View Full Version : Does this feel like you expected it would?

21-05-2016, 05:34 PM
I feel numb. Greeted like a bairn at FT, and have gone through every emotion since. Hasn't sunk in. Don't know if I want it to just yet.

21-05-2016, 05:37 PM
When we got 3rd I turned away from pitch and sat in a ball until just before whistle. Just so happy we won it and in that manner which is how we lose matches, brilliant that we won it at end.

21-05-2016, 05:38 PM
i still cant believe it , it wont sink in until party time tomorrow when i see that bus come along princes street . im stunned

21-05-2016, 05:38 PM
Not yet. On the train heading back into Glasgow and hasn't hit, hence why I'm posting on here.

21-05-2016, 05:39 PM
I'm in a bit of shock really. Numb

21-05-2016, 05:40 PM
I'm heading back to Dundee already. My old man's just come out of hospital after a fortnight and I want to celebrate it with him.

21-05-2016, 05:43 PM
I'm numb, I can't believe it :flag::flag::hibees:gwa::gwa2:

SJM
21-05-2016, 05:47 PM
I can't believe it. It's genuinely like a dream.

21-05-2016, 05:50 PM
Feels so much better. Best day of my life

jamiegray1993
21-05-2016, 05:53 PM
On the bus home.. still doesnt feel like we got a winner, just unbelievable!

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

21-05-2016, 05:54 PM
Wait till you peel your eyelids back and wedge your mouth open in morning thats when it will hit you
HIBERNIAN SCOTTISH CUP 2016 WINNERS
AND WE WERE THERE

21-05-2016, 05:57 PM
Wait till you peel your eyelids back and wedge your mouth open in morning thats when it will hit you
HIBERNIAN SCOTTISH CUP 2016 WINNERS
AND WE WERE THERE
George Best, Sauzee, Turnbull, Deek... none of them did it. Not one.

I'd be all for the Alan Stubbs East Stand.

21-05-2016, 05:57 PM
Ecstatic, but very disappointed that the actions of our very own dafties prevented the players from undertaking a traditional lap of honour.

21-05-2016, 05:58 PM
Best day of my life at 23 years old. Buzzing.

Galahibby
21-05-2016, 06:02 PM
Our bus is pretty subdued. Don't think anybody can believe it. GGTTH

Benny Brazil
21-05-2016, 06:07 PM
I'm in a daze - did we really just do that?

21-05-2016, 06:08 PM
Even better.

21-05-2016, 06:10 PM
I thought I'd be a mess but I'm just ridiculously happy.

It's a million times better than I expected.

21-05-2016, 06:13 PM
Our bus is pretty subdued. Don't think anybody can believe it. GGTTH

Same for us, think everyone is just trying to take it in and enjoy the moment.

21-05-2016, 06:13 PM
Much, much better. I've only just stopped greetin. Tears of absolute joy. 54 years of waiting - OVER.

WON-90+2

21-05-2016, 06:23 PM
Ecstatic, but very disappointed that the actions of our very own dafties prevented the players from undertaking a traditional lap of honour.

This is where I'm at too.

Bobo
21-05-2016, 06:28 PM
Sacrificed going cos I think I'm a jinx, delighted for every Hibee at Hampden today and everywhere else across the planet. Monkey finally off the back, get it right f***** rouund you jambo s***!!

21-05-2016, 06:29 PM
Cried like someone had died I was sooo happy but cried like a girl. Thought like many off loved ones who passed

21-05-2016, 06:31 PM

Agree. This has taken away from a historic win for the Hibees.

Rasta_Hibs
21-05-2016, 06:34 PM
Over the moon, was on the pitch! Feels better than I expected! Don't know what else to say but thank you Hibs!!!

Great game, great atmosphere! I think great scenes at the end, raw emotion!

Hibees!!!!

cannastar
21-05-2016, 06:34 PM
just feel brilliant... slight nuvmb feeling also after crying eyes out before

jamieross
21-05-2016, 06:37 PM
Still don't think it's fully sunk in. So many tears. :flag:

TheHarpy76
21-05-2016, 06:38 PM
All seems a little bit surreal if I'm being honest.

I thought I was always knew how I would celebrate when we finally won it but after going bananas for a few seconds at full time I just sort of stood in a stunned silence.

rotherhamrob
21-05-2016, 06:48 PM
Feels fantastic.
Now looking forward to pics and videos from today being posted.
Thank God I recorded the game and to win it in the last minute was just the icing on the cake.

rosco-hibee
21-05-2016, 07:02 PM
I was ballin' my eyes out at the pub. It hasn't quite sunk in yet, and I'm not sure I want it to. What a feeling!

Enjoy your night boys, this is a very special moment in history!

xx

KNBE
21-05-2016, 07:38 PM
Tears at FT and "it's happened, it's happened, it's happened, it's happened!" going round and round my head.

Sent from my GT-S6810P using Tapatalk

HibeeLR
21-05-2016, 07:41 PM
Amazing what a day! Also had £2 3-2 hibs @ 50/1 just to make it that little more special 💚🔥

Hannah_hfc
21-05-2016, 07:52 PM
Cried from the 3rd goal going in to leaving the stadium after the cup lifting. Still can't believe it's real and has actually happened. Tonight and tomorrow are going to be messy

hibs69
21-05-2016, 07:55 PM
First goal, accidentally punched myself in the nose, lost ma glasses!

But to answer the thread........, yes, it does, but it was effin weird...... When that 3rd went in, my son turned quick and stared at me for a that few split seconds of complete disbelief. I'll never forget his face. Then we just bounced! I feel no Hibee will be able to describe just how that moment felt.

ClewsHibs
21-05-2016, 08:30 PM
Shoutout to the poor programme sellers at the end. Had their work cut out

hibbypostie
21-05-2016, 08:31 PM
First time I have not celebrated a winning goal I totally froze and my chin hit the ground between that and the whistle felt like forever :flag:

21-05-2016, 08:36 PM
Agree. This has taken away from a historic win for the Hibees.

no for me,,,,,,well not really. The magnitude of and impact of what has just been achieved will last long after the west coast meeja has tried to devalue it..................

...........Wembley 1967 anyone??

Doncaster_Hibby
21-05-2016, 08:36 PM
I feel numb. Greeted like a bairn at FT, and have gone through every emotion since. Hasn't sunk in. Don't know if I want it to just yet.

I was physically shaking when the Gray's header went in and after the final whistle too. After the initial excitement I too have got that numb feeling coming over me. It all just feels rather strange, can't quite take it all in yet.

21-05-2016, 08:54 PM
Unbelievable just sheer joy since that goal went in. Can't wipe the smile off my face

21-05-2016, 09:01 PM
RP.. i Hold You Responsible For my PTSD... :wink:

21-05-2016, 09:05 PM
I thought I would want to go out and celebrate. However I have just gone home, watched it again and enjoyed it thoroughly. I was exhausted after the highs and lows of that game. Absolutely brilliant.

The perfect word is content. Tomorrow will be a great day too.

21-05-2016, 09:07 PM
I thought I'd be a mess but I'm just ridiculously happy.

It's a million times better than I expected.

It is a warm feeling of joy and content. I too am ridiculously happy. Hope this feeling lasts a long time.

21-05-2016, 09:12 PM
1000x better than I ever imagined it would feel. Still can't believe it. I'm watching the last 10 mins over and over just now and still stunned.

21-05-2016, 09:15 PM
I thought I would want to go out and celebrate. However I have just gone home, watched it again and enjoyed it thoroughly. I was exhausted after the highs and lows of that game. Absolutely brilliant.

That's how I feel too :agree: still not sure it's sunk in tbh

ruthven_raiders
21-05-2016, 09:16 PM
Went the ball hit the back of the net I couldn't believe it! Still hasn't sunk in, nothing the press say is spoiling my sheer joy at the moment....I'll be more relaxed at next Scottish cup final and win it again 😊

21-05-2016, 09:39 PM
This. Tears started with the third goal thinking it was going to happen, blubbing at full time and full on crying during Sunshine on Leith.

Out in Leigh now having a few beers after the journey home and already lost count of the people who have shaken my hand (and asked if I went on the pitch). Don't think this will sink in for a while yet.

21-05-2016, 09:45 PM
Million times better than I could imagine....

Don't know how many times I bust into tears today...think my laddie was traumatised seeing his Dad in that state....

What a day....

Green_one
21-05-2016, 09:46 PM

Yip thats me too. Today is too much and watching it again drained me. Tomorrow - I am looking forward to.

Still have this small feeling of disbelief. Loved watching the players in the tunnel:flag::flag::flag::gwa:

Green Man
21-05-2016, 09:48 PM
I really didn't know how I would feel. Now it's happened, it's an incredible feeling of joy like I've never felt before. I keep saying to myself "we've won the cup" and almost bursting into tears again, I've never cried so many tears of happiness as I have today.

21-05-2016, 09:54 PM
I'm still trying to take it all in ...

McIntosh
21-05-2016, 09:57 PM
It was wonderful. Like many here I thought of the people who were not there and despite having the great pleasure of loving our great club deeply, never had the joy of a day like today. They are in the choir up above and I swear today at the final whistle I could hear my late father saying, "Glory, Glory to the Hibees".

21-05-2016, 10:25 PM
It's finally beginning to sink in. Hibs have won the Scottish Cup.

Hibs have won the Scottish cup.

We've done it.

21-05-2016, 10:30 PM
After 114 years, normal service has been resumed.

22-05-2016, 02:02 AM
Did that happen

hibbytam
22-05-2016, 02:08 AM
I'm not sure, because I think I gave up hope of it ever happening.

It was quite a sight to see the fans waiting to get back on their buses home. A strange mixture of shock, and obvious delight.

I really can't believe we just did that.

McHibby
22-05-2016, 04:45 AM
A million times better.
Elated, speechless,overwhelmed, proud, mentally wasted, disbelieving, teary, stunned, relived, bewitched, amazed, delirious, flabbergasted, buzzing, passionate and of course... exuberant.

22-05-2016, 06:21 AM
Was at a friends wedding yesterday. Had made peace with myself for that decision after the LC final.

Started shaking when the texts came in at 3-2.
Then I burst into tears at FT. I had to walk away from the reception.
The missus had to tell me to pull myself together.

It was the enormity that hit me.

Keep greeting now. I face timed my boys who aged 7 and 5 were watching the game at my in-laws house. Seeing them celebrating at FT ate me off again.

Spoke to my brother in Australia again was "totes emosh".

Just so happy!

Going to meet my Dad Today and crack open the Champagne and have another drink to Hibs and all the Hibbies past and present.

22-05-2016, 06:28 AM
Sunshine on Leith was good enough but that was the best Glory Glory To The Hibees ever....shivers down the spine then tears flowing when it got to Smith.....Johnstone....Reilly....Turnbull.....Ormo nd...

Ah, what a day. What a ****** day.

22-05-2016, 06:45 AM
I just woke up today and had a greet as soon as I started thinking about it, it's sinking in now that it actually happened.

22-05-2016, 07:29 AM
I just woke up today and had a greet as soon as I started thinking about it, it's sinking in now that it actually happened.

Same. Woke up, first thought was "My heid is pounding" and then "we've done it".

Yesterday,
Our last cup win seemed so far away,
Then along came captain David Gray
Oh I believe in yesterday

WHAM
22-05-2016, 07:37 AM
I keep bursting into tears....I can't quite believe it.

Stokesy's on fire
22-05-2016, 07:38 AM
I knew it would feel good to win the Scottish cup but I didn't realise it would feel this good! That was momumental and the euphoria was unreal one of the greatest ever feelings in life

22-05-2016, 07:41 AM
It's ok I supposed. I think we should win it again next year just so I can see if this is right or change a different approach.

It's ****ING AMAZING

22-05-2016, 07:51 AM
sunshine on leith was good enough but that was the best glory glory to the hibees ever....shivers down the spine then tears flowing when it got to smith.....johnstone....reilly....turnbull.....ormo nd...

Ah, what a day. What a ****** day.

I only want to say the Scottish Cup is in the bag!

22-05-2016, 07:53 AM
It wasn't just winning it, it was the manner in which we did it. That early goal, going 2-1 behind and that horrible feeling of familiarity of the cup slipping away, the equaliser and the injury time goal. The two minutes after that as well to realise that this is the time that all the 1902 taunts end, that history is being made.

22-05-2016, 07:57 AM
It wasn't just winning it, it was the manner in which we did it. That early goal, going 2-1 behind and that horrible feeling of familiarity of the cup slipping away, the equaliser and the injury time goal. The two minutes after that as well to realise that this is the time that all the 1902 taunts end, that history is being made.

In those 2 minutes looking at all the others around me and knowing we were all thinking that this is it and we are there witnessing it live was almost too much.

22-05-2016, 07:59 AM
Woke up with the hibees bounce still going through my head. I've watched the sky highlights, sportscene, sky sports news coverage and now listening to sportsound podcast. I still can't quite take it in.

22-05-2016, 08:07 AM
Burst into full blown greeting mode when the winner went in and then for a good 5 minutes afterwards was crying like a baby.

Its a day I never thought I would see

Last night was brilliant in and around Leith and the Harp & Castle was fantastic

Tears now reading all the threads etc

Its the culmination of a lifetime of waiting and hoping

Thoughts filled with thoughts for friends, relatives and all the other Hibees who haven't seen this day and what it would have meant to them

22-05-2016, 08:16 AM
No sunk in yet tbh. When the full time whistle went I just crumbled, tears were flowing

22-05-2016, 08:20 AM

Don't fall for it.

There was a delay, but all fans back in their seats when the trophy came out.

The police prevented the lap of honour, no one else. They did it because they hate us for winning.

22-05-2016, 08:22 AM
I only want to say the Scottish Cup is in the bag!

The whole crowd belted that part out was fantastic :flag:

22-05-2016, 08:25 AM

1902 can carry on by all means....we can just correct them to 90+2.

22-05-2016, 08:26 AM

We won the big cup in 90+2:flag:

22-05-2016, 08:27 AM

Oh that's good! "At 90+2, at 90+2, we won the Scottish Cup, at 90+2".

I'm in so many tears here there can't be much water left in me.

22-05-2016, 08:27 AM
The word I've used so many times is disbelief. I actually felt the celebrations for out winner weren't as big (in my bit at least) as the other 2 goals as I think folk started to try and comprehend that we were about to actually do it. But once the final whistle went, wow those are scenes I'm not sure I'll ever see again

22-05-2016, 08:38 AM
I think it's starting to sink in now ....

lugz
22-05-2016, 09:39 AM
I'm still crying watching the videos and reading all the reports.

Apart from the birth of my daughter that was the greatest day of my life.

22-05-2016, 10:01 AM
I started crying again earlier just watching the goals again.

Really still can't believe we've done it.

22-05-2016, 10:03 AM
I started crying again earlier just watching the goals again.

Really still can't believe we've done it.

I used to think you were cool with all your gifs Steve.

Used to.

Ah **** it, I've been the same all morning :hyper

hibbydog
22-05-2016, 10:36 AM
Very emotional. Couldn't believe we did it. Finally.

Didn't expect it to be emotional today as well.

This is a massive life event for everyone. It's up there with my wedding day and birth of my children.

If anyone fancies a pint, I'll be getting pished for about a month now

pontius pilate
22-05-2016, 10:47 AM
The two wee lassies at Henderson's corner before Gray scores will be one of the lasting images from that game you could see how much it meant to them. They couldn't watch through excitement and fear. I'm so chuffed for all the kids that go to school and get it rammed down their throats 1902 etc . Well wee ones go into school in Tuesday and ran it straight down their throats.

22-05-2016, 10:55 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9S61gpUhFM

scooby
22-05-2016, 10:55 AM
I'm still numb, it's the best feeling ever.
I've had so many texts and calls from friends and family who are all equally happy. People who don't go to games but have hibs in their heart.
Looking forward to the parade, hope there is still sunshine on Leith this afternoon.

Monopolyguy
22-05-2016, 11:29 AM
Absolutely amazing, I don't think it has quite sunk in for me yet. I've watched the replay of the last 5 minutes about 20 times already and keep expecting they *******s to get a dodgy last minute penalty. It's gonna be a long time before i stop smiling.

22-05-2016, 11:31 AM
It does, aye; great joy with a tinge of sentimental melancholy, as I thought would be the case. Overall it's absolutely magic.

OsloHibs
22-05-2016, 12:53 PM
The fans carriage on 9pm train back last night was absolutely brilliant. Well done everyone who was on it. John mcginn's 4 pals were there and got him on the phone watching us all sing his song. He was in tears, we were in tears.. memories I'll have forever.
And I have to say the few rangers fans there were great with us, who'd have thought eh!!!

07-06-2016, 06:36 PM
Okay; how about now?

I still can't stop watching the highlights. I thought that it'd have been a great week after winning the final and no matter how ****ty a day it's been the highlights cheer me up. Shaun Keaveny played SoL on his 6Music show this morning, was belting it out in the car even still :greengrin

07-06-2016, 06:44 PM
Genuinely just finished watching the whole game. Incredible man. Truly

07-06-2016, 06:44 PM
Okay; how about now?

I still can't stop watching the highlights. I thought that it'd have been a great week after winning the final and no matter how ****ty a day it's been the highlights cheer me up. Shaun Keaveny played SoL on his 6Music show this morning, was belting it out in the car even still :greengrin

It's mental.

When I watch the highlights there's a feeling that sears through me when David Gray's goal goes in and it's unlike anything I've experienced before.

The goal was amazing at the time and I can't really describe how good it was. I've spoken to dozens of fans of other clubs over the past few weeks and they've asked me about that goal and that weekend and words just don't do it justice.

But even now, I find myself watching the highlights almost daily and there is this mixture of pride, relief, joy, disbelief and ecstasy as that ball hits the back of the net and I'm right back there again. We f*****g did it!

I have the great fortune to be living in Leith. There's something quite funny about drifting off to sleep that especially at the weekend you will hear a lone drunkard (or sometimes a group) belting out either Stokesy's on fire or the John McGinn song somewhere in the distance.

These are great days, no doubt about it.

07-06-2016, 06:48 PM
At work just now.. heading home and after reading stuff on here im wanting to watch it from start to finish (was there, so not sčen it on tv yet.... just couldnt bring myself to do anything more than watch ALL the fans videos!) Where's the best place .... utube??

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

07-06-2016, 06:59 PM
To be honest, thought I'd feel same as that guy in Fever Pitch when Arsenal finally won the League after (a whole) 18 years.. that my interest in Hibs might change and we'd all be able to "move on" having finally, finally found the Holy Grail. But no, just as interested in our next manager appointment and don't me started on watching the goals .... time and time again. Cannot get enough.

Every single time I see Sir David of Gray head that ball into The Rangers net, I watch in wonder and awe that someone, finally, a Hibs player, our heroic captain, decided enough was enough and made that moment his own.... and then gifted it to thousands !

07-06-2016, 08:06 PM
I never thought that the actual cup run could be so poetic.

Looking like we're being pumped out by our city rivals - again - and coming back to go through.

Putting out the defending champions.

Facing the antithesis of us in the cup final and winning in injury time, of all times.

It's just a beautiful, beautiful story.

07-06-2016, 08:08 PM
I never thought that the actual cup run could be so poetic.

Looking like we're being pumped out by our city rivals - again - and coming back to go through.

Putting out the defending champions.

Facing the antithesis of us in the cup final and winning in injury time, of all times.

It's just a beautiful, beautiful story.

You forgot Conrad???!!

07-06-2016, 08:10 PM
It'll feel even better when next season's cup begins...... And nae Canute can spout pish about Hibs hoodoo, hundred and x years, Hibsed it etc etc etc ☺

07-06-2016, 08:36 PM
Funny you should mention it. Got the full Sky coverage on DVD and just put it on.

Not getting old and every time I've got the flat to myself it's going on with beers to boot.

Jdawg
07-06-2016, 08:45 PM
It's mental.

When I watch the highlights there's a feeling that sears through me when David Gray's goal goes in and it's unlike anything I've experienced before.

The goal was amazing at the time and I can't really describe how good it was. I've spoken to dozens of fans of other clubs over the past few weeks and they've asked me about that goal and that weekend and words just don't do it justice.

But even now, I find myself watching the highlights almost daily and there is this mixture of pride, relief, joy, disbelief and ecstasy as that ball hits the back of the net and I'm right back there again. We f*****g did it!

I have the great fortune to be living in Leith. There's something quite funny about drifting off to sleep that especially at the weekend you will hear a lone drunkard (or sometimes a group) belting out either Stokesy's on fire or the John McGinn song somewhere in the distance.

These are great days, no doubt about it.

Me too, the odd steamer banging the tune whilst staggering along Albert Street.

Jdawg
07-06-2016, 08:50 PM
It felt weird as went through with my family, all cousins from 5 years old to 58. My cousin lost her ticket on the way towards the ground. I gave her mine and manager to buy one outside the ground for the south upper, was a bit crap with my family in the north stand.

Was sat next to 3 really sound hibs fans plus a German guy who started following us after the Essen game many years ago, he came over for the final.

Funny hearing a German guy singing SoL. He loved the cup final experience. To SoL, he said I've never a song at the football like that, amazing fans, amazing people.

07-06-2016, 08:52 PM
Funny you should mention it. Got the full Sky coverage on DVD and just put it on.

Not getting old and every time I've got the flat to myself it's going on with beers to boot.

Would I be able to get a copy of that ?

07-06-2016, 09:21 PM
With respect, If your not a Hibee, you just can't come close to appreciating just what this means. In fact as a support we're still unraveling the enormity of it all. It's almost too big to comprehend in an instant although Grays goal unlocked a little glimpse and a realisation - a two minute warning - a dawning.

I've not read everything I've not watched everything but it's clear this event has touched the lives beyond what is reasonable to hope. I hope in time those fortunate to have been part of this Hibstoric event either management, team, staff or support come to realise and celebrate its importance. It's left an indelible mark on those present and beyond. Hopefully on the community as well.

A penny for the thoughts of the great man who saved us from being wiped out. Could he have imagined that within a year once cup and just over a quarter of a century The Holy Grail? Remarkable for a non-football man.

I haven't genuinely cried as much as I have done since we won this thing. It seems others feel the same. Just think about that for a minute. Wow. People have been genuinely moved to tears. Is is like this for every team? Is it especially loaded for us due to history? I don't know but I think it's a good thing.

But the last thought for Stubbs.

That Kipling poem If... could have been written for our man (because he is and will be forever our man). A ragtag remnant of a team someone neglected with no recognised keeper. He turned it around. When those around him thought the wheels had come off the cart he kept a steady head and caught up on the Rangers. When things went on the slide after the Hearts victory he kept us going past the injuries, the disappointment of the LC defeat. And then the further disappointment of the playoff.

Clearly the man doesn't know the meaning of quitting in life, in football but he does know a thing or two about Hibstory and timing. I believe he took us into his heart and Hibstory will show that he moved on at the right time. To end his first managerial appointment on such a high (two cup finals, the Holy Grail in the bag difficult playoffs a blemish) it was time to hand over the baton with his interity and respect intact - we couldn't have the SC manager leave under a black cloud

mondacabbage
08-06-2016, 03:56 AM
It felt weird as went through with my family, all cousins from 5 years old to 58. My cousin lost her ticket on the way towards the ground. I gave her mine and manager to buy one outside the ground for the south upper, was a bit crap with my family in the north stand.

Was sat next to 3 really sound hibs fans plus a German guy who started following us after the Essen game many years ago, he came over for the final.

Funny hearing a German guy singing SoL. He loved the cup final experience. To SoL, he said I've never a song at the football like that, amazing fans, amazing people.

Thought this sounded familiar then realised I'm the 58 year old cousin. By the way Jamie the five year old hasn't stopped singing Hibs songs and asked on Saturday if the football was on as we've not been to a cup final for ages!!!!!!!!:wink:

30-10-2016, 07:22 PM
I kind of wanted to revisit this for one last time - now the new season is underway, the manager has changed, the DVD is out and we're now looking towards our hopeful promotion this season and I'd imagine that it's now sunk in for most people - how do you feel about the cup win against expectations?

TBH it's been much more than I expected it to be. I always thought it'd be special but I think I've seen the best moment I'll ever see in terms of football and Hibs. It's indelibly marked itself in my psyche in terms of viewing Hibernian Football Club - the time when we took all the accusations of being bottlers, all the taunts and songs about 1902 and showed what this club is about. The Scottish Cup tour and the way that the club have put themselves forward has been utterly Hibs class.

Last time I bump this thread but keen to know how people view the cup win nearly half a year on.

30-10-2016, 07:28 PM
I still feel it was better than I would ever have dared dream winning the Scottish cup (with an injury time goal v the huns having tucked hearts away earlier on in the tournament with the aid of an injury time equaliser at the smaller of the 2 main football stadiums in scotland's capital city) would be.

30-10-2016, 07:40 PM
We won the Scottish Cup. We really did. I say that every night. I'll never tire of it.

CallumHibs07
30-10-2016, 07:50 PM
Football seems less significant now for me. Nothing will ever top that day.

30-10-2016, 07:53 PM
I kind of wanted to revisit this for one last time - now the new season is underway, the manager has changed, the DVD is out and we're now looking towards our hopeful promotion this season and I'd imagine that it's now sunk in for most people - how do you feel about the cup win against expectations?

TBH it's been much more than I expected it to be. I always thought it'd be special but I think I've seen the best moment I'll ever see in terms of football and Hibs. It's indelibly marked itself in my psyche in terms of viewing Hibernian Football Club - the time when we took all the accusations of being bottlers, all the taunts and songs about 1902 and showed what this club is about. The Scottish Cup tour and the way that the club have put themselves forward has been utterly Hibs class.

Last time I bump this thread but keen to know how people view the cup win nearly half a year on.

Half a year almost. Jeezo!

Still on cloud 9.

Still watch the sky recording from 156 minutes (just as Fyvie lets the ball run out) every time I have a drink.

30-10-2016, 07:58 PM
The word Deliver. It doesn't mean what it used to mean. I see and hear it everywhere. And it always makes me smile. Deliverrrrrrrrrrrrr

30-10-2016, 07:59 PM
It'll feel even better when next season's cup begins...... And nae Canute can spout pish about Hibs hoodoo, hundred and x years, Hibsed it etc etc etc ☺

This is very true indeed.

Just hope the Hibernian scottish cup away support remains the same numbers and excellent voice as previous years which I'm sure it will.

Every year we kept hoping 'this is the year'.

2016 the year that was.

Just brilliant.

30-10-2016, 08:05 PM
It was, and still is, the best day of my life.

It was one of the biggest dreams I have had since I was a child and the feeling I got when Sir David rose up and nodded in from that corner will live with me forever, it was a feeling I can barely describe using any words.

Then the feeling a couple of minutes later, knowing that it was all over and we had actually won the Scottish Cup is something I will always remember and I will take those memories of that entire day with me to my grave.

It was a magical day and one I will cherish forever.

30-10-2016, 08:16 PM
Funnily enough I was chatting to a Hibs fan in Robbies who I hadn't seen since the night of the cup final and we agreed we're still basking in the glow of the cup win. Wee spring in the step when I think about it 🏆🇳🇬💚

30-10-2016, 08:17 PM

I'm kinda with you Callum.
Not as much football being less significant but more I can take a Hibs defeat or draw with less anger nowadays (so far) knowing that 21/05/16 happened and will always be the pinnacle of my Hibs supporting life.

Unless of course we were to do the unthinkable and win a Premier League title one day or even a European trophy. Still think though, that great as these might be, the emotions felt in May would be difficult to be repeated.

30-10-2016, 08:29 PM
I'm kinda with you Callum.
Not as much football being less significant but more I can take a Hibs defeat or draw with less anger nowadays (so far) knowing that 21/05/16 happened and will always be the pinnacle of my Hibs supporting life.

Unless of course we were to do the unthinkable and win a Premier League title one day or even a European trophy. Still think though, that great as these might be, the emotions felt in May would be difficult to be repeated.

Winning the Premiership title or a European title would obviously be a better achievement but it wouldn't top the emotions of 21/05/16.

That day was simply unique in the history of Hibernian FC and will never be repeated in my lifetime.

30-10-2016, 10:06 PM
Having been away and missed it I think I'll be getting weird looks when I do a one man pitch invasion and greeting uncontrollably when we next win it. This was special, but not being involved takes so much away sadly. Not helped by the other final losses.

Bill Milne
31-10-2016, 08:18 AM
Costing a fortune in hankies as every time I watch the game, tears are flowing with the sheer enormity of what has happened. Like most, if not all, Hibbies, I had dreamt of this moment all the way through my life.

31-10-2016, 08:39 AM

I must admit that I'm with you a bit.

I got myself more and more into following Hibs over the past few years. Last season is a season that cannot be topped - a ridiculous rollercoaster of emotion with devastating lows and what must go down as the greatest high in our history.

Saturday's game was the first game I'd been to since the United game, so I'm still largely going to the home games but haven't been going to the away ones. If the truth be told I'm struggling a bit to find motivation.

I think part of that is knowing that we've won the cup and that day cannot ever be topped.

As for how it feels - there is still a part of me that every so often remembers that we're cup holders and I cannot help but smile. I'm a wee bit disappointed that the green and white scarf has now been taken off Queen Victoria at the foot of Leith Walk as that made me chuckle every time I saw it.

31-10-2016, 09:36 AM
I don't know what to wish for when my Birthday comes, every year it was win the Scottish cup!

Wishes do come true!

31-10-2016, 10:24 AM
Its been a fascinating few months. I have truly bored my facebook friends to tears with constant sharing of videos and photos. I sat in Saturday night and watched the Time for Heroes Documentary TWICE. I have truly basked in the warm glow of this win, and the fact that so many months on, its still bitter for some Rangers fans, well that makes it all the sweeter.

My one downside is that I know I will never ever feel that undescribable adrenalin I felt for around 10 minutes from Sir Davids goal ever again. It was the rawest emotion I've ever felt. I didnt know it existed until then. I was a complete mess for that 10 minutes. And couldnt control my emotions for around a fortnight.

31-10-2016, 10:39 AM
We're currently in our third year in the championship, playing against not particularly exciting teams and went through a 4/5 match slump in form and results, which resulted in our lowest home crowd so far this season at the weekend...

...but the attendance was over 14k, slightly higher than our highest attendance last season (which included 3,800 visiting supporters)

THAT's how much the Cup win has had an effect on the Hibs support.