View Full Version : David Goodwillie

hibeemikey21
16-05-2016, 04:07 PM
Free to leave Aberdeen. Have a sneaky feeling we'll be in for him.

If we got him in for free and a decent wedge for Jason, it might not be a bad start to the overhauling process!

JJP
16-05-2016, 04:09 PM
No thanks. He is on a huge downward spiral that suggests to me he might not be that up for the battle that we will find ourselves in next season.

hibshibshibs84
16-05-2016, 04:10 PM
a reprehensible character. no thank you.

EH75
16-05-2016, 04:11 PM
The David Goodwillie from 6 or 7 years ago would be great. Not sure what the current one is like. Have a feeling he would be more interested in going up George Street of a Saturday night than doing anything on the pitch...

Rasta_Hibs
16-05-2016, 04:13 PM
No No No!! Not many players would stop me watching Hibs but he is one of them.

16-05-2016, 04:14 PM
Bad attitude. No thanks.

16-05-2016, 04:14 PM
No based on he's not good enough never mind his off field antics

16-05-2016, 04:15 PM
No No No!! Not many players would stop me watching Hibs but he is one of them.

Individual players would stop you watching hibs?

hibeemikey21
16-05-2016, 04:17 PM
Bad attitude. No thanks.

a surprisingly "glass is half-empty" response from you...

He managed 3 goals all season, all against Hearts at Tynecastle. Whatever he had he does appear to have lost....

Rasta_Hibs
Individual players would stop you watching hibs?

Ok maybe not but id not enjoy watching Hibs anytime he was playing.

16-05-2016, 04:19 PM
He's ***** these days. Well past his best.

SJM
16-05-2016, 04:19 PM
Dundee bound.

16-05-2016, 04:20 PM
He has been a real underachiever though ..... at one time he looked like becoming a Scotland regular and at least a good English championship player, but for some reason it didn't really happen. I wonder if he has an attitude problem to be honest coz at 27 years old a guy with his ability should be ripping it up.

One things for sure ...... signing for us would be the last chance saloon for him

16-05-2016, 04:20 PM
I'm really looking forward to when everyone wakes up in the real world.

We're about to spend year 3 in the championship girls and boys..... Not only is he probably 'to big' a name for us now, the chat about him not being good enough and wouldn't want him anywhere near our club is laughable.

We'll be lucky to hang on to the half decent players we've got and I dread to think the replacements.

16-05-2016, 04:21 PM
a surprisingly "glass is half-empty" response from you...

He's just not for me. If we signed him I would get behind him though but I can't see it.

16-05-2016, 04:22 PM
He's very poor. Wonder if we will go for the goalie they have freed.

16-05-2016, 04:22 PM
Watch out for the return of the George Street gang if we sign him. No thanks.

16-05-2016, 04:23 PM

We're about to spend year 3 in the championship girls and boys..... Not only is he probably 'to big' a name for us now, the chat about him not being good enough and wouldn't want him anywhere near our club is laughable.

We'll be lucky to hang on to the half decent players we've got and I dread to think the replacements.

Well said.

16-05-2016, 04:23 PM

you're talking about David Goodwill - the Ross County sub are you??

16-05-2016, 04:25 PM

If we got him in for free and a decent wedge for Jason, it might not be a bad start to the overhauling process!

Much rather Billy McKay

16-05-2016, 04:26 PM
He failed miserably at Blackburn and certainly he was a major disappointment in his 13 game loan spell at Blackpool (my local club).

I certainly wouldnt sign him, still dinning out on what he was doing 6 seasons ago. Going for reputation over substance is not the way to go.

16-05-2016, 04:29 PM
My view changed of him slightly when I assumed he was a grade A ******** following his nightclub attack/s.

Having seen one of them on CCTV (youtube) though it does show that there is often more to the story than the headline and lasting impression it might leave on you.

He used to love scoring against us, did it all the time.

That said, he's been ***** ever since he left Utd so no thanks.

I want us to keep hold of Cummings and bring in another striker to fill Malonga's shoes. Keatings and Boyle can remain as backup while they are under contract.

Assume we have no youngsters coming through sadly.

16-05-2016, 04:37 PM
He's bad news and a bad influence. Steer clear.

16-05-2016, 04:39 PM
Watch out for the return of the George Street gang if we sign him. No thanks.

The George St gang largely played in the top league so would take a bit of that just now.

16-05-2016, 04:44 PM
Can't say I would be overwhelmed if we managed to sign David FantasticSchlong.

16-05-2016, 04:44 PM
you're talking about David Goodwill - the Ross County sub are you??

Yup, that's him. :na na:

16-05-2016, 04:45 PM
Can't say I would be overwhelmed if we managed to sign David FantasticSchlong.

David Badwillie :greengrin

I''l give you a real laugh, over on kickback they are talking about signing Henderson..... LOL

JJP
16-05-2016, 04:49 PM
Would much rather bring Anier back. I think his style would suit this league.

16-05-2016, 04:52 PM
Would much rather bring Anier back. I think his style would suit this league.

Has he been released or kept on?

Stokesy's on fire
16-05-2016, 04:55 PM

Would be delighted to see him join us...if he doesn't join us United will go in for him

16-05-2016, 04:56 PM
I would like a 6ft 2 plus Striker that won't get bullied, can hold the ball up, win in the air and bring others into play.

16-05-2016, 04:58 PM
I would like a 6ft 2 plus Striker that won't get bullied, can hold the ball up, win in the air and bring others into play.

GOC? :greengrin

16-05-2016, 04:58 PM

Derek Lyle....:greengrin

16-05-2016, 04:59 PM
GOC? :greengrin

Smarty pants!! I'm talking height not waist btw!!

Meant to say I would also like to see Insall and Ollie shaw given a chance along side a big strong CF!

16-05-2016, 05:00 PM
Derek Lyle....:greengrin

He could wear his heals and that big toothed orange looking hobbit would be lucky to make it to 5ft 6.

16-05-2016, 05:01 PM
a surefire way of keeping us down here again after next season, its a no from me

SJM
16-05-2016, 05:02 PM
Much rather Billy McKay

Me too. Or Scott McDonald.

16-05-2016, 05:03 PM
Me too. Or Scott McDonald.

Won't get either, McKay will be back at Wigan and McDonald won't take a step down from SPL.

Stokesy's on fire
16-05-2016, 05:04 PM

Akpo come home

16-05-2016, 05:04 PM
Barry Robson freed as well.....must be a fair age now though.

16-05-2016, 05:05 PM
Won't get either, McKay will be back at Wigan and McDonald won't take a step down from SPL.

I think it'll depend who we get in as manager!

O and who the manager actually wants.
Never say never with any player.

He's mid 30's I think.

Smarty pants!! I'm talking height not waist btw!!

Meant to say I would also like to see Insall and Ollie shaw given a chance along side a big strong CF!

37 I think

SJM

Wigan didn't want him in league 1 never mind the championship.
I'm sure we can call up our old pal Captain Calamity.

16-05-2016, 05:12 PM
He's very poor. Wonder if we will go for the goalie they have freed.

The boy Brown? Hope not, he's crap.

16-05-2016, 05:13 PM
John Rankin has been released.. get him in as player/coach

(Joke)

16-05-2016, 05:15 PM
Anyone else reckon we should chuck Christian Nade a few doughnuts to play for our development side and just not score the horrifically frustrating goals against us that he seems to manage year on year?

16-05-2016, 05:15 PM
37 I think

And now retired

16-05-2016, 05:24 PM
John Sutton available at St Johnstone.

Sent from my SM-G361F using Tapatalk

16-05-2016, 05:27 PM
John Sutton available at St Johnstone.

I think he could be very effective in this league.

Turkish Green
16-05-2016, 05:31 PM

True. But the player is on a downward spiral and as such ending up at Hibs would not surprise me.

16-05-2016, 05:32 PM
Some folk forget where we are now.

I'd take him as I reckon if he played every week in a settled side he'd score a barrowload in this division.

Plus anyone that paggers rugby toffs is mare than sound wi me :greengrin

16-05-2016, 05:44 PM

I'd take him as I reckon if he played every week in a settled side he'd score a barrowload in this division.

What do you actually base that opinion on? He's scored 16 league goals since 2011.

Sunshine Scott
16-05-2016, 05:46 PM
God no.
Plays 3 good games them 10 bad ones, not needed.
And that's not going into his "off field" character.

No, no, NO!

16-05-2016, 05:48 PM
Suttons free as well :rolleyes:

16-05-2016, 05:54 PM
John Sutton available at St Johnstone. Sent from my SM-G361F using Tapatalk

At 32 I would like to think he wouldn't be to hard to deal with!!

I think he would do a job in this league as I think would Goodwillie!!

16-05-2016, 06:00 PM
Suttons free as well :rolleyes:
Thought I heard he was available for transfer or loan. Didn't say he was freed?

broondog
16-05-2016, 06:02 PM
no

16-05-2016, 06:33 PM
Ok so what's folk's view on a pay as you play deal for him.

16-05-2016, 06:37 PM

GGTTHInjuries aren't his problem, being rubbish is.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
16-05-2016, 06:37 PM
Well said.

I htink thats an overly pessimistic view. Players will go where the money is, simples.

Somep layers might want to leave, but plenty will want to come if we are paying the wages. And id imagine our wages will still be amongst the highest in Scotland.

16-05-2016, 07:17 PM
David Goodwillie is utter pish.

Logie
16-05-2016, 07:18 PM
He's better than Dagnell but 👀

16-05-2016, 07:45 PM
Would 100% take him.

Very good at holding the ball up and linking play. Aberdeen fans rated his style of play and ability over rooney.

With a good run of games, confidence and playing against lesser opposition he would do well imo.

Better than a a couple of strikers we currently have signed

16-05-2016, 08:05 PM
I'm not sure the argument that they'd tear up this league or score barrowloads would come to pass, look at Stokes, a far superior player to both. This is a more difficult league than people give it credit for, especially when teams main objective is to sit as deep as possible and try hit us on the counter. A goal scoring midfielder who can cracking a good shot from distance is more immediately required than a striker.

Stuarty27
16-05-2016, 08:40 PM
We just lost to a team full of the likes of David McCraken, Mark Kerr, Lee Miller, John Baird and Tom Taiwo and yet folk are turning there noses up on a player who once cost £3m.

Give me strength.

16-05-2016, 09:38 PM

Pay as you play deals don't exist as I'm sure they're illegal? As for David Teckledong? Nah, not the direction we should be going.

16-05-2016, 09:40 PM
Me me me. No way

16-05-2016, 09:45 PM
We just lost to a team full of the likes of David McCraken, Mark Kerr, Lee Miller, John Baird and Tom Taiwo and yet folk are turning there noses up on a player who once cost £3m.

Give me strength.Tom Taiwo once cost 5 million

16-05-2016, 10:11 PM
Thought I heard he was available for transfer or loan. Didn't say he was freed?

Told to find another club

h18eeynick
16-05-2016, 10:47 PM
Simon Church going back to MKD - scored 6 in 13 games so I would take a chance on him ! Kept out by 2 good forwards at top of SPL

polarbear
16-05-2016, 11:45 PM

This is where I am as well.
Who knows what our budget will be next season? Way less than this I'd imagine, especially if things go badly at the weekend.
Goodwillie seems a bit lost and needs a home for a few season. Hibs in the Championship are still a step up from Ross County in the Premiership and it might be a good move for both parties.
John Sutton, i'm not so sure about. He was terrible at Hearts and looked like a plank of wood whenever I saw him.
Rankin might be a good shout if he'd come back. A few experienced players are what we need like Hearts did with Gomis and Buaben.

17-05-2016, 01:57 AM
Would definitely take Goodwillie and Sutton/Anier. A real ying and yang of strikers. Huddy and pacey combo would work in this division in my opinion.

17-05-2016, 05:07 AM

Miles Storey

17-05-2016, 06:34 AM
Miles Storey

Yep someone like him.

17-05-2016, 06:35 AM
Miles Storey

Would love for us to sign him, unfortunately Aberdeen are showing an interest

TrinityHibs
17-05-2016, 08:26 AM
David Goodwillie should never be considered for Hibs and that's got nothing to do with his footballing ability. Good or bad. Chat is there is a private prosecution heading his way. Lets hope so.

17-05-2016, 08:32 AM
David Goodwillie should never be considered for Hibs and that's got nothing to do with his footballing ability. Good or bad. Chat is there is a private prosecution heading his way. Lets hope so.

Yep really important that we are all nice guys, never mind how long we stay in this league.

Mcginn75
17-05-2016, 08:38 AM
So he's only 27 which means there's still time for him to improve and he should be maturing, but he does seem to be a player who has repeatedly wasted second chances to make good on the early promise his career showed. So long as he fits in the wage budget and the deal isn't a long one initially it could be a fairly low risk move. I don't think he's any better than what we've got just now but a lot depends on what happens in the summer and how we're setup to play next season I guess.

17-05-2016, 10:33 AM
Another party boy fud who would spend more time up George Street than at training. Nah.

17-05-2016, 11:00 AM
Dunno what Kris Doolan's contract situation is but I would take him. Knows what the lower leagues are about, physical and scores goals. Couple of pacy wingers to put crosses in for him and Keatings and we'd defiantly score goals.

TrinityHibs
17-05-2016, 12:11 PM
Yep really important that we are all nice guys, never mind how long we stay in this league.

You'll be after Ched Evans then?

17-05-2016, 01:23 PM
You'll be after Ched Evans then?

Why not?

17-05-2016, 01:27 PM

Aberdeen have signed him......similar type to Rooney I would say so maybe he is leaving.

17-05-2016, 01:55 PM
Another party boy fud who would spend more time up George Street than at training. Nah.

:top marks:thumbsup:

Heard a squeak he is for one of the Dundee teams (?)

17-05-2016, 01:57 PM

Is signing for Aberdeen on July 1st.

17-05-2016, 04:06 PM
No idea what MK Dons' plans for Simon Church are but would like to think we'd be sniffing around in case an opportunity presents itself.

Stokesy's on fire
17-05-2016, 04:15 PM
Miles Storey

Terrible!! Wouldn't sign him for Elgin City never mind hibs

17-05-2016, 05:25 PM
Aberdeen have signed him......similar type to Rooney I would say so maybe he is leaving.

Personally don't think storey and Rooney are similar in the slightest.

Can't see Rooney leaving aberdeeb any time soon

17-05-2016, 05:35 PM
If he is not good enough for Aberdeen, he ain't good enough for Hibs

17-05-2016, 05:47 PM
If he is not good enough for Aberdeen, he ain't good enough for Hibs:faf:

Stokesy's on fire
17-05-2016, 06:20 PM
If he is not good enough for Aberdeen, he ain't good enough for Hibs

True.

17-05-2016, 07:34 PM

Were you one of those telling us all that Stokes would a barrel load in this League?

Not really interested in a player's pedigree to be honest. Only want them if they can do the job.

SJM
17-05-2016, 09:41 PM
Stevie May, loan.

TrinityHibs
17-05-2016, 09:53 PM
Why not?

Your choice. Not mine.

17-05-2016, 10:13 PM
Your choice. Not mine.

Not really. You mentioned him. I just don't really care what players are like if they do the job on the pitch.