View Full Version : Official Site: CLUB STATEMENT: ALAN STUBBS

Pages : 1 [2]

30-05-2016, 07:49 PM
I think Stubbs will listen to hear the offer from Rotherham and weigh everything up before making a decision. I think the odds are 50/50 whether he stays or goes.

Like others have said however, if he's wanting to talk to Rotherham then even if he stays, it's only a matter of time before he leaves us for a better offer. This could be at any point in the close season or worse still during next season, which would screw up our chances of winning the league.

Best that he goes now I think to maximise our chances of being ready for next season.

the fact we've likely spent 3 days trying to convince him to stay and 'reluctantly' given him permission to talk to them says 90% done to me.

30-05-2016, 07:51 PM
Hope he stays don't think he will achieve much there in that league, more money and big games I suppose is the pull.
If he stays and gets us promoted the bigger clubs will come calling

Finn2015
30-05-2016, 07:52 PM
Trying to stay positive but the fact he wants to talk to them is depressing and surely means there is a better than evens chance he is for the off.

30-05-2016, 07:53 PM
Hope he stays don't think he will achieve much there in that league, more money and big games I suppose is the pull.
If he stays and gets us promoted the bigger clubs will come calling

If he gets us promoted. He stays and fails to get us up then that will do nobody any help. He will not take that gamble for me thats disappointing but his stock is high now.

crewetollhibee
30-05-2016, 07:54 PM
To be fair if he decides to go to Rotherham he is an absolute nutter...just about the crappiest place I have ever had the misfortune to visit.

Agreed, but he'd be going there to manage a football club, not work as a tour guide.

murray26
30-05-2016, 07:56 PM
Sad to see him go but he'll leave a legend.. All about getting the right man in now..

30-05-2016, 07:57 PM
If he gets us promoted. He stays and fails to get us up then that will do nobody any help. He will not take that gamble for me thats disappointing but his stock is high now.

Is a gamble but we know and all the others know we will be pushing for top and bound to do it,but the money they will be offering will be prob a lot more than us,and it always comes down to money nowadays

30-05-2016, 07:59 PM
Any manager is a gamble. Any experienced manager will likely have some sort of failure on his CV or else he won't be within our reach.

The benefit of someone like a Stubbs or Mowbray is they have that hunger to succeed. Does McCall really have that? Not sure.

If we're looking at Scottish managers would Jim McIntyre be worth a look? I dunno.

I'd hope Craig and Dempster have another ex player, young coach with a bit of stature candidate lined up.

I agree that any manager is a gamble. But another inexperienced manager would concern me. Tommy Wright if we could persuade him would be another strong choice for me but think we'll get McCall

SloopJB
30-05-2016, 08:00 PM
the fact we've likely spent 3 days trying to convince him to stay and 'reluctantly' given him permission to talk to them says 90% done to me.
I've done it four times now and I keep getting 57.83%

PiemanP
Not good news for keeping Paul Hanlon either.

John Doolan? Minimal squad upheaval.

John Doolan please

Based on what? Celebrating a bit and showing some passion? Has Doolan even ever been an assistant?

Folk need to chill the **** out and realise that Stubbs leaving wouldn't be the end of the world. The Scottish Cup is amazing and will be remembered for the rest of our lives. The fact remains though that Stubbs has failed to get us promoted twice.

30-05-2016, 08:01 PM

Paul Hanlon plays for Hibs, not Alan Stubbs

ionahibby
I am not actually bothered if he goes, I am more bothered about the replacement as they have to get us up and it simply has to be as champions, playoffs are a gamble.

Same here I'm more worried we get the wrong candidate and it all goes Pete tong and we really aren't in the position to give somebody time if we go on a bad run. The right candidate is crucial.

Based on what? Celebrating a bit and showing some passion? Has Doolan even ever been an assistant?

Folk need to chill the **** out and realise that Stubbs leaving wouldn't be the end of the world. The Scottish Cup is amazing and will be remembered for the rest of our lives. The fact remains though that Stubbs has failed to get us promoted twice.

30-05-2016, 08:02 PM
Surely one day supporting Hibs won't feel like a roller coaster ride!

I feel sorry for LD and RP. At 90+4 they were looking forward to a glorious summer holiday, but instead they've had to deal with the Inquiry stuff, this in the background and now likely recruiting a replacement (although RP will be able to avoid that).

We're some club!

30-05-2016, 08:02 PM
I'll throw something else in. How must he feel? He's delivered the cup as a result he saw the huge potential of hibs. Yet he knows that next year he won't get a tenth of that at easter road. He must be pulling his hair out

PiemanP
30-05-2016, 08:03 PM

I think people are more worried about the disharmony amongst the playing squad. Doolan would offer some consistency.

SJM
30-05-2016, 08:05 PM

Forster will be back tho.

30-05-2016, 08:06 PM
I think people are more worried about the disharmony amongst the playing squad. Doolan would offer some consistency.

pretty sure Doolan is Stubbs's brother in law...he will go where Stubbs goes....

He's turned down Hibs offer

Lee Marvin

I think forsters contract is up. So he won't be.

Confident hanlon will resign. Doubt stubbs will want to take him to championship

30-05-2016, 08:07 PM
Tam McManus ‏@The_Tman10 2m2 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/The_Tman10/status/737374136075444224) Stubbs be back up the road tmw binned Rotherham staying at Hibs and il be deleting the last 50 tweets https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f602.png

SJM
30-05-2016, 08:07 PM
pretty sure Doolan is Stubbs's brother in law...he will go where Stubbs goes....

Part of the reasoning of Stubbs leaving is Doolan wanting back down South and his loyalty to him.

30-05-2016, 08:08 PM

If we start appointing unqualified head coaches based on keeping a particular squad, at a particular moment in time, happy, Dempster and Craig aren't a tenth as competent as I think they are.

SJM
30-05-2016, 08:08 PM
I think forsters contract is up. So he won't be.

Confident hanlon will resign. Doubt stubbs will want to take him to championship

Forster has been offered a new deal. He will be a hibs player if the manager wants him.

30-05-2016, 08:09 PM
pretty sure Doolan is Stubbs's brother in law...

He's not.

30-05-2016, 08:09 PM
Forster has been offered a new deal. He will be a hibs player if the manager wants him.

He's turned it down, Hibs only offered it because they get compensation if he moves on

30-05-2016, 08:10 PM

Folk need to chill the **** out and realise that Stubbs leaving wouldn't be the end of the world. The Scottish Cup is amazing and will be remembered for the rest of our lives. The fact remains though that Stubbs has failed to get us promoted twice.Well we're not going to get LVG are we? We're in the bargain bin for managers always.People who have at least one managerial fail or rookies.

SJM
30-05-2016, 08:11 PM
He's turned down Hibs offer

Not what I've been told. I think he will be back under a new manager. Stephen McManus also fits the bill. Been after him for years.

30-05-2016, 08:11 PM
I'll throw something else in. How must he feel? He's delivered the cup as a result he saw the huge potential of hibs. Yet he knows that next year he won't get a tenth of that at easter road. He must be pulling his hair out

He could have helped that by having better league campaigns and scoring more goals.

Anyway, I think Rotherham must get less fans than us!

30-05-2016, 08:12 PM
I agree that any manager is a gamble. But another inexperienced manager would concern me. Tommy Wright if we could persuade him would be another strong choice for me but think we'll get McCall

Wright certainly done great job at St Johnstone.

I think we've just become total cynics as in the last 25 years we've made maybe 4 successful appointments out of what, a dozen?!

Hopefully Dempster can break this cycle

SJM
He's turned it down, Hibs only offered it because they get compensation if he moves on

Under Stubbs, correct. He wants back at hibs, didn't want to go In the first place.

Not what I've been told. I think he will be back under a new manager. Stephen McManus also fits the bill. Been after him for years.

I've been told otherwise, was offered a 2 year deal before he went to Plymouth, but turned it down
Be surprised if he plays for Hibs again

30-05-2016, 08:13 PM

Forster doesn't have the game awareness or mobility to play regularly for us..

SJM
30-05-2016, 08:14 PM
I've been told otherwise, was offered a 2 year deal before he went to Plymouth, but turned it down

Fair enough. I know he was told in the summer he's surplus. I know he wants to be back though.

If he thinks like that he's a loser.

Any ambitious manager would look at the cup parade scenes and see huge potential.

SJM
Forster doesn't have the game awareness or mobility to play regularly for us..

He's learning the game. I think he will end up a great player if he stays injury free.

Heckys Wheel
30-05-2016, 08:15 PM

Watched the game today. Hard to judge somebody on 10 minutes (in which he was poor) but if he can't get into that team to start, he can't be up to much. That was a very poor standard today.

30-05-2016, 08:15 PM
Watched the game today. Hard to judge somebody on 10 minutes (in which he was poor) but if he can't get into that team to start, he can't be up to much. That was a very poor standard today.

He was brutal in the 10 mins he did get!

SJM
30-05-2016, 08:16 PM
If he thinks like that he's a loser.

Any ambitious manager would look at the cup parade scenes and see huge potential.

Any ambitious manager wouldn't stay in Scotland when he's an Englishman. How people can't see that is baffling.

30-05-2016, 08:16 PM
If he wants to talk to Rotherham then its best he leaves now. No point him coming back and taking us into a new season when he might be off at any moment when another club probably better than them come knocking.

Thanks for the memories Alan, now lets get the next man in quickly.

Says it all for me

If he is looking at going somewhere like Rotherham, its only a matter of time until an either a more appealing offer came along that he would take or his star falls so far that he stops getting offers in which case we would be punting him.

Time to move on

Thanks for the cup, but with the resources at your command you should also have had us out this league and failing to do is unforgiveable and will tarnish your legacy.

Heckys Wheel
30-05-2016, 08:18 PM

Absolutely rotten. Giving him the benefit of the doubt for coming into a massive game cold, but why is he not starting in league 2?

high bee
30-05-2016, 08:19 PM
Bournemouth are on the Premier League with 12k crowds. Stubbs is confident and ambitious, I would imagine he sees it as a 2 year plan, mid table this year and aim for a play off challenge next year. I'm sure his acceptance will be subject to sufficient financial backing, the TV money makes the crowds less significant.

The Hibs job next term is a good challenge. There is a definitive target it has to be finish 1st. Surely this is something that would interest many.

No black or white promotion with being first the real target.

Mark Venus? He was mentioned before Stubbs got the gig

30-05-2016, 08:21 PM
Mark Venus? He was mentioned before Stubbs got the gig

Has he ever managed a team

30-05-2016, 08:24 PM
Has he ever managed a team

We don't have a manager nowadays, we have a head coach, LD and Craig do all the player signings etc and the head coach and his team is left to just coach, it's the continental way, something Southampton and Swansea have done for a while now.

30-05-2016, 08:26 PM
Crazy the bookies had Stubbs at 1/10 to be Rotherham boss last week.

30-05-2016, 08:27 PM
We don't have a manager nowadays, we have a head coach, LD and Craig do all the player signings etc and the head coach and his team is left to just coach, it's the continental way, something Southampton and Swansea have done for a while now.

Almost, but not quite, Stubbs has always been consistent that he has final say in any signings

hibsmad
30-05-2016, 08:27 PM
Anyone think that part of Stubb's reasoning would be that he is worried about failing for a third time on promotion?

He has gotten away with it twice, including finishing behind Falkirk, because he managed to win the cup and because people have seen that we have been up against Sevco.

If he failed for a third time then I honestly think that Hibs would look to get rid, and where would that leave Stubbs? There certainly wouldn't be any offers coming in from the Championship in England!

Unfortunately managers need to take their opportunity when it comes along. It's a sore one to take but I can understand why he is interested in going there.

Thanks for the cup win, Alan! You will never be forgotten :flag:

30-05-2016, 08:30 PM
Anyone think that part of Stubb's reasoning would be that he is worried about failing for a third time on promotion?

He has gotten away with it twice, including finishing behind Falkirk, because he managed to win the cup and because people have seen that we have been up against Sevco.

If he failed for a third time then I honestly think that Hibs would look to get rid, and where would that leave Stubbs? There certainly wouldn't be any offers coming in from the Championship in England!

Unfortunately managers need to take their opportunity when it comes along. It's a sore one to take but I can understand why he is interested in going there.

Thanks for the cup win, Alan! You will never be forgotten :flag:

Indeed.

He must know there is now no margins for error and failing a 3rd time aint good. That said does he not believe in himself enough?

I think he will go.

That was against Akinfenwa, who was lugging Nade around in his stomach.

Has he ever coached a team then?

LustForLeith
30-05-2016, 08:31 PM

I very much doubt it Hanlon will be at Hibs next season.

30-05-2016, 08:32 PM

They sort out the paperwork side of things aye. But Stubbs decides Who he wants to sign and talks about The football side of things to them.

30-05-2016, 08:38 PM
Any ambitious manager wouldn't stay in Scotland when he's an Englishman. How people can't see that is baffling.

Is it not due to Rotherham being much closer to his family. I don't see it as a downer if he goes as we have a much better Base at this time than previous seasons and have enormous goodwill from the fans after the glorious cup win. We need the goalie situation sorted,another left back and replacements for henderson and stokes. I wonder what will happen about potential targets we had lined up. I just hope we get Stubbs situation sorted quickly and if he's going let's get the process of replacing him up and running. We could be pleasantly surprised at who applies. Yes Stubbs didn't get promoted but with sevco gone surely any decent manager must be very confident of promotion given the cup runs made it nigh impossible to go up the season just gone. Can't wait for all the ridiculous speculation on who will replace him.

30-05-2016, 08:39 PM
Really? That reeks of he's away to settle personal terms.

This for sure. Official talking doesn't really happen until everything has been been ironed out unofficially. I would include personal terms in that too. He's off. I assume we have been planning for such an eventuality in any case.

30-05-2016, 08:40 PM
Almost, but not quite, Stubbs has always been consistent that he has final say in any signings

I knew that, my point being all of the signings and paperwork is done for him

Briefly after Mowbray left Middlesborough, but Venus has always been Mowbray's 2nd in command.

They sort out the paperwork side of things aye. But Stubbs decides Who he wants to sign and talks about The football side of things to them.

As in my reply to bigwheel above.

30-05-2016, 08:42 PM
I very much doubt it Hanlon will be at Hibs next season.

Surely that depends on who the new guy is. Also depends what offers he has had from elsewhere. As with all players,if he wants to go elsewhere,good luck and we move on. Don't think he played as well as he had been playing at the end of the season.

LustForLeith
30-05-2016, 08:44 PM
Surely that depends on who the new guy is. Also depends what offers he has had from elsewhere. As with all players,if he wants to go elsewhere,good luck and we move on. Don't think he played as well as he had been playing at the end of the season.

This it was decided when Hibs fai!ed to get promoited

HibeeHendo
30-05-2016, 08:46 PM
Kenny Millar on Twitter saying Hibs are apparently not considering McCall. Don't know if someone's already mentioned this.

30-05-2016, 08:47 PM
My reading of the statement is that Stubbs is going. Probably means Doolan and Taff will go too.

I'd also wager that LD and GC will have anticipated this might happen and that potential replacements have been discussed. That would fit nicely into the forward planning strategy they have.

I hope we don't go for what used to be referred to as one of the 'Largs Mafia' as I'd rather see an up and coming young coach. I know some folk worry that it would be a risk but if the new man introduced width and pace he'd be half way there before he started!

Random names from me might include Eric Black.

As to players maybe leaving because of this I'm struggling to understand why loads of folk seem resigned to John McGinn departing? He's one year into a four year contract and his game is still developing. He himself has spoken of how things change in football and how you simply have to adjust. A fresh new coach could be just as useful to him if Stubbs leaves.

To Stubbs himself I say, thank you for your part in dragging our club out of the mire it was in when you arrived and thank you too for steering us to that glorious winning of the Scottish Cup.

30-05-2016, 08:47 PM

I personally think Hanlon will hang fire for one more season, Purely based on the fact he is one of us , He will know we have a bloody good shot 'this' time around off getting out this pishy little league and i'd wager hibs can pay more than most teams interested in him ( Scotland based)

But then again if he is out of contract its a whole new ball game ..Just got a feeling he's gonna hang around.

Fifehibby74
30-05-2016, 08:50 PM
Disappointing Ray mackinnon from Raith Rovers has joined Dundee United.

30-05-2016, 08:51 PM
If he's going to go I'd rather he went now.

I can't say I'm at all impressed - we hounded out Calderwood for his "sweeties" pish, Stubbs is basically saying the same thing.

If it was Forest, Blackburn or even Bolton I'd understand. It's not - it's a f*** all tin pot non-entity of a football club who are lucky to be where they are. It's not a step up or a stepping stone to anywhere.

It doesn't send a great signal to any of our players but I'm not convinced Stubbs will give a flying one.

Like the Scott Allan situation I always thought that there was something of an inevitability that we'd end up here eventually.

As I said, we've got a long way to go to get everything in order for the new season - if we're to have a period of uncertainty and turbulence then it's better that it happens now than in August.

My reading of the statement is that Stubbs is going. Probably means Doolan and Taff will go too.

I'd also wager that LD and GC will have anticipated this might happen and that potential replacements have been discussed. That would fit nicely into the forward planning strategy they have.

I hope we don't go for what used to be referred to as one of the 'Largs Mafia' as I'd rather see an up and coming young coach. I know some folk worry that it would be a risk but if the new man introduced width and pace he'd be half way there before he started!

Random names from me might include Eric Black.

As to players maybe leaving because of this I'm struggling to understand why loads of folk seem resigned to John McGinn departing? He's one year into a four year contract and his game is still developing. He himself has spoken of how things change in football and how you simply have to adjust. A fresh new coach could be just as useful to him if Stubbs leaves.

To Stubbs himself I say, thank you for your part in dragging our club out of the mire it was in when you arrived and thank you too for steering us to that glorious winning of the Scottish Cup.

:agree::top marks

McIntosh
What compensation will we receive for our three back room team - their full contracts?

30-05-2016, 08:53 PM
Kenny Millar on Twitter saying Hibs are apparently not considering McCall. Don't know if someone's already mentioned this.

I'd be surprised if they let on that they were considering anyone before the current manager had actually confirmed he was leaving.

seanshow
30-05-2016, 08:55 PM
The sad state of scottish football, when a manager leaves the Mighty Hibees to go to Rotherham wtf is going on, did we not get Gareth Evans from them back in the 90s.

Good luck to Stubbsy if he goes.

30-05-2016, 08:56 PM
The sad state of scottish football, when a manager leaves the Mighty Hibees to go to Rotherham wtf is going on, did we not get Gareth Evans from them back in the 90s.

Good luck to Stubbsy if he goes.

87 i hink, Scored on his debut tae

30-05-2016, 08:57 PM
Best of luck stubbsy,
Strange decision though that lacks ambition for me.

However as mentioned before regardless of manager Rotherham will not be in the English chship for much longer in my opinion.

30-05-2016, 08:58 PM
He's been 1/10 for this job for days now. Even before it was really mentioned in the press. Don't like the way Rotherham have gone about this. Clearly been at him for a while and obviously loose lips down south for the number of bets that have evidently been placed in the last week.

cmcd
30-05-2016, 08:58 PM

I'm sure I read a quote from Hanlon saying he would like to finish his career with Hibs

30-05-2016, 09:04 PM
I voted in the poll on here before the final that he should go regardless of the result. That unbelievable day at Hampden and the scenes in Leith have probably changed a lot of people's minds and I am maybe one of them. However, when I ask myself if I am confident that Stubbs will get us promoted next season the answer is no, not really.

If he goes he'll go with my best wishes and I'll always be grateful to him for giving me the best day of my life so far. If he does go it'll hardly be the end of the world though, even if he does come back and spend a bit money on a couple of our players - the players that finished below Falkirk over 36 games by the way. We have no superstars and no-one who is not replaceable should we get decent money from Rotherham or elsewhere.

Finn2015
30-05-2016, 09:07 PM
Have the bookies opened any betting for hibs next manager?

RMQ1967
30-05-2016, 09:12 PM
I don't think he'll go. Maybe wishful thinking but normally if it's a done deal there's usually a statement to say compensation has been agreed. That's noticeably missing from the club statement. Hopefully speaking to them out of courtesy.

30-05-2016, 09:13 PM
Best of luck stubbsy,
Strange decision though that lacks ambition for me.

However as mentioned before regardless of manager Rotherham will not be in the English chship for much longer in my opinion.

If he keeps them in the league then he'll have proven himself in that league and be in with a shout of a big job. Even more so if he gets top 10.

Galahibby
30-05-2016, 09:13 PM
I think football fans are to precious about players and managers talking to other potential employers. The rules are so easily bypassed they should just be scrapped.

Fair enough, but the rules are there at the moment, and I don't see how the Rotherham chairman can reasonably say that running his gob off to The Sun is doing it the "right way". Whether he goes or not now his position is surely untenable, which wouldnt have been the case if the approach hadn't been made public.

30-05-2016, 09:14 PM
I'd be surprised if they let on that they were considering anyone before the current manager had actually confirmed he was leaving.

exactly what i am thinking, I'm sure leeann would be keeping the cards close to her chest even if stubbs did leave

30-05-2016, 09:15 PM
I saw John Collins and Mrs JC in Edinburgh city centre on the Friday morning before the cup final and a few minutes later saw Petrie. Maybe just coincidence. I couldn't see JC getting head coach role and we already have George Craig as DoF.

Stax
30-05-2016, 09:20 PM
Rotherham, ffs... Sorry but come on, English football has been on steroids for years but dearie me. I'd have hoped he'd set his sights a bit higher but hey ho. Wish him well if he goes but just a sad indictment of the state of the game / finances in Scotland

Chip shop Joe
30-05-2016, 09:21 PM
As long as he does not mention anything about a bag of sweets then he will go with my best wishes and thanks for an amazing day last weekend!

30-05-2016, 09:21 PM
If stubbs goes i really hope hibs get an experienced manager that will get us promoted as feel a young rookie manager/coach wont. We CANT afford to bot get promoted bst season

Stubbsyy
30-05-2016, 09:24 PM
Good luck to him whatever he chooses.

He may feel that's it's the right time. To leave a legend. I actually think he'd manage promotion next season if he stays.

Hutchie
30-05-2016, 09:28 PM
good luck Stubbsy!

Deeks and Goc for next management team?

Nobody has mentioned Mowbray ? Have him in a heartbeat

30-05-2016, 09:29 PM
Imagine Rotherham being seen as a step up from Hibs!

Finn2015
30-05-2016, 09:32 PM

Sad indictment of the times and the stock of Scottish football really

30-05-2016, 09:32 PM
If you're entertaining bids from other clubs then thanks for everything Alan, but it's time to leave.

I wish Stubbs all the best in his future endeavours.

Eesti
30-05-2016, 09:34 PM
Mowbray never happen but this.

30-05-2016, 09:35 PM
I saw John Collins and Mrs JC in Edinburgh city centre on the Friday morning before the cup final and a few minutes later saw Petrie. Maybe just coincidence. I couldn't see JC getting head coach role and we already have George Craig as DoF.

I would rather have Gary ****ing Locke than John Collins !!!

Apart from that I have no idea who I would want ...... actually, yes I do .... I want Stubbs !!!

30-05-2016, 09:40 PM
Imagine Rotherham being seen as a step up from Hibs!An English championship club has always been a step up from a Scottish championship club.

West lower
30-05-2016, 09:41 PM
How about Gary McAllister ? He is highly regarded as a forward thinker, and I reckon he might fancy a crack at being his own man. Money probably an issue though. Same goes for Eric Black.

30-05-2016, 09:42 PM

Good point.

30-05-2016, 09:43 PM
This it was decided when Hibs fai!ed to get promoited

Maybe you should tell Paul cos nobody else has

30-05-2016, 09:44 PM
An English championship club has always been a step up from a Scottish championship club.

It hasn't always.

I seem to remember Steve Archibald turning down some good gigs to join us, none of them were in the old Second Division.

The Championship is currently the 5th biggest league in Europe though, miles ahead of even the top Scottish league currently, unfortunately for us.

30-05-2016, 09:47 PM

Rearrange these words to form a sentence.

30-05-2016, 09:48 PM

Had Stubbs before he came here?

30-05-2016, 09:49 PM
It hasn't always.

I seem to remember Steve Archibald turning down some good gigs to join us, none of them were in the old Second Division.

The Championship is currently the 5th biggest league in Europe though, miles ahead of even the top Scottish league currently, unfortunately for us.

Stevie Archibald wouldnt have been interested in Hibs if we were in the second tier at the time though.

30-05-2016, 10:28 PM
I reckon McGinn and Cummings will go whether Stubbs stays or not if we get the right offers for them.

Hibs great for managing the cup winning team. I'd take McCall.My God, Hibs manager approached by permission of Hibernian fc, by Rotherham fc. then you already have our team in disarray and on the brink of meltdown. don't know how we are going to survive this one folks. prepare for armaggedon, ther'll be bodies floatin' down the Jordan river.

mghibs
30-05-2016, 10:37 PM
Just when things were beginning to look rosy as well.. Ah well

30-05-2016, 11:07 PM
Just when things were beginning to look rosy as well.. Ah well

Spot on..... it's as if we aren't allowed to be happy for God sake! No doubt we'll get someone in who'll need time to assess the squad, stamp his own authority on the team etc in the meantime we'll have been pumped out of Europe and no doubt "start the league slowly" as players gel.

30-05-2016, 11:15 PM
An English championship club has always been a step up from a Scottish championship club.

Rotherham are a Championship Club in the way that Dumbarton are a Scottish Championship Club. Punching well above their weight and the only way is down.

30-05-2016, 11:44 PM
If he's going to go I'd rather he went now.

I can't say I'm at all impressed - we hounded out Calderwood for his "sweeties" pish, Stubbs is basically saying the same thing.

If it was Forest, Blackburn or even Bolton I'd understand. It's not - it's a f*** all tin pot non-entity of a football club who are lucky to be where they are. It's not a step up or a stepping stone to anywhere.

It doesn't send a great signal to any of our players but I'm not convinced Stubbs will give a flying one.

Like the Scott Allan situation I always thought that there was something of an inevitability that we'd end up here eventually.

As I said, we've got a long way to go to get everything in order for the new season - if we're to have a period of uncertainty and turbulence then it's better that it happens now than in August.What same thing is he basically saying?:confused: he has been approached by another club. what has he said? last stuff I think he said was something like....there are people behind this club, that have big ambitions for the club. does not mean, btw i'm off or therefor i'm staying the course but I don't think he can be accused of saying anything derogatory about our club.

30-05-2016, 11:46 PM
Rotherham are a Championship Club in the way that Dumbarton are a Scottish Championship Club. Punching well above their weight and the only way is down.Pish. They are as much a championship club as Leeds, Derby and now Newcastle. I'd rather be punching above my weight than well below my potential.

Neil Warnock is a far higher caliber of manager than Stubbs and he took the gig, probably would still have it if his wife wasn't ill.

connerg
31-05-2016, 12:12 AM
English Championship or Scottish Championship? No comparison really.

31-05-2016, 12:23 AM
What compensation will we receive for our three back room team - their full contracts?

Unless its been negotiated prior giving Stubbs permission to speak the max we can expect we'd get the remainder of his contract, which I think has a year to run. So in the bigger scheme of things not a lot!

31-05-2016, 12:30 AM
Well all those shouting for AS's head have got their wish.
AS - thanks for the Scottish Cup. A day I'll always remember.

I expected you'd be off this summer having been here two seasons away from the family.
He's served his apprenticeship as a manager and has a decent win ratio and has won trophy.
His stock is high. If it's not Rotherham it will be someone else, his heads turned so time to part waves.

31-05-2016, 12:37 AM

Yep, and I think a few people automatically dismissed the possibility of him being interested in the post out of ignorance and emotion rather than look at it objectively

Alan Stubbs has ambitions to coach in the EPLhe is 44 and knows he has to raise his profile in England.the second tier of Scottish football is not exactly a shop window on the High Street....despite our emotional involvement in it.

I'm sur in his grand vision he has hopes to pull Rotherham up the table a bit in the next two years, then get a gig at a club who are genuine promotion candidates in the Championship.....

31-05-2016, 12:38 AM

Yep, and I think a few people automatically dismissed the possibility of him being interested in the post out of ignorance and emotion rather than look at it objectively

Alan Stubbs has ambitions to coach in the EPLhe is 44 and knows he has to raise his profile in Englathe second tier of Scottish football is not exactly a shop window on the High Street....despite our emotional involvement in it.

I'm sur in his grand vision he has hopes to pull Rotherham up the table a bit in the next two years, then get a gig at a club who are genuine promotion candidates in the Championship.....

31-05-2016, 12:43 AM

J-C Stubbs was the Manager. Doolan and Taff were the Coaches. If you ever spent any time in their company that was glaringly obvious. Southampton and Swansea are not actually the continental way. They are just very well run clubs with an excellent scouting structure. The continental way the "coach" doesn't select the players he signs. My understanding was that Stubbs had the final say on every player signed.

OsloHibs
31-05-2016, 02:04 AM
I feel sorry for leanne, the past 2 summers haven't been easy and this one doesn't look like it's gonna be any different... sending her all my happy vibes!

31-05-2016, 03:52 AM

Well Stubbsie obviously viewed it that way as he was interviewed for the position at the start of last October, and just missed out to Neil Redfearn.

Presumably Hibs were aware of it then too, so his willingness to move now shouldn't come as too much of a surprise...especially to our board who presumably gave him permission to speak to Rotherham back then.

31-05-2016, 05:21 AM
Rotherham ffs. Says little for Scottish football. Only Sky tv money make it so.

31-05-2016, 05:27 AM
I've always wondered why sky pumped so much money into English football but put nothing into Scotland. Two massive teams in Scotland that you would have thought they'd have loved to fund into global super powers in the same way they've done with the English teams. To me it would have made more sense to want strong top leagues all through Britain rather than just a rich pyramid in the one country. This is a result of that - teams like ourselves, Aberdeen and hearts who have the potential to be bigger than many of the teams that have made it in and around the EPL the last 10 years can't even compete with teams that I don't even know what colour they play in.

31-05-2016, 05:53 AM
My understanding was that Stubbs had the final say on every player signed.

He does, but the identification and scouting of players is done by Mathie and co and that structure will remain.

Thanks for the cup Alan, but time for someone who can crack this league.

31-05-2016, 06:38 AM
I still don't know why Stubbs's stock is so high, yeah the Scottish cup is an awesome achievement and one that will live with me forever but our overall performance in the league was unacceptable. If he gets found out by Peter Houston and Jim Duffy with a larger budget and better players than them I would be concerned about what he's capable of when things are up against it. I wish him well as he's a good guy but I just don't get it. I don't think he will be a huge loss to us either.

high bee
31-05-2016, 06:56 AM
I still don't know why Stubbs's stock is so high, yeah the Scottish cup is an awesome achievement and one that will live with me forever but our overall performance in the league was unacceptable. If he gets found out by Peter Houston and Jim Duffy with a larger budget and better players than them I would be concerned about what he's capable of when things are up against it. I wish him well as he's a good guy but I just don't get it. I don't think he will be a huge loss to us either.

This, lots of people wanted him gone after the playoff failure. Winning the holy grail after all that time has been something that no one will ever match. Still doesn't mean he's the right man to take us up.

Forget the "we were not prepared." If he goes, we move forward. Who wouldn't want to come and manage our squad in this league, anyone with a pinch of confidence would see it as a great chance to have a league and promotion win on their CV.

Get the right guy and we might actually start handing out some if the thrashings we all know we should've been.

31-05-2016, 07:03 AM

Alan Stubbs has ambitions to coach in the EPLhe is 44 and knows he has to raise his profile in England.the second tier of Scottish football is not exactly a shop window on the High Street....despite our emotional involvement in it.

But it could be argued it's just as much his fault we are still in the Championship...he is a legend for the cup win but I'd hoped he would have stayed one more year to finish the job he started and get us back up. Sadly no loyalty at all these days

31-05-2016, 07:23 AM
Think he'd be better coming back, signing a year extension and next year a club that wont struggle will come in. Rotherham may have a decent budget but so does every other team in the championship.

Islington Hibs
31-05-2016, 07:27 AM

This may sound strange but in my view results are fickle some good managers can still hit the buffers, and bad ones do OK. I think, given the starting point, Stubbs has done well. But the reason I think he will go far is a) he and his team have brought in good players on a very small budget (by UK standards). This team may at times be ponderous, but it is a football team, unlike many we have had and he has built it from scratch b) he inspires confidence in his players. he displays loyalty and thoughtfulness c) players seem to get on with him and want to play for him. Compare with Butchers/ Calderwood/ Fenlon's team where they were simply hired hands and not very good ones at that d) he has helped re-build Hibernian's pride from a probable 60 year low and helped re-connect with the supporter base- given what has happened that is pretty critical e) he has battled cancer and won. I think that gives an interesting and inspiring dimension.

If he goes it is seriously bad news in my view. We risk a number of our best players - McGinn in particular going and also the likes of Henderson and Stokes, if available, which is doubtful, would be much less likely to come back. The team starts from scratch again. I would have said prior to this we would have been hot favourites to win the league. We should still make it but this will make it a way tougher in my view.

What is sad is Rotherham, I mean Rotherham. Since when was going there promotion? Sadly Sky have made it thus and moves like this are a big warning to Scottish football generally and its declining place.

Finally I think Stubbs can do better. Going to Rotherham is a big risk for him. They are poorly resourced in the English Championship and if he does well there he really has earned his medal. I for one would be highly disappointed if as seems very likely he goes and think he may be making a mistake. He is dealing in a much more shark infested pond in the Championship with many teams paying salaries all Scottish teams outside Celtic and perhaps Rangers could only dream of. It is way more competitive and he is taking a hell of a risk.

31-05-2016, 07:27 AM
This, lots of people wanted him gone after the playoff failure. Winning the holy grail after all that time has been something that no one will ever match. Still doesn't mean he's the right man to take us up.

Forget the "we were not prepared." If he goes, we move forward. Who wouldn't want to come and manage our squad in this league, anyone with a pinch of confidence would see it as a great chance to have a league and promotion win on their CV.

Get the right guy and we might actually start handing out some if the thrashings we all know we should've been.

We have the core of a very good team, with the right additions and perhaps more adventurous management we should win this league next season.

Perhaps it is a good time for Alan to go, he has delivered the cup that numerous former (and more successful) managers have failed to deliver, he will leave on a high and we can move on from the strong foundations he has established following the ruins of Butcher.

Onwards and upwards for Hibs :agree:

31-05-2016, 07:28 AM
But it could be argued it's just as much his fault we are still in the Championship...he is a legend for the cup win but I'd hoped he would have stayed one more year to finish the job he started and get us back up. Sadly no loyalty at all these days

Why should he show loyalty, he's a professional coach with ambitions to coach/manage in the EPL, as soon as a championship club came knocking he was always going to be interested, next step on the ladder. Thanks for the great cup win but ultimately he failed in his main objective and that was to get us promoted.

Weststandwanab
31-05-2016, 07:35 AM
No great.throws everything up in the air regarding getting of to a flyer next season.Just because Rotherham need a manager they wreck what we've got.sky tv money has alot to answer for.

Cancel your Sky subscription - everybody in Scotland should.

His profile won't get any higher with us and I can imagine that being closer to his family would be a huge draw. I hope he stays but he's a legend in my eyes, and what a manner in which to leave if he does.

Better leaving as a winner than risk tarnishing his current status IMO

The only way GJP should be anywhere near ER is if his last request was to have his ashes spread on the pitch.

I agree.

Boom boom! lol
Liverpool were singularly unique in promoting their boot room staff. They were the exception to the rule.

That has not really worked very well for hem in the last 30 years.

I've always wondered why sky pumped so much money into English football but put nothing into Scotland. Two massive teams in Scotland that you would have thought they'd have loved to fund into global super powers in the same way they've done with the English teams. To me it would have made more sense to want strong top leagues all through Britain rather than just a rich pyramid in the one country. This is a result of that - teams like ourselves, Aberdeen and hearts who have the potential to be bigger than many of the teams that have made it in and around the EPL the last 10 years can't even compete with teams that I don't even know what colour they play in.

Supply and demand 1 there is vey little demand for Scottish Football in Englandshire hence no supply of money here.

31-05-2016, 08:34 AM
Pretty fair assessment of the Stubbsie "era":

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/how-head-coach-alan-stubbs-has-built-a-happy-hibs-1-4141836

LustForLeith
31-05-2016, 08:39 AM

Wasn't there a time when the Scottish Leagues (headed by Roger Mitchell?!) had a chance to get a deal from Sky but they knocked it back thinking they would get something bigger and better. It never happened and ever since we've been scraping about.

31-05-2016, 08:46 AM
Wasn't there a time when the Scottish Leagues (headed by Roger Mitchell?!) had a chance to get a deal from Sky but they knocked it back thinking they would get something bigger and better. It never happened and ever since we've been scraping about.

Was that not at the time of the Setanta deal, Sky had offered us a very good deal but Setanta came in with a better one, thinking Old Form derby's would sell all over the world. What Setanta failed to do was think like a normal joe bloggs, asking for an extra £15 per month when the vast majority was getting all the Scottish football already on Shy with Setanta only an extra £5, punters turned their backs on Setanta and they went bust and pulled out. We went back cap in hand to Sky who gave us pennies for our games, thankfully BT have become the big boys and are giving us a wee bit more.

31-05-2016, 08:47 AM

Between 1998–99 and 2001–02, exclusive television rights for live Scottish Premier League matches were held by Sky Sports. In January 2002 the SPL rejected a £45m offer from Sky Sports and began considering setting up its own pay-per-view channel, dubbed "SPL TV".[57] These plans broke down in April 2002, however, when the Old Firm clubs, Rangers and Celtic, utilised the 11–1 voting system to veto the proposals.[58] This caused discontent among the remaining 10 SPL clubs who subsequently announced their intention to resign from the league.[59]

Despite a two-year television deal being agreed with BBC Scotland in July 2002, for a significant amount less than the money previously offered by Sky Sports,[60] the 10 non-Old Firm clubs confirmed their resignation from the SPL in August 2002, citing discontent with the voting system.[61] The ten clubs withdrew their resignations in January 2003 after an agreement was reached to change some of the voting procedures and to change the distribution of TV revenue.[62]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Premier_League

31-05-2016, 09:30 AM

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/how-head-coach-alan-stubbs-has-built-a-happy-hibs-1-4141836

Excellent summary .

norhfc
31-05-2016, 09:33 AM

Are they still called British Sky Broadcasting ? I admit I do have Sky over here, but its a disgrace that those outside England dont get a piece of the wealth and still pay top money for the privilage. I am considering dropping Sky next season for HibsTv, its what I enjoy watching these days. Theres always the pub for the few games I want to see in EPL.

31-05-2016, 10:04 AM
Perfect time for him to move on. He can't do any better for us and risks being hounded out if we don't get off to a great start.

I trust LDs judgement on finding a replacement and reckon they will have been looking for quite a while.

I think we will move quickly and have the new man in next week.

Onwards and upwards.

31-05-2016, 12:05 PM

That's a perfect summary of how I view stubbs time at hibs. Didn't disagree with a word of it.

31-05-2016, 12:08 PM

I know but still....

31-05-2016, 12:19 PM

Indeed, very balanced & objective.

Humo
31-05-2016, 12:21 PM
Been told by someone close to the club that Stubbs was extremely disappointed that nothing is happening regarding the sectarian and downright disgusting abuse the rangers fans gave him at the final.

Sent from my SM-A500F using Tapatalk

31-05-2016, 12:23 PM
Been told by someone close to the club that Stubbs was extremely disappointed that nothing is happening regarding the sectarian and downright disgusting abuse the rangers fans gave him at the final.

That was tweeted yesterday.

He played for Celtic for some time so really doubt that it's anything new to him.

AndyM_1875
31-05-2016, 12:25 PM

Tweeted by @AgentScotland.

Take it with a pinch of salt.

31-05-2016, 12:30 PM

I thought the whole OF s---e may have got to him. Rotherham becomes a lot more attractive when you compare it with 40,000 cretins hurling foul mouthed abuse at you.

31-05-2016, 12:48 PM
That was tweeted yesterday.

He played for Celtic for some time so really doubt that it's anything new to him.

Stubbs has talked about sectarian abuse previously, obviously regarding games against Rangers, but he claimed it didn't really bother him and was water off a ducks back. I don't imagind any of that to really have changed, and we can file away in the "made up crap" folder along with the rest of Agent Scotland's nonsense.
Mind you, in a time when statements are flying about like confetti, it would have been encouraging to see Hibs release one highlighting the club's disgust at repeated sectarian abuse of our manager in fixtures the last two seasons. When all the Cup Final pitch invasion stuff has died down, that would be the time to do it. Nobody seems to have much enthusiasm in tackling the blight on our game from one club in particular, and Hibs should take the bull by the horns and lead the way in the most public of fashions.

31-05-2016, 12:58 PM
Shocked to find out Rotherham's stadium only holds 12k?

That is very poor for a championship club. Our stadium and facilities must be far superior to many down there .

They must sell that out every game.

31-05-2016, 12:59 PM
I thought the whole OF s---e may have got to him. Rotherham becomes a lot more attractive when you compare it with 40,000 cretins hurling foul mouthed abuse at you.

A few of us talking about this last week. Considering who he won the Cup against our guess would be he would become even more of a target. We also agreed that no one would blame him if he were off.

Finn2015
31-05-2016, 01:07 PM
Got rid of sky for many reasons but its emphasis and constant hype of the EPL, not to mention amount of obscene money ploughed into the English league, was certainly part of the reason to get rid. Plus I was sick of putting on SSN and seeing Jim whites mug

OsloHibs
31-05-2016, 02:31 PM
I knew he was leaving. He's been shouting his mouth off all season, and when we finally win the biggest game of all- not a peep outta him. I'm very sad he'll leave, but life goes on and no-one is bigger than the club.. although sir David gray is pretty damn close!

31-05-2016, 02:32 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36417904

31-05-2016, 02:51 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36417904

You've been keen to point out 'disrespectful' behaviour on here... how about not honouring the final year of a three year contract? Any view on that?

As for the article... well, meh. All we can hope is that this situation is sorted quickly and we move on. We're in a much, much better place than two years ago and the objective for next season is clear.

Any new appointment is a risk, but we have good reasons to feel confident.

Lewis97
31-05-2016, 02:52 PM
I fully understand his wanting to leave on a high note, but Rotherham United? Yes, they're in the English Championship, but I can't believe he (or anyone else) would rather manage Rotherham than Hibs. It will just be a relegation battle there.

If I was given a chance between the English championship or the Scottish championship I know what I'd choose. Plus we are not even garunteed promotion next season, it will still be hard. Realistically we should win it but we always drop points against teams we should steam roll and it could cost us. If he was to fail to get promotion for a third year then he could damage his career. Being in the English championship will also give him more exposure to bigger teams than if he was to stay here.

31-05-2016, 02:57 PM
If I was given a chance between the English championship or the Scottish championship I know what I'd choose. Plus we are not even garunteed promotion next season, it will still be hard. Realistically we should win it but we always drop points against teams we should steam roll and it could cost us. If he was to fail to get promotion for a third year then he could damage his career. Being in the English championship will also give him more exposure to bigger teams than if he was to stay here.

Yes the English Championship sounds great but only if you pick the right team. Its common knowledge that Rotherham have been punching above their weight for a couple of years now. If it all goes wrong then his career in England could be finished before it even starts.

Marco G
31-05-2016, 03:48 PM
Yes the English Championship sounds great but only if you pick the right team. Its common knowledge that Rotherham have been punching above their weight for a couple of years now. If it all goes wrong then his career in England could be finished before it even starts.That is the point. Rotherham have a wages bill not a great deal bigger than Hibs, but will be competing with teams like Newcastle with a 10x bigger spend. Anyway Alan Stubbs would know that before going for talks so presumably not an issue for him.

31-05-2016, 04:36 PM
Alan Stubbs has agreed terms with Rotherham. Clubs now discussing compensation. To be completed within the next 24 hours.

He leaves a legend. Now let's move on

31-05-2016, 04:37 PM
Alan Stubbs has agreed terms with Rotherham. Clubs now discussing compensation. To be completed within the next 24 hours.

He leaves a legend. Now let's move on

Reported anywhere? This was a cert when he asked to speak to them.

31-05-2016, 04:38 PM
Reported anywhere? This was a cert when he asked to speak to them.

Andy Giddings, Sports Editor for BBC Sheffield. Confirmed on Twitter minutes ago.

NikGunnarsson
31-05-2016, 04:41 PM
Understand #rufc (https://twitter.com/hashtag/rufc?src=hash) have agreed terms with Alan Stubbs to become the Millers next boss. 1/2

#rufc (https://twitter.com/hashtag/rufc?src=hash) are now in negotiations with #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) over compensation. It's hoped a deal can be concluded in the next 24 hrs. 2/2

The guy that said this on twitter works for BBC Sheffield so looks a done deal unfortunately

31-05-2016, 04:42 PM
Andy Giddings, Sports Editor for BBC Sheffield. Confirmed on Twitter minutes ago.

This has been coming so hopefully club have exciting prospects lined up. No ex-Hibs managers returning and failures please. Look forward not back Hibs. We secured the Scottish Cup doing this and we must keep going. Forward not back!

hibee316
31-05-2016, 04:46 PM
Understand #rufc (https://twitter.com/hashtag/rufc?src=hash) have agreed terms with Alan Stubbs to become the Millers next boss. 1/2

#rufc (https://twitter.com/hashtag/rufc?src=hash) are now in negotiations with #Hibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Hibs?src=hash) over compensation. It's hoped a deal can be concluded in the next 24 hrs. 2/2

The guy that said this on twitter works for BBC Sheffield so looks a done deal unfortunately

Stubbs was a Cup manager. And he has done his job!

He was pretty awful in the league, we need to get back to the top flight and will only do so with the right manager. He was proven over 2 years he isn't capable of doing that in the league.

Leaves a hero though!

Well done Stubbsy!

31-05-2016, 04:48 PM
Could someone start a thank you stubbsy thread?

31-05-2016, 04:51 PM

Wire in

31-05-2016, 04:53 PM
has anyone mentioned pokes of sweeties yet?

31-05-2016, 04:55 PM

Thank you Stubbsy but were you scared of the thought of not getting promotion this year?

Hibee_Craig7062
31-05-2016, 04:56 PM
Agreed terms

31-05-2016, 04:56 PM
Wire in

:greengrinHe might change his mind.

31-05-2016, 04:57 PM
Agreed terms

Youl get a job at the daylate record.

Hibee_Craig7062
31-05-2016, 05:00 PM
Youl get a job at the daylate record.

Cheers!!! :-)

Ilovehibs
31-05-2016, 05:00 PM
Thanks for the Cup. The League...not so much.

Brought some good players to the club. Team selections/ formations/tactics weren't flawless.

Life with Hibs goes on.

Here's to our next manager. Hope he's a good one.

31-05-2016, 06:12 PM
The one thing that sticks a bit in my craw is that it's all happened so quickly he must have been having unofficial 'chats' with Rotherham before last week. Their Chairman saying if he gets permission to speak to Stubbs it will be wrapped up in 48hrs, that tells me he had already had an ok I'll take the job conversation.

Largshibby
31-05-2016, 06:13 PM
This has been coming so hopefully club have exciting prospects lined up. No ex-Hibs managers returning and failures please. Look forward not back Hibs. We secured the Scottish Cup doing this and we must keep going. Forward not back!

Agree. Bring in Leon Osman as player/coach if he's done his coaching badges supported by someone who knows the league (don't know who).

Greenworld
31-05-2016, 06:29 PM
Absolutely delighted personally can't wait for new manager and players to get us out of this leugue...

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

31-05-2016, 06:32 PM
Anyone else thing we can hang on to Hanlon, McGinn, Cummings ?

OsloHibs
31-05-2016, 06:33 PM
Anyone else thing we can hang on to Hanlon, McGinn, Cummings ?

NO. Cup winning team will break up.. sadly. We didn't even get 10 days of celebration!

31-05-2016, 06:39 PM
NO. Cup winning team will break up.. sadly. We didn't even get 10 days of celebration!

Jeez! What difference does it make?

I'm still celebrating.

Stubbs moving on doesn't change that for me.

31-05-2016, 06:40 PM
Absolutely delighted personally can't wait for new manager and players to get us out of this leugue...

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

I wouldn't go that far but being honest I'm not overly fussed. He'll leave a legend for winning us the holy grail but giving him a third crack at breaking down packed defences would have been a risk. He has struggled at it for two years now. I've no doubt he'd have been a great manager in the Premiership but we need someone who can get us out of this feckn league.

31-05-2016, 06:40 PM

Hanlon may leave but it depends on what money we offer, McGinn is going nowhere unless someone comes up with well over £1million, Cummings also going nowhere unless someone comes in with some decent money.

OsloHibs
31-05-2016, 06:46 PM
I didn't mean I'm not celebrating.. still. Just meant the players will leave. And we will get money for them- but they will go. The manager & the backroom staff have gone and it's sad that its happened so soon after. That's all.

WillowbraeHibby
31-05-2016, 06:47 PM
Thank you Stubbsy but were you scared of the thought of not getting promotion this year?

Yep, about right...

31-05-2016, 06:48 PM
Cheerio Alan.

31-05-2016, 06:48 PM
I didn't mean I'm not celebrating.. still. Just meant the players will leave. And we will get money for them- but they will go. The manager & the backroom staff have gone and it's sad that its happened so soon after. That's all.

Why will the players go?

31-05-2016, 06:57 PM

Hard to argue with any of that ...... of all the qualities required of a manager to succeed the one he appears to have in spades is man management and the ability to create a positive atmosphere around the training ground.

OsloHibs
Why will the players go?

I'm becoming like you on here!! Folk not liking what I say, haha.

I thought this would happen if he won the cup The biggest risk now is players who were happy Playing under him as head coach might just re think their position and decide to leave if they are in a position to do so
Don't know how many players may have options in contract to be allowed to be sold on if we didn't get promotion and another cln is interested in them
Could also mean Hanlon deciding to try his luck elsewhere rather than stay another year in the championship
The Club need to steady the ship and hopefully have someone in mind to succeed Stubbs as the longer we go with no Head Coach the more unsettled players will be and we may also miss out on Transfer Targets
Still celebrating our Cup Win though and better it happened early than just before season kicked off

31-05-2016, 06:59 PM
Hanlon may leave but it depends on what money we offer, McGinn is going nowhere unless someone comes up with well over £1million, Cummings also going nowhere unless someone comes in with some decent money.

like Alan Stubbs?

31-05-2016, 07:00 PM
Stop with all the scaremongering about the squad breaking up, christ you'd think Leanne had just wholesale sacked everyone or something.

Hanlon may leave, we may get money for cummings. Who else is likely to leave? they will all require a fee and some of them like McGinn won't be cheap.

31-05-2016, 07:03 PM
like Alan Stubbs?

Aye maybe, but its nowhere near happening yet.

Stop with all the scaremongering about the squad breaking up, christ you'd think Leanne had just wholesale sacked everyone or something.

Hanlon may leave, we may get money for cummings. Who else is likely to leave? they will all require a fee and some of them like McGinn won't be cheap.

Selling McGinn wouldn't be worth our while if the 30% sell on clause is true. I'd be looking to bank at least £1.5 million ourselves so you'd be looking at a bid of £2m to give us that after we give st mirren their cut - not gonna happen.

Leeann will not be able to turn down the inevitable bids that come in for our best players. D'you think it took much cash to gazump us on the AS scenario?

31-05-2016, 07:14 PM
Leeann will not be able to turn down the inevitable bids that come in for our best players. D'you think it took much cash to gazump us on the AS scenario?

You have no idea what is happening and neither do I but it's going to take more money for a player than it did for Stubbs to leave, there's not a lot of money in Scotland so I can't see many teams having the cash to buy someone like McGinn when he's on such a long deal. Anyone on a year left could try and engineer a move away but that's different.

What players are folk going to be after anyway? Cummings, McGinn and ??? I can't see any other teams rushing in to buy anyone else.

31-05-2016, 07:26 PM
You have no idea what is happening and neither do I but it's going to take more money for a player than it did for Stubbs to leave, there's not a lot of money in Scotland so I can't see many teams having the cash to buy someone like McGinn when he's on such a long deal. Anyone on a year left could try and engineer a move away but that's different.

What players are folk going to be after anyway? Cummings, McGinn and ??? I can't see any other teams rushing in to buy anyone else.

I'm not all that in the know, however I would hazard a guess that hibs in their current predicament would be open to any offers of around 1M for any player... i can think of many teams (ahum Rotheram) that could afford that amount of cash. Far too many folk with delusions of grandeur. Scottish football is a basket case and we're not even competing in the top level.

31-05-2016, 07:36 PM
I don't think many of our players are going to have anyone bidding a million other than mcginn

Purehibee_MYB
31-05-2016, 07:43 PM
like Alan Stubbs?

FWIW I think that McGinn would only go to Celtic now. They're his team. He's enjoying getting selected for Scotland and I think that would be less likely at Rotherham and in the English championship. Scott Arfield couldn't do anything more to get selected and was still overlooked

itslegaltender
31-05-2016, 07:45 PM
I think if Rotherham come in with a £2 million bid for McGinn, Petrie will bite their hand off.

31-05-2016, 07:50 PM
I think if Rotherham come in with a £2 million bid for McGinn, Petrie will bite their hand off.

Wouldn't be too sure!

I would potential suggest that was the starting bid!

3 years left on contract and full international!

31-05-2016, 08:11 PM
Wouldn't be too sure!

Agree. Appreciate it's England and all their ridiculous money but just by way of comparison young lad at Spurs, Alex Pritchard is up for transfer. Starting price is 8 million.

31-05-2016, 08:45 PM
I think this is what is pissing me off most about Stubbs going to Rotherham.

They're going to have to punch above their weight just to stay in that league so they'll be looking for a manager who can wheel and deal and get good value for money with his signings.

It would be no surprise to me to see Stubbs come back and take about 5 or 6 of our players. By Championship standards they'll cost peanuts and I'd imagine they'll be able to do a good job in that league.

31-05-2016, 09:01 PM
Your talking nonsense...Stubbs has left to be closer to his family away with your scaremongering nonsense

31-05-2016, 09:02 PM

They're going to have to punch above their weight just to stay in that league so they'll be looking for a manager who can wheel and deal and get good value for money with his signings.

It would be no surprise to me to see Stubbs come back and take about 5 or 6 of our players. By Championship standards they'll cost peanuts and I'd imagine they'll be able to do a good job in that league.

Supposition?

31-05-2016, 09:04 PM

We dont have 5 or 6 players good enough for that level

31-05-2016, 09:07 PM

You will be lucky if he goes for any. Better budget and better players out there. Only one I'd say he'd come back for would be McGinn. But I don't think he will.

31-05-2016, 09:08 PM

Correct.

31-05-2016, 09:11 PM

Its not Rods call It will be a board decision and as there is no bid I have faith that L. D knows she needs to het us up this season and we need let events take their natural course New Head Coach and Backroom staff then playets will come snd gon

31-05-2016, 09:13 PM
Wouldn't be too sure!

Just tell him he's staying. And Jason too, if we want. No need to sell.

31-05-2016, 09:15 PM
Rotherham only offered £400,000 for Scott Allan back last summer

31-05-2016, 09:16 PM
Stubbs is only interested in Rotherham cause no bigger English club have shown interest in him . McGinn would surely be crazy to go to Rotherham . He`s still young and talented enough to sign for a much bigger club than Rotherham or stay with us and become a long term Hibernian hero .

31-05-2016, 09:20 PM

Yes, because we will allow 5/6 of our best players to leave:confused:. Promotion is more vital to us next season than any money we could realistically get for our best players.

31-05-2016, 09:26 PM

Personally I reckon Hanlon, Fyvie, McGeouch, McGinn are easily good enough for that level.

Stokes and Henderson might fancy a loan stint there to get themselves in a shop window.

Stevenson, McGregor and Bartley might do a job down there as cut price squad players.

That would leave them with the lion's share of their budget for some real quality.

I'd be amazed if Stubbs didn't want some of these players to join him.

Oh, and David Gray is way too good for that level. :wink:

31-05-2016, 09:28 PM
Yes, because we will allow 5/6 of our best players to leave:confused:. Promotion is more vital to us next season than any money we could realistically get for our best players.

We might not have much say in it.

Managers get tapped up, players get tapped up.

We saw last summer what happens when players' heads are turned.

Marco G
31-05-2016, 09:35 PM
Personally I reckon Hanlon, Fyvie, McGeouch, McGinn are easily good enough for that level.

Stokes and Henderson might fancy a loan stint there to get themselves in a shop window.

Stevenson, McGregor and Bartley might do a job down there as cut price squad players.

That would leave them with the lion's share of their budget for some real quality.

Oh, and David Gray is way too good for that level. :wink:Since Stokes and Henderson are Celtic players that is not really our call, is it? Any of the other players you name have had the chance to do that already, and apart from Fyvie, have not. So maybe not as likely as you make out.

31-05-2016, 09:53 PM

Oh, and David Gray is way too good for that level. :wink:

Stubbs is happy to move there as its closer to his family. I doubt many players would fancy it, hardly a glamorous move.

McGeough has been too injured for anyone to come in for him. He has two years left, Fyvie was great in some games last season and brutal in others, no one will come in for him.
Stokes and Henderson aren't ours. I doubt Stokes would entertain Rotherham, regardless.
McGregor is a Hibee, back living in his home town, now in his 30's and made a decent wedge at rangers. He's going nowhere. Lewis Stevenson is not going to be playing in the English championship against the likes of Villa and Newcastle. Nor will Bartley.
Gray left the English backwaters to move home with his family. He is not going to return to that when he's settled back up here.

So in summary, calm down [emoji4]

31-05-2016, 09:59 PM
Cummings and McGinn are the only two Hibs players that would be of interest to Stubbs. He may try to get Allan or Henderson, but they're Celtc players so don't concern us.

02-06-2016, 09:51 PM
You can't blame Stubbsy. Rubbing shoulders with the likes of Rafa Benitez is surely better than having to encounter Peter Houston again.