View Full Version : Lennon ready to talk....

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

03-06-2016, 10:35 AM
New candidate on Skybet for Hibs job.

Ryan Giggs ! 18/1 lock up your wives . :greengrin

03-06-2016, 10:36 AM

Lock up the physio!

Big L
03-06-2016, 11:08 AM
At this moment in time, Griffiths is statistically the best striker in Celtic's history, he got to 50 goals in less games than anyone else before him, and his stats are frightening: -

SPL
52 goals in 57 starts; 0.91 goals per game

Scottish Cup
7 goals in 8 starts; 0.88 goals per game

League Cup
4 goals in 4 starts; a goal a game (obvs)

Europe
4 goals in 11 starts; 0.36 goals per game

Rodgers would need his head read if he wasn't going to utilise Griffiths, but he will. There are similarities to Luis Suarez in terms of his pace, work rate, shooting ability with either foot, and scoring record. Suarez was pivotal to the way Liverpool played at their best under Rodgers, in fact, when Suarez went it all fell apart (though any team would struggle to deal with such a loss).

In the year that Liverpool almost won the league, teams were terrified of the pace of Suarez, Sturridge and Sterling and sat deep against them - the work rate of the three in harrying defenders meant that they won the ball back high up the park, and as a result they had teams hemmed in their own half for virtually the whole game. Such constant pressure and quality of attackers meant that they scored barrowloads (101 goals in the Premiership, only failed to score in two matches) - it was the best football I have ever seen in the Premiership.

If he wants to try and implement such a style up here, Griffiths will be pivotal. Never gives defenders peace, and always scores. As for internationals, he has no goals in seven caps but too early to judge - Alan Shearer had only scored 5 goals in 23 matches prior to Euro 96, he ended up with 30 in 63.

I love Griff and hope one day to see him back in a Hibs jersey, but I stand by my post. Unless Rodgers finds a way to get him to make that step up he might struggle for game time. Scoring goals in the SPL is completely different to doing it in the Champions league and at international level.doon"t forget, he struggled at Wolves, league one. Comparing Griff to Suarez is just ridiculous.

03-06-2016, 11:12 AM
Lock up the physio!

Often wondered why Dylan mcgeoch is ay injured lol

03-06-2016, 11:18 AM
I love Griff and hope one day to see him back in a Hibs jersey, but I stand by my post. Unless Rodgers finds a way to get him to make that step up he might struggle for game time. Scoring goals in the SPL is completely different to doing it in the Champions league and at international level.doon"t forget, he struggled at Wolves, league one. Comparing Griff to Suarez is just ridiculous.

Griffiths scored 13 goals in 21 starts for Wolves, he didn't struggle at all.

I've already pointed out that he has a decent scoring record in the Europa League. More international caps will come, then we can judge.

I really don't think you understood my post.

03-06-2016, 11:33 AM
If South Africa can free Mandela then Celtc can surely free the Griff.

03-06-2016, 11:38 AM
If South Africa can free Mandela then Celtc can surely free the Griff.

Only there for the money. In a better world he'd be banging them in for us right now.

LustForLeith
03-06-2016, 11:42 AM

Not sure if it's been picked up but Sky Sports ran this during the night. They feel that Giggs is going to knock back a coaches role at Man United to pursue a managers job.

And didn't Jimmy McGrory score 469 goals in 448 games for Celtic?

Big L
03-06-2016, 11:59 AM
Griffiths scored 13 goals in 21 starts for Wolves, he didn't struggle at all.

I've already pointed out that he has a decent scoring record in the Europa League. More international caps will come, then we can judge.

I really don't think you understood my post.
The facts are staring you in the face, in all the scottish games he's a goal a game, in europe 1 in 3 and in English 1 around 1 in 2 ( nearly) I just think their is going to be a mass clear out, he's not going in to the CL wi a bunch of players that failed and if Lennons with us we might get Stokes back. As for Griff, for his sake I hope he steps up if he doesn't well!! It's only my opinion.

Humo
03-06-2016, 12:05 PM
If Lennon was our manager I reckon we would of got that penalty against falkirk

Sent from my SM-A500F using Tapatalk

03-06-2016, 12:11 PM

If he comes as Player/manager he can have mine. [emoji23]

03-06-2016, 12:28 PM
The facts are staring you in the face, in all the scottish games he's a goal a game, in europe 1 in 3 and in English 1 around 1 in 2 ( nearly) I just think their is going to be a mass clear out, he's not going in to the CL wi a bunch of players that failed and if Lennons with us we might get Stokes back. As for Griff, for his sake I hope he steps up if he doesn't well!! It's only my opinion.

Well I posted the facts, and they do speak for themselves.

What has Griffiths failed at, exactly? Every single move he has made from Livingston onwards has been a step up in quality of opposition, and each time he has improved his scoring ratio. He hasn't had a chance in the Champions League yet, who's to say he won't step up again? (Incidentally, one of the biggest black marks against Rodgers from his time at Liverpool was his failure to get out of the Champions League group they were in in 2014)

But setting the CL aside for the moment, Rodgers primary task will be to win the league and domestic trophies, especially with Rangers back in the SPL now. Given that Griffiths is a virtual guarantee of a goal a game in each of the three competitions, I'd be astonished if Rodgers were to let him go.

03-06-2016, 12:30 PM

What has Griffiths failed at, exactly? Every single move he has made from Livingston onwards has been a step up in quality of opposition, and each time he has improved his scoring ratio. He hasn't had a chance in the Champions League yet, who's to say he won't step up again? (Incidentally, one of the biggest black marks against Rodgers from his time at Liverpool was his failure to get out of the Champions League group they were in in 2014)

But setting the CL aside for the moment, Rodgers primary task will be to win the league and domestic trophies, especially with Rangers back in the SPL now. Given that Griffiths is a virtual guarantee of a goal a game in each of the three competitions, I'd be astonished if Rodgers were to let him go.

Nah, they've gone for such a big name in the hope of champions league group stage. The league with their resource is surely a given.

03-06-2016, 12:39 PM
Nah, they've gone for such a big name in the hope of champions league group stage. The league with their resource is surely a given.

Perhaps. I think they've gone for such a big name to demonstrate their pull to Rangers, upon their return to the league. Of course I've no doubt that they will be hoping to get into the group stages of the CL, but as I stated in my last post, Rodgers didn't fair too well in his first experience there (I'm by no means saying that he can't improve, incidentally).

Lennon had a very good Champions League record, and he was overlooked. I think the appointment of Rodgers was a statement in many ways.

03-06-2016, 12:46 PM
Giggs is now odds on for the Bolton job.

03-06-2016, 12:47 PM
What's the hold up Leeann??!!

Lennon's the man, get him in :)

Big L
03-06-2016, 12:55 PM

Just what I said, he will need to step up!

03-06-2016, 01:03 PM

I think the point is Rodgers would use Griff at celtic in the same way he used suarez at Liverpool, as important as suarez was to liverpools 2014 season Griff will be equally as important to celtic if they were to have a successful season.

03-06-2016, 01:17 PM
Anyone mind if this thread were to get back on topic, please? :greengrin

03-06-2016, 01:35 PM
Anyone mind if this thread were to get back on topic, please? :greengrin

Or we could just drop it.

Lennon will not be the Hibs manager.

03-06-2016, 01:47 PM
^^^ Hmmm, where'd you hear that from?

I'm thinking it's almost a done deal.

03-06-2016, 04:24 PM

A random geezer just told me in Cameron toll it had been announced an hour ago it's Lennon. Clearly rumour mill in overdrive.

03-06-2016, 05:55 PM

****ing Judas

guthrie01
03-06-2016, 07:16 PM
Looks like talks are now underway

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-open-talks-with-neil-lennon-1-4145801

03-06-2016, 07:20 PM

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-open-talks-with-neil-lennon-1-4145801

03-06-2016, 07:24 PM
Announcement on Monday

ShinyFantastic
03-06-2016, 07:26 PM

Holy ****

03-06-2016, 07:27 PM
it just got real.

03-06-2016, 07:33 PM
:hyper

03-06-2016, 07:33 PM
I thought that this was a whole load of *****!!! This could be a total game changer!!!

swin1875
03-06-2016, 07:35 PM
What a signal of intent by hibs,get it done Leanne pleeeease

Finn2015
03-06-2016, 07:36 PM
I'm more excited than a virgin on the cusp of a sexually charged encounter.

03-06-2016, 07:37 PM
EEN exclusive that will be a first

03-06-2016, 07:41 PM

Skol
I would be gutted if this is true. Lennon wouldn't be here for the long term. And he is a nasty piece of works.

Lets just hope that somehow he turns out like Darren Jackson, a player who I despised until he played for us....

i hope LD can get this done . exciting news

He's Neil Lennon's man, he's better than Zidane 😎

03-06-2016, 07:42 PM
If he is offered and takes the job, it will be a real indication of intent by the board for next season and a great opportunity to get back where we belong. There's a fair bit of talk about our ability to hold on to our better players, but I think Lennon in the driving seat might persuade them to stay. I would also expect a few quality signings to follow.

03-06-2016, 07:43 PM
If he is offered and takes the job, it will be a real indication of intent by the board for next season and a great opportunity to get back where we belong. There's a fair bit of talk about our ability to hold on to our better players, but I think Lennon in the driving seat might persuade them to stay. I would also expect a few quality signings to follow.

Hendo, Stokes and Sparky to return.

03-06-2016, 07:46 PM
I would be gutted if this is true. Lennon wouldn't be here for the long term. And he is a nasty piece of works.

Lets just hope that somehow he turns out like Darren Jackson, a player who I despised until he played for us....

No manager will be with hibs long term. Either punted for being ***** or away for being great.

If we do get him, it's a coup for Leeann and her team.

I'm sorry but NL is a MASSIVE statement of intent if it happens.

03-06-2016, 07:46 PM

03-06-2016, 07:47 PM
Not that excited about Lennon. Not convinced that he is any good.

03-06-2016, 07:47 PM
Too many antics and too much baggage for me. Not saying it's all his fault but I just wouldn't want any of it associated with Hibs. Can't see it happening anyway.

03-06-2016, 07:50 PM
A winner. Would kill to win.

03-06-2016, 07:52 PM
Can't say I am convinced but it is certainly a statement of intent. Who proof reads the EEN, very poor

03-06-2016, 07:53 PM

A manager who's never managed above under 19 international level?
A manager that's been here before, wasn't great and has done ok at other mediocre Scottish teams where winning isn't a necessity, but is a die in the wool Hibee?
A manager who's been in a pressure pit of must win week in and out and has had the opportunity to set teams up for competitive matches against the likes of Barcelona?
A another random or untried name?

Apart from the fact that he'll be tactically astute enough to pump the rubbish in this league, he'll have a half decent shout at keeping our decent players and attracting others.

Hope it happens.

blaikie
03-06-2016, 07:54 PM
Guy we want in our dugout rather than the oppositions! Get it signed sealed and delivered Hibs!!

03-06-2016, 07:58 PM

Agreed & not convinced it will be him either
No info just my opinion

03-06-2016, 07:59 PM
A manager that's been here before, wasn't great and has done ok at other mediocre Scottish teams where winning isn't a necessity, but is a die in the wool Hibee?
A manager who's been in a pressure pit of must win week in and out and has had the opportunity to set teams up for competitive matches against the likes of Barcelona?

Apart from the fact that he'll be tactically astute enough to pump the rubbish in this league, he'll have a half decent shout at keeping our decent players and attracting others.

Hope it happens.

Speaking with Hendo's uncle today. Liam loves Lennon. Gave him his debut for Celtic and NL rates him highly. Rodgers likely to want to assess the whole squad though so it might be unlikely this transfer window.

03-06-2016, 07:59 PM
Reckon he'll take us up

03-06-2016, 08:00 PM
Might even win us the Scottish cup.

03-06-2016, 08:01 PM
Who is Lennon's back room team?

03-06-2016, 08:03 PM

At Bolton it was Johan Mjallby (replaced by Steve Walford, current Ireland joint-assistant boss) and Garry Parker.

03-06-2016, 08:03 PM

george , paul and ringo

Lee Marvin
03-06-2016, 08:04 PM
I think this will happen...and I'll be absolutely delighted if it does

03-06-2016, 08:05 PM
george , paul and ringo

😎 need a couple of replacements then.

03-06-2016, 08:06 PM
Would love it if he gets it, a real statement of intent from us.

BenjiOscar
03-06-2016, 08:06 PM
george , paul and ringo

😃 That's the winner!

03-06-2016, 08:07 PM

03-06-2016, 08:08 PM
I was opposed to Stokes coming on loan, thought he had too much baggage and didn't think he would come up with the goods. For a while I was rehearsing my 'told you so' speech, but, boy, was I wrong in the end?
A part of me says don't go near Lennon with a barge-pole, is he good enough without Celtic's monopoly and dominance ............. head over heart on this one now. Go get him Ms. Dempster.

03-06-2016, 08:09 PM
What type of football would we be playing?

Hope it isn't hoofball.

03-06-2016, 08:13 PM

been there, done that :wink:

03-06-2016, 08:15 PM
been there, done that :wink:

Tell me more, how did it happen?

Johnny Clash
03-06-2016, 08:21 PM
hope we get Lennon. Exciting times ahead if we do.

03-06-2016, 08:22 PM
What type of football would we be playing?

Hope it isn't hoofball.

Winning football would do me!!!!!

03-06-2016, 08:23 PM
Agreed & not convinced it will be him either
No info just my opinion

If it's not then the club have done a better job than the Steve Clarke shambles a few years ago! 😁

03-06-2016, 08:24 PM
I was opposed to Stokes coming on loan, thought he had too much baggage and didn't think he would come up with the goods. For a while I was rehearsing my 'told you so' speech, but, boy, was I wrong in the end? A part of me says don't go near Lennon with a barge-pole, is he good enough without Celtic's monopoly and dominance ............. head over heart on this one now. Go get him Ms. Dempster.

Had the best squad in the league with Celtic - won the league

At Hibs he would have the best squad in the league - I personally think he would get the best out of them and win the league

03-06-2016, 08:25 PM

Hope it happens.

Will he? Not convinced myself.

03-06-2016, 08:26 PM
Was talking to a few Celtic supporting mates and they hated his style also were annoyed that they conceded a lot of goals from corners....

Going to take it with a pinch of salt.

03-06-2016, 08:26 PM
Time will tell. I think he'd get us promoted, but, sadly, the sectarian hatred he'd be subjected to would be the bigger story in the media. Who knows how it would pan out.

Gordy M
03-06-2016, 08:34 PM
Its a big gamble for lennon as well if he does come to us. He had a good reputation at celtic, winning the league and getting to the last 16 in the champs league. His time at bolton has somewhat ruined that reputation. ..so his next job needs to get his managerial career back on track. If he comes to us, he really has to be a success.

03-06-2016, 08:35 PM
Hibs in the championship this season should be similar to Celtic in the SPL.

Biggest budget
Favourites to win
Better quality of players than the opposition
Playing against teams that will try and park the bus to gets results
Pressure from the support to win every game
A club of a similar size and resources as our biggest challengers to winning the league
Playing in Europe

Granted it's on a smaller scale than Celtic but it's a similar situation and his experience would be invaluable in winning us the league

03-06-2016, 08:37 PM
Its a big gamble for lennon as well if he does come to us. He had a good reputation at celtic, winning the league and getting to the last 16 in the champs league. His time at bolton has somewhat ruined that reputation. ..so his next job needs to get his managerial career back on track. If he comes to us, he really has to be a success.

:agree: ....... and there's no way he'll come to ER without assurances of full backing from the board and a reasonable budget for decent quality players.

03-06-2016, 08:38 PM
Was talking to a few Celtic supporting mates and they hated his style also were annoyed that they conceded a lot of goals from corners....

Going to take it with a pinch of salt.
Seems quite a weird thing for your mates to make up. You should probably just believe them. :agree:

coco22
03-06-2016, 08:55 PM
Struggling to get off the fence on this one - baggage, media circus, secretarian nonsense, etc (all lower key in the Champ presumably anyway) but what do we lack at times? Grit, tactical changes, width...my limited fitba knowledge makes me think Lennon's Celtic played this way. Different budget / players but shirley he could get us firing.

03-06-2016, 09:02 PM
Struggling to get off the fence on this one - baggage, media circus, secretarian nonsense, etc (all lower key in the Champ presumably anyway) but what do we lack at times? Grit, tactical changes, width...my limited fitba knowledge makes me think Lennon's Celtic played this way. Different budget / players but shirley he could get us firing.

What sectarian nonsense is Lennon guilty of except being a victim of abuse?

Would it be seen as a negative against hiring a black manager if he had been a victim of racist abuse in the past?

03-06-2016, 09:23 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/hibernian/7192399/Hibs-deal-for-Neil-Lennon-is-nearly-done.html

Santa Cruz
03-06-2016, 09:28 PM

Would it be seen as a negative against hiring a black manager if he had been a victim of racist abuse in the past?

Exactly including bullets through the post. He's the victim yet folk keep banging on about HIS sectarian nonsense.

coco22
03-06-2016, 09:32 PM
Not using it as an excuse not to appoint him - stating what I predict as a potential continued issue once back in the domestic game as it sadly stands. He is / was the victim but that, sadly, draws much attention...that's all i meant

03-06-2016, 09:33 PM
To save giving the S*n ad revenue: NEIL LENNON has moved closer to becoming new Hibernian manager.

SunSport Online led the way on Wednesday evening with the news the former Celtic boss had been contacted by the Scottish Cup winners and was interested in talking about replacing Alan Stubbs who is now at Rotherham United.

We also revealed the Northern Irishman would meet the club hierarchy within days.

24/05/15 SCOTTISH PREMIERSHIP CELTIC v INVERNESS CT CELTIC PARK - GLASGOW Bolton manager Neil Lennon attends the match
Lennon has held talks with Easter Road chiefs SNS Group
That's now happened and I believe Lennon, 44, is the clear frontrunner for what would be a stunning appointment by the Hibees.

However, it's understood there's still room for negotiation before Lennon - who has always respected the club and admires the stadium and training ground set up - 100-per-cent decides to go for it.

Lennon's been out of management since leaving Bolton in March.

Wanderers had crippling financial problems which constantly left Lennon up against it.

His departure following a takeover by a group led by former Bolton star Dean Holdsworth left his managerial stock damaged.

It's why Lennon will be careful with his choice of next club, this time seeking a stronger back-up to give him the chance of success.

He came close to a Parkhead return before losing out to Brendan Rodgers and is set to attend Euro 2016 as a TV pundit.

But Lennon's itching for a dugout return and Hibs fans are excited about the idea of him taking charge for a push at the Championship title next season.

Hibs can also offer Europa League football.

As Celts manager Lennon won three titles, two Scottish Cups and reached the Champions League last 16.

But there's still work to be done for an agreement while other candidates such as Malky Mackay await word of the intentions of chief executive Leeann Dempster and director of football George Craig.

The duo have also spoken to representatives of other interested figures.

Hibs are anxious to make an announcement by next week.

coco22
03-06-2016, 09:35 PM
Exactly including bullets through the post. He's the victim yet folk keep banging on about HIS sectarian nonsense.

Never said HIS sectarian nonsense - just stating the (obvious) past.

FifeHibs
03-06-2016, 09:36 PM
The majority of the Rangers team in the 90s and back room board members were pictures at orange marches, playing flutes. I have never heard of Lennon being pictures at anyone of these he was born a catholic in a country this is perceived to be the wrong religion. The disgusting Glasgow media hyped up his story to a frenzy when he signed for Celtic.

03-06-2016, 09:39 PM
I couldn't stand him as a player. Beuzelin beating him with a sublime bit of skill was one of my favourite ever Hibs moments. But I've warmed to him a lot since he retired, speaks well on most subjects and I'd be lying if the thought of making the Huns hate us even more didn't appeal.

So it's a yes from me :greengrin

Dr Jimmy
03-06-2016, 09:39 PM
You could say that about any club he goes to after Bolton.

Santa Cruz
03-06-2016, 09:43 PM
Never said HIS sectarian nonsense - just stating the (obvious) past.

Cool point taken. Don't think it should be held against him for the Hibs job though. Shouldn't be relevant.

03-06-2016, 09:46 PM
Him and Boozy dream team please

coco22
03-06-2016, 09:48 PM
Cool point taken. Don't think it should be held against him for the Hibs job though. Shouldn't be relevant.

Agreed

03-06-2016, 09:49 PM
I'd like to think I'll back whoever we appoint but I draw the line at Malky MacKay.

We've all got character failings and I don't think I'm a judgemental person, but his racist banter didn't sit well with me at all.

03-06-2016, 09:54 PM
His record after he left Celtic is not good, no thank's.

03-06-2016, 09:56 PM
19 points out of 72 while at Wigan doesn't help Malky Mackay's cause very much :greengrin

Paloschi
03-06-2016, 09:59 PM
I'd like to think I'll back whoever we appoint but I draw the line at Malky MacKay.

We've all got character failings and I don't think I'm a judgemental person, but his racist banter didn't sit well with me at all.

Agree 100%. Dont want him near our club. He doesnt have a great record either. 20%win rate at Wigan. Same as Butchers with us! And IIRC wigan had a decent squad too

03-06-2016, 10:01 PM

He actually saved Bolton from relegation in his first season there after coming in when they were bottom of the table in October. Dougie Freedman got them there and his name has been mentioned by a few.

The following season he was hindered by the financial cloud over them.

And your comment is like saying Jose Mourinho didn't do well in his last job, no thanks.

Pretty much any manager that's unemployed is going to have had a poor last season.

At a horrendous mess of a club in Bolton. They got rid of him and didn't improve.

Stubbsy had won zero points as a manager when he came to us. See how that ended.

Purehibee_MYB
03-06-2016, 10:07 PM

I'm with you on that. Would struggle to get behind an appointment like that

leftfield
03-06-2016, 10:13 PM
He is out of work for a reason -his results were terrible. At Celtic he had money to spend and not much domestic competition. We need a manager who can identify good players in our price range and bring out the best in them.

Finn2015
03-06-2016, 10:24 PM

Love this post! Yes there is sectarian nonsense in the past but he has been the victim of it

Big L
03-06-2016, 10:24 PM
Looks like striker Steven Fletcher on his way to Celtic, out of contract. The more Rodgers signs increases our chances of getting a couple on loan.

Big L
03-06-2016, 10:27 PM
He is out of work for a reason -his results were terrible. At Celtic he had money to spend and not much domestic competition. We need a manager who can identify good players in our price range and bring out the best in them.

He should never have taken that job, they were in so much trouble Mourinho couldn't have saved them. I read he was paying people out of his own pocket.

03-06-2016, 10:28 PM
I think he is a great candidate the more I think about it. Very high profile with good connections, great PR for the club just after winning the cup. We have been news now for a fortnight no matter what it's been for and this will keep us in the news. I also believe that he is a decent manager who will fight our corner any time it's needed. And with the Scottish press and Hibs that is almost daily. I'm pretty excited by it and hope it comes off

04-06-2016, 06:08 AM
If it's not then the club have done a better job than the Steve Clarke shambles a few years ago! 😁

If he does comes in & secures promotion that's all that matters.
I just hope we don't pay over the odds for someone looking to resurrect his career.
Who ever it is gets full backing here.

04-06-2016, 10:12 AM
I think he is a great candidate the more I think about it. Very high profile with good connections, great PR for the club just after winning the cup. We have been news now for a fortnight no matter what it's been for and this will keep us in the news. I also believe that he is a decent manager who will fight our corner any time it's needed. And with the Scottish press and Hibs that is almost daily. I'm pretty excited by it and hope it comes off

:agree::agree:

HibsNibs
04-06-2016, 10:26 AM
find it odd that some wouldn't consider Mackay because of a racist remark but are happy with Lennon who made a veiled threat of violence to a woman ?

SJM
04-06-2016, 10:30 AM
find it odd that some wouldn't consider Mackay because of a racist remark but are happy with Lennon who made a veiled threat of violence to a woman ?

MM is a much better candidate and manager than Lennon.

What a weird thing to say:confused:

swin1875
Why can't he just be viewed for what he is a FOOTBALL MANAGER and stop being analysed out with that,who right now ticks all the boxes to get us out this league

04-06-2016, 10:40 AM
MM is a much better candidate and manager than Lennon.

I wonder if Mackay's racist views will go down well with the Asian and Chinese community here in Leith/Edinburgh :confused:

hibeerealist
04-06-2016, 10:43 AM
Hibs in the championship this season should be similar to Celtic in the SPL.

Biggest budget
Favourites to win
Better quality of players than the opposition
Playing against teams that will try and park the bus to gets results
Pressure from the support to win every game
A club of a similar size and resources as our biggest challengers to winning the league
Playing in Europe

Granted it's on a smaller scale than Celtic but it's a similar situation and his experience would be invaluable in winning us the league

Who are the cub of similar size and resources, NOT Dundee Utd?

SJM
04-06-2016, 11:19 AM
I wonder if Mackay's racist views will go down well with the Asian and Chinese community here in Leith/Edinburgh :confused:

Are people not allowed to make mistakes?

I don't see many Asian nor Chinese attending Easter Road regularly either, not sure how it would impact our club.

04-06-2016, 11:24 AM

I don't see many Asian nor Chinese attending Easter Road regularly either, not sure how it would impact our club.

So why not Lennon then?

SJM
04-06-2016, 11:29 AM
So why not Lennon then?

He's a poor choice if MM wants the gig.

04-06-2016, 11:30 AM

SJM
04-06-2016, 11:32 AM

Nice one, ask them how they feel then and if they would cancel their season tickets if he was appointed then please. Also ask views on forgiveness.

04-06-2016, 11:36 AM
Nice one, ask them how they feel then and if they would cancel their season tickets if he was appointed then please. Also ask views on forgiveness.

Nah, don't think I'll bother, MM was caught not once but quite a few times with his racist/sexist comments, true colours and all that, I've made up my mind about him and his views and it's still a no from me.

04-06-2016, 11:37 AM

They probably couldn't care less what Mackay said a couple of years ago.

04-06-2016, 11:40 AM
Nah, don't think I'll bother, MM was caught not once but quite a few times with his racist/sexist comments, true colours and all that, I've made up my mind about him and his views and it's still a no from me.
Never thought he was that great a manager, got lucky at Cardiff I think.

04-06-2016, 11:41 AM

You don't have to be a victim of racism to find it disgusting

04-06-2016, 11:43 AM
I don't think I'm alone in saying that I would take a strong disliking to Malky McKay becoming our next manager. Far too much trouble would follow that appointment. Wigan tried it and how did that go?

04-06-2016, 11:44 AM

Which is something I hope the club is looking at, long established Leith communities we aren't currently reaching.
Don't think MM would help with that.

04-06-2016, 11:59 AM
Feels like a lot of self righteous people on this thread.

Let he/she without sin cast the first stone.

04-06-2016, 12:06 PM
To be honest i'll be happy to back whoever gets the job whether it be Mackay Lennon or anyone else. Leeann and the team done quite well last time.

04-06-2016, 12:28 PM

I read that kiss'n'tell story and am reasonably satisfied that it was a character assassination.

I read the circumstances around Mackay's sacking from Cardiff and am reasonably satisfied that he's a bit of a racist.

06-06-2016, 05:02 PM
I read the circumstances around Mackay's sacking from Cardiff and am reasonably satisfied that he's a bit of a racist.

I can't think why you would come to that conclusion! :dunno:

Mackay's publicised comments;

On the arrival of South Korean international Kim Bo-Kyung:

"*** chinkys. Fk it. There's enough dogs in Cardiff for us all to go around."

On football agent Phil Smith:

"Go on, fat Phil. Nothing like a Jew that sees money slipping through his fingers"

On transfer target list:

"Not many white faces amongst that lot but worth considering."

On a player's female agent:

"I hope she's looking after your needs. I bet you'd love a bounce on her falsies."

On an official at another club:

"He's a snake, a gay snake. Not to be trusted"

To members of Cardiff's staff:

A picture entitled 'Black Monopoly' - where every square was a "Go to Jail" square

06-06-2016, 05:08 PM

"Go on, fat Phil. Nothing like a Jew that sees money slipping through his fingers"

On transfer target list:

"I hope she's looking after your needs. I bet you'd love a bounce on her falsies."

A picture entitled 'Black Monopoly' - where every square was a "Go to Jail" square

He should be nowhere near Hibs. Ever.

06-06-2016, 05:10 PM
Feels like a lot of self righteous people on this thread.

Let he/she without sin cast the first stone.

Amen

06-06-2016, 05:10 PM

On transfer target list:

sounds like a lovely guy :greengrin

06-06-2016, 05:16 PM

On transfer target list:

Bernard Manning...Football Manager

Harpandcastle
06-06-2016, 05:19 PM

On transfer target list:

Did he write all of those or receive them?
I thought of all the the stuff published he was responsible for three, although I could be wrong.
He's very close to a couple who are friends of mine and having heard a lot of what went on in the background I'd say that while there was stuff there that would offend people I'd back him 100% as a man that does not hold extremist views. I sat beside him at a wedding last summer and found him a really decent guy.

Finn2015
06-06-2016, 05:22 PM
Well absolutely nothing today from what I've seen, hopefully might get some news tomorrow

seanoheimhin
06-06-2016, 05:28 PM
You don't have to be a victim of racism to find it disgusting

Here, here! Can't believe my eyes that some people are effectively saying 'well there aren't many minority hibs fans so it's fine'.

Bloody hell, go back to the dark ages if those are your views on racism, sexism, homophobia etc. Deeply ignorant.

Also agree with the points being made about forgiveness, but frankly I don't want our club being used as an experiment for his potential rehabilitation. Secondly, the guy is a fully-developed, middle-aged man who has been exposed to all sorts of people across the country. He's not a kid who has never known the outside of a football academy. He should have known better, and dare I say it, did know better but just didn't care.

06-06-2016, 05:30 PM
With us being linked with all these managers who have done something bad in the past, or said something bad too, i'm now not celebrating Anthony Stokes 2 goals at Hampden.

I now class the game as a 2-1 defeat.

06-06-2016, 05:35 PM
I thought of all the the stuff published he was responsible for three, although I could be wrong.
He's very close to a couple who are friends of mine and having heard a lot of what went on in the background I'd say that while there was stuff there that would offend people I'd back him 100% as a man that does not hold extremist views. I sat beside him at a wedding last summer and found him a really decent guy.

Having delved a bit further, there is talk of him having sent a "couple of texts".

06-06-2016, 05:36 PM
With us being linked with all these managers who have done something bad in the past, or said something bad too, i'm now not celebrating Anthony Stokes 2 goals at Hampden.

Good point about historical wrong doing which is why I'm now putting you on ignore.

06-06-2016, 05:38 PM
Good point about historical wrong doing which is why I'm now putting you on ignore.

06-06-2016, 05:40 PM

great photo :thumbsup: not sure if it's one of the guys in the photo but i've certainly saw a couple of sikh's(sp) in the East, the more the merrier, all faiths welcome :agree:

06-06-2016, 05:42 PM

I'm sure he wasn't actually responsible for all of these and the papers mislead to an extent.

I think a lot of it was down to an agent type character.

Edit: I'm trying to imagine what a gay snake would be like.

06-06-2016, 05:46 PM
Is Lennon still talking or is he still mulling?

gaz1875
06-06-2016, 06:00 PM
great photo :thumbsup: not sure if it's one of the guys in the photo but i've certainly saw a couple of sikh's(sp) in the East, the more the merrier, all faiths welcome :agree:

Pretty sure Tony Singh (celebrity chef) was at the parade but not in the photo.

speedy_gonzales
06-06-2016, 06:12 PM
Pretty sure Tony Singh (celebrity chef) was at the parade but not in the photo.
He 100% was there with his family.
We were standing directly opposite him waiting for the bus as it passed Balfour Street.

06-06-2016, 06:16 PM
Is Lennon still talking or is he still mulling?
Maybe even walking away:confused:

Marco G
06-06-2016, 06:34 PM
Maybe even walking away:confused:Well you are consistent in your negative posts about him on this and other threads. Do you know something we don't?

06-06-2016, 08:20 PM
Well you are consistent in your negative posts about him on this and other threads. Do you know something we don't?
Not a thing, just getting nervous at the lack of info & the delay. Want a positive outcome. :agree:

Bald Reynard
06-06-2016, 08:24 PM
Braehead Cabbage on Bounce (posting at 6.00 tonight) reckons McCall has also been interviewed recently, causing a bit of a stir over there. The pessimists are coming out of the HB woodwork re Lennon !

06-06-2016, 08:31 PM
Braehead Cabbage on Bounce (posting at 6.00 tonight) reckons McCall has also been interviewed recently, causing a bit of a stir over there. The pessimists are coming out of the HB woodwork re Lennon !

McCall couldn't be interviewed last week, as he was away with Scotland, so maybe something in it

06-06-2016, 08:37 PM
McCall is even further out on the betting with skybet now, 25/1. Lennon still well clear at 1/5.

Marco G
06-06-2016, 08:38 PM
Not a thing, just getting nervous at the lack of info & the delay. Want a positive outcome. :agree:Sorry. Agree that the waiting is the worst part!

06-06-2016, 09:00 PM
Sorry. Agree that the waiting is the worst part!
Lennon still favourite with Sky Sports.

06-06-2016, 09:02 PM
mcCall hasn't been interviewed.

Finn2015
06-06-2016, 09:06 PM
Hope there is no truth in that. Please get Lennon signed!

06-06-2016, 09:12 PM

Was there truth that he was on the shortlist with Lennon and Malky Mackay then?

06-06-2016, 09:15 PM
Rumour this, rumour that. Nothing solid in the media. Face it, nobody has the slightest scooby who's in the frame or what is going on.

06-06-2016, 09:15 PM

These boys are in the FF Lower on the east side.

06-06-2016, 09:20 PM
McColl is the name next to MMc I'd prefer not to be near the club. There's as much push spoke about his ability to get us out the League as there is Neil Lennon's 'dodgy' past. Interviewing him may be, if it happened, a bit of politics to show we were fair to those that applied. I hope so.

06-06-2016, 10:03 PM
Rumour this, rumour that. Nothing solid in the media. Face it, nobody has the slightest scooby who's in the frame or what is going on.

When Underscore and The Cat both agree and are both confident then they are very rarely wrong

Both seem sure it's Lennon so I suspect he is the one....... However if he isn't happy with the assurances then we may end up having to look elsewhere

Think SMAXXA said it was Lennon and he is usually no far off the mark as well

CallumHibs07
06-06-2016, 10:09 PM

Good. Don't want that hun anywhere near our club.

07-06-2016, 12:10 PM

Why are you constantly trying to imply that all previous indiscretions be treated the same? Surely there is a difference? :confused:

Your post is like saying Derek Riordan is the same as Adam Johnson because they both appeared in court?

07-06-2016, 01:11 PM
Why are you constantly trying to imply that all previous indiscretions be treated the same? Surely there is a difference? :confused:

Your post is like saying Derek Riordan is the same as Adam Johnson because they both appeared in court?

Aye because thats what i'm saying. :rolleyes: Its the hypocrisy that we are all over the moon about winning the cup and Stokesy's two goals, yet are some of his actions and some of the things he's said any worse than say McKay's?

I dont care AT ALL who we appoint, as long as they get us up. And if that was Harold Shipman with Joseph Fritzel as his number 2 i wouldnt give a toss.

07-06-2016, 01:15 PM
Aye because thats what i'm saying. :rolleyes: Its the hypocrisy that we are all over the moon about winning the cup and Stokesy's two goals, yet are some of his actions and some of the things he's said any worse than say McKay's?

I dont care AT ALL who we appoint, as long as they get us up. And if that was Harold Shipman with Joseph Fritzel as his number 2 i wouldnt give a toss.

Well at least the management team would have that 'killer instinct' but I reckon their man management abilities would leave a lot to be desired.

07-06-2016, 01:24 PM
Well at least the management team would have that 'killer instinct' but I reckon their man management abilities would leave a lot to be desired.

Not sure about Fritzl as number 2 to be honest. I think we need someone who takes no prisoners.

Finn2015
07-06-2016, 01:26 PM
Not sure about Fritzl as number 2 to be honest. I think we need someone who takes no prisoners.

Wouldn't want him to be involved with the youth set up either

07-06-2016, 01:27 PM

I'm trying to think of anything Stokes has said or done that is comparable to MacKay to be honest.

07-06-2016, 01:30 PM
Luke Shanley just on SSN. Said no announcements would be made today and it would be tomorrow at the earliest.

Finn2015
07-06-2016, 01:35 PM
Luke Shanley just on SSN. Said no announcements would be made today and it would be tomorrow at the earliest.

We'll have to have faith that hibs will deliver. These things take time I suppose

07-06-2016, 01:36 PM
Get the feeling mulling it over, has become hedging his bets. Hibs need to get him on board pronto or move onto someone who really wants the job.:agree:

greenflyer
07-06-2016, 01:41 PM

What is the meaning of a sociopath?

DSM-IV Definition. Antisocial personality disorder is characterized by a lack of regard for the moral or legal standards in the local culture. There is a marked inability to get along with others or abide by societal rules. Individuals with this disorder are sometimes called psychopaths or sociopaths.

07-06-2016, 01:47 PM
John Kennedy won't be joining him he's staying at the wee Greens

07-06-2016, 01:51 PM

Fair enough, but it's not hypocrisy.

People are perfectly entitled to draw distinctions here.

07-06-2016, 02:05 PM
So he's meeting with LD and GC today. Sounds like this was always the plan then. Answer today then announce tomorrow, or put plan B into action.

07-06-2016, 02:07 PM
So he's meeting with LD and GC today. Sounds like this was always the plan then. Answer today then announce tomorrow, or put plan B into action.

Who is plan B?

07-06-2016, 02:08 PM
John Kennedy won't be joining him he's staying at the wee Greens

Interesting I wonder who will be joining him, would assume Garry Parker and one other. Steve Walford with Ireland at euros. Unlikely Mjallby if he has a job in Sweden IMO.

07-06-2016, 02:09 PM
Who is plan B?

He is a rapper/actor was in the new Sweeney

07-06-2016, 02:12 PM
Who is plan B?

Personally dont know, but Kenny Millar seems to think that we have one in place and would still have a manager in this week :aok:

07-06-2016, 02:12 PM
He is a rapper/actor was in the new Sweeney

[emoji6][emoji106][emoji106]

07-06-2016, 02:13 PM
Personally dont know, but Kenny Millar seems to think that we have one in place and would still have a manager in this week :aok:

Cheers ! [emoji106][emoji106]

07-06-2016, 02:21 PM
I'm trying to think of anything Stokes has said or done that is comparable to MacKay to be honest.

With Stokes, it's less about what he says and more about the company he keeps back home in Dublin.

07-06-2016, 03:52 PM
Could be way off the mark here, but read an interview given by Stuart McCall recently stating he is ready for a return to management, wants a "Bigger" club than one that considers "avoiding relegation" as a successful season. Went on to say that he enjoyed his time at Motherwell, but felt it didn't matter what he/team did, they would still be playing in front of 5,000 home fans and wants a Club with potential to improve and increase fan base. Said quite a few other things as well, just can't recall all of them. However, I may have been reading the interview through Hibs - Tinted glasses, but I definetely formed the opinion he was talking about taking us over. Wouldn't be a bad appointment imo. May well be our "Plan B"

LustForLeith
07-06-2016, 03:56 PM
Could be way off the mark here, but read an interview given by Stuart McCall recently stating he is ready for a return to management, wants a "Bigger" club than one that considers "avoiding relegation" as a successful season. Went on to say that he enjoyed his time at Motherwell, but felt it didn't matter what he/team did, they would still be playing in front of 5,000 home fans and wants a Club with potential to improve and increase fan base. Said quite a few other things as well, just can't recall all of them. However, I may have been reading the interview through Hibs - Tinted glasses, but I definetely formed the opinion he was talking about taking us over. Wouldn't be a bad appointment imo. May well be our "Plan B"

I think you may be right. Surely a lot cheaper than Lennon. Get the feeling Lennon is perhaps holding out for an offer elsewhere or more money. Or a hero.

07-06-2016, 04:02 PM
I think you may be right. Surely a lot cheaper than Lennon. Get the feeling Lennon is perhaps holding out for an offer elsewhere or more money. Or a hero.

Any financial offer we make to Lennon will surely be a lot less than his last two contracts, never mind the money he was on as a player.

He will want to be convinced that he can win the Championship with us this coming season. His reputation is at stake. For me, the sticking points will be more about his backroom staff and players he can bring in.

07-06-2016, 04:04 PM

McCall is 25/1 with the bookies behind 6 or 7 others, with Lennon now being almost as short as Stubbs was to Rotheram. Given how far down the road we are, the closest SMc is getting to ER next year is our Europa Semi with Sevilla :greengrin

07-06-2016, 04:06 PM
Any financial offer we make to Lennon will surely be a lot less than his last two contracts, never mind the money he was on as a player.

He will want to be convinced that he can win the Championship with us this coming season. His reputation is at stake. For me, the sticking points will be more about his backroom staff and players he can bring in.

think this is right...if he signs up, it will be because he has been convinced he will get the right backing to win the league....and if he doesn't then I suspect it's about budget more than wages...

07-06-2016, 04:10 PM

Want Hibs to push as hard as possible to get the best man they can. Not interested in them save a few quid. If it's Lennon, we all know we're going to be watching some new, good quality signings for next season to ensure promo. Want no room for doubt and hope we storm the league just as the Yams did 2 yrs ago.

07-06-2016, 04:18 PM
Want Hibs to push as hard as possible to get the best man they can. Not interested in them save a few quid. If it's Lennon, we all know we're going to be watching some new, good quality signings for next season to ensure promo. Want no room for doubt and hope we storm the league just as the Yams did 2 yrs ago.

There's no point appointing Lennon now for him to take the hump in a few months and have another John Collins situation.

Our budget is what it is and if he can squeeze a bit extra out the board then great but there has to be a cut off point.

I assume there's discussions around what money he'd get in the event of player sales but I'm not sure how they would go.

07-06-2016, 06:58 PM
BBC website now saying Lennon close to being appointed.

147lothian
07-06-2016, 07:00 PM
As the new manager will be given the clear objective, get us out of the championship and back to the spl or the seasons a failure, I hope its Lennon, because his profile will make it more easy to attract players, I would like to see Tom Farmer withholding his 500k for this season though so that Lennon has a bit more scope to bring the players he identifies in.

Greenworld
07-06-2016, 07:08 PM
What is the meaning of a sociopath?

DSM-IV Definition. Antisocial personality disorder is characterized by a lack of regard for the moral or legal standards in the local culture. There is a marked inability to get along with others or abide by societal rules. Individuals with this disorder are sometimes called psychopaths or sociopaths.
Yup u seem to qualify

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

07-06-2016, 07:12 PM
There's no point appointing Lennon now for him to take the hump in a few months and have another John Collins situation.

Our budget is what it is and if he can squeeze a bit extra out the board then great but there has to be a cut off point.

I assume there's discussions around what money he'd get in the event of player sales but I'm not sure how they would go.

Lennon is no desperate mug. If Hibs can persuade him, then he'll be assured of the support needed to get us out of this league. Hibs Board will be highly motivated, having seen what happens in POs.

Also, NL might be a divisive character, but he has a v high profile and will add hundreds if not thousands to our gate and be able to pull players to Hibs that few other managers could. All good.

07-06-2016, 07:12 PM
BBC website now saying Lennon close to being appointed.

Good good Andy :aok:

Finn2015
07-06-2016, 07:13 PM
Genuinely excited about this. Hope it's completed tomorrow

w pilton hibby
07-06-2016, 07:15 PM
Get the feeling Lennon is perhaps holding out for an offer elsewhere or more money. Or a hero.

Or possibly what was happening with his preferred assistant?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36469675

07-06-2016, 07:17 PM
Just caught the tail end of a report on SSN and they are talking as if he has been appointed?

07-06-2016, 07:18 PM
Or possibly what was happening with his preferred assistant?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36469675http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36474718

Ell_Chrisso
07-06-2016, 07:20 PM
Just caught the tail end of a report on SSN and they are talking as if he has been appointed?

Just caught that too

07-06-2016, 07:34 PM

Same here. Got excited about that but no comfirmed news yet...Sky Sports "sources" saying that we're waiting a decision from Lennon now so it appears to be in his court

07-06-2016, 07:50 PM
Same here. Got excited about that but no comfirmed news yet...

Just caught that too

As I said I only saw the tail end - how did the start it? I came straight in here expecting to see the official he's signed thread after hearing it.

Finn2015
07-06-2016, 07:56 PM
Surely will hear something very soon. Please lol

07-06-2016, 08:04 PM
As I said I only saw the tail end - how did the start it? I came straight in here expecting to see the official he's signed thread after hearing it.

Started with the Sky Sport sources understand...talks have taken place and now the decision is with Lennon. Must admit it looked like Sky jumped the gun a bit

07-06-2016, 08:12 PM
not sure if its been mentioned but the book is closed on next hibs manager...

07-06-2016, 08:14 PM
The idea of Malky Mckay would never ever fly with Leeann btw. You couldn't find a more Pro-Equality Director of a Football club.... More chance of her trying to sign of Martin Oneil.

Hibstrooper
07-06-2016, 08:21 PM
The idea of Malky Mckay would never ever fly with Leeann btw. You couldn't find a more Pro-Equality Director of a Football club.... More chance of her trying to sign of Martin Oneil.

So does that mean that reports of him being considered are wide of the mark?

I wonder who is under consideration outside of Lennon or whether all the focus is getting that over the line

07-06-2016, 10:05 PM
Announcement tomorrow according to that Agent Scotland chap.

Nutmegged
07-06-2016, 10:08 PM

Let it be!!!

Neil Lennon is big time for us.

07-06-2016, 10:19 PM
Oh man I hope he lives up to the billing.

'Mon Lenny!

07-06-2016, 11:11 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CkYk03BWkAAZb2Y.jpg:large

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/7197193/Neil-Lennon-agrees-to-become-the-new-Hibs-manager.html

Nutmegged
07-06-2016, 11:23 PM

He's now confirmed it's Neil Lennon

07-06-2016, 11:25 PM

He got the scoop there, eh? :greengrin

Nutmegged
07-06-2016, 11:38 PM
He got the scoop there, eh? :greengrin

To be fair, I mentioned this in the thread a while ago but he/she was the first person I saw even discusing the merits Lennon would bring before he was even linked, tbh I din't care who scooped it, I'm over the moon :greengrin

livi hibs 1875
08-06-2016, 12:00 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CkYk03BWkAAZb2Y.jpg:large

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/7197193/Neil-Lennon-agrees-to-become-the-new-Hibs-manager.html
45 mins and hardly any reply, looks like lots of hibee fans are in for a wee suprise when they wake lol, WELCOME TO THE SCOTTISH CUP HOLDERS :thumbsup:

08-06-2016, 12:13 AM
45 mins and hardly any reply, looks like lots of hibee fans are in for a wee suprise when they wake lol, WELCOME TO THE SCOTTISH CUP HOLDERS :thumbsup:

Sun readers ken whits going on? :greengrin

I think he will be a great manager for us.

08-06-2016, 12:14 AM
If he was to bring back Hendo and Sparky. :hyper

08-06-2016, 12:15 AM
Heaven knows I've eaten my words many times before (probably why I'm so ******g fat) but I'm really excited about this. Welcome, Neil! (if this proves to be true).

h185forever
08-06-2016, 12:18 AM

who ?

08-06-2016, 12:20 AM
Real show of intent from the club- happy with this!

TheFamous1875
08-06-2016, 12:20 AM
who ?

Agent Scotland

08-06-2016, 12:21 AM
I admit to not even thinking of Lennon when Stubbs left and though it is an appointment that will not be welcomed universally by Hibs fans I think it shows a real commitment by the club to win this division THIS year.

I also confess i am rather excited.

08-06-2016, 12:32 AM
who ?

Former Celtc manager...

JJP
08-06-2016, 12:39 AM
Had a look on Kerrydale Street to see what the Celtic fans were making of Lennon coming here. Vast majority see it as a major coup for us and think he will do very well here. Here's hoping they are correct (if he is officially appointed).

08-06-2016, 01:14 AM

He has access to The Sun's website, wow!

Mathias Jack
08-06-2016, 01:43 AM
Bet Victor still running a market...£200 on that bad boy, £50 back guaranteed!

https://www.betvictor.mobi/#/sports/3/meetings/126456098/events/718656000

Purehibee_MYB
08-06-2016, 04:33 AM
I never fully believe it until I see it from the club itself but I'm highly excited by this

Finn2015
08-06-2016, 05:00 AM
I'm still cautious....

Greenworld
08-06-2016, 05:04 AM
Well for such a headline it's quite in here.hope it's true onwards and upwards looking forward to a couple of great signings

08-06-2016, 05:13 AM
really hoping it's just confirmed now.. would be bizarre for Kenny Millar to be pressing it as confirmed and done if it wasn't, he's normally pretty good with Hibs stuff despite the rag he works for

08-06-2016, 05:27 AM
What a coup. I know two guys buying season tickets when all is confirmed, sure there will be plenty more doing the same as well.

Super_JMcGinn
08-06-2016, 05:38 AM
What a coup. I know two guys buying season tickets when all is confirmed, sure there will be plenty more doing the same as well.
Why :confused:

08-06-2016, 05:42 AM

Why would people buy season tickets?

08-06-2016, 05:43 AM

Wouldn't be me but I assume it's because a lot of people want to see signs of ambition from the board before committing.

08-06-2016, 05:46 AM
Wouldn't be me but I assume it's because a lot of people want to see signs of ambition from the board before committing.

Folk that are still saying that sort of thing are pure bull****ters. We've just won the Scottish Cup and we signed the likes of John McGinn and Anthony Stokes. I think we've got a decent track record on ambition recently.

08-06-2016, 05:47 AM
Great news to wake up to! I'm not going to deny that I did not like him as a player or a manager but I'm delighted he'll be in our dug out when the season starts and not the oppositions. Hats of to Dempster and Co for making this happen, if this appointment does not excite and encourage the doubters to return following a Scottish Cup win I don't know what will!

Greenworld
08-06-2016, 05:49 AM
Because they love Hibs and the Neil Lennon appointment sits well with them.

08-06-2016, 05:50 AM
I hope we've got in the contract that he must wear a black or navy Paul Smith suit on match day. I'm not a big fan of the 'Fenlon' joggers, rolled down socks and football boots look that Lennon normally likes to rock.

Finn2015
08-06-2016, 05:51 AM
Why would people buy season tickets?

Why is the earth round and why does toast always land on the buttered side when you drop it?

Santa Cruz
08-06-2016, 05:56 AM
I've copied the text of the Sun website to save folk clickin on the website.

NEIL LENNON has agreed to become Hibs’ new manager.

SunSport understands Lennon finally decided last night to make a sensational return to Scottish football, two years after leaving his post at Celtic.

And he is expected to be confirmed as Alan Stubbs’ successor today.

We revealed online last Wednesday the 44-year-old had been approached by the Hibees and was keen on the job.

He met with Easter Road chief executive Leeann Dempster and director of football George Craig on Friday.

They made it clear he was their top choice as they look to win promotion to the top flight. And last night he gave them the answer they’ve been waiting for.

Securing Lennon, who left Bolton in March, is a massive coup for Hibs and certain to excite a support still celebrating last month’s Scottish Cup triumph over Rangers.

Lennon lost out to Brendan Rodgers for a return to Celtic.

Now he is excited by the potential at Easter Road, having admired the stadium, training ground and fanbase.

h18sajrb
08-06-2016, 06:04 AM
Sky Sports also confirming http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/10307217/neil-lennon-named-hibernian-manager-on-wednesday

Eaststand
08-06-2016, 06:15 AM
Why is the earth round and why does toast always land on the buttered side when you drop it?

If that happens, it's cos you're buttering the wrong side of your toast mate ☺

Dave Allen, 1973 👍

Callum7
08-06-2016, 06:16 AM
As it says:agree:168821688316884

Finn2015
08-06-2016, 06:40 AM
If that happens, it's cos you're buttering the wrong side of your toast mate ☺

Dave Allen, 1973 👍

Knew it was my fault 😋

08-06-2016, 06:49 AM
I hope we've got in the contract that he must wear a black or navy Paul Smith suit on match day. I'm not a big fan of the 'Fenlon' joggers, rolled down socks and football boots look that Lennon normally likes to rock.

Emphatically seconded. There should be no place for slipshod standards in the ER technical area.

08-06-2016, 06:55 AM
Magic if this is confirmed

OtleyHibs
08-06-2016, 06:58 AM
Will be checking .net all day at work until official announcement. Think this will be a great appointment for us and may even encourage a few players to stick around.

Also, after some of the ridiculous decisions that have gone against us the past few years will be good to have someone willing to speak up and question them going forward.

Super_JMcGinn
08-06-2016, 07:01 AM
Because they love Hibs and the Neil Lennon appointment sits well with them.

If they love Hibs it shouldn't take Neil Lennon's appointment to persuade them to buy a season ticket.

Stanton
08-06-2016, 07:03 AM
Magic if this is confirmed

Would be an a outstanding appointment if we land him.
anyone saying otherwise either does not have a clue about football or is a jambo or a Hun

08-06-2016, 07:03 AM
If they love Hibs it shouldn't take Neil Lennon's appointment to persuade them to buy a season ticket.

Maybe more about who not appointed. If, for example, we had gone for Jimmy Calderwood, I think many would have thought twice about renewing.

An inspired appointment like Lennon builds on the Scottish Cup momentum.

Greenworld
08-06-2016, 07:04 AM
Who cares the reason I'm not going to knock anyone for buying season tickets what a strange attitude

08-06-2016, 07:08 AM
Great piece of business by LD & GC. This is an exciting signing by Hibs. Now let's get to over 10000 ST to help match the ambition shown by the board. His target for me is promotion. Then anything else would be an amazing bonus.

08-06-2016, 07:08 AM
Maybe more about who not appointed. If, for example, we had gone for Jimmy Calderwood, I think many would have thought twice about renewing.

An inspired appointment like Lennon builds on the Scottish Cup momentum.

Calderwood always tends to wear a smart suit though.

Super_JMcGinn
08-06-2016, 07:10 AM
Would be an a outstanding appointment if we land him.anyone saying otherwise either does not have a clue about football or is a jambo or a HunA jambo or a hun ? really ? He wouldn't have been my choice and I can assure you I'm neither.

08-06-2016, 07:11 AM
A jambo or a hun ? really ? He wouldn't have been my choice and I can assure you I'm neither.

Yes, but you have already shown that you fall into the first category mentioned. :greengrin

08-06-2016, 07:12 AM
A jambo or a hun ? really ? He wouldn't have been my choice and I can assure you I'm neither.

Out of interest who was your first choice?

08-06-2016, 07:15 AM
Poor Gail may top himself over the next couple of days.

08-06-2016, 07:15 AM

He gave you three choices, you may not be a Jambo or a Hun, however your ramblings about Paul Hanlon show you don't have much of a scooby regarding football! You don't want the man who is the most successful manager in Scottish Football from the last decade in charge of our club? Weird!!