View Full Version : Interesting and unoffensive article from Daily Mail + Warnock interested in Hibs

02-06-2016, 05:33 PM
The folklore of the Famous Five isn't passed down through generations of Rotherham United fans. Nor was their club the first from these islands to play in European competition.
Dragging things forward to the present day, 150,000 fans haven't just lined the streets near New York Stadium to greet a cup victory that ended one of the most talked about waits in all of British football.
The romantic appeal of Hibernian Football Club is clear. But modern football is a game of harsh realities. And that is exactly why, for all that Rotherham can' t be bracketed among the most glamorous destinations in the English game, Alan Stubbs has agreed to become their new boss.

His budget will be several times that available to him in Edinburgh. Inevitably, the personal terms will be significantly improved, too.
Yet perhaps the most pressing motivation is the pathway it might offer. A chance to catch the eye of more impressive clubs from closer quarters. Achievements in Scottish football, no matter how bold, can be all too easily overlooked in many English boardrooms.
Neil Lennon won Scottish Premiership titles and beat Barcelona in the Champions League. But he ended up in charge of a basket case at Bolton Wanderers.

There was no queue of English employers ready to lure John Hughes away from the Highlands, despite steering Inverness to their firstmajor trophy playing a brand of football that was clearly well-coached. Tommy Wright, perhaps the most consistently impressive manager in the Premiership over the past few years, has yet to receive the call for an opportunity that most sane judges think he deserves.
Clearly, Alex Neil is the recent exception rather than the rule. And so there is sense, however unpalatable it might seem to some, that Stubbs viewed Rotherham United – whose list of honours peak with winning England's third tier – as an opportunity that couldn't be turned down.
Neil Warnock created the vacancy by refusing a contract extension after a superb rescue act preserved Rotherham's Championship status at the end of last season.
And, while admitting Stubbs will face a fearsome task, he knows it could give the one-time Celtic defender a stage to shine in pursuit of his ultimate career aims.
'No disrespect at all to Scotland, but if Alan can hold his own at Rotherham, it opens up a whole new ball game in terms of clubs who might be interested,' the 67-year-old told Sportsmail.
'Also, when you have won the Scottish Cup for the first time since 1902, it isn' t a bad time to leave, is it? Other than getting promotion, there isn't anything else to do after that.
'It's just about the finances, really. I don't know what situation Hibs are in but there is obviously more money in England overall.
'The chairman at Rotherham (Tony Stewart) made me a super offer financially at the end of last season.

'But even though they offered me the contract, I suggested they needed someone a little bit younger, someone who could put in a kind of plan to grow the club over two or three years. They needed someone with the bit between their teeth to really go for it.
'I know of two or three managers they were speaking to and I think Alan is the best one of the lot. I think they have made the right decision in going for him.
'But he will find it a difficult job at Rotherham. Even for a young manager with that energy.
'It's tough when you look at the teams coming down from the Premier League and the teams already established in the Championship. There are some really big clubs in that division.'
At East Mains, Stubbs has had a pristine training environment in which to prepare his players. That, insisted Warnock, may be the thing he misses most at Rotherham.
'It's a lovely new little stadium and it is a really friendly, family club,' added Warnock. 'But the training facilities leave a lot to be desired, which will maybe surprise Alan.
'As a club, they are punching above their weight at the minute. We managed to save them last season and if they could keep at Championship level for a few years, and spend a bit of money on a training ground, then they could develop into a regular Championship side.

'I didn't really look forward to the thought of 10 months of training there. And to be battling in the bottom half of the table.
'But we have cleared the decks and Alan will be able to bring in three or four good players.'
The next question is obviously who Hibs will source to replace Stubbs. Warnock is a promotion specialist and admits he has always been tickled by the idea of working in a country whose scenery he adores.
Whether the very limited money on offer would carry the same appeal could, however, be another matter.
'You know how people do house swaps, we were going to do a job swap,' joked Warnock, breaking into a laugh.
'My wife and I love Scotland, love Edinburgh. It's a lovely part of the country, isn't it?
'I've always fancied a job up there. I think I applied for Inverness once. And Aberdeen. But I never got an interview! I thought at least I deserved an interview!'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3618815/Rotherham-job-opens-new-ball-game-Alan-Stubbs-says-Neil-Warnock.html#ixzz4ARbnDCnV
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3618815/Rotherham-job-opens-new-ball-game-Alan-Stubbs-says-Neil-Warnock.html

I clicked the link expecting a story that'd make us look bad but it was a decent read.

Should Lennon not happen then Warnock would be an interesting one who I fully expect would take us up.

02-06-2016, 05:34 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3618815/Rotherham-job-opens-new-ball-game-Alan-Stubbs-says-Neil-Warnock.html

I clicked the link expecting a story that'd make us look bad but it was a decent read.

Should Lennon not happen then Warnock would be an interesting one who I fully expect would take us up.

Warnock is an old dinosaur best left in retirement!

02-06-2016, 07:25 PM

Decent record though!

Finn2015
02-06-2016, 07:40 PM
Sure his wife is Scottish. Might be enough to make him consider a job in Scotland

LustForLeith
02-06-2016, 07:41 PM
Qualified chiropodist too

Random Warnock fact

Finn2015
02-06-2016, 07:42 PM

Random Warnock fact

Double benefit, can massage and check the players feet at half time

ShinyFantastic
02-06-2016, 07:44 PM

LustForLeith
02-06-2016, 07:44 PM
Double benefit, can massage and check the players feet at half time

Wait...couple we pay him one wage for two jobs? Onto a winner.

Remember he was on Soccer AM bemoaning players wearing boots half a size too small for better control but ruining their feet

PPZPOL
02-06-2016, 07:47 PM
Why would we want someone who has just refused a contract somewhere saying that they needed someone younger who will put a plan in place etc etc....

Seems like a good guy to get into the club, someone not arsed about working hard and getting a plan in place for us.

No ta.....

02-06-2016, 07:50 PM
Why would we want someone who has just refused a contract somewhere saying that they needed someone younger who will put a plan in place etc etc....

Seems like a good guy to get into the club, someone not arsed about working hard and getting a plan in place for us.

No ta.....

While he's not my cup of tea he would take us out this league and into the premier, job done

Tobias Funke
02-06-2016, 07:52 PM
Colin ****er?

No thanks.

02-06-2016, 07:56 PM
While he's not my cup of tea he would take us out this league and into the premier, job done

Rotherham were heading for relegation until he arrived and saved them. He's not interested in long term planning which is fair enough as he's 67, been there and done that.

I can't think of a better short term solution to get us out of this league. People call him a "dinosaur" but his motivational methods clearly work.

02-06-2016, 08:16 PM
He's a good guy, I've had a few beers with him in Beckenham. He knows footy inside out, has always been keen to discuss the Hibees & genuinely loves Scotland. He still wouldn't be my choice but a 1 year holding contract wouldn't be too bad a shout.

Bearsden Hibby
02-06-2016, 08:34 PM
Warnock's mantra when he went to Rotherham was ' I told the players just to go out and enjoy yourselves'. That will not work for a team who want to win promotion. His wife his battling cancer and coupled with the fact he appears to like living in the Plymouth area he will not be a serious consideration for our next manager

02-06-2016, 09:37 PM
The article does make you think what life is all about.

Is about striving to constantly improve your position and status, or savouring the experience?

Stubbs has made a career move, but he's losing something a bit special.

Will we ever have a manager who forms a long term commitment with us?

Big L
02-06-2016, 09:50 PM
I suggested Warnock last week and I knew he liked Edinburgh, read it somewhere, I thought at the time a one season contract simply because he has a very good record in getting promotion, but it got shot down!

BH Hibs
02-06-2016, 10:14 PM
Please God no

02-06-2016, 10:19 PM
I suggested Warnock last week and I knew he liked Edinburgh, read it somewhere, I thought at the time a one season contract simply because he has a very good record in getting promotion, but it got shot down!

He has got a fine record, it's true.

And if he only wants a 12 month contract that's great, cos he's normally p1ssed everyone off by then!

02-06-2016, 11:26 PM
He's a good manager, a hard worker and he gets results. Warnock wouldn't be my first choice, just as Hibs probably wouldn't be his, and I think it's highly unlikely he'll be the next manager, but his credentials shouldn't be dismissed by people who obviously don't know what he's done in the game.

02-06-2016, 11:31 PM
Thought he was a shoo in at the Piggery in Vlad's time. Read he was going - not sure but the ended up with Fail.... Any of his teams I've seen (via MOTD) they've been pretty effective and pretty direct.

Pity the profanity filter edited out Frail's nickname :wink:

03-06-2016, 12:06 AM

Random Warnock factnever knew that. my feet are killing me btw. nae feet doctor's shop in Porty, as far as I know:wink:

03-06-2016, 12:42 AM
Colin ****er would be a cracking appointment for Hibs, he is the promotion king.

OsloHibs
03-06-2016, 01:19 AM

Dinosaur.... jeezo.

Higgy115
03-06-2016, 02:12 AM
Nice wee artice, bit of tongue in cheek I think, but if he fancied a year I would certainly fancy our chances of getting up.

LustForLeith
03-06-2016, 11:58 AM
Hibs are a pretty well known name. just one the Scottish Cup so there's a bit of a buzz around the club.

There's a few managers without a job and a few coaches/assistants with clubs looking to move on and progress.

So there's going to be a few people asked if they'd be interested in taking the Hibs job as they don't have one and they'll say they do. Maybe they do, maybe they're also sending a reminder that they're seeking employment.

I think Warnock is doing this. I'd probably take him at Hibs but hope we get someone else. Not surprised if he's just reminding folk he's available, much liek doing a sweep of a nightclub at around 2.45am and making eye contact with as many people as possible.

03-06-2016, 12:10 PM
never knew that. my feet are killing me btw. nae feet doctor's shop in Porty, as far as I know:wink:

aye there is....just along from the Forresters.

03-06-2016, 12:24 PM
He had a holiday home in Dunoon and was often staying in the area.

Don't know if he's still got that, but he obviously loves Scotland.

03-06-2016, 12:42 PM
Hibs are a pretty well known name. just one the Scottish Cup so there's a bit of a buzz around the club.

There's a few managers without a job and a few coaches/assistants with clubs looking to move on and progress.

So there's going to be a few people asked if they'd be interested in taking the Hibs job as they don't have one and they'll say they do. Maybe they do, maybe they're also sending a reminder that they're seeking employment.

I think Warnock is doing this. I'd probably take him at Hibs but hope we get someone else. Not surprised if he's just reminding folk he's available, much liek doing a sweep of a nightclub at around 2.45am and making eye contact with as many people as possible.

Cracking analogy for exactly what he will be doing. :greengrin

03-06-2016, 09:53 PM
He had a holiday home in Dunoon and was often staying in the area.

Don't know if he's still got that, but he obviously loves Scotland.

Still has a holiday home here.

04-06-2016, 08:20 AM

Random Warnock fact

So's Arthur Duncan.

Random Nijinsky fact. :wink:

04-06-2016, 09:15 AM
The article does make you think what life is all about.

Is about striving to constantly improve your position and status, or savouring the experience?

Stubbs has made a career move, but he's losing something a bit special.

Will we ever have a manager who forms a long term commitment with us?

The only way we'll get a Manager to make a long term commitment to us is if it's a guy who has been there and done it and is a Hibs man. If we appoint a young Manager with potential who is successful at Hibs, e.g., Stubbs, he'll be off after a couple of seasons max. If it's a young Manager who isn't successful, e.g., Calderwood, he'll be sacked within a couple of seasons.

So in other words if it's Lennon who's appointed, within 2 years hell be gone I reckon one way or another.

Also, if it's a guy in the twilight of his Managerial career, e.g. Warnock, he'll likely be gone after a season or 2 as well.

Maybe next season what we need is a short term fix, but at some point in the future, assuming we get promoted, we need a Manager who will be successful and stick around. I'd appoint Lennon to get us promoted then 2 or 3 years down the line look to appoint Michael O'Neill who at that point will be nearing the end of his NI contract. I think he would be the Manager to improve us further and stick around for a while given his affinity to Hibs.