View Full Version : Daily Record and the Sun

007 Mickey Weir
26-05-2016, 07:28 AM
We really need to stop buying this trash. The amount of lies they spin is unreal. They help drive all the issues we have in Scottish football. The west coast bias just kills our game. I get they need to sell papers to the zombie hordes in the west but we have to to it selling through here.

26-05-2016, 07:30 AM
This! Stop buying them NOW

26-05-2016, 07:31 AM
Who buys papers these days anyway?

Everything is done online. Last paper I bought apart from yesterday and Monday was around two years ago....

Before you know it they will charge people to read from their site online a subscription fee

But even then that will be easy to get around and before you know it the sun and the ragord will be done.

Skåne Hibs
26-05-2016, 07:46 AM
We really need to stop buying this trash. The amount of lies they spin is unreal. They help drive all the issues we have in Scottish football. The west coast bias just kills our game. I get they need to sell papers to the zombie hordes in the west but we have to to it selling through here.

Fully agree, because of the availability of online news, paper's finances are strained enough, even if several hundred stop buying, its a serious dent to their coffers.

26-05-2016, 07:51 AM
His fans should boycott the Record, in the same way that Scousers do the Sun. Bias is one thing, but it could be strongly argued that their journalists are now orchestrating a campaign of hysteria, based on lies, against the club and it's supporters.

26-05-2016, 07:54 AM
They often give away the Record in our local McColl. They have a problem doing even that!

26-05-2016, 08:04 AM
His fans should boycott the Record, in the same way that Scousers do the Sun. Bias is one thing, but it could be strongly argued that their journalists are now orchestrating a campaign of hysteria, based on lies, against the club and it's supporters.

That hysteria will mean injuries in real terms.

26-05-2016, 08:05 AM
Stopped buying them during the Rangers liquidation nonsense 4 year ago.

26-05-2016, 08:25 AM
Already posted this on another thread but it seems more relevant to this one:

Where Hearts are concerned I always felt we had a broadly good and healthy rivalry with them until Romanov came on the scene. At that point he quite intentionally poisoned the Edinburgh water and - with the simultaneous advent of the maturing of the internet and growth of social media - the rivalry turned to bitter, needlessly aggressive bile. To the point where meeting and talking with a Hearts fan who could conduct themselves in conversation without any of the Big Team/Wee Team faux establishment pi5h became both a rarity and a pleasure when it did happen. I'm sure we will have been the same towards them in our ways too. Romanov allowed the Andertons and others of this world to behave in ways which were pretty irresponsible. I've never forgotten his 'docksiders' comment which I considered to be pretty irresponsible at the time.

So when I see the kind of overblown and incendiary statements that The Rangers issued after the match and then again a day later I am reminded of irresponsible football statements generally. Those who parrot these types of statements and claims in the media also have a lot to answer for. Not because it trashes our reputation - which it does and that is bad - but because it inaccurately and irresponsibly raises the temperature in a way that will be paid for not now, but later. And when it is paid for it will more than likely be literally in spilled blood the next time we face The Rangers as the stupider elements of both sets of fans seek to settle some imaginary score. I won't be taking my kids to that one - in fact I probably won't attend it either.

No-one can claim that any of our supporters on the pitch who threatened players or fought with fans from The Rangers don't carry blame or that they shouldn't face the consequences - they should. The same is true for The Rangers fans who came on to the pitch to fight.

To those in the print, tv and radio media - supposedly professional, impartial and authoritative commentators - who shamelessly gloried in 'Hibsed it' as an inaccurate and derogatory term massively cranking up emotions in the run up to the end of the season. To those in the same profession who have equally grotesquely fanned the flames with unsubstantiated and uncritical claims of mass assaults on players. Look into your souls, because you too have played a significant part in stoking up any future violence that ensues.

26-05-2016, 08:25 AM
That hysteria will mean injuries in real terms.
:agree: The lies being printed has given the Huns an even bigger chip on their shoulders. They will be looking for revenge the next time we play them and that will unfortunately mean violent revenge.

Velma Dinkley
26-05-2016, 08:33 AM
IPSO is the independent regulator for the newspaper and magazine industry in the UK. It aims to uphold the highest standards of journalism by monitoring and maintaining the standards set out in the Editors' Code of Practice, and provide support and redress for individuals seeking to complain about breaches of the Code. www.ipso.co.uk (www.ipso.co.uk)

26-05-2016, 08:44 AM
IPSO is the independent regulator for the newspaper and magazine industry in the UK. It aims to uphold the highest standards of journalism by monitoring and maintaining the standards set out in the Editors' Code of Practice, and provide support and redress for individuals seeking to complain about breaches of the Code. www.ipso.co.uk (http://www.ipso.co.uk)

Thanks for this, I will write to them but also to the DR telling them my family will no longer buy their paper. I would encourage everyone, even if you don't buy the DR, to write to them. Make no mistake, their coverage is majorly influenced by revenue, if we hurt them enough they'll change their tune. On a somewhat lighter note, how stupid is Keith Jackson? Having previous for talking about Craig Whyte's "off the radar" wealth would surely have made anyone a bit cautious about repeating 2nd hand fiction but KJ effectively turned his column over to Traynor & his nasty propaganda, not too clever!

26-05-2016, 08:48 AM
:agree: The lies being printed has given the Huns an even bigger chip on their shoulders. They will be looking for revenge the next time we play them and that will unfortunately mean violent revenge.

Yep this has all come from the statements from the club directly after the game and then if it was possible the horrific statement on the Sunday which basically blamed everyone else and absolved Rangers fans totally. The level of irresponsibility in that statement ably assisted by the lap dog media has been shameful. The tone at that time from the club should have been we werent happy about what happened and we demand a full investigation, END OF. The stirring up was unnecessary however reflects more on the sort of people who have run that club for years.

26-05-2016, 08:49 AM

Everything is done online. Last paper I bought apart from yesterday and Monday was around two years ago....

Before you know it they will charge people to read from their site online a subscription fee

But even then that will be easy to get around and before you know it the sun and the ragord will be done.

Clicking on their website still generates revenue for them.

26-05-2016, 08:50 AM
Thanks for this, I will write to them but also to the DR telling them my family will no longer buy their paper. I would encourage everyone, even if you don't buy the DR, to write to them. Make no mistake, their coverage is majorly influenced by revenue, if we hurt them enough they'll change their tune. On a somewhat lighter note, how stupid is Keith Jackson? Having previous for talking about Craig Whyte's "off the radar" wealth would surely have made anyone a bit cautious about repeating 2nd hand fiction but KJ effectively turned his column over to Traynor & his nasty propaganda, not too clever!

just doing what he is told by his masters.

26-05-2016, 09:12 AM
Wouldn't even wipe my arse with those rags. Their arse sooking of the huns is stomach turning.

The bollocks the record pedalled out during the Scott Allan saga last year and the countless times they've twisted stories to suit the hun agenda.

26-05-2016, 09:14 AM

Same, never bought a paper for years. Evening News Hibs special doesn't count.

Tom Hart RIP
26-05-2016, 09:17 AM
Big bit in the Record today quoting unnamed cop slagging off Rangers fans behaviour after the game.

OsloHibs
26-05-2016, 11:06 AM

Agree. And dont forget the Sunday mail too.

26-05-2016, 11:54 AM
IMO, some of the rag reporting could be deemed as incitement.
If so, that is a criminal offence and they should be charged.

nellio
26-05-2016, 11:58 AM
Not bought the Sun since they falsely reported on a Cardiff city game when we dumped high flying Leeds out the FA cup in 2002. Much the same as what's just happened here on Sat where there was some disorder but they made out that WWIII had broken out on the pitch.

26-05-2016, 12:30 PM
Don't mean to sound a dick, but I would have to question the people's IQ's who read papers like The Daily Record and The Sun. They aren't proper news sources and quite frankly embarrassing on every level.

They do their best to manipulate the public and then try take credit for things like raising money for charities etc.

Plus it's 2016 who the **** buys papers anyway?

Mango Man
26-05-2016, 01:03 PM
A The Rangers fan in my work buys a sun everyday, had a wee look today, and Bill Leckies article is horrendous, painting the whole day as disaster for Scottish football, come on!!

People are trying really hard to ruin this for us, no chance, 10 or so idiots running at The Rangers players ain't going to stop our glorious achievement.

26-05-2016, 02:19 PM
Not just those papers - check out this disgusting intro (couldn't read more than that) to Kevin Ferrie's piece in today's Herald: -

Kevin Ferrie: David Hume would be turning in his grave after 'dark ages' of Scottish Cup Final

PHILOSOPHICALLY speaking the unenlightened of Edinburgh have let Scotland down. What would David Hume make of it all?

Precisely two and a half centuries after the champion of the Enlightenment died it is his home city of Edinburgh that is keeping us in the dark ages.

Not least because the final verdict on Hillsborough had been passed only a month earlier, the scenes that spoiled Hibs’ great day at Hampden (http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/14508666.VIDEO__Rangers_2_3_Hibernian__disgraceful _scenes_ruin_Hibs__Hampden_party/) were beyond shocking, evoking memories of close to 40 years earlier of Scotland supporters hanging off crossbars and digging up the Wembley turf while, worse still, there were echoes of the ‘shame game’ between Celtic and Rangers in 1980 as the cavalry was called in the shape of the police mounted division after players were assaulted and opposing fans taunted into fights on the national stadium’s turf.

Mentioning Hillsborough and stating that the scenes on Saturday were "beyond shocking" - appalling stuff. "Opposing fans taunted into fights" - unbelievable. We have let Scotland down? Laughable.

Skåne Hibs
26-05-2016, 03:08 PM
As the media stuff has gone on. I have wondered about the possible defamation caused to Hibs.

From photographs and footage it appears a minority of Hibs fans were fighting, but some of the headlines have been borderline hysteria, suggesting first that some offences were committed, which clearly weren't and more people were involved that is actually true.

The papers are likely to say they acted on the info they had to hand, but it is their responsibility to check their info is correct before going to print.

In my limited understanding of defamation, the relevant categories seem to be damage to business (Hibs as an entity) and accusation of a criminal offence where none was committed. A person or entity may bring a defamation case if they are accused of a criminal act they did not commit or libelous statements are made that damage their business interests. I know with those two categories the person or entity does not have to prove any loss.

I hope Hibs' lawyers are keeping a close eye on what is being published.

Velma Dinkley
26-05-2016, 03:18 PM
Not just those papers - check out this disgusting intro (couldn't read more than that) to Kevin Ferrie's piece in today's Herald: -

Kevin Ferrie: David Hume would be turning in his grave after 'dark ages' of Scottish Cup Final

PHILOSOPHICALLY speaking the unenlightened of Edinburgh have let Scotland down. What would David Hume make of it all?

Precisely two and a half centuries after the champion of the Enlightenment died it is his home city of Edinburgh that is keeping us in the dark ages.

Not least because the final verdict on Hillsborough had been passed only a month earlier, the scenes that spoiled Hibs’ great day at Hampden (http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/14508666.VIDEO__Rangers_2_3_Hibernian__disgraceful _scenes_ruin_Hibs__Hampden_party/) were beyond shocking, evoking memories of close to 40 years earlier of Scotland supporters hanging off crossbars and digging up the Wembley turf while, worse still, there were echoes of the ‘shame game’ between Celtic and Rangers in 1980 as the cavalry was called in the shape of the police mounted division after players were assaulted and opposing fans taunted into fights on the national stadium’s turf.

Mentioning Hillsborough and stating that the scenes on Saturday were "beyond shocking" - appalling stuff. "Opposing fans taunted into fights" - unbelievable. We have let Scotland down? Laughable.

I don't suppose he mentioned which players were assaulted, did he?

26-05-2016, 03:31 PM
Kevin Ferrie:

Herald Sports Writer, specialised in rugby for 25 years but now enjoying much wider range including football, golf, swimming, badminton, squash, curling...

Aye, ok then pal.

26-05-2016, 03:42 PM
I don't suppose he mentioned which players were assaulted, did he?

That was as much of the article as I could see, need to have a subscription to view the rest.

26-05-2016, 03:53 PM

Given Hume (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Hume) said "Reason Is and Ought Only to Be the Slave of the Passions" and drank a pint of claret every day I suspect Mr Hume would have been on the pitch at the end of the game with thousands of other passionate Hibbies.

Mr Ferrie makes a very poor case.

007 Mickey Weir
27-05-2016, 07:23 AM

This is a great idea!

xyz23jc
27-05-2016, 07:42 AM
Given Hume (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Hume) said "Reason Is and Ought Only to Be the Slave of the Passions" and drank a pint of claret every day I suspect Mr Hume would have been on the pitch at the end of the game with thousands of other passionate Hibbies.

Mr Ferrie makes a very poor case.

:thumbsup::greengrin Guy is an ar**! ENDOF. FACT. Just spotted this gem from The Rangers camp! INCREDULOUS doesn't cover it! Also have problems with memory and recall too! LYING BITTER DELUDED VERMIN.

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/14520056.Rangers_director_Robertson__Singing_The_B illy_Boys_was_better_than_invading_the_Hampden_pit ch/?ref=mr&lp=1

Matty_Jack04
27-05-2016, 08:03 AM
I've been so tempted to drop KJ a link to his piece after 'helicopter sunday' in 2005 I quite clearly remember the victims on the pitch with full renditions of their party songs quickly followed by mounted police entering the pitch, I'd bet there was no mention of 'spoiling the big day' or 'tarnishing the clubs achievements' that day the thought of being bombarded by the zombies vast social media crew has put me off, the fact of the matter is they all to a man thought they where going back to Europe and the Rangers where back...and they got papped and we had the nerve to break our hoodoo against them the seethe is off the scale, trying desperately to take the shine off it when in actual fact I'm as happy today as I was at 4:45 on Saturday and planning a re run of the game once I'm home from work GET IT RIGHT ROON YE all connected to sevco and all Glasgow media

scooby
27-05-2016, 08:35 AM
Don't mean to sound a dick, but I would have to question the people's IQ's who read papers like The Daily Record and The Sun. They aren't proper news sources and quite frankly embarrassing on every level.

They do their best to manipulate the public and then try take credit for things like raising money for charities etc.

10/10

green glory
27-05-2016, 08:49 AM
The Daily Record was responsible for the disgraceful 'Vow' in 2014 and continues pandering to the human excrement that are Sevco's fascist/loyalist/racist 'minority'.

The Sun's coverage of the Hillsborough disaster/Milly Dowler case was as low as it gets.

Time to put them out of business. Don't buy the physical product and don't click on their links.

27-05-2016, 09:22 AM
From our old friend Roy Greenslade http://www.theguardian.com/media/greenslade/2016/may/27/suddenly-national-newspapers-are-heading-for-that-print-cliff-fall?CMP=share_btn_tw

I am in Ireland to address the Irish Press Council’s annual general meeting in a lecture entitled “Have newspapers got a future?”
My theme is that they have no future. Declining circulation figures tell us that people are switching week by week from print to screen. It is simply a matter of time before it becomes unprofitable to continue publishing newsprint papers.

27-05-2016, 09:27 AM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1jKcHGiHpTg

High-On-Hibs
27-05-2016, 09:41 AM
The Daily Record was responsible for the disgraceful 'Vow' in 2014 and continues pandering to the human excrement that are Sevco's fascist/loyalist/racist 'minority'.

The Sun's coverage of the Hillsborough disaster/Milly Dowler case was as low as it gets.

Time to put them out of business. Don't buy the physical product and don't click on their links.

They're even more dubious than the New of the World was. How they're still in circulation is beyond me.

DCI Gene Hunt
27-05-2016, 09:45 AM
Already posted this on another thread but it seems more relevant to this one:

Where Hearts are concerned I always felt we had a broadly good and healthy rivalry with them until Romanov came on the scene. At that point he quite intentionally poisoned the Edinburgh water and - with the simultaneous advent of the maturing of the internet and growth of social media - the rivalry turned to bitter, needlessly aggressive bile. To the point where meeting and talking with a Hearts fan who could conduct themselves in conversation without any of the Big Team/Wee Team faux establishment pi5h became both a rarity and a pleasure when it did happen. I'm sure we will have been the same towards them in our ways too. Romanov allowed the Andertons and others of this world to behave in ways which were pretty irresponsible. I've never forgotten his 'docksiders' comment which I considered to be pretty irresponsible at the time.

So when I see the kind of overblown and incendiary statements that The Rangers issued after the match and then again a day later I am reminded of irresponsible football statements generally. Those who parrot these types of statements and claims in the media also have a lot to answer for. Not because it trashes our reputation - which it does and that is bad - but because it inaccurately and irresponsibly raises the temperature in a way that will be paid for not now, but later. And when it is paid for it will more than likely be literally in spilled blood the next time we face The Rangers as the stupider elements of both sets of fans seek to settle some imaginary score. I won't be taking my kids to that one - in fact I probably won't attend it either.

No-one can claim that any of our supporters on the pitch who threatened players or fought with fans from The Rangers don't carry blame or that they shouldn't face the consequences - they should. The same is true for The Rangers fans who came on to the pitch to fight.

To those in the print, tv and radio media - supposedly professional, impartial and authoritative commentators - who shamelessly gloried in 'Hibsed it' as an inaccurate and derogatory term massively cranking up emotions in the run up to the end of the season. To those in the same profession who have equally grotesquely fanned the flames with unsubstantiated and uncritical claims of mass assaults on players. Look into your souls, because you too have played a significant part in stoking up any future violence that ensues.

This is probably the best post I have read over the past few days, especially the bit in bold.

In football there has always been banter which is generally fun, however in recent times a number of idiots have taken things too far ruining the fun, banter in many ways has just become hatred and bigotry.

The idiots aren't always the neds who cause bother, the biggest idiots are those in the public eye who deliberately stoke up emotions with targeted statements. Romanov was a case in point, as was Sally McCoist, Neil Lennon, and take your pick at any number of sports journalists and "pundits" who just love to stir things up.

The media love to put people on a pedestal then chuck eggs at them. For years Hibs fans were wound up about the Scottish Cup, it was seemingly mentioned in any article or football telly programme, the week in the run up to the SC final was particularly horrendous with all sorts of references to Hibs, 1902 and "Hibs-ing it"; BBC Radio Scotland had an advert on every 10 minutes for the SC Final openly mocking Hibs. It was pathetic. Then when the Hibs fans go mental when our team wins the media have a go at us? Completely appalling journalism.

The Sevco board and their media mates have a lot to answer for in the aftermath, wildly exaggerated claims and bizarre statements, calls to the SC win to be nulled, Hibs out of Europe, most of us see it for what it is - Sevco lost and flung their rattle out the pram - but all this noise is the real appalling aftermath, the Sevco board and the media with all their bluster, exaggeration and LIES have practically guaranteed that at any Sevco match in the future, home or away, versus whoever, will be marred by hatred, bigotry and violence. Incredibly irresponsible behaviour by public figures in positions of responsibility.

I agree that any paper, website etc. that has defaced Hibernian FC and its supporters' name should be boycotted indefinately, that said why any sane cognescient and stable individual would want to read trash, biased, lying chip-wrapper journalism like The Spun, Daily Ranger, Daily Fail, Teh Grauniad, Faily Express, Torygraph, The Nazinal or any other of these utterly farcical publications that are a tragic waste of trees is beyond me.

Gene

27-05-2016, 10:01 AM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1jKcHGiHpTg

tonyhib7
27-05-2016, 10:45 AM

The only common denominator between Hillsborough and Saturday was the immediate cover up and pulling ranks it wasn't our fault Mr. It was those nasty boys wearing green.

Was this not a high risk game as all Hibs V The rangers are?

Where were the additional stewards and police? Why did it take so long for them to react to what was happening.

I was standing in the North stand and all around were asking were are the police. This could have been prevented if Match Commander had done his job. How long will it take for them to take part of the responsibility for what happened.

And I am not condoning what happen and hope that the authorities and our club throw the book at the minority that have disgraced our great club.

killie-hibby
29-05-2016, 09:29 AM
Todays Sunday Mail again casting Hibs supporters as vicious thugs. Dont bother as I did clicking on to their web site. Its the usual biased guff. Unable to produce any photographic evidence to support their claims they contradict the entire article by showing two photos. Both of them show two different Hibs supporters lying on the pitch while being kicked and battered by groups of The Rangers supporters.
In the same edition they are claiming that "fatcat" Hibs supporters from the £300 hospitality suites,climbed down from the suites and rushed on to the pitch to cause trouble.
Absolute bollocks.
Dempster at al must be considering a ban on the DR/Sunday Mail attending games at ER.

29-05-2016, 09:36 AM
Todays Sunday Mail again casting Hibs supporters as vicious thugs. Dont bother as I did clicking on to their web site. Its the usual biased guff. Unable to produce any photographic evidence to support their claims they contradict the entire article by showing two photos. Both of them show two different Hibs supporters lying on the pitch while being kicked and battered by groups of The Rangers supporters.
In the same edition they are claiming that "fatcat" Hibs supporters from the £300 hospitality suites,climbed down from the suites and rushed on to the pitch to cause trouble.
Absolute bollocks.
Dempster at al must be considering a ban on the DR/Sunday Mail attending games at ER.

Does Gordon Twaddell still lie for the Sunday Mail? He was one of the lying eye-witnesses last week.

The football season has just ended. The Glasgow record and Glasgow sun go into depression as they lose bucketfuls of old firm cash due to no stories. They'll keep this going as long as they can but it has burnt out now. They ought to give it up.Anyone who did any wrongdoing from either side will be punished.

Absolute bollocks.

Hibs MUST respond to this absolute nonsense!

Jdawg
29-05-2016, 09:41 AM

Correct, both absolute rags, full of nonsense and lies written be cretin 'journalists'.

Jdawg
29-05-2016, 09:44 AM
The only common denominator between Hillsborough and Saturday was the immediate cover up and pulling ranks it wasn't our fault Mr. It was those nasty boys wearing green.

Was this not a high risk game as all Hibs V The rangers are?

Where were the additional stewards and police? Why did it take so long for them to react to what was happening.

I was standing in the North stand and all around were asking were are the police. This could have been prevented if Match Commander had done his job. How long will it take for them to take part of the responsibility for what happened.

And I am not condoning what happen and hope that the authorities and our club throw the book at the minority that have disgraced our great club.

GGTTH I read an article which interviewed a PC, he said rangers fans outside the ground stopped them from sending in reinforcements. Men, women and their children giving them dogs abide, etc.

29-05-2016, 09:44 AM
Does Gordon Twaddell still lie for the Sunday Mail? He was one of the lying eye-witnesses last week.

He says he's been branded a liar for producing no video evidence while he was busy finishing his match report, and in the same article implies that Petrie is lying if he said he didn't see the violence, despite the fact I imagine Rodders was a tad busy at full time too!

Still banging on about Hibs to blame and teams with longer runs without winning the cup have managed to win it without invading the pitch (not sure who, and I bet those teams hadn't lost 10 finals in a row either). Seems to be spinning the line that pitch invasions are a disgrace, despite the fact they happen all over the world, usually without incident when it is for a celebration. Not to mention his beloved Rangers did it in 2005...

29-05-2016, 09:46 AM
Remember Milly and Hillsborough if you want to understand what the red tops are all about. I won't allow them in my house and they go straight in the bin if I see them at my workplace.

Not worth getting agitated about. Only the terminally stupid believe what's in the papers in 2016.

29-05-2016, 10:05 AM
Remember Milly and Hillsborough if you want to understand what the red tops are all about. I won't allow them in my house and they go straight in the bin if I see them at my workplace.

Not worth getting agitated about. Only the terminally stupid believe what's in the papers in 2016.

Personally I'm delighted the media has broken it's normally very snide sneaky normal agenda. It's Jim Traynor Level 5 led widespread agenda has opened the eyes of the many fans who would normally defend it. There is surely now no-one left who would say this masonic wee free coverage and reporting has been even handed or fair.

The Record/Sun/Herald/Mail and the rest bar the odd one or two has set out to demonise the Hibernian Scottish Cup Victory over their beloved Huns.

Anyone still willing to defend these rabid dogs?

Hibernian Scottish Cup Winners 2016

29-05-2016, 10:10 AM
They must have very poor memories to forget the truly horrendous scenes in Manchester by the teddy bears. Tam Cowan hit a new low by blaming the hibs fans for goading the Govan hordes into a fight. Just remind me tam who invaded the pitch after their play off final and had mass brawls with the sevco fans. I do recall players being surrounded by fans and one indeed lashed out and gave the fan a superb uppercut. That would be your team Motherwell and we didn't hear the same reaction then. It's saddens me regards waddell as I thought he was OK. I'm glad we live in an era where most people look to social media to get a true picture of things. Only the weeegie papers are printing this guff and the Internet is totally contradicting them. The seethe goes on.

29-05-2016, 10:22 AM
He says he's been branded a liar for producing no video evidence while he was busy finishing his match report, and in the same article implies that Petrie is lying if he said he didn't see the violence, despite the fact I imagine Rodders was a tad busy at full time too!

Still banging on about Hibs to blame and teams with longer runs without winning the cup have managed to win it without invading the pitch (not sure who, and I bet those teams hadn't lost 10 finals in a row either). Seems to be spinning the line that pitch invasions are a disgrace, despite the fact they happen all over the world, usually without incident when it is for a celebration. Not to mention his beloved Rangers did it in 2005...

He also talks about punishments and only offers one specific outcome - which is banning Hibs from the cup next year. And does it twice.

Hmm.

Nutmegged
29-05-2016, 10:26 AM
They give the Sun away for free at the Airport, my better half grabbed one for me before we boarded the plane, I grabbed it off her and left it on the loungers facing put the windows.

Wouldn't read that rag for free which is a shame as they have some very good Scottish Sports journos

29-05-2016, 10:32 AM
Absolute bollocks.

When I looked across to the corporate area the main thing that caught my eye was every The Rangers fan to a man and woman singing about our manager being a Fenian b****** while taunting the Hibs fans.

29-05-2016, 10:35 AM
The old firm riot 1980
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G5hL6UbstyE

29-05-2016, 10:59 AM
Absolute bollocks.

I really do wish a single clip could be produced showing the various phone camera clips of Rangers fans invading the pitch and attacking Hibs fans for waving scarfs and laughing at them ( goading in their double speak)

Extracts from various Rangers statements about all their players being assaulted ,followed by pictures of the players walking off the pitch, Kenny Miller's wifes tweet that Rangers should stop lying, and Kenny Shields and Dylan McGeough's statements that expose their lies.

Finally a few of the more outrageous lies from papers and TV with the names of the writers.

Get it posted on Hibs.net and let us re-post to other club fans sites, SFM, Pie and Bovril etc, and newspaper online sites.

We need to get our side of the story out, before the Sevco lies become accepted fact.

29-05-2016, 11:05 AM
Burnt out already, what are the huns gonna use to deflect from their defeat now?! :panic:

High-On-Hibs
29-05-2016, 11:30 AM
We need to get our side of the story out, before the Sevco lies become accepted fact.

Will never happen. It has only become accepted fact for them and will remain accepted fact for them. While the rest of the world continues to laugh at them.

Andy Bee
29-05-2016, 11:38 AM
I really do wish a single clip could be produced showing the various phone camera clips of Rangers fans invading the pitch and attacking Hibs fans for waving scarfs and laughing at them ( goading in their double speak)

Extracts from various Rangers statements about all their players being assaulted ,followed by pictures of the players walking off the pitch, Kenny Miller's wifes tweet that Rangers should stop lying, and Kenny Shields and Dylan McGeough's statements that expose their lies.

Finally a few of the more outrageous lies from papers and TV with the names of the writers.

Get it posted on Hibs.net and let us re-post to other club fans sites, SFM, Pie and Bovril etc, and newspaper online sites.

What, like THIS (https://www.dropbox.com/s/r9sustazpnxi73o/Football%20lies%20Chic%20Dean%20Shiels.wav?dl=0) and THIS (https://www.dropbox.com/s/y8pe42umj0hsj0p/Football%20lies%203.wav?dl=0) ?

29-05-2016, 11:41 AM
Anywhere that The Sun is given out free should result in someone picking every single copy up and putting them all in the bin.

Simple.

29-05-2016, 12:11 PM
I'm just looking forward to when the 'Final Issue' day arrives for these rags - especially the 'R*tard', been told 2-3 years if things don't improve !!

OsloHibs
29-05-2016, 01:12 PM
Chick young getting sacked cos he's not on twitter?? No it's cos your a rank biased dinosaur journalist. And you can take that other prehestoric gordon waddle with you..

29-05-2016, 01:18 PM
Journalist ??? Fool with a mic

29-05-2016, 01:29 PM
Absolute bollocks.
Yep. References only to Hibs fans. Repeating that we were on the park just to attack Rangers players and staff.

I get the let the inquiries do their job stance but this stuff is sticking just now.

29-05-2016, 02:25 PM
Yep. References only to Hibs fans. Repeating that we were on the park just to attack Rangers players and staff.

I get the let the inquiries do their job stance but this stuff is sticking just now.

I have no idea who believes the guff from these rags except for the Huns and other like minded neanderthals. I've spoken to people who only have a passing interest in football and believe me none of them think the vast majority of the over exuberant celebratory fans who ran onto the pitch did so for any other reason.

They are simply trying to demonise the Legends of 2016.

Hibernian Scottish Cup Winners 2016.

29-05-2016, 03:42 PM
Not a mention any where re the obnoxious and offensive gestures from the rabble above row 24 and 25 and the objects they threw when there team was scoring.They are pure ****.

29-05-2016, 04:41 PM
but this stuff is sticking just now.

Not sure about that (except among bams that read the DR), PC plod needs evidence, and apart from a couple of radges, there have been zilch arrests from our end - I expect more from the zombies.

As for the SFA? Inconceivable they lay it all at Hibs, it wasn't our event, we arranged tickets correctly, and had no say in stewarding.

29-05-2016, 04:57 PM
Mr White and I spoke with a British Transport Police (reasonable guy) a few things mentioned.

1) he felt the aftermath had set things back a number of years
2) he said the guy in charge (up from the Met?) had changed the Policing style of such games - to more stewards and it just didn't work (in his view)
3) he said who'd be a match commander...?

High-On-Hibs
29-05-2016, 05:00 PM
I'm just looking forward to when the 'Final Issue' day arrives for these rags - especially the 'R*tard', been told 2-3 years if things don't improve !!

That issue would contain a lot of apologies.

29-05-2016, 05:22 PM
Doubt that - they would place all of the blame on the "internet bampots".......

29-05-2016, 05:26 PM

It would more likely contain a whole load of Jim Traynor style sign-off rants.

Remember it's not just the Record, the Herald forced out Graham Spiers for daring to tell the truth about the bigotry at Ibrox.

29-05-2016, 05:57 PM
Mr White and I spoke with a British Transport Police (reasonable guy) a few things mentioned.

1) he felt the aftermath had set things back a number of years
2) he said the guy in charge (up from the Met?) had changed the Policing style of such games - to more stewards and it just didn't work (in his view)
3) he said who'd be a match commander...?

Yeah he was a reasonable guy. I got the impression he was happier being in the transport police than police Scotland. Probably doubly glad he was at kings park rather than in the stadium :greengrin

WestCoastHibby
29-05-2016, 10:27 PM
A week and a bit on , it all seems to have calmed down thankfully. The guff spouted about a game that will be remembered for all the wrong reasons......I dont think so. Gray skelping the ball sidey ways with his napper is the abiding memory for most!!

The Kaiser
29-05-2016, 11:32 PM
Last paper I bought was the evening news yesterday as it had the poster in it.

Before that maybe 10 years maybe? You can get it all online

30-05-2016, 12:39 AM
Chick young getting sacked cos he's not on twitter?? No it's cos your a rank biased dinosaur journalist. And you can take that other prehestoric gordon waddle with you..

:rotflmao:

30-05-2016, 03:15 AM
Clicking on their website still generates revenue for them.

I do wonder how much dosh they bring in for this as the Record are particularly good at leaving the click bait out there and an avid Record despiser such as myself still finds myself wanting to know.

Fannies.

euro Hibby
30-05-2016, 05:43 AM
Keith Jackson article today but i refuse to click it........

Andy Bee
30-05-2016, 07:36 AM
SCOTTISH CUP FINAL fallout continues to rumble on and has taken the gloss off what could have been a quite pleasing season for the Scottish game.

IT wouldn’t be Scottish football if it failed to end in a simmering climate of malice, ill will and recriminations.

When it all boils down to bad blood, wha’s like us, eh?

But although the curtain has closed on another season and left a new raft of open sores to fester over the summer, the truth of the matter is our national obsession hasn’t felt so robust or so full of promise for a long, long time.

Yes, the inquest into the Scottish Cup Final will proceed over the close season and this lingering resentment between Rangers and Hibs will not fade away any time soon.

In fact, the more this matter is devoured on social media, the more it is spewed back out again, the more toxic cyberspace becomes.

Intimidation, insults and vile threats continue to stink the place out and while a great deal of it has been absolutely rancid, it is time for the rest of us to try to ignore the putrid smell and concentrate on better times ahead.

Let the police wade through this slurry and, after they have pinched the collars of those hooligans who shamed their clubs at Hampden, it will be over to the SFA to pick up this mess and dispose of it once and for all by hammering Hibs for the pitch invasion and sanctioning Rangers for the part played in this embarrassment by some of their own rogue supporters.

The cops too must be made to answer some very serious questions.

Their mishandling of a crisis situation could have led to complete and utter carnage rather than just the sporadic skirmishes and running battles that were bad enough to bring the season curtain down in shame.

Where exactly were they in the minutes leading up to this invasion, when they ought to have been lining the perimeter of the pitch as per the usual protocol? And then again when it all kicked off, why were so few of them to be seen for so long before any kind of order was restored?

In this paper last week an unnamed police source suggested one reason for the delay in
deployment was that Rangers supporters making their way out of the ground formed a mob to prevent a convoy of riot vans from rushing to the crime scene.

Worse still, this corroborated eye witness account insisted that some even used their own children as human barricades outside the stadium. This really was an extraordinary claim and if it is true that grown men were indulging in this incomprehensible and reprehensible behaviour, then parts of our society are even more badly broken than any of us realised.

For their part, Rangers fans vehemently dispute this account of what went on and some are busy gathering video and photographic evidence with which they hope to disprove it.

Surely, with so many CCTV and mobile phone cameras in the area at the time, the irrefutable truth will soon come out.

But, in many ways, the reaction to this claim has in itself defied conventional rationale, never mind good taste and reason. Some of it has been stomach churning in its absolute abhorrence.

Which is why it now seems like an ideal time for the rest of us to leave this foul cesspit behind and allow time for those in authority to ask the necessary questions as well as to answer them.

While they are busy raking back through the evidence with a pointy stick, let’s look forward to the season ahead because if Scottish football can stop hating itself to death for just a moment, it might even start to feel worthy of its place in the wider world again.

This period of navel gazing does seem entirely appropriate but when it is over our game should raise its head and walk with a confident swagger towards the next instalment because the new season should be welcomed in with open arms.

Last week’s arrivals of Brendan Rodgers and Joey Barton have guaranteed genuine box office appeal to the coming campaign.

30-05-2016, 07:36 AM

I did by mistake and would advise against it. More sick, ironic analysis by the Glasgow media blaming Hibs fans for WW3, absolving Sevco and talking up the new dawn of the OF.

30-05-2016, 08:02 AM
Some fairly predictable language from Jackson there. Not a single mention of attacks on sevco players or staff this time though. That's a first.

30-05-2016, 08:07 AM
Mental. An article talking about the nonsense reaction by one of the guys talking the most nonsense about it from the start.

I presume the abhorrent stuff he refers to is the defence of Hibs fans.

30-05-2016, 08:14 AM
I strongly suggest folk stop talking about these articles and just don't read them. They want a reaction and it's now beyond boring.

For those who like these papers, try the Beano it's a few stages up regarding telling true stories.

Velma Dinkley
30-05-2016, 08:46 AM
I love the Beano. Just like The Rangers fans can't hack getting beat and seeing opponents celebrate a great win, Jackson can't hack being called out on his atrocious journalism AKA constant, blatant lies.

30-05-2016, 08:47 AM
Mental. An article talking about the nonsense reaction by one of the guys talking the most nonsense about it from the start.

I presume the abhorrent stuff he refers to is the defence of Hibs fans.

The lack of self awareness in that article is quite simply astounding. He was one of the biggest stirrers in all of this. If he had put that article out last week rather than coming out with guff like all players were attacked, spat on etc then the simmering resentment wouldnt be as bad. We all know why he did to sell papers and deflect from his beloved team losing in a final.

The comparison and contradiction between his wording when blaming Hibs last week without any real evidence to the 'if true' about Rangers fans stopping Police getting in the ground, is startling. John Collins was spot on about this clown.

30-05-2016, 11:38 AM
I love the Beano. Just like The Rangers fans can't hack getting beat and seeing opponents celebrate a great win, Jackson can't hack being called out on his atrocious journalism AKA constant, blatant lies.

30-05-2016, 11:42 AM

Embarrassment of a journalist (I use that word in the loosest possible sense!). Just another hun arse sucker.

High-On-Hibs
30-05-2016, 11:46 AM
He'll be having a right good jolly to himself while he rakes the money in for himself and the record.

Cut off his funding, don't read it!

30-05-2016, 11:46 AM
Some fairly predictable language from Jackson there. Not a single mention of attacks on sevco players or staff this time though. That's a first.

He's among the bottom feeders of the journalist(cough) world. Never gonna write for a real paper. ( wonder what real journos think of him)? Anyway lies sell apparently.People must be curious to read how badly a journo (cough again) can lie.

The_Sauz
30-05-2016, 12:32 PM
Yet another article from the west coast media that once again forgets to mention the sectarian singing during the game and the letting off of smoke bombs :rolleyes:

jst1875
30-05-2016, 03:29 PM
http://www.grapheine.com/bmovie-tv/publicite-en-e8fc231e20301ad00d1f16984b585b7f.html

euro Hibby
30-05-2016, 04:19 PM
Ibrox Noise

I have not seen this posted but here is some more hot air coming from the Scottish cup losers 2016. It could have easily been the DR or Sun.......

After the atrocities at Hampden last weekend where a horde of Hibernian ‘fans’ stormed the pitch, attacked Rangers players and staff and goaded rival fans, it is safe to say something of a hive has been stirred in Scottish football.

From the majority of fans in this bitter little hole trying to pin the blame on Rangers fans playing the victim, to everyone of an Ibrox persuasion rightly defending themselves against the ridiculous provocation this entails, it is safe to say a new bitterness has enveloped the game that was already saturated in arsenic.

The media have especially stirred the hate surrounding these calamitous events of nine-days past; from the Sun referring to the Hibs’ yobs as ‘fans’ who Rangers fans ‘retaliated’ against mere ‘goading’, to the Daily Record and Jane Hamilton’s remarkable flights of fantasy blaming the lethargic police response on Rangers fans deliberately blocking Strathclyde’s finest from accessing Hampden properly, we have had some ugly lies and falsehoods circling around this distasteful set of affairs within the Scottish press.

However, the Record’s Gordon Waddell went one step further over the weekend; he managed to blame Rob Kiernan and Andy Halliday for what Hibs fans did.

Despite everything we know, everything we have seen, all the evidence; Waddell pinned the blame on Kiernan and Halliday by saying Halliday kicked back and Kiernan ‘went back for more’. Beyond the staggering connotations here (that grown men should let themselves be attacked without any sense of self preservation) is the simple fact that the message this sends is to justify what Hibs yobs did.

Yes, Waddell conceded that their fans should never have done what they did, in storming the pitch and causing mayhem, but to then administer responsibility to Rangers players for being hit and wanting to defend themselves is a new level of gutter tabloidism and immoral opinion masquerading as ‘journalism’.

It is a new level of sick PC that argues that professionals should not hit back if assaulted – that they have some kind of responsibility to ethics if they so much as dare lift a finger when being attacked.

It must not be forgotten that Halliday himself was being protected by referee Steven McLean and his brave assistants, along with Bobby Madden who chased after another Hibs thug; ergo to pin blame on these people for surviving is something beyond the pale.

These guys, players, staff and officials alike, did what they had to to avoid anything truly nasty from materialising (as what did happen was not nasty enough).

They deserve praise for not beating their assailants up, frankly, rather than condemnation for daring to hit back.

I wonder if these journalists’ families would be happy seeing others condemn them if they defended themselves and their loved ones against a gang of Neanderthals.

30-05-2016, 04:29 PM
Ibrox Noise

I have not seen this posted but here is some more hot air coming from the Scottish cup losers 2016. It could have easily been the DR or Sun.......

After the atrocities at Hampden last weekend where a horde of Hibernian ‘fans’ stormed the pitch, attacked Rangers players and staff and goaded rival fans, it is safe to say something of a hive has been stirred in Scottish football.

From the majority of fans in this bitter little hole trying to pin the blame on Rangers fans playing the victim, to everyone of an Ibrox persuasion rightly defending themselves against the ridiculous provocation this entails, it is safe to say a new bitterness has enveloped the game that was already saturated in arsenic.

The media have especially stirred the hate surrounding these calamitous events of nine-days past; from the Sun referring to the Hibs’ yobs as ‘fans’ who Rangers fans ‘retaliated’ against mere ‘goading’, to the Daily Record and Jane Hamilton’s remarkable flights of fantasy blaming the lethargic police response on Rangers fans deliberately blocking Strathclyde’s finest from accessing Hampden properly, we have had some ugly lies and falsehoods circling around this distasteful set of affairs within the Scottish press.

However, the Record’s Gordon Waddell went one step further over the weekend; he managed to blame Rob Kiernan and Andy Halliday for what Hibs fans did.

Despite everything we know, everything we have seen, all the evidence; Waddell pinned the blame on Kiernan and Halliday by saying Halliday kicked back and Kiernan ‘went back for more’. Beyond the staggering connotations here (that grown men should let themselves be attacked without any sense of self preservation) is the simple fact that the message this sends is to justify what Hibs yobs did.

Yes, Waddell conceded that their fans should never have done what they did, in storming the pitch and causing mayhem, but to then administer responsibility to Rangers players for being hit and wanting to defend themselves is a new level of gutter tabloidism and immoral opinion masquerading as ‘journalism’.

It is a new level of sick PC that argues that professionals should not hit back if assaulted – that they have some kind of responsibility to ethics if they so much as dare lift a finger when being attacked.

It must not be forgotten that Halliday himself was being protected by referee Steven McLean and his brave assistants, along with Bobby Madden who chased after another Hibs thug; ergo to pin blame on these people for surviving is something beyond the pale.

These guys, players, staff and officials alike, did what they had to to avoid anything truly nasty from materialising (as what did happen was not nasty enough).

They deserve praise for not beating their assailants up, frankly, rather than condemnation for daring to hit back.

I wonder if these journalists’ families would be happy seeing others condemn them if they defended themselves and their loved ones against a gang of Neanderthals.

Blimey.

30-05-2016, 06:52 PM
Ibrox Noise

That shows remarkable restraint. I was expecting them to go the full Traynor about us.

30-05-2016, 07:18 PM
Honestly, who gives a flying one? They are going to talk pish 24/7 regardless,no one is listening.

30-05-2016, 07:30 PM
Atrocities? Such hyperbole.

The fake outrage, morality and continual pleading of victim status really is wearing thin.

magpie1892
30-05-2016, 07:34 PM
Honestly, who gives a flying one? They are going to talk pish 24/7 regardless,no one is listening.

Really surprised people are still posting this pish here. I work regular for one of the red tops in question and I couldn't give a flying ****.

It's not as if any of the written media are that fussed whether Hibs fans are bothered (apart from fuds like Gough) - they're just pandering to the hun for financial reasons.

Just ignore it. It was boring a week ago.

30-05-2016, 07:49 PM
'Atrocities'? Do they mean like Youtube beheadings....or car bombs....or carpet bombing of civilians? :confused:

Surely they don't mean a couple of thousand exuberant, celebrating fans, one of whom took a swing at some random player...and missed, and another who 'jostled' their goalkeeper?....and let's not forget those that called them names and laughed at them.

Maybe they do. Maybe they've been festering for a week waiting for us to give them the cup, seeing as we're subhuman fenian **** and need rounding up and herded into interment camps...but nothings happening. It must be very frustrating for their one celled brains....all that faux rage and nothing to spend it on....except maybe the missus.

connerg
31-05-2016, 12:40 AM
'Atrocities'? Do they mean like Youtube beheadings....or car bombs....or carpet bombing of civilians? :confused:

Surely they don't mean a couple of thousand exuberant, celebrating fans, one of whom took a swing at some random player...and missed, and another who 'jostled' their goalkeeper?....and let's not forget those that called them names and laughed at them.

Maybe they do. Maybe they've been festering for a week waiting for us to give them the cup, seeing as we're subhuman fenian **** and need rounding up and herded into interment camps...but nothings happening. It must be very frustrating for their one celled brains....all that faux rage and nothing to spend it on....except maybe the missus.

:top marksExactly. Grow a pair ya whinging weegies. Try being a Hibee for all those years.

31-05-2016, 10:58 AM
Really surprised people are still posting this pish here. I work regular for one of the red tops in question and I couldn't give a flying ****.

It's not as if any of the written media are that fussed whether Hibs fans are bothered (apart from fuds like Gough) - they're just pandering to the hun for financial reasons.

The thing is it's not just the red tops. BBC Scotland has been a national disgrace over it's coverage also.

On one hand if you were a racist ****bag (which most of the Huns are anyway) BBC Scotland would want the gallows out. On the other hand BBC Scotland won't debate the vile sectarian religious hate chanting by the Huns. Won't go near it with a barge-pole.

Only in Scotland can we have a hate-filled sectarian four year old club chanting on mass about a Hibernian Manager being a fenian xxxxxxx.

Despicable.

Glory Glory

02-06-2016, 10:21 AM
Record have several negative articles regarding Hibs today suggesting we'll lose half our team and that we're reeling that Stubbs has left and will generally struggle to get someone as good as he was.

They really are hurting eh?

GIRFUY ya bunch of HUN wallopers.

02-06-2016, 11:26 AM

I assume it is a reference to pub bombings and other such Nationalist terrorism.

These people are pathetic.

02-06-2016, 11:40 AM
Record have several negative articles regarding Hibs today suggesting we'll lose half our team and that we're reeling that Stubbs has left and will generally struggle to get someone as good as he was. They really are hurting eh? GIRFUY ya bunch of HUN wallopers.

I agree!

Thing is this is not a new concept, sort to speak.

I might be paranoid but regardless of what we have achieved or not as the case maybe, the media, tabloid rags and in particular the BBC Sportsound team, have always had a pop or dig and the majority of time found negativity with the club one way or another!

I would also argue that no other club in Scottish football has suffered this!!

magpie1892
02-06-2016, 03:20 PM
The thing is it's not just the red tops. BBC Scotland has been a national disgrace over it's coverage also.

On one hand if you were a racist ****bag (which most of the Huns are anyway) BBC Scotland would want the gallows out. On the other hand BBC Scotland won't debate the vile sectarian religious hate chanting by the Huns. Won't go near it with a barge-pole.

Only in Scotland can we have a hate-filled sectarian four year old club chanting on mass about a Hibernian Manager being a fenian xxxxxxx.

Despicable.

Glory Glory

No, it's not just the red tops, and while I wholeheartedly agree with your succinct point/s about our national broadcaster: 'disgrace/despicable', you've gone off on a tangent by bringing BBC Scotland into the equation.

To wit: no-one forces you to buy The Sun or the ******, or to visit their sites; don't like it, don't consume their products, but you are bound by law - under the threat of potential imprisonment - to pay for any output from the BBC...

That's a whole new argument.

02-06-2016, 03:22 PM
I agree!

I might be paranoid but regardless of what we have achieved or not as the case maybe, the media, tabloid rags and in particular the BBC Sportsound team, have always had a pop or dig and the majority of time found negativity with the club one way or another!

They seemed to have a weekly dig about the scottish cup hoodoo too. Let's see what they can conjure now, probably more pish about the "hampden riots"

02-06-2016, 03:26 PM
No, it's not just the red tops, and while I wholeheartedly agree with your succinct point/s about our national broadcaster: 'disgrace/despicable', you've gone off on a tangent by bringing BBC Scotland into the equation.

To wit: no-one forces you to buy The Sun or the ******, or to visit their sites; don't like it, don't consume their products, but you are bound by law - under the threat of potential imprisonment - to pay for any output from the BBC...

That's a whole new argument.

Fair point.

Glory Glory

02-06-2016, 04:37 PM
I agree!

We are most certainly the club the media seem to have endless digs at. From sending Preston to hibs games where he only gets excited if the opposition score to constant,inaccurate speculation from the Red tops they can't resist it. No idea why this started but I just laugh at the papers and can't bring myself to watch sportscene or listen to Sportsound as it's just garbage with only pat Nevin decent. Just makes the cup win all the sweeter. A bigger girfuy I can't imagine.

03-06-2016, 07:52 AM
We are most certainly the club the media seem to have endless digs at. From sending Preston to hibs games where he only gets excited if the opposition score to constant,inaccurate speculation from the Red tops they can't resist it. No idea why this started but I just laugh at the papers and can't bring myself to watch sportscene or listen to Sportsound as it's just garbage with only pat Nevin decent. Just makes the cup win all the sweeter. A bigger girfuy I can't imagine.

That could have been written by myself as it resonates with me so much. From choosing the commentators and pundits on which game they cover guarantees what tone will be the output. How Preston gets to cover our games is beyond me. I've stopped mentioning this to others as they seem so naive they don't really get it. Glad to hear I'm not the only one who gets frustrated at the bias shown against our wonderful club across the media spectrum most of the time.

Glory Glory

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
03-06-2016, 08:14 AM

Exactly. Any form of media only has power if you consume it. And you can choose.

Haven't bought the record or sunday mail since the keith jackson / willie mckay corruption over brown and thomson, and im not sure if i ever have bought the sun.

Leaving aside their glasgow bias, they are crap papers. The 'srories' are all basically the same template stories ive been eading all my life with new names inserted. It genuinely baffles me that anyone buys them.

The print media are on the way out, and it couldnt happen to a nicer bunch of organisations. Good riddance.

Agree that the BBC are a different matter. Why they feel the need to have semi-literate ex-players as pundits is beyond me. I stipped listening to that because they are just chasinf ratings with populist pish coverage - not what i expect from the bbc

03-06-2016, 10:01 AM

That could have been written by myself as it resonates with me so much. From choosing the commentators and pundits on which game they cover guarantees what tone will be the output. How Preston gets to cover our games is beyond me. I've stopped mentioning this to others as they seem so naive they don't really get it. Glad to hear I'm not the only one who gets frustrated at the bias shown against our wonderful club across the media spectrum most of the time.

Glory Glory

I jus don't get where the agenda comes from. Richard Gordons comments about Malonga were unbelievable and had he said that about any bigot Bros player you can imagine the abuse he would get. It's no wonder that sales of papers and listening figures for sportscene have plummeted. They are both terrible products and they have alienated thousands of readers/listeners but are so up their own derrierers they don't realise see it. Guys like Stuart mccall and the guy grant I think it is from the herald try to bring some decent appraisal of things but are then drowned out by the company message. I'd like to think we may some day get a decent product on the BBC but I'm not holding my breath.