View Full Version : Hibs in Europe - who, where, when in the Europa League

MarkDonaldson
23-05-2016, 05:09 PM
To prove that not all Jambos are nasty - congrats for Saturday. (That hurt!!)

So here's the deal regarding Hibs' participation in the 2016/17 Europa League.

To sum up...

- Hibs have a bye and do not play in 1st qualifying round. They'll be unseeded in 2QR but seeded in 3Q if they win in 2Q! (details below)
- Hearts will be seeded in 1Q and 2Q but unseeded in the 3Q if they get that far.
- Aberdeen will be seeded in 1Q but unseeded in 2Q

UEL 2Q

Hibs (3.960) enter at this stage and will be unseeded – they’ll face one of the following teams (assuming all seeded teams come through 1Q)…

* TBD
NK Maribor * Slo 21.625
Maccabi Tel-Aviv (*) Isr 20.225
Austria Wien Aut 19.020
Partizan Belgrade Srb 16.925
Maccabi Haifa (*) Isr 11.725
HJK Helsinki * Fin 10.980
Hajduk Split Cro 10.775
EL123 DEN 10.220 - 14.720
Dinamo Minsk * Bls 10.000
Omonia Nicosia * Cyp 9.935
Neftchi Baku * Azb 9.725
AEK Larnaca * Cyp 9.435
AIK Stockholm * Swe 8.975
Slovan Bratislava * Svk 8.900
EL3 SUI 8.755 - 16.255
Videoton Fehérvár * Hun 8.725
FK Aktobe * Kaz 8.075
EL3 BEL 8.000 - 36.000
Vojvodina Novi Sad * Srb 7.925
Strømsgodset IF Nor 7.850
Shakhtior Saligorsk * Bls 7.500
Spartak Trnava * Svk 7.400
EL123 (*) DEN 7.220 - 10.220
Osmanlispor Tur 6.920
Slavia Praha Cze 6.585
IFK Göteborg * Swe 6.475
DVSC Debrecen * Hun 6.475
FK Ventspils * Lat 6.075
Admira Wacker * Aut 6.020
BK Häcken Swe 5.975
EL3 GRE 5.940 - 37.440

One of these teams will be seeded and could face Hibs or Aberdeen…

Lokomotiva Zagreb * Cro 5.775
EL2 * Mol 4.325 - 10.575
EL-QR1 * 3.625 - 5.075
EL-QR1 * 3.625 - 4.375

UEL 3Q

If Hibs (3.960) and/or Aberdeen (5.460) beat their seeded opponent in 2Q they’ll be seeded in 3Q because they’ll effectively take the coefficient of their opponent. (This is because the draw for UEL 3Q is made before the results of 2Q are known.) Hibs/Aberdeen would then face one of the following teams…

Neftchi Baku * Azb 9.725
AEK Larnaca * Cyp 9.435
FC Oleksandriya Ukr 8.976
AIK Stockholm * Swe 8.975
Slovan Bratislava * Svk 8.900
FC Luzern (**) Sui 8.755
Videoton Fehérvár * Hun 8.725
FK Aktobe * Kaz 8.075
Vojvodina Novi Sad * Srb 7.925
Istanbul Basaksehir Tur 7.920
Strømsgodset IF ** Nor 7.850
Shakhtior Saligorsk * Bls 7.500
Spartak Trnava * Svk 7.400
Heracles Almelo Ned 7.112
Pandurii Târgu Jiu Rom 7.076
Osmanlispor ** Tur 6.920
Slavia Praha ** Cze 6.585
IFK Göteborg * Swe 6.475
DVSC Debrecen * Hun 6.475
FK Ventspils * Lat 6.075
Admira Wacker * Aut 6.020
BK Häcken ** Swe 5.975
EL3 ** GRE 5.940 - 7.940
Viitorul Constanta Rom 5.076

Four of the following will be unseeded, therefore possible opponents for Hibs/Aberdeen…

EL123 ** DEN 10.220 - 14.720
Mladá Boleslav Cze 10.085
Dinamo Minsk * Bls 10.000
Omonia Nicosia * Cyp 9.935
EL23 (**) SUI 9.755 - 16.255
EL3 ** BEL 8.000 - 36.000
EL2 GRE 7.940 - 14.940
EL123 */** DEN 7.220 - 10.220
EL-QR2 ** 5.775 - 10.575

Dates

June 20, 2016 draw for 1st and 2nd qualifying round Europa League
July 14, 2016 2nd qualifying round Europa League, 1st leg
July 15, 2016 draw for 3rd qualifying round Europa League
July 21, 2016 2nd qualifying round Europa League, 2nd leg
July 28, 2016 3rd qualifying round Europa League, 1st leg
August 4, 2016 3rd qualifying round Europa League, 2nd leg

Full details via http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/seedel2016.html

23-05-2016, 05:15 PM
Videoton again :greengrin

HibeeLR
23-05-2016, 05:22 PM
what year did we last play Maribor? Remember getting beat 3-2 at ER and 3-0 away I think

Wouldn't mind a trip to Finland or Norway

23-05-2016, 05:41 PM
FK Ventspils would be my choice in Latvia.

No doubt we'll draw Minsk though :greengrin

23-05-2016, 05:41 PM
Wow...I never quite realised how impossible it was to even qualify (see: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016%E2%80%9317_UEFA_Europa_League#Qualifying_roun ds). We used to get straight into the first round (and straight back out again).

NYHibby
23-05-2016, 05:44 PM
To prove that not all Jambos are nasty - congrats for Saturday. (That hurt!!)

So here's the deal regarding Hibs' participation in the 2016/17 Europa League.

To sum up...

- Hibs (and Aberdeen) have byes and do not play in 1st qualifying round. Both teams will be unseeded in 2QR but seeded in 3Q if they win in 2Q! (details below)
- Hearts will be seeded in 1Q and 2Q but unseeded in the 3Q if they get that far.

Now trying to be harsh, but you are wrong about Aberdeen. Scotland's coefficient is not 16th or 17th. They go in the first round with Hearts.

Your link is also out of date. They got rid of the fair play spots.

MarkDonaldson
23-05-2016, 05:51 PM
Now trying to be harsh, but you are wrong about Aberdeen. Scotland's coefficient is not 16th or 17th. They go in the first round with Hearts.

Your link is also out of date. They got rid of the fair play spots.

My bad - forgot that Aberdeen start in 1Q with Hearts and link now updated. Appreciate the heads up.

23-05-2016, 05:52 PM
well I hope an Estonian team get through Q1 and play us in Q2 ( Im stuck in Estonia until September!)

23-05-2016, 06:04 PM
The good news about the list you have provided is that only a draw against the Azeri and Belarussian teams would result in fans with UK passports requiring visas to travel.

£100 for an Azeri visa (http://www.visaforazerbaijan.org.uk/visa-fees.php) and from my previous experience it was turned around well within the 10 days quoted.

£50 for a Belarussian visa (http://uk.mfa.gov.by/en/consular_issues/visas/) these days.

NYHibby
23-05-2016, 06:28 PM
The good news about the list you have provided is that only a draw against the Azeri and Belarussian teams would result in fans with UK passports requiring visas to travel.

£100 for an Azeri visa (http://www.visaforazerbaijan.org.uk/visa-fees.php) and from my previous experience it was turned around well within the 10 days quoted.

£50 for a Belarussian visa (http://uk.mfa.gov.by/en/consular_issues/visas/) these days.

While I haven't been to Belarus, I have been to the part of Ukraine which borders Belarus and that was an enjoyable trip. I wouldn't mind going to Belarus if flights weren't as expensive.

23-05-2016, 06:32 PM
Euro trip threads are brilliant and one of the great reasons to indulge in Hibs forums. Soon as that draw gets made we will have trains, cars, flights and digs frenzy.

23-05-2016, 06:36 PM
Oh man, theres loads of potential in there, Eastern Europe is the way forward!

23-05-2016, 06:44 PM
Czech Republic, Austria or Slovakia would be my choice based on the list above.

23-05-2016, 06:47 PM
Does anyone know when we'll know what dates the home and away games are on?

Billy McKirdy
23-05-2016, 06:56 PM
Does qualification for Europe mean we enter the League Cup at a later stage?

23-05-2016, 06:57 PM

After the group stage

23-05-2016, 06:57 PM
Does anyone know when we'll know what dates the home and away games are on?

14th and 21st July.

Not sure which is which though.

Billy McKirdy
23-05-2016, 06:58 PM

After the group stage
That's Excellent 👍

23-05-2016, 07:04 PM

Do we not have to act all snooty about the League Cup now and pretend we don't care about winning it?

Billy McKirdy
23-05-2016, 07:05 PM
Do we not have to act all snooty about the League Cup now and pretend we don't care about winning it?

Same goes for the wee wee cup too then? 😁😁😁

Billy McKirdy
23-05-2016, 07:07 PM
The Quintuple is on 😉

23-05-2016, 07:13 PM
Same goes for the wee wee cup too then? 

Surely we enter that in the final! 😂

23-05-2016, 08:29 PM
Lot more teams called el3 than expected.

Ideally for me a Belgian team at some point.

23-05-2016, 08:44 PM
Do we know if we are home or away first?

23-05-2016, 08:47 PM
My bad - forgot that Aberdeen start in 1Q with Hearts and link now updated. Appreciate the heads up.

Hey Mark, how goes it? Still overseas?

23-05-2016, 08:48 PM
Videoton again :greengrinthat will do nicely. don't want Maribor, their fans are scary people and nae sense o' humour

23-05-2016, 09:33 PM
While I haven't been to Belarus, I have been to the part of Ukraine which borders Belarus and that was an enjoyable trip. I wouldn't mind going to Belarus if flights weren't as expensive.

The best move is to get a cheap flight to Kaunas in Lithuania on Ryanair (not sure if there is still a direct route to Edinburgh but there used to be) and take a bus from there to Minsk :thumbsup:

23-05-2016, 09:58 PM
Do we not have to act all snooty about the League Cup now and pretend we don't care about winning it?diddy cup

AZhibee
24-05-2016, 04:16 AM
Very exciting I think. Can't wait.

What are the chances Hibs draw the LA Galaxy or perhaps Real Salt Lake...something driving distance for me?

One can always hope!:tumble: