View Full Version : NHC Euro Championships 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

16-06-2016, 03:37 PM
I was impressed that the English TV pundits, while understandably happy and relieved, didn't start to gloat. Lineker had to spoil it tho' with his closing gambit - " Rio, can we win this?" Can't help themselves can they? :rolleyes:

They have got absolutely no chance of winning this tournament, Italy for me by a country mile.

16-06-2016, 03:38 PM
England were the better side by far. They also should have had a penalty. They could do well in this tournament

They could, no one looks great so far, Germany looked the most solid out of the big teams so it will be interesting how they handle Poland tonight.

France are hard to judge since they have only played two pretty poor teams so far, mind you I wouldn't class Russia and Wales as GOOD teams either.

OxoHibby
16-06-2016, 03:46 PM
I was impressed that the English TV pundits, while understandably happy and relieved, didn't start to gloat. Lineker had to spoil it tho' with his closing gambit - " Rio, can we win this?" Can't help themselves can they? :rolleyes:

I know where your coming from but tbf to Ferdinand he said he wouldn't say that.
Tin hat on but they have a better chance than Scotland

16-06-2016, 03:50 PM

When they get past the group stage it's the same as any knock out cup competition. Of course they can win it, just like we won the Scottish cup. I really can't get upset about English commentators asking if they can win the thing. Why the hell not?

16-06-2016, 04:41 PM
Northern Ireland are doing well here. They need to take something from this.

Finn2015
16-06-2016, 04:42 PM
Bet the Welsh are gutted, could come back to haunt them in terms of qualifying for the next round. Fully expect England to beat Slovakia and top the group

16-06-2016, 04:59 PM
Northern Ireland are doing well here. They need to take something from this.

:agree: but if they Ukrainian trainer is worth his salt, then they should be able to dominate NI in the 2nd half.

16-06-2016, 05:05 PM
Goal for the nordies!

Twiglet
16-06-2016, 05:05 PM
1-0 NI. Commentator got a bit excited on STV, think he was happy to see them score.

16-06-2016, 05:09 PM
Now this is getting interesting.

Twiglet
16-06-2016, 05:12 PM
Weather is horrible. Hail now.

Ref. taken players in now it's so bad.

16-06-2016, 05:13 PM
Bet the Welsh are gutted, could come back to haunt them in terms of qualifying for the next round. Fully expect England to beat Slovakia and top the group

Wales would be happy with that then. A draw v Russia would see them through.

Finn2015
16-06-2016, 05:13 PM
Hail stopped play

16-06-2016, 05:14 PM
England were the better side by far. They also should have had a penalty. They could do well in this tournament

They have got lucky in past tournaments to scrape through group stages and improve in the knockout rounds. I think they are going to get a lot better and discover who their big game performers are.

16-06-2016, 05:15 PM
Hail hail!

Probably not a song the NI fans are likely to be singing despite the relevance today :greengrin

JennaFletcher
16-06-2016, 05:17 PM
NI fans singing their equivalent of Stokesys on fire :greengrin

16-06-2016, 05:30 PM
If NI do the unlikely, will Lennon's holiday be extended?

16-06-2016, 05:32 PM
If NI do the unlikely, will Lennon's holiday be extended?

I imagine Hibs have given him permission to be there for the group stages as it was agreed before he took the job however any longer and his job must come first and Hibs will want him at EM every day.

16-06-2016, 05:37 PM
Camera at Northern Ireland game just zoomed in to the crowd, straight at a guy holding up a Hibs Scarf

16-06-2016, 05:41 PM
Come on Norn Iron, see it oot

16-06-2016, 05:42 PM
Thought O'Neill was going to do a Charlton 1994 there.

16-06-2016, 05:43 PM
What was all the confusion about?

16-06-2016, 05:45 PM
Couple of minutes to hold on. Good result for Northern Ireland is they can see this out.

Six minutes of stoppage time. They were big hailstones.

16-06-2016, 05:46 PM
Couple of minutes to hold on. Good result for Northern Ireland is they can see this out.

6 minutes added on!!!

16-06-2016, 05:47 PM
Would be pretty good if both Irish sides plus England and Wales all made it through to knock out stages.

16-06-2016, 05:48 PM
6 minutes added on!!!

Yes. For the massive hail stones.

16-06-2016, 05:51 PM
Wow!!

Get in :thumbsup:

2-0, game over!

16-06-2016, 05:52 PM
Well done NI

2-0. Game over.

How about that?

Commentator wasn't exactly neutral either. Not just England who get the treatment despite the conspiracy theories.

Yes. For the massive hail stones.

Forgot about that.:rolleyes:

16-06-2016, 05:53 PM
Gutted that we're not there. All of the home nations doing really well.

16-06-2016, 05:54 PM
How about that?

Commentator wasn't exactly neutral either. Not just England who get the treatment despite the conspiracy theories.

The German Commentator was completely neutral

16-06-2016, 06:00 PM
Well done to northern ireland and michael oneil. Fantastic result :flag:

16-06-2016, 06:03 PM
Brilliant for N Ireland and Michael O'Neill.

16-06-2016, 06:10 PM
That last minute second goal for NI could turn out to be crucial, never realised top 4 runners up (3rd place) qualify.

16-06-2016, 06:14 PM
Hopefully Germany give Poland a doing tonight and give NI a chance of getting second

16-06-2016, 06:33 PM
Hopefully Germany give Poland a doing tonight and give NI a chance of getting second

I hope Germany get totally humped!!!!

16-06-2016, 06:48 PM
"Jim McDonald" shares his views :greengrin

https://twitter.com/charlie_lawson1/status/743504041171427328

Northern Hibby
16-06-2016, 07:00 PM
Camera at Northern Ireland game just zoomed in to the crowd, straight at a guy holding up a Hibs Scarf

Rewound to be sure, to be sure, and yes it was!!

16-06-2016, 07:03 PM
I hope Germany get totally humped!!!!

Nestbeschmutzer!

16-06-2016, 07:20 PM

The amount of holding on and grabbing jerseys in this competition is unbelievable. The referees are hardly consistent in dealing with it.

16-06-2016, 07:25 PM
Sky News Newsdesk ‏@SkyNewsBreak 3m3 minutes ago

Police Service of Northern Ireland says a Northern Ireland football fan aged in his sixties has collapsed and died during #Euro2016 in Lyon

16-06-2016, 07:30 PM
Sky News Newsdesk ‏@SkyNewsBreak 3m3 minutes ago

Police Service of Northern Ireland says a Northern Ireland football fan aged in his sixties has collapsed and died during #Euro2016 in Lyon

Aw what a shame, but at least he left the world on a high !

16-06-2016, 07:33 PM
Aw what a shame, but at least he left the world on a high !

:agree: very sad but given a choice I suspect that would be a favourable option for his last experience. RIP big lad.

16-06-2016, 07:50 PM
I've been disappointed in many of the games so far. There are too many of the teams who take the field with the sole intention of avoiding defeat rather than going for outright victory from the kick off.

16-06-2016, 07:51 PM
This has been dire

16-06-2016, 07:57 PM
This has been dire

Turned it over it was that bad, US Open was the choice, play suspended due to lighting storm on it's way, back to the dire game.

16-06-2016, 07:57 PM
that was a great result for norn oirland, ukraine are no mugs, pleased for Michael o'neil

16-06-2016, 08:02 PM
oh dear, that was a sitter

16-06-2016, 08:52 PM
Germany v Poland. As my esteemed friend Grumpy Gibby might say ....... Loady Pish

Finn2015
16-06-2016, 08:53 PM
I suppose one of the favourites will end up winning such as a Germany, Spain or France but none of them look like great sides. All have their weaknesses

16-06-2016, 09:23 PM
I can't believe how bad Germany were. I put a tenner on them to win the cup. I'll get better odds tomorrow.

The thing is ye canna ***** oot the Geoormans.

17-06-2016, 01:47 PM
0-0 Italy v Sweden HT

17-06-2016, 01:49 PM
This has been a poor euro's so far.

17-06-2016, 01:51 PM

I disagree. I think there's only been a couple of poor games. France on Wednesday, Germany last night, and this Italy game. In general the games have been decent. Maybe not loads of goals but enjoyable to watch.

17-06-2016, 01:51 PM
Totally agree, awful tournament so far. I don't think there has been an entertaining first half yet. All far too cagey. I might just stop watching the group stages and pick it up in the quarter finals or something.

17-06-2016, 01:56 PM
I disagree. I think there's only been a couple of poor games. France on Wednesday, Germany last night, and this Italy game. In general the games have been decent. Maybe not loads of goals but enjoyable to watch.Yep, this has been a good tournament so far and will only get better.

2010 world cup was a real boring tournament, go back and watch that if you think this is bad.

17-06-2016, 02:00 PM

I think it's the 24 team format. Only 8 teams eliminated so not so much need to go for it, a draw is often good enough.

17-06-2016, 02:05 PM
I think it's the 24 team format. Only 8 teams eliminated so not so much need to go for it, a draw is often good enough.

I'm sure they worked out at the start of the tournament that three 0-0's in the group stages gave you an 85% chance of qualifying for the knockouts.

17-06-2016, 02:20 PM
The quality of football in the final third of this game is mince.

17-06-2016, 02:22 PM
The quality of football in the final third of this game is mince.

Very much this. Also seems to be way more over hit crosses than you'd reasonably expect.

17-06-2016, 02:36 PM
http://www.tehcute.com/pics/201204/bunny-falls-asleep-at-desk.jpg

17-06-2016, 02:44 PM
Good goal by Italy but what a shocking game

17-06-2016, 02:45 PM
Fora Italia!!! Great goal from Eder

17-06-2016, 02:52 PM
Italy are very solid, only takes 1 goal for them to win a game.

17-06-2016, 02:55 PM
Fora Italia!!! Great goal from Eder

Now Italy Hibsed it.

17-06-2016, 04:37 PM
1-0 Croatia, they are looking really good again

17-06-2016, 05:15 PM
2-0 another great goal

17-06-2016, 05:16 PM
Croatia looking decent

17-06-2016, 05:17 PM
Wearing football shirts when you aren't going to a match is a big no-no but an exception has to be made for a crisp, Italian jersey.

I was going to say that I fancy them or Spain but Croatia are looking like a real force.

(((Fergus)))
17-06-2016, 05:22 PM
Croatia looking decent

Apart from Corluka in that baby's hat. Not a cool look.

17-06-2016, 05:23 PM
Wearing football shirts when you aren't going to a match is a big no-no but an exception has to be made for a crisp, Italian jersey.

I tend to disagree. You aren't allowed to represent your own club but being a fan boy for Italy or the Pakistan cricket team is okay? Who writes these rules? Wear what you want and to hell with convention.

17-06-2016, 05:24 PM
Croatia could be the dark horses in this tournament. The czechs are fairly toothless though to be fair.

17-06-2016, 05:26 PM
With a midfield of Modric and Rakitic they should be looking good!

17-06-2016, 05:31 PM
Who writes these rules

The fashion police I presume.

Or do they just enforce them? :hmmm:

Good goal by the Czechs now

Croatia could be the dark horses in this tournament. The czechs are fairly toothless though to be fair.

Toothless like a fox!

Lovely cross with the outside of the foot.

17-06-2016, 05:33 PM
Some ball from Rosicky! He's without a club now right? Get him signed up Lennon! Think this has been game of the tournament so far. Really like the Croatians though.

17-06-2016, 05:38 PM
It will be harsh on Croatia if the Czechs get anything from this.

Finn2015
17-06-2016, 05:45 PM
Croats fighting each other. The only consistent thing about this tournament is the hooliganism

17-06-2016, 05:46 PM
Croatian fans throwing flares on the pitch then fighting in the stands, mental.

17-06-2016, 05:46 PM
Croatian ars***les letting off flares and putting their teams progress in jeapordy. One of the flares looked as if it exploded as someone was trying to deal with it. They're apparently fighting amongst themselves.

17-06-2016, 05:47 PM
Croats fighting each other. The only consistent thing about this tournament is the hooliganism

England and Russia need to up their game a bit.

Might not be Croatians?

Were they definitely fighting each other? I've never seen as many flares on a pitch since Rod Stewart did a concert at hampden in the late 70s

And still fighting goes on in the stand.

Finn2015
17-06-2016, 05:48 PM
Penalty to the Czechs!

17-06-2016, 05:48 PM
92nd minute strikes again with a penalty given

17-06-2016, 05:49 PM

Things will get really ugly now.

croatia have totally utterly heartsed it

17-06-2016, 05:50 PM
Robbery

17-06-2016, 05:50 PM
Those fans have probably cost their team the win. I would imagine things might get a bit nasty tonight.

17-06-2016, 05:51 PM
Spewing. Had italy croatia spain treble. Sickner

17-06-2016, 05:51 PM

Brilliant. The Croat flare throwers have rangered themselves into losing a goal.

17-06-2016, 05:52 PM
Forget the game. I'm sick of this tournament. It's been wholly ruined by fighting and nonsense inside and outside the stadiums.

17-06-2016, 05:53 PM
Tell me more about this tournament being boring...

What a mad game, horrible scenes in the Croatia end and ultimately cost their team the game.

17-06-2016, 05:54 PM
Forget the game. I'm sick of this tournament. It's been wholly ruined by fighting and nonsense inside and outside the stadiums.

Just wait until the pitch invasion. That will totally ruin it.

Depends on the spirit behind it.

have no idea what's caused this incident but there's a load of dissent amongst Croatian fans because the NT has basically become Zdravko Mamić's (Dinamo's owner) plaything, using it to make himself even richer. Hajduk fans are done with it, a lot of Dinamo fans are ****ed off with it too. So is it in protest against that maybe? Obviously no excuse.

(((Fergus)))
17-06-2016, 05:56 PM
Why did Modric come off?

17-06-2016, 05:57 PM
Why did Modric come off?

Because they were 2-0 up and cruising it, worked out well

Finn2015
17-06-2016, 05:57 PM
Why did Modric come off?

Cos he is starring in coronation street later?

17-06-2016, 05:58 PM
https://twitter.com/footbalifights/status/743863102324748289

17-06-2016, 05:59 PM
Remember Stewart Regan described our pitch invasion as the worst scenes he'd seen in a football stadium? :faf:

17-06-2016, 06:01 PM
Remember Stewart Regan described our pitch invasion as the worst scenes he'd seen in a football stadium? :faf:

Surely he meant the flares launched by the Sevconians.

17-06-2016, 06:02 PM
croatia have totally utterly heartsed it

So true :greengrin

Though at least their goal scorers managed to refrain from touching themselves in celebration before they chucked it.

17-06-2016, 06:02 PM
utter ******* imbeciles, stay away from decent people and stay away from football...pieces of utter s***e

17-06-2016, 06:05 PM
utter ******* imbeciles, stay away from decent people and stay away from football...pieces of utter s***e

Croatian fans or hearts? :greengrin

Stax
17-06-2016, 06:09 PM
Unreal scenes at the Croatia game. Cracking game as well but the steward and Croatia player nearest to that firecracker that went off could have been seriously injured. Mental.

LM1875
17-06-2016, 06:09 PM
Amazing how much the game changed from the first Czech goal. Great game

17-06-2016, 06:10 PM
The use of flares by Croats or the Rangers fans should not be stamped out once and for all.

17-06-2016, 06:10 PM
Tell me more about this tournament being boring...

What a mad game, horrible scenes in the Croatia end and ultimately cost their team the game.

I had the sky treble - Italy, Croatia, and Spain. Looked like two results up and then they blow it. In the end I was hoping the Czechs could hit a winner - it would have been exactly what these Croatia fans deserved.

For all the plaudits Croatia got they weren't half as good a team when Modric went off.

17-06-2016, 06:11 PM
First game to have more than 3 goals.

17-06-2016, 06:14 PM
What is going on with this tournament? I know there is often trouble at them but this one just seems crazy.

17-06-2016, 06:32 PM
The use of flares by Croats or the Rangers fans should not be stamped out once and for all.

I take it you mean the opposite. To this end I would make the unlawful carrying of flares punishable equal to carrying firearms, no questions asked.

LM1875
17-06-2016, 06:47 PM
Slaven Bilic is very good to listen to, talks a lot of sense

nellio
17-06-2016, 07:19 PM
Slaven Bilic is very good to listen to, talks a lot of sense

I said that a few games ago when he was on.

Came out with the F word on live tv too :greengrin

17-06-2016, 07:34 PM
Just seen a guy with a hibs top on :thumbsup:

17-06-2016, 07:34 PM
Spain are just being Spain, by far the most impressive team so far

Time For Heroes
17-06-2016, 07:35 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36565189

17-06-2016, 07:36 PM
Great build uo to a great goal. Spain 1-0.

17-06-2016, 07:37 PM
2-0

17-06-2016, 07:37 PM
We're going to see a team score more than two for the first time in the tournament here i think.

17-06-2016, 07:47 PM
Worst major tournament i can remember, worse than Italia 90. I'm still watching though.

17-06-2016, 07:55 PM
Worst major tournament i can remember, worse than Italia 90. I'm still watching though.

Italia 90 was under-rated imo. Some quality goals. Voller, matteus, platt, cannigia, baggio...

Andreas brehme in the 2nd round v the dutch scored a peach.

17-06-2016, 07:57 PM

I agree, pretty defensive football so far. I'm hoping that when the knock out starts, things will improve

17-06-2016, 07:58 PM
tournament has yet to come to life. pretty dull so far

17-06-2016, 08:02 PM
Worst major tournament i can remember, worse than Italia 90. I'm still watching though.South Africa 2010 was far worse than this.

There have only been 3 bad games so far in this tournament IMO.

17-06-2016, 08:03 PM
Turkey away is another honker from Nike.

17-06-2016, 08:04 PM
croatian FA saying all the flare throwers were not croatian fans, they were terrorists :rolleyes:

they then thanked jimski traynor for helping with that statement

17-06-2016, 08:06 PM
3-zilch

17-06-2016, 08:06 PM
That is one of the best passing goals you will see

17-06-2016, 08:07 PM
Away from the football itself... i see via Twitter that Scots journalist Kevin McCarra has gone missing in France, various appeals posted for information regarding his whereabouts! Weird.

17-06-2016, 08:08 PM
Iniesta is awesome.

17-06-2016, 08:08 PM
croatian FA saying all the flare throwers were not croatian fans, they were terrorists :rolleyes:

they then thanked jimski traynor for helping with that statementIt was part of a protest against the Croatian FA and they were deliberately trying to sabotage the team. Don't sound like fans to me.

17-06-2016, 08:09 PM
Iniesta is awesome.

He really is a fantastic player.

17-06-2016, 08:10 PM

they then thanked jimski traynor for helping with that statement

Terrorists who couldn't lay their hands on bombs so settled for flares and firecrackers. Will ISIS claim responsibility? Even assuming he was correct, what does it say for security measures?

17-06-2016, 08:14 PM
Terrorists who couldn't lay their hands on bombs so settled for flares and firecrackers. Will ISIS claim responsibility? Even assuming he was correct, what does it say for security measures?

I assume he's using the term terrorist quite loosely. If there was an element within their support intent on sabotaging the team then I can see where he's coming from but I'd suggest it's a deliberate exaggeration.

17-06-2016, 08:16 PM
It was part of a protest against the Croatian FA and they were deliberately trying to sabotage the team. Don't sound like fans to me.

after a wee bit of googling
http://www.goal.com/euro2016/en/article/why-did-croatia-hooligans-stage-shocking-flare-protest-at-euro-2016/15ao0gjqf711b1loskyoy73kfb

What may have looked like a mindless act from a section of supporters was in fact a planned protest against the Croatia Football Federation

But rather than this incident being a mindless act from supporters, it was in fact a staged protest against the Croatian Football Federation and, in particular, Zdravko Mamic, former chief executive of Dinamo Zagreb.

17-06-2016, 08:16 PM
I assume he's using the term terrorist quite loosely. If there was an element within their support intent on sabotaging the team then I can see where he's coming from but I'd suggest it's a deliberate exaggeration.

very sevconian :agree:

17-06-2016, 08:19 PM
Spain laying down a marker here.

17-06-2016, 08:19 PM
Spent the build up listening to talk sport talk about how poor Spain were going forward..

Shows you what they clowns know.

17-06-2016, 08:21 PM
Spent the build up listening to talk sport talk about how poor Spain were going forward..

Shows you what they clowns know.Tbf they can only judge on the evidence in front of them, Spain were very poor against Georgia and Czech Republic in terms of attack. They look a bit daft now though :greengrin

17-06-2016, 08:25 PM

It still puts a question mark against the French security. You can't carry flares and other potential 'surprises' in your back pocket.:dunno:

17-06-2016, 08:27 PM
It still puts a question mark against the French security. You can't carry flares and other potential 'surprises' in your back pocket.:dunno:

That's certainly a fair point as there have been a good few of them set off at various games now.

17-06-2016, 08:29 PM
That's certainly a fair point as there have been a good few of them set off at various games now.

In fairness though, unless you are frisking every single person on their way in, which they don't have time to do, its hard to catch. Folk will be hiding them in socks, under jackets etc.

17-06-2016, 09:23 PM
In fairness though, unless you are frisking every single person on their way in, which they don't have time to do, its hard to catch. Folk will be hiding them in socks, under jackets etc.

You're correct of-course but it's quite frightening to think that in place of flares under jackets, serious terrorists could gain entry with suicide belts under jackets. In today's climate it's unthinkable that you take risks because time is against you.

17-06-2016, 10:06 PM
You're correct of-course but it's quite frightening to think that in place of flares under jackets, serious terrorists could gain entry with suicide belts under jackets. In today's climate it's unthinkable that you take risks because time is against you.

I know totally agree. If folk can conceal flares, they could just as easily conceal something more deadly. Reality is though, you can't individually frisk/search 50k+ people, it's just not possible really.

18-06-2016, 04:16 AM
Spain are just being Spain, by far the most impressive team so far

Dropped the Brazilian and gone back to the tried and tested way that won 3 tournaments in a row.

18-06-2016, 04:34 AM

The new format might have something to do with lots of people thinking this way. I reckon it will come to life in the third round of group matches where lots of teams still have things to play for...in fact, I don't think anyone has actually been eliminated yet unlike previous years.

18-06-2016, 04:40 AM
The new format might have something to do with lots of people thinking this way. I reckon it will come to life in the third round of group matches where lots of teams still have things to play for...in fact, I don't think anyone has actually been eliminated yet unlike previous years.

Previously the tournament has been brilliant from round one as you had to win two to get through. With this silly 4/6 3rd place stuff it is not so much of a big deal so teams are happier taking the slow approach.

Still been some great games though.

18-06-2016, 04:56 AM
Previously the tournament has been brilliant from round one as you had to win two to get through. With this silly 4/6 3rd place stuff it is not so much of a big deal so teams are happier taking the slow approach.

Still been some great games though.

Can't remember but was there not a lot more matches that were meaningless to at least one of the teams involved when it came to the third game as they were already out.

Looking back at the tournaments there were only 8 teams in Euro 92...and Scotland were one of them. FFS!

18-06-2016, 05:02 AM
Can't remember but was there not a lot more matches that were meaningless to at least one of the teams involved when it came to the third game as they were already out.

Looking back at the tournaments there were only 8 teams in Euro 92...and Scotland were one of them. FFS!

Possibly mate, I have always found the Euros better than the world cup in the group stages until this one.

Not saying that the games have been ***** but a few teams have defo been more defensive than usual.

18-06-2016, 06:22 AM
Possibly mate, I have always found the Euros better than the world cup in the group stages until this one.

Not saying that the games have been ***** but a few teams have defo been more defensive than usual.

The new format with groups playing their last games at different times and with 4 3rd place teams going through gives a huge advantage to groups playing last as they will know exactly what score could take both teams through.

18-06-2016, 11:16 AM
Expecting improved Belgian performance today. Apparently Fellaini dropped and Carrasco and Dembele in. Should be on front foot today.

18-06-2016, 11:31 AM
I'm pleased there's still top-level football on to fill up part of the close season, but I've not been glued to any of the games so far. I think a certain event four weeks ago has cast a big green shadow over my enjoyment of the competition - I put the full final on last night (giving up on Spain game at 2-0), and watched every second of it. Again.

Hopefully once some of the diddy teams (less diddy than Scotland, of course) are out it will be more captivating.

18-06-2016, 11:38 AM
Spain for me are favourites and I fancy them to retain the trophy.

Germany are missing a proper number 9 and the balance of the team doesn't feel right for them.

I think France have the players to do it just depends if they can keep harmony in the squad.

Croatia will be hard for anyone to beat as they have the best centre midfield pairing and have a great team ethic.

18-06-2016, 11:40 AM
C'mon Ireland let's do this :flag:

18-06-2016, 12:19 PM
I'm in Galway for a family birthday party, and all the inlaws are getting excited for the big game this afternoon. I hope Ireland win as it will set the tone for rest of day and provide a gala atmosphere.
I'm in a win-win because I will take as much pleasure out of Ireland getting beat - for the exact same reasons given above :devil:

18-06-2016, 01:45 PM
That ruling confuses me.

6 officials fail to spot and/or communicate there are 2 balls on the park, Irish player kicks the extra ball, albeit blatantly, towards the other ball and is booked and a free kick awarded.

Surely the game is stopped anyway if there are additional balls on the park?

18-06-2016, 01:48 PM
That ruling confuses me.

6 officials fail to spot and/or communicate there are 2 balls on the park, Irish player kicks the extra ball, albeit blatantly, towards the other ball and is booked and a free kick awarded.

Surely the game is stopped anyway if there are additional balls on the park?

:agree: I thought that was a bit odd though there was the intention to disrupt the attack I suppose.

What a ***** first half.

18-06-2016, 01:52 PM
Imagine paying a fortune to go to the games and having to watch Ireland ? it's worse than watching paint dry the way they waste time and hope to get a goal from a lump up the park, utter dross.

18-06-2016, 02:15 PM
At least you'd expect Ireland to be limited. Belgium are torturous to watch. They just canter around then give it away the minute they try something beyond safe and boring.

18-06-2016, 02:17 PM
And that'll be that then.

Finn2015
18-06-2016, 02:19 PM
It was coming really.

18-06-2016, 02:20 PM
Very pleasing to see Ireland getting beat. A side who Scotland took four points from six in qualifying has seen their luck run out hopefully.

18-06-2016, 02:27 PM
What a run by Hazard there, he is rapid, went round the linesman as well

18-06-2016, 02:27 PM
This is a pumping.

Crazy that Ireland could still qualify from the group even if it is highly unlikely.

Finn2015
18-06-2016, 02:31 PM
Could well beat in the end and taken apart by Belgium in the second half. Could turn nastier for us to

ardecos
18-06-2016, 02:36 PM
I like Lukaku's statistics: attempts = 2, on target =2, goals=2. That's what you want from a striker.Can we sign him?

18-06-2016, 04:02 PM
Iceland have 27000 fans in France, that's nearly 10% of their population. That's impressive.

nellio
18-06-2016, 04:16 PM
Iceland have 27000 fans in France, that's nearly 10% of their population. That's impressive.

Wow, that's quite something!

18-06-2016, 04:21 PM
Who's winning the chanting? A draw I'd say.

LM1875
18-06-2016, 04:25 PM
I still laugh every time I see the Hungary goalie with his cottons on😂😂

18-06-2016, 04:38 PM

What are cottons?

18-06-2016, 04:39 PM
Whatever they are didn't help him catch the ball

18-06-2016, 04:40 PM
You don't want to start goading that lot.

18-06-2016, 04:41 PM

Like the kid that forgets his P.E kit and has to wear something from the Lost Property box.

Finn2015
18-06-2016, 04:45 PM
You don't want to start goading that lot.

Lol I was thinking the same thing! Never a penalty either

HibbyDave
18-06-2016, 05:08 PM
Hungary kick off 2nd half by knocking the ball 10 yes into their own half..... Indirect free kick to Iceland?

18-06-2016, 05:17 PM
Italia 90 was under-rated imo. Some quality goals. Voller, matteus, platt, cannigia, baggio...

Andreas brehme in the 2nd round v the dutch scored a peach.

unfortunately Italy did not go all the way, but let's not forget Toto.....was a good story at the time.

I was there....was great fun, even though I slept on the streets for 3 weeks.

Showered every morning in the main fountain in Genoa, Piazza de Ferrari.

Topographic Hibby
18-06-2016, 05:20 PM
Hungary have a scary looking first few rows behind the Iceland goal. Loadsa young boys in black t-shirts. French polis (riot type) lined up in close formation right along the length of that stand. Waiting for something to go down? Hope not, would like to see Iceland get something from this.

Edit: been a bit of bother already according to Beeb:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36568629

18-06-2016, 05:22 PM
Iceland are the new Greece

LM1875
18-06-2016, 05:27 PM
What are cottons?

The grey trousers he's wearing, definitely make him stand out

18-06-2016, 05:37 PM
unfortunately Italy did not go all the way, but let's not forget Toto.....was a good story at the time.

I was there....was great fun, even though I slept on the streets for 3 weeks.

Showered every morning in the main fountain in Genoa, Piazza de Ferrari.

Tbh the fact that toto schillaci ended italia 90 as top scorer doesn't aid the argument that it was a good tournament imo. I can't actually remember any of his goals apart from the one against Ireland.

18-06-2016, 05:44 PM
Another late goal, 1-1

More flares too

18-06-2016, 05:44 PM
Another late goal, 1-1

More flares too
They deserved that equaliser

18-06-2016, 05:49 PM
Heavy rain in the west of Ireland to dampen spirits further - not to worry though, as I've an endless supply of Cup Final anecdotes to entertain/bore the troops with..

18-06-2016, 06:59 PM
Luis Figo wearing a suit jacket on top of a football jersey.

I feel a bit let down.

ShadesLongThrow
18-06-2016, 07:04 PM
Almost every kick off in these Euros has seen the centre forward on his own knock the ball back towards his own goals. I always thought the ball had to go forward at kick off. Have they changed the rules?

18-06-2016, 07:07 PM
Almost every kick off in these Euros has seen the centre forward on his own knock the ball back towards his own goals. I always thought the ball had to go forward at kick off. Have they changed the rules?

They've changed the rules.

ShadesLongThrow
18-06-2016, 07:09 PM
They've changed the rules.

Cheers. Must have missed that!

18-06-2016, 07:10 PM
Cheers. Must have missed that!

Yes it can now go backwards.

Australia looking the more comfortable.

18-06-2016, 07:13 PM
Pepe is a sh*tb*g. That's all. I've taken Portugal to win but I'd get a lot of satisfaction seeing them lose.

18-06-2016, 07:14 PM
Did I hear Austria were 19 unbeaten going into the tournament?

**** knows how as they look borderline awful at the back.

18-06-2016, 07:17 PM
Australia looking the more comfortable.

No wonder, they're probably all tucked up in their scratchers :greengrin

Dan Sarf
18-06-2016, 07:19 PM
Our Manager is the commentator's side kick on Radio 5 for the Portugal game alongside the fabulously pompous "Theory Enri".

18-06-2016, 07:19 PM
No wonder, they're probably all tucked up in their scratchers :greengrin

Stupid phone :rolleyes:

What are Austria playing at? Very ropey at the back.

18-06-2016, 07:25 PM
Austria are pish

Dark horses my erse!

18-06-2016, 07:30 PM
Austria are pish

Dark horses my erse!
7/2 tonight is quite tasty if they come good against a team famous for being good but not winning.

18-06-2016, 07:32 PM
7/2 tonight is quite tasty if they come good against a team famous for being good but not winning.

I'd probably offer 7/2 on them stringing 3 passes together at the moment.

renato
18-06-2016, 07:35 PM
Tbh the fact that toto schillaci ended italia 90 as top scorer doesn't aid the argument that it was a good tournament imo. I can't actually remember any of his goals apart from the one against Ireland.

Sacrilege! :greengrin

Great player having the best few weeks of his life, remember every goal well...

https://youtu.be/gP2lbiPxPA4

OsloHibs
18-06-2016, 07:38 PM
Our Manager is the commentator's side kick on Radio 5 for the Portugal game alongside the fabulously pompous "Theory Enri".

Listening in the garden :) Our managers no happy with Austria is he! Hope he's this vocal in the dressing room.

18-06-2016, 07:40 PM
Sacrilege! :greengrin

Great player having the best few weeks of his life, remember every goal well...

https://youtu.be/gP2lbiPxPA4

That's exactly it though nearly 50% of his international caps came in that month. While he did well to grab the opportunity while it was there, one of van basten, voeller, caniggia, klinnsman or linekar could and probably should have scored more than him. Imo :greengrin

18-06-2016, 07:41 PM
Not a bad defensive header.

18-06-2016, 07:46 PM
Is the Austrian number 7 Mymble out of the Moomins?

18-06-2016, 07:49 PM

5-1 now on skybet.

Laughably bad at the back and that fake Zlatan has done nothing.

renato
18-06-2016, 07:53 PM
That's exactly it though nearly 50% of his international caps came in that month. While he did well to grab the opportunity while it was there, one of van basten, voeller, caniggia, klinnsman or linekar could and probably should have scored more than him. Imo :greengrin

Aye, I'd add Vialli to that list too.

With Toto, it was just a complete fairy tale story that seemed to catch the imagination of everyone - came out of absolutely nowhere, complete enthusiasm and poaching masterclass, loved by everyone and simply adored by the Italians, then completely disappeared after the tournament.

Mythical status for many of my generation :greengrin

And whilst we're reminiscing about Italia 90 - Roberto Baggio. Complete hero and my favourite ever player. If you ever find yourself with 5 mins to spare, have a gander at his compilation of goals on YouTube, you won't be disappointed. And that mazy against Czechoslovakia. Legend.

18-06-2016, 07:57 PM

With Toto, it was just a complete fairy tale story that seemed to catch the imagination of everyone - came out of absolutely nowhere, complete enthusiasm and poaching masterclass, loved by everyone and simply adored by the Italians, then completely disappeared after the tournament.

And whilst we're reminiscing about Italia 90 - Roberto Baggio. Complete hero and my favourite ever player. If you ever find yourself with 5 mins to spare, have a gander at his compilation of goals on YouTube, you won't be disappointed. And that mazy against Czechoslovakia. Legend.
The mazy against the czechs was and is fantastic :agree:
That's the one i had in mind when referencing him earlier.

18-06-2016, 08:00 PM

Wish I hadn't taken the advice of your last paragraph.

That was the football of my childhood and it looks so old. Some of Baggios goals though....

18-06-2016, 08:01 PM

Van Basten was honking in that World Cup. A pale shadow of the immortal that lit up Euro 88.

18-06-2016, 08:05 PM

Agreed, but it was fun being there. I remember TS more than other players there because watching the Italy games on the huge tv screens in the main piazza was just a real party when he scored and they won.

I also remember when we beat Sweden the Italians driving around for 2 or 3 hours until well after midnight, hitting their horns and cheering for us.

18-06-2016, 08:05 PM
Van Basten was honking in that World Cup. A pale shadow of the immortal that lit up Euro 88.

Indeed, which was my point and one of the reasons the competition didn't live up to it's potential. Still a good, enjoyable and under-rated tournament despite that though imo.

18-06-2016, 08:08 PM
Time for it to improve, but this is yet another unremarkable game in this competition. :yawn:

18-06-2016, 08:11 PM
Time for it to improve, but this is yet another unremarkable game in this competition. :yawn:

Very polite way of saying it's extremely boring.

18-06-2016, 08:12 PM
Austrian keeper has had 3 or 4 really good saves tbf.

18-06-2016, 08:19 PM
Some of the passing by the Austrians is abysmal

renato
18-06-2016, 08:20 PM
Wish I hadn't taken the advice of your last paragraph.

That was the football of my childhood and it looks so old. Some of Baggios goals though....

I know, scary how quickly time passes. I'm just too young to remember Platini and Maradona in his prime but Baggio was the ultimate number 10 for me, defined the role for a generation and there was a period from the early to mid 90's that he was just unplayable, particularly for Fiorentina, Juve and Italy. The guy also had his final years at Brescia and was a complete standout there, master class every week before hanging up his boots.

He was also one of the best free kick takers I've ever seen. I hope football goes full circle and tactically teams evolve to accommodate a number 10 behind the strikers again.

18-06-2016, 08:20 PM
Can someone else not take a free kick for Portugal?

Huge build up then either smashes the wall or off target, was the same against Iceland.

OsloHibs
18-06-2016, 08:22 PM
Asked if Neil was scouting for players for hibs!!! OK, I'll start the rumour- Ronaldo to hibs. Haha.

18-06-2016, 08:22 PM

Huge build up then either smashes the wall or off target, was the same against Iceland.

Long may it continue, I love seeing him getting angry and frustrated, the guys a plum on the football pitch

18-06-2016, 08:23 PM
Asked if Neil was scouting for players for hibs!!! OK, I'll start the rumour- Ronaldo to hibs. Haha.

I always preferred Quaresma, he's mental and will fit in better

18-06-2016, 08:26 PM

Fair play to Ronaldo. Dismal free kick ratio but conned everyone into thinking he is their best option.

18-06-2016, 08:27 PM
Every time I watch Ronaldo I'm more baffled as to why he's compared with Messi. He may pop up with a goal later, in general play there is absolutely no comparison. Goals v genius and goals.

18-06-2016, 08:29 PM
Fair play to Ronaldo. Dismal free kick ratio but conned everyone into thinking he is their best option.

Thing is he has brilliant technique. He just needs to leave out the smash it every time and hope for a squiggler technique that works once in a blue moon and curl one. He could do it easy.

18-06-2016, 08:30 PM
Fantastic Austrian free kick.

18-06-2016, 08:31 PM
Free kicks. Ronaldo = Brian Hamilton.

18-06-2016, 08:31 PM
Every time I watch Ronaldo I'm more baffled as to why he's compared with Messi. He may pop up with a goal later, in general play there is absolutely no comparison. Goals v genius and goals.

I've noticed that recently too, he's no longer the tricks and flicks winger he used to be, he purely wants to score goals and nothing else now, don't get me wrong, he's obviously great at it but I'm meh with him, Lionel on the other hand I could watch all day

18-06-2016, 08:33 PM
Penalty.

Thought it was going to be a red as well at 1st.

18-06-2016, 08:34 PM
Ha ha

Misses the target.

18-06-2016, 08:34 PM
Hahahahahhaha get it right up ye

18-06-2016, 08:35 PM
A miss by Ronaldo.

You just knew he'd be the first to miss!

Hahahaaha GTF Ronaldo you posing backside of a man!

That miss :faf:

Ronaldo is having a nightmare. :greengrin Portugal to win with a scrappy goal in time added on.

18-06-2016, 08:36 PM
Penalty.

Thought it was going to be a red as well at 1st.

New rules in force.

Twiglet
18-06-2016, 08:38 PM
Waiting on Austria to score now to rub in the salt.

18-06-2016, 08:40 PM
It's not his night eh? Shame.

18-06-2016, 08:40 PM
Hahahahha again, was never even a free kick in the first place

18-06-2016, 08:41 PM

:faf::faf::faf:

Now he's had one correctly disallowed too. Nae luck cr7

This is getting better and better! #RonaldoGTF

(((Fergus)))
Hahahaha

18-06-2016, 08:42 PM
Offside Ronaldo. I can see the Austrians stealing all three points with a last minute goal.