View Full Version : Stubbs Rotherham bound?
30-05-2016, 11:24 AM
All he said was that if he got permission to speak to "both managers" he hoped he could make an announcement on Wednesday. Sounds like a load of guff to me. This is a club that has a ground with 12000 capacity, seldom filled, and a wage bill not much more than Alan Stubbs's current budget. It is more likely to be going downwards than upwards.
Great if it is a load of guff but I suspect if it was then the club would have said something by now.
"The club can confirm that there has been an approach for Stubbs however after discussing it with Alan we can confirm he remains dedicated to getting Hibs promoted and this request was rejected"
"The club can confirm there was a request to speak to Alan however as he is under contract for another year this request has been refused"
"The club can confirm that despite media reports to the contrary there has been no approach to speak to our manager and nor would we welcome any"
Any one of the three of the above would have been released by now if he was staying IMO.
I'd prefer he stays if he genuinely wants to stay and complete the job, for he's hanging on until he gets another offer id like to thank him for his services and wish him well. This is too important a season for us to lose the summer to speculation.
30-05-2016, 11:26 AM
See the chat about him nearly getting the gig last Oct, was he just gonna jump ship and leave us two months into a season that we were challenging for the league? Two months after he signed a contract extension? Seems a bit off if true.
Caversham Green
30-05-2016, 11:33 AM
Rotherham's turnover for the six months to 30 June 2015 was £5.2m and they made a loss of £720k - that's for the second half of their first season back in the Championship. It's difficult to translate that to a full year because of the uneven spread of revenues, and the auditors suggest that a full season would show a profit (they would say that though). The balance sheet is negative to the tune of £375k, but surprisingly there's no comment about it in the auditors report. For their seasons in League 1 they submitted abbreviated accounts, which suggests their turnover was probably less that £5.6m.
What I take from that is that it is imperative that they stay in the Championship and it looks to me like the appointment of Neil Warnock was a panic measure because they looked relegation certainties before he joined them.
I think they'll go down this year regardless of who their manager is unless their owner is prepared to throw a lot of money at them, no chance of promotion. They then have the FFP regulations to consider.
Frogga
30-05-2016, 11:34 AM
http://boards.footymad.net/rotherhamunited-mad/2109334913/#e3JldZJ5jv2dRSBm.97
Looks like their fans are not impressed :greengrin
Look at the vicious animals on the pitch at the top of the page. It's like 1980 all over again. Appalling.
DeLaGaff
30-05-2016, 11:43 AM
To be fair, we've only got the Proclaimers - they've got the Chuckle brothers! #whensthenexttrain
Super_JMcGinn
30-05-2016, 02:18 PM
Connaire Wallace on FB saying it's been rumoured Hibs have refused permission to speak to him.
30-05-2016, 02:33 PM
Connaire Wallace on FB saying it's been rumoured Hibs have refused permission to speak to him.
Who?
30-05-2016, 02:34 PM
If something is happening here then we should get something done within the week - either get Stubbs fully committed for the season or let him go to Rotherham. If there's any fannying about i.e. with Calderwood then we will be in serious danger of starting yet another season on the back foot.
30-05-2016, 02:35 PM
Who?
Connaire Wallace
30-05-2016, 02:38 PM
If something is happening here then we should get something done within the week - either get Stubbs fully committed to the season or let him go to Rotherham. If there's any fannying about i.e. with Calderwood then we will be in serious danger of starting yet another season on the back foot.
Absolutely.
I'm quite happy for Stubbs to stay if he really wants too but refusing clubs permission to speak to him is just wasting time and delaying the inevitable, if he's going get him him gone and get the replacement in.
As someone else pointed out if he genuinely did apply for the Rotherham job before Warnock got it that's pretty dissapointing given how important this season was for us. I'll always be grateful to him but if he's going to be applying for other jobs throughout the season I'd prefer he just left now
30-05-2016, 02:54 PM
Connaire Wallace
Who is he?
30-05-2016, 03:03 PM
Who is he?
Hibs fan on Facebook
Hibs07p
30-05-2016, 03:03 PM
Anybody else thinking AS will get an extended improved contract?
Scottish Cup Winners 2016
30-05-2016, 03:04 PM
Absolutely.
I'm quite happy for Stubbs to stay if he really wants too but refusing clubs permission to speak to him is just wasting time and delaying the inevitable, if he's going get him him gone and get the replacement in.
As someone else pointed out if he genuinely did apply for the Rotherham job before Warnock got it that's pretty dissapointing given how important this season was for us. I'll always be grateful to him but if he's going to be applying for other jobs throughout the season I'd prefer he just left now
You appear to be basing your entire take on this through what you have read, posted by others on here. Right up to this one, where someone has quoted a punter who has nothing more credible than a Facebook account. Is that right?
30-05-2016, 03:05 PM
Hibs fan on Facebook
I'm one of those too. There are loads.
30-05-2016, 03:07 PM
Anybody else thinking AS will get an extended improved contract?
Scottish Cup Winners 2016
I'd love that... nothing from hibs then an official statement of up yours, we've backed our man and look forward to pumping the lot of you next year. :aok:
30-05-2016, 03:11 PM
I'm one of those too. There are loads.
Quite a few of us
30-05-2016, 03:20 PM
You appear to be basing your entire take on this through what you have read, posted by others on here. Right up to this one, where someone has quoted a punter who has nothing more credible than a Facebook account. Is that right?
No, I'm basing it on the Rotherham chairman publicly saying he wants him and if Hibs agree he expects him to be appointed on Wednesday. The link is earlier on this thread.
I don't believe he would have gone public without assurances he would take the job.
30-05-2016, 03:29 PM
No, I'm basing it on the Rotherham chairman publicly saying he wants him and if Hibs agree he expects him to be appointed on Wednesday. The link is earlier on this thread.
I don't believe he would have gone public without assurances he would take the job.
So, publicly....the Rotherham chairman has said Hibs have refused permission to speak?
The Rotherham chairman has confirmed Stubbs applied for the job before?
These appear to be the pertinent points in your post I quoted.
30-05-2016, 03:51 PM
I'll be glad when all this speculation regarding Stubbs' future is ended. I'd be gutted if he walks away from ER after stating recently he has unfinished business, presumably gaining us promotion. He seems a man of his word so I'm hoping he stays put and gets us back to the top tier as champions
30-05-2016, 03:57 PM
Anthony Brown of the EEN just tweeted that Hibs expected to make a response "in the next half hour".
I think your getting worked up over nothing.
The Rotherham chairman seems like a complete tool, going on about doing things the right way etc but putting an official approach in on the friday and then speaking to the media about it all weekend.
Naming stubbs and the comments that have been made are more of a tactic to unsettle Hibs and make sure Stubbs is aware of the interest but he clearly hasn't done business with us before if he thinks that is going to work.
Take it easy and wait and see what Hibs have got to say, when they want to say it. I trust Leeann to handle this in the best interests of the club.
Green-Hibee-7
30-05-2016, 04:12 PM
I just got told that Hibs are due to comment on this very soon. Have no idea if that's rejecting or accepting permission.
Green-Hibee-7
30-05-2016, 04:12 PM
I just got told that Hibs are due to comment on this very soon. Have no idea if that's rejecting or accepting permission.
Very soon as in the next hour or so..
30-05-2016, 04:20 PM
So, publicly....the Rotherham chairman has said Hibs have refused permission to speak?
Bizarre ain't it? The Rotherham chairman who talks about doing everything properly yet seems to be the source of everything that leaks out.
Come on hibs refuse permission and make Stubbs an improved contract offer so the Rotherham boy can get back to just kidding on he's bidding for our players.
Refusing permission seems petty but a new, improved deal should be put on the table for Stubbs. And surely Leeann and Stubbs will have had contact which you'd imagine would be Leeann saying 'dinnae leave big man'.
30-05-2016, 05:21 PM
Would love Stubbs to stay and finish off what he started but would always wish him the best of luck after everything he has done for us
30-05-2016, 05:24 PM
Refusing permission seems petty but a new, improved deal should be put on the table for Stubbs. And surely Leeann and Stubbs will have had contact which you'd imagine would be Leeann saying 'dinnae leave big man'.
Stubbs has a lot to prove in the league before we should be thinking about an improved deal!
30-05-2016, 05:30 PM
Stubbs has a lot to prove in the league before we should be thinking about an improved deal!
😁 Winning the Scottish Cup and playing attractive football eh. Let's get him out and bring in Jimmy Calderwood.
Great managers build and progress year on year. Just like Stubbs.
30-05-2016, 05:32 PM
[QUOTE=Andy74;4712458]Stubbs has a lot to prove in the league before we should be thinking about an improved deal![/QUOTE
Aye aye, we heard you the first time.......
30-05-2016, 05:34 PM
😁 Winning the Scottish Cup and playing attractive football eh. Let's get him out and bring in Jimmy Calderwood.
Great managers build and progress year on year. Just like Stubbs.
I said in the league. We didn't progress in the league, we ended up behind two teams that we were ahead of last year.
The cup was an amazing achievement but 2 weeks ago we finished in our lowest league placing ever I think.
Let's improve that before we go handing out improved deals.
30-05-2016, 05:35 PM
[QUOTE=Andy74;4712458]Stubbs has a lot to prove in the league before we should be thinking about an improved deal![/QUOTE
Aye aye, we heard you the first time.......
Don't you think he's got a point though?
30-05-2016, 05:35 PM
hopefully this anouncment is either hes satying or going, nothing inbetween. sooner we can concentrate on next season the better.
30-05-2016, 05:36 PM
hopefully this anouncment is either hes satying or going, nothing inbetween. sooner we can concentrate on next season the better.
100% agree
30-05-2016, 05:36 PM
No, I'd say the pertinent points in my posts are as follows:-
The Rotherham chairman has confirmed they've made an official approach. Assuming there's no reason for him to lie, I think we can take that as a fact. My opinion on this is that if we'd turned down the approach we would have said so by now. It shouldn't be in the public domain but it is so I think we'd respond accordingly.
He has said he expects it to be straight forward and could be completed on Wednesday if Hibs agree. My opinion on that is that I don't think the chairman would go so public unless there'd been assurances from team Stubbs he wants the job.
The rumours about him applying for the job previously lends weight to my opinion but I'm not basing my opinion on these rumours.
Should stress im not claiming to be in the know, I'll support Stubbs fully (he's an absolute hero of mine now) but based on what I've heard and the silence from Hibs I think he wants this job and when that's the case with a manager there's normally one outcome.
30-05-2016, 05:39 PM
You would rather watch Pat Fenlon's team though. I know what I prefer 🙄
hibeemikey21
Hibs given permission to Rotherham apparently
high bee
https://mobile.twitter.com/timothy_nemeth/status/737337270588583936/photo/1
225-EasterRd
30-05-2016, 05:40 PM
Now allowed to talk to Rotherham from hibs web site
Aye we can't muck about here. First competitive game is only 6 weeks away and I certainly don't want a repeat of the last time we were in Europe.
hibbypostie
Hibs fan on Facebook
he's a wee bit more than that lol
works for Hibstv
To be honest matey, i have no interest in how he likes his potatoes.
Have you been getting PR lessons from James Traynor? You've completely misinterpreted the Rotherham Chairmans statement, hopefully innocently, just to fit your own thoughts. Just for a start, the statement refers to 2 managers, AS & Mowbray & its all conditional on being granted permission to speak. I know you're a real fan but at times you're judgement seems clouded at best.
high bee
30-05-2016, 05:42 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/jonathandveal83?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5E serp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor
Some interesting stuff, apparently we reluctantly allowed it after Stubbs expressed an interest but we are confident he will stay? How does that work?
You would rather watch Pat Fenlon's team though. I know what I prefer 🙄
When did I say that?
hibbypostie
Hibernian FC today confirmed that the Club has reluctantly given Rotherham United FC permission to speak with Head Coach Alan Stubbs.
The Club initially refused a request from Rotherham towards the end of last week, but following a subsequent meeting between Alan, Chief Executive Leeann Dempster and Head of Football Operations George Craig, the Club has allowed Rotherham to speak with Alan.
Leeann said: “Throughout, we have made it plain to Alan that we want him to remain as Head Coach of Hibernian and build on what has been achieved. Despite that, Alan has expressed an interest in hearing what Rotherham have to say.
I believe that our best chance to keep Alan focused and positive about his job at Hibernian is to allow a brief window within which Alan can speak to Rotherham. Reluctantly therefore, we have agreed to allow that to happen and we will take stock after that.
While we have agreed to the request, we hope that Alan will see a brighter future here at Hibernian with the continued full support of the Board.”
Most Read
http://d1amemna4jare9.cloudfront.net/assets/images/news/thumbs/a557f1f36f180086c589ba60afed44a8/009e9e239a229e070191d3f1b4bc0af0.png HIBERNIAN FC STATEMENT
http://d1amemna4jare9.cloudfront.net/assets/images/news/thumbs/a557f1f36f180086c589ba60afed44a8/009e9e239a229e070191d3f1b4bc0af0.png CLUB STATEMENT: PITCH INVASION
http://d1amemna4jare9.cloudfront.net/assets/images/news/thumbs/ac0945d74eac12f47fce87ea0b2eb638/2783ab2c8108e12672c0df48496d640a.png HIBERNIAN
hibees59
30-05-2016, 05:43 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/6534
30-05-2016, 05:44 PM
When did I say that?
Ok sorry mate but you did like his management and I think Stubbs team is better to watch, apologies 👍🏆
Have you been getting PR lessons from James Traynor? You've completely misinterpreted the Rotherham Chairmans statement, hopefully innocently, just to fit your own thoughts. Just for a start, the statement refers to 2 managers, AS & Mowbray & its all conditional on being granted permission to speak. I know you're a real fan but at times you're judgement seems clouded at best.
Tbh without wanting to sound like a dick I'm applying common sense to what is currently happening, the fact we've just given him permission suggests I'm right.
Is Stubbs under contract?
30-05-2016, 05:45 PM
Gutted if he goes but he will always be a legend. But No man is bigger than the club. If he chooses to go then so be it. Hibs will keep going and the 21.05.16 will be with us forever.
30-05-2016, 05:45 PM
A year left I think
30-05-2016, 05:46 PM
:agree: He's got 1 year left
30-05-2016, 05:46 PM
It's calderwood all over again, he wants to have is cake and eat it. It's just as well for him that he's just won us the cup. Not happy.
Stokesy's on fire
30-05-2016, 05:49 PM
All the best to him. I think Rotherham is a terrible mistake though.
edwards
30-05-2016, 05:49 PM
I worry about you.
And I worry about you think you need to come out yer bubble did ye read the club statement [He wants to talk with them] Do you really think he didn't discuss this with Dempster last week when she discussed the way forward with Hibs for next season. Jeezo everyone is entitled to their opinion get back in the closet.
30-05-2016, 05:51 PM
2 weeks ago we finished in our lowest league placing ever I think.
Nope, we finished 15th but have actually finished lower than that 13 times.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Hibernian_F.C._seasons
edwards
30-05-2016, 05:52 PM
And breathe. :confused:
Why
30-05-2016, 05:53 PM
For the Rotherham chairman to say he expects it to be plan sailing and should be appointed on Wednesday I don't believe he's not had some assurances that Stubbs wants the job, may not be from him directly but somebody must have told him he wants it. I just don't think you'd set yourself up for such a public fall unless you're certain.
I also think that this latest statement with the chairman confirming an official approach has been made warrants a public response from us. I'd guess we are spending today trying to persuade him to stay.
I havent read the responses after this post but felt the need to reply. You make so many assumptions based on f all. Do you have some kind of agreement with Hibs whereby info must be passed on within days of some tosser chairman saying he wants something from us. Firstly **** him and his sevco approach. When their chairman said he expects it to be plain sailing it sounds like absolute pish to me. Sounds like an arrogant prick . He has obviously spoken to stubbs before but it was at a different time and in a different situation.His club may offer more money but it stinks of arrogance and presumption.I really cant imagine Stubbsy going to them. There will be many better clubs offering much more for his services. I dont even think money is a major consideration for Stubbsy. I think his career is.I cannot read his mind to his next move up the ladder but I think the rothernam chairman isnt going to get what he wants.
It's calderwood all over again, he wants to have is cake and eat it. It's just as well for him that he's just won us the cup. Not happy.
Please refrain from even mentioning the two in the same sentance.
Good luck Stubbsy, Hibs legend.
30-05-2016, 05:55 PM
Here http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/6534
30-05-2016, 05:56 PM
Please refrain from even mentioning the two in the same sentance.
Good luck Stubbsy, Hibs legend.
The principal is the same. I hope he goes now. He will leave a legend and we can move on.
Fair enough I suppose. Onwards and upwards. Leanne isn't daft.
edwards
30-05-2016, 06:03 PM
Tbh without wanting to sound like a dick I'm applying common sense to what is currently happening, the fact we've just given him permission suggests I'm right.
Now cmon Bingo you aren't allowed an opinion unfortunately when Yogi walked out of Caley I was informed from an ex hibs player that he would be taking over from stubbs as he wanted to move closer to his family Rotherham only about two hours drive from Liverpool. Unsure how true this is fitba eh
30-05-2016, 06:06 PM
A year left I think
So how can he tell Rangers no to talking to Scott Allan but then demands to talk to Rotherham. Still don't think he'll go, would be abit **** on the players he's signed
hibee62
30-05-2016, 06:08 PM
So how can he tell Rangers no to talking to Scott Allan but then demands to talk to Rotherham. Still don't think he'll go, would be abit **** on the players he's signed
Because Rotherham are not in direct competition with us. That's why Scott Allan was not allowed to speak to the Rangers.
30-05-2016, 06:09 PM
Sake. I really hope we have a plan in place to get someone else in pronto. For once can we not go into a new season ready and raring to go?!
30-05-2016, 06:09 PM
He's finished at Hibs, now. From the Board to the players to the fans, no one will trust him. Not tenable.
30-05-2016, 06:10 PM
The players signed for Hibs, not Alan Stubbs.
Lee Marvin
30-05-2016, 06:10 PM
He's finished at Hibs, now. From the Board to the players to the fans, no one will trust him. Not tenable.
Spot on. I hope to hear him announced tomorrow now.
Thanks for the greatest day of my life alan but we have preseason to attend to.
30-05-2016, 06:11 PM
Eh????
If he says no then that's great. Can't stop him speaking to other teams. Unless it's rangers of course.
30-05-2016, 06:11 PM
Sake. I really hope we have a plan in place to get someone else in pronto. For once can we not go into a new season ready and raring to go?!
I'm pretty sure Dempster will have a quick ish plan..
She's clearly pro active and lets not forget appointed Stubbs in the 1st place.
I trust she'll have moves made already.
high bee
30-05-2016, 06:15 PM
Just said similar, it's nothing against him though, just can't see how we can expect the players to operate under a manger who has discussed terms with another club.
How can we expect them to be loyal and how can we expect new players to sign when there's a good chance of the manager poking off mid season. For all parties it's best he goes now.
Eh????
If he says no then that's great. Can't stop him speaking to other teams. Unless it's rangers of course.
The fact he wanted to hear what Rotherham were offering is enough for the board, players and fans not trust him, we need someone who is 100% committed to getting Hibs back to the SPFL, not someone who'll listen to anyone who shows a wee bit of interst in him.
30-05-2016, 06:52 PM
Eh????
The minute a manager wants to speak to another team it means he's no longer committed to the cause. It's time for us to move on. Thanks for the greatest day in my hibs supporting life and good luck.
30-05-2016, 07:52 PM
If Stubbs says no after speaking to Rotherham and decides that we are still the club he wants to be with, despite interest from a club in the English Championship then I'll be delighted.
No trust issues there, as far as I can see.
He's being honest with us by saying that he wants the opportunity to speak to Rotherham and see what they have to say. If he feels that we are able to offer him more than they are, having held these talks, then good for him.
Hibzbollah
30-05-2016, 08:06 PM
If Stubbs says no after speaking to Rotherham and decides that we are still the club he wants to be with, despite interest from a club in the English Championship then I'll be delighted.
He's being honest with us by saying that he wants the opportunity to speak to Rotherham and see what they have to say. If he feels that we are able to offer him more than they are, having held these talks, then good for him.
Yes, I agree with this view. Stubbs can only win from seeing what Rotherham have to offer. It strengthens his hand with the Hibs board in any negotiation too. If he decides to go I'll be disappointed, if he decides to stay that'd be great. If he stays he'd likely get a better deal from the Hibs board. I can't blame him for wanting to talk.
30-05-2016, 08:09 PM
What we've got to hope for here is Stubbs saying "I'll stay, if we offer improved terms to Hanlon, and sign x y and z."
It's been done at other clubs, certainly.
However, if he wants to move back south, all the best, and hand Yogi your keys.
coco22
30-05-2016, 08:14 PM
I would expect us to appoint someone from left field - not an unknown but someone who surprises. Think everyone, bar a few, are against journeymen. Totally trust Dempster to make another decent appointment when the time comes, be it sooner or later
30-05-2016, 08:15 PM
The minute a manager wants to speak to another team it means he's no longer committed to the cause. It's time for us to move on. Thanks for the greatest day in my hibs supporting life and good luck.
No it doesn't. Anyone involved with upper management knows that you always talk with suitors even if you do not believe it will go anywhere - it can only hurt the individual in the long term to brush someone like a club chairman off.
30-05-2016, 08:17 PM
No it doesn't. Anyone involved with upper management knows that you always talk with suitors even if you do not believe it will go anywhere - it can only hurt the individual in the long term to brush someone like a club chairman off.
In the days of agents and representatives, I'm assuming most of the discussions have been done before Stubbs even connects with them...Looks like he is off... very disappointing - for me, he has an incomplete CV here, and unless there are other issues at work - he should have stayed and got us back up.
30-05-2016, 08:17 PM
Can we approach Sevco and ask permission to speak to the breadman? Not that I want him of course, just to piss of the Daily ****** readers........ :greengrin
30-05-2016, 08:19 PM
In the days of agents and representatives, I'm assuming most of the discussions have been done before Stubbs even connects with them...Looks like he is off... very disappointing - for me, he has an incomplete CV here, and unless there are other issues at work - he should have stayed and got us back up.
I agree he will already have an idea of the money on offer but he will not get a real feel for the place until he has gone there and met the entire management team he will be working with.
scooby
30-05-2016, 08:21 PM
It also sends a come and get me message to any other clubs looking for a manager, he's not daft.
30-05-2016, 08:22 PM
If he says no then he either signs a new deal or he goes. He says no now. Then Bolton come along then Blackburn we can't afford to have someone that could leave with in this season it's too important to the club l
Sunshine Scott
30-05-2016, 08:24 PM
Hope he goes, not good enough to get hibs back into the top league.
The fact he's even entertaining the thought of going to rotherham, rotherham FFS, says to me he doesnt want to be at hibs either.
Seeya
30-05-2016, 08:25 PM
If he says no then he either signs a new deal or he goes. He says no now. Then Bolton come along then Blackburn we can't afford to have someone that could leave with in this season it's too important to the club l
Correct either go to Rotherham or give us 100‰, if you don't fancy Rotherham but are waiting on something else that doesn't suit Hibs in gaining promotion.
30-05-2016, 08:27 PM
If he declines Rotherham it's the worst possible outcome. We will have a manager who doesn't want to be here (he must be desperate to leave if Rotherham of all clubs is turning is head) and possibly weeks of uncertainty ahead of us.
Thanks for the memories Stubbs, but you better take that job!
30-05-2016, 08:27 PM
It also sends a come and get me message to any other clubs looking for a manager, he's not daft.
And if he turns the offer down it sends a clear message that he is not desperate to leave. Works both ways. The bottom line is that money will talk and if he does not feel that he will get the level of support that he has previously seen from LD and RP then he will stay. Either way, I will wish him well - he provided a marvelous moment in his short career at Hibs.....
30-05-2016, 08:28 PM
If he declines Rotherham it's the worst possible outcome. We will have a manager who doesn't want to be here (he must be desperate to leave if Rotherham of all clubs is turning is head) and possibly weeks of uncertainty ahead of us.
Thanks for the memories Stubbs, but you better take that job!
I think it's pretty nailed on that he'll take it now. He'll already know what they can offer him. Agents chat. Thanks for the memories Stubbsy.
30-05-2016, 08:31 PM
And if he turns the offer down it sends a clear message that he is not desperate to leave. Works both ways. The bottom line is that money will talk and if he does not feel that he will get the level of support that he has previously seen from LD and RP then he will stay. Either way, I will wish him well - he provided a marvelous moment in his short career at Hibs.....
Not really. If he turns them down it simply means they couldn't offer him the money or resources he wants. If he was desperate to stay he would have said so and made that clear by now.
30-05-2016, 08:38 PM
Not really. If he turns them down it simply means they couldn't offer him the money or resources he wants. If he was desperate to stay he would have said so and made that clear by now.
Would you accept a new job where you were secure and generally in a good place based on phone calls alone? Or you you actually want to visit the place and meet with everyone else who was to be involved?
30-05-2016, 08:51 PM
This is the bit that sums it up for me:
"The Club initially refused a request from Rotherham towards the end of last week, but following a subsequent meeting between Alan, Chief Executive Leeann Dempster and Head of Football Operations George Craig, the Club has allowed Rotherham to speak with Alan.
Leeann said: “Throughout, we have made it plain to Alan that we want him to remain as Head Coach of Hibernian and build on what has been achieved. Despite that, Alan has expressed an interest in hearing what Rotherham have to say."
If he was that interested in staying he wouldn't even entertain Rotherham. He's ignoring the advice of Leeann and George Craig too, I don't really understand these people who thinks he's staying, not after his insistance on speaking to another club.
30-05-2016, 08:53 PM
"The Club initially refused a request from Rotherham towards the end of last week, but following a subsequent meeting between Alan, Chief Executive Leeann Dempster and Head of Football Operations George Craig, the Club has allowed Rotherham to speak with Alan.
Leeann said: “Throughout, we have made it plain to Alan that we want him to remain as Head Coach of Hibernian and build on what has been achieved. Despite that, Alan has expressed an interest in hearing what Rotherham have to say."
If he was that interested in staying he wouldn't even entertain Rotherham. He's ignoring the advice of Leeann and George Craig too, I don't really understand these people who thinks he's staying, not now.
These are the key words IMO and that's why I think he'll go
30-05-2016, 08:54 PM
That means compensation has been agreed between the clubs.
inglisavhibs
30-05-2016, 09:05 PM
Think it may be a bad move for Stubbs as arguably Rotherham are punching above their weight being in the championship. If they are relegated next season Stubbs will be seen as a failure whereas if he were to get Hibs up he would be able to get a bigger club than Rotherham. Still think he is away though and worried he will take Hanlon with him.
Marco G
30-05-2016, 09:09 PM
He's being honest with us by saying that he wants the opportunity to speak to Rotherham and see what they have to say. If he feels that we are able to offer him more than they are, having held these talks, then good for him. I agree with you. We have achieved something very special with Alan Stubbs but he is just doing a job, and like anyone who does not want to regret missing out on a move that might improve something, career prospects or family life, whatever, we have to accept his desire to check it out. I think Hibs have done the correct thing in allowing him to speak to Rotherham, with a short time window for a decision. If he wants to stay at Easter Road then he will not lose any credit in my eyes. If he goes then we will know quickly and get on with the hiring process from a short list that will already be in place.
30-05-2016, 09:15 PM
Nope, we finished 15th but have actually finished lower than that 13 times.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Hibernian_F.C._seasons
I didn't realise we finished with the same stats this season as last - other than the goals. Interesting.
30-05-2016, 09:35 PM
Would you accept a new job where you were secure and generally in a good place based on phone calls alone? Or you you actually want to visit the place and meet with everyone else who was to be involved?
Yes !!! Done it a few times!! And places hundreds of miles and indeed 1300 miles apart once.
I do agree with you though that he might want to get the feel of a place. However, I think this is simply to see if they can agree terms and perhaps let him know what kind of financial support he would be given to try and keep them in the Championship.
I said on here before the Cup victory that he might think if we won the cup his c.v. would be at a good point to get a move. 2 Cup finals, Hibs winning the SC for the first time in 114 years, which would have made news in most places and in the playoffs (which we know was a minimum anyhow).
But looks good on paper whereas next year might have been too much of a gamble for him. If we happened not to go up again and did not win any silverware....well, his stock would not look so good.
When can we expect a resolution to this matter? Tuesday?
30-05-2016, 09:42 PM
If Hibs aren't good enough then time for him to go, we need someone who is committed to the cause and not looking for a move all the time. He never moved up here full time so it was obvious that he would be off at the first opportunity, if not this time it will be another club very soon, lets move on with someone else.
30-05-2016, 09:43 PM
Think it may be a bad move for Stubbs as arguably Rotherham are punching above their weight being in the championship. If they are relegated next season Stubbs will be seen as a failure whereas if he were to get Hibs up he would be able to get a bigger club than Rotherham. Still think he is away though and worried he will take Hanlon with him.
He's a big laddie, makes his own choices. Might regret this choice.
Anyway. Who's next? Steve Clarke would float my boat.
30-05-2016, 09:57 PM
Thanks and good luck stubbs. Think your being quick to leave. But each to their own.
JimboHibs
30-05-2016, 10:04 PM
My own view but I'm 100% convinced he's gonna stay for another crack at promotion,got unfinished buisness with Hibs.
30-05-2016, 10:38 PM
My own view but I'm 100% convinced he's gonna stay for another crack at promotion,got unfinished buisness with Hibs.
By insisting on being allowed to speak to rotherham he is putting out a message he is willing to move at this stage in his career
If he knocks them back he will goto another club when they come calling so better he goes when we have time to bring someone else in and bring their own players in as Stubbs going will lead to some players wanting to go as well
It Didn't take us long to dismantle the 2007 winning team and would hope lessons have been learned but we will need to wait and see what happens as we have done out business early in recent transfer windows but Stubbs departure would put signings on hold
Not great timing but partly will depend on new coach and how players react
30-05-2016, 11:04 PM
Do players see any difference between a head coach and a manager.
Could a change to a new head coach be less disruptive given the chief exec. and head of football or whatever George Craig gets called are still in place.
Nutmegged
30-05-2016, 11:06 PM
I don't think it's a bad thing that he wants to talk to Rotherham, while in an ideal world he'd knock it back and want to stay I think he might want to subtley let the board know that he has other options if they don't continue to back him.
31-05-2016, 12:33 AM
A bit harsh but I can see what you're meaning.
Thanks for the Cup, Alan - shame if you don't stick around to finish the job.
On the bright side, the Cup win should make the Hibs manager position more attractive and hopefully we'll get someone who will build on the foundations laid by Stubbs.
31-05-2016, 01:14 AM
I don't think it's a bad thing that he wants to talk to Rotherham, while in an ideal world he'd knock it back and want to stay I think he might want to subtley let the board know that he has other options if they don't continue to back him.
Why would he even feel the need to let the board know he has options if they don't support him? Have they given even the slightest indication of such?
And interviewing for another job is hardly subtle.
Nutmegged
31-05-2016, 02:33 AM
Why would he even feel the need to let the board know he has options if they don't support him? Have they given even the slightest indication of such?
No Hearts or Sevco in the League next Season, no parachute payments either, think about that for a minute, it stands to reason that our budget might possibly get cut, given the fact two of our best players Henderson & Stokes are on money we'd not be able to pay then you have to look at the possibility the quality of our side could go down, I don't think it's a bad thing for Stubbs to show the Board he has got other options should they not continue to back him as they have.
OsloHibs
31-05-2016, 02:38 AM
No Hearts or Sevco in the League next Season, no parachute payments either, think about that for a minute, it stands to reason that our budget might possibly get cut, given the fact two of our best players Henderson & Stokes are on money we'd not be able to pay then you have to look at the possibility the quality of our side could go down, I don't think it's a bad thing for Stubbs to show the Board he has got other options should they not continue to back him as they have.
Hibs have also been very good to stubbs. They gave him a job when no-one else would. And everything he's asked for- he's got, players, trips to Spain etc. Let's not forget this.
31-05-2016, 02:50 AM
Stubbs intimated that he was still going to get a good budget due to the money made from the cup runs. Still find it odd he wants to talk to Rotherham so soon after winning the cup and it would point to family being the reason. Leanne and the board know we have to go up this season and the money from the cup runs will greatly help this year's budget.
31-05-2016, 02:57 AM
Hibs have also been very good to stubbs. They gave him a job when no-one else would. And everything he's asked for- he's got, players, trips to Spain etc. Let's not forget this.
And you know this how? How many jobs did he apply for prior to getting our gig? I seem to recall that he was in a good job with Everton before he came to us which would also have involved some foreign travel.......
31-05-2016, 03:21 AM
If you do a google on the Rotherham and Sheffield newspapers, you should read that Stubbsie was interviewed for the Rotherham job last OCTOBER.
Something I can't recall being made public at the time.
Presumably 'Rotherham acted 'in the right manner' and sought Hibs permission to speak to him then, and so I also presume that Hibs having done so, had prepared a list of suitable replacement managers mid season.
Stubbsie didn't get the job but reports indicate he did impress and hence the current approach.
So apart from his previous 'unannounced' attempt to leave mid season, there is also the question as to who Hibs may have sounded out to take over the reins mid season.
Presumably our next manager is already known to the Hibs board, and it may even be someone who was interviewed when Stubbsie was originally appointed.
Does anyone know who was also interviewed then?
ozhibs
31-05-2016, 04:19 AM
If you do a google on the Rotherham and Sheffield newspapers, you should read that Stubbsie was interviewed for the Rotherham job last OCTOBER.
Presumably 'Rotherham acted 'in the right manner' and sought Hibs permission to speak to him then, and so I also presume that Hibs having done so, had prepared a list of suitable replacement managers mid season.
Stubbsie didn't get the job but reports indicate he did impress and hence the current approach.
So apart from his previous 'unannounced' attempt to leave mid season, there is also the question as to who Hibs may have sounded out to take over the reins mid season.
Presumably our next manager is already known to the Hibs board, and it may even be someone who was interviewed when Stubbsie was originally appointed.
I don't know the answer to your question, but I'm sure LD said at the start of Stubb's reign that they had a succussion plan as in knowing to what type of person to succeed Stubbs ala Southampton.
31-05-2016, 05:00 AM
This!
high bee
31-05-2016, 07:08 AM
Surely no one wants him to stay know. Fair enough before yesterday but the guy was ready to jump ship in October. Promotion is a must and if anyone isn't committed to the cause they need to be emptied, no matter how good they are. You see how powerful it is when players want it more than their opponents. A message our head coach needs to be enforcing to his squad, how can he if it's clear he's only marking time til a suitable job comes up.
His position has become untenable IMO, he leaves as a legend and rightly so, but he cannot be allowed to take us into next season on the back of this. Give the new guy a fair chance, his own say in transfers and enough time to prepare.
Caversham Green
31-05-2016, 07:28 AM
He's a big laddie, makes his own choices. Might regret this choice.
Anyway. Who's next? Steve Clarke would float my boat.
Steve Clarke spoke to Fulham while he was Reading manager and then decided to stay. The rumour is that once he was offered the job he tried to squeeze more money out of them, they declined so he stayed at Reading. Sacked three games later.
On the football side he got them to the FA Cup semi in 2015 and had a window of about six games where they were excellent last season. Other than that they were dull at best, terrible at worst.
Not my choice by a long way.
31-05-2016, 07:33 AM
Steve Clarke spoke to Fulham while he was Reading manager and then decided to stay. The rumour is that once he was offered the job he tried to squeeze more money out of them, they declined so he stayed at Reading. Sacked three games later.
On the football side he got them to the FA Cup semi in 2015 and had a window of about six games where they were excellent last season. Other than that they were dull at best, terrible at worst.
Not my choice by a long way.
Cav, was interested by your Brian McDermott suggestion the other day, would seem to fit the head coach role, do you think he'd be a realistic and good appointment?
IMO we'll go down that route again
This is crazy and i cant see Stubbs leaving for Rotherham. They're an English third level side playing above themselves. The only way is down.Very bad move.
Dublin07
31-05-2016, 07:38 AM
Maybe has was offered it in October but turned it down. He said in his talk to the hibs club at xmas that he had recently had a job offer which he turned down.
That was before he failed to get us promoted for a 2nd time, even I don't think Stubbs expected to win the cup last week and I have a feeling he doesn't feel capable of getting us out of this league, time to go when he's on a high.
31-05-2016, 07:43 AM
Didn't someone mention there was an issue with his living arrangements up here? Perhaps this is a warning shot across the Hibs bows to get it sorted ASAP or he'll go to Rotherham to be closer to family? Whatever happens I hope it's sorted by the end of this week and we can kick on with pre-season prep.
There was but it got sorted a few months ago.
31-05-2016, 07:50 AM
Couldn't have attended an interview without formal approval by Hibs
31-05-2016, 07:51 AM
The key here for me is that this is sorted ASAP.
He stays and club comes out with statement saying that and we start to plan for next season.
He leaves on a high and we wish him good luck then hopefully a quick process to find a new manager.
I am curious to know if his staff will follow him also ?
We can't start next season slowly and we need to develop this squad.
Stokes / Henderson returning to Celtic.
Hanlon out of contract ?
Cummings being watched by clubs.
Hopefully the board have a plan.
31-05-2016, 07:52 AM
Gutted he'll be away!
31-05-2016, 07:54 AM
This is crazy and i cant see Stubbs leaving for Rotherham. They're an English third level side playing above themselves. The only way is down.Very bad move.
When Raneiri took over Leicester, most thought relegation was inevitable too, and thought he was off his rocker.
Stubbs applied for the job back in October, so he obviously has researched it.
31-05-2016, 07:54 AM
Surely no one wants him to stay know. Fair enough before yesterday but the guy was ready to jump ship in October. Promotion is a must and if anyone isn't committed to the cause they need to be emptied, no matter how good they are. You see how powerful it is when players want it more than their opponents. A message our head coach needs to be enforcing to his squad, how can he if it's clear he's only marking time til a suitable job comes up.
His position has become untenable IMO, he leaves as a legend and rightly so, but he cannot be allowed to take us into next season on the back of this. Give the new guy a fair chance, his own say in transfers and enough time to prepare.
I'd be happy for him to stay. I don't have any huge issue with him hearing Rotherham out, if he does that and decides that he's better off at Hibs then it speaks volumes for the club.
Caversham Green
31-05-2016, 07:56 AM
Cav, was interested by your Brian McDermott suggestion the other day, would seem to fit the head coach role, do you think he'd be a realistic and good appointment?
IMO we'll go down that route again
I like wee Brian. First time around down here he worked wonders with a very ordinary squad, getting them promoted as champions in his second full season. Couldn't keep them up though and was sacked after relegation (most fans considered that rather unfair). This time he's been less successful with a more talented but visibly demoralised squad - maybe the five months he got wasn't enough. In other words, I'm in two minds.
I do wonder if Martin Kuhl might be looking to step up to first team management though.
31-05-2016, 07:59 AM
This hush hush interview last October comes as a bit of a surprise. I vaguely remember gossip about his name being linked to them but that was all. The fact he is going back for a second shot suggests he will take the job. Had he not been interviewed in October, I suppose he might have been able to return to us and continue for a third time to get us promotion. If he doesn't get the job, his popularity with most fans will take a plunge.
31-05-2016, 08:03 AM
This hush hush interview last October comes as a bit of a surprise. I vaguely remember gossip about his name being linked to them but that was all. The fact he is going back for a second shot suggests he will take the job. Had he not been interviewed in October, I suppose he might have been able to return to us and continue for a third time to get us promotion. If he doesn't get the job, his popularity with most fans will take a plunge.
Yeah it is a surprise. Not one I like. I don't like that our manager was away talking to another club and the fans didn't even know about it.
31-05-2016, 08:14 AM
I get Stubbs ambition to develop and progress his management career , but not really getting either of these two as what I would have seen as the right move !
Bolton least of all are they not in a fire financial state and does returning to a club you played for not add unneeded pressure to what would be a very difficult job.
Rotherham he seemingly isn't there 1st, 2nd or possibly 3rd choice given they seemingly interviewed a Gary Bowyer & Steve McLaren last week an d Warnock knocked back a contract extension (wonder why he knocked it back ) so now Stubbsy is wanted alongside Mowbray ...so is he 5th choice ??
Having said all that I get it in both personal terms and also test himself further in a tougher environment. I like him he has a lot of good people skills and attributes that give him the potential to be a very good manager bit I think another year here would benefit him and us ...but wish him well whatever way it goes.
31-05-2016, 08:36 AM
Thinking about this again this morning Hibs really have 3 options.
1. Let him talk to Rotherham. Done. If he wants to go get the compensation sorted asap as we can't hang about.
2. He doesn't want to go. Make it clear he is here for the year and that any future approaches will be rejected. Tricky due to the fickle nature of football.
3. He doesn't want to go and he carries on as before with the thought he may up sticks at any time always on fans and players minds.
Neither 2 or 3 are particularly appealing so for me it's best he goes now. It's a pretty crap situation for all concerned now and needs resolved within a day or 2.
31-05-2016, 08:47 AM
1. Let him talk to Rotherham. Done. If he wants to go get the compensation sorted asap as we can't hang about.
2. He doesn't want to go. Make it clear he is here for the year and that any future approaches will be rejected. Tricky due to the fickle nature of football.
3. He doesn't want to go and he carries on as before with the thought he may up sticks at any time always on fans and players minds.
Neither 2 or 3 are particularly appealing so for me it's best he goes now. It's a pretty crap situation for all concerned now and needs resolved within a day or 2.
Option 2 isn't just tricky, it's impossible.
Option 3 effectively renders him a lame-duck and he'd be linked with every vacancy that arose. players would feel less and less committed to him and stability would be harmed. Bad results would see the fans turning on him.
I agree with you. I hope he accepts the Rotherham job.
If he does, he goes with my total respect and best wishes.
The king is dead. Long live the king.
Yeah it is a surprise. Not one I like. I don't like that our manager was away talking to another club and the fans didn't even know about it.
Has AS applying for a job & talking to Rotherham last October now become a Net Fact? I think I'll keep my powder dry until we know more. As for suggestions AS doesn't think he can get us out of this league, wow! I would suggest keeping Rotherham in the Championship would be a much tougher test. Personally I think it's much more about his family life. Living in a bachelor flat in Porty for 2 years will pall after a while. I also agree with the poster who thinks this is an alert to certain bigger & better Lancashire clubs, currently managerless. It's mainly for that reason that I reluctantly think, unless he signs a new, improved contract with us, that the parting of the ways may be mutually beneficial.
31-05-2016, 09:40 AM
Did anybody ever think that if a decent job in England came up, Stubbs wouldn't jump at it? I think Rotherham is perhaps stretching the bounds of decent, but we surely all knew when he took the job he wasn't going to be here that long one way or another?
31-05-2016, 09:40 AM
Hopefully we get an answer today so we can bring in someone with the minerals to get us promoted
31-05-2016, 09:44 AM
Did anybody ever think that if a decent job in England came up, Stubbs wouldn't jump at it? I think Rotherham is perhaps stretching the bounds of decent, but we surely all knew when he took the job he wasn't going to be here that long one way or another?
No argument from me. I think most accepted he had ambition beyond Hibs and Scotland, I want that from any player or manager who comes here tbh.
My point is that it's surely preferable he goes now to give us a chance to get a new manager in early to get us prepared for a huge season as opposed to Stubbs turning down Rotherham then ending up down at Bolton or Leeds or someone in October. That's a far worse scenario than losing him early in the close season imo.
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
31-05-2016, 09:47 AM
Has AS applying for a job & talking to Rotherham last October now become a Net Fact? I think I'll keep my powder dry until we know more. As for suggestions AS doesn't think he can get us out of this league, wow! I would suggest keeping Rotherham in the Championship would be a much tougher test. Personally I think it's much more about his family life. Living in a bachelor flat in Porty for 2 years will pall after a while. I also agree with the poster who thinks this is an alert to certain bigger & better Lancashire clubs, currently managerless. It's mainly for that reason that I reluctantly think, unless he signs a new, improved contract with us, that the parting of the ways may be mutually beneficial.
It almost says so here:
http://www.southyorkshiretimes.co.uk/sport/local-sport/rotherham-united-the-day-30-000-fans-saluted-new-millers-boss-neil-redfearn-1-7508579
Tony Stewart believes interviews are when he can really assess a candidate’s true worth and Redfearn impressed the Millers chairman when they met last week. After approaches to talk to - only to talk to, remember, not to offer them the job - Burton Albion’s Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink and Walsall’s Dean Smith were rejected, it came down to a choice between two men, with Hibernian’s Alan Stubbs thought to be the man to miss out.
31-05-2016, 09:49 AM
No argument from me. I think most accepted he had ambition beyond Hibs and Scotland, I want that from any player or manager who comes here tbh.
My point is that it's surely preferable he goes now to give us a chance to get a new manager in early to get us prepared for a huge season as opposed to Stubbs turning down Rotherham then ending up down at Bolton or Leeds or someone in October. That's a far worse scenario than losing him early in the close season imo.
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Yep, agree with that.
It almost says so here:
http://www.southyorkshiretimes.co.uk/sport/local-sport/rotherham-united-the-day-30-000-fans-saluted-new-millers-boss-neil-redfearn-1-7508579
Must be true if it's in the papers I guess! :wink: I'd better revise my opinion of Keith Jackson!
IndieHibby
31-05-2016, 10:02 AM
http://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/hibs-blow-as-stubbs-talks-to-rotherham-qjlf90bcd?shareToken=137be5147d1234eba8ed2b788d2c8 4b4
31-05-2016, 10:08 AM
IMO, I was wanting him to leave this season, then after the cup win was prepared to give him another year, if he goes then fine, (thanks for the cup) it will give another manager the chance to do what he couldnt do in reference to promotion, hopefully if he goes he wont take Cummings or McGinn as Stokes is gone and I think Cummings will flourish again without Stokes.
31-05-2016, 10:14 AM
IMO, I was wanting him to leave this season, then after the cup win was prepared to give him another year, if he goes then fine, (thanks for the cup) it will give another manager the chance to do what he couldnt do in reference to promotion, hopefully if he goes he wont take Cummings or McGinn as Stokes is gone and I think Cummings will flourish again without Stokes.
Even if he does, he'll have to pay for them. So we can replace them.
31-05-2016, 10:16 AM
Must be true if it's in the papers I guess! :wink: I'd better revise my opinion of Keith Jackson!
Yeah well, I never said it was true, just seeing what google could turn up. :wink:
Velma Dinkley
31-05-2016, 10:34 AM
We have Edinburgh Rock. Does Rotherham even do sweeties?
31-05-2016, 10:51 AM
spot on. it was gonna happen sometime and as hibs sometimes take on up and coming new managers/coaches at some point they will move on.
Green&White
31-05-2016, 10:53 AM
Why cant we just have a prolonged period of good times at hibs without something creeping in to spoil the party :confused: (not that anything would spoil this one right enough) :greengrin
HappyHanlon
31-05-2016, 11:07 AM
I've passed through Rotherham and it's a cesspit.
Lego brick stadium and some weird fetish for the Chuckle Brothers.
Personally think he'd be making a mistake. They will be whipping boys of the Championship and his stock might take a kicking when things aren't going right.
If he goes, he goes with my best wishes though. The man delivered the Holy Grail. :thumbsup::thumbsup::not worth:not worth
Northern Hibby
31-05-2016, 11:12 AM
Personally I think he just wants to see what's on offer, I would, doesn't mean I'd take the job, also means I'd be in a stronger position with my current employer with regards to new contract negotiations, that said if he does go he gave me on of my best ever football memories, so thank you Alan and good luck for the future.
or was the Cup win all just down to the Harp being back, albeit along with the castle & the ship :hmmm:
31-05-2016, 11:31 AM
No loyalty to his employers seems to be a recurring theme in Stubbs' career. Do some Bolton and Everton fans not hold a grudge against him for that very reason?
31-05-2016, 11:36 AM
Personally I think he just wants to see what's on offer, I would, doesn't mean I'd take the job, also means I'd be in a stronger position with my current employer with regards to new contract negotiations, that said if he does go he gave me on of my best ever football memories, so thank you Alan and good luck for the future.
or was the Cup win all just down to the Harp being back, albeit along with the castle & the ship :hmmm:
This was my thought - talk to them and then try get more money from Hibs (transfer front and his salary).
Like I said above - hopefully this all gets sorted soon as we should be looking to develop squad and sort out of contract players ASAP.
Longer this drags then the less prepared we will be to come flying out the traps at the start of the new season.
OsloHibs
31-05-2016, 11:38 AM
Where the heck is Rotherham? What is it famous for?
31-05-2016, 11:39 AM
Even if he doesn't take the Rotherham job, he's now advertised his willingness to leave Hibs to everyone. The best thing for Hibs now is for him to take the Rotherham job. I want everyone at Hibs to concentrate on promotion next season without constant speculation about the Head Coach's position/commitment.
31-05-2016, 11:40 AM
Where the heck is Rotherham? What is it famous for?
Gareth Evans? :dunno:
31-05-2016, 11:42 AM
I don't have a problem with him speaking to Rotheram and then deciding to stay with us at all. Have had plenty of discussions with other employers over the years,some didn't interest me once I knew the full facts and one or two offered me a job which after weighing everything up I turned down. I still served my employer well and hung around a few more years before moving on.
Hibernian blade
31-05-2016, 11:47 AM
I live in Rotherham these days and it is nowhere near as bad as you imagine.
Some fantastic locations to live and twenty minutes from Derbyshire and open countryside.
It isn't a step backwards if you're not a fan of Hibernian.
Who would you sooner pit yourself against as a manager -Sheff Wed, Wolves,Villa,Newcastle,Norwich,Derby,Leeds,Forest etc or QoS,Alloa,Morton,Raith etc.
Maybe Rotherham doesn't have the appeal Hibernian does,but the opposition is loads better.
31-05-2016, 11:49 AM
Sky sports just been live from ER.
He met board last Thursday to review season.
Met Hibs officials yesterday in north east of England to chat and to get Hibs permission to talk to Rotherham.
Hibs want it sorted ASAP - players back training in 3 weeks.
31-05-2016, 12:01 PM
He doesn know it's not that New York, yeah?
31-05-2016, 12:10 PM
I personally don't believe that there is a chance of progression for Stubbs at Rotherham. I may end up wrong, but I don't believe there is
31-05-2016, 12:13 PM
That was before he failed to get us promoted for a 2nd time, even I don't think Stubbs expected to win the cup last week and I have a feeling he doesn't feel capable of getting us out of this league, time to go when he's on a high.
Certainly did. He dreamed weeks beforehand that we'd win it 3-1. Keep up! :wink:
Velma Dinkley
31-05-2016, 12:13 PM
Which round of the Europa League does Rotherham join the qualifiers at? :flag:
31-05-2016, 12:15 PM
Hibs want it sorted ASAP - players back training in 3 weeks.
Hibs will remember fine well the Calderwood scenario and what happens when you don't get this kind of thing sorted out early in the pre-season. As far as I am concerned Stubbs' willingness to speak to Rotherham means he is not in it for next season and I would rather he go and a line be drawn under the matter at this stage.
No manager is bigger than the team, even if they have won the Scottish Cup, and as brutal as it may seem we need to look forward now and say thanks for the memories rather than reminiscing about last Saturday - there is serious business to be done next season and we can't afford to get off to a disrupted start. FWIW, I would have been keen to see Stubbs stay for next season - primarily based on the way the players clearly wanted to play for him, typified by the last quarter of an hour last Saturday.
31-05-2016, 12:16 PM
2 and 3 became compromised as soon as he agreed to speak to Rotherham unfortunately, IMHO. He became what is known in corporate HR lingo as a "flight risk".
Super_JMcGinn
31-05-2016, 12:19 PM
The main reason we can't go down this route again. Give me Tommy Wright please, or someone of that ilk :wink:
Yuillsy
31-05-2016, 12:19 PM
Hibs will remember fine well the Calderwood scenario and what happens when you don't get this kind of thing sorted out early in the pre-season. As far as I am concerned Stubbs' willingness to speak to Rotherham means he is not in it for next season and I would rather he go and a line be drawn under the matter at this stage.
No manager is bigger than the team, even if they have won the Scottish Cup, and as brutal as it may seem we need to look forward now and say thanks for the memories rather than reminiscing about last Saturday - there is serious business to be done next season and we can't afford to get off to a disrupted start. FWIW, I would have been keen to see Stubbs stay for next season - primarily based on the way the players clearly wanted to play for him, typified by the last quarter of an hour last Saturday.
Excellent post. Totally agree with this!
DunblaneHibby
31-05-2016, 12:29 PM
The main reason we can't go down this route again. Give me Tommy Wright please, or someone of that ilk :wink:
would love Tommy Wright or Stuart mcall (not in the hes a hun cant give him the job) but what we cant do is have a lengthy delay
31-05-2016, 12:31 PM
no chance tommy wright will leave st johnstone for another scottish club
phantom
31-05-2016, 12:41 PM
Really don't care about managers leaving. If they are doing well then they are an open target at any point of the season. There is no loyalty in football, except for the fans. I reconciled myself with that idea years ago. Stubbs is right to check out the offer and see what the going rate is. He can then compare it to other offers later. When the right size club, in terms of ambition, with a decent financial set-up comes along he will be away. He will have my best wishes.
I'd rather he stay at the moment so he can progress plans for the start of next season. We've seen in the past two years how crucial it is to get off to a good start and Stubbs seems to be well aware of this also. If he sets us up well, gets good new players in, that continuity will be important. If we are top and well clear in November and he then leaves for a Wolves or Norwich then we will be better equipped to bring in a new manager and hopefully have a smooth transition. If he leaves now, no matter how advanced Leann is in her preparations, it will take time for a new man to be appointed and to try to get new players in. That setback could cost us winning the league.
Of course, if he stays and we have another stuttering start to the season this will be used as an excuse when it could just be a deficiency in the manager. We will have to wait and see but the team needs our support and if we can get close to filling our ground for those first few home games and cheer the boys on to the best start possible then that will be a more decisive factor than any doubts about our manager leaving at some point in the future.
The rest of the season, hopefully, will take care of itself.
Super_JMcGinn
31-05-2016, 12:42 PM
Then I hope we get someone of that ilk and with that kind of loyalty and commitment.
son of haggart
31-05-2016, 12:45 PM
He has a contract till summer 2019, so a lot of compensation
31-05-2016, 02:12 PM
On Sky bet Stubbs gone from 1/10 on to 1/3 on for Rotherham job.
For Bolton he is out to 8/1.
31-05-2016, 02:51 PM
Given the assumption that he will get the Rotherham job, how come the price could drift out so drastically. Are the bookies thinking they can tempt a few more quid out of the punters thinking he might not get the job so a few quid on the also rans might be worth a punt.
31-05-2016, 02:54 PM
I reckon that's because they've probably just interviewed Mogga, he's down to 11/4.
31-05-2016, 02:56 PM
So yesterday I would have had to punt a tenner to get a pound back.
Today I only need to punt three pound to get one back.
Maybe I'll not bother doing either. :greengrin
31-05-2016, 02:56 PM
Really don't care about managers leaving. If they are doing well then they are an open target at any point of the season. There is no loyalty in football, except for the fans. I reconciled myself with that idea years ago. Stubbs is right to check out the offer and see what the going rate is. He can then compare it to other offers later. When the right size club, in terms of ambition, with a decent financial set-up comes along he will be away. He will have my best wishes.
His agent could confirm all those details for him, well before any club 'seeks permission' to speak to him. We all know that is what happens.
By formally requesting to meet with Rotherham, it seems clear to me that his mind is already made up.
It's not impossible for Stubbs to mend bridges and stay at Hibs for another season, of course, but he's made his job here a lot harder.
portyhibernian
31-05-2016, 03:05 PM
If he's not 100% committed to us, and he clearly isn't, I would like him to go ASAP. Who we replace him with, I have absolutely no idea. I hear Van Gaal is out of work right now though :greengrin
31-05-2016, 03:30 PM
If he's not 100% committed to us, and he clearly isn't, I would like him to go ASAP. Who we replace him with, I have absolutely no idea. I hear Van Gaal is out of work right now though :greengrin
That's it for me as well. If he thinks Rotherham is a better job that Hibs then the sooner he is away the better. When he was given the Hibs job his remit was to get the club promoted not win the Scottish Cup. He hasn't managed that in two attempts and is obviously concidering jumping ship before his final go.
Unfortunately the timing stinks .
31-05-2016, 03:30 PM
I hear Van Gaal is out of work right now though :greengrin
Way too negative to be a Hibs manager. We tried that already with Bertie Auld.
No, LVG will end up at Hearts when Potter fancies a change of puppet.
31-05-2016, 03:36 PM
Way too negative to be a Hibs manager. We tried that already with Bertie Auld.
Before my time so not too informed on when Auld was at Hibs - he got us promoted immediately, why didn't the fans take to him?
31-05-2016, 03:47 PM
His agent could confirm all those details for him, well before any club 'seeks permission' to speak to him. We all know that is what happens.
By formally requesting to meet with Rotherham, it seems clear to me that his mind is already made up.
It's not impossible for Stubbs to mend bridges and stay at Hibs for another season, of course, but he's made his job here a lot harder.
What a difference 10 minutes makes. If Stokes & Gray hadn't scored in that epic period many posters would be shoving him out the door.
Getting to both cup finals in itself is an outstanding achievement however when you balance it with failing to get out of the lower division at two attempts, I'd say AS has been a successful failure. :wink:
31-05-2016, 03:51 PM
Before my time so not too informed on when Auld was at Hibs - he got us promoted immediately, why didn't the fans take to him?
Same reason as we never quite took to Miller. Or, Mogadon as he became known by certain others. Lexo. Or Bobby 'if you want entertained, go the pictures' Williamson. Must be easy to find the history for a young man like yourself. Bloody awful times. Watching Hibs got you by, but **** it was purgatory at times.