View Full Version : So, with head ruling heart, how are you feeling about Saturday?

17-05-2016, 11:49 AM
I would summarise my mood as hopeful but not confident. That isn't because The Rangers are a good side, rather it's Hibs, and what's more, it's the Scottish Cup final. Something will go wrong; perhaps a freak own goal; perhaps an early red card; perhaps a goal that's five yards offside will be allowed to stand. It could be anything, but I'm sure something will go against us, just as it always seems to. I was very confident for the League Cup final, so was left scunnered as a consequence. This time I'm much more philosophical about how things are likely to pan out.

On the positive side, I suppose it's true a pessimist can't be disappointed, so, if we actually win the thing, the joy will be all the greater. If any club deserves a change of luck for once it's us. The support will do all we can once again, so it's down to the players to do their part in a massive game. I'll hope for the best, but think I'm ready to face the worst.

Hand on heart, how is everyone else feeling?

SJM
17-05-2016, 11:52 AM
Can't get up for it yet, avoided all tabloids and the usual stuff I would be reading up to the final. Hopefully this changes in the next couple of days. As for the match itself I'm not optimistic but you never know.

17-05-2016, 11:54 AM
Best chance we've had for at least the last 20 years.

Still not confident though

17-05-2016, 11:54 AM
Getting to the stage now where I'm not that bothered. If we win it, brilliant, party of the century. If we lose, well, it's just another year.

Typical that our last 3 sc finals have come against either half of the old firm and Hearts

17-05-2016, 11:55 AM
it's all down to which hibs team turns up, would love to get two quick goals and shut the bigoted vermin up for the rest of the game, maybe give them a wee consolation goal 45 seconds to go :agree: we gave Ross co their first major piece of silverware, lets not give sevco theirs

Not up for this at all yet but realistically we are 2-2 in league games this season. They've not played a competitive game for three weeks and haven't had to play properly for around 6 weeks.

We have a chance.

Boys get yer passport sorted we're going to Europe....

17-05-2016, 11:57 AM
Being honest I fear an early goal against which could knock the stuffing out of the players and the fans. I would like at the least for us still to be in the game with 15/20 mins to go as the 2012/13 finals were non events in that regard. If so then I think we can do it. We are certainly due some luck.

17-05-2016, 11:58 AM
Not confident but not despairing. Like the bookies, I make them favourites. I do agree it has to be the best chance we've had in my time though.

I was explaining to my mate at weekend, it's almost like it's been that big a thing, that long a time, with so many heartbreaks - that I just can't picture myself in the sheer euphoria and emotional atmosphere of a Scottish Cup winning final whistle.

I only hope I do learn what it's like in a few days.

hfc-1875
17-05-2016, 12:05 PM
We have beat them this season, they have beat us it could go either way. Rangers are favourites and expected to win which could help us, I always feel hibs play better when we are not necessarily expected to win.

17-05-2016, 12:05 PM
Would love to be wrong but I think we're going to go out with a subdued whimper. I'd be amazed if Stubbs can get the players up for this after Friday. Meanwhile they've been sitting with their cloven hooves up and nothing else to think about. 3-0 to the New Huns. :boo hoo:

17-05-2016, 12:08 PM
We will win it 3-2 Jason in 85th minute winner :)

ArmadaleHibs
17-05-2016, 12:11 PM
With ALL that's happened in the last few years I really think this is it. Normally go into Scottish cup finals thinking oh we will lose but you never know. This time tho, and for the first time ever, were as good as if not better than the team were up against.

You just never know. It is Hibs tho so don't be surprised either way

17-05-2016, 12:11 PM
we were underdogs for the final prior to the play off games. the only thing that has changed is this is the only tournament we remain in. Rangers are still favourites and rightly so, but as others have said this is still our best chance in my lifetime to lift the cup.

the one thing we must do is press from the first whistle - dont go gung ho so that we concede early as that will crush the confidence of everybody associated with hibs in the stadium but keep our shape and press them high up the pitch hopefully stealing a couple of goals in the first half hour.

the amount of unnecessary pressure we have put on ourselves since Friday is crazy. these competitions are entirely different and in reality, all the pressure should be on Rangers not Hibs so lets play up to that but stand up and be counted on Saturday when it matters and we can win

17-05-2016, 12:12 PM
We're a wounded animal going into this game against an idle Rangers side without three of their attacking players - O'Hallaron, Forrester, King - Waghorn will not be match sharp. Their holding midfielder in Ball is suspended, an area they struggled in with Halliday before Ball.

This means so much more to us than it does to Rangers, and we now have to team who will seriously fight for it, unlike the last two SC finals. In the last game we got the better of them and the scoreline should have read better than 3-2, we are capable of playing a 3-5-2 system that limits their fullbacks, who are their most dangerous players. We may still be slight underdogs but we have a great chance.

17-05-2016, 12:14 PM
I would summarise my mood as hopeful but not confident. That isn't because The Rangers are a good side, rather it's Hibs, and what more it's the Scottish Cup final. Something will go wrong; perhaps a freak own goal; perhaps an early red card; perhaps a goal that's five yards offside will be allowed to stand. It could be anything, but I'm sure something will go against us, just as it always seems to. I was very confident for the League Cup final, so was left scunnered as a consequence. This time I'm much more philosophical about how things are likely to pan out.

On the positive side, I suppose it's true a pessimist can't be disappointed, so, if we actually win the thing, the joy will be all the greater. If any club deserves a change of luck for once it's us. The support will do all we can once again, so it's down to the players to do their part in a massive game. I'll hope for the best, but think I'm ready to face the worst.

i was welll up for it in any case but my old man is being a major downer and its bringing me down... dont know hy it makes any difference what happened to us in the ply off but it does.

17-05-2016, 12:20 PM
It's a final we can win. After last week I'm not exactly confident but we have a chance and I don't think we will have a better one of winning the bloody thing.

17-05-2016, 12:20 PM
we go again......2-1 hibs

17-05-2016, 12:23 PM
We're a wounded animal going into this game against an idle Rangers side without three of their attacking players - O'Hallaron, Forrester, King - Waghorn will not be match sharp. Their holding midfielder in Ball is suspended, an area they struggled in with Halliday before Ball.

This means so much more to us than it does to Rangers, and we now have to team who will seriously fight for it, unlike the last two SC finals. In the last game we got the better of them and the scoreline should have read better than 3-2, we are capable of playing a 3-5-2 system that limits their fullbacks, who are their most dangerous players. We may still be slight underdogs but we have a great chance.

You think so? This is their first chance of a national trophy. Or as they see it, the chance to announce that they're "back". They will be well up for it.

17-05-2016, 12:24 PM

They've been working on his fitness for weeks now, he will be ready.

17-05-2016, 12:31 PM
One of the main reasons we didn't get promoted is one of the main reasons why we have an excellent chance here. We are actually a footballing side rather than hoof merchants - and that, in my view, suits against The Rangers.

Honestly? Objectively I think we could win this 3-1.

Equally, this is Hibs. So we could lose 5-0 on penalties, after having a man sent off and with the referee joining in the celebrations - despite playing them off the park.

17-05-2016, 12:32 PM

Players only get up to their maximum level by playing competitive games, anyone who's played the game will tell you that.

17-05-2016, 12:34 PM
You think so? This is their first chance of a national trophy. Or as they see it, the chance to announce that they're "back". They will be well up for it.

Not saying that they won't be up for it, of course they will. But with our record in the competition coupled with the sheer hurt of the play-offs and the LC final, the players have something to prove.

JC94
17-05-2016, 12:34 PM

Also watched him v St Midden and he was the best player on the pitch untill they took him off after 70 minutes or so.

17-05-2016, 12:38 PM
The fact they finished the season with a few dodgy results, even though they had already won the league and not had a game for 3 weeks is going to work massively in our favour.

It's not going to be easy for them to come out of holiday mode and get fired up for a feisty Cup Final.

Where as we have just basically played 4 cup finals then a perfect break.

I just hope our players all turn up on the day and the officials get all the decisions correct then we'll win.

I think this is absolutely perfectly tee'd up for Stokes.

17-05-2016, 12:41 PM
1902 laid to rest.

4-2 Hibs in an epic!

17-05-2016, 12:46 PM
I would summarise my mood as hopeful but not confident. That isn't because The Rangers are a good side, rather it's Hibs, and what more it's the Scottish Cup final. Something will go wrong; perhaps a freak own goal; perhaps an early red card; perhaps a goal that's five yards offside will be allowed to stand. It could be anything, but I'm sure something will go against us, just as it always seems to. I was very confident for the League Cup final, so was left scunnered as a consequence. This time I'm much more philosophical about how things are likely to pan out.

I am genuinely very exited. Get real this is the SCOTTISH CUP FINAL!!!!!

Come on the Cabbage!!!

Billy McKirdy
17-05-2016, 12:49 PM
Actually think we're going to do this, not blind faith but just a wee feeling inside that's telling me 'this is our time'.
We're not favourites at all but I believe we have enough quality and desire to get this monkey off our back.
I hope I'm right.

17-05-2016, 12:51 PM
Realistically I hope Rangers defend and attack worse than we do, and we have more luck than they do.

17-05-2016, 12:53 PM
I am genuinely very exited. Get real this is the SCOTTISH CUP FINAL!!!!!

Come on the Cabbage!!!

I know, but I've always been a worrier, and we've had so many kicks in the baws; it just ALWAYS seems to happen.

17-05-2016, 12:57 PM
The officials won't make it easy for Hibs, every slight 50/50 will go there way, early bookings and late penalty inevitable.

Need to start quickly like they did v Celtic

17-05-2016, 01:00 PM
Best chance in over 30 years, but if Rangers turn up, which I expect them to, then I can't see past them. The must win game between the teams this season was at Christmas, and they were by far the better team that day and looked much more up for it than we did.
I think we'd need to play at our best, hope rangers weren't at theirs, and get a wee bit luck. Chance of all 3 of those?

I think I'm just preparing myself for a defeat rather than get carried away and be absolutely gutted if we lose.

Disclaimer - I will be 100% behind the team on Saturday, singing my heart out and roaring them on.

17-05-2016, 01:00 PM
I know, but I've always been a worrier, and we've had so many kicks in the baws; it just ALWAYS seems to happen.

Relax, enjoy the dream. If it happens it happens if it doesn't it doesn't.

This week is a new week. It's all about Saturday now.

Come on the Cabbage!!!

17-05-2016, 01:06 PM
The officials won't make it easy for Hibs, every slight 50/50 will go there way, early bookings and late penalty inevitable.

Need to start quickly like they did v Celtic

You make a crucial point: even if the team doesn't mess up, there's always the possibility we'll be cheated. That isn't paranoia, that's Scottish football. Some of the posters on here who remember the 1979 final have mentioned it!

17-05-2016, 01:07 PM
I have resigned myself to the fact that we always seem to fall at the final hurdle and generally my visits to Hampden have ended in disappointment. I have no real reason to believe this trip will end differently but surely we must do it one day.

17-05-2016, 01:11 PM
The thought of Wallace and Tavernier bombing down our flanks on that wide Hampden pitch concerns me everytime I think about it...

Can't see past a Rangers win at the minute so I'm struggling to get anywhere approaching excited.

The pessimism is strong in this one...

17-05-2016, 01:12 PM
I'm usually getting hopeful by this point but the way the season has ended I just can't even imagine a scenario where we win.

I'll have a good day leading up to it with my family and then I'll expect the worst. I'm sadly thinking that if there is a horrific way we can lose then we will find it.

I'd like nothing more than to win, it would be the best day of my life, but after our recent run it just doesn't seem like the players/manager have it in them.

17-05-2016, 01:15 PM
Best chance in my lifetime to win it.

Three finals in five years is exceptional in our club's history in the tournament, which I find quite ironic considering the great teams we have had in the past.

I've never known us to be leading in the final late on the game and my biggest nightmare is losing a lead late on or in injury time.

My head tells me we won't win it but on Saturday my heart will tell me we will.

Please let the heart rule the head.

17-05-2016, 01:15 PM
Rangers are not as good a side as Celtic were when we lost in 2013 and I think this is a better team than under Fenlon in 2013.

Not really sure what that means for Saturday but we are in with a chance thats for sure.

17-05-2016, 01:16 PM
We have a good team, we have a good record in cup games this season and we have beaten our opponents twice this season already. But if I'm being honest I am travelling more in hope than expectation ....... Bitter experience has taught me never to expect a Hibs win in a cup final and I would guess most Hibs fans will be thinking that way.

If at 5:30 on Saturday I am huddled down in the centre isle of a bus as disgruntled currant buns lob bricks and bottles at it, it will be just about the best experience of my life :greengrin

SpaceBob
17-05-2016, 01:16 PM
1-0 Hibs win, Keatings. Dull game with little chances, Glasgow media slate Hibs for the dull game, but what do we care.

17-05-2016, 01:17 PM
Best chance in over 30 years, but if Rangers turn up, which I expect them to, then I can't see past them. The must win game between the teams this season was at Christmas, and they were by far the better team that day and looked much more up for it than we did.
I think we'd need to play at our best, hope rangers weren't at theirs, and get a wee bit luck. Chance of all 3 of those?

I think I'm just preparing myself for a defeat rather than get carried away and be absolutely gutted if we lose.

Disclaimer - I will be 100% behind the team on Saturday, singing my heart out and roaring them on.

Good post but Christmas Huns had big loud home support which helped and while we didnt match them in middle did ok, we gave sloppy goals away and they got the rub. Both Teams turn up as head2head proves over season little between.

We play at best , first to ball, ref/luck aside we can win.

17-05-2016, 01:17 PM
I also hope that this is the game that hibs players in general start taking their chances, the amount we have wasted all season is staggering, please for the love of god put some balls in the back of the net!

17-05-2016, 01:21 PM
Players only get up to their maximum level by playing competitive games, anyone who's played the game will tell you that.

They played spurs in a closed doors game last week. Beat them 3-4, Waghorn, Miller and Tavernier amongst the scorers. Only big name I heard playing for spurs was delli ali

17-05-2016, 01:22 PM
Rangers played a Spurs 11 which was basically an under 21 side and won 4-3.

17-05-2016, 01:24 PM
Like the op living in hope but expecting the worst, stil pretty depressed & fed up after Frid. Just have this nightmare vision of Wallace & Travier rampaging down either wing, unfortunately botb proven goal scorers.

HibbySpurs
17-05-2016, 01:24 PM
The fact they finished the season with a few dodgy results, even though they had already won the league and not had a game for 3 weeks is going to work massively in our favour.

It's not going to be easy for them to come out of holiday mode and get fired up for a feisty Cup Final.

Where as we have just basically played 4 cup finals then a perfect break.

I just hope our players all turn up on the day and the officials get all the decisions correct then we'll win.

I think this is absolutely perfectly tee'd up for Stokes.

I think Saturday may be Stoke's "finest hour" as a footballer......

17-05-2016, 01:25 PM
Like the op living in hope but expecting the worst, stil pretty depressed & fed up after Frid. Just have this nightmare vision of Wallace & Travier rampaging down either wing, unfortunately botb proven goal scorers.

Wallace has scored an incredible amount of goals for a wing back, Travernier is free-kick specialist, try not to give away sill free-kicks within 30yds of goal as theres a good chance he will stick one in.

17-05-2016, 01:26 PM
I think Saturday may be Stoke's "finest hour" as a footballer......

If he plays.

17-05-2016, 01:28 PM
I think we're definitely in with a chance. This current Rangers team are no great shakes and they'll be without O'Hallaron, King, Forrester and Ball. They'll be left with virtually nothing on their bench should it go to extra time.

It'll come down to fine margins as always. Who takes their chances and whose defence/keeper play well.

17-05-2016, 01:29 PM
Wallace has scored an incredible amount of goals for a wing back, Travernier is free-kick specialist, try not to give away sill free-kicks within 30yds of goal as theres a good chance he will stick one in.
I am holding my nose as I say this, but Wallace is a very very good player, supprised no one has taken him down South.

17-05-2016, 01:29 PM
I think we're definitely in with a chance. This current Rangers team are no great shakes and they'll be without O'Hallaron, King, Forrester and Ball. They'll be left with virtually nothing on their bench should it go to extra time.

It'll come down to fine margins as always. Who takes their chances and whose defence/keeper play well.

Just get your money on Kenny Miller to score. Thats almost a guarantee.

Ged
17-05-2016, 01:30 PM

They played spurs in a closed doors game last week. Beat them 3-4, Waghorn, Miller and Tavernier amongst the scorers. Only big name I heard playing for spurs was delli ali

If he plays.

Surprise surprise, looks who's talking up the opposition and talking down our own.

17-05-2016, 01:30 PM
I am holding my nose as I say this, but Wallace is a very very good player, supprised no one has taken him down South.

No getting away from that, he is a decent player and should have went onto bigger things rather than staying at The Rangers purely for the money through their lower league exploits.

17-05-2016, 01:33 PM
No getting away from that, he is a decent player and should have went onto bigger things rather than staying at The Rangers purely for the money through their lower league exploits.

:agree: Wasted a good chunk of what should have been his best years to be a hero to that shower of *****. Can't just be the cash as he'd surely have got $$$$ in England.

17-05-2016, 01:34 PM
I think we will win by the odd goal and have a nerve shredding ending with the most almighty sigh of relief at the end. Nothing to fear from the huns, it is up to us and Stubbs to get it right on the day.

17-05-2016, 01:35 PM
If we can stay disciplined and keep our shape like the last game at ER, then we have a very good chance, we have to play at a high tempo and push them up the park and be all over them like a rash.

17-05-2016, 01:40 PM
Personally I think the heads will be down and we'll get trounced.

I'm working on Saturday so cant make the game and have asked my boss to give me the heaviest shift so Im not blootered drowning my sorrows by 5pm.

SpaceBob
17-05-2016, 01:40 PM
Rangers played a Spurs 11 which was basically an under 21 side and won 4-3.

these closed door games don't overly mean much other than playing against different set of players as opposed to playing against themselves. I'm certain there would be no hard tackling. Are a Spurs under 21 side going to set up similar to Hibs, doubt it.

17-05-2016, 01:42 PM
:agree: Wasted a good chunk of what should have been his best years to be a hero to that shower of *****. Can't just be the cash as he'd surely have got $$$$ in England.

Perhaps this is one of the reasons no one has taken a punt on him down south. To stay in Glasgow in the lower levels shows - to me - a lack of ambition/willingness to try hard. He knew he would get good cash and wouldn't have to work overly hard for it and still be held up as a hero.

17-05-2016, 01:43 PM
Personally I think the heads will be down and we'll get trounced.

I'm working on Saturday so cant make the game and have asked my boss to give me the heaviest shift so Im not blootered drowning my sorrows by 5pm.

It's a test of character for sure; how will the players react to adversity - will their minds still be on the play off defeat, or will they use the anger positively to make amends? We won't know until the game itself.

Mango Man
17-05-2016, 01:44 PM
I just can't envision a Hibs win, I kind of go by that whatever is the worst thing for the Hibs fans, is what what will happen, it's served me well so far :(

So either a hammering or a gutting penalty shoot out.

Bad guys USUALLY win.

SpaceBob
17-05-2016, 01:49 PM
I just can't envision a Hibs win, I kind of go by that whatever is the worst thing for the Hibs fans, is what what will happen, it's served me well so far :(

So either a hammering or a gutting penalty shoot out.

Bad guys USUALLY win.

Then lets start being the bad guys :wink:

Mango Man
17-05-2016, 01:56 PM
Then lets start being the bad guys :wink:

If we did, that's when the good guys would start winning things. :)

17-05-2016, 01:59 PM
Genuinely not looking forward to it and dont see us winning it, which is the complete opposite of how i usually feel leading up to big games.

17-05-2016, 02:01 PM
It's a test of character for sure; how will the players react to adversity - will their minds still be on the play off defeat, or will they use the anger positively to make amends? We won't know until the game itself. agreed if so stubbs must make early changes . nothing to lose game . throw dice

Edinburgher
17-05-2016, 02:09 PM
Well, I think we will win - I mean, c`mon who are we playing Barcelona? Rangers prior to the end of season were on an abysmal run and have only beaten a Spurs under21 in a friendly. Our players should be sharper and fitter and it is ONE game - we have seen the likes of Ross County pump out Celtic and we are a far bigger club than them. The players should be desperate to prove a point and Cummings is a potential match winner against a team we have beaten twice this season and who he scores frequently. I think too many people let the weejia get into their heads.

17-05-2016, 02:11 PM
3-0 Rangers.

17-05-2016, 02:17 PM
In the spirit of saying anything before these games can never jinx us as far as we have been in the past, I'll say 3-Zip to Hibernian.

17-05-2016, 02:18 PM
3-0 Rangers.

:agree:. Although I can see us losing it in the last ten.

17-05-2016, 02:18 PM
:agree:. Although I can see us losing it in the last ten.

From winning 1-0. :wink:

17-05-2016, 02:20 PM
From winning 1-0. :wink:

It wouldn't be hibs if it didn't happen that way.

17-05-2016, 02:29 PM
Sorry but even if we win it, we are STILL in the Championship next year !

17-05-2016, 02:32 PM

So what?

GreenOnions
17-05-2016, 02:33 PM
I genuinely think it could go either way. We shouldn't have anything to fear. We have won six out of our last ten league and playoff games against TRFC - including our most recent meeting. Rangers had two defeats and two draws in their last four league games and we have tended to play our best football this year against better teams who try to attack us and don't park the bus.

If you had to pick a team from the two sides for a one-off game there'd probably be at least five Hibees in it IMHO. Games between the two sides this season would support that contention I think - although clearly TRFC have been more consistent.

I believe that if we set ourselves up correctly to contain their full-backs and perform at our best we have a good chance.

Tom Hart RIP
17-05-2016, 02:38 PM
Most confident I have ever been going into a Cup Final. We have beaten them twice this season and in my opinion we have a better team.

17-05-2016, 02:42 PM

Aw f***. I hope we get pumped now.

17-05-2016, 02:44 PM
The last game at ER showed IMO the set up we should play as they always try and play through the middle round the edge of the box. We IMO we very comfortable against them in that game at 2-0 though still let them into it. They are suspect defensively as that game showed and hopefully we can exploit them as we did in that game. They were exceptional against Celtic in terms of their passing and even players I think are average Foderingham, Wilson, Keirnan played very well hopefully not on Saturday We definitely have players that can punish them that is for sure

Score first and I think we win.

SpaceBob
17-05-2016, 02:45 PM
3-0 Rangers.

then why don't you join Luke Skywalker and sit in the mud like he did after doubting Yoda and his ability to pull the X-wing out the swamp. :na na:

17-05-2016, 02:46 PM
My heart and my head are both telling me we'll gonna win :thumbsup:

SJM
17-05-2016, 02:54 PM

Couldn't give a **** to be honest if we win on Saturday. In 40 years time I'm not going to think "but ****, we lost to Falkirk the week prior". We win it's for lifetime.

17-05-2016, 02:56 PM

Yep, exactly my feelings. I'll be there cheering us on as well of course though.

17-05-2016, 02:57 PM
Couldn't give a **** to be honest if we win on Saturday. In 40 years time I'm not going to think "but ****, we lost to Falkirk the week prior". We win it's for lifetime.

As a guy on the radio said last night, we're not gonna be in the championship for 114 years (famous last words eh!! :wink: )

SJM
17-05-2016, 02:58 PM
As a guy on the radio said last night, we're not gonna be in the championship for 114 years (famous last words eh!! :wink: )

:) ken.

17-05-2016, 03:04 PM

been a hibbee for 55 years,,,,,,ma baws are numb with all the kickings over the years so another one won't hurt........
...............But this time I think its the huns baws that will be aching.............:agree::greengrin:flag:

seanoheimhin
17-05-2016, 03:04 PM
Still hurting from Friday so have managed to avoid most chat about it.

Trying to remove the pain of the last couple of months, I'm a lot more hopeful than going into either of the last two SC finals. That being said, hope is all it is.

I do expect us to put in a strong performance but come up just short, probably conceding an absolute screamer at some point.

Nothing would make me happier than being wrong, but guessing 3-2 to the Huns

GreenOnions
17-05-2016, 03:12 PM

I know what you're saying but I think both teams were pretty desperate to win the first two games as well. We were pretty unfortunate to lose an even game early in the season at Ibrox 1-0 following another dodgy refereeing decision. The first Easter Road game was also very hard fought and I thought we deserved our 2-1 win. We got a bit of luck that day with their penalty appeal being turned down but it's also got to be said that the one goal they did get was a total fluke of a deflection from a shot going well wide.

I honestly don't think there's anything between the teams. I'm thinking a narrow win for the Hibees.

Hedlund12
17-05-2016, 03:21 PM
I've said since our wee run of defeats in the league that I think/hope/believe we have only enough in the tank to do the league OR the cup.
My heart is telling me the cup is ours this year.
- This is the year for history being made (down south and up here!)
- Our luck has to change at some point.
- If we play to our strengths (for 90+ minutes) We can do it. Our cup run hasn't been any easy ride and we have proved we can beat good opposition.

I was at Liam Fontaines table at the player of the year awards. I asked Liam if the squad will get time off at the end of the season? Liam's response was "I want to win the Scottish Cup for Hibs. If we win we won't get time of - we will be in Europe. I don't want time off... I want to win this cup and qualify for Europe with Hibs."

I was loving that response. I hope the squad share Liam's desire.

If we don't do it... I'll be gutted but I've been there before with Hibs and no doubt (like everyone else) I'll be there again. I'll still be there (in the ****y Championship) next season. .. supporting my team. GGTTH.

17-05-2016, 03:28 PM
been a hibbee for 55 years,,,,,,ma baws are numb with all the kickings over the years so another one won't hurt........
...............But this time I think its the huns baws that will be aching.............:agree::greengrin:flag:

Hope so, we have nothing to lose. Underdogs stayin champ another year. Pressure on huns as fans already celebrating

Mcginn75
17-05-2016, 03:37 PM
I genuinely think we'll do it. Lets face it, sevco have been on their summer holidays since winning the league, so they'll be lacking match sharpness, fitness and our boys have a major point to prove.

bring it on!

17-05-2016, 03:39 PM
2-0 Hibs. 2 early goals. We will then get battered by them. Logan will save the customary pen on the 80th minute following a dive by Miller

17-05-2016, 03:44 PM
Praying for a hibs victory but just can't see rangers losing it, unfortunately

17-05-2016, 03:55 PM

Mr doom

17-05-2016, 03:57 PM
Praying for a hibs victory but just can't see rangers losing it, unfortunately

I've seen us beat them at Hampden twice when they were far better than us,out of all the top teams they are the team I'd rather face,we're going to do it

17-05-2016, 03:58 PM
I just can't see any possibility of keeping a clean sheet, so we're going to have to score two or three to win it. Cummings or Stokes, or both, are going to have to play blinders but will they get any decent service? Not sure we can rely on Rangers being as generous as they were at Easter Road last time... I'd say scoring first is vital to our chances.

17-05-2016, 04:26 PM
I've now had one too many Hampden nightmares over the years which culminated in that absolutely dreadful second half performance against Ross County a few short weeks ago.

As for Saturday, then for once my head is going to go rule my heart. It's golf in the morning then back home to watch the game on the box.

Curtains will be drawn, door locked, mobile phone and landline both switched off and I'll be at peace to vent my spleen at whatever.

Niffy
17-05-2016, 04:33 PM
I'll happily be proven wrong , but this years final against Rangers could be won by any other team in the country, but not us.

I think The Rangers are there for the taking but Hibs will bow out with a late consolation goal with 3 or 4 for them.

I stand to win just under a grand if they win it, but would rather it was us.
This season has been the worst in many years in ways, been so close to glory in all competitions until the 89th minute collapse.
It's like we've been teased by the football gods.

17-05-2016, 04:36 PM
Head over heart, if there are 10 scenarios to the way the match could go, 8 will result in a Hun win, 1 in a draw (and Hun win) and 1 in a Hibs historic victory.

For Hibs to win, we'll need huge quantities of GOOD LUCK for a change - rather than the usual horror luck Hibs teams tend to get at Hampden. We need The Rangers to have one of their most unlucky days when they could play forever and never score.

If Kenny Miller is clean through we need him to hit the OUTSIDE of the post rather than inside.

If the game is not going their way and the ref gives the Huns their inevitable penalty, we need them to MISS it.

When they get their last minute dodgy penalty, we need The Rangers to MISS it.

If there's a stramash, we need the ref to send one or two of their players OFF, without trying to "even it up" by sending a Hibs player off for nothing.

We need their best player (s) to be injured early doors, rather than our's.

We need to avoid losing the usual deflected goal that settles the opposition down, and we need to get a couple of deflected goals ourselves.

And if Cummings and Stokes can catch fire and play their best ever games in a Hibs strip... then who knows !

High time we had a different scenario.

17-05-2016, 04:48 PM
I'm looking forward to my nice lunch and a few beers :greengrin

The game will take care of itself.

If we lose I will be disappointed but we've all been there before.
I can't even imagine what it would be like if we won.

hibshibshibs84
17-05-2016, 05:04 PM
we won't win but it will hardly hurt.

we already lost the big one last Friday.

17-05-2016, 05:15 PM
It depends if we can make the most of a full weeks training and recovery. Training drills and any sort of tactical work on the training pitches would have been limited during the fixture pile up. It was, imo, the deciding factor in our league placing and late loss to Falkirk.

If the full weeks rest isn't too little too late, its worth noting that rangers haven't kicked a ball in 3 weeks and they finished with 2 losses and 2 draws.

We came back from the disappointment of the league cup final to beat Inverness. This team have character. Can we get the legs back in time?

I hope so. The players and staff deserve something this season, never mind the fans.

17-05-2016, 05:15 PM

Not for me. This is the Big One. Followed Hibs everywhere no matter where they've played over the years.

This is the Big One for me.

Come on the Cabbage, don't care how it's won on Saturday, just do it!!!

17-05-2016, 05:16 PM
On the face of it it's 50/50.As we've not won it for eons it's 40/60 against. As almost all if us are in a negative mindframe about it it's 30/70 and because we're Hibs its 25/75 As the SFA pick the ref its 15/85.Linesmen 5/95.Still a chance is a chance.

Stoney Hibee
17-05-2016, 05:23 PM
Bizarrely given the last week, this is by a long way the most confident I have been going into a cup final, I know we can win this!!! Coming from me who is usually extremely pessimistic about everything is remarkable!!!

17-05-2016, 05:27 PM
Absolutley best chance we have had to win since I have been going, for me the only team that can lose it is ourselves, chances need taken.

heidtheba
17-05-2016, 05:28 PM
The logical side of me says that we can beat them and we have beaten them. I agree with an earlier poster, they have to play football which will suit us. They'll also be expected to attack which means they won't be plying their box with bodies like we've had to endure against most of the Championship teams.

My heart says we deserve it. i want to see the media shut up, I want this constant laughing at us from some sources to stop, I want the fans who attend every week to get the feeling of 'hey we haven't been kicked in the nads for once' and the euphoria they deserve.

My head says the wrong Hibs team will turn up. We'll either lose 2-0 or we will lose in some god awful sucker punch that has everyone questioning their belief, not giving up, but questioning. I don't want Hibs.net to be locked down on Saturday night. I said that before Friday.

It's about time this team got something positive from their season. About time the proper fans got something for all the years of being messed around royally.

Maybe the players will be shell shocked, demoralised and nervous. Or maybe they'll be p&**ed off after a play off travesty and a league cup final kick...maybe, just maybe these are both part of a bigger picture...

17-05-2016, 05:30 PM
In all the Scottish Cup finals we have been since 79 I feel this is our best chance, I'm going for a nervy close win 😊

17-05-2016, 05:36 PM

If we win on Saturday I for one wont give a rats arse that we didn't get promotion :smokin

17-05-2016, 05:39 PM
If we win on Saturday I for one wont give a rats arse that we didn't get promotion :smokin

Me too.If youd said at the start of the season we'll win the Scottish cup but not go up i would have taken it without hesitation.

17-05-2016, 05:43 PM
On the face of it it's 50/50.As we've not won it for eons it's 40/60 against. As almost all if us are in a negative mindframe about it it's 30/70 and because we're Hibs its 25/75 As the SFA pick the ref its 15/85.Linesmen 5/95.Still a chance is a chance.

Well I'm taking my lucky scarf so it's 5.5/94.5

In fact, I can't wear my lucky hat (wrong colour) so it's 5/95 again.

Sorry, I can't help :-(

17-05-2016, 05:45 PM
This will be my 8th Scottish Cup Final ( 3 in 1979), and I think this is our best chance. I wasn't at the Clyde final in 1958 but we were favourites then. All the other finals we were underdogs even if we should have won it 1979.
The way the club is at the moment it might be a while before we get another chance so this might be it for me.
We just need the breaks to go in our favour for a change. The law of averages says its overdue.

17-05-2016, 05:46 PM
I love the positivity from some of you (probably still young) but we are gonna get pumped.

Nothing can feel worse than 2012 so not really fussed about another defeat (They do get easier as you get older).

Just hoping to see a sea of green in one half of Hampdump. That's enough for me -we might never have the team but we will always have the support.:agree:

GGTTH.

17-05-2016, 05:57 PM
I love the positivity from some of you (probably still young) but we are gonna get pumped.

Nothing can feel worse than 2012 so not really fussed about another defeat (They do get easier as you get older).

Just hoping to see a sea of green in one half of Hampdump. That's enough for me -we might never have the team but we will always have the support.:agree:

GGTTH.

Cheers! I don't want to be like my Old Man who sadly won't be there on Saturday who never saw his beloved Hibs win the Cup. I would love to see the Hi bees lift the Cup before I won't be able to either.

rotherhamrob
17-05-2016, 05:59 PM
Whatever happens I don't want to be level going into the last minute like Ross county or Falkirk, that is just too sickening.

17-05-2016, 06:02 PM
I wasn't looking forward to Saturday AT ALL but then I saw this and the hope began to appear again :boo hoo: :worried: :not worth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Kh7CC9Fv6w

17-05-2016, 06:08 PM
I wasn't looking forward to Saturday AT ALL but then I saw this and the hope began to appear again :boo hoo: :worried: :not worth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Kh7CC9Fv6w

awesome........actually had a tear in my eye! Roll on saturday!!:flag:

17-05-2016, 06:44 PM
We will have a greater chance of winning if we get 100% behind the team....for 90 mins or more regardless of the score. Last Friday is historty....Saturday could well be history as well if we all get right up for it.....lets do it folks.

17-05-2016, 07:16 PM
Sorry if it disappoints anybody but I'm not in the least bit confident about Saturday.

I foresee the Football Authorities and Media all creaming themselves over headlines like 'Rangers mark return to Big Time with Glorious Cup Win', while the Hibs Support goes home feeling miserable, as per usual.

I've seen it all before.

----------------------

Over to Mr Stubbs, et al. Prove me wrong, just this once.... PLEASE!!

17-05-2016, 07:18 PM
I've seen us beat them at Hampden twice when they were far better than us,out of all the top teams they are the team I'd rather face,we're going to do it

Good point :aok:

17-05-2016, 07:21 PM
Sorry if it disappoints anybody but I'm not in the least bit confident about Saturday.

I foresee the Football Authorities and Media all creaming themselves over headlines like 'Rangers mark return to Big Time with Glorious Cup Win', while the Hibs Support goes home feeling miserable, as per usual.

I've seen it all before.

----------------------

Over to Mr Stubbs, et al. Prove me wrong, just this once.... PLEASE!!

Deep down anyone who's followed Hibs for any length of time will feel the exact same. That's why a Hibs win is so compelling. No other team in Scotland - or perhaps even in British football - could come close to experiencing the high that would come from a Hibs win. Not legally anyway :greengrin

17-05-2016, 07:29 PM
This will be my 8th Scottish Cup Final ( 3 in 1979), and I think this is our best chance. I wasn't at the Clyde final in 1958 but we were favourites then. All the other finals we were underdogs even if we should have won it 1979.
The way the club is at the moment it might be a while before we get another chance so this might be it for me.
We just need the breaks to go in our favour for a change. The law of averages says its overdue.

This will be my 7th and is definately our best chance. We are due a bit of luck Hearts won on Pens against Gretna FFS against Rangers they got a pen outside the box and McCoist was denied a stonewaller in the same game, the law of averages is with us. If as they say it all balances itself out expect Rangers to end the game with 7 men Jason and Stokes to score a hat trick of pens each and Hibs to win 12 nil. :greengrin

17-05-2016, 07:29 PM
I've been optimistic before games, and we've lost.
I've been optimistic before games, and we've won.
I've been pessimistic before games, and we've lost.
I've been pessimistic before games, and we've won.

Right now I have to remind myself that our season didn't finish on Friday evening and we still have a game left to play. One which could be just another disappointment or which could be one of our club's greatest moments. And right before kick off when the TV goes on, I'll be ready to live and die a hundred times in the next ninety minutes, just as I have every time I see Hibs.

Cheshire Hibby
17-05-2016, 07:34 PM
My heart says Hibs, my head says Rangers. Irrespective, I'm going to be fully behind the Hibees, singing and cheering, giving the best support I can. A case of singing your heart out for the boys in green. :gwa::flag::flag:

17-05-2016, 07:40 PM
Anything can happen.

17-05-2016, 07:43 PM
Won pretty comfortably last time at ER, formation worked and the players did well.

Depends if Fridays demons have gone really.

17-05-2016, 08:12 PM

GGTTH.

This 100%.
And like Logiegreener, my old man never saw Hibs win Scottish Cup either. I'd love to see them win it for him - and myself of course.:greengrin

17-05-2016, 08:57 PM
Can't see past a comfortable rangers win but live in hope. Would love to do them manky *****s

17-05-2016, 08:59 PM
I am going completely in hope rather than expectation.

17-05-2016, 09:02 PM
Up for it now but thinking we'll fall just short.

We have a real, live chance though. Our best in my lifetime imo so you never know.

17-05-2016, 09:16 PM
I really think we'll win it but I'm frantically trying to tell myself to stop being so stupid so I don't get that let down feeling again

I think the quieter, lower profile build up will help us.

I think what happened last week will count as extra motivation

I think the intensity we've been playing at will have helped the team stay focused.

I think the gap since Rangers last played will count against them.

I think it'll be Stubbs last game and the players will know that so I think they'll be keen to send him off on a high.

I think we've been to so many finals recently that we're just due to get that rub of the green.

I've also just got the feeling in the pit of my stomach it's different this year, not felt this way about any other finals in recent years.

17-05-2016, 09:19 PM
Rangers are going to throw everything and the kitchen sink at us in the first 10 minutes, if we get through them at 0-0 we've got a chance. Lose an early goal and I think it will be all over by 30 mins.

17-05-2016, 09:23 PM
FFS Bingo. I never thought for a second that we could win this damn cup but reading your post has made me realise that we will.

Expectations have risen tenfold so if we get beat now I'll be gutted.

'cause of you.

17-05-2016, 09:27 PM
FFS Bingo. I never thought for a second that we could win this damn cup but reading your post has made me realise that we will.

Expectations have risen tenfold so if we get beat now I'll be gutted.

'cause of you.

Unfortunately Willie hills will testify that when it comes to predicting football results I'm best ignored.

Sounds good in my head though.

Without hope what's the point.......

17-05-2016, 09:46 PM
I will be surprised if Stubbs can get the players mentally prepared after what happened last Friday.

I personally think Sevco will win by a couple of goals.

Never before have I wanted to be so wrong about something.

17-05-2016, 09:47 PM
Not getting my hopes up..... ...just have the same horrible feeling i always have before our must win big games. ....

17-05-2016, 11:02 PM
We Hibbies can never be confident about cup finals. It's in our DNA to be pessimistic and to expect the worst, as that is usually what happens.
So, for the first time in my life I'm not going to think of the worst scenario. I'm going to turn things around and convince myself that we are actually going to win the elusive damn thing.
So, by hook or by crook, or by the skin of our lucky teeth, we are going to head back to Leith as Scottish Cup Winners!!!:flag::flag::flag:

HibsMax
17-05-2016, 11:09 PM
My head and heart are in alliance on this one. My heart wants a Hibs win and my brain tells me there's no reason why we can't win.

I'm the eternal optimist but I'm not looking at this through green tinted glasses. We've done very well to get to the final. We are very capable of finishing this.

Leith Mo
17-05-2016, 11:10 PM
The anniversary of my Dad's death tonight (RIP). For him and so many others gone before and after him & for those of us who have waited as well my whole being (head & heart) says we'll do it - PLEASE!

17-05-2016, 11:15 PM
Its in the bag. I do not know exactly how it is going to happen but feel sure it will be a nerve shattering experience but we will be victorious and rise from the ashes into a new world of great fortune and achievement. There is just something different about this year.

17-05-2016, 11:17 PM
Head over heart I think we'll lose 3-0. Sorry

Leith Mo
17-05-2016, 11:18 PM
Its in the bag. I do not know exactly how it is going to happen but feel sure it will be a nerve shattering experience but we will be victorious and rise from the ashes into a new world of great fortune and achievement. There is just something different about this year.

The Harp is finally (in a limited form) back on the Stand. Means extra time winner for Stokes!

17-05-2016, 11:44 PM
I worry that our recent losses will still hang deep in or players psyche

I've got no doubt Warburton will get his players to reinforce it by getting them to shake our hands when the teams are mingling pre match at Hampden telling the how sorry they were that Falkirk beat us

An early goal for the Huns could see us get a severe doing but the longer we are in the game, hopefully our brittle confided will grow

I think we need to score a minimum of two goals to win, and then no doubt give us 20 final nervous moments as we fail to clear our lines and the get backin the game

I'll be taking a extra dose of blood pressure medication in the hope of a 2- 1 victory

Sunshine Scott
18-05-2016, 01:21 AM
My head says - a comfortable win for The Rangers, think the break would've done them the world of good.

Bay Area Hibees
18-05-2016, 04:57 AM
Low expectations. Feel we need lots to go our way and them to get bad luck, man sent off rtc. Not sure we could hold one goal lead...

18-05-2016, 05:00 AM
If the game goes the way of the stubbs era then we will lose 0-1, 1-2 or 0-2.

However if we take our chances, score first and defend right we have a chance.

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 05:27 AM
Well i'm a Rangers fan but I feel i'm being as neutral as I possibly can be. If I had to bet my life on it I would say Rangers are comfortable favourites and if you want to win it you're going to have to score more than once because I can virtually guarantee you that Rangers will score at least once and probably at least twice.

Yorkshire HFC
18-05-2016, 05:35 AM
Rangers will be favourites, but it's sport - anything can happen. There is always a chance.............

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 05:47 AM
Rangers will be favourites, but it's sport - anything can happen. There is always a chance.............

Agreed, there would be no point in anyone turning up if it were clear cut. Obviously I want Rangers to win but if it didn't work out that way then I suppose you guys get the sweetness of an unexpected victory.

18-05-2016, 06:01 AM
Agreed, there would be no point in anyone turning up if it were clear cut. Obviously I want Rangers to win but if it didn't work out that way then I suppose you guys get the sweetness of an unexpected victory.

An unexpected victory? I think your making it out to be a bit more one sided than it really is?

Oh are you basing it on drawing with Celtic and then winning a lottery?

jakedance
18-05-2016, 06:06 AM
We've beaten Rangers, Hearts and Aberdeen this season. We'll need a bit of luck but it can be done. I feel more confident than the last three Scottish Cup Finals I've been to.

We have weaknesses but I expect the team to turn up and give it a good go. For all our faults we've got a team that can go out and be competitive.

buktapurple79
18-05-2016, 06:08 AM
Not up for this at all yet but realistically we are 2-2 in league games this season. They've not played a competitive game for three weeks and haven't had to play properly for around 6 weeks.

We have a chance.

Those are hard facts - I'm feeling well up for it and if we get right behind the team from the start we can tear into them in a way that will see us through.

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 06:11 AM
An unexpected victory? I think your making it out to be a bit more one sided than it really is?

I'm like the fans of any team, I always expect my team to win and tend to look at the positives I can draw from it. Overall I think Rangers have the better team though obviously that doesn't always win the day because who would have said Celtic didn't overall have the better team before the semi.

I think you may have problems containing Waghorn who is going to be like a raging bull who has been tied to a post for months then let loose. He will be going at it hammer and tongs because aside from the occasion itself he has missed out on so much and this is his last chance to get a tase of any of the glory his team mates experienced this season after all he contributed.

He missed the petro cup win, he missed clinching the league and he missed beating Celtic. I fancy him to be a real thorn in your sides and to get one.

buktapurple79
18-05-2016, 06:12 AM

Well said - it's that arrogance that will backfire on them big style. They will not be as good as that first half against a dire Celtic performance. Actually cannae wait!

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 06:14 AM
Well said - it's that arrogance that will backfire on them big style. They will not be as good as that first half against a dire Celtic performance. Actually cannae wait!

The comment about unexpected wasn't actually any arrogance on my part. I was deriving it from many comments I have seen on this fourm.

buktapurple79
18-05-2016, 06:15 AM
Waghorn?! Tony Stokes has a LOT to prove against Sevco. Did you see Keatings goals? And then there's Cummings - he loves a goal against youse!

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 06:19 AM
Waghorn?! Tony Stokes has a LOT to prove against Sevco. Did you see Keatings goals? And then there's Cummings - he loves a goal against youse!

Well perhaps we're looking at a high scoring game. Only time will tell. Starts at 9am where I am so it's going to be an early rise on a Saturday to see it.

18-05-2016, 06:27 AM
I worry that our recent losses will still hang deep in or players psyche

I've got no doubt Warburton will get his players to reinforce it by getting them to shake our hands when the teams are mingling pre match at Hampden telling the how sorry they were that Falkirk beat us

That could very well work the other way. We're young but we've been here a few times now so I think we'll be a bit more prepared and less nervous than some people are giving us credit for.

18-05-2016, 06:29 AM

Waghorn could eat them all for breakfast.

Not outplay them, literally eat them.

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 06:33 AM
Waghorn could eat them all for breakfast.

Not outplay them, literally eat them.

I think Logan could eat Waghorn and no one would notice anything different about him. :wink:

18-05-2016, 07:20 AM
I think Logan could eat Waghorn and no one would notice anything different about him. :wink:

Now that is an interesting way to resolve a football match. Instead of penalties perhaps? :greengrin

18-05-2016, 07:29 AM

Actually think Logans lost a bit weight since the semi.

GreenOnions
18-05-2016, 08:04 AM
Well i'm a Rangers fan but I feel i'm being as neutral as I possibly can be. If I had to bet my life on it I would say Rangers are comfortable favourites and if you want to win it you're going to have to score more than once because I can virtually guarantee you that Rangers will score at least once and probably at least twice.

I agree with you that it seems likely your team will score. All the evidence would also point to a high probability that Hibs will too. It's 8 goals to 7 in the four league games this season - hardly implies one team's over-riding superiority in that area I'd suggest.

Anyone who makes Rangers "comfortable" favourites is ignoring some key facts. There really is little to imply that a one-off game between the sides could be anything other than 50:50 IMHO - Hopefully 51:49 to Hibs :-)

hfc-1875
18-05-2016, 08:27 AM
Don't understand people saying Stubbs will find it hard to get the players up for this, if you can't get yourself up for a final then you shouldn't be playing simple as that. Friday was disappointing but the players have a chance to put it right and become heroes. Surely that is enough motivation.

TrinityHibs
18-05-2016, 08:52 AM
I'm like the fans of any team, I always expect my team to win and tend to look at the positives I can draw from it. Overall I think Rangers have the better team though obviously that doesn't always win the day because who would have said Celtic didn't overall have the better team before the semi.

I think you may have problems containing Waghorn who is going to be like a raging bull who has been tied to a post for months then let loose. He will be going at it hammer and tongs because aside from the occasion itself he has missed out on so much and this is his last chance to get a tase of any of the glory his team mates experienced this season after all he contributed.

He missed the petro cup win, he missed clinching the league and he missed beating Celtic. I fancy him to be a real thorn in your sides and to get one.

JFK I'm not sure that it is as black and white as you suggest. I would agree your full backs are better....going forward and Waghorn takes a good penalty which could be helpful and McKay is a decent player. I would however take Hanlon and McGregor over your centre backs. I would also take McGinn, McGeoch and Henderson over any of your available midfield. Both teams goalkeepers can make mistakes. This leaves the second striking position to consider and on balance I would take Cummngs before Miller or Clark. Its about opinion clearly but I don't think there is much between the teams. How they are set up, who wants it more and who gets a bit of luck will determine the outcome. I accept we are not favourites. I also accept to date we have not taken our chances and conceded too easily however Saturday is a one off game and I think we have a decent chance of getting a result. The Falkirk games were a big knock but I am now coming back to my belief, which I have had for some time, that we will win on Saturday.

18-05-2016, 08:53 AM
Don't understand people saying Stubbs will find it hard to get the players up for this, if you can't get yourself up for a final then you shouldn't be playing simple as that. Friday was disappointing but the players have a chance to put it right and become heroes. Surely that is enough motivation.

And to be fair to the players they have tended to bounce back well after disappointment. Beating ICT in the replay a few days after losing the League cup final being a case in point.

18-05-2016, 09:13 AM
Against RC I was super confident. More so than I'd been before any Derby or old firm game or any other final and was absolutely gutted when we lost. So I'm going in to the game with no expectation. It's easier that way.

18-05-2016, 09:20 AM
Genuinley worried about Waghorn, if he wasnt in the team I would be a lot more confident as they have a few more cup tied / suspended. There best player by a mile and we always struggle to deal with his pace

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 09:27 AM
I agree with you that it seems likely your team will score. All the evidence would also point to a high probability that Hibs will too. It's 8 goals to 7 in the four league games this season - hardly implies one team's over-riding superiority in that area I'd suggest.

Anyone who makes Rangers "comfortable" favourites is ignoring some key facts. There really is little to imply that a one-off game between the sides could be anything other than 50:50 IMHO - Hopefully 51:49 to Hibs :-)

Yes any game could always go either way. When saying comfortable favourites i'm referring to the pundits and the bookies. Who incidentally will give you a comfortably better price than 50/50 on Hibs. :wink:

I think part of it is that when push comes to shove this Rangers team seems to turn it on when it matters while Hibs have the opposite reputation.

GreenOnions
18-05-2016, 09:28 AM
Genuinley worried about Waghorn, if he wasnt in the team I would be a lot more confident as they have a few more cup tied / suspended. There best player by a mile and we always struggle to deal with his pace

I think TRFC will be worried about Cummings and Stokes if they are honest. They should be IMHO

GreenOnions
18-05-2016, 09:33 AM
Yes any game could always go either way. When saying comfortable favourites i'm referring to the pundits and the bookies. Who incidentally will give you a comfortably better price than 50/50 on Hibs. :wink:

I think part of it is that when push comes to shove this Rangers team seems to turn it on when it matters while Hibs have the opposite reputation.

It's comforting for me that you decide to acknowledge only facts that support your idea. The full story would also include that Hibs have been able to "turn it on" as you say against most teams who attack us - Aberdeen, St Johnstone, Hearts, ICT and Dundee United as well as having a 50:50 record in league games against your team.

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 09:42 AM
It's comforting for me that you decide to acknowledge only facts that support your idea. The full story would also include that Hibs have been able to "turn it on" as you say against most teams who attack us - Aberdeen, St Johnstone, Hearts, ICT and Dundee United as well as having a 50:50 record in league games against your team.

I agree Hibs have been a good team this season. Look at the thread I started on this forum for evidence of that where I actually pointed out that Hibs had beaten two of the top 3 in the SPL so I don't think i'm failing to acknowledge anything.

The view I'm presenting isn't even my view as such it's the concensus view among the various professional football pundits. Rangers will more than likely score and you have to concede they have done a lot better in that department than Hibs have this seaon with 29 goals more scored in the league. They scored 33 times in the first 10 league matches alone for an average to that point of 3.3 per game.

Their weakness has been defending partly down to the fact that they can be caught out due to the full backs charging forward in attack. They're lacking a strong defensive midfielder which is the spot Crooks is being brought in to fill. That wont have any bearing on Saturday of course because he is for next season but yes Hibs could score because that's Rangers weak point.

18-05-2016, 09:52 AM
Hopeful but not confident. I think it'll be close.

18-05-2016, 10:03 AM
Hope I'm wrong, REALLY HOPE so but this is my take on what will happen Sat :-

Rangers will take the inititive right from kick off, play at a blistering pace which we will struggle to deal with, Rangers to score within first 10min, then another by 20min in, we will start to come into the game at this point, play pretty football, maybe, even, with a bit luck score and H/T will be 2-1 or 2-0 Rangers. Second half, rangers catch us cold, before we get started and score the crucial 3rd goal which ends the game as a contest. We huff & puff for remainder of game but they orks score again making final result 4-1. God I hope I am wrong, REALLY DO, but have had so many slaps in the face from Hibs during last 58years of supporting them , unfortunately this is how I can see the game panning out.

Oh and by the way - STUBBS MUST STAY. Give him time folks, will prove to be a great manager.

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 10:11 AM
Hope I'm wrong, REALLY HOPE so but this is my take on what will happen Sat :-

Rangers will take the inititive right from kick off, play at a blistering pace which we will struggle to deal with, Rangers to score within first 10min, then another by 20min in, we will start to come into the game at this point, play pretty football, maybe, even, with a bit luck score and H/T will be 2-1 or 2-0 Rangers. Second half, rangers catch us cold, before we get started and score the crucial 3rd goal which ends the game as a contest. We huff & puff for remainder of game but they orks score again making final result 4-1. God I hope I am wrong, REALLY DO, but have had so many slaps in the face from Hibs during last 58years of supporting them , unfortunately this is how I can see the game panning out.

Oh and by the way - STUBBS MUST STAY. Give him time folks, will prove to be a great manager.

I feel it will be closer than that but I also feel you're being more realistic than some. Granted in the semi Rangers rode their luck and Celtic had some great chances that didn't come off but Rangers still scored two well deserved goals with their top striker missing against the best team in the country and could have had at least one more with a bit of luck up front.

This indicates they are likely to score against anybody and probably more than once but on the other hand they are well capable of shipping a number as well. The defence has been the sticky point all season and everybody knows it. Personally i'm cringing every time a high ball comes into the box because both the goalkeeper and the defence struggle agianst that kind of standard ball.

And yes Stubbs needs to stay if you want to get out of that league. He has built a good team playing good football and losing him is starting over again.

18-05-2016, 10:17 AM
As long as Stubbs play a similar 3-5-3 shape he did at the end of the season we will have a very good chance, we have to negate Rangers pace on the flanks and the players that day held their shape very well and hit Rangers on the break. We have to play at a high tempo pressing high up the pitch, I don't think I saw Ranger pass back to their keeper so much in that game, they didn't know what to do. O'Halloran was in wee Lewis's back pocket that much he swapped wings in the 2nd half and was eventually taken off as he got no joy on out right flank either.

Keeping our shape and discipline is key to any success we get, lose that and we'll lose the game.

18-05-2016, 10:19 AM
As long as Stubbs play a similar 3-5-3 shape he did at the end of the season we will have a very good chance, we have to negate Rangers pace on the flanks and the players that day held their shape very well and hit Rangers on the break. We have to play at a high tempo pressing high up the pitch, I don't think I saw Ranger pass back to their keeper so much in that game, they didn't know what to do. O'Halloran was in wee Lewis's back pocket that much he swapped wings in the 2nd half and was eventually taken off as he got no joy on out right flank either.

Keeping our shape and discipline is key to any success we get, lose that and we'll lose the game.

Well the ref will be on their side so we may as well field 12 :wink:

I think McKay will be their main danger. O'Halloran is cup tied and Ball and Forrester are out too.

18-05-2016, 10:23 AM

No way will the ref allow that. :greengrin

Pretty sure we will play 352 as it worked that game however we were gifted a couple of goals at the start though would make total sense if we do so again. With McGeouch pretty certain to be out think any thought of 442 has gone. Would likely mean someone like Liam Hernderson becomes a sub which would be a huge shame for the guy though think AS would prefer Fyvie and Bartley in that set up adn rightly so as defending well will be key. Would bring Gunnarsson in also as he has more pace than Fonts which will be important in this game also.

18-05-2016, 10:27 AM
Well the ref will be on their side so we may as well field 12 :wink:

I think McKay will be their main danger. O'Halloran is cup tied and Ball and Forrester are out too.

King also cup tied. Waghorn will start with Miller and McKay you would assume. McKay has had a great season to be fair. Will be interesting to see how they react to not playing for a few weeks. Not always possible to turn on and off form and match sharpness. Their form after winning the league was very poor and hopefully Waghorn not quite at it after his break though we will need to play exceptionally well with no basic mistakes please. First goal is huge especially for us IMO.

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 10:32 AM
King also cup tied. Waghorn will start with Miller and McKay you would assume. McKay has had a great season to be fair. Will be interesting to see how they react to not playing for a few weeks. Not always possible to turn on and off form and match sharpness. Their form after winning the league was very poor and hopefully Waghorn not quite at it after his break though we will need to play exceptionally well with no basic mistakes please. First goal is huge especially for us IMO.

There are arguably good points in not having played for a few weeks. Everyone will be fresh and totally clear of any little niggling knocks and they did play against a Spurs select behind closed doors in London last week when Waghorn played for 80 minutes and apparently scored a good goal in a 4-3 win.

18-05-2016, 10:35 AM
There are arguably good points in not having played for a few weeks. Everyone will be fresh and totally clear of any little niggling knocks and they did play against a Spurs select behind closed doors in London last week when Waghorn played for 80 minutes and apparently scored a good goal in a 4-3 win.

I am sure they will be physically ready however competitive games will be different though Warburton will know what he is doing as will the fitness guy you stole from Hibs earlier in the season :greengrin. Just thinking there will be some guesswork whether they will be at top form or not quite at it.

18-05-2016, 10:36 AM
No way will the ref allow that. :greengrin

Pretty sure we will play 352 as it worked that game however we were gifted a couple of goals at the start though would make total sense if we do so again. With McGeouch pretty certain to be out think any thought of 442 has gone. Would likely mean someone like Liam Hernderson becomes a sub which would be a huge shame for the guy though think AS would prefer Fyvie and Bartley in that set up adn rightly so as defending well will be key. Would bring Gunnarsson in also as he has more pace than Fonts which will be important in this game also.

Haha slip of the finger, worth a try though :greengrin

OXLEYGUNNARSSONMCGREGORHANLONGRAYFYVIEBARTLEYMCGIN NSTEVENSONSTOKE****MINGS
This was the team against Rangers last time out, will be the same again.

18-05-2016, 10:38 AM

I think (and hope) Liam Henderson will start.

18-05-2016, 10:39 AM
I feel it will be closer than that but I also feel you're being more realistic than some. Granted in the semi Rangers rode their luck and Celtic had some great chances that didn't come off but Rangers still scored two well deserved goals with their top striker missing against the best team in the country and could have had at least one more with a bit of luck up front.

This indicates they are likely to score against anybody and probably more than once but on the other hand they are well capable of shipping a number as well. The defence has been the sticky point all season and everybody knows it. Personally i'm cringing every time a high ball comes into the box because both the goalkeeper and the defence struggle agianst that kind of standard ball.

And yes Stubbs needs to stay if you want to get out of that league. He has built a good team playing good football and losing him is starting over again.

So do I when it's in the Hibs box - just look at most of the goals conceeded against Falkirk in the two leg play-offs. God, the long throw-ins, just put a player on the shy line in front of the thrower-problem solved - no 3rd goal.

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 10:41 AM
So do I when it's in the Hibs box - just look at most of the goals conceeded against Falkirk in the two leg play-offs. God, the long throw-ins, just put a player on the shy line in front of the thrower-problem solved - no 3rd goal.

Well you wont be having that problem on Saturday because Rangers almost never play high balls. They don't even send corners into the box they play it short.

18-05-2016, 10:42 AM
I think (and hope) Liam Henderson will start.

Question is who gets dropped from that team to make way for Hendo? Would be either Gray or Stevenson for me, which is a shame as both played well against them at ER in April.

18-05-2016, 10:43 AM
Well you wont be having that problem on Saturday because Rangers almost never play high balls. They don't even send corners into the box they play it short.

All our strikers in the box are around 5'8", it will be set pieces where we may have some opportunities, when the ch's come up.

18-05-2016, 10:44 AM

You think Ox will come back, not so sure to be honest. Big call that.

18-05-2016, 10:45 AM
Question is who gets dropped from that team to make way for Hendo? Would be either Gray or Stevenson for me, which is a shame as both played well against them at ER in April.

He'll go with a team to harass and hassle Rangers like at ER and keep it tight, Henderson is a good player to bring on with 25 mins to go.

18-05-2016, 10:48 AM
You think Ox will come back, not so sure to be honest. Big call that.

I just copy and pasted from Hibs site, just to show the team we played when we beat them, TBH I don't care if Ox or Logan starts, the big guy had an amazing semi final but has looked ordinary in the last couple of games, Oxley may well be given the jersey again, it's very hard trying to guess Stubbs teams.

JFK-1
18-05-2016, 10:50 AM
All our strikers in the box are around 5'8", it will be set pieces where we may have some opportunities, when the ch's come up.

The way I see it any Hibs chances are more likley to come on the break. You can be guaranteed that Rangers will come swarming forward as they always do and the full backs will be right up there too leaving gaps at the back. It can be hard to play against as even Celtic discovered but at the same time it has it's risks.

It's Rangers typical fashion to start fast and they generally get a rythm going before the opposition does. You can expect them to be charging forward in packs from the kick off looking for an early goal.

jimhfc1
18-05-2016, 11:22 AM
Loving the thought of a counter attack with boyle squaring it for mcginn tapping into an empty net!!

We can dream

18-05-2016, 11:26 AM
With head ruling heart, a narrow 2-0 win to us.

With heart ruling head, a shiny 4-1 win to us with our samba style soccer outclassing the manky tax dodging bigots, with an almighty roar as every one of our players touches the ball in a 37 pass move that leads to our taking the jarko out them for 15 minutes solid, akin to fatty baxter doing keepie uppies against England.

Thereafter, forever etched in 2016 will be the name Hibernian, right onto that big old silver hulk of trophyware.

Note: either situation that results in our win is equally acceptable. Nuff said. Let it be.

ENDOF

HappyHanlon
18-05-2016, 11:36 AM
I am going completely in hope rather than expectation.

It's the hope that kills you!

I'm going in with zero expectations. We've lost 3 huge games by conceding in the last minute. It's almost a gimme that Kenny Miller will score. He hates us, we hate him. Stick on!

Fuderingham is a pony keeper. We have to get shots away as much as possible, drill the crosses into the box, block Waghorn out the game and make Halliday second best. Do that and maybe just maybe there's a party in Leith.

18-05-2016, 11:43 AM

I'm going in with zero expectations. We've lost 3 huge games by conceding in the last minute. It's almost a gimme that Kenny Miller will score. He hates us, we hate him. Stick on!

Fuderingham is a pony keeper. We have to get shots away as much as possible, drill the crosses into the box, block Waghorn out the game and make Halliday second best. Do that and maybe just maybe there's a party in Leith.

That is McGregors and Bartleys jobs. Halliday never got a sniff last time he faced bartley at Easter rd.

18-05-2016, 11:47 AM

It's a tough one but regardless of how inconsistent Gray and Stevenson have been neither are in good form ...Gray for me especially has been struggling with his former all season and Stevenson is a target as well as rarely delivers a decent ball into the box ...so if I had the decision I would drop Gray ..!! For Hendo ...but Stubbs loyalty and club captain badge means that won't happen ...so it looks like He do might not start ..😞

18-05-2016, 11:49 AM

Spot on about getting shots in whenever we can. We're due a fair bit luck in this competition. Fire in as many shots as we can and hope.Its about all we can do.

killie-hibby
18-05-2016, 12:09 PM
Expectation at zero. On reflection most of my Hope vanished after the Joe Baker transfer. Only consolation will be enough gate money to pay two players wages .
But I still believe in miracles.

18-05-2016, 12:22 PM
Expectation at zero. On reflection most of my Hope vanished after the Joe Baker transfer. Only consolation will be enough gate money to pay two players wages .

Sorry, but even for a Hibs supporter that's a long long time to harbour disillusionment!

killie-hibby
18-05-2016, 01:44 PM
Sorry, but even for a Hibs supporter that's a long long time to harbour disillusionment!

Yes it is a long long time. That was the day Hibs commenced a now 60 year old policy of selling their best players. Until that policy is reversed I consider hope as being delusional. What we could have ac.hieved in status and financial reward is now only a dream. Joe would have stayed for £5 a week more. On his departure Hibs crowds dropped by at least 4000 for run of the mill league games. Harry Swan and every one of Hibs chairmen since then have miscalculated by knowing the price of everything and the value of nothing.
Sorry for this gloomy diversion on what is a light-hearted thread.
Thankfully I still travel on a 130 mile round trip to home games.

Edson Arantes
18-05-2016, 01:56 PM
Desperate to win.

Dreading losing.

midfield_maestro
18-05-2016, 09:02 PM
Best chance in years. Players will be well up for it. Friday was a sore one but the players - at least the vast majority - are not fans and they will put it behind them in a way that is more difficult for supporters.

18-05-2016, 09:03 PM
I think we will probably win it, so long as we defend well

Green Cabbage 7
18-05-2016, 09:15 PM
Confident!

PolmontHibby
18-05-2016, 09:26 PM

Jesus - you might be my brother but thats a bit depressing after The Musselburgh Gigolo queued 7 and a half hours to get your ticket.

Me -- I think its the best chance I have ever had of seeing Hibs lift the Scottish Cup so far.

itslegaltender
19-05-2016, 11:06 AM
before 2012, we averaged a Scottish cup final appearance once every 12.5 years. This will be our third in 5 years. Although the last two have been soul destroying, we are extremely privileged as Hibees to be in this time.

Honestly think this is our best chance, we have a team vastly superior to the last two who played at Hampden and we are playing a team we have matched all season. As long as we play our part from the stands and the players give their all, we could be in for an experience our grandfathers, uncles, mothers and fathers who have all passed never got to experience but kept the dream alive.

19-05-2016, 11:14 AM
before 2012, we averaged a Scottish cup final appearance once every 12.5 years. This will be our third in 5 years. Although the last two have been soul destroying, we are extremely privileged as Hibees to be in this time.

Honestly think this is our best chance, we have a team vastly superior to the last two who played at Hampden and we are playing a team we have matched all season. As long as we play our part from the stands and the players give their all, we could be in for an experience our grandfathers, uncles, mothers and fathers who have all passed never got to experience but kept the dream alive.

I think we can do it this time. Players will be well up for it after the playoffs.

You're right, we need to give it our all as a support as well. No negative stuff when someone takes a bad touch or makes a sloppy pass.......

19-05-2016, 02:20 PM
Is McGeouch definitely out?

19-05-2016, 02:22 PM
Is McGeouch definitely out?

No. Stubbs said yesterday he expected him in full training today

19-05-2016, 02:23 PM
No. Stubbs said yesterday he expected him in full training today

good stuff!

Even if he isn't fit enough to start, having him to bring on could make a big difference.

19-05-2016, 02:24 PM
Hibs cup final form since my first cup final is WLLLWLLL. It's a sign :wink:

19-05-2016, 02:25 PM
good stuff!

Even if he isn't fit enough to start, having him to bring on could make a big difference.

Definitely. I felt in hindsight, the game was lost when Dylan went off on Friday. I'd be sorely tempted to start him if he isn't feeling any twinges