06-07-2016, 08:09 PM
Game over.

06-07-2016, 08:10 PM
Never liked the Welsh. :thumbsup:

Really thought Wales would do it tonight. Oh well.

Second goal flukey.

He's no bad in the air.

He must have springs in his boots. And then it was 2. (auntie Nani)

06-07-2016, 08:11 PM
game set and match for wales

Dan Sarf
06-07-2016, 08:12 PM
Gareth to Bale them out

06-07-2016, 08:22 PM
Wales have been a real bright spot in what has been a pretty ordinary tournament. Hope Portugal get stuffed in the final.

06-07-2016, 08:32 PM
Gareth to Bale them out

Unfortunately he's had a stinker tonight.

06-07-2016, 08:35 PM
Wales have been a real bright spot in what has been a pretty ordinary tournament. Hope Portugal get stuffed in the final.

Portugal don't have a snowball's chance in the final. France will beat them comfortably but Germany, who I fancy as finalists, will destroy them.

:agree: Has there been a worse team getting to a major international final than this Portugal team ? French or Germans will rip them apart.

Bale has had a terrible game so far what a night to have a off performance

06-07-2016, 08:42 PM
:agree: Has there been a worse team getting to a major international final than this Portugal team ? French or Germans will rip them apart.

The Portugal team that lost to Greece, a pub team.

06-07-2016, 08:46 PM
I'll go against the grain as I really hope Portugal win it. A change is never a bad thing.

06-07-2016, 08:46 PM
Portugal haven't been half as bad as some folk make out tonight.

I'm glad they've won, fed up of the bumming up if Wales.

06-07-2016, 08:55 PM
Congratulations to Portugal and commiserations to West England :wink:

06-07-2016, 08:56 PM
Portugal haven't been half as bad as some folk make out tonight.

I'm glad they've won, fed up of the bumming up if Wales.

I agree, got off to a slow start, but getting better each game. Ronaldo said at the start of the tournament, that this was the strongest Portuguese side he'd played in

06-07-2016, 08:58 PM
Portugal don't have a snowball's chance in the final. France will beat them comfortably but Germany, who I fancy as finalists, will destroy them.:faf:

In a year where Leicester won the premier league, Hibs won the Scottish cup, Iceland beat England and Wales reached the Euro semi-finals you think a Portugal team with Ronaldo have zero chance of winning a one-off game?

06-07-2016, 09:01 PM

In a year where Leicester won the premier league, Hibs won the Scottish cup, Iceland beat England and Wales reached the Euro semi-finals you think a Portugal team with Ronaldo have zero chance of winning a one-off game?

Clever boy, you got it in one. Go to the top of the class. :greengrin

06-07-2016, 09:04 PM
Have to say that Coleman's first half tactics bamboozled me. No pace, energy or enthusiasm - unlike the Welsh performances to date

06-07-2016, 09:04 PM
I'd like to see Portugal win it but they've got an appalling record against France and Germany.

06-07-2016, 09:06 PM

People need to stop falling into this "they've only got Ronaldo" thing.

They have Pepe at centre half. 2 Champions League winners medals in the last 3 years.
Renato Sanches, just signed for Bayern for 35m euros.
Andre Gomes, Real and Barca being linked with moves for him.
Nani, no a bad player at all.
Jose Fonte, been class the last few years at Southampton.

06-07-2016, 09:16 PM

They have Pepe at centre half. 2 Champions League winners medals in the last 3 years.

My fancying France or Germany to take Portugal has got nothing to do with 'they've only got Ronaldo'. If it's France, I think they're good enough to beat them and the home advantage will be an extra goal for them. If it's Germany, who for my money are the best team in the competition, they are so well disciplined and focused that they will beat Portugal. Opinions, eh?

06-07-2016, 10:09 PM
Portugal to win it would be amazing. Will be good to see a different team win something.

06-07-2016, 10:21 PM
Cant knock Wales for getting to the semi finals.

But in reality they were moderate against Slovakia, poor against England, great against Russia, very so so and a bit lucky against NI, great against a Belgium side with no back four and poor against a Portuguese team generally regarded as being second rate by those with an agenda to suit.

07-07-2016, 01:00 AM
Portugal to win it would be amazing. Will be good to see a different team win something.

And see Ronaldo win an international competition :greengrin

07-07-2016, 06:27 AM
And see Ronaldo win an international competition :greengrin

Just to see the strop Messi would have!

07-07-2016, 06:51 AM
Cant knock Wales for getting to the semi finals.

But in reality they were moderate against Slovakia, poor against England, great against Russia, very so so and a bit lucky against NI, great against a Belgium side with no back four and poor against a Portuguese team generally regarded as being second rate by those with an agenda to suit.

Ramsey being out was massive difference. Great player in the welsh system. Would have missed Bale less.

07-07-2016, 07:00 AM
Ramsey being out was massive difference. Great player in the welsh system. Would have missed Bale less.

Yup. Him missing combined with an off day from Bale meant it was curtains for Wales as soon as that 1st goal hit the net.

07-07-2016, 10:55 AM

Ramsey looked so good in that side. Much better than at Arsenal.

07-07-2016, 04:28 PM

Agree, but they almost no joy or zip about them.

And Ronaldo really is a massive c**k.

07-07-2016, 06:26 PM
Anyone know of a channel to watch the France game in Florida, cheers

07-07-2016, 06:30 PM
Ramsey looked so good in that side. Much better than at Arsenal.

Got to agree, Ramsay was a massive loss for Wales last night.

07-07-2016, 06:30 PM
Agree, but they almost no joy or zip about them.

And Ronaldo really is a massive c**k.

There isn't a top team who aren't 'professional' to some degree or cynical even, but there's something about Portugal where they just seem to do it in a way that leaves a bad taste in the mouth, not sure why.

They should be a neutral's choice, easy, but I can't bring myself to find any liking for them.

07-07-2016, 06:59 PM
Must be a foregone conclusion tonight with every BBC pundit going for France. I fancy Germany based on what we've seen so far but the pros know best I suppose.

07-07-2016, 07:00 PM
2 great renderings of the respective national anthems to start the proceedings.

07-07-2016, 07:01 PM
Vive Les Bleus!

07-07-2016, 07:03 PM
The game has started at a very high tempo. Hopefully it lasts for the duration. Been buzzing for this game since the draw was made and it was clear paths would cross at this stage.

07-07-2016, 07:07 PM
Griezman has started beautifully. Jerries missing Hummels?

07-07-2016, 07:08 PM
90 miles an hour stuff. France miss a sitter.

07-07-2016, 07:08 PM
Griezman has started beautifully. Jerries missing Hummels?

Suspended mate

07-07-2016, 07:12 PM
Why are they booing Neuer?

07-07-2016, 07:15 PM
Why are they booing Neuer?

My guess would be to put him under pressure. When allowed to do as he pleases he is phenomenal but with a little pressure on him he can make mistakes.

07-07-2016, 07:18 PM
My guess would be to put him under pressure. When allowed to do as he pleases he is phenomenal but with a little pressure on him he can make mistakes.

He does? I must have blinked for that one....

07-07-2016, 07:20 PM
Germany dictating play now. Fascinating game

07-07-2016, 07:23 PM
He does? I must have blinked for that one....

Just one? Neuer loves a mistake when trying to play it out from the back

07-07-2016, 07:27 PM
Just one? Neuer loves a mistake when trying to play it out from the back

I've been alive a few years now and will safely say that he is one of the best keepers I have ever seen.

07-07-2016, 07:31 PM
I've been alive a few years now and will safely say that he is one of the best keepers I have ever seen.

Each to their own. He's a top keeper no doubt but he isn't any better Buffon, Schmeichel imo even that Kahn fella was pretty decent as was Casillas

07-07-2016, 07:34 PM
Notice Germany have 2 wingers hugging the touchline causing France no end of problems.

07-07-2016, 07:47 PM
utterly disgraceful refereeing

07-07-2016, 07:48 PM
Never a penalty. Refs a homer.

Ooft that's never a penalty

HibeeLR
Wanted France to win but after that decision hope they come back, shocking stuff from the ref!

That's a ****in joke

07-07-2016, 07:49 PM
That's a dreadful decision. How that could be called deliberate handball is a mystery to me.

07-07-2016, 07:51 PM
Shearer detests the Germans and is gloating inside knowing that that was no penalty. The cheat Henry says it was definitely a penalty.

paddy1875
07-07-2016, 07:51 PM
Stonewaller

07-07-2016, 07:55 PM
Notice Germany have 2 wingers hugging the touchline causing France no end of problems.

It's the fullbacks, not wingers, who are out on the touchline, Kimmich in particular.

Because Muller isn't playing as an out-and-out striker and Ozil and Draxler are cutting in, it's pulling the French in and giving the fullbacks the space.

hibbytam
07-07-2016, 07:55 PM
I think it's a penalty. It's hit his hand. In the box. And in doing so has blocked a header going towards goal.

07-07-2016, 07:57 PM
It's the fullbacks, not wingers, who are out on the touchline, Kimmich in particular.

Because Muller isn't playing as an out-and-out striker and Ozil and Draxler are cutting in, it's pulling the French in and giving the fullbacks the space.

Yeah realise that now.

Definitely a penalty but not a booking IMO

07-07-2016, 08:04 PM
Yeah realise that now.

Definitely a penalty but not a booking IMO

It's only a penalty if it's deliberate hand ball. If it's deliberate handball it's a yellow card.

07-07-2016, 08:08 PM
Germany's defence isn't that great. Rely on Hummels and Neuer too much. I can see France scoring again

07-07-2016, 08:20 PM
Boateng off injured ...... Huge loss for Germany. France should go on to win now.

07-07-2016, 08:31 PM
Game over now, well done wee man

07-07-2016, 08:31 PM
keeper tees it up for the boy

07-07-2016, 08:32 PM
Keeper at fault. That should have been a punch.

07-07-2016, 08:35 PM
Fantastique! You just have to like griezman.

One more thing. Buffon>Neuer. FACT.

07-07-2016, 08:40 PM
I hope Warburton's looking in. Stats show Germany with 61% possession.

07-07-2016, 08:54 PM
Oh well, off to France tomorrow morning ......... At least the natives will be in good spirits. :greengrin

07-07-2016, 10:28 PM
"Griezmann" Collaborator! :wink:

07-07-2016, 10:57 PM
Keeper at fault. That should have been a punch.
The keeper shouldn't have had to deal with it at all, it was the right back, Kimich at fault in the first place.

07-07-2016, 11:18 PM
The keeper shouldn't have had to deal with it at all, it was the right back, Kimich at fault in the first place.

You're right, Kimmich allowed the cross, but I find it hard to be too critical of him.

I don't think he's a right back by trade, he's had to adapt in mid-tournament and he was up against a fired-up Pogba for the cross having worked his socks off for a significant part of the game getting wide when Germany were dominating.

For his age he doesn't have that many games under his belt either.

As for Neuer, while he maybe shouldn't have been asked to come out for it, he won't be happy with how he did.

07-07-2016, 11:30 PM
You're right, Kimmich allowed the cross, but I find it hard to be too critical of him.

I don't think he's a right back by trade, he's had to adapt in mid-tournament and he was up against a fired-up Pogba for the cross having worked his socks off for a significant part of the game getting wide when Germany were dominating.

For his age he doesn't have that many games under his belt either.

As for Neuer, while he maybe shouldn't have been asked to come out for it, he won't be happy with how he did.
Yep, agree with all of that. Kimmich is a bright prospect for the future, regardless of his responsibility for the 2nd goal. His performances in the previous rounds backs that up. As I suspected though, Germany missed Hummels big time, and obviously Gomez too, because the manager spent too much time waiting for Muller to start scoring and it never looked like happening. They should maybe have brought the young striker on earlier, Sane?

07-07-2016, 11:42 PM
Yep, agree with all of that. Kimmich is a bright prospect for the future, regardless of his responsibility for the 2nd goal. His performances in the previous rounds backs that up. As I suspected though, Germany missed Hummels big time, and obviously Gomez too, because the manager spent too much time waiting for Muller to start scoring and it never looked like happening. They should maybe have brought the young striker on earlier, Sane?

Think you're right about Hummels, he's too good not to be a miss.

The striker question is really interesting. Germany went into the tournament with hardly any recognised strikers but did well out of playing false nines and pitching the fullbacks up high. Being honest, for most of the first half they were rampant and nobody could seriously complain if they had scored a couple.

It's a very marked departure from previous squads, going back decades. Pick any tournament going back as many years as you like and they generally had recognisable strong strikers, often the best in the world, or certainly ones who would deliver.

08-07-2016, 12:03 AM

It was the player who passed across his own box with 5/6 French players pressing that led to Kimich having to deal (badly) in a 1-1 fault.

Cant find a decent video but I think number 4 was to blame. That would be Howedes.

08-07-2016, 10:33 AM
On a wee side note, the Welsh team were based at Dinard which is about 10 minutes from chez moi. They loved it there, to the point that some players have already reserved hotels for holidays next year. The locals more or less adopted the Welsh squad and found them very friendly (with Bale being one of the most approachable).

The Welsh decided to stay until tonight and the players joined in with the locals last night to celebrate the French SF win.

http://www.lepaysmalouin.fr/2016/07/08/euro-2016-la-france-gagne-gareth-bale-et-les-gallois-se-melent-a-la-fete-a-dinard/

There you go - not all non-Hibs footballers are eejits.

nellio
08-07-2016, 10:36 AM
On a wee side note, the Welsh team were based at Dinard which is about 10 minutes from chez moi. They loved it there, to the point that some players have already reserved hotels for holidays next year. The locals more or less adopted the Welsh squad and found them very friendly (with Bale being one of the most approachable).

The Welsh decided to stay until tonight and the players joined in with the locals last night to celebrate the French SF win.

http://www.lepaysmalouin.fr/2016/07/08/euro-2016-la-france-gagne-gareth-bale-et-les-gallois-se-melent-a-la-fete-a-dinard/

There you go - not all non-Hibs footballers are eejits.

Proud to be Welsh. Both players an supporters A massive credit to our nation.

08-07-2016, 10:39 AM
Wales are having a bus parade! :crazy:

Yeah they should be proud of what they done but that's OTT in my opinion

08-07-2016, 10:44 AM

Think you're wrong there. They have done Welsh football proud and the game in general - their fans were in great voice, friendly and the Welsh team's spirit and ability on the park was refreshing: it is not just about winning ... if they want to celebrate a tremendous EC performance, why not?

08-07-2016, 11:38 AM

08-07-2016, 11:45 AM

Disagree to be honest. The fans should be able to show appreciation for the fantastic achievement.

Not sure Scotland are in a position to criticise can remember us having an open top parade before we went to a World cup competition. :greengrin :faf:

08-07-2016, 11:46 AM
Think you're right about Hummels, he's too good not to be a miss.

The striker question is really interesting. Germany went into the tournament with hardly any recognised strikers but did well out of playing false nines and pitching the fullbacks up high. Being honest, for most of the first half they were rampant and nobody could seriously complain if they had scored a couple.

It's a very marked departure from previous squads, going back decades. Pick any tournament going back as many years as you like and they generally had recognisable strong strikers, often the best in the world, or certainly ones who would deliver.

We know better than most that there's no point in dominating play if you don't take your chances or really work the goalie.

My old man
08-07-2016, 12:15 PM
Oh well, off to France tomorrow morning ......... At least the natives will be in good spirits. :greengrin

Off to Portugal tomorrow
Should be fun on Sunday GGTTH

10-07-2016, 06:16 PM
ITV or BBC tonight? Going with the beeb I think.

10-07-2016, 06:20 PM
Portugal to sneak this.

10-07-2016, 06:42 PM
Portugal to sneak this.

Ronaldo to do what Messi can never do - win an international tournament :wink:

10-07-2016, 06:44 PM
3-2 les bleus in a extra time classic. :sauzee:

10-07-2016, 06:46 PM
France will win tonight by a couple imo. 3-1.

10-07-2016, 06:48 PM
Other than 1966 always fun to watch the hosts win a tournament so Allez France for me.

10-07-2016, 06:55 PM
Wanted France to win, but their fans seem to think it's a slam dunk. Now hope Ronaldo takes them apart.

10-07-2016, 06:58 PM
Just for that anthem even.

10-07-2016, 07:00 PM
What's with the ref and linesmen doing that crap handshake thing.

10-07-2016, 07:14 PM
Ronaldo struggling. :thumbsup:

Highland_Hibee
10-07-2016, 07:15 PM
I've got a good bet on France to win. I am a little concerned as rumor has it Rangers fans are trying to get France kicked out of the tournament after the pitch was invaded by hundreds of French moths.

10-07-2016, 07:17 PM
Ronaldos finished.

10-07-2016, 07:19 PM
Bit of a love in going on. Injured player goes off.

10-07-2016, 07:19 PM
Portugal not at the races. We'll see Quaresma now hopefully. ..

10-07-2016, 07:20 PM
Ronaldos finished.

Ligaments I think

10-07-2016, 07:24 PM
Seems mental that they have sent him back on, he's clearly done.

Time For Heroes
10-07-2016, 07:24 PM
feel sorry for Ronaldo.

10-07-2016, 07:25 PM
Drawing attention to himself now. Get him the eff of the pitch and let the rest of the team get on with it.

10-07-2016, 07:26 PM
I'm not a fan but it's a shame to see him stretchered off. He's a great player and it's a big loss for portugal. And the neutral observer too.

10-07-2016, 07:29 PM
All these bugs flying past the camera, everytime I think they are in the room haha

10-07-2016, 07:30 PM
I'm not a fan but it's a shame to see him stretchered off. He's a great player and it's a big loss for portugal. And the neutral observer too.

Yeh shame really. Love him or hate him he always makes a game interesting

10-07-2016, 07:40 PM
Drawing attention to himself now. Get him the eff of the pitch and let the rest of the team get on with it.

Took a sore one to the side of the knee from Payet, even the commentators said it was a bit naughty the challenge, he's went in and done the best player on the park and got away with it.

10-07-2016, 07:45 PM
Took a sore one to the side of the knee from Payet, even the commentators said it was a bit naughty the challenge, he's went in and done the best player on the park and got away with it.

It was a clash of knees, nothing to get away with

10-07-2016, 07:45 PM

It was never a bad challenge he won the ball and then there knees just collided

10-07-2016, 07:47 PM

If you want to do an opponent you don't go in with your own knee!

Totally accidental.

10-07-2016, 07:48 PM
It was never a bad challenge he won the ball and then there knees just collided

You're entitled to your opinion, I saw it differently, came in slightly late and his knee hit Ronaldo just below his left knee, looked like a wee reminder to Ronaldo that he was in a match and he came off worse.

Edit.

Just watched it again and agree it was accidental, when I first saw it it looked a bit late but it was just a strong meaty challenge.

10-07-2016, 07:51 PM
Watching paint dry springs to mind.

10-07-2016, 07:52 PM
Portugal have got here being a bit stodgy and without Ronaldo they are a wee bit stodgier. Now they need to show that they are not a one man team.

10-07-2016, 07:56 PM
Ronaldo going off has devalued the final - whether you like the guy or not. Expect this one to go to pens now. France played their final against the Germans and Portugal are Hamilton Accies without CR.

10-07-2016, 08:03 PM
Ronaldo going off has devalued the final - whether you like the guy or not. Expect this one to go to pens now. France played their final against the Germans and Portugal are Hamilton Accies without CR.

Would have been a fair shout for it to go to pens before he went off though?

10-07-2016, 08:06 PM
You're entitled to your opinion, I saw it differently, came in slightly late and his knee hit Ronaldo just below his left knee, looked like a wee reminder to Ronaldo that he was in a match and he came off worse.

Edit.

Just watched it again and agree it was accidental, when I first saw it it looked a bit late but it was just a strong meaty challenge.

Think it just looked bad cause Ronaldo was standing still and payet came in quick

10-07-2016, 08:10 PM
Think it just looked bad cause Ronaldo was standing still and payet came in quick

Yep, I thought he was a wee bit late that's all till I seen it again in slowmo.

Stranraer
10-07-2016, 08:16 PM
Glad that cocky twit is off. Come on France!

ionahibby
10-07-2016, 08:16 PM
A snorefest this game and let's be honest so has much of this tournament other than a couple of games.

Callum7
10-07-2016, 08:18 PM
http://i67.tinypic.com/1gluad.jpg
Messi enjoying the game so far.

10-07-2016, 08:24 PM
That's a sitter

10-07-2016, 08:25 PM
Best chance missed

10-07-2016, 08:27 PM
Ffs griezmann

Finn2015
10-07-2016, 08:29 PM
The longer this goes on the more I believe Portugal can do this

10-07-2016, 08:30 PM
Just seen a reverse angle shot of the Ronaldo tackle. Pretty gruesome, ankle and knee forced in opposite directions. Might see him back in January?

Finn2015
10-07-2016, 08:31 PM
Just seen a reverse angle shot of the Ronaldo tackle. Pretty gruesome, ankle and knee forced in opposite directions. Might see him back in January?

Bad news for Madrid

10-07-2016, 08:38 PM
Wtf is Lloris thinking there? Mental.

10-07-2016, 08:41 PM

Medial ligament damage. I hope it isn't too serious but if it is, he wont be getting 50 goals this season

10-07-2016, 08:41 PM
The longer this goes on the more I believe Portugal can do this

I hope not.

Joao Mario's booking on the hour mark summed them up. A cynical, cynical side who play the percentages even though they have technical ability in spades.

Every team has to play ugly from time to time but they seem to adopt it as a default setting.

10-07-2016, 08:43 PM
Rui Patricio has played well for Portugal, another good save there.

10-07-2016, 08:47 PM
Gignac ALWAYS comes on for Giroud with ten minutes to go, regardless of score...

10-07-2016, 08:50 PM
Won't get closer than that

SJNB Hibby
10-07-2016, 08:52 PM
That was 90 minutes of my life i'll never get back---glad i watched the Hibs - Mwell highlights at halftime

10-07-2016, 08:53 PM
Zzzzzzzzzz

10-07-2016, 08:55 PM
That was boring as! Pity we can't just go straight to pens, save us going through another half hour of that pish

10-07-2016, 08:55 PM
Thank God the real fitba's not far off. This game sums up the tournament.

10-07-2016, 09:03 PM
I hope not.

Joao Mario's booking on the hour mark summed them up. A cynical, cynical side who play the percentages even though they have technical ability in spades.

Every team has to play ugly from time to time but they seem to adopt it as a default setting.

To be honest almost every side seem to 'play the percentages' these days. Germany and Spain play nice passing football but everything is easily telegraphed because it's low risk. Iceland Norn Ireland and Wales got so far because they are well drilled and seem to have an amazing bond. I can't think of a team at this tourney that had an exciting style of play. Italy were closest.

No European team is as nice on the eye as say Chile Colombia or Mexico from the last world cup.

10-07-2016, 09:12 PM
awfy glad i nipped along to tesco for the entire 2nd 45'

10-07-2016, 09:16 PM
I've watched more interesting carpet samples than this.

10-07-2016, 09:18 PM
What a goal

10-07-2016, 09:19 PM

Danny Murphy can understand how the ref got it wrong, I can too with Kochielny having a black arm

Great strike. Thought Lloris was maybe a bit slow getting down but seeing it again he has no chance.

Wonder if Ronaldo will let the stand in captain collect the trophy.....

10-07-2016, 09:26 PM
Oxley should be saving that

10-07-2016, 09:27 PM
Oxley should be saving that

It was a great strike by Bale for the winner

Callum7
10-07-2016, 09:30 PM
I can see France equalising.

10-07-2016, 09:31 PM
Pitch invasion incoming.

Callum7
10-07-2016, 09:32 PM
Pitch invasion incoming.

Well they've not won a major tournament in 98 years.

10-07-2016, 09:32 PM
I'm pleased for Quaresma, well done son

10-07-2016, 09:33 PM
Portugal it is then

10-07-2016, 09:34 PM
I'm pleased for Quaresma, well done son

He's better than Ronaldo. Better tattoos, certainly.

Let's face it, it's been a rubbish tournament.

10-07-2016, 09:34 PM
Delighted for Portugal!

10-07-2016, 09:35 PM
well, who would have thunk it

Callum7
10-07-2016, 09:35 PM
well, who would have thunk it

Me

10-07-2016, 09:36 PM
Ronaldo - Domestic cups and now International glory.

Best in the world.

10-07-2016, 09:37 PM

Best in the world.

This. Ronaldo has something Messi doesn't have. :wink:

KNBE
10-07-2016, 09:38 PM
I had them in the sweep at work! I think that's me about £12 richer now.

Sent from my GT-S6810P using Tapatalk

10-07-2016, 09:38 PM

Can NEVER have now he has retired from international football.

10-07-2016, 09:39 PM

aye, he doesn't have a suspended jail sentence like messi does

give it time though :)

10-07-2016, 09:40 PM
I had them in the sweep at work! I think that's me about £12 richer now.

Sent from my GT-S6810P using Tapatalk

Treat yourself.

10-07-2016, 09:40 PM
Assume someone has said that Pogba is never a £100m fitba player.

10-07-2016, 09:41 PM
Me

well done, did you have any virtual pounds on them to win :)

10-07-2016, 09:42 PM
Sad day for football, one win in 90 mins and win the euros, pish! Obviously I'd had have a different opinion if I was Portuguese.

10-07-2016, 09:43 PM
Did they get the ribbons for the trophy in Poundland?

10-07-2016, 09:46 PM
Did they get the ribbons for the trophy in Poundland?

Probably expected to have the red, white and blue ones :greengrin

I see France did a The Rangers

https://twitter.com/mikesanz19/status/752164760582488070/video/1

10-07-2016, 09:47 PM
Portugal's manager was the AEK manager when they played us in the Uefa Cup.

Marco G
So my first team, Italy is out (Italian blood), now Iceland (used to drink with someone called Erlander Johannson), all that is left is our celtic neighbours (but cant warm to them), France (but I never support the host nation cause its all set up for them anyway), Germany (might have, but they beat my Italy), and Portugal. Got to be Portugal since I was near the Cristiano Ronaldo museum in Funchal recently, and I have always liked the Portuguese since we beat Sporting Lisbon 6-1 at Easter Road.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
Well, happy, but felt that France did not take the risks that you need to take to win a final. Like getting everyone forward for an injury time corner to win the match in 90 minutes; that seems to remind me of a recent game where it worked out pretty well.

Callum7
aye, he doesn't have a suspended jail sentence like messi does

give it time though :)

In the semi's Ronaldo was marking bale while Messi was dealing with bail. :cb

10-07-2016, 09:54 PM

Portugal never looked like winning it until he went off greetin' like a bairn.

Be interesting to see Messi playing in the Euros mind.....

10-07-2016, 09:57 PM
You could see how much it meant to Ronaldo lifting a trophy for his country and completing his legacy, except for an MLS cup with the LA Galaxy. :greengrin

Finn2015
10-07-2016, 09:58 PM
Am I right in saying Messi could have played for Spain? Would have had that medal long ago if he did 😂

10-07-2016, 10:01 PM
What made me laugh even more was how these pundits like Shearer and Ferdinand went on and on about France in the build up, only mentioned Ronaldo as any kind of threat to them, and Portugal beat them without Ronaldo. Brilliant. Arrogant and mouthy Ronaldo might be, but you could see what it meant to him at the end. Well done Portugal.

10-07-2016, 10:05 PM
Well deserved.

Whole tournament unbeaten with a goal worthy of winning any final

10-07-2016, 10:20 PM
Am I right in saying Messi could have played for Spain? Would have had that medal long ago if he did 

Yes as he moved to Spain quite young so he qualified.

11-07-2016, 12:29 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-36761385

11-07-2016, 02:57 PM

Best in the world.

Most decorated? Probably.

Best? Nah.

11-07-2016, 03:02 PM
Most decorated? Probably.

Best? Nah.

Done what Messi can't.

11-07-2016, 06:35 PM
So I today received a response from the BBC about I complaint I made about the half time analysis of the Wales V Belgium game where the went on about England non stop, turns out everything is fine, the BBC actually provided balanced coverage:rolleyes:

Thanks for getting in touch with us about our Euro 2016 coverage.

The Euros is one of the biggest events in the sporting calendar and we aim to provide extensive coverage of the action.

Throughout the tournament, in the absence of commercials, we have used the 15 minutes at half-time to analyse the match, but also to preview and review other key moments of the competition. On this occasion, ten minutes was devoted to analysis of the Wales v Belgium match, with extended contributions from the studio and also live from the stadium in Lille. As it was the first match we broadcast since England's exit, we felt it was editorially relevant to provide a fresh perspective from Frank Lampard and our team in the studio.

We believe we have put together a very strong presentation line-up, with a wealth of experience, talent and knowledge covering all aspects of the Euros. We appreciate thoughts are subjective, but are happy that we have provided balanced coverage of Euro 2016 throughout the tournament.

We’ve ensured that the issues you’ve raised have been fed back to the production team as they take a keen interest in what our audience are saying and use feedback to shape future programmes.

Thanks again for contacting us.

11-07-2016, 07:46 PM
If I learned one thing from the Euros it is confirmation that I am not the football enthusiast I once was. Love watching Hibs, and it's something that is more than just football to me, but the game in general - not really that fussy about it these days.

11-07-2016, 08:58 PM
So I today received a response from the BBC about I complaint I made about the half time analysis of the Wales V Belgium game where the went on about England non stop, turns out everything is fine, the BBC actually provided balanced coverage:rolleyes:

Thanks for getting in touch with us about our Euro 2016 coverage.

The Euros is one of the biggest events in the sporting calendar and we aim to provide extensive coverage of the action.

Throughout the tournament, in the absence of commercials, we have used the 15 minutes at half-time to analyse the match, but also to preview and review other key moments of the competition. On this occasion, ten minutes was devoted to analysis of the Wales v Belgium match, with extended contributions from the studio and also live from the stadium in Lille. As it was the first match we broadcast since England's exit, we felt it was editorially relevant to provide a fresh perspective from Frank Lampard and our team in the studio.

We believe we have put together a very strong presentation line-up, with a wealth of experience, talent and knowledge covering all aspects of the Euros. We appreciate thoughts are subjective, but are happy that we have provided balanced coverage of Euro 2016 throughout the tournament.

We’ve ensured that the issues you’ve raised have been fed back to the production team as they take a keen interest in what our audience are saying and use feedback to shape future programmes.

Thanks again for contacting us.

Move along, nothing to see here. You could set yourself on fire outside Broadcasting house and they wouldn't pay attention.

11-07-2016, 09:02 PM
If I learned one thing from the Euros it is confirmation that I am not the football enthusiast I once was. Love watching Hibs, and it's something that is more than just football to me, but the game in general - not really that fussy about it these days.

With the exception of Hibs, I prefer the biannual major international tournaments to club football, which has become a monopoly for a few big clubs and **** for everyone else.

11-07-2016, 11:13 PM
Done what Messi can't.

Yeah, and they criticise Messi for not turning up for Argentina in finals... at least he stayed on the pitch.

What exactly did Ronaldo 'do' on Sunday night, apart from try to make the occasion all about himself?

11-07-2016, 11:20 PM
Yeah, and they criticise Messi for not turning up for Argentina in finals... at least he stayed on the pitch.

What exactly did Ronaldo 'do' on Sunday night, apart from try to make the occasion all about himself?
He tried to play on despite an acl tear, nothing wrong with that.

11-07-2016, 11:54 PM

Yep.

12-07-2016, 05:24 AM

Ok.

But he didn't exactly make a decisive contribution in the final did he?

Teo10
12-07-2016, 08:04 AM
Ok.

With you on this one. I am a big Messi fan, but was sad to see Ronaldo go off and in tears (one of the few times I'll say that!). However, I knew if Portugal one then all this debate would kick off. I would accept it if Ronaldo had a physical contribution to the match ie setting up a goal, scoring a goal or even putting in a MOTM performance. He did none of that so it can't be said because his team-mates won the tournament (it should have all been about Eder post match, instead all about Ronaldo...) that he is better than Messi because he has a European trophy. Apart from his two goals against Hungary he was rotten.

Lionel has been in 4 finals, lost them all and made a split decision because the heartbreak from the last one was enough, he wants to bring a trophy home and is normally the one who is blamed when they lose (like there aren't 11 men on the field). It won't be his last game for Argentina, that's for sure. If it is, why not say anything about Mascherano, Higuain and Di Maria who are going to retire also?

Messi still cannot be knocked off the best ever spot purely because Ronaldo's team-mates won a final.

TrinityHibs
12-07-2016, 08:05 AM
Ok.

Kind of hard if you're crocked after 8 minutes. If you were being fair to him you would acknowledge that without him Portugal probably wouldn't have been in the final so he contributed massively to the final.

12-07-2016, 08:59 AM
Kind of hard if you're crocked after 8 minutes. If you were being fair to him you would acknowledge that without him Portugal probably wouldn't have been in the final so he contributed massively to the final.

He certainly played his part in getting Portugal to the final - the Wales game stands out for me.

But Teo10 sums up my thoughts on this... the fact that Ronaldo got his hands on the trophy on Sunday does not *prove* he is a better player than Messi. Messi has achieved at least as much at international level.

12-07-2016, 09:08 AM
He certainly played his part in getting Portugal to the final - the Wales game stands out for me.

But Teo10 sums up my thoughts on this... the fact that Ronaldo got his hands on the trophy on Sunday does not *prove* he is a better player than Messi. Messi has achieved at least as much at international level.

I agree that Ronaldo having a Euro winners medal doesn't prove he's better than Messi, but I don't see how you can say Messi has achieved as much as Ronaldo at international level. He hasn't.

12-07-2016, 09:43 AM
With you on this one. I am a big Messi fan, but was sad to see Ronaldo go off and in tears (one of the few times I'll say that!). However, I knew if Portugal one then all this debate would kick off. I would accept it if Ronaldo had a physical contribution to the match ie setting up a goal, scoring a goal or even putting in a MOTM performance. He did none of that so it can't be said because his team-mates won the tournament (it should have all been about Eder post match, instead all about Ronaldo...) that he is better than Messi because he has a European trophy. Apart from his two goals against Hungary he was rotten.

Lionel has been in 4 finals, lost them all and made a split decision because the heartbreak from the last one was enough, he wants to bring a trophy home and is normally the one who is blamed when they lose (like there aren't 11 men on the field). It won't be his last game for Argentina, that's for sure. If it is, why not say anything about Mascherano, Higuain and Di Maria who are going to retire also?

Messi still cannot be knocked off the best ever spot purely because Ronaldo's team-mates won a final.

The media made it all about him. He celebrated with his team mates and despite going off early he helped to inspire his team.

Ronaldo also get a lot of blame if they don't win, just like Messi.

12-07-2016, 10:01 AM
I agree that Ronaldo having a Euro winners medal doesn't prove he's better than Messi, but I don't see how you can say Messi has achieved as much as Ronaldo at international level. He hasn't.

In terms of personal contribution he has.

In terms of medals, obviously not.

12-07-2016, 10:04 AM
The media made it all about him. He celebrated with his team mates and despite going off early he helped to inspire his team.

Ronaldo also get a lot of blame if they don't win, just like Messi.

Lol. Ronaldo makes it all about himself.

What was his celebration about at the final whistle?? Does he really find it so hard to congratulate his team mates (the ones who won the Final)?

12-07-2016, 10:11 AM

What was his celebration about at the final whistle?? Does he really find it so hard to congratulate his team mates (the ones who won the Final)?

I saw him congratulate and celebrate with his teammates before lifting the trophy?

12-07-2016, 10:58 AM

His ego was never going to allow his teammates to hog the limelight in those circumstances unfortunately.

12-07-2016, 05:52 PM
The idea that Ronaldo must now be a better player than Messi just because he has won a major international tournament is a bit strange to me.

Is Pepe now a superior defender to Paolo Maldini? Is Nikopolidis a better goalkeeper than Edwin Van Der Sar?

Both Messi and Ronaldo have had fantastic club careers (Messi -28 trophies, Ronaldo -17) and both have performed well in international teams that have not always been easy to be a part of. Messi has played in 4 major international finals, Ronaldo 2 and Messi actually has a better goalscoring record than Ronaldo at international level (albeit with a minimal difference). Winning a Euros with Portugal is a wonderful achievement for Ronaldo but does it make him the better player. Not imo.

Teo10
12-07-2016, 06:48 PM
The idea that Ronaldo must now be a better player than Messi just because he has won a major international tournament is a bit strange to me.

Is Pepe now a superior defender to Paolo Maldini? Is Nikopolidis a better goalkeeper than Edwin Van Der Sar?

Both Messi and Ronaldo have had fantastic club careers (Messi -28 trophies, Ronaldo -17) and both have performed well in international teams that have not always been easy to be a part of. Messi has played in 4 major international finals, Ronaldo 2 and Messi actually has a better goalscoring record than Ronaldo at international level (albeit with a minimal difference). Winning a Euros with Portugal is a wonderful achievement for Ronaldo but does it make him the better player. Not imo.

Very well summed up. My thoughts exactly.

12-07-2016, 06:50 PM

This :top marks

12-07-2016, 10:17 PM
Ronaldo looked at himself on the big screens an average of 183 times per game.... fact

Ronaldo's favourite song was a by Kylie Minogue hit... "i cant get me out of my head"

12-07-2016, 10:23 PM
Ronaldo looked at himself on the big screens an average of 183 times per game.... fact

Ronaldo's favourite song was a by Kylie Minogue hit... "i cant get me out of my head"

Thought it was I'm too Sexy by Right Said Fred?

13-07-2016, 12:06 AM
I am sure a lot of people have said Ronaldo and Messi cannot be considered as the best unless the have won International tournaments.

Ronaldo has.

Messi can't.

13-07-2016, 12:09 AM

People say Ronaldo hasn't achieved internationally that Messi has...

He's actually been part of a winning side.

13-07-2016, 08:44 AM
How is it in UK if someone is successful iin business/sport/whatever they are immediatly looked on as having cheated /taken drugs/have an ego/are bad mannered etc etc etc ?
Often think those that criticise belong to the
"IF I CAN'T HAVE IT WHY SHOULD YOU " club
I enjoy watching Renaldo / Messi etc for what they are " Top class entertainers " !! :rolleyes:
God knows there are few of them about !!
I enjoyed the talents of Pele/Best/ Stan Mathew's/ Gordon Smith et al over the years and am happy to enjoy the talents of these two !!
:hibees

13-07-2016, 08:50 AM
I am sure a lot of people have said Ronaldo and Messi cannot be considered as the best unless the have won International tournaments.

Ronaldo has.

Messi can't.

You seem to be choosing to be deliberately obtuse on this thread, for some reason. Stop putting up straw man arguments.

Your opinion seems to be that Ronaldo is now proven to be a better player than Messi. Others (including me) disagree. Let it be.

TrinityHibs
13-07-2016, 08:59 AM

Ronaldo has.

Messi can't.

Pele won three.