Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

07-06-2016, 08:31 PM
Who do you fancy for it?

07-06-2016, 08:33 PM
Hibs

07-06-2016, 08:35 PM
Germany or France, but wouldn't be surprised if England put on a strong show.

07-06-2016, 08:38 PM
Who do you fancy for it?

Seems to have been the year of the underdog so far so I think it'll be a team nobody is expecting to do well. No idea who but leaning towards a Poland/lewandowski double as a wee outside bet.

Also think England might do pretty well.

07-06-2016, 08:39 PM
Republic of Ireland

07-06-2016, 08:42 PM
Germany or France, but wouldn't be surprised if England put on a strong show.

Think England have the strongest side they've had in a while tbh.

After hibs and Leicster this year god knows what can happen! **** it, i'm throwing money on Albania :greengrin

mghibs
07-06-2016, 08:43 PM
Despite it being the year of the under dog, I can't see past France. Was reading that if they get out of their group they avoid most big teams (haven't looked this up to back it up mind). That and the home support makes them stand outs for me.

07-06-2016, 08:44 PM
Probably Germany, but tbh I've lost all interest since Scotland failed to qualify.

07-06-2016, 08:45 PM
Germany for me. Great squad and they're excellent in these tournament style competitions

07-06-2016, 08:45 PM

After hibs and Leicster this year god knows what can happen! **** it, i'm throwing money on Albania :greengrin
You think? I dont see one world class player in this England team. Gone are the days of Ashley Cole, Rio Ferdinand, John Terry, Steven Gerrard, Paul Scholes, Franck Lampard and David Beckham. Maybe the fact they dont have any world class players will help them gel.

07-06-2016, 08:47 PM
Germany.

Git a few bob on them!

Austria to reach the final.

You think? I dont see one world class player in this England team. Gone are the days of Ashley Cole, Rio Ferdinand, John Terry, Steven Gerrard, Paul Scholes, Franck Lampard,David Beckham and Wayne Rooney

They all played under poor managers. England are a far more cohesive unit overall this time round. Sorry, you weren't speaking to me, but I feel quite strongly about this! :greengrin

07-06-2016, 08:48 PM

After hibs and Leicster this year god knows what can happen! **** it, i'm throwing money on Albania :greengrinReally? Not sure I'd believe the type, they are awful defensively. 2010 was a far better team and they were murder.

pontius pilate
07-06-2016, 08:50 PM
I might stick a few quid on Belgium

Finn2015
Hoping for a good tournament from us (republic of Ireland). As for the winners though, France

They all played under poor managers. England are a far more cohesive unit overall this time round. Sorry, you weren't speaking to me, but I feel quite strongly about this! :greengrinCapello a poor manager? You seen his trophy cabinet?

07-06-2016, 08:51 PM
Got Russia in the work sweep, I never win these things!😒

HibeeLR
07-06-2016, 08:51 PM
I'll be supporting Iceland (always want one of the underdogs to do well) However I'm thinking it'll be a Germany v Italy final

07-06-2016, 08:53 PM
Italy have a decent shot IMO, very good at the back.

Spain, Germany, and France all scary.

07-06-2016, 08:57 PM
I would never look past the Germans at any tournament they're involved in so I'll go for them.

07-06-2016, 09:00 PM
I don't think the England team is strong at all, very weak midfield and nothing to fantastic up front.

Germans to win it. Nolito from Spain for Top Goalscorer.

In Croatia just now and bought there top today so that'll have to be my team for the tourney.

07-06-2016, 09:01 PM
Tired old Spain will rise to the challenge once more.

07-06-2016, 09:07 PM
You think? I dont see one world class player in this England team. Gone are the days of Ashley Cole, Rio Ferdinand, John Terry, Steven Gerrard, Paul Scholes, Franck Lampard and David Beckham. Maybe the fact they dont have any world class players will help them gel.

Too many of them thought they were World class, they weren't.

07-06-2016, 09:09 PM

Quarter finals. Penalties. Chuckle :greengrin

07-06-2016, 09:12 PM
I think it's fairly open - but I think Germany will win. France have a good chance if they don't all fall out with each other again.

Kane and Vardy are the only England players who I'd be worried about. They're very soft in defence and lacking quality in midfield. I think Wales will top the group.

07-06-2016, 09:13 PM

Couldn't agree more. Only world class players probably Scholes and Gerrard.

07-06-2016, 09:16 PM
World class egos perhaps.

07-06-2016, 09:20 PM
Fancy Italy.

They are lacking a really good goalscorer but as a unit their goalkeeper and 3 central defenders are the best in the world. I can see them getting pretty far with a lot of 1-0 wins.

07-06-2016, 09:23 PM
Tired old Spain will rise to the challenge once more.

Agree my tip would be Spain with Austria a dark horse.

LustForLeith
07-06-2016, 09:26 PM
Austria. Cracking record in qualifying for the competition, in comparison to others quite a weak group and with David Albala (schuss the spelling) one of the best youngish players around.

Anyone know if any good offers? Heard if you back a team to win and they win a game you get a free bet.

07-06-2016, 09:30 PM

Agree.

For a supposed contender, their defense is bowfin.

Prefer Belgium at around the same price. De Bruyne to rip it up.

Gordy M
07-06-2016, 09:37 PM
Without going over scotlands qualifying.... its interesting that posters have tipped all three teams that qualified from our group...albeit outsiders, apart from germany. We really did have a tough group.

MoscowHibs
07-06-2016, 09:37 PM
I wouldn't write off the Spanish, and I have a sneaky suspicion Sweden could do well.

LustForLeith
07-06-2016, 09:38 PM

I fancy England to do alright. And while not world class players yet I'd take Kane, Alli and Dier in a heartbeat.

Defensively their a bit suspicious but Smallings coming in off the back of the best season he's had.

Sweet Left Peg
07-06-2016, 09:55 PM
Thomas Muller at around 7/1 to be top scorer seems a decent bet to me. Backed the Germans to win as well cos they are never far away.

Italy could be a decent each way shout as they have a solid defence.

07-06-2016, 10:18 PM
If Germany play to form they win. Despite not having a proper Euro class striker they still have the best squad. I think Spain could be a good bet. Pressure off after a winning run and poor World Cup. They still have an unbelievable amount of talent.

07-06-2016, 10:23 PM
Hink Wales to be least goalscorers is good bet at 22s

Nutmegged
07-06-2016, 10:24 PM
France and Giroud 33/1 for me

08-06-2016, 03:15 PM
Currently on Sky Sports Adverts, sorry News, they are comparing Lewandowski and Lafferty.

Mm.....

HibeeLR
08-06-2016, 03:17 PM
Is there a .net prediction league for the Euros?

08-06-2016, 04:03 PM
Think France will do it. You can never rule out Germany but they will have to get past France in the semi-final and I can't see it ...
Be nice to see England and Wales give a decent account of themselves ... just hope there is no trouble anywhere

08-06-2016, 04:35 PM
£10 on Italy at 16/1. France or Germany will probably win it but didn't see much value in those prices!

08-06-2016, 04:45 PM
Germany to win it. Belgium and Croatia the ones to watch and Slovakia to be the real dark horse, outside bet.

LustForLeith
08-06-2016, 05:58 PM
Currently on Sky Sports Adverts, sorry News, they are comparing Lewandowski and Lafferty.

Mm.....

Both surnames begin with the letter 'L'....

That's me

LustForLeith
09-06-2016, 04:54 PM
Euro bets placed.

France to win/Pogba to be best player in the tournament
Germany to win/Ozil to be best player in the tournament
Belgium to win/De Bruyne to be best player of the tournament
Austria to win/Alaba to be best player of the tournament

09-06-2016, 06:34 PM
My wife is half Austrian so would love to see them do well, but I can't see them winning it, even in the year of the underdog. Traditionally I've always liked Portugal, but I can't get away from the fact that Ronaldo is an arrogant fanny. At the price I'd definitely fancy Italy(16/1), with Sweden as an interesting wee outside bet (100/1).

mmmmhibby
09-06-2016, 07:20 PM
Viva Espana!!!

09-06-2016, 07:31 PM
What are the odds on Gareth Bale qualifying for the 2nd phase?

09-06-2016, 07:32 PM
What are the odds on Gareth Bale qualifying for the 2nd phase?Very high if people underestimate Wales other players like you are. Quality team.

09-06-2016, 07:40 PM
What are the odds on Gareth Bale qualifying for the 2nd phase?

There's only 8 teams that don't qualify for the 2nd phase!

Think Wales have a good shot at 2nd in their group anyway

09-06-2016, 07:54 PM
Hibs

Excellent. The feeling just will not go away.

09-06-2016, 08:00 PM
Fancy Italy.

They are lacking a really good goalscorer but as a unit their goalkeeper and 3 central defenders are the best in the world. I can see them getting pretty far with a lot of 1-0 wins.

Desperate for this. A 1982 performance all over again would be fantastic. The defence is great but we need to find a Paolo Rossi or Toto Schillacci unexpectedly and Pirlo needs to have the swansong tournament of his life. We know how to play tournaments, but so do the Germans...

09-06-2016, 08:04 PM
Really? Not sure I'd believe the type, they are awful defensively. 2010 was a far better team and they were murder.

To be fair, there's been very little hype down here. The media have been playing down England's chances. Even tonight on Radio 5 Live it was said that the best they could hope for would be getting out of the group/quarter final.

I think they might do better than that.

09-06-2016, 08:20 PM
Desperate for this. A 1982 performance all over again would be fantastic. The defence is great but we need to find a Paolo Rossi or Toto Schillacci unexpectedly and Pirlo needs to have the swansong tournament of his life. We know how to play tournaments, but so do the Germans...I very much doubt that will happen, he isn't in the squad.

09-06-2016, 10:17 PM
I very much doubt that will happen, he isn't in the squad.

In which case its a very tough task. I thought they'd taken him.

09-06-2016, 10:24 PM
Belgium for me, great mix of youth, experience, plenty fans no doubt backing them at each game and some absolutely cracking fitba players in that squad, good odds too.

09-06-2016, 10:35 PM
In which case its a very tough task. I thought they'd taken him.Marchisio and Verratti are far bigger losses, Pirlo isn't what he was.

09-06-2016, 10:52 PM
Austria. Cracking record in qualifying for the competition, in comparison to others quite a weak group and with David Albala (schuss the spelling) one of the best youngish players around.

Anyone know if any good offers? Heard if you back a team to win and they win a game you get a free bet.

Yes , Sky bet are giving you a £3 free bet every time the team you bet to win outright wins a game ( £10 stake )
I've stuck my £10 on France . 3-1
Going to stick an ew bet on Sweden at 100-1 ( who would have thought Leicster would win the Premier and us to win the Scottish :)

10-06-2016, 06:43 AM
Enflandshire fans have already been going mental and throwing chairs across courtyards. Keep on trucking guys, you are doing what you always do hopefully just like your team.

10-06-2016, 06:49 AM
My wife is half Austrian so would love to see them do well, but I can't see them winning it, even in the year of the underdog. Traditionally I've always liked Portugal, but I can't get away from the fact that Ronaldo is an arrogant fanny. At the price I'd definitely fancy Italy(16/1), with Sweden as an interesting wee outside bet (100/1).

Austria to win the group are reasonable odds.

Ged
10-06-2016, 08:16 AM
This really pisses me off. The security forces are busting a gut to keep the fans safe from terrorist attacks and these arse holes are chucking chairs at each other.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-36496745

10-06-2016, 08:19 AM
This really pisses me off. The security forces are busting a gut to keep the fans safe from terrorist attacks and these arse holes are chucking chairs at each other.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-36496745

Yes, I notice the "British" fans are misbehaving again. Time for an Outraged of Ibrox (James Traynor of yon parish) press release blaming Hibs fans and demanding an apology from Petrie. :greengrin

Actually, in the meeja, it is British "fans" against French "hooligans". See what they're doing there...?

10-06-2016, 08:43 AM
Yes, I notice the "British" fans are misbehaving again. Time for an Outraged of Ibrox (James Traynor of yon parish) press release blaming Hibs fans and demanding an apology from Petrie. :greengrin

Actually, in the meeja, it is British "fans" against French "hooligans". See what they're doing there...?

I heard that the England fans had been sitting peacefully all day until a group of around 50 local French fans decided to have a go at them.

Seemingly, the police focussed their attention on the locals.

Salt N Sauzee
10-06-2016, 10:34 AM
I've got a feeling that Wales could be the dark horses this year. They've got a world class player in Bale who is a genuine match winner, has the ability to turn a game on it's head out of nothing. Wales play really well as a team and don't concede a lot of goals. Definitely worth a fiver at 80/1.

Posh Swanny
10-06-2016, 10:42 AM
I heard that the England fans had been sitting peacefully all day until a group of around 50 local French fans decided to have a go at them.

Seemingly, the police focussed their attention on the locals.

Got a video message from a pal from outside the Queen Victoria at about 10.00pm last night and it looked and sounded no different to your average crowd on the bevvy before a big game. They didn't have a clue what I was talking about when I checked this morning that they'd managed to avoid the trouble.

10-06-2016, 02:06 PM
If Messi stays fit and gets protection from the refs I can't see past Argentina.

10-06-2016, 05:26 PM
Looks like the Spanish goalie is in deep doodoo
http://www.90min.com/posts/3315798-david-de-gea-implicated-in-spanish-rape-case-on-eve-of-euro-2016-kickoff?a_aid=35507

10-06-2016, 05:53 PM
Craig Brown - "I think it's childish not to wish England well" however "I would rather Wales, n.Ireland and Ireland do better" haha

Flynn
10-06-2016, 06:03 PM
Craig Brown - "I think it's childish not to wish England well"

Craig Brown can jog the **** on. You'd think a guy who has managed Scotland would understand the tribal nature of football. Another fud who equates Scots wanting England to get beat at football as anti-English xenophobia.

No true Scotsman wants England to do well. Just like no Hibby wants Hearts to do well. This isn't rocket science

What a clueless dinosaur he is.

10-06-2016, 06:11 PM
Craig Brown can jog the **** on. You'd think a guy who has managed Scotland would understand the tribal nature of football. Another fud who equates Scots wanting England to get beat at football as anti-English xenophobia.

No true Scotsman wants England to do well. Just like no Hibby wants Hearts to do well. This isn't rocket science

Craig Brown is a lot of things but I'm sure he reads posts in full before going off on a rant

10-06-2016, 06:15 PM
France to win 2-0.

10-06-2016, 06:22 PM

Glad i am not the only one 😉

10-06-2016, 06:27 PM

No true Scotsman comment is absolute bollocks. For me there is a big difference between club rivalry and national. I'm non-plused about international football so I'll watch the games as a neutral

10-06-2016, 06:31 PM
Stuck a couple if quid on Italy. Thought 18/1 was pretty high for them. Think Germany will probably win it though.

High-On-Hibs
10-06-2016, 06:52 PM
Apparently Guetta is so good that he can mix tunes with his CDJ turned off. :confused:

10-06-2016, 06:54 PM
Bring on le Marseillaise, this opening is gash

10-06-2016, 07:05 PM
What a ****ing save by Lloris.

10-06-2016, 07:06 PM
Great start.

10-06-2016, 07:16 PM
French are settling into it a bit more now, I could watch Payet play fitba all day

10-06-2016, 07:17 PM
French are settling into it a bit more now, I could watch Payet play fitba all day

He's a judas **** :greengrin

10-06-2016, 07:19 PM
He's a judas **** :greengrin

Haha I still like him, West Ham are ok in my book, I love your relentless approach to French football

10-06-2016, 07:21 PM
Why do itv have the Romanian team abbreviated to rou?

10-06-2016, 07:23 PM
Quite an open game, i'm a little surprised at that. :top marks

10-06-2016, 07:26 PM

Don't think it's ITV. French for Romania is Roumanie.

10-06-2016, 07:27 PM

It's to do with them being French speaking and other political things. Was the same in the Olympics.

10-06-2016, 07:29 PM
The ball's too lightweight. Crosses are going over their heads!

10-06-2016, 07:29 PM
Haha I still like him, West Ham are ok in my book, I love your relentless approach to French football

He's absolute class, but he promised to stay at OM last season and then handed in a transfer request when we'd already sold half our midfield. He'll go to one of the big clubs for 50 million eventually imo.

10-06-2016, 07:30 PM
Mexican wave. Enough to get the tournament cancelled.

10-06-2016, 07:31 PM
The ball's too lightweight. Crosses are going over their heads!

It's like it has been filled with helium!

Didn't know Skacel was Romanian

http://i.imgur.com/IkuCDN4.jpg

Mexican wave. Enough to get the tournament cancelled.

Agree 100% with this.

10-06-2016, 07:33 PM
He's absolute class, but he promised to stay at OM last season and then handed in a transfer request when we'd already sold half our midfield.

Probably felt he was ready for a step up.

10-06-2016, 07:33 PM
Apparently Guetta is so good that he can mix tunes with his CDJ turned off. :confused:

Guetta is a horrific DJ. Mainstream garbage.

10-06-2016, 07:45 PM
It's to do with them being French speaking and other political things. Was the same in the Olympics.

It says itv sport next to it though. I understand the pictures are being provided by the French, but all the other on screen graphics have been in English.

10-06-2016, 07:46 PM
Probably felt he was ready for a step up.

Far too sensible :greengrin

This is a decent game. Much less cagey than I expected.

Stax
10-06-2016, 07:58 PM
Romania should have been 1 up after 2 minutes, France missed a rake of chances since. Romania look really poor but at 0-0 still in it. Puts into perspective how pish Scotland are just now. At least Romania have had a shot on target, we were 3-0 down at the same point in the friendly last week.

10-06-2016, 08:03 PM
It says itv sport next to it though. I understand the pictures are being provided by the French, but all the other on screen graphics have been in English.

Looking forward to ALB - SUI, PAY (or PDG?)- SLO, and ANG - RUS tomorrow :wink:

10-06-2016, 08:12 PM
Pretty decent game but unless France improve the winner of the tournament isn't playing in this game imo.

10-06-2016, 08:17 PM
Goal! Giroud.

10-06-2016, 08:18 PM
That goalkeeping.......

Goalkeeper error. :rolleyes:

Giroud fouled the keeper there but the commentary not making a fuss.

Deserved lead imo. They've looked very fluent, great midfield.

10-06-2016, 08:20 PM

Goalie shat it, should have went right through Giroud

Hibee_Craig7062
10-06-2016, 08:20 PM

Never a foul on the GK

10-06-2016, 08:21 PM
Goalie shat it, should have went right through Giroud

Looked like clear Obstruction on the replay.

10-06-2016, 08:23 PM
Penalty Romania, stonewaller.

Mental from Evra

10-06-2016, 08:24 PM
Evra. Dick.

Hibee_Craig7062
10-06-2016, 08:24 PM
There were two fouls there. No pen if he gives the first one

10-06-2016, 08:25 PM
Evra is a lunatic for that!!

Game on again though

Great penalty.

Romania have had chances and possibly deserve a goal.

Finn2015
Evra always liable do something stupid

10-06-2016, 08:27 PM
Evra. Dick.

Yep. What was he thinking there ( or not thinking)?

Hibee_Craig7062
10-06-2016, 08:28 PM
Glenn hoddle doesnt half talk *****!!

10-06-2016, 08:31 PM

Never paid him any attention after hearing his views on the disabled.

10-06-2016, 08:33 PM
Got to feel for Dee Dee Dury. The longer Romania are in the competition, the more chance he'll get stressed about whether it's pronounced "Andone" or "Andone".

10-06-2016, 08:36 PM

Can't stand Hoddle. When's Lenny on?

10-06-2016, 08:41 PM
NIGHTMARE!!!

Watching the match with my 11 year old daughter when she asked me what 'offside' meant. 30 minutes later and I'm still not getting through. :brickwall

Hibee_Craig7062
10-06-2016, 08:41 PM
Is lenny doing bbc on NI games?

Hibee_Craig7062
10-06-2016, 08:42 PM
NIGHTMARE!!!

Watching the match with my 11 year old daughter when she asked me what 'offside' meant. 30 minutes later and I'm still not getting through. :brickwall
Bedtime haha

10-06-2016, 08:45 PM
Is the picture really jumpy for anyone else?

10-06-2016, 08:48 PM
What a goal!!!

Feel a bit sorry for Romania though

10-06-2016, 08:48 PM
Peach!

10-06-2016, 08:49 PM
Some goal!

What a goal!!!

Feel a bit sorry for Romania though

He's a cant.

Payet is some player.

WOW:top marks

Hibee_Craig7062
10-06-2016, 08:50 PM
Finish

10-06-2016, 08:50 PM
What a wonderful footballer Payet is, watched him on and off and he never fails to deliver.

10-06-2016, 08:51 PM
Looking forward to ALB - SUI, PAY (or PDG?)- SLO, and ANG - RUS tomorrow :wink:
That's what I was thinking as well

10-06-2016, 08:52 PM
West Ham can name their price for that boy. He's been outstanding and tops it off with a finish like that.

10-06-2016, 08:54 PM
What a wonderful footballer Payet is, watched him on and off and he never fails to deliver.

Aye, he's outstanding.

Hibee_Craig7062
10-06-2016, 08:56 PM
West Ham can name their price for that boy. He's been outstanding and tops it off with a finish like that.

Best player on the park by a mile

RoslinInstHibby
Payet, is pure class. Showed how much it meant to him at full time.

Decent game. Best player on the park scored a great winner. 1 down 50 to go 😀

10-06-2016, 08:58 PM
Decent game. Best player on the park scored a great winner. 1 down 50 to go 

Woeful home support though. Not one single rendition of Payet's on fire, your defence is terrified :greengrin

10-06-2016, 08:59 PM
Best player on the park by a mile
:agree: He was, he put the ball on a plate for a few of his teammates to score before scoring himself.

10-06-2016, 08:59 PM
Woeful home support though. Not one single rendition of Payet's on fire, your defence is terrified :greengrin
And no pitch invasion

Hibee_Craig7062
10-06-2016, 09:01 PM
No super John mcginn song either. Heard it loads at the recent England Germany game lol

10-06-2016, 09:04 PM
Is it just me or has slavan bilic had a failed hair transplant? It's a canny piss take sitting him beside petit.

10-06-2016, 09:09 PM
No super John mcginn song either. Heard it loads at the recent England Germany game lol

The Hammers fans sing that about Payet.

10-06-2016, 09:15 PM
Is it just me or has slavan bilic had a failed hair transplant? It's a canny piss take sitting him beside petit.

Definitely something odd going on there.

Stax
10-06-2016, 09:15 PM
Really enjoyed that, good start to the tournament, Sublime finish from Payet and genuine emotion from him as he left the park. Anyone doubting modern footballers motivation would find it hard to argue against him. Great to see.

10-06-2016, 09:18 PM

Quite a decent pundit though.

10-06-2016, 09:19 PM
Class goal from a class player, but I thought Romania had an opportunity today if they'd been a bit more adventurous. IMO France's defence were poor, but France got the result and Payet is a really good player, both for West Ham and France.

10-06-2016, 09:21 PM

Agreed, however the money he must have there is no excuse for a bonce like that !!

Stax
10-06-2016, 09:22 PM
Agree, I thought he was spot on and put the usual suspects to shame.

10-06-2016, 09:24 PM
Nous avons Payet - meilleur que Zidane.

11-06-2016, 05:15 AM
Watched the match live last night and can't believe the way the foul on the goalkeeper was totally ignored for the first goal. The keeper is claiming that ball all day until Giroud uses his arm to knock the goalkeepers arm out the way, resulting in the ball falling onto his head. The keeper had no need to clean anyone out as he was milliseconds away from simply catching the ball.

Yes, the national anthem is rousing and the French have a battle on their hands security wise but WTF is going on? Will pointing out the bleeding obvious spoil the vibe or something?

If that was some Russian jumping with Joe Hart I'm pretty sure there would have been a little bit more scrutiny...but it's little Romania so who cares?

h1bee123
11-06-2016, 05:26 AM
Watched the match live last night and can't believe the way the foul on the goalkeeper was totally ignored for the first goal. The keeper is claiming that ball all day until Giroud uses his arm to knock the goalkeepers arm out the way, resulting in the ball falling onto his head. The keeper had no need to clean anyone out as he was milliseconds away from simply catching the ball.

Yes, the national anthem is rousing and the French have a battle on their hands security wise but WTF is going on? Will pointing out the bleeding obvious spoil the vibe or something?

If that was some Russian jumping with Joe Hart I'm pretty sure there would have been a little bit more scrutiny...but it's little Romania so who cares?

I thought it wasn't a foul on the goalkeeper. For me it was very weak goalkeeping, Giroud was more determined and stronger to get his head to the ball. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YhxPjmt8qI you can see here at 25 seconds, I would be raging if that was given as a foul against Hibs. Goalkeepers are too well protected in the modern game.

11-06-2016, 05:37 AM
I thought it wasn't a foul on the goalkeeper. For me it was very weak goalkeeping, Giroud was more determined and stronger to get his head to the ball. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YhxPjmt8qI you can see here at 25 seconds, I would be raging if that was given as a foul against Hibs. Goalkeepers are too well protected in the modern game.

It wasn't weak goalkeeping at all as he had jumped above Giroud to the required height and was catching the ball. You can only see it in slow motion but Girouds left arm is raised and knocks the keepers right arm out the way as he's just about to catch it. It's a clear foul and has nothing to do with any lack of strength or determination on the goalkeepers part.

http://en.as.com/en/2016/06/11/football/1465596537_049288.html

The third angle shows it clearly.

11-06-2016, 05:44 AM
Weak keeping.

11-06-2016, 06:00 AM
Weak keeping.

:no way:

The "strongest" keeper in the world would have lost that ball if someone had nudged their elbow at the right time.

11-06-2016, 07:07 AM

I agree, mentioned it at the time. Very strange. And I wanted France to win.

11-06-2016, 07:35 AM
It wasn't weak goalkeeping at all as he had jumped above Giroud to the required height and was catching the ball. You can only see it in slow motion but Girouds left arm is raised and knocks the keepers right arm out the way as he's just about to catch it. It's a clear foul and has nothing to do with any lack of strength or determination on the goalkeepers part. http://en.as.com/en/2016/06/11/football/1465596537_049288.html The third angle shows it clearly.

It was probably a bit of both...sure there was contact that stopped the keeper catching it that might have been classed as a foul but if the keeper had came strong to punch the ball then he would have cleared it....

(((Fergus)))
11-06-2016, 08:16 AM
Foul on the keeper. Ref turned a blind eye to a few rough challenges on Romanian players.

11-06-2016, 08:29 AM
:singing: Nahhh nahhh nahhhhh nahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Girouuuuuuuuuuuud :singing:

Mon the Frogs :cb

11-06-2016, 08:35 AM
You would normally get a foul for that challenge, but FFS the keeper was awful. Even allowing for the challenge, he has to be much braver and stronger going for that ball.

11-06-2016, 11:56 AM
I thought the keeper was at fault, he just seemed very weak and didnt look like catching it, most keepers coming out would have smashed in to the forward

11-06-2016, 01:07 PM
1-0 Switzerland

11-06-2016, 01:34 PM
Just seen the best through ball you'll see all tournament. Albanian striker misses the chance and it stays 1-0 Suisse. Mon the albanians

11-06-2016, 01:35 PM
Albania are playing some decent stuff here

11-06-2016, 01:38 PM
Now I've cursed them, they are down to 10 men haha

11-06-2016, 01:39 PM
Not as bad as falkirk non pen

11-06-2016, 01:42 PM
Now I've cursed them, they are down to 10 men haha

Shame cause as you say they had played there way in to the match and started causing the Swiss serious problems.

Could be on the end of a doing now I fear

11-06-2016, 01:45 PM
Shame cause as you say they had played there way in to the match and started causing the Swiss serious problems.

Could be on the end of a doing now I fear

Aye, one way traffic now, hopefully they can still sneak a goal and stay strong

11-06-2016, 02:10 PM
Aye, one way traffic now, hopefully they can still sneak a goal and stay strong

Doing well start of this half considering they're down to ten.

Just something about the Swiss that annoy me. Call me racist if you like.

11-06-2016, 02:14 PM
Shaqiri is a strange looking creature.

11-06-2016, 02:16 PM
Shaqiri is a strange looking creature.

Wee man syndrome

He's like a midget bodybuilder

11-06-2016, 02:17 PM
Wee man syndrome

He's like a midget bodybuilder

He doesn't run, he waddles. Like watching Time Bandits.

Good player of course.

11-06-2016, 02:17 PM
Doing well start of this half considering they're down to ten.

Just something about the Swiss that annoy me. Call me racist if you like.

You are a racist but I don't like the Toblerones either!!

11-06-2016, 02:34 PM
You are a racist but I don't like the Toblerones either!!

Yodelling. Cuckoo clocks. Funding the Third Reich. What's not to like? :greengrin

Argh what a sitter. Swiss hanging on a bit.

11-06-2016, 02:36 PM
Don't see either of these teams troubling the later stages too much.

Switzerland have been pretty poor for being a man up.

Xhaka could have walked early on too.

11-06-2016, 02:37 PM
How the **** does Frei not get booked there??

First two games the refs have definitely favoured the big countries

11-06-2016, 02:44 PM
How did you miss.

11-06-2016, 02:45 PM
Gashi.... what are you doing!!? Good save mind you but should have been buried

11-06-2016, 02:52 PM
Don't see either of these teams troubling the later stages too much.

Switzerland have been pretty poor for being a man up.

Xhaka could have walked early on too.

Sort of agree although they're both better teams than Ecosse.

11-06-2016, 02:52 PM
Cher was brilliant, her best performance since Mask.

11-06-2016, 02:54 PM
Great football from Albania.

11-06-2016, 03:07 PM
Next up... Wales

Time to see if my Wales to win and Bale top scorer at 500/1 has any chance.

Hibs.... Leicester.... Ross County! Cmon Wales. The year of the underdog

1987kev
11-06-2016, 03:44 PM
Is Slovakia in Scotland group for the World Cup qualifiers?

11-06-2016, 03:54 PM
Is Slovakia in Scotland group for the World Cup qualifiers?

They are in our group aye. Quite a decent footballing team. Think Wales will do well to get a point here.

11-06-2016, 03:58 PM
How stirring is the Welsh national anthem, absolutely beautiful .

11-06-2016, 04:04 PM
What a run that was but some block in the end

11-06-2016, 04:07 PM
I would thought the ground would be sold out?

11-06-2016, 04:11 PM
**** off Bale.

1-0 Wales. Bale

1-0 Wales another goalie error

11-06-2016, 04:13 PM
Pretty ropey goal keeping.

11-06-2016, 04:13 PM
Amazing moment for Wales, good luck to them, they have earned this big time.

11-06-2016, 04:14 PM
Amazing moment for Wales, good luck to them, they have earned this big time.

11-06-2016, 04:19 PM
Funny thing is Bale has hardly touched ball.

11-06-2016, 04:26 PM
Just heard the Wales full back saying to another player as the ball was going out of play "leave it" maybe it's just youth football but I thought shouting things like that or mines/let it go wasn't allowed?

11-06-2016, 04:33 PM
Should have been a pen for the welsh

11-06-2016, 04:33 PM
What is the point in a 5th official or whatever they are called if they can't see an elbow from half a yard away?

Cool_Hand_Luke
11-06-2016, 04:34 PM
Sending off as well I reckon...

wtf is the point in having a 4th official

What is the point in a 5th official or whatever they are called if they can't see an elbow from half a yard away?

Total bull****, happy to take a wage and not make a decision

11-06-2016, 04:35 PM
Wales are playing some.good stuff here. Far more than a one man team, although having a world class player obviously helps.

HibeeSince82
11-06-2016, 04:35 PM
Waste of time having an official on that line.

How that wasn't a pen and possibly a sending off I don't know

11-06-2016, 04:42 PM
Is that Weiss the wee hun rat?

11-06-2016, 04:46 PM
Just heard the Wales full back saying to another player as the ball was going out of play "leave it" maybe it's just youth football but I thought shouting things like that or mines/let it go wasn't allowed?

Nowt more petty in football when someone greets to the ref "he cannae say leave it", when his team has nobody anywhere near the ball to challenge for it anyway. I hate that.

Cool_Hand_Luke
11-06-2016, 04:47 PM

Yip...was just thinking that...

11-06-2016, 04:48 PM
Waste of time having an official on that line.

How that wasn't a pen and possibly a sending off I don't know

Yep.....I don't think I've ever seen them make a decision other than to confirm if the ball has gone out of play or not. Waste of time.

Cool_Hand_Luke
Nowt more petty in football when someone greets to the ref "he cannae say leave it", when his team has nobody anywhere near the ball to challenge for it anyway. I hate that.

You must have done that...even if it's just to wind the opposition up :-)

Yip...was just thinking that...
I wanted Wales to win anyway but that clown makes me want them to win even more.

Another one from the Nacho Novo school. Got involved in all the bigotry despite having no historical attachment to it. Weiss positively revels in it on Twitter.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

11-06-2016, 04:50 PM

Sure is, wanted them to win and as soon as I saw he was in their team I switched to Wales

11-06-2016, 05:01 PM
Yep.....I don't think I've ever seen them make a decision other than to confirm if the ball has gone out of play or not. Waste of time.

One of them gave the penalty to Romania last night.

Other than that though, I've not seen them do much.

11-06-2016, 05:02 PM
Skrtel looks like a stereotype of an evil Nazi in one of those 1960s mountain fortress war films.

11-06-2016, 05:08 PM
Skrtel looks like a stereotype of an evil Nazi in one of those 1960s mountain fortress war films.

Sevco should sign him then.

11-06-2016, 05:19 PM
Pleasing

11-06-2016, 05:19 PM
1-1 now, decent run and goal

11-06-2016, 05:22 PM
Neither keeper looked clever at the goals. Both looked somewhat half hearted attempts....

lugz
11-06-2016, 05:22 PM
Pleasing

Why?

11-06-2016, 05:25 PM
Why?

Some Welsh girl turned him down, still upset about it :greengrin

11-06-2016, 05:39 PM
2-1 Wales, Slovakia need to bring David Gray on now

11-06-2016, 05:39 PM
Yaaaaaaaaasssss. Get in there

11-06-2016, 05:40 PM
Go on Wales.

11-06-2016, 05:41 PM
Yeeees c'mon the Wales! The jubilation makes me sad that we aren't there. :boo hoo:

11-06-2016, 05:42 PM
Super John McGinn song being sung?

11-06-2016, 05:43 PM
Amazing atmosphere. Well pleased for them if they hold on :aok:

11-06-2016, 05:44 PM
Could easily see the teamwork and passion of this Wales team taking at least a point from England

11-06-2016, 05:45 PM
Yeeees c'mon the Wales! The jubilation makes me sad that we aren't there. :boo hoo:

I stopped caring that we weren't there the minute we won the Scottish Cup. I go to all the Scotland home games and heading over to malta in Sept. After the emotional roller coaster of 21.05.16 I doubt I could manage that again for the 2 weeks we'd last in the euros

11-06-2016, 05:46 PM
Lucky bassas

11-06-2016, 05:47 PM
Wales are like the hertz - they're nothing special but have a knack of grinding out a victory.

11-06-2016, 05:49 PM
Wales are like the hertz - they're nothing special but have a knack of grinding out a victory.Wales are pretty damn special for a country of 3 million people.

11-06-2016, 05:51 PM
Wales are like the hertz - they're nothing special but have a knack of grinding out a victory.

They touch sheep instead of kids, though.

11-06-2016, 05:54 PM
Well done Wales. Even to see that nasty piece of work Skrtels face.

11-06-2016, 05:55 PM
Delighted for Wales, well deserved.

11-06-2016, 05:57 PM
Wales are pretty damn special for a country of 3 million people.

So are Iceland with a population of about 320,000! It's not always about size of population.

1987kev
11-06-2016, 06:00 PM
Robson Kanu free agent could do a job for us

h1bee123
11-06-2016, 06:01 PM
давай России!

h1bee123
11-06-2016, 06:02 PM
I can see England finishing bottom of this group.... might go check the odds on that.

11-06-2016, 06:04 PM
It's all kicking off on sky news.

Finn2015
11-06-2016, 06:05 PM
I can see England finishing bottom of this group.... might go check the odds on that.

No chance I expect England to beat Wales and win the group

11-06-2016, 06:06 PM

Slovakia have a lot of quality and one of the best #10s in the world. Wales have a work ethic and team spirit that England can't match.

If the English don't beat Russia it's going to be tough for them.

1987kev
11-06-2016, 06:06 PM
England fan in critical conditions after fights with England and Russia

11-06-2016, 06:17 PM
It's all kicking off on sky news.

It's going to be mental tonight in Marseille. Just hope the decent football supporters don't get hurt

11-06-2016, 06:31 PM

I fancy England to finish the group with 7 or 9 points tbh. They will go out in the quarters imo.

davidw
11-06-2016, 06:33 PM
This Euro sh*te is getting in the way of me watching continual reruns of the cup final. Get it to ******!

(((Fergus)))
11-06-2016, 06:46 PM
How stirring is the Welsh national anthem, absolutely beautiful .

One of the best and just awesome live.

Disgusting how the english pundits were patronising Dean Saunders and Wales generally.

11-06-2016, 06:52 PM
As a Welshman, I almost cried at the anthem. No matter how long I've had to prepare for the fact we'd be playing at the Euros this year it still seemed surreal and it still hit me for six. What a match, what a day.

11-06-2016, 06:53 PM
Russia playing in maroon. That's it. Cmon England.

Hibee_Craig7062
11-06-2016, 06:55 PM
1966 mentioned already....

11-06-2016, 06:56 PM
I'm not biased when it comes to England. I'm happy no matter who beats them.

11-06-2016, 06:56 PM
England booing the Russian anthem

11-06-2016, 06:57 PM
Thought Putin would be there, maybe he's outside fighting

11-06-2016, 06:58 PM
Thought Putin would be there, maybe he's outside fighting

He will be winning if he is.

I have England in the sweep at work. Quite fancy winning £50 but really don't want them to win the tournament.

The Stade Velodrome is one sexy stadium!

HiBremian
England booing the Russian anthem

Chauvinistic twats.