View Full Version : EEN Cup final special

Hibby86
25-05-2016, 07:56 AM
Anybody had any problems getting this today? Apparently it's not scanning in the shop here?

jarre1875
25-05-2016, 08:06 AM
Got mines ok

25-05-2016, 08:27 AM
It wasn't scanning in asda at the Jewel but the woman just put it through manually for me.

They didn't have a huge amount there so glad I went early!

Hibby86
25-05-2016, 08:57 AM
It wasn't scanning in asda at the Jewel but the woman just put it through manually for me.

They didn't have a huge amount there so glad I went early!

Thanks just try somewhere else maybe. The shop only had 5.

Wasn't sure if it was all over or just the shop here.

25-05-2016, 09:24 AM
Mrs OS picked one up for me this morning, not seen it yet though.

Johnny Clash
25-05-2016, 09:25 AM
Selling out fast in many Newsagents! Great souvenir for £1

25-05-2016, 09:28 AM
Went to the Restalrig garage this morning, couldn't see any. Asked Kay where they were, she said they are at the papers, I said no there no. She asked the wee Polish lassie where she put them. Oh, they're all inside the Evening News', does it not go in there? No there a pound each, you'll need to take them all out again:greengrin

Got mine anyway, first paper I have bought since 2007! :wink:

70KevinHFC62
25-05-2016, 09:36 AM
Got mine. Ready for the box frame with all other cup final WINNER memrobialla

25-05-2016, 09:38 AM
Anyone know if there sold out in Sainsburys at meadowbank?

25-05-2016, 09:39 AM
Thanks to Brooster there was one waiting on my desk when I got to work. Top man!

Sent via the bushes @ EM

25-05-2016, 09:44 AM
Didn't scan at my local SCOTMID but the girl took £2 off me (probably in her pocket) for two copies.

Just waiting on news of the BLURAY release date now....come on Petrie!!!

DarrenSQH
25-05-2016, 09:56 AM
Got 2 copies for myself in wester hailes.

25-05-2016, 10:03 AM
Theres loads in the newsagent off telford drive.........they are quite thin with crappy print though

25-05-2016, 10:04 AM
Bought a copy in the Margiotta across the road from the office, looked like the last one too, not read it yet, but stoked to have grabbed one

25-05-2016, 10:07 AM
Mine is dated monday 23rd may.......WTF

madhibee_again
25-05-2016, 11:32 AM
Anyone know anywhere in Easter road/meadow bank area with them still?

25-05-2016, 11:34 AM
loads in the shop across from greggs at the ocean terminal.

25-05-2016, 11:37 AM
Plenty in RS McColl at the Kirkgate, though the lassie also had problems with the scanning.

Nelly070
25-05-2016, 11:37 AM
Mine is dated monday 23rd may.......WTF

A few shops had taken them off the shelves due to them not scanning, there was also confusion with them having Mondays date on them.
I had to ask at the kiosk in Morrisons on Granton road as not were on the shelves, they had loads through the back due to the scanning issue.
The girl serving had to go and ask permission to sell it manually

Salt N Sauzee
25-05-2016, 11:51 AM
Anybody had any problems getting this today? Apparently it's not scanning in the shop here?

Exact same just happened with me in the Tesco at Hermiston Gait. The bitter looking auld women told me "it's not on file yet so we're not selling them until they are." When I asked when they'd be on file I got "Dunno". That store is 100% run by a bitter Jambo or Hun.

25-05-2016, 11:58 AM
Mines did not scan in Scotmid but the manageress n scanned an item for £1 and put it through that way.:flag::flag::thumbsup:::gwa:

25-05-2016, 12:06 PM
I bought 4 this morning, in my local shop. I lifted the standard News, as I could not see a special. the standard, was full of school photos/adverts etc and quite thick so I assumed the fitba was in it. eventually the dafty telt me ......along a bit. definitely did not have a lot of copies though.:greengrin

Billie Jo
25-05-2016, 12:06 PM
Corner shop Liberton Brae sold out, I got the last 3 :greengrin Paper shop Liberton Brae had quite a few left, 1 copy winging its way to Australia just for you David :greengrin:flag:

squire
25-05-2016, 12:09 PM
I asked my newsagents if he had the cup final special - he said no and didn't really have a clue what I was on about. But I noticed the Evening News on the counter was looking a bit thicker than normal and it turned out the special was inserted into the middle pages. So I got the paper and pull out for 75p!

25-05-2016, 12:09 PM
Got 2 :hyper

Cool_Hand_Luke
25-05-2016, 12:10 PM
Loads in the newsagent at canonmills...tesco round the corner taken them of the shelf due to barcode issue...

Scotsgirl
25-05-2016, 12:21 PM
Anyone know if there sold out in Sainsburys at meadowbank?

I got 2 copies near my work

calmacuk
25-05-2016, 12:23 PM
Got 2 copies from Tesco at the foot of the walk. Wouldn't scan, but they put it through manually.

25-05-2016, 12:27 PM
I got 2 copies near my work

grammyb111
25-05-2016, 12:30 PM
Corner shop Liberton Brae sold out, I got the last 3 :greengrin Paper shop Liberton Brae had quite a few left, 1 copy winging its way to Australia just for you David :greengrin:flag:

The two shops across the road from me, I was going to get one when I got home, looks like you've put paid to that! :greengrin

25-05-2016, 12:36 PM
My cousin has got two, one for me and one for my Dad.

Hibby86
25-05-2016, 12:43 PM
Bloody scotmid won't sell it to me until they have spoken to the help desk as its not scanning!!

Surely, as a lot of other shops are doing, they can scan something at a £1 and sell me it!!

25-05-2016, 12:45 PM
I tweeted one of the EEN journos and he said if you're struggling for a copy then email subscriptions@jpress.co.uk and they'll be able to sort you out with one.

alhibby
25-05-2016, 12:50 PM
The two shops across the road from me, I was going to get one when I got home, looks like you've put paid to that! :greengrin

Just got mine from the paper shop, plenty left when i was in :aok:

25-05-2016, 01:39 PM
Working in Falkirk today. Anyone know anywhere I might be able to buy it?

25-05-2016, 01:39 PM
Bought 3 copies. One for me, one for my sister from down south and one to frame along with Matchday programme and official team sheet. Going to order a couple of more things online as well.

Purchasing as much memoribillia as I can.

Green Man
25-05-2016, 01:40 PM
There's plenty in Scotmid in Kirkliston. Similar confusion when it wouldn't scan but the boy was able to put it through.

Billie Jo
25-05-2016, 01:48 PM
:greengrin paper shop :greengrin hurry :thumbsup:

JOD
25-05-2016, 01:50 PM
Working in Falkirk today. Anyone know anywhere I might be able to buy it?

LIVE in Falkirk trying to get one just know will let you now if successful and whre.

The_Sauz
25-05-2016, 01:53 PM
If it's not scanning, then tell them to do it manually by typing in the numbers :brickwall
My advice is, stay away from Supermarkets/Garages/RS McColls, and just find a wee corner shop that does not use a scanner :agree:

john18722
25-05-2016, 02:28 PM
Nothing in the Sainsbury's garage on Lanark Road so now on my way to the wee Coop to see if they have it.

25-05-2016, 02:31 PM
Sainsbury Murrayfield got loads there the now. Just picked up 3.

john18722
25-05-2016, 02:35 PM
Coop in Currie has loads. Just got 2.

25-05-2016, 02:44 PM
Greedy g!ts buying 2 or more lol

Weej1875
25-05-2016, 02:47 PM
No bother scanning my own in Sainsbury's on Leith Walk. Had quite a few in stock this morning

25-05-2016, 02:48 PM
Picked mine up today at lunch time. Magic, it just brings it all home you know. Now the dust is settling the Jambo's will be seething!

Glory Glory.

Andy.1875
25-05-2016, 02:54 PM
The boy in Scotmid in Sighthill just rung it up on the till as a £1 non-food item. No issue.

25-05-2016, 02:58 PM
None in Scotmid Restalrig Road, the shop opposite the Jet garage, McCalls or Pagets when i went half an hour ago 😟. Sold out. I'll email the address above.

25-05-2016, 03:00 PM
Got the last 2 on display in morrisons and another 3 in the wee newsagent over the road at Piershill. It didn't scan in morrisons and the wumin keyed it in ... looked at my receipt when I got home - it appears as 2 Evening Primrose!!!

25-05-2016, 03:02 PM
Exact same just happened with me in the Tesco at Hermiston Gait. The bitter looking auld women told me "it's not on file yet so we're not selling them until they are." When I asked when they'd be on file I got "Dunno". That store is 100% run by a bitter Jambo or Hun.

I got you one in the store in Gorgie!!

25-05-2016, 03:13 PM
Same scanning problems this morning at ASDA Chesser, but got one :thumbsup:

.Louise.
25-05-2016, 03:31 PM
Just noticed on page 23 the image they have for Gunnarsson is actually Boyle!!

Disc O'Dave
25-05-2016, 03:37 PM
If it's not scanning, then tell them to do it manually by typing in the numbers :brickwall
My advice is, stay away from Supermarkets/Garages/RS McColls, and just find a wee corner shop that does not use a scanner :agree:

I would have thought that the barcodes are physically "scanning" - The issue is the barcode is a one-off so hasn't yet been entered into the shop's database - typing in the numbers will result in the same problem unfortunately - "item not found".

Some retailers are obviously allowing staff to put it is an a miscellaneous item, but others less happy to do so as it messes up their computerised stock management systems and audit trails.

Oh, and mine scanned ok in WH Smiths in the Gyle :)

NYHibby
25-05-2016, 04:22 PM
loads in the shop across from greggs at the ocean terminal.

This one is now sold out.

murray26
25-05-2016, 04:35 PM
Gordon's in Camelon Main Street Falkirk have a few left..

coldingham hibs
25-05-2016, 04:39 PM
Anywhere in Dunfermline selling the Evening News. Have tried WHSmith & McColls but they aren't selling the Evening News.

25-05-2016, 04:41 PM
Anywhere in Dunfermline selling the Evening News. Have tried WHSmith & McColls but they aren't selling the Evening News.

Asdas halbeath and tescos duloch sell the EN.

coldingham hibs
25-05-2016, 04:45 PM
Asdas halbeath and tescos duloch sell the EN.

Cheers👍🏻

HibeeHendo
25-05-2016, 04:50 PM
Looked in just about every shop at the bridges and they're all sold out
:(

JJP
25-05-2016, 05:10 PM
Couldn't find any in WH smiths or Morrisons in the Gyle or Tesco in Corstorphine.

25-05-2016, 05:25 PM
EEN just posted this on Facebook:

HIBS CUP WINNERS SPECIAL UPDATE:
Due to unprecedented demand, we are printing more copies of the Hibs Scottish Cup winning supplement! Thanks for your patience if you have been hunting high and low for a copy today.
if your newsagent has sold out, tell us who and where they are by emailing subscriptions@jpress.co.uk.
You can also purchase a copy from our office at Orchard Brae House, 30 Queensferry Road, or order a postal copy by emailing subscriptions@jpress.co.uk.

lugz
25-05-2016, 06:38 PM
The wife got me one while I was at work, pleased to get one.

Just one thing though.....advertising :rolleyes: seriously? Open the first page and it's a big advertisement, for once they could have not sold out.

Apologies for the negative post. We won the Scottish cup wooooooooo:flag::flag::flag:

Twiglet
25-05-2016, 06:40 PM
Managed to get a couple from Sainsbury's at Straiton (in the petrol station, none instore).
Had tried Asda Chesser, Tesco Colinton and Morrisons Oxgangs without luck (the last 2 hadn't had any in apparently). Another thing to add to the memorabilia box.

ano hibby
25-05-2016, 07:22 PM
My Rangers supporting colleague is 'out the office' so i left a copy of this supplement on his desk under a pile of paper but at an angle showing the cup with green ribbons sticking out :)

therealgavmac
25-05-2016, 07:29 PM
I had a different issue here obviously trying to get a copy in South West Wales..... I emailed and subsequently received the following reply.......

Good afternoon,

Many thanks for your enquiry regarding issues of the 24 page special publication which will go on sale on Wednesday 25th May. The cost to send this is £2.00 per issue including postage within the UK.

If you would like to place an order please contact one of our dedicated Subscription Team Administrators on 0333 207 0743* pressing option 2 to speak with a customer sales representative who will be happy to take payment over the phone for you.

Alternatively, if you would like to pay by cheque or postal order, than please make this payable to Johnston Press and send to FREEPOST RTCX-RECH-XKHK, Subscriptions Team, Johnston Press, 26 Whitehall Road, Leeds, LS12 1BE.

If you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact us.

*New telephone number

Best wishes

​Lesley​

Subscriptions Team

Mines in the post :aok:

vein
25-05-2016, 07:31 PM
There's plenty in Scotmid in Kirkliston. Similar confusion when it wouldn't scan but the boy was able to put it through.

Cheers for the tip, just picked a couple up. Still a fair pile if anyone is nearby and wants one. I wouldn't recommend banter with the lady on the till though, must have been of the blue or maroon persuasion....

25-05-2016, 07:51 PM
Plenty of them in Morrisons Dalkeith.

25-05-2016, 08:07 PM
Local newsagent for me in Bernard Street said he sold out at 10am this morning.

He's a bit of a joker and said "only place you'll definitely get one is in Gorgie"!!
Don't you just love the Leith banter.:greengrin

25-05-2016, 08:44 PM
No sign of any on sale today down in Peebles.

FifeHibs
25-05-2016, 09:46 PM

Due to unprecedented demand, we are printing more copies of the Hibs Scottish Cup winning supplement! Thanks for your patience if you have been hunting high and low for a copy today.
if your newsagent has sold out, tell us who and where they are by emailing subscriptions@jpress.co.uk.
You can also purchase a copy from our office at Orchard Brae House, 30 Queensferry Road, or order a postal copy by emailing subscriptions@jpress.co.uk.

I emailed them got a notification then it disappeared. Has anyone else contacted them in search of a paper

NYHibby
26-05-2016, 07:43 AM

Does anyone know if the additional copies will be on newsstands today's?

26-05-2016, 07:58 AM
Does anyone know if the additional copies will be on newsstands today's?

They are not

donald_paterson
26-05-2016, 08:12 AM
Easy enough to order on phone using number posted above

Disc O'Dave
26-05-2016, 08:32 AM
Couldn't find any in WH smiths or Morrisons in the Gyle or Tesco in Corstorphine.

The ones in WH Smith weren't beside the normal papers, but on holders next to the self scan checkouts - I had given up, but only found them by accident as I was getting other things.....worth keeping in mind when more are released...

scooby
26-05-2016, 10:24 AM
I had a different issue here obviously trying to get a copy in South West Wales..... I emailed and subsequently received the following reply.......

Good afternoon,

Many thanks for your enquiry regarding issues of the 24 page special publication which will go on sale on Wednesday 25th May. The cost to send this is £2.00 per issue including postage within the UK.

If you would like to place an order please contact one of our dedicated Subscription Team Administrators on 0333 207 0743* pressing option 2 to speak with a customer sales representative who will be happy to take payment over the phone for you.

Alternatively, if you would like to pay by cheque or postal order, than please make this payable to Johnston Press and send to FREEPOST RTCX-RECH-XKHK, Subscriptions Team, Johnston Press, 26 Whitehall Road, Leeds, LS12 1BE.

If you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact us.

*New telephone number

Best wishes

​Lesley​

Subscriptions Team

Mines in the post :aok:

Cheers for posting that info, ordered my copies this morning on the phone.

FifeHibs
26-05-2016, 10:27 AM
Sorted 👍

26-05-2016, 10:45 AM
The wee Asian shop at Hutchison Place had plenty yesterday afternoon.

26-05-2016, 11:12 AM
Got mine sorted through a Edinburgh based mate who didn't even know they were out!!

.Net to the rescue again

corby hibee
26-05-2016, 11:44 AM
I really hope my aunty got me one for when she comes down the road in a few weeks.

26-05-2016, 02:25 PM
Just picked mine up from orchard brae house. They'll post it out to you as well.

Mathias Jack
26-05-2016, 02:32 PM
They are not

Oh yes they are! Morrisons at the Gyle had plenty.