View Full Version : Big Yogi to leave Inverness

SJM
19-05-2016, 11:30 AM
http://stv.tv/sport/football/1354620-john-hughes-set-to-leave-inverness-caledonian-thistle-in-next-24-hours/

Madness. :agree::agree:

19-05-2016, 11:32 AM
http://stv.tv/sport/football/1354620-john-hughes-set-to-leave-inverness-caledonian-thistle-in-next-24-hours/

Alright, I'll start it....

Would we take him back :wink:

19-05-2016, 11:32 AM
Would anyone have Yogi back?

19-05-2016, 11:33 AM

guys done wonders for them on a shoe string, changed them from utter hoofball to decent attacking football and developed some cracking players.

Surely a decent job is out there for Yogi.

TB And MM back in at Caley?

If we have an opening, absolutely!

SJM
19-05-2016, 11:35 AM

He got Falkirk promoted so he's experienced in that manner. :agree:

19-05-2016, 11:36 AM
Second time around rarely works. No thanks.

19-05-2016, 11:36 AM
No no no no. No.

IMO anyway.

seanshow
19-05-2016, 11:37 AM
Butcher,Adams.......Yo

19-05-2016, 11:38 AM
Rather keep Stubbsy.

19-05-2016, 11:39 AM
No. He had his chance and it never worked out. Also Stubbs is going nowhere.

19-05-2016, 11:40 AM
no ta, my gobs still open wide in amazement that a professional football team could blow a 6-2 lead, i was there that night and also witnessed a goalkeeper flinging one in to his own net...and nobody will convince me otherwise, his penalty save was only for show :wink: AND if game had lasted another 5 mins it would have ended 7-6 ****

19-05-2016, 11:42 AM
Surprised folk are saying no.

He got us our highest finish in the top league in years .

19-05-2016, 11:42 AM
Not for me..............

19-05-2016, 11:43 AM

He could probably still fill the Matty Jack role for us.

Liked Yogi, with hindsight he was up against it at Hibs, and wish him well wherever he goes next.

19-05-2016, 11:44 AM

Toldo123
19-05-2016, 11:48 AM
We have had lots of managers that "have done well at other clubs" but when they come to us, they seem to have the worst results of their careers. The reasons for that have been discussed ad infinitum over the years.

I am not convinced Stubbs is the ma to get us up next year so would definitely consider it.

19-05-2016, 11:52 AM
Stubbs to stay...Yogi to look elsewhere.

OsloHibs
19-05-2016, 11:56 AM
Yogi really wanted to go to Dundee utd last time. The split started then between him & the board. I wish him well.

Jumbo
19-05-2016, 11:58 AM
He's going to Celtic, the Brenden Rogers thing is all a smokescreen ! Imagine the seethe at that 😂

19-05-2016, 12:04 PM
Little wonder when the board continually sell/don't offer improved contracts to their best players and lose them as a result. He worked wonders at ICT. Tip for the Raith job perhaps? Or have they replaced McKinnon?

19-05-2016, 12:06 PM
I'd take yogi back, the club and him are both totally different from last time around

Dr Jimmy
19-05-2016, 12:07 PM

It would be interesting to see on a chart our downward spiral since he was sacked.

19-05-2016, 12:08 PM
He's going to Celtic, the Brenden Rogers thing is all a smokescreen ! Imagine the seethe at that 😂

😂😂😂

hibee
19-05-2016, 12:11 PM

As assistant to John Collins :wink:

gaz88
19-05-2016, 12:14 PM
Say Stubbs was to go at the end of the season, who out there is better than Yogi to take over? He's more experienced than his last spell in charge and would have learnt a lot. Is there any difference from getting a manager back who has went away and improved than selling and re-signing a player who has done the same ...

19-05-2016, 12:15 PM
Yep.

19-05-2016, 12:22 PM
No thanks.

19-05-2016, 12:23 PM
Yep

19-05-2016, 12:25 PM
NO.

19-05-2016, 12:39 PM
I'd rather not, could do worse though.

19-05-2016, 12:50 PM
guys done wonders for them on a shoe string, changed them from utter hoofball to decent attacking football and developed some cracking players.

Surely a decent job is out there for Yogi.
Was he not accused of being a hoof ball merchant when managing Hibs?

19-05-2016, 12:50 PM
Travelling back and forth between Inverness and Edinburgh must be a bit of a bummer. I wonder if the Raith job has been offered to him and he thinks "Hey, it would be nice to be home for tea each night." :greengrin

19-05-2016, 12:56 PM

100% yes!

19-05-2016, 12:56 PM
Was he not accused of being a hoof ball merchant when managing Hibs?

Not really? In any case, what has that got to do with how he has ICT playing? :confused:

19-05-2016, 01:05 PM
Think we should ban ourselves from signing ICT managers.

19-05-2016, 01:17 PM
He was seemingly a good manager for us for his first 4/5 months...then we couldn't win hardly anything...for ages. We've never recovered from that really.

SJM
19-05-2016, 01:19 PM
He wasn't helped with the fact we sold our best player at the end of August (stokes) and had no replacement.

biotech
19-05-2016, 01:25 PM
Not for me, just one good season at Inverness and generally poor record at all previous clubs. Yesterdays man.

SJM
19-05-2016, 01:34 PM
Not for me, just one good season at Inverness and generally poor record at all previous clubs. Yesterdays man.

He's had two good seasons at Inverness and done an amazing job at Falkirk. They haven't been up since he left them.

gaz88
19-05-2016, 01:41 PM

Not sure how you can say he's got a poor record, got Falkirk promoted and kept them in division for 5 years along with a Scottish cup final, got us into Europe and had them playing really well in first season, average points he got with Hartlepool down in England would have had them finishing something like 8th in the league, and then ICT. I actually think he's CV is pretty decent compared to some

19-05-2016, 01:49 PM
Would take him back in a minute :agree:

19-05-2016, 02:04 PM
Mixu went away and apparently learnt how to manage properly, and after he was Kilmarnock manager there was talk on here that folk would take him back.

Hughes brought us our only real success since the Mowbray/Collins cup win, and he's gone on to win the cup we all want, and Europe to the Highlands.

Its a yes from me, although Stubbs says he has big plans for us next season, hopefully promotion is in those plans?

19-05-2016, 02:22 PM
I'm on the fence re. his return to Hibs. Interesting that both he and Butcher had success at ICT.

19-05-2016, 02:34 PM
Fitba folk ken what's goan on.......could do a lot worse, and he'd get the steel into the team to take them up...

19-05-2016, 02:54 PM
Fitba folk ken what's goan on.......could do a lot worse, and he'd get the steel into the team to take them up...I thought he'd get steel into the team last time, instead we lost every derby, got hammered at places like St Johnstone and Hamilton and he got sacked.

Mango Man
19-05-2016, 02:58 PM
He was seemingly a good manager for us for his first 4/5 months...then we couldn't win hardly anything...for ages. We've never recovered from that really.

That's exactly when this downfall started for me, it looked so promising at first as well, that was the last hibs team I enjoyed watching until the one we have now.

19-05-2016, 02:59 PM

It did work out though didn't it..... what I would give for a 4th place SPL finish and Europe now....

19-05-2016, 03:05 PM
No. Michael Hart and Edwin de Graaf anyone?

19-05-2016, 03:08 PM
Stubbs to stay...Yogi to look elsewhere.

This 100%

19-05-2016, 03:12 PM

I wouldn't want Hughes back, but I wouldn't necessarily blame him too much for those signings. Most folk were pleased with Hart, but chronic injury problems meant he was a waste, and EDG looked good, had come from a decent level - but his legs were gone and couldn't cope with the pace of the scottish game - something thats difficult to judge when bringing foreign players in.

paddy1875
19-05-2016, 03:23 PM
Anyone remember De Graafs miss against rangers at Easter road?

Yogi had us flying in the league....then they knocked down the east, put the television cameras in the west.

Never been the same since

19-05-2016, 03:52 PM
Nope wouldn't want Hughes back. At all. Liked him as a player though.

Glorious St Pat
19-05-2016, 04:43 PM

Mmm....have my doubts. Remember Stubbs saying at a St Pats meeting that he wanted to leave the fans some good memories. He's got one last opportunity on Sat. Think he'll be away next week regardless.

19-05-2016, 04:47 PM
Mmm....have my doubts. Remember Stubbs saying at a St Pats meeting that he wanted to leave the fans some good memories. He's got one last opportunity on Sat. Think he'll be away next week regardless.

6 wins against Rangers, 2 against Hearts, 2 semi final wins, knocking unbeaten Aberdeen straight out the league cup, 3-0 win over Dundee United, 4-1 win at Love street

Left me with plenty of good memories already.

19-05-2016, 04:53 PM
My therapist says I have never to see or hear the name de Graaf again. Set me back years that has!

19-05-2016, 05:01 PM
My therapist says I have never to see or hear the name de Graaf again. Set me back years that has!

It was just our luck to sign the only Dutchman who didn't have any technical ability ! [emoji3]

19-05-2016, 05:05 PM
It was just our luck to sign the only Dutchman who didn't have any technical ability ! [emoji3]
Yep, should have got jordi cruyff when we had the chance[emoji6]

19-05-2016, 05:53 PM
This was always on the cards when he questioned the ambition of the board in the media. No questions that he must have found that frustrating but when you do that you are all but writing your own P45 and he knew that fine well.

19-05-2016, 05:57 PM
Have Raith appointed anyone yet?

19-05-2016, 06:14 PM
There has to be more to this

19-05-2016, 06:36 PM
I actually wouldn't be adverse to having him back if Stubbs does leave this summer.

He has another 6 years of experience under his belt and has achieved a hell of a lot with Inverness when you consider the size of the club and the resources he had at his disposal.

19-05-2016, 06:47 PM
Think he is try to manufacture his move out of ICT without losing a nice little pay off.

19-05-2016, 06:49 PM
Absolutely

19-05-2016, 09:29 PM
It seems not too long ago that Yogi was shouting from the rooftops about his delight at working at a wonderful club in Inverness, which suggests he was happy with his lot and his working conditions, which assumably included future plans re player budget etc. Now, a few weeks later, we find he is at loggerheads with his board and semmngly spitting out the dummy. As someone said earlier, more to this fishy situation.

19-05-2016, 09:36 PM
I'd take yogi back, the club and him are both totally different from last time around

Edson Arantes
19-05-2016, 09:41 PM
Why is he called 'big' Yogi when he's wee?

19-05-2016, 09:44 PM
St Johnstone taking five off us in Perth is one of his more overlooked 90mins.
And not at a time when St Johnstone should've been close to us.
Colin Nish getting sent off for acting like a pansy (not the only time) and the Saints running riot while Yogi bawled like a madman at anyone in earshot. Apart from at his goalie who was in fact, a screeching prick.

Great character.A good three quarters of a season. Had lost it by the time he went by the next. And **** it stayed bad. Leave it there big man and haunt us with someone else.

19-05-2016, 10:10 PM
Colin Nish getting sent off for acting like a pansy (not the only time) and the Saints running riot while Yogi bawled like a madman at anyone in earshot. Apart from at his goalie who was in fact, a screeching prick.

Great character.A good three quarters of a season. Had lost it by the time he went by the next. And **** it stayed bad. Leave it there big man and haunt us with someone else.
We were riding high while Deek and Stokes were scoring. We weren't playing that great but we were winning.
Once the goals dried up we saw our true form - and it stayed

19-05-2016, 10:22 PM
We were riding high while Deek and Stokes were scoring. We weren't playing that great but we were winning.
Once the goals dried up we saw our true form - and it stayed

Don't know if you were at Perth that night but it was humiliating. And our form was manifest. And not just about not scoring. We had nowt.
We are a far better side now, irrespective of the league we are stuck in.

19-05-2016, 10:30 PM

19-05-2016, 10:36 PM

Glad that made you laugh! And we all know it :agree:

19-05-2016, 10:52 PM
Glad that made you laugh! And we all know it :agree:

:agree: Most 'suspect' performance I've ever seen :aok:

19-05-2016, 10:55 PM
6 wins against Rangers, 2 against Hearts, 2 semi final wins, knocking unbeaten Aberdeen straight out the league cup, 3-0 win over Dundee United, 4-1 win at Love street

Left me with plenty of good memories already.

Superb. :agree:

19-05-2016, 10:57 PM
Don't know if you were at Perth that night but it was humiliating. And our form was manifest. And not just about not scoring. We had nowt.
We are a far better side now, irrespective of the league we are stuck in.

:agree: one of the worst Hibs performances I've seen.

19-05-2016, 11:04 PM
:agree: one of the worst Hibs performances I've seen.

Stokes scored and we folded thereafter like a pack. I came away that night raging. Man, I never knew what was coming. Lock this thread and relegate such talk. 5 o'clock on Saturday? Cleansed! No doubt in my mind.

20-05-2016, 12:18 AM
No thanks

connerg
20-05-2016, 02:04 AM
Celtic fan, always has been. Looked at Hibs as his second team. GTF Yogi

20-05-2016, 02:06 AM
Celtic fan, always has been. Looked at Hibs as his second team. GTF Yogi:faf: this is quite hilarious, no idea if it is true but I laughed.

connerg
20-05-2016, 02:11 AM
:faf: this is quite hilarious, no idea if it is true but I laughed.
If you're in doubt why reply?

20-05-2016, 06:28 AM
Gary Locke getting the Raith job apparently. How does this guy keep getting jobs?!

wills
20-05-2016, 06:35 AM
Last time round yogi never got the backing from the board with Petrie holding the purse strings. If Stubbs decides to leave over the summer I would take him back in a minute, LD will give him a lot more backing than Petrie ever did.

20-05-2016, 06:56 AM
Last time round yogi never got the backing from the board with Petrie holding the purse strings. If Stubbs decides to leave over the summer I would take him back in a minute, LD will give him a lot more backing than Petrie ever did.

Did he not sign Liam Miller and tony stokes? De gruff wouldn't have been cheap despite being *****, same applies to Hart. Pretty good backing IMO

20-05-2016, 06:58 AM

Why do people keep posting crap like this, when the published account consistently say otherwise??? In terms of player budget, we're normally on a par with Aberdeen but behind Celtic, Newhun & Hearts. At times teams like Dundee, Livingston, etc. have splashed the cash but look what happened to them.

Tom Hart RIP
20-05-2016, 07:21 AM
Didn't Yogi have us top or 2nd in January? I always believe that losing to Ross County was the beginning of the end and there was ANOTHER terrible decision by a linesman. 2-1 up at home and Deek scored but wrongly ruled out for offside.id have no probs having him back BUT we need someone who will unite the fans so Yogi probably isn't the man this time. I'd also be happy for Stubbs to stay

20-05-2016, 09:35 AM
I wish him well but I wouldn't want him back. Keep it fresh.

AllyF
20-05-2016, 10:05 AM
Yogi won't come back while Petrie and Farmer are still in charge.

20-05-2016, 10:23 AM

In that case long may Sir Tom's lum reek.

berwickhibee
20-05-2016, 10:34 AM
Not sure how you can say he's got a poor record, got Falkirk promoted and kept them in division for 5 years along with a Scottish cup final, got us into Europe and had them playing really well in first season, average points he got with Hartlepool down in England would have had them finishing something like 8th in the league, and then ICT. I actually think he's CV is pretty decent compared to some

agree mate, solid cv. where were hibs in the top league when we sacked him???? id take him back 100%.:thumbsup:

20-05-2016, 10:46 AM
Was there not stories doing the rounds about him being a bit of a bully, mistreating some of the younger quieter players.

The Kaiser
20-05-2016, 10:50 AM
I'd take him back in an instant.

In retrospect, he was treated pretty badly by the board and the fans so he would never come back.

20-05-2016, 11:01 AM

Stubbs departure was agreed weeks ago, regardless of tomorrows outcome (as you will soon find out).

And yes, I'd take Hughes back in a minute. He knows these leagues and we gave up on him too quickly last time.

20-05-2016, 11:17 AM
Were any of the posters who are keen to see Yogi return present at Dingwall when we got turfed out the Cup in a midweek replay? Ross County were far from the side they are now, and that result was as embarrassing as I've witnessed. That night should have brought the curtain down on his Hibs managerial career, and I for one have no desire to see him back at Easter Road.

20-05-2016, 11:21 AM
Was there not stories doing the rounds about him being a bit of a bully, mistreating some of the younger quieter players.

I think he was finding it hard distinguishing between being a manager and a player, he was still getting involved in the pranks older players play on the younger ones and he also turned a blind eye to Stokes gambling and the George St brigade, he still seen himself as one of the lads.

20-05-2016, 11:21 AM

20-05-2016, 11:22 AM
Stubbs departure was agreed weeks ago, regardless of tomorrows outcome (as you will soon find out).

And yes, I'd take Hughes back in a minute. He knows these leagues and we gave up on him too quickly last time.

Source ?

20-05-2016, 11:37 AM
This "bulling" chat.

What was he actually doing?

I think sometimes now people are too sensitive and an attempt of banter or trying out bring a younger players out of there shell and feel part of the team is bullying.

In every job the younger people emoloyed are always given a bit of a tough time.

All you need to do is listen to beckham, Scholes, giggs, both neville and butt speaking about it.

They said coming through the ranks at man united the stuff that happened to them was harsh and if it happened now alot of people would consider it bullying, but it made them closer as a team and as a result felt comfortable around each other and could give it back to the older ones when it came to a game.

20-05-2016, 11:55 AM

Here we go.

Did you know he poured a pint over Petrie too.

SJM
20-05-2016, 12:12 PM
Did he not sign Liam Miller and tony stokes? De gruff wouldn't have been cheap despite being *****, same applies to Hart. Pretty good backing IMO

:agree: He then developed Stokes enough to get us £2m - him and Bamba got sold with no replacements apart from Daryl Duffy on loan.

20-05-2016, 12:15 PM
This "bulling" chat.

What was he actually doing?

I think sometimes now people are too sensitive and an attempt of banter or trying out bring a younger players out of there shell and feel part of the team is bullying.

In every job the younger people emoloyed are always given a bit of a tough time.

All you need to do is listen to beckham, Scholes, giggs, both neville and butt speaking about it.

They said coming through the ranks at man united the stuff that happened to them was harsh and if it happened now alot of people would consider it bullying, but it made them closer as a team and as a result felt comfortable around each other and could give it back to the older ones when it came to a game.

At the same time he was being accused of being too friendly with them.

One or two younger players have chosen to work with him again so can't be that bad.

Under him and Eddie May Falkirk were producing international players.

We had a pretty bad spell after the good start with Hughes but circumstances weren't great. We probably had too many nice footballers who struggled to mix it. We had injuries to key players and the East coming down seemed to impact our home form.

He did fine overall and is certainly proven now at other clubs but don't think a return would be the best idea.

wills
20-05-2016, 10:32 PM

Approached Petrie with with a list of 4/5 names he wanted to sign and left it with him. About a week later he asked Petrie about the list, Petrie hands it back to him and says your getting none of them this was from someone very close to Hughes

h18eeynick
20-05-2016, 10:46 PM
If Stubbs does leave , and i dont think he will and I would stick with him , but my first choice would be getting McLeish back. Done it all before and well connected for transfers , loans etc

20-05-2016, 11:01 PM
Well he did once nail Dirk Lehmann's shoes to the dressing room floor at Easter Road.

Forget Hughes, I would much prefer Mixu to return.

20-05-2016, 11:33 PM
Here we go.

Did you know he poured a pint over Petrie too.

A pint of red wine. Catering were rightly furious - had the carpet cleaners in the next day ;)

20-05-2016, 11:47 PM
If Stubbs goes then I'd love yogi back

Earl of Currie
21-05-2016, 05:40 AM
Would Hughes come back alongside John Collins similar to Livingston

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/17022133

21-05-2016, 06:00 AM
Would Hughes come back alongside John Collins similar to Livingston

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/17022133

Were they not a disaster at Livi?

I'm not sure any of the managers we've hired/ fired would be in a desperate rush to come back and work with Petrie again.