View Full Version : Worldwide reaction/adulation for our win?

23-05-2016, 06:56 AM
Our SC record before yesterday was well known as one of sport's longest jinxes, longer than the Cubs in the World Series etc etc and there were certainly articles around the time the last SC cup final(s) about this from various media sources in Canada/America.

Now that's all over, but I get the impression there'll be a worldwide (well, outside Govan and Gorgie obviously) feeling of at least affection for us, knowing how long we waited and went through to get to this point.

So, especially for ex-pat Hibbies, are there any articles/links from where you find yourselves these days about our victory? I think the global football community will be made up for us and I'd love to see what they're saying.

Personally, somehow the video of me going mental in the pub here in Zurich has been picked up by 11freunde.de, one of German's biggest football fan websites/blog. Slightly unbelievably, it's on their front page under videos

http://www.11freunde.de/

So I'm doing my bit to spread the good word :greengrin :greengrin

Today, more than ever:

23-05-2016, 06:58 AM
Brilliant!!!!

23-05-2016, 06:59 AM
Our SC record before yesterday was well known as one of sport's longest jinxes, longer than the Cubs in the World Series etc etc and there were certainly articles around the time the last SC cup of final(s) about this from various media sources in Canada/America.

Now that's all over, but I get the impression there'll be a worldwide (well, outside Govan and Gorgie obviously) feeling of at least affection for us, knowing how long we waited and went through to get to this point.

So, especially for ex-pat Hibbies, are there any articles/links from where you find yourselves these days about our victory? I think the global football community will be made up for us and I'd love to see what they're saying.

Personally, somehow the video of me going mental in the pub here in Zurich has been picked up by 11freunde.de, one of German's biggest football fan websites/blog. Slightly unbelievably, it's on their front page under videos

Today, more than ever:

That's brilliant. Well done. :flag:

23-05-2016, 07:04 AM
That is amazing.

23-05-2016, 07:08 AM
Massive smile on my face even more so now - tip hat...

aussie_hibee
23-05-2016, 07:12 AM
Magic. Pretty much exactly my reaction although I was at home alone in my living room.

Green Man
23-05-2016, 07:19 AM
That's superb!

23-05-2016, 07:30 AM
Superb! 11 freunde described the sunshine on leith as having given their goosebumps goosebumps!

Yuillsy
23-05-2016, 07:58 AM
Our SC record before yesterday was well known as one of sport's longest jinxes, longer than the Cubs in the World Series etc etc and there were certainly articles around the time the last SC cup final(s) about this from various media sources in Canada/America.

Today, more than ever:

That is absolutely brilliant!!!

23-05-2016, 09:04 AM
My mate texted me from New Zealand when we were on the bus back to edinburgh to tell me it had just been in the news there with footage of the pitch invasion.

Higgy115
23-05-2016, 09:20 AM
Just made me bubble again!!!!

HibbySpurs
23-05-2016, 09:23 AM
Allan Brazil was full of praise for our performance on Talk Sport this morning.

Nowt to do with him being a Celtic fan mind......

National rather than international I know.

belhavenbill
23-05-2016, 09:34 AM
Great! And keep spreading the word!

stuart-farquhar
23-05-2016, 09:35 AM
photo and article here in spain in the euroweekly news online.

23-05-2016, 09:39 AM
Brilliant!

23-05-2016, 09:46 AM
Sent a few emails and messages on social media to friends who I've taken to ER over the years.

Jamie Carragher posted a good tweet at the end of the game - could someone post ?

Any other celebs comment ?

MountcastleHibs
23-05-2016, 09:49 AM
Sent a few emails and messages on social media to friends who I've taken to ER over the years.

Jamie Carragher posted a good tweet at the end of the game - could someone post ?

3-2 Hibs best game I've seen this season. #ScottishCupFinal

23-05-2016, 09:51 AM

Peter Hooton of The Farm was Tweeting about it a fair bit as well.

23-05-2016, 09:53 AM

Whitney Mercilus ‏@Merci380 12h12 hours ago

Congrats to the Hibs! #winnercircle

Jamie Murray ‏@jamie_murray May 21
We are.........................Hibernian FC!!!!!!! #114

Jamie Carragher ‏@Carra23 May 21

Dominique Malonga ‏@DomsMalonga May 21
GRAYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!! #I dont care about......

leigh griffiths ‏@Leighgriff09 May 21
Delighted with every single person connected with @HibsOfficial today they finally done it and I'm buzzing, I'm off for a party!

Joseph Barton ‏@Joey7Barton May 21
Alan Stubbs has done a great job at Hibernian. Good to see. Proper football man. #Evertonian

SJM
23-05-2016, 09:55 AM
Malonga 😃😃😍😍😍😍😍😍

23-05-2016, 09:56 AM

Not a celeb as such but Ryan McGowan once of Tynecastle was very nice about us on Twitter:

What a way to win the cup 🏆🏆 Congratulations to all my hibs pals....enjoy the celebrations #ScottishCupFinal 🏆

23-05-2016, 09:57 AM
Gotta be honest and say that other than the live coverage and the repeated highlights on Fox, there is nothing that I have seen on tv that even mentioned the Scottish Cup final in Sydney at least.

23-05-2016, 09:59 AM
The french highlights of grays goal are fantastic, they get more excited than boozy used to on hibs tv.

FT'J'Bo's
23-05-2016, 10:05 AM
https://twitter.com/hashtag/foot21?src=hash
The french highlights of grays goal are fantastic, they get more excited than boozy used to on hibs tv.

23-05-2016, 10:15 AM

Nearly greetin every time I watch that goal

Super_JMcGinn
23-05-2016, 10:17 AM

Today, more than ever:

I almost cried watching that :thumbsup:

23-05-2016, 10:17 AM
Whitney Mercilus ‏@Merci380 12h12 hours ago

Congrats to the Hibs! #winnercircle

Jamie Murray ‏@jamie_murray May 21
We are.........................Hibernian FC!!!!!!! #114

Jamie Carragher ‏@Carra23 May 21

Dominique Malonga ‏@DomsMalonga May 21
GRAYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!! #I dont care about......

leigh griffiths ‏@Leighgriff09 May 21
Delighted with every single person connected with @HibsOfficial today they finally done it and I'm buzzing, I'm off for a party!

Alan Stubbs has done a great job at Hibernian. Good to see. Proper football man. #Evertonian

Thanks

Wish Malonga had come back for the celebrations.

23-05-2016, 10:18 AM

C'est Fantastique!!!! Even the French know what that meant to us

23-05-2016, 10:29 AM

Whoever that commentator is, deserves a wee invite over to ER at some point. He sounds like he was going more mental than me :greengrin

23-05-2016, 10:29 AM

Today, more than ever:

And that's exactly how it was at Hampden Park too brother. Great vid, which had me crying all over again.

23-05-2016, 10:31 AM
Whoever that commentator is, deserves a wee invite over to ER at some point. He sounds like he was going more mental than me :greengrin

Well **** me, its even better in french! Just wonderful.

Monopolyguy
23-05-2016, 10:32 AM
Nearly greetin every time I watch that goal

Brilliant! Don't know what they are saying, but i get the gist. 100 times better than Andy Walker's greeting pish.

23-05-2016, 10:34 AM
http://www.stern.de/sport/

This is getting a bit out of hand now..... :greengrin

23-05-2016, 10:35 AM

23-05-2016, 10:40 AM

That's brilliant :thumbsup::thumbsup:

23-05-2016, 11:01 AM

Am I missing something here? There doesn't seem to be anything Hibs related in that link?

23-05-2016, 11:03 AM
Am I missing something here? There doesn't seem to be anything Hibs related in that link?

The bottle green 2006/2007 away top and my peachy arse can be seen just beneath the picture of Ribery.

23-05-2016, 11:07 AM
The bottle green 2006/2007 away top and my peachy arse can be seen just beneath the picture of Ribery.

It really is beautifully presented to camera. Get your skates on, you've the rest of Europe to cover.

23-05-2016, 11:12 AM
My mate is a big Dortmund fan and he was over in Berlin for the German cup final on Saturday night and he said the bar he was in erupted when Gray's goal went in.

23-05-2016, 11:25 AM
My mate is a big Dortmund fan and he was over in Berlin for the German cup final on Saturday night and he said the bar he was in erupted when Gray's goal went in.

Even Huns* hate the Huns. :greengrin

* with apols to any cruelly stereotyped Germans looking in.

23-05-2016, 11:32 AM

Today, more than ever:

For the price of a couple of pints in Zurich, you could've been there!

Monopolyguy
23-05-2016, 11:33 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VXNKlu3Is4

I love this.

23-05-2016, 11:38 AM

Brilliant. Pretty much how I was at full time.

It does seem like everyone cried.

Now I'm an emotional person, but regardless, everyone seemed to burst into tears.

23-05-2016, 11:46 AM
Alan Stubbs has done a great job at Hibernian. Good to see. Proper football man. #Evertonian[/QUOTE]

The the Rangers fans won't like that Joey!!!!

You have to realise the mindset you're buying into here! Haha

23-05-2016, 12:01 PM
Some brilliant comments from across the globe in this Sunshine on Leith Video!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3b_lw7t2TE

23-05-2016, 12:06 PM
American telly. Fans on the pitch "a beautiful sight".

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7E5FPl4_lM

23-05-2016, 12:19 PM

Waw. That's excellent

23-05-2016, 12:22 PM
I was congratulated by my season ticket executive at the LA Galaxy! I'll expect the whole team to sing Sunshine on Leith the next time they pass me in the Champions Lounge. 😜

23-05-2016, 12:48 PM

(Here's a direct link for when it gets pushed off the front page: http://mobil.stern.de/sport/fussball/hibernian-edinburgh--stell-dir-vor--es-ist-pokalsieg-und-keiner-feiert-mit-6862748.html)

Big90inOz
23-05-2016, 12:49 PM
There was a full match report in the West Australian online paper

23-05-2016, 01:02 PM
According to some very, very weird Jambos on the EEN comments page Hibs are a "world-wide" disgrace for the pitch invasion.

Can't see any of that from the foreign press.

Maybe they're just clutching at straws, maybe. :na na:

23-05-2016, 01:08 PM

That must be wrong. It brought shame on Scotland and hibs should be banned from the cup no?

Rosevillehibby
23-05-2016, 01:18 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VXNKlu3Is4

I love this.

:top marks......brilliant, love it when Gray scores:flag:

23-05-2016, 02:11 PM

That is outstanding.

23-05-2016, 02:32 PM

He's kissing the turf! He's kissing the Hampden turf!

Ah... no, he's kissing the floor in a grimey German boozer!

23-05-2016, 02:35 PM
According to some very, very weird Jambos on the EEN comments page Hibs are a "world-wide" disgrace for the pitch invasion.

Can't see any of that from the foreign press.

Maybe they're just clutching at straws, maybe. :na na:

Even Jambos are going to disown those weirdos who comment on the EEN now.

23-05-2016, 02:36 PM
He's kissing the turf! He's kissing the Hampden turf!

Ah... no, he's kissing the floor in a grimey German boozer!

Swiss :tsk tsk:

So you could see your face in that floor, I'll have you know :greengrin

The honest truth is my legs just gave out. Absolute one-man delirium.

Mango Man
23-05-2016, 02:44 PM

Today, more than ever:

You've just made me well up again, your reactions are priceless.

23-05-2016, 02:48 PM
You've just made me well up again, your reactions are priceless.

What gets me is nobody else there bats an eyelid. It must be a regular occurrence :wink:

23-05-2016, 03:22 PM

That is brilliant.
Thanks for posting

23-05-2016, 03:28 PM
I was congratulated by my season ticket executive at the LA Galaxy! I'll expect the whole team to sing Sunshine on Leith the next time they pass me in the Champions Lounge. 😜

Nice to meet you on Saturday. :greengrin

23-05-2016, 03:33 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yrUP5zIkmc

My pal Chuckie and his pal Tam at the final whistle watching on a laptop in a bar in Sao Paulo... GGTTH

NaeTechnoHibby
23-05-2016, 03:41 PM
That is brilliant.
Thanks for posting

Seconded :thumbsup:

davidw
23-05-2016, 03:47 PM

Today, more than ever:

There are so many great things about that - but especially the contrast of the extreme emotion of the Hibs fan with the complete and utter indifference of all those around him. It just brilliantly captures what it means to us, and the fact that no-one else understands it.

hibs69
23-05-2016, 03:57 PM
Absolutely spot on. No one outside of Hibernian will ever understand what it meant to us. Just winning it, even on pens would've been unbelievable enough....,.,, but to win it, knowing there is no time left, was something right out of the dream we've all had.

Great stuff Lyonhibs.

CalgaryHibs
23-05-2016, 04:01 PM
Well living n Canada I personally still cannae believe we won :)
It's just now it's sinking n with me what we have achieved after viewing the videos and thousands of pictures of the parade :)
Thank you Hibs for bringing some happiness into my life :)

🏆⚽️🍻

heid the baw
23-05-2016, 04:12 PM
World Soccer Website

http://www.worldsoccer.com/features/hibs-fans-sunshine-over-leith-375084 (http://www.worldsoccer.com/features/hibs-fans-sunshine-over-leith-375084)

Eaststand
23-05-2016, 04:24 PM

Today, more than ever:

That's a great wee clip bud, I hope you had a great day, and if the Germans had been in amongst us at Hampden, they'd have seen another 22 thousand doing the same thing :flag:

Saturday Boy
23-05-2016, 04:32 PM
World Soccer Website

http://www.worldsoccer.com/features/hibs-fans-sunshine-over-leith-375084 (http://www.worldsoccer.com/features/hibs-fans-sunshine-over-leith-375084)

I managed a little over 2 minutes before the tears started again. I can't watch the rest.

Some great comments from around the world.

23-05-2016, 05:08 PM
Not a celeb as such but Ryan McGowan once of Tynecastle was very nice about us on Twitter:

What a way to win the cup 🏆🏆 Congratulations to all my hibs pals....enjoy the celebrations #ScottishCupFinal 🏆

Surprised this has passed without comment so far, fair play to the guy, it would've been easy to say nowt. If I wore a hat I would remove it for that Tweet.

23-05-2016, 05:10 PM
Lesson to myself, dinae watch the SoL video on the bus as people are gonna look at you strange as tears flow down your face as you bubble like a big bairn. I'm now sniffing and wiping ma nose on ma jacket (remember to get a new packet of tissues too)

23-05-2016, 05:13 PM
Surprised this has passed without comment so far, fair play to the guy, it would've been easy to say nowt. If I wore a hat I would remove it for that Tweet.

A thing that has stood out for me has been how sound so many Jambos (even ones who can be quite abrasive) have been to me about the whole thing.

Fair play to McGowan.

23-05-2016, 05:18 PM

Today, more than ever:

Peter. that's brilliant

23-05-2016, 05:56 PM

We should get that commentator along to ER!

23-05-2016, 06:32 PM
Swiss :tsk tsk:

So you could see your face in that floor, I'll have you know :greengrin

The honest truth is my legs just gave out. Absolute one-man delirium.

I stand corrected!

Impressive scene either way.

Super_JMcGinn
23-05-2016, 06:49 PM
This one had me and the kids laughing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WN4VpzCoTB8

23-05-2016, 06:58 PM

Nope, cried again. That was just watching someone who isn't a Hibs supporter watching the game - and you don't even see the game.

I'm going to sue Hibs for breaking my tear ducts.

Super_JMcGinn
23-05-2016, 07:15 PM
This young gers fan tells it as it was, their fans trying to get on to cause a riot, he best wear a mask next time he's at Castle Greyskull.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TY1OxFp6_GY

23-05-2016, 07:34 PM
Great videos - keep them coming.

Surely must be a video of a bar full of Hibees going mental also.

livi hibs 1875
23-05-2016, 08:03 PM
Started greeting when the song starts oh what a difference a day makes :flag::flag:

FT'J'Bo's
24-05-2016, 08:33 AM
We should get that commentator along to ER!
Cerainly would be great if this were to happen! I wonder if anyone knows who he is? An Ex Player perhaps? His voice goes up several octaves as he's talking and he seems overly excited, more than someone with no connection to the club would normally be!

Skåne Hibs
24-05-2016, 09:58 AM
One from the Swedish press:

http://www.dn.se/sport/fotboll/hibernian-skotska-cupmastare-efter-114-ars-vantan/

Stoney Hibee
24-05-2016, 12:02 PM

Just watched that while having lunch at work...i will be laughing all afteronon!!!!

Engels74
24-05-2016, 02:11 PM
grays goal french commentary :flag::sauzee::lolrangers:https://twitter.com/123ActuSport/status/734050543178502144

24-05-2016, 04:49 PM
Photo gallery in Der Spiegel in Germany, mercifully with no sign of me leaping about like a deranged lunatic.

http://www.spiegel.de/fotostrecke/randale-nach-pokalsieg-von-hibernian-edinburgh-fotostrecke-137453-8.html

What a monumental plum Halliday is giving it the CR7 Calma celebration of his toe punt sclaff. How did that work out for you, ya Hun scaff??

Tobias Funke
24-05-2016, 05:06 PM

Today, more than ever:

Albeit I wasn't in such lovely location like Zurich my reaction to the final whistle was exactly the same! I roared so loudly my neighbours must have thought I was going to burst through their ceiling! And then I started crying like a baby. I cried so much I felt sick!! Still feel tearful!

24-05-2016, 05:13 PM
Amazing

https://youtu.be/VLkGJikRDOM

Sproule Three
24-05-2016, 09:38 PM
The Melbourne Hibees - superb !
Full credit to them even though I live in Sydney -:)

http://youtu.be/VLkGJikRDOM

24-05-2016, 09:44 PM

I'll do the honours HH 🎩

24-05-2016, 10:57 PM
4 mins 45 seconds: "History rewritten at Hampden Park. And it's rewritten in BIG GREEN PEN!" 😂😂😂😂😂

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FDO_mnDzsnk

24-05-2016, 11:28 PM
This young gers fan tells it as it was, their fans trying to get on to cause a riot, he best wear a mask next time he's at Castle Greyskull.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TY1OxFp6_GY

Not your typical Gers fan but at least he was honest with his assessments throughout the match.

24-05-2016, 11:42 PM
4 mins 45 seconds: "History rewritten at Hampden Park. And it's rewritten in BIG GREEN PEN!" 😂😂😂😂😂

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FDO_mnDzsnk
I love that line. Alan Partridge couldn't have put it better.

24-05-2016, 11:58 PM

Lol. That guy is tremendous!

25-05-2016, 12:33 AM
Not your typical Gers fan but at least he was honest with his assessments throughout the match.

Looking at that I think he's actually a Raith Rovers fan .

25-05-2016, 12:53 AM

No treble
No Europe
Mark Warburton no magic hat.