View Full Version : Andy Murray

12AlbionPlace
05-06-2016, 01:02 PM
Good luck to Andy Murray in today's French Open Final.

Hopefully make it a fortnight to remember for Hibees.

Berwickhibby
05-06-2016, 01:08 PM
Come on Andy!!!!! 🇳🇬

05-06-2016, 01:09 PM
Good luck Anders :aok:

05-06-2016, 01:10 PM
Hopefully 2016 continues with the year of the unexpected...Leicester win the league, Hibs win the Scottish Cup...Murray wins the French Open.

Got a feeling he might just do it. Come on Andy.

OsloHibs
05-06-2016, 01:11 PM
Go Andy. Good luck.

05-06-2016, 01:17 PM
Absolutely torn apart in the 1st game there. Broken to love.

05-06-2016, 01:24 PM
Absolutely torn apart in the 1st game there. Broken to love.

And like the Hibs, came right back at 'em :greengrin

05-06-2016, 01:25 PM
And like the Hibs, came right back at 'em :greengrin
If the whole match is like this we are in for a great days tennis.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

05-06-2016, 01:25 PM
When it comes to Grand Slams his opponent tends to up his game so it will take an exceptional performance from Andy to win this on Clay Although his improvement on this surface is remarkable over past few years

05-06-2016, 01:38 PM
Who is he playing? I'm not a huge tennis fan, though I really enjoy Wimbledon.

05-06-2016, 01:40 PM
Who is he playing? I'm not a huge tennis fan, though I really enjoy Wimbledon.

Djokovic.

05-06-2016, 01:49 PM
Murray is on fire here in the first set.

Lost the first game to love on his serve but now 5-2 up and looking good for the first set.

Djokovic starting to play better though, could be a classic final.

05-06-2016, 01:50 PM

Lost the first game to love on his serve but now 5-2 up and looking good for the first set.

Wouldn't say he's looking that good for the set.

Still needs to serve and Djokovic took him quite far last time.

05-06-2016, 01:51 PM
Was waiting on the start when I noticed that I was tuned into STV+1. Now turned over.

Djokovic.

Djokovic always beats him. Hopefully it's Andy's day.

Apart from in Rome. On clay.

Or at the Wimbledon final.

05-06-2016, 01:55 PM
Apart from in Rome. On clay.

Or at the Wimbledon final.

Or the US Open final.

05-06-2016, 01:59 PM
Wouldn't say he's looking that good for the set.

Still needs to serve and Djokovic took him quite far last time.

Pretty sure he'll win the first set, seems well up for this and have a feeling it will be his day.

Just held serve to win the first set 6-3

05-06-2016, 01:59 PM
First set Murray:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Finn2015
05-06-2016, 02:00 PM
Cmon Murray! Great start

05-06-2016, 02:01 PM
The BBC updates must be the slowest on the internet.

05-06-2016, 02:01 PM

Murrays on fire, djokavic is terrified ;)

05-06-2016, 02:02 PM
Murrays on fire, djokavic is terrified ;)

Anyone signing that at the game?

05-06-2016, 02:03 PM
Anyone signing that at the game?

I'd like to think there is at least one mental Hibee there giving it a bash!!

05-06-2016, 02:04 PM
Is the other guy really called Votadick, or is my wife just winding me up?

05-06-2016, 02:04 PM
I'd like to think there is at least one mental Hibee there giving it a bash!!

Heard a few of the Tartan army boys, down for the Scotland game, were trying to get tickets

Septimus
05-06-2016, 02:07 PM
For some reason known only to themselves the crowd appear to be on the side of Djokovitch. What has happened to the auld alliance?

05-06-2016, 02:13 PM
Got 8/1 for oor Andy to win 3-2 on sets 💚🎾

Conrad Gray
05-06-2016, 02:19 PM
Can anyone confirm if Murrays shorts are green? My eyes are struggling.....

05-06-2016, 02:22 PM
Taking a bit of a beating in second set unfortunately! Hopefully a minor blip!

Mon Andy let's get back on track!!

05-06-2016, 02:25 PM
Taking a bit of a beating in second set unfortunately! Hopefully a minor blip!

Mon Andy let's get back on track!!

Yeah, he's lost his form since I switched the TV on to watch it.

I've decided to do him a favour and switch it back off again ;-)

05-06-2016, 02:30 PM
Yeah, he's lost his form since I switched the TV on to watch it. I've decided to do him a favour and switch it back off again ;-)

Djokovic has Defo upped his game a bit but Murray does have the game to beat him!!

As I mentioned hopefully a minor blip!

He has won a few games the hard way this last few weeks!!

05-06-2016, 02:40 PM
Now 1-1

Money on Andy going 2-1 down and coming back to win it 3-2. Andy will then jump over the net and stick the nut on Djokovic, grab some of the clay as a souvenir and sing Sunshine on Leith before bagging the trophy.

You heard it here first.

05-06-2016, 02:41 PM
Now 1-1

Money on Andy going 2-1 down and coming back to win it 3-2. Andy will then jump over the net and stick the nut on Djokovic, grab some of the clay as a souvenir and sing Sunshine on Leith before bagging the trophy.

You heard it here first.

He needs tae dig deep. The cup fino will give him inspiration.

05-06-2016, 02:42 PM
He needs tae dig deep. The cup fino will give him inspiration.

He'll be digging deep. Got a spade in his bag.

05-06-2016, 02:46 PM
Anyone know that man? :greengrin

Guy in Hibs top in the crowd :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Hibees here

Septimus
05-06-2016, 02:47 PM
Hibs strip in the crowd?

05-06-2016, 02:47 PM

Is he drunk and shouting just as Djokovic is about to serve? :greengrin

05-06-2016, 02:48 PM
Djokovic is winning this no problem sadly

05-06-2016, 02:49 PM
Hibs strip in the crowd?

https://youtu.be/BTy8vSYaoyI

05-06-2016, 02:52 PM

Whit's happening?

05-06-2016, 02:54 PM

Yea skooshing it.

05-06-2016, 02:54 PM
Simple lay and volley and right at the net Murray fluffs it big time!

That could possibly be the turning point of the 3rd set this early!

05-06-2016, 03:03 PM
Destroying Murray now.

05-06-2016, 03:04 PM
Looking grim.

05-06-2016, 03:04 PM
Andy getting a doing at the moment, looks as if he has been pulled through a hedge backwards:greengrin

05-06-2016, 03:05 PM
That last shot was sublime!!

Don't know where Murray goes from here.

Looks to be blowing oot his arse!!

Dig deep Andy still in this set!! (Just)

05-06-2016, 03:11 PM
Peak Djokovic vs. peak Federer would be some match up.

05-06-2016, 03:15 PM
Anyone know that man? :greengrin

Hibees here

Hibs strip in the crowd?

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13325538_10154224733873126_7012211079873873917_n.j pg?oh=1a6cf2cd4bd05ec51ca943dc161bc6e9&oe=57C19DE3

Tobias Funke
05-06-2016, 03:25 PM
1-2 down after being 1-0 up.

Andy is going to have to Hibs this to win it. ;-)

05-06-2016, 03:27 PM
Huge effort needed.

05-06-2016, 03:34 PM
Game is over.

05-06-2016, 03:36 PM
Djokovic is playing some game!!

05-06-2016, 03:43 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13325538_10154224733873126_7012211079873873917_n.j pg?oh=1a6cf2cd4bd05ec51ca943dc161bc6e9&oe=57C19DE3

Haha, excellent. That's my mate. He's actually a Morton fan but lives in Edinburgh. We've managed to convert him to the cause the last few years and now a fellow season ticket holder :-)

05-06-2016, 03:59 PM
How one sided is this ?!

Murrray CANNOT find a first serve for love nor money !

05-06-2016, 04:07 PM

Paul Heffernan's let himself go :greengrin

05-06-2016, 04:11 PM

Hope they have plenty stewards!! :greengrin

05-06-2016, 04:20 PM
Game is over.

I hear Djokovic's team have informed the police to head back to his headquarters now for the parade...

05-06-2016, 04:24 PM
Bore off Djokovic. The guy, or should I say extra terrestrial, is sucking the life out of tennis.

dmc1875
05-06-2016, 04:26 PM
Bore off Djokovic. The guy, or should I say extra terrestrial, is sucking the life out of tennis.

He's unbelievable player. Totally ruthless and so much power. Not quite the finesse of Federer when he dominated tennis though, but he's a level above everyone else.

05-06-2016, 04:28 PM

I wish we would "bore off" and suck the life out of Scottish football.

05-06-2016, 04:31 PM
Djokovic is just incredible.

Murray has been a bit unlucky in his career. In his early days he came up against arguably the finest player ever to play the game and the brilliant Nadal. Now both of them have dropped a level he's competing against a guy who looks like he could surpass even Federer.

05-06-2016, 04:32 PM
God, I miss football.

05-06-2016, 04:50 PM
Bore off Djokovic. The guy, or should I say extra terrestrial, is sucking the life out of tennis.:faf:

He is the best, he deserves everything he has achieved.

05-06-2016, 04:51 PM
Game is over.
A tad premature!

05-06-2016, 04:54 PM

If Murray had won he'd have run on the court and sat on the net.

Finn2015
05-06-2016, 04:57 PM
Search for a third grand slam goes on and with Djokovic playing the way he is, not sure it may come. I think Djokovic will surpass federers grand slam record

05-06-2016, 05:02 PM
A tad premature!

Really?

05-06-2016, 05:06 PM

He is the best, he deserves everything he has achieved.

Murray might have won 10 slams by now, but is playing with the greatest players of all time.

Djokovic is like Messi - consistent excellence.

05-06-2016, 05:07 PM
Well beaten, out classed this time.

Basildon Hibs
05-06-2016, 06:06 PM
Well beaten, out classed this time.

About 4 years ago Djockovic was barely able to get past 3 sets before blowing out his arse. Goes away and after Xmas has the stamina of a robot almost instantly.
Something not quite right there IMO. Murray has said that tennis players aren't tested enough.....😉

05-06-2016, 06:09 PM

Dearie me! :-)

Finn2015
05-06-2016, 06:12 PM
About 4 years ago Djockovic was barely able to get past 3 sets before blowing out his arse. Goes away and after Xmas has the stamina of a robot almost instantly.
Something not quite right there IMO. Murray has said that tennis players aren't tested enough.....😉

What I don't like is the gamesmanship when he is behind in a game. Feigning injury

05-06-2016, 06:50 PM
Bang on. Wait til we hear what Murray could have won when it all comes out. Same with Nadal. It will in time.

05-06-2016, 09:53 PM
Best player won, it was looking good for Murray after the first set but after that, there was really only one player in the match.

05-06-2016, 10:48 PM
Something not quite right there IMO. Murray has said that tennis players aren't tested enough.....

I think Djokovic is clean. He was on the court for around 5 hours less than Murray so stamina doesn't really come into this win. He's simply world class.

Septimus
06-06-2016, 03:53 AM
If Murray had won he'd have run on the court and sat on the net.

Since Andy lost why did this guy not run onto the pitch looking for a fight with the opposing support? That reaction would have been fully understood by the Daily Ranger or the Sun.

06-06-2016, 06:01 AM
Djokovic is just incredible.

Murray has been a bit unlucky in his career. In his early days he came up against arguably the finest player ever to play the game and the brilliant Nadal. Now both of them have dropped a level he's competing against a guy who looks like he could surpass even Federer.

:agree: I think he must be the only player ever to appear in multiple GS finals and always have to play the guy ranked at number 1 in the world (Federer or Djokovic). If you look at other players such as Federer, etc there have been finals where they have played guys ranked way below them - e.g. Djokovic beat Tsonga to win his first GS title.

06-06-2016, 06:05 AM
Bang on. Wait til we hear what Murray could have won when it all comes out. Same with Nadal. It will in time.

Marco G
06-06-2016, 06:53 AM
I think Djokovic is clean. He was on the court for around 5 hours less than Murray so stamina doesn't really come into this win. He's simply world class.I think so. Murray beat him in Rome when Djokovic had a tough match the night before and looked a bit tired. His step up in fitness level came when he was identified as gluten intolerant and he changed his whole diet. Unfortunately for his opponents he has great stamina, skill and determination. However Andy in a given tournament can beat him as he has shown, so bring on Wimbledon!

06-06-2016, 08:49 AM
I think so. Murray beat him in Rome when Djokovic had a tough match the night before and looked a bit tired. His step up in fitness level came when he was identified as gluten intolerant and he changed his whole diet. Unfortunately for his opponents he has great stamina, skill and determination. However Andy in a given tournament can beat him as he has shown, so bring on Wimbledon!

I think the level of stamina he shows is too much IMO, he never ever looks tired and also think tennis is one of the least tested sports about. AM was saying he hadnt been tested for months not long ago.

Marco G
06-06-2016, 11:21 AM
I think the level of stamina he shows is too much IMO, he never ever looks tired and also think tennis is one of the least tested sports about. AM was saying he hadnt been tested for months not long ago.I think the problem with your idea is that Djokovic has almost never missed a tournament and even if testing is not frequent there are plenty players who have been suspended for doping. Difficult to imagine he could dodge all the tests (there was a suspension for someone missing a test) so I prefer to believe that he is clean, but you can have your own opinion of course.

06-06-2016, 11:29 AM
Djokovic is just fantastic, as is Andy. It annoys me no end when the ex tennis "pro's" on BBC radio are picking his game apart when he's being defeated by Djokovic.

He just has the beating of Andy and pretty much everyone else, Andy Murray is one of the best tennis players to have ever lived, the fact he's ONLY won 2 grand slams says more about the era he's been part of than Andy himself.

Djokovic, Federer, Nadal and Murray are/were all utterly fantastic tennis players, to have them all playing at the same time is amazing since this is a sport that usually has short cycles of dominant champions but never really sustained for multiple years.

06-06-2016, 12:33 PM
Djokovic is just fantastic, as is Andy. It annoys me no end when the ex tennis "pro's" on BBC radio are picking his game apart when he's being defeated by Djokovic.

He just has the beating of Andy and pretty much everyone else, Andy Murray is one of the best tennis players to have ever lived, the fact he's ONLY won 2 grand slams says more about the era he's been part of than Andy himself.

Djokovic, Federer, Nadal and Murray are/were all utterly fantastic tennis players, to have them all playing at the same time is amazing since this is a sport that usually has short cycles of dominant champions but never really sustained for multiple years.

This 100%

And I think Murray understands this also. If ND wasn't around AM would have half a dozen Grand Slams by now. As it is he "only" has two.

AM is a hero, just a pity he wasn't born a few years later.

06-06-2016, 12:44 PM
Something not quite right there IMO. Murray has said that tennis players aren't tested enough.....

Nadal was a known client of a certain Dr Fuentes who has a somewhat chequered past in the doping of cyclists (see Operation Puerto or his involvement regards blood doping). Del Potro was another who was a client.

Djokovic missed two out-of-competition tests in 2013, although tennis have a '3 strikes and then your out' policy.

06-06-2016, 12:53 PM

Interesting...

It does seem that elite sports, especially individual ones, have been corrupted utterly by cheats.

06-06-2016, 01:02 PM
I think the problem with your idea is that Djokovic has almost never missed a tournament and even if testing is not frequent there are plenty players who have been suspended for doping. Difficult to imagine he could dodge all the tests (there was a suspension for someone missing a test) so I prefer to believe that he is clean, but you can have your own opinion of course.
I'd like to think Djokovic is clean as well as its been a privilege watching him, Rafa, Federer, and Andy during this era.

I'm pretty suspicious though seeing as he had relatively poor stamina even in his early 20's prior to suddenly becoming the bionic man. I also think that much as he seems a nice guy in the main, his gamesmanship is at time utterly ridiculous- he's a guy who'll do whatever it takes to win. His antics during the disputed serve line call in the first set I thought were fairly despicable and designed to make the crowd even more pro him and hostile towards Murray.

Innocent till proven guilty though and hats off to him for another amazing display yesterday. I thought he was only slight favourite to win but it was more convincing than anyone expected.

06-06-2016, 01:48 PM
I'd like to think Djokovic is clean as well as its been a privilege watching him, Rafa, Federer, and Andy during this era.

I'm pretty suspicious though seeing as he had relatively poor stamina even in his early 20's prior to suddenly becoming the bionic man. I also think that much as he seems a nice guy in the main, his gamesmanship is at time utterly ridiculous- he's a guy who'll do whatever it takes to win. His antics during the disputed serve line call in the first set I thought were fairly despicable and designed to make the crowd even more pro him and hostile towards Murray.

Innocent till proven guilty though and hats off to him for another amazing display yesterday. I thought he was only slight favourite to win but it was more convincing than anyone expected.

Yes, ISTR he had quite a rep for tanking matches and feigning injury with pretend limping around the baseline when things weren't going his way. Got up to all sorts, to try and disrupt his opponents game, arguing with umpires, calling on the trainer, going for bathroom breaks when he had lost a set, etc.

06-06-2016, 01:51 PM
Nadal was a known client of a certain Dr Fuentes who has a somewhat chequered past in the doping of cyclists (see Operation Puerto or his involvement regards blood doping). Del Potro was another who was a client.

Djokovic missed two out-of-competition tests in 2013, although tennis have a '3 strikes and then your out' policy.

Is that the one where the Spanish judge inexplicably ordered the destruction of all the records and samples collected by the police investigating the claims that the good doctor was involved in systematic doping for many years involving athletes from several sports?

Marco G
06-06-2016, 02:29 PM

Djokovic missed two out-of-competition tests in 2013, although tennis have a '3 strikes and then your out' policy.I don't remember reading that about Djokovic, could you maybe post a link to it?

06-06-2016, 03:09 PM
Is it really that much work to test all players in the latter stages of most ranking competitions and all grand slams?

It better not be about the costs involved considering what's given out in prize money.

Marco G
06-06-2016, 03:58 PM
Is it really that much work to test all players in the latter stages of most ranking competitions and all grand slams?

It better not be about the costs involved considering what's given out in prize money.As far as I can see, there are tests done during competitions, and out of competition by the ITF, and players are also tested by their own country's association. The question is whether more could be done, and some players such as Andy Murray feel there could be.

06-06-2016, 06:32 PM

That reminds me of the infamous spat with Roddick when Roddick basically accused Djokovic of faking the various ailments which back then saw him pull out of a lot of matches:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RPgWoOon8-w

His overnight transformation into a guy who now claims he doesn't even catch colds did surprise a lot of people.

06-06-2016, 06:54 PM
Is that the one where the Spanish judge inexplicably ordered the destruction of all the records and samples collected by the police investigating the claims that the good doctor was involved in systematic doping for many years involving athletes from several sports?

That's the one, although the blood bags are still sitting in a lab in Spain. The results of Fuentes' client list would have brought Spanish sport to it's knees, so the judge insisted that it was only cyclists that would get prosecuted. Fuentes was once heard to say "If I would talk, the Spanish football team would be stripped of the 2010 World Cup" - but that's another story.

I don't remember reading that about Djokovic, could you maybe post a link to it?

I've spent 30 minutes trying to find it and I'm sure it was in a cycling forum that I participate in, but I can't locate it, but trust me, it's true. IIRC it was linked back to this site: http://tennishasasteroidproblem.blogspot.co.uk

I'm sure if you email the blog owner he'll have a copy of the ITF/WADA document. I remember reading it at the time and thinking that it was odd that more wasn't made of it. Tennis know they have a huge problem with both drugs and match fixing (it's arguable which is the biggest) and have swept (or tried to) it under the carpet since the beginning of time.

Marco G
06-06-2016, 07:03 PM
That's the one, although the blood bags are still sitting in a lab in Spain. The results of Fuentes' client list would have brought Spanish sport to it's knees, so the judge insisted that it was only cyclists that would get prosecuted. Fuentes was once heard to say "If I would talk, the Spanish football team would be stripped of the 2010 World Cup" - but that's another story.

I've spent 30 minutes trying to find it and I'm sure it was in a cycling forum that I participate in, but I can't locate it, but trust me, it's true. IIRC it was linked back to this site: http://tennishasasteroidproblem.blogspot.co.uk

I'm sure if you email the blog owner he'll have a copy of the ITF/WADA document. I remember reading it at the time and thinking that it was odd that more wasn't made of it. Tennis know they have a huge problem with both drugs and match fixing (it's arguable which is the biggest) and have swept (or tried to) it under the carpet since the beginning of time.
Thanks.

06-06-2016, 08:45 PM
Video on his facebook that he just shared now where he plays bools with Robert Pires. Hibs get a wee mention as the team he grew up supporting. :aok:

06-06-2016, 08:54 PM
Video on his facebook that he just shared now where he plays bools with Robert Pires. Hibs get a wee mention as the team he grew up supporting. :aok:

I didn't know that - would explain why he played in Ian Murray's testimonial.

Boom, boom, I believe.:greengrin

ihibs7
06-06-2016, 09:00 PM

I think the phrase used about nadal, rather prophetically was that he was writing cheques his body couldn't cash.

06-06-2016, 09:01 PM
I didn't know that - would explain why he played in Ian Murray's testimonial.

Boom, boom, I believe.:greengrin

Haha, should have perhaps worded that better to avoid smart alecs like yourself! :greengrin

06-06-2016, 09:11 PM

Djokovic has claimed his Tennis improved after going Gluten free :hmmm:

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/tennis/revealed-the-diet-that-saved-novak-djokovic-8775333.html

Murray tried the Gluten Free diet recently himself, but it just made him tired.

http://www.tennisworldusa.org/Andy-Murray-I-tried-free-gluten-diet-but-I-had-No-Energy-articolo33391.html

06-06-2016, 09:14 PM
I think the phrase used about nadal, rather prophetically was that he was writing cheques his body couldn't cash.

This isn't natural - and I refuse to post my views on the Williams sisters.

This image hasn't been photo-shopped in any way. Make your own mind up.

Edit - us sceptics think that Nadal had/was forced to withdraw from the French Open and will be facing a 'silent ban' due to blood irregularities. The authorities will go along with the wrist injury ruse as that deflects the story away from the press.

As an avid cycling fan, impossible as this may seem, tennis is way worse for doping. Cycling at least have tried to get their house in order.

06-06-2016, 09:29 PM

http://www.scotsman.com/news/andy-murray-s-childhood-picture-with-hibs-hero-1-2979962

The two Murray brothers were in Hibs Kids.

06-06-2016, 09:57 PM

Edit - us sceptics think that Nadal had/was forced to withdraw from the French Open and will be facing a 'silent ban' due to blood irregularities. The authorities will go along with the wrist injury ruse as that deflects the story away from the press.

As an avid cycling fan, impossible as this may seem, tennis is way worse for doping. Cycling at least have tried to get their house in order.

If Rafael Nadal had failed a drugs test, it would have made the papers by now, no matter how hard anyone tried to avoid that happening.

06-06-2016, 10:14 PM
If Rafael Nadal had failed a drugs test, it would have made the papers by now, no matter how hard anyone tried to avoid that happening.

Don't be so niave. A scandal such as this would/will rip all credibility from one of the most lucrative sports on the planet, if it needs covered up it'll get covered up.

06-06-2016, 10:22 PM
Don't be so niave. A scandal such as this would/will rip all credibility from one of the most lucrative sports on the planet, if it needs covered up it'll get covered up.

Why didn't Sharapova's story get covered up as well?

06-06-2016, 10:25 PM
Can't imagine how Andy Murray would feel if it is true about the extent of doping in Tennis. Nadal I can believe, Djokovic not sure. Nobody tell me Roger Federar is doping as I would not believe that!

Finn2015
06-06-2016, 10:26 PM
Can see Wimbledon now. Murray will float through to the final against Djokovic then get outdone by him again

06-06-2016, 11:16 PM
Why didn't Sharapova's story get covered up as well?

Tbh Women's tennis brings in a fraction of the revenue the mens game does, it's all about money and chucking a competitive female tennis player under the bus in a futile attempt to put on the "Look, we're doing something about it!!" front is small fry in comparison to the **** storm that doing the same to Novak and Rafa would generate.

07-06-2016, 06:29 AM

Andy did say he practised with Nadal before the French Open and noticed that he was hitting the ball as though he were in a lot of pain. Nadal had a long spell out with a knee injury a few years ago and the gossip at the time was that it was actually a secret ban for doping offences.

Like many people I do have my doubts about the efficacy and honesty of tennis's drug testing policy. A few lower ranked players like Victor Troicki have been caught out in the past, but never a top ranked player.

There's also the issue of alleged match fixing which has never been cleared up, so tennis isn't a "clean" sport by any means.

07-06-2016, 06:31 AM
Tbh Women's tennis brings in a fraction of the revenue the mens game does, it's all about money and chucking a competitive female tennis player under the bus in a futile attempt to put on the "Look, we're doing something about it!!" front is small fry in comparison to the **** storm that doing the same to Novak and Rafa would generate.

Plus Sharapova is Russian and there is a massive scandal at the moment re doping in Russian sport, which the western media is ramping up in advance of the Rio Olympics.

07-06-2016, 06:33 AM
Can see Wimbledon now. Murray will float through to the final against Djokovic then get outdone by him again

Nah, he'll give us a couple of edge of the seat five setters in the early rounds... :greengrin

07-06-2016, 06:44 AM
Interesting quotes page from the tennis blog site Sergey referenced previously. http://tennishasasteroidproblem.blogspot.co.uk/p/players-talk-about-doping.html
Some pretty big influential figures in the game with interesting views.

Doping in General

Guy Forget: "I don't feel our sport is clean. I am sure now as we speak there are some guys that are cheating. You cannot say tennis is not touched by this poisonous thing."

Mike Bryan: "You get blood tested at the slams, usually after you lose, but I've never been blood tested out of competition."

Todd Martin: "There are people out there who don't have the ethics that are necessary for there to be a level playing field, and as long as there are, we're going to have those who are trying to get a leg up."

Jim Courier: "Let's face it, if you're 100 in the world and you think that something illegal will get you to 10 in the world, that's a tremendous difference in the quality of the rest of your life from a financial standpoint."

Nick Bolletieri: "If I said tennis is totally clean, I would be kidding myself [..] I would say there are certainly some short cuts being taken. Not that many, but it would be crazy to think differently."

James Blake: "In tennis, I think, I'm sure there are guys who are doing it, getting away with it and getting ahead of the testers."

John McEnroe: "You can tell when someone has been on steroids… A guy bulks up, has a new body and never gets tired...You see these guys or girls who come onto the tour talking about their new training programs and their diets where they eat this or that new thing…but they’ll never tell you about the drugs they took."

Jim Courier: "I'm much more inclined to have a concern for something that we cannot test for under the current system of testing, which is blood doping..."

Mardy Fish: "This is my 11th year. I've seen a few guys come and go who have cheated..."

Daniel Nestor: "We suspect that there’s always stuff going on. I mean, we watch some of these matches, the guys play five hours and come back the next day and do it again.”

Mahesh Bhupathi: "The tennis players themselves have brought it (anti-doping rules) upon themselves. A lot of players have been cheating."

Jim Courier: "EPO is the problem, I have pretty strong suspicions that guys are using it on the tour. I see guys who are out there week in and week out without taking rests. EPO can help you when it's the fifth set and you've been playing for four-and-a-half hours."

Christophe Rochus: "There's a lot of cheating. Simply, people don't like to talk about it...I simply would like to stop the pretending. This hypocrisy is exasperating."

Fabrice Santoro: "I can't believe there is a real will to fight against doping...I don't know whether the testing is done to catch the guys or just for show. Sometimes, I ask myself the question, when I see what goes on."

Nicolas Escudé: "They tell me there are files that can't be opened. What can they be, if not files on doping? If these files exploded, tennis would be in bad shape for six months. But it would be a bad thing for a good cause."

Andrew Ilie: "The problem is so bad that you might as well just let them use it and when players see people dying on court and exploding, then it's going to change their minds."

Nathalie Tauziat: "I won't name individuals, but it's clear that doping exists in tennis and needs to be stopped...I have no hard evidence, but all I will say is that you don't have to have a degree in medicine to see that some of the players have transformed themselves almost overnight..."

Andre Agassi

Andre Agassi (1999): "I have absolutely no knowledge of anyone blood-doping whatsoever."

Andre Agassi (2004): "I don't know how you could do it for a short time much less how you would work it long term. I don't know how you'd pull it off...we test so extensively that we have absolutely removed the possibility of somebody taking drugs to obtain a strategic advantage."

Andre Agassi (2008): "When it comes to drug testing, I’ll hold tennis up to any sport in the world...I find myself focusing the most on what our sport is doing to make sure that if you’re cheating, you’ll get caught. And that’s where I take refuge. I believe our sport is on the leading edge, pioneering ways to hold players accountable...Even when I was playing, I was drug tested one year something like 20 times, and I didn’t play as much as many others. If you cheat, it’s not a matter of if you get caught, but when you get caught."

Andre Agassi (in 2009, admitting that he failed a drug test in 1997 and successfully lied to the ATP to get them to drop the case): "Then I come to the central lie of the letter...I say that recently I drank accidentally from one of Slim's spiked sodas, unwittingly ingesting his drugs. I ask for understanding and leniency and hastily sign it: Sincerely."

Michael Stich: "The fact that [Agassi] was using it [crystal meth], escaped drugs tests and said he used it accidentally raises a lot of questions towards the ATP...Why was Andre Agassi not suspended if he tested positive and why was it never brought to the attention of the media and the players? Nobody ever heard about it."

Whereabouts/Out-of-Competition Testing

Andy Murray: "These new rules are so draconian that it makes it almost impossible to live a normal life."

Rafael Nadal: "It's not fair to have persecution like that...They make you feel like a criminal."

Rafael Nadal: "I am the first who wants a clean sport, more than anyone, believe me, but the way it [controls] are being done is, in my opinion, not right [...] I'm always going to be with the players and I will always defend them...I have confidence in my colleagues. I believe they are clean and if the [testing] results don't tell me something else, I will defend my friends."

Bob Bryan: ''It's a little strict. They've been showing up a lot at our house, especially last year before the Olympics, but we want fairness in our sport. We don't want it looked upon like baseball. We want integrity in our sport.''

Mike Bryan: "It's a little strict, but it's the same for everyone. It's gonna really clean up our sport. There will be no questions in anyone's head if anyone's cheating."

Roger Federer: "I feel like this is how you’re going to catch them, right? You’re not going to catch them ringing them up and saying, 'Look, I would like to test you maybe in two days.' The guy’s cheating and they’re smart, right? It’s an hour a day. I know it’s a pain, but I would like it to be a clean sport, and that’s why I’m OK with it."

Gilles Simon: "I think this system is demanding but necessary to ensure that everybody can be tested anytime."

Mahesh Bhupathi: "It is no fun. But to fight cheats I will do it. I am already giving my daily whereabouts to the association."

Janko Tipsarevic: "The fact that we have to report every day of our lives to someone is just a disgrace and a joke."