View Full Version : What actually happened at Hampden

23-05-2016, 11:49 AM
http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-slight-stramash/

Perfect.

Get this all over Facebook.

allmodcons
23-05-2016, 11:49 AM
I'm not sure if this link has been posted elsewhere and I know a number of Holy Ground users don't care for this guy or his site, but I think he (usually) does a damn good job of exposing media lies.

Lets look at the facts:- http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-slight-stramash/#more-85448

allmodcons
23-05-2016, 11:57 AM

Perfect.

Admins, you might want to merge my thread with this one.

WoS doing what it does best!

Platinum Scotty
23-05-2016, 12:03 PM
Puts it all in a real perspective, not the crap that lot are peddling. Very well written article and very clear in what happended

23-05-2016, 12:05 PM
Not got a lot of time for the Rev but he speaks a lot of sense here.

AndyM_1875
23-05-2016, 12:08 PM
I'm not sure if this link has been posted elsewhere and I know a number of Holy Ground users don't care for this guy or his site, but I think he (usually) does a damn good job of exposing media lies.

Lets look the facts:- http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-slight-stramash/#more-85448

Its accurate.

You know my feelings on this guy but he's accurate here.

midfield_maestro
23-05-2016, 12:12 PM
How many Hibs "fans" in this lineup? 1? 2?

https://twitter.com/DailyMirror/status/734677216332812289

23-05-2016, 12:13 PM
Let's face it, people that have an agenda will peddle lies whatever happens and whatever 100% incontrovertible evidence we produce. The main thing is is not to let the lies affect us. It's not 'tarnishing' my experience. I've been in England all week and nobody has said anything to me but congratulations on breaking the hoodoo and positive stuff. Most people don't trust the media these days so we need to chill out about it.

High-On-Hibs
23-05-2016, 12:14 PM
Get it sent to the BBC, Sky Sports, Daily Record..... etc

They seem to be confused about what actually happened.

Green Man
23-05-2016, 12:23 PM
That's an excellent piece, very measured and completely factual.

23-05-2016, 12:29 PM
Fabulous. Get this all over FB and everything else.

Particularly like this bit:

“Fotheringham was “barged more roughly in the six-yard area”? Sounds painful.”

I rewrote that about five times to make it sound less like an innuendo. “Barged in the goalmouth” was definitely worse…

23-05-2016, 12:30 PM
How many Hibs "fans" in this lineup? 1? 2?

https://twitter.com/DailyMirror/status/734677216332812289

The first guy is the one swinging at Lee Wallace is he no? He's already been arrested at the game.

The OP here is great and sums up everything concisely. This was NOT 1980, there wasn't fights everywhere. The police had it all settled within 5 minutes. I still think the Police are at fault here for not being present at the end of the game and after hibs scored.

23-05-2016, 12:36 PM
I was absolutely astonished at how small or even non-existent the police presence was before, during and after the game both inside and outside the stadium.

23-05-2016, 12:45 PM

Perfect.

Not just Facebook, get it emailed to the investigation team

23-05-2016, 12:48 PM
Normally treat his articles with an enormous amount of disdain, but he's bang on the cash here.

23-05-2016, 12:50 PM
I was absolutely astonished at how small or even non-existent the police presence was before, during and after the game both inside and outside the stadium.

I'm surprised they didn't implement their Ibrox policing strategy of one officer per Hibs fan with instructions to "Sit down and shut up or your lifted" while ignoring missiles and sectarian abuse hurled from the fans of The Rangers.

Andymac85
23-05-2016, 12:53 PM

Perfect.

Someone needs to send this to the club, if they haven't already done so.

High-On-Hibs
23-05-2016, 01:08 PM
Normally treat his articles with an enormous amount of disdain, but he's bang on the cash here.

His articles are generally factual. It's the people that never read them that complain about them. Bizarrely.

23-05-2016, 02:14 PM
Raw facts that aren't manipulated by agendas or bias.

The single most disturbing thing from Saturday for me was the footage of the two Rangers fans trying to kidnap that wee laddie on the park!

All of the other stuff is utterly pitiful, grown men having hard ons for playing the big-un, or a mass of people singing some 'pwopa nawty' language (both of which we're accustomed to in this 19th century land) but those guys trying to lift that kid is utterly reprehensible!

erin-go-bragh87
23-05-2016, 03:18 PM
Raw facts that aren't manipulated by agendas or bias.

The single most disturbing thing from Saturday for me was the footage of the two Rangers fans trying to kidnap that wee laddie on the park!

All of the other stuff is utterly pitiful, grown men having hard ons for playing the big-un, or a mass of people singing some 'pwopa nawty' language (both of which we're accustomed to in this 19th century land) but those guys trying to lift that kid is utterly reprehensible!

I've watched that video a few times and I can't get my head round it. I did think maybe the guy has seen a bairn and just tried to get him out the way of the bother but the way one of his own fans pulls him away makes me think it was far more cinister.

23-05-2016, 03:18 PM

Perfect.

Another totally factual piece from Wings. Ye couldnae make it up eh.:greengrin

AndyM_1875
23-05-2016, 03:23 PM
His articles are generally factual. It's the people that never read them that complain about them. Bizarrely.

Probably because he's been so offensively wrong in his comments about Hillsborough.

But he's right in this article.

haagsehibby
23-05-2016, 03:37 PM

I was almost on the half way line about 5 seats in from the cordon of police officers. There was one absolute tube on the other side who basically just gave a torrent of abuse towards the Hibs fans for pretty much the whole game. Giving the fenian b******s, Billy boys, the whole repertoire of their "traditional" songbook. He spent more time looking at us than he did watching the match. He was pointed out to the police on several occasions to no effect. I know it's difficult to arrest thousands but this idiot should have been easy to eject.

23-05-2016, 04:11 PM
It seems decent account of what i saw i know it is only one side of the story but it really puts keith jackson rag to shame.