View Full Version : NHC Euro Championships 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13

27-06-2016, 08:46 PM
Commentators are in meltdown.

27-06-2016, 08:47 PM
Rashford should have been on half an hour ago.

Cmon!!

This is amazing

Camt be more than 2 mins

Clive is in a mess :faf:

3 minutes?? Eh

Thtee minutes Hang on

27-06-2016, 08:48 PM
Very disrespectful towards Iceland yet again from commentator!

"Getting beat from names we haven't heard of."

27-06-2016, 08:48 PM
Sturridge is still on the park?? I thought he had been taken off!!

renato
27-06-2016, 08:49 PM
Hilarious. England are just guaranteed early exit when the knockouts start, literally every tourney.

Carlsberg Monday :greengrin

"Getting beat from names we haven't heard of."

Yip

commentator sounds quite down

27-06-2016, 08:50 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjp1Zrvn8VQ Come on Iceland.

last chance

I haven't felt that good since David Gray scored against Rangers in 2016.

In the battle of the minnows, plucky England are unlucky.

Wouldn't like to be a piece of patio furniture right now.

haw haw ****** haw

Ha ha ha!!

Get it right roond yis!

Outstanding performance from Iceland!

****ing heroes each and every one of them

Hoooo Hoooo hoooo !!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbs:

Great night for Iceland !!!

27-06-2016, 08:51 PM
Omg :aok:

Aye, but is Hart getting dropped for the quarter final?

have to give credit where it's due though, engerlund really gave they guys a game

S******

England are the laughing stock of international football.

No congrats to Iceland from Tyldesley.
No class.

Off the bar
27-06-2016, 08:52 PM
Ha ha ha ya beauty so so funny we can enjoy this for years and years and years

England out of Europe twice in one week!

Your going home your going home
England's going home!!

Little England getting used to their new position in the world!!

Feel for the players but the commentators and media boys can get it right up them .

******** of a commentator saying this overshadows Brexit. :confused:

Ergye
http://i.imgur.com/jkIhNDD.jpg

scha·den·freu·de
ˈSHädənˌfroidə/
noun

pleasure derived by someone from another person's misfortune.

Aye, but is Hart getting dropped for the quarter final?

You're a very bad man. :tsk tsk:

High-On-Hibs
"This result over shadows everything going on in the country at the moment."

Oh ma sides! :faf:

HiBremian
Little England getting used to their new position in the world!!

Gem

27-06-2016, 08:53 PM

It actually might for tomorrow's papers.

Reactions from the commentators is Hunnish - all about them !! No credit at all for Iceland who were worthy opponents and had earned the right to be in the last 16. Hunnish England.

At least we can get on with the tournament now

27-06-2016, 08:54 PM
can i just a huge thanks to the english keeper, had a great laugh watching only fools and horses on Gold, turned it over and had another bellyfull of laughs when he let one in...sound

27-06-2016, 08:54 PM
England were not together, in fact they were pish. Iceland were a team working for each other. Fantastic result for them.

Finn2015
27-06-2016, 08:55 PM
Mwahahahaahaha ha

27-06-2016, 08:55 PM
"This result over shadows everything going on in the country at the moment."

Oh ma sides! :faf:

That comment sums up the English commentators PERFECTLY ! They live on a different planet stuck in 1966, for ever !!

27-06-2016, 08:56 PM

It's up there with Justice for the England 11.:wink:

ACLeith
Iceland threw their bodies on the line

Joe hart threw his ball over the line.

hfcok
Iceland have just gone and Hibsed it :hyper

27-06-2016, 08:57 PM
Premiership the richest league in the world blah blah......aye but all the best players aren't English ya dobber.

That result is seismic.

Who'd of thunk it - Wales are the daddy of these isles.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk

Haha Lee Dixon "i'm not nervous, England will win this"

Eh, no they won't!!! :greengrin

Manager, Rooney & Hart - all now finished at Int level, their last game.

The Huns can't get a break at the minute can they:greengrin

27-06-2016, 08:58 PM
Am I right in thinking, England only won, one game in 4 in the Euro's?

seanshow
Come on Ísland! come on Ísland! :singing:

High-On-Hibs
To be fair, they did well for an independent inwards looking nation. Without the EU subsidies they just can't afford the quality to match Iceland.

27-06-2016, 08:59 PM
Anyone else going to watch the highlights on BBC as well?

Apparently Hodgson threw a punch in the tunnel

Anyone else going to watch the highlights on BBC as well?

What time😄

Woger and out!

It is genuinely quite remarkable how consistently England under perform in finals relative to their talent pool. It is beyond unlucky or whatever. There's something wrong there with their managerial appointments or whatever.

Chelsea won the champions league playing in the final they way Iceland played tonight, the commentators then had the Chelsea players up on pedestals.

I'm loving this tonight, well done Iceland totally deserved, lots of fight and superb team spirit.

27-06-2016, 09:00 PM

they had to deliver a knock-out blow to someone

27-06-2016, 09:01 PM
What time

10.50 haha can't wait to see Shearers puss, hope it was Pierce and Lawro commentating for once:faf:

At Joe Hart? :greengrin

Nice to see Ian Wright spewing, the analysis is fun 😁

27-06-2016, 09:02 PM
Some of the Iceland players are part-time?

A note of caution lads, we've been drawn against a Danish or Icelandic side in Europe....

27-06-2016, 09:02 PM
At Joe Hart? :greengrin

😂😂😂😂😂

27-06-2016, 09:03 PM
I keep expecting Crouch to break into a few verses of 'jive talkin'

Well done Iceland.

BTW English commentators are not taking it well.

Who's the favourite for the England job then? The site I looked at has Southgate at 6/1, then Gary Neville at 8's, but not sure how reliable that is.

banchoryhibs
England out of Europe twice in one week..... serves them right

27-06-2016, 09:05 PM
Seen 2 Hearts fans comment that England 'Hibsed it'.

Don't think so.

27-06-2016, 09:05 PM
Wasn't really listening but did the ITV man say that Iceland have no professional teams?

(((Fergus)))
27-06-2016, 09:06 PM
10.50 haha can't wait to see Shearers puss, hope it was Pierce and Lawro commentating for once:faf:

:greengrin Shearer hates England, he will be purring inside.

Who's value plummeted quicker raheem sterling's or the sterling pound :D

I keep expecting Crouch to break into a few verses of 'jive talkin'

Never sure what attracted Abby Clancy to the horse toothed freakishly tall multi millionaire

David_D
Yeah. He said they have no professional teams.

Wasn't really listening but did the ITV man say that Iceland have no professional teams?

He did. Are we not drawn against one in the Europa league?

27-06-2016, 09:07 PM
https://www.facebook.com/www.JOE.co.uk/videos/695900340574035/

Yip.

Also loved the comment about whether the England players are on £150k or £5 per week they will be hurting.

Who is the poor sod on £5 per week in the greatest league in the world?

KSA Hibee
I almost enjoyed seeing Engerlung getting pumped as mush as seeing us pump Sevco .. Almost !!

27-06-2016, 09:08 PM
Who's the favourite for the England job then? The site I looked at has Southgate at 6/1, then Gary Neville at 8's, but not sure how reliable that is.

What price Stubbs?

https://www.facebook.com/www.JOE.co.uk/videos/695900340574035/

😂😂😀

Yip.

Also loved the comment about whether the England players are on £150k or £5 per week they will be hurting.

Who is the poor sod on £5 per week in the greatest league in the world?

The boy who shops at Iceland

27-06-2016, 09:09 PM
That has to be the worst result in modern history for England. Inexcusably bad: Iceland, a country of 300,00 people. It's truly shocking.

At least the English also know what it's like to be taken out of Europe against their will.

27-06-2016, 09:10 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X98GeSIyebY

27-06-2016, 09:10 PM
Ray Wilkins has told Sky Sports that the 'Disabled Campaigner' Glenn Hoddle should be the next Engerland manager :rolleyes:

27-06-2016, 09:11 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kz7PmfYbioQ

27-06-2016, 09:11 PM
Somehow surviving in the local... Had an escape plan sorted as well.

SuperAllyMcleod
27-06-2016, 09:12 PM
Any of the guys on here who have gambled on Brondby (and paid for flights and accommodation) feeling a bit worried by the Iceland performance?

Just asking.

Somehow surviving in the local... Had an escape plan sorted as well.

How are they taking it

Woy gone, aawwww.

No clever when yer taken oot o Europe against yer will.:greengrin

hibbytam
Yeah. He said they have no professional teams.

They have at least 4 divisions....

I honestly love England so much right now

(((Fergus)))
27-06-2016, 09:13 PM
Has Hogson just written that or did he have it ready in case?

Even after all that I can't help but like Roy, he's a total gent, hope they leave him alone now

How a group of mostly very good club players play like that for their country is strange. It's far from the first time England teams have totally failed to perform at international level in the finals of a tournament. They won all their qualifying group games I think?

Wayne Rooney looks finished at this level. He was terrible. Maybe if the lad Rashford had been on from the start it may have ended differently?

Congratulations to Iceland. They are not very good, but they are well organised.

Hodgson on his England players: "They've done exactly what was asked of them".

Eh, what exactly did you ask them to do Roy?

High-On-Hibs
England v Iceland summed up.

http://giantgag.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/funny-penguin-attack-gif-01.gif

ben johnson

Not one of the Iceland squad play in Iceland. All top pros in big teams throughout Europe. They are not on Englands radar. Their arrogance and usual dismissal of smaller nations cost them dear.

27-06-2016, 09:14 PM
Hodgson on his England players: "They've done exactly what was asked of them".

Eh, what exactly did you ask them to do Roy?

Was just about to say that! They'd have won the bloody tournament if they'd done exactly what was asked of them :faf:

That has to be the worst result in modern history for England. Inexcusably bad: Iceland, a country of 300,00 people. It's truly shocking.

At least the English also know what it's like to be taken out of Europe against their will.

It's like the rest of England getting beat by a select team from Newcastle (population 290 000) it just shouldn't happen.

Funny though.

"They can't go any further in the competition because they're out" - Lee Dixon

Off the bar
This just gets better and better, it's a mild evening here in London town and my window is wide open. I can hear my neighbour shouting and raging at his telly!

ben johnson
27-06-2016, 09:15 PM
Any of the guys on here who have gambled on Brondby (and paid for flights and accommodation) feeling a bit worried by the Iceland performance?

Just asking.

No

27-06-2016, 09:16 PM
Woy has resigned

I can't wait to see Linekers face in half an hour :faf:

I cannae stand that smug, big eared roaster.

Neville and Lewington resigned as well

27-06-2016, 09:17 PM
He did. Are we not drawn against one in the Europa league?
I will be surprised if Valur are a full time professional team on average crowds of 1,081 and 11 home league matches a season.

27-06-2016, 09:17 PM
Iceland are a decent team and no great surprise imo. England are bang average, totally deserved to lose to a better team on the night.

I thought England voting to leave Europe had a 2 year transition period obviously not. :greengrin

27-06-2016, 09:18 PM
Let's be honest. Playing like that Engurland wouldn't have beaten Farmfoods let alone Iceland. The most over-hyped league with over-hyped players.

27-06-2016, 09:18 PM
brendan rodgers at 16's to take over :confused: bookmakers can be quite funny

chinaman
27-06-2016, 09:19 PM
New England manager odds.
With respect , where's warbs ?

2 for 1 offers at Iceland all week.(not available in Scotland)

Soooo upset about the England v Iceland game tonight :boo hoo:.................. only had £10 on at 7/1. :LOL:

27-06-2016, 09:20 PM
Iceland were amazing.. Vel gert Ísland :not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

Finn2015
Be interesting to see who will be the favourite for this and who would want it!

the Manager has walked. shame. a Nation in mourning, need a new prime minister, a new national football manager, and a new attitude instead of having the biggest superiority complex in the world when in reality they don't really scare anyone. Brittania has steered into very stormy seas and she's rudderless while heading for the rocks. whisky galore!

Ryan69

Just asking.

I'm pretty sure all their players are foreign based.

The Tent Boys are the Golden Generation of Icelandic football....

27-06-2016, 09:21 PM
This just gets better and better, it's a mild evening here in London town and my window is wide open. I can hear my neighbour shouting and raging at his telly!

What is he watching?

Saturday Boy
New England manager odds.
With respect , where's warbs ?

Terry Butcher for me. I feel a petition coming on ;-)

Cue the start of their fans kicking off again I would bet.

27-06-2016, 09:22 PM
Anyone think this result will be symbolic? The worst result in their history immediately following what could be their worst decision in recent history.

High-On-Hibs
I'm hearing Nigel Farage is next in line for the job. He fits the job description perfectly.

Be interesting to see who will be the favourite for this and who would want it!

Eddie Howe seems to be being mentioned a lot on social media. Personally think he'd be mental to take the job at this stage in his career.

It won't happen as he's commited for another season but if it was a year down the line I wonder if Wenger would fancy it?

Off the bar
What is he watching?

I think the last outburst was woys press conference, although he's been effing and jeffing loudly for the last 2 hours

27-06-2016, 09:23 PM
The England-supporting Mrs Beefster has just stomped off to her bed after being bombarded with as many articles as I could find from the past month about how England could win the Euros or would pump Iceland. I fear I'll not be getting special cuddles for a while.

27-06-2016, 09:23 PM
Wonder what odds David Cameron is?

27-06-2016, 09:24 PM
Iceland are a decent team and no great surprise imo. England are bang average, totally deserved to lose to a better team on the night.

I thought England voting to leave Europe had a 2 year transition period obviously not. :greengrin

You're spot on, but no one on English tele recognises that. Iceland will give France a decent game, only then they'll all start to feel a wee bit better.

27-06-2016, 09:24 PM

He is looking for a job, and like Roy, seems a nice man

Saturday Boy
27-06-2016, 09:25 PM

Okay I'll bite. Very odd.

He couldn't keep England in Europe either.

England v Iceland summed up.

http://giantgag.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/funny-penguin-attack-gif-01.gif11 penguins wearing England tops would have made a better fist of it against Iceland tonight. look forward to the news about 3am, when the real attitude starts on the streets.:wink:

ben johnson
27-06-2016, 09:26 PM
I'm pretty sure all their players are foreign based.

The Tent Boys are the Golden Generation of Icelandic football....

All their squad play abroad. No Valur players forming the spine of the team. Bookies have Valur 6 or 7 to 1 to win the home leg v Brondby

27-06-2016, 09:27 PM
England are lacking a Terry Butcher? FFS

27-06-2016, 09:28 PM

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13533155_1733995340185894_7840324937136375473_n.jp g?oh=6fecbe30e1e056a582fe5f76a4845dc1&oe=57F0DCC2

All their squad play abroad. No Valur players forming the spine of the team. Bookies have Valur 6 or 7 to 1 to win the home leg v Brondby

Same odds as Iceland tonight. I think Brondby over 2 legs though.

Terry Butcher for me. I feel a petition coming on ;-)

Do you want a replay?:greengrin

Ian Wright just compared it to the film Space Jam!! :faf:

High-On-Hibs
Joe Hart is off the hook because.... err he sings the English anthem really well.

Finn2015
27-06-2016, 09:30 PM
The England-supporting Mrs Beefster has just stomped off to her bed after being bombarded with as many articles as I could find from the past month about how England could win the Euros or would pump Iceland. I fear I'll not be getting special cuddles for a while.

Nah don't worry mate that's just being married

Saturday Boy
England are lacking a Terry Butcher? FFS
Please. The dream team

Anyone think this result will be symbolic? The worst result in their history immediately following what could be their worst decision in recent history.

If you are talking about the EU referendum decision, I presume you are including the Welsh and the 38% of those who voted in Scotland to leave the EU too?

27-06-2016, 09:31 PM
Where there's an Iceland you'll find frozen turkeys! :greengrin

27-06-2016, 09:31 PM
will the quarter finals not be played until engerlund sign Article 50 :dunno:

27-06-2016, 09:32 PM
Just thinking about how the commentary team were jumping about when Iceland scored last week when they avoided Portugal.

Right up them.

High-On-Hibs
27-06-2016, 09:33 PM
If you are talking about the EU referendum decision, I presume you are including the Welsh and the 38% of those who voted in Scotland to leave the EU too?

38% generally means the decision goes the other way........ unless you're part of our "equal family of nations". :whistle:

robinp
27-06-2016, 09:33 PM
What price is Warburton for the job.

27-06-2016, 09:35 PM
Peter Crouch saying take their time to get a new manager as they don't have a tournament for a while. He was reminded that the qualifiers begin in September.

ben johnson
27-06-2016, 09:38 PM
Same odds as Iceland tonight. I think Brondby over 2 legs though.

Yes Iceland would be those odds over here with very few backing them and money piling on England. They are a very good team but it's cost the local league as they have all moved on. If it's Valur next round so be it but I can't see Valur upsetting the odds.

Off the bar
27-06-2016, 09:39 PM
Anyone on twitter who fancies a laugh should check out Danny Bakers feed there is a man who has lost his **** big time tonight. He is @prodnose

27-06-2016, 09:41 PM
How are they taking it

Not very well.

27-06-2016, 09:43 PM
England looked beyond this game and were to busy thinking of France. Not one of those players can say they played well this tournament and not one of them played for the jersey.

If it had been a champions League match for their club with a lovely bonus etc they would not have lost it.

Couldn't happen to a nicer bunch of twats. 👋🏼😁

27-06-2016, 09:44 PM
Joe Hart is off the hook because.... err he sings the English anthem really well.

Who said that?!

27-06-2016, 09:44 PM
38% generally means the decision goes the other way........ unless you're part of our "equal family of nations". :whistle:

Not sure what you're on about. You've missed my point I think.

I was replying to a poster who seems to have an anti English viewpoint (like many on these forums). It's sad, especially when politicians of all parties are calling for unity at this very difficult time for our country.

I was pointing out that Wales voted to leave (not just England), as well as a fairly substantial percentage of people who voted in Scotland, plus a lot of people in England. Many voted to remain.

27-06-2016, 09:50 PM
Who said that?!

No one. If anything Ian Wright actually said he was too pumped up and needed to calm down

Saturday Boy
27-06-2016, 09:51 PM
BBC highlights starting soon, he he.

High-On-Hibs
27-06-2016, 09:51 PM

I was replying to a poster who seems to have an anti English viewpoint (like many on these forums). It's sad, especially when politicians of all parties are calling for unity at this very difficult time for our country.

I was pointing out that Wales voted to leave (not just England), as well as a fairly substantial percentage of people who voted in Scotland, plus a lot of people in England. Many voted to remain.

We're having a laugh at England's football team which is always so full of itself. Has nothing to do with being "anti English". As for politicians calling for "unity". UK wide politicians will always call for this and will use any situation to attempt to damage the case for independence. They don't really care about our "unity", it's just rhetoric that they use to control the narrative.

27-06-2016, 09:55 PM
No one. If anything Ian Wright actually said he was too pumped up and needed to calm down

That's what I was wondering when I read the comment - I thought I'd missed it...

27-06-2016, 09:55 PM

I highly recommend rewinding Linekers face in the opening shot three times. It gets funnier and funnier.

27-06-2016, 09:59 PM
Like so many other " clubs" they did not have a "Plan B" when " Plan A" wasn;t working
Difficult to put a finger exactly what was amiss but the just huffed and puffed
In the end they got what they deserved " the square root of zero

27-06-2016, 10:00 PM
Like so many other " clubs" they did not have a "Plan B" when " Plan A" wasn;t working
Difficult to put a finger exactly what was amiss but the just huffed and puffed
In the end they got what they deserved " the square root of zero

I think Plan b was to put every striker they had on tour with them on the pitch.

Didn't work.

27-06-2016, 10:02 PM

Just asking.
I am sure that supporters of Piast Gliwice who banked on Gothenburg reaching the second qualifying round will be fair crapping themselves that Llandudno will make it through after Wales making the quarter finals!

27-06-2016, 10:08 PM
Quote from Rooney

"Roy Hodgson will look back and think what he could have done differently.

I'm still available to play. It'll be interesting to see who comes in."

So, it's all Roy's fault then? Nothing to do with Rooney being the worst player on the park.

27-06-2016, 10:09 PM
We're having a laugh at England's football team which is always so full of itself. Has nothing to do with being "anti English". As for politicians calling for "unity". UK wide politicians will always call for this and will use any situation to attempt to damage the case for independence. They don't really care about our "unity", it's just rhetoric that they use to control the narrative.

Do you know any of the England team? Most football players I've ever known are not full of themselves at all. Maybe some of their supporters perhaps? Nothing to do with being anti English? Aye right.

The recent calls for unity throughout the whole country has nothing to do with attempting to damage the case for Scottish independence. For most UK politicians the issue of Scottish independence is fairly low in their order of priorities right now.

I'm sure Nicola Sturgeon would agree with these calls for unity.

ben johnson
27-06-2016, 10:14 PM
Sure Lineker called them Ireland there.

High-On-Hibs
27-06-2016, 10:14 PM
Do you know any of the England team? Most football players I've ever known are not full of themselves at all. Maybe some of their supporters perhaps? Nothing to do with being anti English? Aye right.

The recent calls for unity throughout the whole country has nothing to do with attempting to damage the case for Scottish independence. For most UK politicians the issue of Scottish independence is fairly low in their order of priorities right now.

I'm sure Nicola Sturgeon would agree with these calls for unity.

Not sure why you're determined to turn a footballing thread into a political debate. But i'm really not interested to be honest. I'm too busy laughing at Linekers mug. I'd laugh at Ferdinands, but his always looks that way. :wink:

27-06-2016, 10:15 PM
They're not happy on MOTD

Linekar congratulates Ireland instead of Iceland, Shearer looks like he's been crying since full time, all of the laying into the manager they loved a few hours ago. Brilliant :faf:

High-On-Hibs
27-06-2016, 10:15 PM
Sure Lineker called them Ireland there.

He did. Absolute moron.

27-06-2016, 10:18 PM
Often disagree with him but Alan Shearer is absolutely spot on.

Saturday Boy
27-06-2016, 10:21 PM
I'm watching BBC highlights, but I wish I'd recorded it to watch again. And again. And again.

27-06-2016, 10:22 PM
Seen 2 Hearts fans comment that England 'Hibsed it'.

Don't think so.

LoL hertz.

Yesterdays men. Like engurland.

27-06-2016, 10:24 PM
Not sure why you're determined to turn a footballing thread into a political debate. But i'm really not interested to be honest. I'm too busy laughing at Linekers mug. I'd laugh at Ferdinands, but his always looks that way. :wink:

If you look at my post history you'll see I've posted in the past that I usually try keep away from politics on these forums. It's not my intention to turn anything into a political debate at all.

If you're not really interested, why your posts #2402 and #2413? If that's not turning it into a political debate I don't know what is. :kettle::bye::bye:

27-06-2016, 10:24 PM
I'm watching BBC highlights, but I wish I'd recorded it to watch again. And again. And again.

Don't forget the iPlayer.

Marco G
27-06-2016, 10:27 PM
The big teams, whoever they are, just dont get it. Their pundits dont get it. Their fans dont get it. It is that a well organised wee team with good players can beat a badly organised team of stars. Italy, on the other hand, show how a big team should do it, knuckle down with a plan and run with it. That is why my prediction for the final is Italy v Iceland (cant be bothered to see if the draw allows that) but its what I want.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

Green Reaper
27-06-2016, 10:29 PM
Thought the analysis on MOTD was very good and a lot of credit given to Iceland

27-06-2016, 10:29 PM

He was. He held nothing back and didn't indulge in the usual banalities we hear from pundits.

Saturday Boy
27-06-2016, 10:30 PM
The big teams, whoever they are, just dont get it. Their pundits dont get it. Their fans dont get it. It is that a well organised wee team with good players can beat a badly organised team of stars. Italy, on the other hand, show how a big team should do it, knuckle down with a plan and run with it. That is why my prediction for the final is Italy v Iceland (cant be bothered to see if the draw allows that) but its what I want.

Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk

That's why football is such a great sport. And also sadly why Hibs don't win every game we should.

27-06-2016, 10:31 PM
Shearer was doing well until he started touting himself for the England job!

Saturday Boy
27-06-2016, 10:31 PM

Agreed. Jenas called it as Iceland's easiest game.

27-06-2016, 10:32 PM

:agree: much better than itv

hibbytam
27-06-2016, 10:37 PM

Agreed. I was raging at the itv 'analysis'. No respect given to Iceland who played really well.
I understand that they're upset, but they're supposed to be professionals, not fans. And they'd just watched one of the most incredible things to happen in football. Made them look bitter amateurs.

Green Reaper
27-06-2016, 10:41 PM

Yep, ITV gave no credit but just poor from Engerlund and didn't show the goals or give analysis on them

SON OF PADDY
27-06-2016, 10:46 PM
Just spent a wonderful evening,in the company of at least 20 Iceland fan's.

Last night of my holidays in Tenerife so we decide to watch the game at the hotel,rather than hit the strip.
Settled down to watch the game fully expecting to be surrounded by English fan's, much to our surprise it was the Iceland supporters that outnumbered the English.
They clapped and cheered everything all night long, it was brilliant.
English bloke was raging !! because a Scottish family where supporting them and not England ?

Told him that we where backing them because there's a Iceland just up the road from me back home.
Only England could find themselves out of Europe twice in a week. Pmsl

dchibs
27-06-2016, 10:52 PM
I wonder what will be the headlines from the Daily ranger tomorrow.

27-06-2016, 10:55 PM
I can't post links, but there are 2 clips out there tonight that are possibly the funniest clips I've ever seen.

Harry Kane's free kick to Titanic music.

Steve McLaren doing the match coverage on Sky Sports News.

Absolutely hilarious.

27-06-2016, 11:02 PM

I was pointing out that Wales voted to leave (not just England), as well as a fairly substantial percentage of people who voted in Scotland, plus a lot of people in England. Many voted to remain.lets just put the political points you both have, to bed. when it came to the indy vote, many kept saying a substantial vote for No. 55%. now all of a sudden, 38% has become substantial? cant have it both ways, can we? however, back to the fitba. most on here will have a substantial dig, :wink::wink because the English press as usual hype their team up and their fans do likewise and act like erses in the streets of foreign lands. shame.

27-06-2016, 11:12 PM
I can't post links, but there are 2 clips out there tonight that are possibly the funniest clips I've ever seen.

Harry Kane's free kick to Titanic music.

Steve McLaren doing the match coverage on Sky Sports News.

Absolutely hilarious.
That'll be this one! https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/rsrc.php/v2/y4/r/-PAXP-deijE.gif

cookin_on_gaz
27-06-2016, 11:13 PM
Could the possibility of a Wales and Iceland final happen?

27-06-2016, 11:19 PM
Could the possibility of a Wales and Iceland final happen?Very much doubt it, winner of Italy vs Germany will win it I think.

Iceland have done brilliant but they are going to run out of steam eventually. Even tonight if they hadn't equalised so quickly they would have been in for a long night.

27-06-2016, 11:44 PM
Watching Spain tonight since 2010 they have evolved into a team with flare and guile to a bunch of hammer throwers, Italy are no angels but I always enjoyed watching Spain. Not any more.

(((Fergus)))
28-06-2016, 04:07 AM

He has a point in that the FA always make a safe appointment who makes safe decisions that get them safely on the plane back home early doors. They should have given it to a less reputable character, such as Harry or Sam Allardyce, who knows how to get a performance out of a substandard group of players.

Very much doubt it, winner of Italy vs Germany will win it I think.

Iceland have done brilliant but they are going to run out of steam eventually. Even tonight if they hadn't equalised so quickly they would have been in for a long night.

If there is one thing those Icelandic geezers have it is steam.

xyz23jc
28-06-2016, 05:10 AM
He has a point in that the FA always make a safe appointment who makes safe decisions that get them safely on the plane back home early doors. They should have given it to a less reputable character, such as Harry or Sam Allardyce, who knows how to get a performance out of a substandard group of players.

If there is one thing those Icelandic geysers have it is steam.

Fixed that for you.:wink:

(((Fergus)))
28-06-2016, 05:23 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CmAxxXQWgAADOSt.jpg

28-06-2016, 06:00 AM
Quote from Rooney

So, it's all Roy's fault then? Nothing to do with Rooney being the worst player on the park.

I blame sorry commend Woy for playing the wrong team the wrong tactics and the wrong players in the wrong positions.

Take Rooney as one case, he's never a central midfielder. He can play there but is not the best player in England in that position.

Once again an England manager picks a player just because of who he is rather than say no, you are not worthy of a place in this team i will play someone who plays in that position week in week out.

Woy has had 4 years to build a side, 2 years for this championship, but after winning 99% of their qualifying games, he's gone into these championships not knowing his best team or the best formation.

That for me is just pure bad management, couple that with a few players clearly not as good as the media portray them, and once again they are on their way home. :greengrin

Yes the players must take their share of the blame, but to have no real plan other than throw on a half fit Jack Wilshire and as many forwards as possible, its no wonder the world is laughing again :greengrin

28-06-2016, 06:21 AM
Quote from Rooney

Great captain that:rolleyes: Roy obviously told them to panic, defend appallingly and be unable to control or pass the ball. Beaten by a team more organised and way more up for it.

28-06-2016, 06:45 AM
I couldn't believe what I was hearing from the radio pundits before the match. They were describing Iceland as limited but beatable and if England got an early goal they would relax and win easily.

I could forgive them if this was an unknown quantity but this Iceland team came through a group containing Portugal, Hungary and Austria without losing. They also finished above Turkey and the Netherlands in qualifying, beating the latter twice. Not once did I hear anyone say that this lot could be real trouble for England.

Even in defeat, their media still don't get it. It's all about England's failings and no recognition or credit is being given to Iceland. It's all "we're big, they are wee and we should have beaten them".

This is nowhere near England's worst result ever but it's definitely the worst case of underestimating the opposition.

28-06-2016, 07:12 AM
I couldn't believe what I was hearing from the radio pundits before the match. They were describing Iceland as limited but beatable and if England got an early goal they would relax and win easily.

I could forgive them if this was an unknown quantity but this Iceland team came through a group containing Portugal, Hungary and Austria without losing. They also finished above Turkey and the Netherlands in qualifying, beating the latter twice. Not once did I hear anyone say that this lot could be real trouble for England.

Even in defeat, their media still don't get it. It's all about England's failings and no recognition or credit is being given to Iceland. It's all "we're big, they are wee and we should have beaten them".

This is nowhere near England's worst result ever but it's definitely the worst case of underestimating the opposition.

So true. And I think they only conceded 6 goals in their whole qualifying campaign. More than decent team who will give France a very hard test.

28-06-2016, 07:15 AM

Until they accept they aren't a great side they will keep qualifying from easy groups only to be found out again. I'd love to the stats from the last four or five knockout groups. As waddle said last night they have no leaders and nobody remotely the standard of bale or Ramsay like Wales

ACLeith
28-06-2016, 07:18 AM
Even if they get beaten badly by France many will vote for them as the team of the tournament. A group of players who fight for the cause with a management team who play to their strengths.

Football's a simple game when you do that.

ACLeith
28-06-2016, 07:25 AM
Until they accept they aren't a great side they will keep qualifying from easy groups only to be found out again. I'd love to the stats from the last four or five knockout groups. As waddle said last night they have no leaders and nobody remotely the standard of bale or Ramsay like Wales

Be an interesting stat to find out what % of last season's premiership squads were eligible for selection for them. "How can we under perform when we have the richest league in the world?" Any brain surgeons or rocket scientists online just now to help us answer that one??!?

(((Fergus)))
28-06-2016, 07:34 AM
The problem in England is grass roots. Kids are coached to be crap from a very young age. Sad/hilarious.

28-06-2016, 07:40 AM
The problem IMO is the fact that they constantly spent the Qualyifying games 'Experimenting' which now has them in a position where they don't know there best 11, they have no continuity and Woy trying to shoehorn players into positions eg Sturridge out wide, he is a centre forward. Rooney in midfield, he is a centre forward or no 10.

Throughout qualifying regardless of who you are playing or if you have qualified, play the best English player in each position.

The B team or development squad is for experimenting or bringing players through to full international.

28-06-2016, 08:11 AM
iceland were brilliant , its not like they parked the bus and got lucky . they played england off the park . could easily have been 3 or 4-1 , the iceland fans are great too i hope they go all the way

28-06-2016, 08:16 AM

Agreed, ITV were the usual arrogant fanboys, too caught up their own sense of self to even acknowledge Icelands great performance and best ever result. Pathetic. MOTD was like night and day, much better balanced all round.

28-06-2016, 08:21 AM

Whole I do agree it also sounds like many of the comments you read on hear prior to games against Dumbarton and Raith

Blackfordhibby
28-06-2016, 08:38 AM
Fish man just told me this......Rumour has it that England will not start negotiating on leaving the tournament before October, after a new headcoach has been appointed, so the last word may not have been out yet.

28-06-2016, 08:47 AM
Scottish fans aren't exactly in the position where we can make fun of the England football team - after all, where were we last night? Stuck in front of our TV's watching Iceland make the quarters of a tournament we didn't qualify to play in.

But before the match - certainly on ITV which I was watching - it was clear that the all-English panel of 'pundits' were convinced that England were going to stroll the game and it was done and dusted for the quarter-final on Sunday against France.

The euphoria, nay, hysteria, after the penalty went in was understandable, except for the thought that every so often a team scores a very early goal, only to come a cropper later in the game.

The equaliser didn't seem to dent the bumptious quality of the commentary - dear Lord, is there ANYTHING more boring and mind-numbing that having to listen to Noddle droning on and on and on about 'nice little' this and 'nice little' that and 'them sort of balls' and how Iceland were (quote) 'still stuck in the 1980's with their 4-4-2'?

When Iceland went ahead, I was very happy, but I really didn't think they would be able to hold out for a further 72 minutes plus added time against the inevitable England onslaught. They didn't. The onslaught didn't arrive. Walker - who always seems to me to be a cyborg about to cut loose and wreak bloody mayhem among the humans - and Dier - are we sure his name isn't 'Dire'? - and Hurricane Harry and Sterling (whose value, like that of the currency, has drastically plummeted this last few days lost the plot entirely. Goalie Joe had a bad hair night (the Hindenburg went down faster than he did for the second Iceland goal) and Uncle Woy feww on his swowd and wesigned.

And I have a lot of sympathy for anyone who went to France to support England believing the hype and bombast being churned out by the media and the advertisers. (Don't think we'll see that Mars advert again.) But Middle England wanted out of Europe ....

Be careful what you wish for ....

1987kev
28-06-2016, 09:21 AM
Epl is killing the English game. Crystal palace have just bidded £30 mil on batshuayi the utter madness.

28-06-2016, 09:57 AM
Epl is killing the English game. Crystal palace have just bidded £30 mil on batshuayi the utter madness.

Aye, I saw that. the SPL was doing this 20 years ago, and look where it's got us. They're just following us down the tubes.

They've gone out in the last 16 of a tournament which IMO has been dreadfully short on quality, and form what I can make out, all they need to do is appoint a decent coach, preferably English, preferably with international experience (what do they think Roy Hodgson's been doing all his career?) and all will be well because they have all these wonderfully talented young players coming through.

Only about 30% of the players in the EPL are English. Brexit will almost certainly change that - transfer fees will go up, players will be less willing to come to England, some of those already here will leave.

I wouldn't mind all that if they hadn't dragged us into the mess along with them.

28-06-2016, 10:03 AM
lets just put the political points you both have, to bed. when it came to the indy vote, many kept saying a substantial vote for No. 55%. now all of a sudden, 38% has become substantial? cant have it both ways, can we? however, back to the fitba. most on here will have a substantial dig, :wink::wink because the English press as usual hype their team up and their fans do likewise and act like erses in the streets of foreign lands. shame.

Happy to leave any "political points" out, but I note you make time to include yours though. I agree, can't have it both ways, can we? :greengrin

The digs on here weren't just at the English press or fans though, were they? Some were trying to make a wholly different statement. Anyway, FWIW I thought the England football team were terrible last night, and deserve all the slagging and criticism that's coming their way.

At least they made the finals of EURO 2016, unlike our own national team who haven't made the finals of a major tournament since 1998. A point which seems to have been overlooked.

Scotland fans need to be careful about slagging off England fans too. I attended several England v Scotland matches during the 1970s and 1980s, and the behaviour of many Scottish fans in London and other towns in England was embarrassing to say the least. Acting like erses is about right.

Whilst in no way condoning the violence of a section of the England support, people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

Brunswickbill
28-06-2016, 10:29 AM

He's got no chance. Terry Butcher is the man to finish the job. How do I start a national petition?

nellio
28-06-2016, 10:59 AM
Scottish fans aren't exactly in the position where we can make fun of the England football team - after all, where were we last night? Stuck in front of our TV's watching Iceland make the quarters of a tournament we didn't qualify to play in.

But before the match - certainly on ITV which I was watching - it was clear that the all-English panel of 'pundits' were convinced that England were going to stroll the game and it was done and dusted for the quarter-final on Sunday against France.

The euphoria, nay, hysteria, after the penalty went in was understandable, except for the thought that every so often a team scores a very early goal, only to come a cropper later in the game.

The equaliser didn't seem to dent the bumptious quality of the commentary - dear Lord, is there ANYTHING more boring and mind-numbing that having to listen to Noddle droning on and on and on about 'nice little' this and 'nice little' that and 'them sort of balls' and how Iceland were (quote) 'still stuck in the 1980's with their 4-4-2'?

When Iceland went ahead, I was very happy, but I really didn't think they would be able to hold out for a further 72 minutes plus added time against the inevitable England onslaught. They didn't. The onslaught didn't arrive. Walker - who always seems to me to be a cyborg about to cut loose and wreak bloody mayhem among the humans - and Dier - are we sure his name isn't 'Dire'? - and Hurricane Harry and Sterling (whose value, like that of the currency, has drastically plummeted this last few days lost the plot entirely. Goalie Joe had a bad hair night (the Hindenburg went down faster than he did for the second Iceland goal) and Uncle Woy feww on his swowd and wesigned.

And I have a lot of sympathy for anyone who went to France to support England believing the hype and bombast being churned out by the media and the advertisers. (Don't think we'll see that Mars advert again.) But Middle England wanted out of Europe ....

Good post, I'm Welsh so i'll happily make fun of them!!

28-06-2016, 11:02 AM

I actually liked that bit.

All too often pundits are happy to sit on the sidelines criticising anyone and everyone without even considering putting themselves up there to be shot at i.e. actually taking a management job.

I loved the enthusiasm shown by Shearer and Rio.

I'm no England fan and thought the car crash of the ITV coverage as it happened was hilarious. The clip of Steve McLaren live on air as the second Iceland goal went in on Sky is priceless.

The English aren't known for their intelligent, balanced analysis but fair play to Shearer, Ferdinand and Jenas - they dusted themselves down and did a cracking job in difficult circumstances.

28-06-2016, 11:19 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ7rXwLBapg

28-06-2016, 11:28 AM
Happy to leave any "political points" out, but I note you make time to include yours though. I agree, can't have it both ways, can we? :greengrin

The digs on here weren't just at the English press or fans though, were they? Some were trying to make a wholly different statement. Anyway, FWIW I thought the England football team were terrible last night, and deserve all the slagging and criticism that's coming their way.

At least they made the finals of EURO 2016, unlike our own national team who haven't made the finals of a major tournament since 1998. A point which seems to have been overlooked.

Scotland fans need to be careful about slagging off England fans too. I attended several England v Scotland matches during the 1970s and 1980s, and the behaviour of many Scottish fans in London and other towns in England was embarrassing to say the least. Acting like erses is about right.

Whilst in no way condoning the violence of a section of the England support, people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

You're joking right ?
You're highlighting matches from 30/40 years ago ?....completely different world back then whereby it wasn't just Scotland/England causing bother.

When was the last time Scotland fans caused bother abroad ?

1987kev
28-06-2016, 11:30 AM

Now mane signed from Southampton to Liverpool for 34 mil. The English game is completely bonkers. Also I know Scotland have not made it to tournament since 98 but for the English to win 1 knock out game since 06 is just as bad imo

28-06-2016, 11:32 AM

Isn't it brilliant! He seems to have been watching a different game to the one I was watching up til that point :greengrin

28-06-2016, 11:39 AM
Isn't it brilliant! He seems to have been watching a different game to the one I was watching up til that point :greengrin

That's a classic piece of television there :greengrin

alexhibs
28-06-2016, 11:44 AM

living in England its payback time for all the pish ahve had to take recently

28-06-2016, 11:51 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/tv/2016/06/28/euro-2016-punditwatch-humiliating-embarrassing--and-that-was-jus/

Commentator and analyst

The dreaded duo of Clive Tyldesley and Glenn Hoddle. Tyldesley was arrogant and disrespectful towards Iceland, unjustly comparing them to San Marino, taking an England win as a foregone conclusion and getting increasingly, splutteringly indignant when it didn’t happen.

Hoddle was even worse and clearly hadn’t done his research. He didn’t seem to know a single name on the Iceland teamsheet apart from ex-Spurs player Gylfi Sigurdsson and kept saying he was “surprised by them” - even though they knocked out Holland in qualifying and finished above Portugal in the group stage. In a case of pots and kettles, he accused Iceland of being “stuck in the Eighties”. Hoddle ended every utterance with “Clive”, “for me” or on special occasions, “for me, Clive”. Bring back Andy Townsend, all is forgiven.

28-06-2016, 03:53 PM

Apparently they have won two knockout games this century. Didnt realise it was that bad. They just don't perform when the pressure is on.

28-06-2016, 04:31 PM
It is genuinely quite remarkable how consistently England under perform in finals relative to their talent pool. It is beyond unlucky or whatever. There's something wrong there with their managerial appointments or whatever.

Or their talent pool is overhyped!

28-06-2016, 04:42 PM
now in the cold light of day i actually feel quite down with how the game ended last night, i was very much looking forward to a penalty shoot-out...damn you engerlund, damn you

Finn2015
28-06-2016, 05:41 PM
Clive tyldesley has always been an utter tube and you would have thought he would have learned by now. He will be the same at the next finals England are in

28-06-2016, 05:58 PM

True, but looking at the respective qualifications groups I would say ours was much harder than Englands.

We had Germany (World Cup champions and through to the Quarters at Euro16), Poland (through to the Quarters at Euro16) and the ROI (one nil up against the hosts, but eventually knocked out in the last 16 at Euro16). That's proof that we had a tough group and we did pretty well against each team in the home & away qualifiers.

England (embarrassingly beaten by Iceland in the last 16 at Euro16) only had Switzerland (beaten on penalties by a Poland, a team we more than matched in qualification, in the last 16 at Euro16). The rest of England's group were pretty poor.

That's proof to me that we had a much harder qualification group than England.

28-06-2016, 06:05 PM
You're joking right ?
You're highlighting matches from 30/40 years ago ?....completely different world back then whereby it wasn't just Scotland/England causing bother.

When was the last time Scotland fans caused bother abroad ?

Because it was a long time ago that makes it OK then? I'm not too sure it was a "completely different world" back then in some respects. Some things have never changed. There is still violence and anti-social behaviour associated with some football fans. In some respects it's worse now.

I don't travel abroad with Scotland these days, and certainly not at major tournaments, because as I've posted earlier we never get that far sadly! Not since 1998, also in France ironically.

I accept that fans of the Scottish national team haven't been involved in anything like the violence recently witnessed at EURO 2016. But don't kid yourself that Scottish football fans are sqeaky clean. Ask the people and police officers in Manchester what they think of The Rangers fans. I would also point to the serious violence recently involving Celtic supporters in Amsterdam.

28-06-2016, 06:06 PM

Right up there with Michael Fish's "Don't worry, there's no hurricane on the way"

28-06-2016, 06:07 PM
Now mane signed from Southampton to Liverpool for 34 mil. The English game is completely bonkers. Also I know Scotland have not made it to tournament since 98 but for the English to win 1 knock out game since 06 is just as bad imo
Please explain what impact Liverpool and Crystal Palace paying large sums of money for foreign players has to do with the English national team being crap.

These are symptoms not causes of the problem.

The FA spends millions on training facilities and development to very little effect. They should take a look at what Ice land are doing.

28-06-2016, 06:18 PM

Right up there with Michael Fish's "Don't worry, there's no hurricane on the way"

Fantastic :thumbs:

28-06-2016, 06:22 PM
Because it was a long time ago that makes it OK then? I'm not too sure it was a "completely different world" back then in some respects. Some things have never changed. There is still violence and anti-social behaviour associated with some football fans. In some respects it's worse now.

I don't travel abroad with Scotland these days, and certainly not at major tournaments, because as I've posted earlier we never get that far sadly! Not since 1998, also in France ironically.

I accept that fans of the Scottish national team haven't been involved in anything like the violence recently witnessed at EURO 2016. But don't kid yourself that Scottish football fans are sqeaky clean. Ask the people and police officers in Manchester what they think of The Rangers fans. I would also point to the serious violence recently involving Celtic supporters in Amsterdam.

What happened 30 or 40 years ago is irrelevant, especially when considering the fact that a large majority of those attending now weren't even born then...and to highlight the behaviour of individual club fans and compare them with national team fans is a spurious argument to say the least

28-06-2016, 06:35 PM
What happened 30 or 40 years ago is irrelevant, especially when considering the fact that a large majority of those attending now weren't even born then...and to highlight the behaviour of individual club fans and compare them with national team fans is a spurious argument to say the least

The bit in bold - I think we'll need to agree to disagree there. I'm not sure what the relevance is, whether someone was born at that time or not, to the point I made.

I wasn't comparing the behaviour of individual club's supporters with those of the national team. Read what I said again. Maybe I didn't make myself very clear?

28-06-2016, 06:40 PM
Please explain what impact Liverpool and Crystal Palace paying large sums of money for foreign players has to do with the English national team being crap.

These are symptoms not causes of the problem.

The FA spends millions on training facilities and development to very little effect. They should take a look at what Ice land are doing.

Of course.

If a club signs foreign players for large amounts of money they feel obliged to play them perhaps taking the places of homegrown players of the same ability levels.This stops them getting used to playing at a high level.Also when the players signed are exceptional the younger native players get used to relying on them and getting bailed out by them.This stops them taking on responsibility in games and being content to play a lesser role.This was shown last night when none of the England midfielders would be considered the main man at their clubs with the possible exception of Rooney who is not playing in his best position.

28-06-2016, 07:12 PM
The bit in bold - I think we'll need to agree to disagree there. I'm not sure what the relevance is, whether someone was born at that time or not, to the point I made.

I wasn't comparing the behaviour of individual club's supporters with those of the national team. Read what I said again. Maybe I didn't make myself very clear?
You were the one who brought up matches from 40 years ago and the behaviour of Scottish fans at that time, then saying we shouldn't be slagging English fans because of this. This is tarring today's fans with the same brush, so how is that not relevant. The fact that few of today's fans were around is totally relevant. It's equivalent to blaming the Germany of today for WWII...and why even mention ugly sister fans when talking about Scottish fans? If this isn't a comparison, then you've completely lost me

Finn2015
28-06-2016, 07:20 PM
Well perhaps we shouldn't go on either then given the fact for many years we had arguably the most notorious hooligan firm in Scotland so none of us have a right to judge😃

28-06-2016, 07:51 PM
In my opinion, 1966 is the MAIN cause of England's woes. They won then due to a mixture of luck, ensuring all their games were at Wembley and a fairly good team - all-in-all, a one-off never to be repeated. Unfortunately, for the majority of English fans/players/managers/media etc, it led to the belief that for evermore, they would be 'up there with the big boys' (Germany, Brazil, Italy etc) - when in reality, they aren't and it's very unlikely they ever will be. No matter, come Russia 2018, last night will be long-forgotten and once more, both BBC/ITV panels will be wittering on about actually winning it !!

28-06-2016, 09:19 PM
Danny Baker should get off the fence. :greengrin

https://mobile.twitter.com/prodnose?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7C twgr%5Eauthor

28-06-2016, 09:29 PM
He's got no chance. Terry Butcher is the man to finish the job. How do I start a national petition?

Yes! Butcher for England. The only choice.

He'd bring some bloodied passion back to the brave lions.

28-06-2016, 09:38 PM
Danny Baker should get off the fence. :greengrin

https://mobile.twitter.com/prodnose?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7C twgr%5Eauthor

I know he is not everyone's cup of tea, but he has long been a favourite broadcaster of mine. What's interesting is that he never seens to write or talk with any great anger about his lifelong team - Millwall, but gets hugely animated with his national team. With a lot of us, it is the complete opposite!

29-06-2016, 06:32 AM
Just seen the clip of Lineker, Shearer and Ferdinand going mental when Portugal scored that late equaliser to ensure England had the easier route to the final by playing Iceland, absolutely hysterical.

Also funny was ITV at half time when 2-1 down debating whether Joe Hart would play in the quarter final, they really dont help themselves. Having an all England panel is laughable, should surely be a neutral guy in their also.

29-06-2016, 08:47 AM
Just seen the clip of Lineker, Shearer and Ferdinand going mental when Portugal scored that late equaliser to ensure England had the easier route to the final by playing Iceland, absolutely hysterical.

Also funny was ITV at half time when 2-1 down debating whether Joe Hart would play in the quarter final, they really dont help themselves. Having an all England panel is laughable, should surely be a neutral guy in their also.

Most of the English punditry were talking about the QFs as a done deal.

Hodgson sent a lot of his team to watch Iceland but didn't bother himself.

They definitely underestimated them.

(((Fergus)))
29-06-2016, 08:59 AM
Most of the English punditry were talking about the QFs as a done deal.

Hodgson sent a lot of his team to watch Iceland but didn't bother himself.

They definitely underestimated them.

He was probably too busy writing the resignation speech he read out immediately after the game! That's a real winner's mindset.

Looks like Southgate now, which guarantees more mediocrity. If I were them, I would look for someone a bit dodgy, who knows how to mind-game opponents and get the most out of average players, e.g., Allardyce. Thankfully, he is too pleb-like for the FA to consider. They really are mugs. Even a lovely old gent like Roy Hodgson managed to sting them for millions.

29-06-2016, 09:14 AM

I don't mind having a go at England but it was made pretty clear the Joe Hart discussion was hypothetical.

29-06-2016, 10:58 AM

Shearer Ferdinand and jenas were surprisingly honest and interesting in their analysis. As for itv,just bloody awful with the same tired clichés. BBC coverage had been far superior to itv imho.

29-06-2016, 11:06 AM

As shearer said the foreign players make the EPL,engerlund aren't nearly as good as they think they are. I would say this is the least talented England squad they have had for many a year. Nobody of the standard of Gerrard or lampard. Poor,poor side.