View Full Version : Edinburgh curry

16-05-2016, 06:19 PM
Several times a season my brother comes up to Easter Road with me, we generally stay over if he does and like a few pints and then a curry.

Any recommendations for a decent curry house?

16-05-2016, 06:48 PM
Several times a season my brother comes up to Easter Road with me, we generally stay over if he does and like a few pints and then a curry.

Any recommendations for a decent curry house?

I went to Gurkha Cafe on Cockburn Street last week and was impressed. It's just a few doors up from The Malt Shovel

16-05-2016, 07:59 PM
It's a bit out the way but Clay Oven in Morningside, Tanjore on the South Side and Omar Khayyam at Haymarket are the real deal.

16-05-2016, 09:04 PM
I went to Tuk Tuk in Leven Street on Friday night, thought it was very good. It's Indian tapas, like Mother India on Infirmary Street, which is another very good indian restaurant.

16-05-2016, 09:07 PM
I went to Tuk Tuk in Leven Street on Friday night, thought it was very good. It's Indian tapas, like Mother India on Infirmary Street, which is another very good indian restaurant.

Tuk Tuk is very good... I like how you can have several different small dishes. Their bread is pretty good.

Was in Kalpana the other day - place is top class as well. Pretty basic, totally vegetarian (which suits me) but the scran is cracking.

17-05-2016, 06:48 PM
Tuk Tuk is very good... I like how you can have several different small dishes. Their bread is pretty good.

Was in Kalpana the other day - place is top class as well. Pretty basic, totally vegetarian (which suits me) but the scran is cracking.

Gosh!! Is the Kalpna still going!!

17-05-2016, 07:36 PM
Gosh!! Is the Kalpna still going!!

Yeah, it's not too bad as a place - have to say their breads are good. It's feeling old inside, but nothing like the Himalaya in Brunstfield. That place still has the flocked wallpaper and feels like you've walked into a 70s exotic restaurant.

17-05-2016, 08:12 PM
Khushi's at the top of Leith Walk was alright last time I went (few years ago now) and handy for after games.

17-05-2016, 08:29 PM
For something a bit different V Deep on Henderson Street is good. Craft beer and curry. A bit further down you have Agoon Pani for your more traditional curry house.

Mother India on Infirmary Street is a favourite of mine but a fair trek from ER. 'Tapas' style so good for trying a few bits and pieces.

17-05-2016, 08:33 PM
Jump on a 35 bus and go to the Guru.

Was there a couple of weeks ago, it's back to its best and BYOB.

17-05-2016, 08:41 PM
The food in most curry shops is getting too fancy, IMO.

I long for the return of Nadias!

17-05-2016, 09:20 PM
The food in most curry shops is getting too fancy, IMO.

I long for the return of Nadias!

Nadias was brilliant and I agree. I just can't find anywhere as good as my local takeaway.

17-05-2016, 09:22 PM
Nadias was brilliant and I agree. I just can't find anywhere as good as my local takeaway.

Where was Nadias? When did it close?

18-05-2016, 08:50 AM
Where was Nadias? When did it close?

It was on Dalry Road, where Shebeen is now, but it's been closed for decades.

18-05-2016, 03:19 PM
It was on Dalry Road, where Shebeen is now, but it's been closed for decades.

I know the one you mean now - never went there.

What's the best takeaway for curry that people recommend?

There was the Balti House in Leith which is now Agoon Pani - I've not been since. It was a soulless restaurant but their takeaway was pretty grand and they delivered across town for next to nothing. They used to do a £15 friday night special.

18-05-2016, 03:36 PM

There was the Balti House in Leith which is now Agoon Pani - I've not been since. It was a soulless restaurant but their takeaway was pretty grand and they delivered across town for next to nothing. They used to do a £15 friday night special.

A wee gem amongst the seemingly endless amount of dodgy looking takeaways in Edinburgh is the Jaflong in Longstone. Really good quality for a non-sitty-in place.

18-05-2016, 03:51 PM

I always get mines from Delta at Roseburn, even though there are other decent Indian's closer to my house (Abida, St John Curry Club, Eastern Pavillion are all decent enough).

18-05-2016, 03:51 PM
A wee gem amongst the seemingly endless amount of dodgy looking takeaways in Edinburgh is the Jaflong in Longstone. Really good quality for a non-sitty-in place.
I'll 2nd that....

One of their better offerimgs is the North Indian garlic chilli chicken.

I tend to avoid their pakora tho, they always seem to over cook it a bit.

Another good thing tho is they generally fire in some free poppadoms, it feels like more and more places make you pay for them as an extra.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

18-05-2016, 04:02 PM
If you're looking for something more local, enjoy a good beer and don't mind some different curries (like ox cheek bhuna - which is lovely by the way) try Vdeep on Henderson street.

18-05-2016, 06:27 PM

Lazeez on Dalry Road,doesnae look like much from outside but, the food is top notch.

This place is quite good for sit in or takeaway. (http://www.jashans.co.uk/)

18-05-2016, 06:29 PM
Slumdog on Leith Walk is pricey but curries are great for takeaway.

18-05-2016, 07:44 PM
Slumdog on Leith Walk is pricey but curries are great for takeaway.

Their curries are top notch, and the size of that Nan. Yummy ! :greengrin

Don Giovanni
18-05-2016, 08:44 PM
Shezan, opposite the Playhouse is worth a look. Delicious food, tidy restaurant and good location.

18-05-2016, 09:01 PM
I always get mines from Delta at Roseburn, even though there are other decent Indian's closer to my house (Abida, St John Curry Club, Eastern Pavillion are all decent enough).

Delta is class - free coffee while you're waiting... Or at least, he always offers one to me

18-05-2016, 09:09 PM
I'll 2nd that....

One of their better offerimgs is the North Indian garlic chilli chicken.

I tend to avoid their pakora tho, they always seem to over cook it a bit.

Another good thing tho is they generally fire in some free poppadoms, it feels like more and more places make you pay for them as an extra.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Free poppadoms is always the mark of a class establishment. Noticed a lot of places getting stingey with them recently. The place near me used to fire them in and include some chutney, onions and that creepy bag of salad I've never understood... Not anymore: maybe one or two poppadoms, nae sauce and not even a plastic bag of warm salad.

19-05-2016, 07:59 AM
Free poppadoms is always the mark of a class establishment. Noticed a lot of places getting stingey with them recently. The place near me used to fire them in and include some chutney, onions and that creepy bag of salad I've never understood... Not anymore: maybe one or two poppadoms, nae sauce and not even a plastic bag of warm salad.

19-05-2016, 11:40 AM
Shezan, opposite the Playhouse is worth a look. Delicious food, tidy restaurant and good location.

Thanks for the replies fellas, much appreciated. Looks like we have a few try http://www.hibs.net/images/icons/icon14.png

Shezan is actually where we usually end up.

20-05-2016, 04:43 PM
Lazeez on Dalry Road,doesnae look like much from outside but, the food is top notch.

This place is quite good for sit in or takeaway. (http://www.jashans.co.uk/)

I tend to order from Lazeez as well.

SneakersO'Toole
20-05-2016, 05:36 PM
For a takeaway Ruchi''s on London Road is very good.

Paloschi
06-06-2016, 10:34 AM
Kebab Mahal on Nicholson Square. Very good value and some tasty dishes. Not a fancy place by any means but great good nonetheless.

06-06-2016, 10:35 AM
Kebab Mahal on Nicholson Square. Very good value and some tasty dishes. Not a fancy place by any means but great good nonetheless.

I'd second this...basic, and no alcohol for sale (think it's a BYOB though)....but superb food!

06-06-2016, 09:30 PM

You wouldn't eat at Abida if you took a look round the back.

speedy_gonzales
06-06-2016, 10:28 PM
You wouldn't eat at Abida if you took a look round the back.
There's a lot of things I wouldn't do if I took a look around the back :wink:
I'll plead ignorance to their hygiene standards but will admit to enjoying their curries once or thrice!

07-06-2016, 05:26 AM
For takeaways, is the Shapla still there on ER and is it still as good as it used to be?

07-06-2016, 08:45 AM
There's a lot of things I wouldn't do if I took a look around the back :wink:
I'll plead ignorance to their hygiene standards but will admit to enjoying their curries once or thrice!

Fair enough! I dare say all the best restaurants contain some unpleasant elements.

southfieldhibby
08-06-2016, 10:56 AM
For takeaways, is the Shapla still there on ER and is it still as good as it used to be?

Closed for a while due to health issues iirc?

Post peeve indian on Leith Walk it's difficult to see passed Punjabi Junction. Charitable organisation ran by indian woman. No real choice, just either vegetarian or fish curry, flavour depends on the ladies working that day.

Bargain,tasty and authentic.

Mint in Porty is also decent for a takeout.

macd123
08-06-2016, 03:15 PM

Kebab Mehal is awesome. Plastic tables, no alcohol but brilliant food.

08-06-2016, 03:19 PM
Closed for a while due to health issues iirc?

Post peeve indian on Leith Walk it's difficult to see passed Punjabi Junction. Charitable organisation ran by indian woman. No real choice, just either vegetarian or fish curry, flavour depends on the ladies working that day.

Bargain,tasty and authentic.

Mint in Porty is also decent for a takeout.

Slumdog is excellent.

08-06-2016, 03:24 PM
Khushi's, but the one down broughton street has always been excellent, however I have not been in a while (misses went of indian food for some reason)

For a takeaway Noor in newington has also never let me down

10-06-2016, 07:42 AM
Navadhanya is somewhere I've never been yet, but some friends were raving about it. Somewhere at the west end?

10-06-2016, 10:04 AM
Navadhanya is somewhere I've never been yet, but some friends were raving about it. Somewhere at the west end?

Haymarket Terrace.It's ranked number 1 on trip advisor.

10-06-2016, 11:29 AM
Haymarket Terrace.It's ranked number 1 on trip advisor.

Oh no, now I can't go

10-06-2016, 05:14 PM
I'm going to Omar khayam at the west end tomorrow. Has anyone been? I've heard mixed reports.

10-06-2016, 07:03 PM
I'm going to Omar khayam at the west end tomorrow. Has anyone been? I've heard mixed reports.

Been several times recently food was pretty decent and though they do have a licence you can also BYOB. My last visit ended abruptly and I doubt I will be welcome back. Never even got seated but did get lied to, insulted and treated like an idiot over my booking. Suffice to say I rather loudly and abusively put the guy straight and left. Not my finest hour but heyho and that was without a drink.

magpie1892
10-06-2016, 07:55 PM

I've not been anywhere else in 5-6 years. Always top notch service and food and decent prices also.

Used to be owned by former yam PR chief Douglas Dalgleish who also owned The Wheatfield, so there was always a bit of internal conflict when paying the bill.

p.s. sorry to hear about Scouse Hibee's experience above - never had anything of that ilk happen to me.

10-06-2016, 09:44 PM
Thanks guys, it's a 40th birthday meal we're going to. There's going to be 23 of us so I can't see us having trouble getting seated as they wont want us all standing around getting in everyone's way. The reviews on trip advisor all said the food was good, but the complaints all centred around the same thing scouse hibee talked about in his post.

10-06-2016, 10:04 PM

Very good. No frills but well prepared and smart service too.

13-06-2016, 01:05 AM

The food is consistently among the best you'll get in Edinburgh.

The last time I was in though I got the feeling they couldn't get rid of us fast enough. Just myself and my good lady, not causing trouble and both happily drinking lots of alcohol with our meal.

I suspect they'd just pushed themselves a bit tight with the bookings. And it was a Friday night.

To be honest, just thinking about how good the food was is making me want to go back.

13-06-2016, 12:18 PM
The food is consistently among the best you'll get in Edinburgh.

The last time I was in though I got the feeling they couldn't get rid of us fast enough. Just myself and my good lady, not causing trouble and both happily drinking lots of alcohol with our meal.

I suspect they'd just pushed themselves a bit tight with the bookings. And it was a Friday night.

To be honest, just thinking about how good the food was is making me want to go back.
I really enjoyed it, the food was great and the service was good as well.

13-06-2016, 02:31 PM
Nepalese Gurkha cafe In cockburn street :wink: 10/10

13-06-2016, 06:55 PM
Nepalese Gurkha cafe In cockburn street :wink: 10/10

Agree - (See 2nd post on the thread!)

14-06-2016, 07:56 AM
Agree - (See 2nd post on the thread!)

The Gurkha beer isn't to bad either :greengrin

04-12-2016, 05:36 PM
Eastern Pavillon in Corstorphine is decent. Bit of a hole but the food is excellent.

04-12-2016, 07:36 PM
Eastern Pavillon in Corstorphine is decent. Bit of a hole but the food is excellent.

Mentioned this on the other thread. Best curry I've had in Edinburgh, head and shoulders above anything else in the corstorphine area. Was there last night as a matter of fact and it was as good as ever.

04-12-2016, 07:40 PM
Mentioned this on the other thread. Best curry I've had in Edinburgh, head and shoulders above anything else in the corstorphine area. Was there last night as a matter of fact and it was as good as ever.

Just left and can't compliment the food enough. The lamb samosas were heavenly. Having a few whiskies now to counter the consequences of my overindulgence.

05-12-2016, 04:08 PM
Loads of great places to choose from. I have a voucher for Kushis I'll be using over the festive period. Great food and BYOB. My only problem is they do try to hurry you along as it were but given the popularity of the place that's a necessity I suppose.

Has anyone tried either Desi Pakwan at the Fit o' the Walk or Shri Bheenas in Constitution St?

alhibby
05-12-2016, 05:53 PM
Been to Voujon on Newington Road a few times, always been excellent

http://www.voujonedinburgh.com/

05-12-2016, 06:21 PM
Had a fantastic takeaway from slumdog on Leith Walk.

05-12-2016, 07:36 PM
Decent takeaway from Lazeez last night.

beensaidbefore
06-12-2016, 07:23 PM
Guru balti, on Dundee terrace opposite victor Paris. Tasty and big portions. Naans are massive too.

07-12-2016, 10:25 AM
The buffet in the New Anand on Nithsdale Road in Pollokshields is barry value and is cooked as you order it. It's not very handy for Easter Road but is OK if your'e going to/from Hampden or the Brox. :wink:

07-12-2016, 10:39 AM
I've had a couple of takeaways from Nok's Kitchen in Stockbridge recently. Thai curries. Very good food.

07-12-2016, 02:08 PM
The new place, Dishoom, at St Andrew's Square is nice. It's like an Indian tapas/street food kind of thing.

07-12-2016, 02:21 PM
The new place, Dishoom, at St Andrew's Square is nice. It's like an Indian tapas/street food kind of thing.

There's a number of them dotted over London and I've read mixed reviews. It's a franchise operation and I'm not certain that the food is actually cooked fresh on the premises. If a restaurant is selling samosa's at all it's restaurants, then it makes more economical sense to mass produce them at a central location and distribute them frozen/chilled - likewise with the curries, etc.

07-12-2016, 02:35 PM
The buffet in the New Anand on Nithsdale Road in Pollokshields is barry value and is cooked as you order it. It's not very handy for Easter Road but is OK if your'e going to/from Hampden or the Brox. :wink:

:cheers::cheers::drunk: Seconded.

Went to The Spice Pavillon on Dundas Street midway through a bit of a session a while back and was most satisfied with their fare. Likewise with Mezban on Brougham Street near the Ventoux pub.

07-12-2016, 02:51 PM
There's a number of them dotted over London and I've read mixed reviews. It's a franchise operation and I'm not certain that the food is actually cooked fresh on the premises. If a restaurant is selling samosa's at all it's restaurants, then it makes more economical sense to mass produce them at a central location and distribute them frozen/chilled - likewise with the curries, etc.

You are correct all the food is distributed from a central hub they do not buy anything from local suppliers in Edinburgh.That's the story from a couple of local suppliers who have approached them.

patch1875
07-12-2016, 03:51 PM
We get our takeaway's from Asha at Western Corner always excellent.

07-12-2016, 05:19 PM
Went Omar Khayyam last night and enjoyed it. Great service and decent food. £300 for 8 of us with wine, beer and whisky. Not as good as Khushis in Mid Calder but worth going.

07-12-2016, 07:25 PM
Anyone been to Britannia Spice recently? Going on 21st with work.

patch1875
07-12-2016, 08:00 PM

Was a couple of months ago always consistently good for me. Only minor complaint for me is the portions could be a but bigger but im greedy!

07-12-2016, 08:12 PM
Was a couple of months ago always consistently good for me. Only minor complaint for me is the portions could be a but bigger but im greedy!

:-) me too.

07-12-2016, 08:19 PM
Went Omar Khayyam last night and enjoyed it. Great service and decent food. £300 for 8 of us with wine, beer and whisky. Not as good as Khushis in Mid Calder but worth going.

Omar Khayam has been around as long as I remember and does have a really good reputation. I tried it for the first time back in the summer and I have to say I was massively disappointed. It's a nice looking place, but the curry was average at best. I'll not be back.

08-12-2016, 08:48 AM

I live close to there and got a takeaway recently. Excellent food, but the portion sizes are certainly smaller than you get elsewhere. This isn't actually that much of a problem because you often get far too much food from other places, and I am a greedy sod too.

You can order from Deliveroo from there now, which I have done. I used to hate going in to pick up food - it always seemed to be like a total pantomime as they fished for tips. It wasn't about the money (I happily pay the Deliveroo charge) but I just like to go in, pick up my food and leave.

That's probably cost them thousands of pounds worth of business as I've ordered inferior curries from elsewhere in spite of having Britannia Spice practically on my doorstep and they didn't used to deliver.

08-12-2016, 12:22 PM

Hmmm. We were going to try to go to the one in Shoreham tomorrow night. Might give it a miss.

08-12-2016, 05:47 PM
You are correct all the food is distributed from a central hub they do not buy anything from local suppliers in Edinburgh.That's the story from a couple of local suppliers who have approached them.

That's also a no from me then. I'll be supporting the little guy next time I'm up town for an Indian.

08-12-2016, 05:52 PM
Has anyone tried that killer restaurant where Mr Boni's used to be? I feel a bit sorry for it because it's always empty while the one across the street (Tuk) is always full. It opened with a fanfare and looked like it was young guys trying to do something a bit different but maybe that's the problem. A bit too "whacky"? :dunno:

08-12-2016, 06:37 PM
Has anyone tried that killer restaurant where Mr Boni's used to be? I feel a bit sorry for it because it's always empty while the one across the street (Tuk) is always full. It opened with a fanfare and looked like it was young guys trying to do something a bit different but maybe that's the problem. A bit too "whacky"? :dunno:

It's the same family that have Kismot. I think the restaurant part is currently closed (not sure if temporary or otherwise) and it's just the smaller cafe part operating.

I dealt with them when they 1st opened on the supply side and they were optimistic so I'm unsure why it's failed to do well, espcially considering Kismot is well known and popular. I think having Tuk Tuk, which is both different and good, close by will have played a part.

08-12-2016, 09:30 PM
It's the same family that have Kismot. I think the restaurant part is currently closed (not sure if temporary or otherwise) and it's just the smaller cafe part operating.

I dealt with them when they 1st opened on the supply side and they were optimistic so I'm unsure why it's failed to do well, espcially considering Kismot is well known and popular. I think having Tuk Tuk, which is both different and good, close by will have played a part.

I had a feeling that kismot might have been connected to it but I wasn't sure. Maybe if they emphasise that a bit more they might get more people through the door but then again, maybe they don't want that obvious connection and want to do their own thing. I take it the name "killer" refers to that hot curry that kismot serve.

BarneyBreslin
09-12-2016, 07:36 AM
Loads of great places to choose from. I have a voucher for Kushis I'll be using over the festive period. Great food and BYOB. My only problem is they do try to hurry you along as it were but given the popularity of the place that's a necessity I suppose.

Has anyone tried either Desi Pakwan at the Fit o' the Walk or Shri Bheenas in Constitution St?

Desi pakwan is my current Indian of choice. Lamb karahi is the best I've tasted.