View Full Version : Paul Dickov's 'advisor' in talks with Leeann...

HibeePaj
03-06-2016, 12:19 AM
...according to tomorrows Daily Record...

'Dickov's advisor had held initial exploratory talks with Cheif exec Leeann Dempster in last 48 hours... Dickov would be interested in taking talks further'

Could be nothing... Especially since its the Record..

Still if true, Hibs could do worse than bring him in IMO

Still Lennon for me...

03-06-2016, 12:24 AM
Managerial Cv doesn't make great reading based on what I've read on wiki.

I've no idea if there were mitigating circumstances though.

livi hibs 1875
03-06-2016, 12:26 AM
Hope that is a joke

03-06-2016, 12:30 AM
Hope that is a joke

Well I'm not laughing.

Not filled with excitement on that one.

03-06-2016, 12:33 AM
No thanks.

03-06-2016, 12:37 AM
Leeann is smarter than this. Tried and failed down south, no thanks.

03-06-2016, 04:25 AM
dont see why we would want him to be honest

03-06-2016, 04:51 AM
As mentioned his previous managerial record at Oldham & Doncaster is not good!

Finn2015
03-06-2016, 05:04 AM
Hope there is nothing in this, not excited at all about this

03-06-2016, 05:47 AM
Would prefer his brother purely based on his exemplary record for the rose tbh.

03-06-2016, 06:11 AM
Underwhelmed :rolleyes:

03-06-2016, 06:18 AM
FFS. We need to give whoever gets the job our support not kick off right away with the negativity.

03-06-2016, 06:27 AM
From what I have seen of him dont mind him, comes over well IMO however would imagine others may be preferred. Maybe Rob Jones would come back as assistant.

03-06-2016, 06:31 AM
FFS. We need to give whoever gets the job our support not kick off right away with the negativity.

People have no idea how compatible any of these candidates are with our philosophy.

I'll trust our board to appoint the right people as they done not bad with the last lot.

Finn2015
03-06-2016, 06:31 AM

Aye fair enough. Whoever gets it, despite any reservations, have to back 100%

03-06-2016, 06:32 AM

he doesnt have the job

Others mentioned, for me, seem favorable

I support my preferences for the job at this stage the most

When we announce who it is - they ofcourse get backed 100% - until they out Oxley in goal. :greengrin:wink:

03-06-2016, 06:48 AM
Stil waiting for him to come good after impressing for Scotland in the youth world cup...

03-06-2016, 06:50 AM
he doesnt have the job

Others mentioned, for me, seem favorable

I support my preferences for the job at this stage the most

When we announce who it is - they ofcourse get backed 100% - until they out Oxley in goal. :greengrin:wink:

Exactly :agree:

03-06-2016, 06:57 AM
Is his advisor a decent manager?

03-06-2016, 07:27 AM

Agree with this, got to trust the board and give the new manager whoever they are as the vast majority of Hibernian supporters will our trust and support.

Glory Glory

hibsdaft
03-06-2016, 07:32 AM
Sounds to me like his agent may simply have called Leeann and then let the daily record know. Just to get his client some exposure, get his name in the mix for other jobs opening up.

'Exploratory discussions' can mean anything.

03-06-2016, 07:38 AM
Sounds to me like his agent may simply have called Leeann and then let the daily record know. Just to get his client some exposure, get his name in the mix for other jobs opening up.

'Exploratory discussions' can mean anything.

Exactly. It's like you or me approaching a potential employer on spec to see if they would take us on.

I'm sure Leeann has already had contact from loads of agents on behalf of coaches who would love to have the Hibs job - doesn't mean that Hibs would take it any further. Also, why bother having an agent in the first place if they're not contacting clubs on your behalf about vacancies that come up, especially if you currently don't have a job?

03-06-2016, 07:41 AM
DICKOV ! Sorry, not for me, even the name is a gift for opposition chants and headline writers. :greengrin

03-06-2016, 08:18 AM
Doubt it will help any chance he may have had that its ended up in the press. Not how we like to do business.

Nutmegged
03-06-2016, 08:21 AM

Until then are we allowed to form our own opinions on candidates?

03-06-2016, 08:26 AM

What tosh! Last I checked, we were entitled to opinions on here.

03-06-2016, 09:34 AM

Naw yer no

Greenwich_Hibby
03-06-2016, 09:51 AM
A really negative 'park the bus' manager - no thanks.

03-06-2016, 10:12 AM
He was highly regarded at one point, he resigned as Oldham manager with them near the bottom of League One, but got a Championship job just weeks later.

I know that Oldham had severe financial problems when he was manager. In fact I remember when Oldham beat Liverpool in the FA Cup in 2013, the game was live on ITV and there was a feature on how financially stricken they were - the players were washing their own kit, IIRC. Also, the FA were using a special ball for the Cup that year and Oldham couldn't afford to buy any to train with - it said during the broadcast that Oldham had asked every team that they knocked out on their way to the fifth round for their supply of balls.

I know what you're thinking. Great story.

03-06-2016, 10:49 AM
Big NO from me, not a continuum of the so call Hibs policy of like for like.

03-06-2016, 11:12 AM
Big NO from me, not a continuum of the so call Hibs policy of like for like.

Confused

Velma Dinkley
03-06-2016, 11:47 AM
His managerial 'win' percentage is higher than Neil Lennon's was in England

LustForLeith
03-06-2016, 11:49 AM
Great player in the under 16 Scotland squad in that World Cup.

The game at Tynie (was it against Argentina?!) was one of the best atmospheres I've been to.

03-06-2016, 11:50 AM

The game at Tynie (was it against Argentina?!) was one of the best atmospheres I've been to.

Portugal ?

03-06-2016, 11:50 AM

Portugal - great night.

03-06-2016, 12:19 PM
Until then are we allowed to form our own opinions on candidates?

Yes. It'd be good if there's reasons for the opinion as well.

It's just scatter gun stuff the now that folk will never deviate from. Like the Oxley stuff, opinion made then going looking for something, anything to back it up so they/you can say "I said it all along..."

03-06-2016, 12:20 PM

I think I'm allowed one as well?

03-06-2016, 12:33 PM
I think I'm allowed one as well?

Of course - but you jumped on a few for expressing a view about someone who is not even at Hibs.

LustForLeith
03-06-2016, 12:35 PM
Portugal - great night.

That was it. Could be the biggest attendance I remember at Tynie, not sure if it was because I was a kid but sure more people were in there that should have been.

03-06-2016, 12:40 PM
Portugal - great night.

What a team they had, figo, rui costa etc, how on earth did scotland beat then :greengrin

LustForLeith
03-06-2016, 12:41 PM
What a team they had, figo, rui costa etc, how on earth did scotland beat then :greengrin

Was it a Wednesday night? Most of my school seemed to be there, think it was my first time at Tynie.

03-06-2016, 12:42 PM
Was it a Wednesday night? Most of my school seemed to be there, think it was my first time at Tynie.

Think it was during the week certainly a night game, think over 30k at the game

LustForLeith
03-06-2016, 12:49 PM
Think it was during the week certainly a night game, think over 30k at the game

That's what i thought. Wasn't the 'official' attendance due to health and safety far less than that?

03-06-2016, 12:53 PM
That's what i thought. Wasn't the 'official' attendance due to health and safety far less than that?

According to Wikipedia, there were 29,000 there.

Just had a look through the tournament

03-06-2016, 12:53 PM

Just had a look through the tournament, Saudi Arabia won two matches within 90 minutes throughout the whole tournament.

LustForLeith
03-06-2016, 01:06 PM

Just had a look through the tournament, Saudi Arabia won two matches within 90 minutes throughout the whole tournament.

Remember hearing a story that the Saudi team (who looked a wee bit older than what they were supposed to!) went partying that night and told bouncers in clubs who refused them entry they were well over 21!

I'm sure at the time the statement said there was only 14,000 fans at Tynie but unofficially there were more. Cheers!

03-06-2016, 01:11 PM
29k was Tynie capacity at the time. IIRC late KO and people locked out!

03-06-2016, 01:56 PM
One of my mates is friends with him and his 2 brothers, ill ask if he has heard anything

03-06-2016, 02:10 PM
Of course - but you jumped on a few for expressing a view about someone who is not even at Hibs.

My opinion is that those I "jumped on" are too quick to judge and are judging him on very little info.

Flynn
03-06-2016, 02:59 PM
Remember hearing a story that the Saudi team (who looked a wee bit older than what they were supposed to!) went partying that night and told bouncers in clubs who refused them entry they were well over 21!

I'm sure at the time the statement said there was only 14,000 fans at Tynie but unofficially there were more. Cheers!

The Saudi Arabia team photo:

There's more chance of an Englishman winning Wimbledon than any of the above players being younger than 16 years old at the time. Cheating buggers. We were robbed.

03-06-2016, 03:13 PM

There's more chance of an Englishman winning Wimbledon than any of the above players being younger than 16 years old at the time. Cheating buggers. We were robbed.

I cant even get a tash like that now and im 35!!

TheMentalHibees
03-06-2016, 04:56 PM
Would be as excited about this as a kick in the nads.

LustForLeith
03-06-2016, 04:59 PM

Surely that's not the team?!?!?!

03-06-2016, 06:16 PM
Surely that's not the team?!?!?!

Not that many Arabic looking teams been around Gorgie parts AFAIK

03-06-2016, 06:23 PM
Anyone that sends an 'advisor' in search of a job for them sounds like an unemployable welt.

03-06-2016, 07:24 PM

Is that Tynie in the background

Rodsterino
03-06-2016, 08:45 PM
I was at the Portugal game, definitely at least a full house.

That is the Saudi team photo from the time, I remember it well. Men against boys in that final, literally.