathedrals.. There are more Michelin restaurants in Leith alone than Glasgow. An architectural wonder. A very good pub scene.

I like Glasgow personally - probably better shops, very good music and art scene - but find they have a real chip on their shoulder being the bigger city but in the shadow of the capital (which exempting football no-one would really dispute.) Glasgow also has a grass root sectarian problem that is too easily dismissed as local 'banter'. There's a good bit of tourist tat in Edinburgh but a lot more to it than that.

Both different cities in their own right. Both very good places to live on the whole and the fact they are not so far apart helps Scotlands economy massively - you can live in one and work in the other. But seeing as Glasgow got a very raw deal in its loss of heavy industry (an absolute disgrace BTW) Edinburgh is the powerhouse in Scottish issues like it or not.

It also has the Hibees!

12-06-2016, 11:37 PM

Niddrie, Muirhouse, Mordun etc, sick of all the tourist tat shops round those parts.

Nutmegged
12-06-2016, 11:46 PM
During the day then Edinburgh for me but for nightlife Glasgow is always far superior, great bands from their too.

To be honest I've never been a one or the other type of guy, both Cities best points are so of the best in the UK in my opinion.

12-06-2016, 11:51 PM

What does that even mean? ... you can buy any amount of tat in Amsterdam, London, Munich, New York, the list is endless, I presume they aren't "proper" cities either :faf:

13-06-2016, 12:42 AM
Leith born and bred and think Edinburgh is a tremendous city. Where else do you get a sea front, castle, mountains and a river all rolled in to one?

I used to have a massive bias towards Edinburgh but that has waned hugely over the past few years having spent more time in Glasgow. Though their ***** bits are way *****r than our ***** bits.

13-06-2016, 12:52 AM
pmsl@not a proper city :hilarious

back on topic,

Edinburgh has a castle, a stunning castle

it also has Arthurs Seat.....gawjus

it's chippies have Salt and Sauce... :agree:

13-06-2016, 12:55 AM
Glasgow has a better music scene.

13-06-2016, 01:32 AM
Circa 1986 I was privy to watching the Bundhu Boys live for about 3 months in a little bar on St Vincent Street as they had a manager based in Glasgow. Some of the best live music I've ever seen and I once got very drunk with Andy Kershaw who later promoted the band.

I like the city.

Jeez, that's a lengthy gig.

13-06-2016, 03:10 AM

Edinburgh and Glasgow are roughly the same size. Never got the "Glasgow is big and Edinburgh small" nonsense (normally the media). You never hear Belfast (330k approx population) Newcastle (280k approx population) referred to as wee city's yet they are nearly half the size of Edinburgh - approx 500k / Glasgow - approx 600k

Kinda reminds me of the Yams.

13-06-2016, 06:11 AM

You missed out the obsession with sectarianism, the hundreds of idiotic parades, the Buckfast obesession, the high crime rate and the lower life expectancy.

AltheHibby
13-06-2016, 06:33 AM
Edinburgh and Glasgow are roughly the same size. Never got the "Glasgow is big and Edinburgh small" nonsense (normally the media). You never hear Belfast (330k approx population) Newcastle (280k approx population) referred to as wee city's yet they are nearly half the size of Edinburgh - approx 500k / Glasgow - approx 600k

Kinda reminds me of the Yams.

To be fair to the weegies (and that's a phrase I'll never use again), I remember Edinburgh being about 330k and Glasgow was at one time nearly 1,000k.

Renfrew_Hibby
13-06-2016, 06:39 AM
I'm a west coast boy but a Hibs fan so I can see positives and negatives in both places. Weegies tend to instantly dismiss Edinburgh when ever it comes up in conversation which pisses me off, they love themselves a bit too much.
What's amazing and also sad is that for such a small country and for only being 50 miles apart, many Glaswegians have never been to Edinburgh at all and everything's an assumption.
I even had one guy tell me that the tattoo was filmed in a studio and was no way filmed at a real castle... For real!
I like what both cities have to offer but first and foremost i'm a Scot and Scotland has been shaped by both cities and would be a poorer place without one or the other.
Edinburgh really could be doing with a venue like the Hydro though... Its simply world class and if you've never been, get yourself along one day.

13-06-2016, 06:48 AM
I like both, but Leith beats them both hands down. :top marks

Plus i do like a wash in the morning and soap definitely helps wash the grime away, so Edinburgh shades the weege just for that alone.

13-06-2016, 06:51 AM
I'm a west coast boy but a Hibs fan so I can see positives and negatives in both places. Weegies tend to instantly dismiss Edinburgh when ever it comes up in conversation which pisses me off, they love themselves a bit too much.
What's amazing and also sad is that for such a small country and for only being 50 miles apart, many Glaswegians have never been to Edinburgh at all and everything's an assumption.
I even had one guy tell me that the tattoo was filmed in a studio and was no way filmed at a real castle... For real!
I like what both cities have to offer but first and foremost i'm a Scot and Scotland has been shaped by both cities and would be a poorer place without one or the other.
Edinburgh really could be doing with a venue like the Hydro though... Its simply world class and if you've never been, get yourself along one day.

The part about many people from Glasgow never having visited Edinburgh is where I was going with my chip on the shoulder comment.

Off the hundreds of thousands of people who visit Edinburgh for the Festival each year one of the smallest percentages of visitors is those from Glasgow. 50 miles along the road and some perceived ideas about Edinburgh stop them coming along. I think a few are scared they might end up enjoying themselves.

13-06-2016, 06:55 AM
To be fair to the weegies (and that's a phrase I'll never use again), I remember Edinburgh being about 330k and Glasgow was at one time nearly 1,000k.

The 1m figure is the population of 'Greater Glasgow' according g to Google. Not sure what area that covers though.

13-06-2016, 07:04 AM
The 1m figure is the population of 'Greater Glasgow' according g to Google. Not sure what area that covers though.

Not exactly sure but I'd assume places like Paisley, Barrhead, Clydebank?

13-06-2016, 07:07 AM
I recall being at a dinner and winding some people up. "He's a wonderful chap, and he comes from that big run-down housing scheme on the west side of Edinburgh, what's it called again?"

The responses were predictable: "Wester Hailes? Sighthill? Muirhouse? Clermiston" etc

"No...Glasgow, I think that's what they call it."

13-06-2016, 07:09 AM
Greater Glasgow
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greater_Glasgow?wprov=sfla1

13-06-2016, 07:11 AM
The part about many people from Glasgow never having visited Edinburgh is where I was going with my chip on the shoulder comment.

Off the hundreds of thousands of people who visit Edinburgh for the Festival each year one of the smallest percentages of visitors is those from Glasgow. 50 miles along the road and some perceived ideas about Edinburgh stop them coming along. I think a few are scared they might end up enjoying themselves.

In fairness, that probably goes both ways. There will be many from Edinburgh who wouldn't ever think of going to Glasgow, apart from maybe the airport.

13-06-2016, 07:23 AM
In fairness, that probably goes both ways. There will be many from Edinburgh who wouldn't ever think of going to Glasgow, apart from maybe the airport.

I'd imagine alot of people don't see any reason to go to Glasgow other than for an event, we have the majority of what they have on our doorstep. I've only ever been for Hibs games, Scotland games and the airport for no reason other than I just don't have a reason to go.

13-06-2016, 07:23 AM
Glasgow should be the rest of Scotland's favourite place as it's provided a sanctuary for some real bigots when none of the rest of the country would want them living amongst us on that scale every day.

13-06-2016, 07:27 AM

I'm definitely in that group. I wouldn't go to that west coast toilet for anything other than a Hibs or Scotland game.

13-06-2016, 07:27 AM
Even though I'm Edinburgh born and bread, I think Glasgow is a magic city...Glasgow's west end is one of my favourite city places to spend time...great green spaces, quirk shops and lots to do.....

some great bars and restaurants across the city...got a big city feel about it...

Both places are great...if you do not know Glasgow well, t's worth creating some time to get to know it...quite different from Edinburgh in a number of ways.

cocteautwin
13-06-2016, 07:29 AM
I live in a ship building town in China and there's a fair few Scots here. All the guys from Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh etc are great. The guys from west are just drunken trouble. It really does make me wonder what the hell goes on in Glasgow, the amount of f****d up mental cases it produces.

13-06-2016, 07:55 AM
Soap.

13-06-2016, 07:59 AM
Two world class cities only 40 odd miles apart - our nation has something truly unique. Never got involved in the petty anti - Glasgow nonsense that a lot of Edinburgh folk indulge in.

13-06-2016, 08:03 AM
I live in a ship building town in China and there's a fair few Scots here. All the guys from Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh etc are great. The guys from west are just drunken trouble. It really does make me wonder what the hell goes on in Glasgow, the amount of f****d up mental cases it produces.
They are nervous about flying. When we read of disruption on passenger aircraft it's often Glaswegians who are involved.

13-06-2016, 08:07 AM
On the train to Liverpool on Friday night,I changed at Wigan and ended up in the same carriage as a bunch of lads from the weege heading to Liverpool for the weekend. Was sitting minding my own business listening to their chat to a group of girls when the conversation turned to Edinburgh. One of them giving it all the chat to the girls said, Edinburgh's pretty crap it's full of posh folk and pretend Scots. The real Scotland is Glasgow and went on to have a conversation with a couple of older couples who said they holidayed in Edinburgh and loved it. The mouthy reply was "Naw man you it aw wrong, what do yer think Edinburgh has that Glesgae disnae"? I couldn't resist, sitting with my back to them I shouted "The Scottish Cup".

"Aw for **** sake big man yer no a Hibby are yeh" was his reply. Cue a rendition of Stokesys on fire from his mates who it turns out are Celtic fans and he was the token Ger. Made my night 😀

Like your response very much. You could have simply used a one word reply "dignity"

13-06-2016, 08:17 AM
If you want info on the populations use the Census data

http://www.scotlandscensus.gov.uk/ods-web/home.html

Population
Glasgow - 593,245 Edinburgh - 476,626

Density Population per square kilometer
Glasgow - 3,396 Edinburgh - 1,810

So there you have it, Glasgow is more dense than Edinburgh :greengrin

13-06-2016, 08:36 AM
The accent and dialect in the west makes me cringe, I've no idea why it just really grips my faeces.

13-06-2016, 08:43 AM
The accent and dialect in the west makes me cringe, I've no idea why it just really grips my faeces.

I'm the same with the Edinburgh accent and I'm from here lol

13-06-2016, 08:46 AM
I'm the same with the Edinburgh accent and I'm from here lol

Really? Hmmm I find the Edinburgh accent quite subtle and I really like it :greengrin

High-On-Hibs
13-06-2016, 08:50 AM
Edinburgh is full of people whos heads are so far up their own erches. Leith seems to be the exception.

13-06-2016, 08:55 AM
Me.

Finn2015
13-06-2016, 09:15 AM
Each to their own I think it depends what you are looking for

13-06-2016, 09:16 AM
Edinburgh is full of people whos heads are so far up their own erches. Leith seems to be the exception.

It's a white middle class thing.

High-On-Hibs
13-06-2016, 09:18 AM
It's a white middle class thing.

Too many "I'm alright jack" Conservatives.

13-06-2016, 09:43 AM
I recall being at a dinner and winding some people up. "He's a wonderful chap, and he comes from that big run-down housing scheme on the west side of Edinburgh, what's it called again?"

The responses were predictable: "Wester Hailes? Sighthill? Muirhouse? Clermiston" etc

"No...Glasgow, I think that's what they call it."

:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

Outstanding! Do you have it copyrighted, or might I use it on occasion myself?

Really? Hmmm I find the Edinburgh accent quite subtle and I really like it :greengrin

Aye - if you can find it these days.

I remember reading that a major airline once did a survey to see what accent passengers found most confidence-inspiring for those "This is your captain speaking ..."messages from the cockpit, and the Edinburgh accent came out tops.

Compared to the Glasgow accent, the Edinburgh accent communicated strength, intelligence, courtesy and competence ....

.... and every second word didn't begin with the letter 'f'. :wink:

13-06-2016, 10:19 AM
:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

Outstanding! Do you have it copyrighted, or might I use it on occasion myself?

Aye - if you can find it these days.

I remember reading that a major airline once did a survey to see what accent passengers found most confidence-inspiring for those "This is your captain speaking ..."messages from the cockpit, and the Edinburgh accent came out tops.

Compared to the Glasgow accent, the Edinburgh accent communicated strength, intelligence, courtesy and competence ....

.... and every second word didn't begin with the letter 'f'. :wink:
Funny you should mention that, I recently had an English colleague ask me what a guy from Glasgow who was presenting to us had said!

13-06-2016, 10:30 AM

:top marks Couldn't agree more.

13-06-2016, 10:39 AM
Even though I'm Edinburgh born and bread, I think Glasgow is a magic city...Glasgow's west end is one of my favourite city places to spend time...great green spaces, quirk shops and lots to do.....

some great bars and restaurants across the city...got a big city feel about it...

Both places are great...if you do not know Glasgow well, t's worth creating some time to get to know it...quite different from Edinburgh in a number of ways.

Agree with a lot of this. I like Glasgow and the music scene is great.

But as for it being a 'big city' - Glasgow has that chip on its shoulder and is surprisingly parochial in many ways.

Edinburgh is much smaller but has a global reputation and an international outlook. It punches above its weight.

13-06-2016, 10:45 AM

All those places in Edinburgh outside Leith full of people with their heads up their own erches, Niddrie, Muirhouse, Mordun etc. Must be that middle class tory thing.

13-06-2016, 10:50 AM
Agree with a lot of this. I like Glasgow and the music scene is great.

But as for it being a 'big city' - Glasgow has that chip on its shoulder and is surprisingly parochial in many ways.

Edinburgh is much smaller but has a global reputation and an international outlook. It punches above its weight.

I don't witness the chip on the shoulder thing in Glasgow - any more than the general chips us Scots have about a number of things....what I do see though is a positive to the parochial mindset in Glasgow - they have a great sense of local community...many people and places work together for local good...it happens in Edinburgh too in a number of places...Scotland at it's finest.....

AltheHibby
13-06-2016, 10:53 AM
Boston,

A few years ago there was a job advertised for a translator to translate from Wedgie to English for foreign businessmen who only spoke proper English.

The guy who got it was a guy I knew who spoke Spanish and French.

13-06-2016, 10:53 AM
Edinburgh is more photogenic.

But Glasgow trumps it. The atmosphere is superb, its a great place to live.

stuart-farquhar
13-06-2016, 11:02 AM
Edinburgh is more photogenic.

But Glasgow trumps it. The atmosphere is superb, its a great place to live.

Atmosphere? Big? I don't think it is any better than anywhere else. Edinburgh has a city centre as big as Glasgow. Edinburgh is way way more diverse and sophisticated. sure there are nice shops. Nice shops anywhere. And as someone who has been with a GlaswegIan at very close quarters they will immediately try and trump anything that anyone praises Edinburgh for. I wonder why that is eh!

13-06-2016, 11:17 AM
Edinburgh people tend to spend a lot of time justifying their superiority.

13-06-2016, 11:24 AM

At least they've got superiority to justify. 😋

Glaswegians spend a lot of their time berating Edinburgh.

13-06-2016, 11:25 AM
This thread is now turning into an example of a bad Limmy sketch.....

13-06-2016, 11:32 AM

Got any examples of that? I find it doesn't take long at all to justify my superiority. :na na:

I socialised in Glasgow for quite a few years when my girlfriend lived there. Practically every 3rd conversation I had on meeting someone through there for the first time started with "Glasgow's better than....", "Glasgow should be the capital....", "Irvine Welsh is actually from Glasgow because there aren't any working class people in Edinburgh so how could he write stories like that....": amongst other uber-parachocial pesh. I ended up agreeing wholeheartedly with every assumption put to me just to shut their whinging up. Confused a lot of them who were just out for wind-up or a "heated debate".

One reply I enjoyed employing;

Weegie "Edinburgh people are all snobs."
Me "Shut-it or I'll get my butler to kick yer *** in."

Fact is given that both cities have a lot in common there is also a huge difference in cultures, whether that be middle class culture, working class culture or whatever and those differences can't be expressed in dinky little wind-up phrases like the one above. I like many aspects of the Weege, however there are aspects to Glasgow which are just abhorrent and until they stop hating each other and themselves so much they'll never change. Or they could all just get stuck into that deep-fried-everything diet they love so much and end up extinct.

13-06-2016, 11:34 AM

"Aw for **** sake big man yer no a Hibby are yeh" was his reply. Cue a rendition of Stokesys on fire from his mates who it turns out are Celtic fans and he was the token Ger. Made my night 

:hilarious Great story.

13-06-2016, 11:39 AM
Jeez, that's a lengthy gig.

13-06-2016, 11:41 AM

Despite the fact that the vast majority of Edinburgh voters and public are not Conservatives?

13-06-2016, 11:51 AM
Got any examples of that? I find it doesn't take long at all to justify my superiority. :na na:

I socialised in Glasgow for quite a few years when my girlfriend lived there. Practically every 3rd conversation I had on meeting someone through there for the first time started with "Glasgow's better than....", "Glasgow should be the capital....", "Irvine Welsh is actually from Glasgow because there aren't any working class people in Edinburgh so how could he write stories like that....": amongst other uber-parachocial pesh. I ended up agreeing wholeheartedly with every assumption put to me just to shut their whinging up. Confused a lot of them who were just out for wind-up or a "heated debate".

One reply I enjoyed employing;

Weegie "Edinburgh people are all snobs."
Me "Shut-it or I'll get my butler to kick yer *** in."

Fact is given that both cities have a lot in common there is also a huge difference in cultures, whether that be middle class culture, working class culture or whatever and those differences can't be expressed in dinky little wind-up phrases like the one above. I like many aspects of the Weege, however there are aspects to Glasgow which are just abhorrent and until they stop hating each other and themselves so much they'll never change. Or they could all just get stuck into that deep-fried-everything diet they love so much and end up extinct.

I've lived in Glasgow for 20 years and have never once had that conversation. Mind you Glasgow is a proper city and so people are bound to have different experiences of the place.

13-06-2016, 12:01 PM
I've lived in Glasgow for 20 years and have never once had that conversation.

You should get out more.

Mind you Glasgow is a proper city and so people are bound to have different experiences of the place.

It's a right proper, proper city.

13-06-2016, 12:02 PM

I would contend that the reverse is true ..... it seems to me that if you don't immediately tell a weegie how wonderful Glasgow and its people are it wont take them long to start telling you.

In the OP the poster said the Glasgow lads were saying Glasgow is the real Scotland .... I would contend that Glasgow does not reflect what the rest of Scotland is like at all, from that perspective it certainly is its own place, in both good and bad ways to be fair .... it is a reflection though of the perception many English people have that all Scottish people sound like Glaswegians and in a way the Glasgow dominated media is to blame for that.

As far as entertainment and the media goes Glasgow utterly dominates the agenda in Scotland. How many of the shows and programmes produced by BBC Scotland are centred in and around Glasgow? When was the last time the BBC produced a drama and especially a comedy programme located in Aberdeen or Dundee or even Edinburgh? In how many shows they produce do you hear an Aberdeen or Edinburgh accent? Even the superb Gary Tank commander had one Edinburgh accent in the magnificent Greg McHugh .... the rest of the cast were almost exclusively west coast actors.

In Edinburgh BBC Scotland has one of the worlds great backdrops to present its flagship news programmes in front of .... instead of that the background is a muckle depressing looking crane and a river that never even seems to have any boats on it ........ what a poor image to present to the rest of the world.

As for the Daily Record ..... it might come as a shock to them, but jimmy the scars being shot in the leg in a Glasgow gangland bust up over ice cream van turf is not national news worthy of the front page, nobody outside of Glasgow gives a ****. Perhaps its no coincidence that its being outsold by the odious Sun.

13-06-2016, 12:06 PM
I took your argument seriously until you said gary tank commander was funny. Unwatchable trash.

13-06-2016, 12:10 PM
Boston,

A few years ago there was a job advertised for a translator to translate from Wedgie to English for foreign businessmen who only spoke proper English.

The guy who got it was a guy I knew who spoke Spanish and French.
[emoji1]

13-06-2016, 12:11 PM
As for the Daily Record ..... it might come as a shock to them, but jimmy the scars being shot in the leg in a Glasgow gangland bust up over ice cream van turf is not national news worthy of the front page, nobody outside of Glasgow gives a ****. Perhaps its no coincidence that its being outsold by the odious Sun.

I'd love to read about all the Glasgow gangsters in those serialised things they do in the papers but I find I just never have the time, usually polishing the Bentley or making time-tables for the servants . Those stories must be full of so much glamour and panache, just like the Hollywood movies. Right?

At least they've got superiority to justify. 😋

Glaswegians spend a lot of their time berating Edinburgh.

I live there and they really don't. Why do you choose to live in edinburgh?

Glasgow has a real sense of history, about half the population refuses to move beyond 1690

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-06-2016, 12:14 PM
I've lived in Glasgow for 20 years and have never once had that conversation. Mind you Glasgow is a proper city and so people are bound to have different experiences of the place.

What does this even mean? A 'proper' city?

I went to Glasgow Uni, and i liked it, Glasgow definitely has some good points as a city, and there are some lovely bits.

But Edinburgh is generally a much better city to visit, live in and be in. And the numbers back it up - Edinburgh is a growing city, Glasgow is a city in long-term, inexorable decline. Also property prices, attainment, life expectancy etc.

Like most people everywhere, Weegies are mostly good folk. But there is a breed of insufferable chip-on-their-shoulder weegies that make my blood boil. The kind that get steaming, have terrible banter than imposes itself upon everyone within earshot then think you're a snob because you don't find their particular brand of bawbaggery to be hilarious.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-06-2016, 12:17 PM
I would contend that the reverse is true ..... it seems to me that if you don't immediately tell a weegie how wonderful Glasgow and its people are it wont take them long to start telling you.

In the OP the poster said the Glasgow lads were saying Glasgow is the real Scotland .... I would contend that Glasgow does not reflect what the rest of Scotland is like at all, from that perspective it certainly is its own place, in both good and bad ways to be fair .... it is a reflection though of the perception many English people have that all Scottish people sound like Glaswegians and in a way the Glasgow dominated media is to blame for that.

As far as entertainment and the media goes Glasgow utterly dominates the agenda in Scotland. How many of the shows and programmes produced by BBC Scotland are centred in and around Glasgow? When was the last time the BBC produced a drama and especially a comedy programme located in Aberdeen or Dundee or even Edinburgh? In how many shows they produce do you hear an Aberdeen or Edinburgh accent? Even the superb Gary Tank commander had one Edinburgh accent in the magnificent Greg McHugh .... the rest of the cast were almost exclusively west coast actors.

In Edinburgh BBC Scotland has one of the worlds great backdrops to present its flagship news programmes in front of .... instead of that the background is a muckle depressing looking crane and a river that never even seems to have any boats on it ........ what a poor image to present to the rest of the world.

Excellent post.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-06-2016, 12:21 PM

Yeah.

The hordes of Labour MPs and MSPs from Glasgow are really dragging the country down.

Funny, cause both my MSP and MP are Labour. Nobdy in Glasgow could say that.

Plus, i could have sworn it was Glasgow where pro-independence protesters were attacked by British nationalists. Such a friendly, 'Scottish' city right enough.

13-06-2016, 12:26 PM
I can never tell if a night out in Glasgow is going to be brilliant, or end in a square go. Same when weegies are through here, either a great laugh or starting a fight.

You're just as likely to get a good night in Edinburgh, without the hassle.

13-06-2016, 12:29 PM
This thread really is like a parody of itself...

these "my city is better than your city" posts are ironically demonstrating the points that their opposite numbers are making...

13-06-2016, 12:30 PM
The friendly city of Glasgow where they canny play a local game of fitba after 12 noon for fear the natives will be (even more uncontrollably reeking) and chib eachother and/or go on a spree of domestic abuse when they get hame. Source: the last **** knows how many years.

The wonderful city of Glasgow with a higher crime rate per head, particularly with knives and violent crime.

Glasgow; home to celtic and rangers.

The truth be told, Glasgow does and always has had a better music scene than Edinburgh. No disputing that and its also fair to say a number of great bands have come from the weej. Also fair to say a number of good fitba players have come from the weej too including the King. In fact, the best thing to come from Glasgow is the King.

The King, and the M8 east.

....meanwhile back in the middle-class haven we all call hame, full of torries and up our own heid ****ers (who rarely see the need to bang on about our city being "better" than theirs like some playground politician with a chip on their shoulder), we all know there IS nae debate.

Pesants :greengrin

NB Edinburgh also has Hibs.

FROM THE CAPITAL.

ENDOF :aok::na na::na na::na na::na na:

stuart-farquhar
13-06-2016, 12:31 PM
Excellent post.

Indeed. And the not so subtle method of always tfyingbt9 make Edinburgh seem small. The bbc for example describe any event or incident in Glasgow by Street then district the even south north etc. Edinburgh usually gets a street. So small you see. Once noticed it's so obvious.

13-06-2016, 12:34 PM
I agree. There's far too many pretentious pricks in Edinburgh. I also hate the way Edinburgh council is doing everything it can to piss people off in order to make themselves look more like the big European cities.

13-06-2016, 12:36 PM
People can say what they want about Glasgow and can slag off weegies who have never been to Edinburgh but I'll bet there's plenty folks who have never been to Glasgow. It's a fantastic city with plenty going on and to do. While it's got some asp holes and some dodgy areas in truth, the same could be said about Edinburgh. I think their both fantastic cities and being a Hibs fan living in Glasgow, I get the best of both worlds :thumbsup:

13-06-2016, 12:36 PM

You're being deliberately antagonistic now. It's pathetic behaviour.

Glasgow is a city. Edinburgh is a city. You may prefer one to the other, but both are "proper" cities.

13-06-2016, 12:41 PM
I live there and they really don't. Why do you choose to live in edinburgh?

I live in York.

Almost everytime I work in Glasgow, which is often, someone makes a comment about me being from Edinburgh, like "That's a shame" or worse.

For some of them, it is merely gentle ribbing, for others there is a deep seated bitterness. It's pointless and stupid.

Ironically, your "proper city" crap is an example.

13-06-2016, 12:45 PM
The friendly city of Glasgow where they canny play a local game of fitba after 12 noon for fear the natives will be (even more uncontrollably reeking) and chib eachother and/or go on a spree of domestic abuse when they get hame. Source: the last **** knows how many years.

The wonderful city of Glasgow with a higher crime rate per head, particularly with knives and violent crime.

Glasgow; home to celtic and rangers.

The truth be told, Glasgow does and always has had a better music scene than Edinburgh. No disputing that and its also fair to say a number of great bands have come from the weej. Also fair to say a number of good fitba players have come from the weej too including the King. In fact, the best thing to come from Glasgow is the King.

The King, and the M8 east.

....meanwhile back in the middle-class haven we all call hame, full of torries and up our own heid ****ers (who rarely see the need to bang on about our city being "better" than theirs like some playground politician with a chip on their shoulder), we all know there IS nae debate.

Pesants :greengrin

NB Edinburgh also has Hibs.

FROM THE CAPITAL.

ENDOF :aok::na na::na na::na na::na na:

Pat Stanton was born in Edinburgh.

13-06-2016, 12:49 PM
I can never tell if a night out in Glasgow is going to be brilliant, or end in a square go. Same when weegies are through here, either a great laugh or starting a fight.

You're just as likely to get a good night in Edinburgh, without the hassle.

Going to Glasgow with Hibs isn't the same as going to Glasgow with the Mrs for a night out or going to see a gig with a few mates. Think some people really need to differentiate here. Also, hate to break it to you but I've seen and been involved in some hassle whilst on a night out in Edinburgh.

13-06-2016, 12:53 PM
Glaswegians in many ways remind me of Hearts fans. If you have to continually tell anyone daft enough to listen you are the funniest and friendliest people in the world then it's probably not true. Same as if you have to keep reminding people you are a 'big team' the same applies.

Glasgow is a great place but all the 'proper city', 'salt of the earth', 'working class camaraderie' stuff grates after hearing it the 750th time.

13-06-2016, 12:56 PM
Glaswegians will be biased, as will we. Let's ask the tourists. They will say Edinburgh way more often than not.

13-06-2016, 01:03 PM
Glasgow is a great place but all the 'proper city', 'salt of the earth', 'working class camaraderie' stuff grates after hearing it the 750th time.

Hardly think you're qualified to judge if you've only been there on two short visits.

13-06-2016, 01:16 PM
People can say what they want about Glasgow and can slag off weegies who have never been to Edinburgh but I'll bet there's plenty folks who have never been to Glasgow. It's a fantastic city with plenty going on and to do. While it's got some asp holes and some dodgy areas in truth, the same could be said about Edinburgh. I think their both fantastic cities and being a Hibs fan living in Glasgow, I get the best of both worlds :thumbsup:

I've lived in both and they're both great. Prefer Edinburgh though for 3 reasons - drier, more photogenic, Hibs. :wink:

13-06-2016, 01:16 PM
Hardly think you're qualified to judge if you've only been there on two short visits.

13-06-2016, 01:27 PM
I live in York.

Almost everytime I work in Glasgow, which is often, someone makes a comment about me being from Edinburgh, like "That's a shame" or worse.

For some of them, it is merely gentle ribbing, for others there is a deep seated bitterness. It's pointless and stupid.

Ironically, your "proper city" crap is an example.

No need for the aggressive tone now -very small town attitude.

Finn2015
13-06-2016, 01:32 PM
Let's just compromise and say Stirling is the best😳

13-06-2016, 01:32 PM

City.

13-06-2016, 01:34 PM

Gash patter like most weegies.

13-06-2016, 01:35 PM

Just laugh, makes them feel better. A kindness that costs nothing.

13-06-2016, 01:35 PM

I love your irony.

13-06-2016, 01:51 PM
Indeed. And the not so subtle method of always tfyingbt9 make Edinburgh seem small. The bbc for example describe any event or incident in Glasgow by Street then district the even south north etc. Edinburgh usually gets a street. So small you see. Once noticed it's so obvious.

They're just trolling really. One thing I've noticed on social media in general is how hopelessly inept Weegies and their sympathisers are when it comes to trolling: obvious, unfunny, flimsy.

13-06-2016, 02:18 PM
Glasgow voted YES Edinburgh voted NO. I like Glasgow.

13-06-2016, 02:21 PM
Glasgow voted YES Edinburgh voted NO. I like Glasgow.

London elected Boris Johnson as Mayor. It's still a fantastic city though.

13-06-2016, 02:21 PM
Both are fantastic cities in their own way.

As far as quality of life goes Edinburgh is far and away the best place to stay in Scotland but Glasgow is good to visit as it has a different vibe.

The point scoring to try and put either city down , from both sides , is childish.

13-06-2016, 02:45 PM
I don't mind Glasgow and have a lot of weegie friends. My wife is from Glasgow (well just outside) and she much prefers Edinburgh and could think of nothing worse than living in Glasgow.

One thing going for both Edinburgh and Glasgow: they are not Dundee (aka the teenage pregnancy capital of Europe until recently).

13-06-2016, 02:48 PM
I do enjoy a day/night out in Glasgow city centre, the pubs/restaurants/general nightlife are better than what we have imo. However it's an incredibly grey city and for any tourist visiting Scotland I'd recommend putting Edinburgh top of the to-do list whereas Glasgow probably wouldn't make an appearance at all.

Canon Hannan
13-06-2016, 02:54 PM
This is why Hibs will always be in the shadow of Celtic. They embrace fans from all of Scotland. We don't. I love every City in Scotland and our fans whenever they live.

13-06-2016, 03:11 PM
Pat Stanton was born in Edinburgh.

He said King, not God.

13-06-2016, 03:17 PM
This is why Hibs will always be in the shadow of Celtic. They embrace fans from all of Scotland. We don't. I love every City in Scotland and our fans whenever they live.

Aside from the legitimate Edinburgh/ Glasgow debate I can scarcely believe that a Hibs fan would come up with such nonsense (other than your last sentence which is a bit more like it).

Hibs fans are amongst the most inclusive you'll get anywhere and we happily accept people of different faiths, nationalities and political ideologies. I'm far from convinced that Celtic and many other clubs could say likewise.

13-06-2016, 03:21 PM
Glasgow is not too bad for a provincial city.

A bit like London though, it suffers from the "suburbs" being *****.

13-06-2016, 03:29 PM
Aside from the legitimate Edinburgh/ Glasgow debate I can scarcely believe that a Hibs fan would come up with such nonsense (other than your last sentence which is a bit more like it).

Hibs fans are amongst the most inclusive you'll get anywhere and we happily accept people of different faiths, nationalities and political ideologies. I'm far from convinced that Celtic and many other clubs could say likewise.

I don't think there is a legitimate debate to be honest as it implies that there is a 'best' answer. As with most things it comes down to personal preferences. Personally I love both Edinburgh and Glasgow for different reasons.

Canon Hannan
13-06-2016, 03:30 PM

Irradicate the anti Glasgow songs and we are there. Just trying to help Hibernian gain support from the West here and grow. Surely that is a positive idea?

13-06-2016, 03:32 PM
Irradicate the anti Glasgow songs and we are there. Just trying to help Hibernian gain support from the West here and grow. Surely that is a positive idea?

Are you saying that we "irradicate" the smelly weegie song, and people will flock to us?

Given that so many Celtc supporters come from outwith Glasgow, how do you suggest we ingratiate ourselves with them?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-06-2016, 03:35 PM
Are you saying that we "irradicate" the smelly weegie song, and people will flock to us?

Given that so many Celtc supporters come from outwith Glasgow, how do you suggest we ingratiate ourselves with them?

Sing kumbayya...?

BigT-Hibeez
13-06-2016, 03:38 PM
We have soap in the East..

13-06-2016, 03:46 PM

I was called a hun and had guys giving me abuse at the cup final because I have a weegie accent. Years ago I was threatened in a Leith nightspot for the the same thing. I had a punch up with 2 guys behind the old East stand at a game against Dundee when they attacked me for being a weegie. Never had a problem with celtic fans. What I'm saying is, we might not be as inclusive as some might think.

13-06-2016, 03:54 PM
I was called a hun and had guys giving me abuse at the cup final because I have a weegie accent. Years ago I was threatened in a Leith nightspot for the the same thing. I had a punch up with 2 guys behind the old East stand at a game against Dundee when they attacked me for being a weegie. Never had a problem with celtic fans. What I'm saying is, we might not be as inclusive as some might think.

I'm genuinely surprised and disappointed to hear that.

Football by it's nature is a bit tribal. I've always thought that our tribe isn't too bad at accepting other folk into the fold who may not fit whichever traditional stereotype of Hibs fan you want to choose - Leith/ Edinburgh/ Scotland and I don't even want to get into the Irish or catholic thing.

I've certainly never enviously eyed Celtic for their inclusivity. Or to be honest anything else at all for that matter. Rather than that I tend to chuckle at their lack or self-awareness and how different they are in reality to how they perceive themselves.

13-06-2016, 06:09 PM
I don't think there is a legitimate debate to be honest as it implies that there is a 'best' answer. As with most things it comes down to personal preferences. Personally I love both Edinburgh and Glasgow for different reasons.

Yeah but which one do you love the best :wink:

13-06-2016, 06:12 PM
As someone born and bred in Edinburgh, I have to be honest and concede that Glasgow has one overwhelming advantage that my home city can never hope to match. And that is the M8 eastbound.

stage2
13-06-2016, 06:22 PM
Glasgows great , but it does suffer from being "a tale of two cities" at times
One of thems London, the other one is Dublin

Davy Mac
13-06-2016, 07:04 PM
Although I was born in Leith, part of my family hail from Govan, Wishaw & Ayrshire so I just don't join in with the ridiculous in yer Glesgae slums stuff - my choice but my opinion.

I feel really embarrased when I hear this because Hibs, certainly up until the 1970's, had a large following in the west and that has sadly dwindled.

Hibs will always and should attract a multi-cultural audience but we will continue to drive potential fans away with small minded songs.

I've spent a lot of time in Glasgow in my lifetime, worked with some fantastic people and developed great friendships over the years and will always have a place in my heart.

But Edinburgh is my home, Glasgow means a lot to me but Leith is my birthplace and Hibs is my poison.

Now Hertz on the other hand................GGTTH

13-06-2016, 07:49 PM
I agree. There's far too many pretentious pricks in Edinburgh. I also hate the way Edinburgh council is doing everything it can to piss people off in order to make themselves look more like the big European cities.

Aherrmmm...Edinburgh is small in population compared to Big European cities, but it is up there in most respects re Architecture, Culture, History, Arts, Beautiful green spaces, Cosmopolitan, Vibrant, Diverse....I happen to have Vacation Guests staying with me from all over the world - over 200 to date. They in fact tell me all of the aforementioned.

13-06-2016, 07:51 PM
Although I was born in Leith, part of my family hail from Govan, Wishaw & Ayrshire so I just don't join in with the ridiculous in yer Glesgae slums stuff - my choice but my opinion.

I feel really embarrased when I hear this because Hibs, certainly up until the 1970's, had a large following in the west and that has sadly dwindled.

Hibs will always and should attract a multi-cultural audience but we will continue to drive potential fans away with small minded songs.

I've spent a lot of time in Glasgow in my lifetime, worked with some fantastic people and developed great friendships over the years and will always have a place in my heart.

But Edinburgh is my home, Glasgow means a lot to me but Leith is my birthplace and Hibs is my poison.

Now Hertz on the other hand................GGTTH

Good post mate, something that should be remembered.

13-06-2016, 08:48 PM
Glaswegians in many ways remind me of Hearts fans. If you have to continually tell anyone daft enough to listen you are the funniest and friendliest people in the world then it's probably not true. Same as if you have to keep reminding people you are a 'big team' the same applies.

:greengrin :agree: Went into over-drive during the Commonwealth games.

13-06-2016, 09:06 PM
Both cities have pluses and minuses. They don't really compare, if you think about it - Edinburgh was adding the New Town to its ancient base when Glasgow was still just a small (but growing) town. In a matter of decades it had grown larger than Edinburgh, built on different industries and trade. The cultures of each city are different as a result. Glasgow also draws on numerous large towns round about which makes it much busier and livelier than Edinburgh. Edinburgh is home, though. It is far nicer on the eye, and it has the Hibs. EH shades it, but I am fond of the crazy Wege.

13-06-2016, 09:21 PM
Edinburgh has Hibs.

Close thread! 😎👍🏼

13-06-2016, 09:31 PM
Edinburgh has Hibs.

Close thread! 😎👍🏼

Agreed. This thread is appalling.

13-06-2016, 09:33 PM
Can't believe nobody has mentioned salt and sauce.

13-06-2016, 09:41 PM
We have much nicer looking girls.

13-06-2016, 09:50 PM
A secular society.

13-06-2016, 10:43 PM
Glasgow has good and bad, just like most cities - even Edinburgh.

Someone said they hated the Glasgow accent. That's a big generalisation. It's not the same all over the city - let alone its surrounds.

Head north-west towards Dumbarton for example and the accent becomes warmer and gentler.

14-06-2016, 02:37 AM
Let's just compromise and say Stirling is the best

No thanks, too small town and Glasgow minded (certainly when it comes to football)

My Mother in Law lives n Bridge of Allan, and I was in a boozer there watching the play off game QoS v The Hun last year.

I was chatting to a few locals and as soon as I made it clear I was a Hibs ST holder the atmosphere changed - the Huns there were the usual type you see all over small town scotland - probably couldnt find Ibrox with a map, but still "Rangers men".

Canon Hannan
14-06-2016, 08:00 AM

Simple - sing pro Hibs songs and not anti-Dundee, Aberdeen, Glasgow and our other Cities where Hibs fans are from.

14-06-2016, 08:25 AM
Simple - sing pro Hibs songs and not anti-Dundee, Aberdeen, Glasgow and our other Cities where Hibs fans are from.

So, by not singing "we hate Dundee", we'll get more fans from there?

I presume that means we will get more from Gorgie as well?

:cb

You do know that, when we sing "we hate Dundee", we're singing about the team, and not the city, yeah? Similarly, most songs that we sing are meant to be a wind-up of the fans, and not necessarily a comment on the actual city.

14-06-2016, 08:52 AM
We have much nicer looking girls.

And less single mothers walking around with 34 bairns.

14-06-2016, 09:01 AM

Tend to agree with that. I had an Weegie 'acquaintance' at University who habitually referred to his home town as 'No Mean City'. He didn't like being reminded that that particular book (from the 1920's, IIRC) was a celebration of organised violence and the razor gangs.

There's a definite tendency to equate Scottish culture with Glasgow culture and to assume that if it comes from Glasgow it must be the better than anything coming from any other part of Scotland.

It should be enough to be able to say that Edinburgh is MY city and Leith the place where my roots are without assuming that nowhere else in the whole wide world compares.

Even if it happens to be true .... :wink:

14-06-2016, 09:59 AM
what's Edinburgh got?

A decent national stadium?

14-06-2016, 04:13 PM
The fact of the matter is that they are a lot more similar than either would feel comfortable with. The more you travel, the more you see they are only rivals due to their proximity and size as the only real cities in the country.

They are largely agreeable Georgian/Victorian city centre/inner cities surrounded by schemes with the odd blandly comfortable suburb. That's what Central Scotland is, with odd mining town stuck in for good measure.

The Kaiser
14-06-2016, 04:34 PM
I like both. Glasgow maybe shades it.

Born in Edinburgh, grew up just outside. Studied in Glasgow so still have a few pals out that way. Maybe why.

14-06-2016, 05:06 PM
Can't believe nobody has mentioned salt and sauce.

I think it has been mentioned, cannae be arsed trawling through the thread to find it though.

Finn2015
14-06-2016, 05:07 PM
No thanks, too small town and Glasgow minded (certainly when it comes to football)

My Mother in Law lives n Bridge of Allan, and I was in a boozer there watching the play off game QoS v The Hun last year.

I was chatting to a few locals and as soon as I made it clear I was a Hibs ST holder the atmosphere changed - the Huns there were the usual type you see all over small town scotland - probably couldnt find Ibrox with a map, but still "Rangers men".

Agree with that. Huge Hun area

Kavinho
14-06-2016, 05:16 PM
Agreed. This thread is appalling.

Id 'respectfully' suggest, that you've had no small part in that yourself..