View Full Version : NHC Euro Championships 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13

22-06-2016, 08:48 PM
The Italian manager :love ya!:

For real? I just said to my mate he looks like a serial killer/Bond villain!

(((Fergus)))
22-06-2016, 08:49 PM
With the colours here, and dodgy diagonal balls going out of play, reminds me of another match

Hahaha can only hope you're joking.

Hey good luck to them.

Looks like they've somehow pulled out a result when all seemed lost. Just like in qualifying.

But you can't convince me they are a quality side, sorry.

renato
Ireland aren't great but are playing to their strengths.

If they tried to match up to Italy, Sweden etc football wise then they would get humped. I don't particularly like it but I don't blame them either.

Spot on. Fair play, got to play to your strengths so no complaints from me. Italy look like they couldn't be arsed tonight, Insigne hitting the post apart.

They've been brilliant tonight IMO. Thoroughly deserved.

They don't have huge quality in the final 3rd but have played with real passion and have played some decent stuff as well. They have adapted far better than the Italians have.

22-06-2016, 08:50 PM
Well done Ireland ! :flag:

22-06-2016, 08:50 PM
Hahaha can only hope you're joking.

Think we're pretty much on a par with them if not slightly better going by the results in qualifying. They got the rub of the green in a few qualifying games.

22-06-2016, 08:52 PM
Can't say they didn't deserve that tonight.

22-06-2016, 08:52 PM
Well done Ireland ! :flag:

Aye right. They can beat it, hope France pump them.

22-06-2016, 08:53 PM
oirland, norn oirland, wales and engerlund..what a great time the fans must be having

#veryjealous

High-On-Hibs
Ireland were better than Italy and got the all important goal. They deserve full credit for getting this far. Good luck to them.

When they had to produce a result they have done it just like in the qualifying.

Well done Ireland.

So 25% of the last 16 in the Euros are from the British Isles. But Scotland aren't one of them.

22-06-2016, 08:54 PM
Wales v Northern Ireland in the first knockout round of the European Championships.

WTF!?

Yeah who'd have thought it eh? Win your qualifying group, qualify for the knock out stages in an expanded tournament... hey presto Wales v Northern Ireland.

22-06-2016, 08:55 PM
So 25% of the last 16 in the Euros are from the British Isles. But Scotland aren't one of them.

We need a wake up call. We are failing behind fast.

Well done to the other home nations.

:hilarious just like Italy did aye?

Aye nae bother.

Not getting the love in here. Maybe I'm in a minority. It's a Martin o Neill thing, dinnae like him.

MartinfaePorty
Who do they go through at the expense of?
Turkey?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

22-06-2016, 08:56 PM
Late header for the green guys to beat the blue guys.

22-06-2016, 08:57 PM
We need a wake up call. We are failing behind fast.

Well done to the other home nations.

3 out of 4 of most groups progress. It's a crap format designed for ratings.

22-06-2016, 08:57 PM
Not getting the love in here. Maybe I'm in a minority. It's a Martin o Neill thing, dinnae like him.

Me too, ever since John O'Neil should have had a penalty and he basically ran up the touchline and held the linesman's flag up for him and it got changed to offside even though he had ran from the halfway line himself, fanny

22-06-2016, 08:58 PM
I've got a fair few Irish friends and work colleagues who'll be ecstatic at this. Fair play to them. As someone mentioned, all 3 teams who finished above us in the group through to the last 16. Maybe Scotland aren't as crap as some love to make out on here?

That said, I'm gutted we're not there. Hoping for a more favourable draw for 2020. If Hibs can win the SC we can qualify!

22-06-2016, 08:59 PM

Maybe it depends if you've any family from ROI? My mother's from Roscommon and I have what can be understated as a huge family down there. I'm deloighted :greengrin

22-06-2016, 09:00 PM
As it stands one of Switzerland/Poland/Croatia/Portugal will be in the semi-finals.

22-06-2016, 09:02 PM
Yeah but Gordon says we are better than a lot of the teams that are there. Stretching it a bit I think.

22-06-2016, 09:02 PM
Not many of the next round games setting my pulse racing.

22-06-2016, 09:03 PM
3 out of 4 of most groups progress. It's a crap format designed for ratings.
Was really pleased when the ROI goal went in. Late goal perhaps they Hibs' it

22-06-2016, 09:03 PM
Fancied Ireland all week considering Italy were already group winners so were always gonna rest players.

Got 7/1 with 10 mins to go for an Ireland win so that'll do me. No doubt they will get licked up and down by France in the next round tho...

22-06-2016, 09:05 PM
ROI v France. Grudge match after Henrys world cup qualifier handball shocker.

(((Fergus)))
22-06-2016, 09:06 PM
They will, playing France.

France owe them one.

Looks like all 3 teams that came out of Scotlands group will be in the last 16, cannae be arsed checking if thats happened in any other of the qualifying groups.

Six groups had two go through, one had one (Portugal), and one had none (Sweden, Austria, Russia).

Finn2015
22-06-2016, 09:06 PM
Not many of the next round games setting my pulse racing.

Wales va Northern Ireland will be a cracker

lugz
22-06-2016, 09:07 PM

We're in the minority but I totally agree. Also doesn't help with players like McGeady and Mccarthy. Hope France hammer them.

22-06-2016, 09:09 PM
Lol Robbie Brady quote "My body just carried my legs into the box"

22-06-2016, 09:15 PM
Hope France hammer them.

That'll teach them eh? They'll wish Scotland had pipped them in qualification then :hilarious

seanshow
22-06-2016, 09:18 PM
Wales va Northern Ireland will be a cracker

crazy that one of these teams in going to the quarter final of the euro's! .........and Iceland obviously :greengrin

22-06-2016, 09:23 PM
One half of the draw has France, Spain, Germany, Italy and England.

The other half it looks like it's between Belgium, Portugal and even Wales for the spot in the final.

22-06-2016, 09:24 PM
Me too, ever since John O'Neil should have had a penalty and he basically ran up the touchline and held the linesman's flag up for him and it got changed to offside even though he had ran from the halfway line himself, fanny

I was at that game as well - unbelieveable that happened and not a mention of it in the media after !!

22-06-2016, 09:26 PM
One half of the draw has France, Spain, Germany, Italy and England.

The other half it looks like it's between Belgium, Portugal and even Wales for the spot in the final.

I wouldn't rule out Croatia on the left side of the draw. Other than a crazy 15 mins against Czech Republic they've probably been the team that's impressed me the most.

Hoping for Wales tho so my Wales/Bale double at 500/1 comes in

lugz
22-06-2016, 09:27 PM
That'll teach them eh? They'll wish Scotland had pipped them in qualification then :hilarious

Never said that smartarse. Just stating I hope they get pumped like I hope Wales pump NI.

22-06-2016, 09:28 PM
Was really pleased when the ROI goal went in. Late goal perhaps they Hibs' it

My point was the drawn out nature of this competition.

EUFA are turning knock out football into a bore fest. The competition takes an entire month, start to finish.

22-06-2016, 09:29 PM
Iceland commentator today;

https://mobile.twitter.com/TeleFootball/status/745700072596320256

Superb 😂

22-06-2016, 09:29 PM
https://streamable.com/f6hj

Kavinho
22-06-2016, 09:53 PM
Hey good luck to them.

Looks like they've somehow pulled out a result when all seemed lost. Just like in qualifying.

But you can't convince me they are a quality side, sorry.

the evidence would appear to point to the fact that they are in the last 16.....

to to get out of the tournaments group of death, having gotten through the qualifying group of death, and a play-off......... You surely could concede that they have something about them..

They've beaten both Italy and Germany. They'll see no reason why they can't do well against an unsure of itself French team.

Kavinho
22-06-2016, 10:02 PM

EUFA are turning knock out football into a bore fest. The competition takes an entire month, start to finish.

Would guarantee that when first announced, you'll have thought it a great chance for Scotland to qualify and a good idea.

Small nations deserve a wee run. Iceland have been great for the tournament. The fans of both Irish teams noisy and colourful and clearly having a great time. If you think it's too long, of course you could leave it til the knockout stage before turning on your telly...

in honesty, I see a little bit of seethe stemmed from being on the outside looking in, but for me, those involved for the first time ever, or in years deserve their moment.

That Icelandic Viking chant is one of the best thing in the tournament !! Can we find a way to get that into Easter road ...?!

22-06-2016, 10:08 PM

A month of football seems better than a whole summer with no football. If Scotland had qualified and reached the last 16 I bet you wouldn't be moaning.

high bee
22-06-2016, 10:08 PM
If I'm not mistaken one of Switzerland, Poland, Croatia, Portugal, Wales, Northern Ireland, Hungary or Belgium will be in the final.

A few decent teams but not the usual were used to seeing in the final.

22-06-2016, 10:20 PM
I hope NI pump Wales on Saturday.

22-06-2016, 11:50 PM
If I'm not mistaken one of Switzerland, Poland, Croatia, Portugal, Wales, Northern Ireland, Hungary or Belgium will be in the final.

All there on merit. A 'big' team needs to win its Group or it doesn't deserve a easier second round game. Six of the eight teams above have looked impressive in the group games.

22-06-2016, 11:54 PM
I hope NI pump Wales on Saturday.

Very much this.

(((Fergus)))
23-06-2016, 12:22 AM

Here's an overview (click to enlarge):

23-06-2016, 07:44 AM
the evidence would appear to point to the fact that they are in the last 16.....

to to get out of the tournaments group of death, having gotten through the qualifying group of death, and a play-off......... You surely could concede that they have something about them..

They've beaten both Italy and Germany. They'll see no reason why they can't do well against an unsure of itself French team.

Yeah fair enough, although their greatest asset is luck. If Italy had something to play for last night they would have put them to the sword.

I suppose I am bitter because Scotland got the better of them in qualifying. But a win against another already qualified side saw them through.

23-06-2016, 02:15 PM
Here's an overview (click to enlarge):

My boy's football sticker book is coming along nicely.

(I do realise the irony with me being Scottish but he's half German)

SJM
23-06-2016, 02:55 PM
Croatia v Germany final I reckon.

Cracking tourney regardless. Spain bawsing it up along with England has really opened it up.

(((Fergus)))
23-06-2016, 03:18 PM
My boy's football sticker book is coming along nicely.

(I do realise the irony with me being Scottish but he's half German)

23-06-2016, 04:09 PM
/-

You mean like Denmark, Greece and the Czech Republic, not mention in the past the Soviet Union being in four finals and Czechoslovakia winning it in 76.

The tournament has a history or throwing up surprises.

The interesting stuff starts with the knockout. The group stage is just postering. Although I welcome the decision to change the format to 24 teams, it has taken 36 games to knock 8 teams out! Looking forward to the knock out.

23-06-2016, 04:12 PM
Croatia v Germany final I reckon.

Cracking tourney regardless. Spain bawsing it up along with England has really opened it up.

Aye that's what I think too. Germany should win it, but Croatia are a good side, that'd be a good final to watch I reckon.

(((Fergus)))
23-06-2016, 06:16 PM
Irish fans dent, then fix, a carrrr… for the boys in green

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2016/06/23/irish-football-fans-fix-a-dented-car-in-france-at-euro-2016/

25-06-2016, 01:31 PM
A feast of football in store today.
Switzerland 0 Poland 0 after half an hour, Lewandowski not playing well, Poland the better side overall missing loads of chances.

25-06-2016, 01:34 PM
Borefest.

25-06-2016, 01:40 PM
1-0 Poland, lovely breakaway. That #11 on the left is quality. The Polish AO'B.

25-06-2016, 02:32 PM
Hate when commentators say he went with his wrong hand, eh no he didn't, he went with the hand he could get highest to save the ball

HibeeLR
25-06-2016, 02:39 PM
What a goal! 1-1

David_D
25-06-2016, 02:40 PM
What a goal.

25-06-2016, 02:40 PM
Stunning!

25-06-2016, 02:41 PM
Brilliant!

25-06-2016, 02:42 PM
Goal of the tourney so far.

25-06-2016, 02:42 PM
Nearly as good as Ronnie Whelan's in 88 :greengrin

25-06-2016, 02:43 PM

Yep, I think so.

Benny Brazil
25-06-2016, 02:57 PM

For me as well - stunning technique

25-06-2016, 03:03 PM
What's happened to Poland? Very poor indeed.

Time For Heroes
25-06-2016, 03:20 PM

agreed. A thing of beauty that gets better from every angle

25-06-2016, 03:37 PM
Lawro just said O-M-G.

I'm out.

25-06-2016, 03:41 PM
Worst miss I can recall in a shoot out.

25-06-2016, 03:44 PM
After all the trouble with fans fighting recently why the **** would you go celebrate right in front of the Swiss fans like that.

25-06-2016, 03:45 PM
Lennon's in the studio.

25-06-2016, 04:03 PM
Steven Davis with a hunlike push on Ramsay. What a noise.

25-06-2016, 04:05 PM
Stokesys on fire.

25-06-2016, 04:19 PM
Hunlike hit by Lafferty.

25-06-2016, 04:29 PM
So far it's like watching Crewe v Plymouth.

25-06-2016, 04:46 PM
Putter Ish.

25-06-2016, 04:51 PM
Is Craig levein managing Wales and Northern Ireland??

And Dean Saunders is a bell end. Basically blaming the norn iron tactics and saying they should come out more so Wales can attack them!

The Irish have probably had the better chances!

25-06-2016, 04:54 PM
Half time between Wales and Northern Ireland, let's cut to an interview with an England player.

25-06-2016, 05:00 PM
dreadful first half

Finn2015
25-06-2016, 05:02 PM
Dreadful and a classic example of the modern game where two teams just cancel each other out

25-06-2016, 05:03 PM
Half time between Wales and Northern Ireland, let's cut to an interview with an England player.
They canny help themselves and they wonder why most people hate the English media :rolleyes:

25-06-2016, 05:06 PM
lafferty is a cheat

25-06-2016, 05:07 PM
Laverty dives.

25-06-2016, 05:09 PM
Vokes square heid.

25-06-2016, 05:10 PM
It's like watching an Spl standard match. Bring on the Croatia game!

25-06-2016, 05:13 PM
Bale diving now.

Stubbsyy
25-06-2016, 05:19 PM
Just put my £10.50 in my account on there being a goal scored in this match. Back 0-0 lads :aok:

25-06-2016, 05:27 PM
Both teams should be fined for this p***.

25-06-2016, 05:28 PM
Thank god we didn't get Michael O'Neil as our manager ever N. Ireland game has been a snooze fest.

25-06-2016, 05:31 PM
1-0 Wales

25-06-2016, 05:32 PM
Nothing the defender could do

25-06-2016, 05:33 PM
:thumbsup:Great, Wales have deserved that.

(((Fergus)))
25-06-2016, 07:01 PM
Will Grigg was dire

25-06-2016, 07:46 PM
Is it just me having to many ales or is this game p*#"

HibeesLA
25-06-2016, 07:49 PM
Is it just me having to many ales or is this game p*#"

I think the Wales v N.Ireland game was better than this, and that was crap too.

25-06-2016, 07:50 PM
I'm losing interest in this competition. I've fallen asleep quite a few times as well

25-06-2016, 08:28 PM
This game needs a goal, a red card or a bone crunching challenge followed by a 22 man brawl.

25-06-2016, 08:28 PM
This game needs a goal, a red card or a bone crunching challenge followed by a 22 man brawl.

Then a pitch invasion

25-06-2016, 08:29 PM
Renata Sanchez is way overrated. His career will go the same way as Tam McManus.

25-06-2016, 08:29 PM
This one's been incredibly dull

25-06-2016, 08:31 PM
I'm losing interest in this competition. I've fallen asleep quite a few times as well

I start crying every time I wake up to find the games still going on.

25-06-2016, 08:38 PM
Renata Sanchez is way overrated. His career will go the same way as Tam McManus.

Can I look forward to him being the best of a bad bunch on "Open all Mics" then?

25-06-2016, 08:41 PM
I'm putting Netflix on until Twitter tells me the penalties are about to start. Shocking game.

25-06-2016, 08:47 PM
This has got to have been one of the worst games I have ever watched and I witnessed Terry Butcher managing Hibs

renato
25-06-2016, 08:53 PM

"Renato" Sanchez :greengrin

25-06-2016, 08:56 PM
Just said there's not been a shot on target in the entire match

25-06-2016, 09:00 PM
Hmmm, sounds like I picked the right game to give a miss.
After enduring the Wales v N. Irn match I decided to open a nice bottle of red and settle down with a good book instead of watching this one.
Might tune in for the penalties if it goes that far.

25-06-2016, 09:05 PM
Don't know if it's just me but I just find this years Euros to be one of the most boring ever. Other than Hungary vs Portugal, I can't really think of any others that have been exciting or enjoyable to watch. Majority of the games especially the one on right now is like watching a Louis Van Gaal Man Utd team versus a Terry Buthcher Hibs team.

Can't wait for this tournament to be over and have the domestic football back up and running

25-06-2016, 09:15 PM
Man, this is honking.

25-06-2016, 09:16 PM
Agree this Tournament hasn't set the Heather on Fire and tonights game is no great advert for football
No space behind the back four and no one including Ronaldo making anything happen
This game has penalties written all over it

Saturday Boy
25-06-2016, 09:18 PM
I'm putting Netflix on until Twitter tells me the penalties are about to start. Shocking game.

I almost feel sorry for the posters who kept telling us that the tournament would get better from the knock out rounds.

I see the BBC have a 40 minute highlights programme. Good luck that I say.

25-06-2016, 09:18 PM
Don't know if it's just me but I just find this years Euros to be one of the most boring ever. Other than Hungary vs Portugal, I can't really think of any others that have been exciting or enjoyable to watch. Majority of the games especially the one on right now is like watching a Louis Van Gaal Man Utd team versus a Terry Buthcher Hibs team.

Can't wait for this tournament to be over and have the domestic football back up and running

Thought the poland v swiss game earlier was the best game so far then the hungary v portugal one

25-06-2016, 09:24 PM
Worst game of the tournament so far.

25-06-2016, 09:26 PM
Finally, a goal!!

25-06-2016, 09:26 PM
Reasonably exciting finish though.

25-06-2016, 09:27 PM
Quaresma doesn't score easy goals.

He did there.

25-06-2016, 09:27 PM
I have turned over to the boxing, and i was recording the boxing. :yawn:

Off the bar
25-06-2016, 09:29 PM
A bit gutted by that, was looking forward to penalties

25-06-2016, 09:33 PM
It's negative tactics becoming increasingly popular in the game.

The 2010 World Cup was boring, the 2012 euros were boring, the 2014 World Cup was boring and these Euros are boring.

Managers aren't setting out to attack and win anymore, they're setting out to not lose and maybe knick a goal on the counter.

25-06-2016, 09:35 PM
It's negative tactics becoming increasingly popular in the game.

The 2010 World Cup was boring, the 2012 euros were boring, the 2014 World Cup was boring and these Euros are boring.

Managers aren't setting out to attack and win anymore, they're setting out to not lose and maybe knick a goal on the counter.

The 2014 World Cup had the joint highest number of goals in World Cup history with France 98. 171 goals in 64 matches is pretty entertaining and hardly boring. That's about 2.67 per match.

25-06-2016, 09:43 PM
Have Ian Wright and lothar matthäus changed into their going out gear??

I could have sworn they weren't dressed like that at the start...

Finn2015
25-06-2016, 10:43 PM
Thought 2 of today's games were poor tbh. Didn't see the Swiss v Poland game

25-06-2016, 11:02 PM
Thought 2 of today's games were poor tbh. Didn't see the Swiss v Poland game

I watched all three games. Going to put on a Leonard Cohen record now just to finish the day off.

26-06-2016, 01:02 PM
1st minute penalty for Ireland

26-06-2016, 01:02 PM
1-0 Brady.

Get in.

26-06-2016, 01:04 PM
Pub in belfast I'm in just went mental. Brilliant :thumbsup:

26-06-2016, 01:06 PM
89 minutes to hang on now.

Come on you boys in green :thumbsup:

26-06-2016, 01:07 PM
Payet will fancy this.

26-06-2016, 01:08 PM
Easy for the keeper.

(((Fergus)))
26-06-2016, 01:21 PM
Ireland not looking scared of them.

SJM
26-06-2016, 01:24 PM
Come on Le Blues.

26-06-2016, 01:32 PM
Allez les blues

Matty_Jack04
26-06-2016, 01:35 PM
Who does the boy Hendricks play for? I'd Google but have no idea his first name

26-06-2016, 01:37 PM
Who does the boy Hendricks play for? I'd Google but have no idea his first name

Derby and Jeff.

26-06-2016, 01:40 PM
French fans love a moan. They've spent about 90% of this game whistling and booing.

Matty_Jack04
26-06-2016, 01:41 PM
Derby and Jeff.

Cheers PB bit out of our price range I'd imagine but been quite impressed with him decent player

26-06-2016, 01:44 PM
This game isn't finishing without a sending off

26-06-2016, 01:46 PM
That was bloody heroic stuff from the Irish defence.

26-06-2016, 01:47 PM
If Ireland could commit another 1 or 2 forward you can see them getting another, France don't look great at the back.

Matty_Jack04
26-06-2016, 01:48 PM
This game isn't finishing without a sending off

:agree: 12/5 a red card with hills

Matty_Jack04
26-06-2016, 01:49 PM
If Ireland could commit another 1 or 2 forward you can see them getting another, France don't look great at the back.

The marking at set plays for France so far has been hopeless rami going to find it hard going now he's on a yellow with long buzzing about him

26-06-2016, 01:54 PM
French fans love a moan. They've spent about 90% of this game whistling and booing.

Its not dissimilar to hibs fans, but just substitute mumbling and grumbling for whistling and booing.

Edson Arantes
26-06-2016, 01:54 PM
France were poor first half.

26-06-2016, 01:56 PM
Its not dissimilar to hibs fans, but just substitute mumbling and grumbling for whistling and booing.
It sounds very French, no one seems exempt from it. If the game hadn't been so entertaining the crowd probably would have made up for it.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Matty_Jack04
26-06-2016, 01:59 PM

Been poor all tournament IMO same issues as Belgium a lot of talent but not clicking as a team

Finn2015
26-06-2016, 02:06 PM

Or maybe Ireland have done well

26-06-2016, 02:09 PM
Or maybe Ireland have done well

Bit of both I think.

26-06-2016, 02:11 PM
If England beat Iceland do they play the winners of this game?

26-06-2016, 02:12 PM
Been poor all tournament IMO same issues as Belgium a lot of talent but not clicking as a team

True

Too many individuals. But no team chemistry.

Yes

Finn2015

Yes mate

26-06-2016, 02:14 PM
Need a last minute Thierry Henri intervention here.

Matty_Jack04
26-06-2016, 02:16 PM
True

Too many individuals. But no team chemistry.

Deschamps needs more Fifa 16 experience, can't have poor chemistry:tsk tsk:

26-06-2016, 02:16 PM
Yes

Come on France

26-06-2016, 02:17 PM
that's been coming

26-06-2016, 02:17 PM
1-1. Been coming.

26-06-2016, 02:18 PM
Is that Andy Townsend co commentating? Is he seriously questioning the goalkeeper there?

That's a fantastic header and keeper had no chance

26-06-2016, 02:18 PM
Great goal. Game on now.

26-06-2016, 02:19 PM
These refs behind the goal are a waste of space

Is that Andy Townsend co commentating? Is he seriously questioning the goalkeeper there?

That's a fantastic header and keeper had no chance

Can you not tell with his Irish accent

How is that not a corner? 3 officials in that half and none see the ball hit a French player on the head clear as day.

26-06-2016, 02:20 PM
Excellently worked goal again

26-06-2016, 02:21 PM
2-1.

This is over.

Matty_Jack04
26-06-2016, 02:21 PM
Great knock Down from giroud

26-06-2016, 02:22 PM
Excellently worked goal again

Yep.... great header from Giroud

26-06-2016, 02:23 PM
GIRU Andy Townsend, Lawro, Leprechauns :na na:

26-06-2016, 02:25 PM
Sacrificing Ngolo K for Coman at HT has really turned this French performance around. They look so much better and dangerous in a 4-4-2.

26-06-2016, 02:25 PM
There's your red card

26-06-2016, 02:27 PM
Giroud has been magnificent. Arsenal fans really don't deserve him.

Dan Sarf
26-06-2016, 02:27 PM
Great to hear Andy "got to get it on target there" Townsend's in depth analysis again.

26-06-2016, 02:28 PM
Giroud has been magnificent. Arsenal fans really don't deserve him.

Very brave to block that free kick there.

26-06-2016, 02:28 PM
Are we implementing this new, last man rule, for next season, or is it a trial for the Euro championships?

26-06-2016, 02:29 PM
There's your red card

It's not been a dirty game but was always going to be a red

Very brave to block that free kick there.

Not much he could do really. Otherwise he's been excellent IMO.

For the last 25 minutes France have finally looked like a team capable of winning the tournament. Whether that carries over to better opposition will be interesting.

Dan Sarf
26-06-2016, 02:31 PM
Andy says it's going to be very difficult now. How does he KNOW these things?

Are we implementing this new, last man rule, for next season, or is it a trial for the Euro championships?

What is the new rule? Last man outside box a red, but only a yellow if it's a pen? :confused:

Thank god,the French have found their way and the Irish are hopefully going out.

26-06-2016, 02:33 PM
What is the new rule? Last man outside box a red, but only a yellow if it's a pen? :confused:

That's what happened, but commentator said that if it was a penalty, the player stayed on?

26-06-2016, 02:36 PM
That's what happened, but commentator said that if it was a penalty, the player stayed on?

Yeah that's what I thought he said, hadn't heard of it before now. Can't see the logic

26-06-2016, 02:37 PM
Gignac has just been called 'slow' by this cock of a commentator. :dunno:

26-06-2016, 02:37 PM
Was out earlier, only seen 2nd half, France brilliant!

Bye bye McCarthy etc

26-06-2016, 02:38 PM
Yeah that's what I thought he said, hadn't heard of it before now. Can't see the logic

To stop double jeopardy, potentially losing a goal and having a man sent off

26-06-2016, 02:38 PM

It's a new law, to stop double punishment apparently. If you get a penalty, it's not an automatic sending off....

26-06-2016, 02:42 PM
It's a new law, to stop double punishment apparently. If you get a penalty, it's not an automatic sending off....

but if no attempt to play ball then still a red card, regardless of inside it out.

26-06-2016, 02:42 PM

A new one for me - had not heard of this.
So you can now scythe someone down and take your chance with the penalty whilst only receiving a yellow card?
Encourages foul play rather than preventing it.

26-06-2016, 02:44 PM
A new one for me - had not heard of this.
So you can now scythe someone down and take your chance with the penalty whilst only receiving a yellow card?
Encourages foul play rather than preventing it.

See my post above, still a red if no attempt to play the ball

Dan Sarf
26-06-2016, 02:46 PM
"It's not easy being down to ten".

Thanks Andy!

26-06-2016, 02:49 PM
"It's not easy being down to ten".

Thanks Andy!

Another gem:

'If you can get a free kick in a dangerous area you can make something of it'.

Edson Arantes
26-06-2016, 02:49 PM
Eire out.

Superb.

Dan Sarf
26-06-2016, 02:50 PM
"You get a free kick in a dangerous area you can make something of it."

Andy's playing out of his skin. Terrific stuff.

26-06-2016, 02:50 PM
Sissoko looks like a middleweight boxer.

26-06-2016, 02:51 PM
Best game for a while. Second half especially.

Dan Sarf
26-06-2016, 02:52 PM
Another gem:

'If you can get a free kick in a dangerous area you can make something of it'.

Beat me to it!

26-06-2016, 02:53 PM
Beat me to it!

1 min to go. But he says Ireland should 'set it up. Take your time' :faf:

26-06-2016, 02:55 PM
English commentator, says France march on, and probably to play England?

26-06-2016, 02:55 PM
France are through to play 'probably England'.

I've been supporting England thus far but that kind of thing could well push me into the ABE camp.

26-06-2016, 02:57 PM
Well done to Ireland. Did well to finish 3rd in qualifing with poland and germany, get through the playoffs and qualify with Italy and Belgium from the hardest group. Nae shame in losing 2 1 to France with ten men. Good effort from the boys in green.

26-06-2016, 03:03 PM
Dixon slagging the defending. Totally ridiculous, Griezman is a nightmare to mark, Girouds assist for the second is brilliant, got to credit the attacker. I hate retired ex pros. No objectivity.

26-06-2016, 03:21 PM

It's just the truth.

SJM
26-06-2016, 03:26 PM

He's kiddy on oirish. Must have had a budgie born there some time.

Dan Sarf
26-06-2016, 03:41 PM
Oh no, now we've got "Seldom" Wrighty. No wot a mean?

26-06-2016, 03:51 PM
Dixon slagging the defending. Totally ridiculous, Griezman is a nightmare to mark, Girouds assist for the second is brilliant, got to credit the attacker. I hate retired ex pros. No objectivity.
For the most part the English ex-players on telly this side of the Atlantic are ok I think. It's some of the Scots that leave me red faced - Andy Walker, Alan Preston the the ilk. Like Michael Ballack too.......

_hucks_
26-06-2016, 03:52 PM
France are through to play 'probably England'.

I've been supporting England thus far but that kind of thing could well push me into the ABE camp.

They are through to play probably England though. I'm firmly with the ABE folks but denying that the probability lies with an England win against Iceland is preposterous.

26-06-2016, 03:55 PM
They are through to play probably England though. I'm firmly with the ABE folks but denying that the probability lies with an England win against Iceland is preposterous.
Because Iceland aren't here on merit? On their way here they have put the Netherlands and Austria out on their erchies.......

26-06-2016, 03:55 PM
engerlund will beat iceland by at least 2 goals

then the 'boys in the studio' will do what they do at every tournament engerlund are involved in....tell us all that this is engerlunds year :agree:

until they get beat on penalties by someone :)

_hucks_
26-06-2016, 03:57 PM
Because Iceland aren't here on merit? On their way here they have put the Netherlands and Austria out on their erchies.......

They are here on merit. They will 'probably' lose to England. 80.6% likely going by the exchanges. Nobody is saying it's a foregone conclusion; people are saying that the most likely victors are England. That is fair.

26-06-2016, 04:02 PM
According to the latest commentator Slovakia just about held firm against England

26-06-2016, 04:04 PM
They are here on merit. They will 'probably' lose to England. 80.6% likely going by the exchanges. Nobody is saying it's a foregone conclusion; people are saying that the most likely victors are England. That is fair.
Based on past reputations or quality of performances seen thus far in this tournament?

26-06-2016, 04:09 PM
Pick that one out

26-06-2016, 04:12 PM
I'm not having that, he should be sticking that in the stand and getting back in position.

26-06-2016, 04:14 PM
Shan penalty attempt bu Ozil

_hucks_
26-06-2016, 04:19 PM
Based on past reputations or quality of performances seen thus far in this tournament?

Based on the betting exchanges, guided by the principle of wisdom of crowds. It's as good an indicator of probability as we have for sport.

26-06-2016, 04:39 PM
According to the latest commentator Slovakia just about held firm against England

What a joke of a comment. Almost held firm? And here's me thinking Engerland drew with Slovakia 🙄

26-06-2016, 04:45 PM
2-0 gerrys

26-06-2016, 04:46 PM
Draxler really looks the part here.

I've always heard good things about him but never really seen it.

26-06-2016, 04:50 PM
Draxler looking good.

26-06-2016, 04:52 PM
Good wing play by Draxler. Is he heading to Man u ??

26-06-2016, 05:10 PM
Could do with Slovakia scoring here, it's gone a bit flat

26-06-2016, 05:23 PM
engerlund will beat iceland by at least 2 goals

then the 'boys in the studio' will do what they do at every tournament engerlund are involved in....tell us all that this is engerlunds year :agree:

until they get beat on penalties by someone :)

I dunno. I've only watched one iceland game but they are properly hard to break down and well organised, certainly don't see Raheem Sterling breaking them down anyway. Hrediesson would definitely get into England's team.

Edit 3-0 Germany, Draaaaxler.

26-06-2016, 05:28 PM
Thought ah jist heard the german fans sing Bring on the Hibees

26-06-2016, 05:32 PM
Thought ah jist heard the german fans sing Bring on the Hibees

They know we were world champions as well.

(((Fergus)))
26-06-2016, 06:03 PM
Jesus, they all love brown-nosing Matthaeus

26-06-2016, 06:17 PM
I dunno. I've only watched one iceland game but they are properly hard to break down and well organised, certainly don't see Raheem Sterling breaking them down anyway. Hrediesson would definitely get into England's team.

Edit 3-0 Germany, Draaaaxler.

you've watched one more iceland game than i have, surely england will come good some game, just had a quick look at the format, if england want to win this it will certainly have to be the hard way, IF they beat iceland they will play france, and the winners from that tie will play the winners of Germany v Italy/Spain

IF they do win the thing they will fully deserve it, man it hurts saying that :( i wouldn't bet against the Welsh at least making the Final

26-06-2016, 06:19 PM
you've watched one more iceland game than i have, surely england will come good some game, just had a quick look at the format, if england want to win this it will certainly have to be the hard way, IF they beat iceland they will play france, and the winners from that tie will play the winners of Germany v Italy/Spain

IF they do win the thing they will fully deserve it, man i dislike saying that :( i wouldn't bet against the Welsh at least making the Final
Said the same thing yesterday about Wales......

26-06-2016, 06:48 PM
Have watched 90(+) minutes of almost all games and other than two possibly three have been " underwhelmed "
Almost a " Borefest" at times !! :rolleyes:

26-06-2016, 06:57 PM
Just back fae the US, today is the first time I havebeen able to really watch, it is terrible and my father in law telt me I never missed anything, surely its not as badas the champions league?

26-06-2016, 07:13 PM
The Hungarian defending at the first goal was as bad as the Sevco defending against us at our first goal. There were eight players and two Belgians. Both Belgians got to the cross and the Hungarians stood and watched them.

Dan Sarf
26-06-2016, 07:23 PM
"He's finding the gap through there where there isn't one."

Great to have Martin there to give us his professional insights.

26-06-2016, 07:46 PM
Shirt pulling is becoming one of the great arts and skills of the modern game. I hope youngsters are being made aware of it's importance.:rolleyes:

26-06-2016, 08:00 PM
what on earth was that french player up to when france had a freekick just outside the box, he was crouching down in front of the irish defenders, it was rather strange...don't want to see daft antics like that ta

Marco G
26-06-2016, 08:02 PM
Shirt pulling is becoming one of the great arts and skills of the modern game. I hope youngsters are being made aware of it's importance.:rolleyes:
Been going on forever, just more obvious on slo mo replay imho.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

26-06-2016, 08:35 PM
Game over.

Hungary have given a good account of themselves in the 2nd half, a bit more clinical and they could have been back in this.

Belgians have looked very good in spells though and will fancy their chances against Wales.

26-06-2016, 08:36 PM
Hungary haven't deserved a tanking in the second half, but Belgium have finally looked the part

26-06-2016, 08:39 PM
Hungary haven't deserved a tanking in the second half, but Belgium have finally looked the part

Quaresma back in the first team eh?
Some great touches last night...loving the teardrop tattoo.

26-06-2016, 08:41 PM
Quaresma back in the first team eh?
Some great touches last night...loving the teardrop tattoo.

it's from his as a Mexican cartel enforcer, made him the man he is today!!

26-06-2016, 08:54 PM
BBC commentators talking up the Belgians. I think we saw what happens when teams don't park the bus and have a go. Hungary paid the penalty and couldn't cope with the attacks of Belgium. Neck fully extended, I'll say Belgium won't hack it with any of the best teams.

26-06-2016, 09:00 PM
I think Belgium are starting to look the part.

They started slowly and were unimpressive but did enough to get through.

Their poor start has ultimately left them in the easier half of the draw, unlike the poor Italians who have been impressive and now look like they face some really tough games to get anywhere.

Belgium also seem to have settled on who to play and who not to play - they were always going to have to leave some talented players out in order to get as strong a team as possible.

They have talented players all over the park and I think it's starting to look good for them.

Finn2015
26-06-2016, 09:02 PM
Really think Wales have a chance against them. We will see

(((Fergus)))
26-06-2016, 09:29 PM

One of many areas where more rule changes could make football less boring for those with no skin - or money - in the game.

nellio
27-06-2016, 12:13 PM
Really think Wales have a chance against them. We will see

We've played them a fair bit in qualifying for both the last world cup and the Euro's an they've struggled to break us down so really hoping can put on a solid defensive display and counter attack them.

Even if they put us out I'm still proud we got to the quarters and won our group!

renato
27-06-2016, 12:43 PM
Hoping Italy can do the business this evening but I think this'll be the toughest team we'll face, given opposition playing style, personnel, recent history etc.

Even if it was the Germans, French or English at this stage then I'd fancy us but this will be a mighty tough game. What a confidence boost it would be to get through though, even if after ET or pens.

As an aside, this half of the draw is just ridiculous, almost wish we'd been beaten by Belgium in the 1st game so we could've finished 2nd instead...

27-06-2016, 01:02 PM
Eden Hazard last night was the best individual performance of the tournament so far; if he keeps playing like that then Belgium will have a great chance of reaching the final and maybe winning it. He was unplayable.

Lukaku must have been doing his nut when he was subbed off though; the cross that Batshuayi scored from with his first touch was the type of cross Lukaku was screaming out for the whole game.

27-06-2016, 02:30 PM
We've played them a fair bit in qualifying for both the last world cup and the Euro's an they've struggled to break us down so really hoping can put on a solid defensive display and counter attack them.

Even if they put us out I'm still proud we got to the quarters and won our group!

You've got to think big now.

Wales are in the last eight, easier side of the draw, and have one unarguably world class player.

Why not?

27-06-2016, 03:09 PM

Hungary showed they are anything but impregnable at the back you could easily win if you get the first goal like you did in Cardiff not so long ago.