View Full Version : Brendan Rodgers

20-05-2016, 04:13 PM
New Celtic boss 12 month rolling contract. Confirmed on Sky.

20-05-2016, 04:15 PM
Mental, he gave up 5 million a year to take that job

blaikie
20-05-2016, 04:15 PM
New Celtic boss 12 month rolling contract. Confirmed on Sky.

Good appointment for them, but a 12 month contract ..... Can't see him staying beyond that if he's successful, goes tits up he leave and if he's successful walks into a job in the EPL.

20-05-2016, 04:16 PM
Good appointment for the but a 12 month contract ..... Can't see him staying beyond that if he's successful.
Pretty sure that's the same deal Neil Lennon had. He stayed a while.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

20-05-2016, 04:17 PM
Good appointment for them, but a 12 month contract ..... Can't see him staying beyond that if he's successful, goes tits up he leave and if he's successful walks into a job in the EPL.

12 month rolling contract

Has this guy actually achieved anything, been bombed out of at least 2 of his last 3 clubs

blaikie
20-05-2016, 04:18 PM
Pretty sure that's the same deal Neil Lennon had. He stayed a while.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Lennon was unproven and at the time was a risk by their board, This is an experienced manager I thought they'd want to tie him down for longer ........ I hope he fails miserably though :)

20-05-2016, 04:24 PM
About as good an appointment as they could have got. I was hoping for the car crash that is Malky Mackay.

20-05-2016, 04:26 PM
Excellent news for the rest of Scottish fitba.

Bad news for celtic. :green grin

Which is good news for us :aok: :thumbsup:

JC94
20-05-2016, 04:27 PM

Has this guy actually achieved anything, been bombed out of at least 2 of his last 3 clubs

No, Suarez made him look like a good manager hence the season after he left they finished 6th

20-05-2016, 04:33 PM

Has this guy actually achieved anything, been bombed out of at least 2 of his last 3 clubsPromotion with Swansea, got Liverpool 2nd, asked for Alexis Sanchez to replace Suarez, got Ricky Lambert...

The guy is a good manager and a very good coach, will probably do well at Celtic.

20-05-2016, 04:39 PM
I wonder what these rabid socialists over there will think about his £10 million buy-to-let (probably ex-council) property empire. He's a small part of the reason why young families can only afford to line landlords pockets instead of buying their own home.

That doesn't sound very "Celtic minded" at all. Celtic fans have never behaved like stinking hypocrites before so I fully expect him to be hounded out sharpish.

JC94
20-05-2016, 04:42 PM
Promotion with Swansea, got Liverpool 2nd, asked for Alexis Sanchez to replace Suarez, got Ricky Lambert...

The guy is a good manager and a very good coach, will probably do well at Celtic.

Will be interesting the signings he makes, has a very poor record of bringing in players and thats when he had a ton load of money to spend.

SJM
20-05-2016, 04:51 PM
Hearts will still win the league though. Absolute fannies :)

What a coup for Celtic. Must be true they have big money to spend.

Let's hope we keep Henderson here now.

Nevi_SOL
20-05-2016, 04:53 PM
I think this is good for us ie Henderson. He will be expected to make good(well big name) signings.

SJM
20-05-2016, 04:53 PM
Will be interesting the signings he makes, has a very poor record of bringing in players and thats when he had a ton load of money to spend.

At Swansea? The players he brought in we're amazing.

Scott Sinclair first signing. 10/1 last Week too. Result.

20-05-2016, 05:07 PM
Wonder what kind of budget they've promised him :confused:

20-05-2016, 05:10 PM
Timing is typical, takes Hibs and Rangers off the back pages tomorrow

Big L
20-05-2016, 05:13 PM
Their will be a massive clear out and I can only hope Stubb's is on good terms with him. He will obviously be given a massive transfer budget and who knows who will be allowed to move on, let's hope we can get a couple or three.

20-05-2016, 05:25 PM
Timing is typical, takes Hibs and Rangers off the back pages tomorrow

Deliberately timed announcement to keep Rangers off the back pages.

20-05-2016, 05:33 PM
Rodgers will be taken in with the Celtic board spraffing about doing well in the champions league. Rodgers will soon realise that Celtic only dominate Scottish football by weakening the other teams in the league by signing their best players.Players who are not in the same class as other teams in the tournament.Until this chain is broken, Scotlands yearly European challenge will rarely go past the 2nd round of qualifiers.

20-05-2016, 05:43 PM

Made some poor signings but also bought Coutinho, Sturridge, Origi, Can.

He also had a committee approach to deal with at Liverpool, it wasn't his final decision.

People slating him for Liverpool finishing 6th, need to look where they finished the few seasons before Rodgers arrived.

ChicagoHibee
20-05-2016, 05:58 PM
Rodgers will be taken in with the Celtic board spraffing about doing well in the champions league. Rodgers will soon realise that Celtic only dominate Scottish football by weakening the other teams in the league by signing their best players.Players who are not in the same class as other teams in the tournament.Until this chain is broken, Scotlands yearly European challenge will rarely go past the 2nd round of qualifiers.

Great assessment.

I like Rodgers, but European expectations on that budget is going to be rough for him.

20-05-2016, 06:14 PM
first thing rodgers should do is get shot of that griffiths laddie :agree:

come on home sparky :flag:

JC94
20-05-2016, 06:18 PM
Made some poor signings but also bought Coutinho, Sturridge, Origi, Can.

He also had a committee approach to deal with at Liverpool, it wasn't his final decision.

People slating him for Liverpool finishing 6th, need to look where they finished the few seasons before Rodgers arrived.

Also signed Iago Aspas, Markovic, Moreno, Balotelli.

20-05-2016, 08:33 PM
Wonder if Dusty Bin will be his assistant.

20-05-2016, 08:52 PM
Promotion with Swansea, got Liverpool 2nd, asked for Alexis Sanchez to replace Suarez, got Ricky Lambert...

Totally agree. Did really well with Swansea and nearly won the EPL with Liverpool. Very good coach too.

Matty_Jack04
20-05-2016, 08:59 PM
Wonder what kind of budget they've promised him :confused:

According to my bro in law it's written in his contract for 15million

JFK-1
20-05-2016, 09:01 PM
Rodgers will be taken in with the Celtic board spraffing about doing well in the champions league. Rodgers will soon realise that Celtic only dominate Scottish football by weakening the other teams in the league by signing their best players.Players who are not in the same class as other teams in the tournament.Until this chain is broken, Scotlands yearly European challenge will rarely go past the 2nd round of qualifiers.The likes of Celtic should have been doing a lot better. They were ejected from the Champions league by Malmo who are from a nation which has no giant TV deals and who have a ground capacity of 24,000 while in the Europa league they were beaten home and away by Molde who have a ground capacity of 11,800Celtic can't compete with Malmo and Molde? Regarding transfer budgets the best I can find fro Malmo is a transfer budget of 1,400,000 Euros and Molde will be operating on less than that.Scottish teams are not competing because our game/style of play just isn't up to it. That's nothing in comparsion to what Celtic have been spending on single players.I doubt Rodgers will have anything exceptional as far as a transfer budget goes. They will expect him to introduce a more competeive style of play while bringing in players in the same fashion Mark Warburton is at Ibrox. Looking for gems in the English Championship and up and coming youngsters in even lower leagues.

20-05-2016, 09:04 PM
The likes of Celtic should have been doing a lot better. They were ejected from the Champions league by Malmo who are from a nation which has no giant TV deals and who have a ground capacity of 24,000 while in the Europa league they were beaten home and away by Molde who have a ground capacity of 11,800Celtic can't compete with Malmo and Molde? Regarding transfer budgets the best I can find fro Malmo is a transfer budget of 1,400,000 Euros and Molde will be operating on less than that.Scottish teams are not competing because our game/style of play just isn't up to it. That's nothing in comparsion to what Celtic have been spending on single players.I doubt Rodgers will have anything exceptional as far as a transfer budget goes. They will expect him to introduce a more competeive style of play while bringing in players in the same fashion Mark Warburton is at Ibrox. Looking for gems in the English Championship and up and coming youngsters in even lower leagues.

Maybe they need to find a city rival to amalgamate with ;) sorry couldn't resist. Do you think anything will come of the reconstruction in England?

20-05-2016, 09:05 PM
Well guys, apparently the Scottish Cup Final has been cancelled cause all the papers/media are talking about are the latest sacrificial lamb in the OF manager hotseat. Yawn.

20-05-2016, 09:08 PM
Maybe they need to find a city rival to amalgamate with ;) sorry couldn't resist. Do you think anything will come of the reconstruction in England?

Glasgow Rantic? Sounds about right.

JFK-1
20-05-2016, 09:17 PM
Do you think anything will come of the reconstruction in England?Probably not, if they go I think it would be more likely they would go to one of the multiple suggestions we see for some sort of Euro league which may become all the more attractive and likely now that a handful of elite teams are trying to corner the Champions league for themselves.But let's say the old firm went into the English reconstruction pot. Would you be happy to see them go? Obviously it would make Scottish football in the top league more competetive but would it improve the game? Ir would ut simply rapidly become Irish football with even less money to go round?

20-05-2016, 09:44 PM
Reckon it's a great signing for them tbh.

20-05-2016, 10:56 PM
As long as they have room in the dressing room for his ego they will be fine

20-05-2016, 11:02 PM

He was only a Gerrard slip away from delivering the Premier League title for you guys.

The Kaiser
20-05-2016, 11:19 PM
He's a good manager. Should win a few titles. Then go back to England with his stock higher.

Shocked no one else in England took him.

With regards to back pages, quiet for us is good.

20-05-2016, 11:20 PM

The mans' a ****ing vulture. He turned up for the Kings job with a dossier ( hundreds of pages long ) as to how he'd improve Liverpool over x number of years. Nothing but a vulture. He succeeded with what was largely the Kings team.

Why did the King not succeed with his team before some smart arse asks? Simples. Suarez was out for how long with bans etc. Injuries to the most influential players and I dont doubt some of those journeymen couldn't hack playing for the greatest fitba player the world has ever seen.

As for St Brendan of Rogers....YES, he come close to winning the league; largely with a fit, un-suspended and on-form team the King assembled. Mind you, we must credit Brendan. He signed Mario Balo ****in teli amongst others. Give me strength.

Anyway the good news is celtic are signed with this egotistical erse

This makes me happy :thumbsup:

ENDOF

20-05-2016, 11:58 PM
He's a good manager. Should win a few titles. Then go back to England with his stock higher.

Shocked no one else in England took him.

With regards to back pages, quiet for us is good.

Everyone in England seems to think he's an arse.

The Hun will be raging at Celtc for stealing their limelight.

21-05-2016, 12:05 AM
The mans' a ****ing vulture. He turned up for the Kings job with a dossier ( hundreds of pages long ) as to how he'd improve Liverpool over x number of years. Nothing but a vulture. He succeeded with what was largely the Kings team.

Why did the King not succeed with his team before some smart arse asks? Simples. Suarez was out for how long with bans etc. Injuries to the most influential players and I dont doubt some of those journeymen couldn't hack playing for the greatest fitba player the world has ever seen.

As for St Brendan of Rogers....YES, he come close to winning the league; largely with a fit, un-suspended and on-form team the King assembled. Mind you, we must credit Brendan. He signed Mario Balo ****in teli amongst others. Give me strength.

ENDOF

''The king'' signed Carroll, Adam, Downing and Coates for a combined 70 million. Only 3 players he signed that played in Rodgers team were Henderson, Suarez and Enrique

SpaceBob
21-05-2016, 12:06 AM

ENDOF

21-05-2016, 12:31 AM
''The king'' signed Carroll, Adam, Downing and Coates for a combined 70 million. Only 3 players he signed that played in Rodgers team were Henderson, Suarez and Enrique

Only Suarez??? Right. Thats what I didn't notice. That fringe player who went on to lesser things...

Between Suarez and Gerrard, Liverpool punched above their squad that season

As for the aspersion you level against the king, he come back to steady and reunite a ship that Hodgson and the Yanks seriously ****ed up. Theres nobody else on the planet who could have done that at that point time.

Fact. Source : my eyes and common sense

21-05-2016, 12:47 AM
Only Suarez??? Right. Thats what I didn't notice. That fringe player who went on to lesser things...

Between Suarez and Gerrard, Liverpool punched above their squad that season

As for the aspersion you level against the king, he come back to steady and reunite a ship that Hodgson and the Yanks seriously ****ed up. Theres nobody else on the planet who could have done that at that point time.

Fact. Source : my eyes and common senseSuarez was incredible but folk talk as if Liverpool would have played with 10 players had he not been on that team...

Dalglish signed a lot of ***** and was not the reason Liverpool finished 2nd.

21-05-2016, 12:56 AM
Suarez was incredible but folk talk as if Liverpool would have played with 10 players had he not been on that team...

Dalglish signed a lot of ***** and was not the reason Liverpool finished 2nd.

Having watched most games live or extended later, only a fool would dismiss the impact Luis Suarez had.

As a lifelong Liverpool fan, there a few players of the truly awesome variety. Suarez was a dick biting people and that nonsense with evra but he is a phenomenal talent. The guy is somewhat confused but his fitba skills can't be questioned

The king signed him........

21-05-2016, 06:38 AM
Brandon Rodgers is the David Brent of football management.

He's a complete roaster. Him and that club deserve each other. I wish them nothing but misery in their relationship together.