View Full Version : Should Stubbs stay on as manager?

Pages : 1 [2]

14-05-2016, 08:26 PM
Alan Stubbs will be absolutely gutted right now.
He has put so much positive energy back into our club over the past two seasons - driven by a genuine desire to ultimately reward both the fans and those who offered him his first break in management.
He will be feeling it and so will most of those who have worn the shirt this season and last - and some the season before.

I voted for Alan Stubbs to stay as I really do believe that he will learn from his mistakes and be far more aware of what it actually takes to get out of this dreadful division of attrition and grafting, route one specialists.

Losing him now would set our club back possibly years as a new manager will bring his own ideas, staff and players with no guarantee of anything other than a "fresh start" and "fingers crossed"

Alan Stubbs is deeply wounded and hurt but he is not defeated and I dare anyone to suggest that he will not have us fired up for the Scottish Cup Final - knowing what is at stake for both himself, his players, the supporters and those at the top who have put faith in him.

Cheshire Hibby
14-05-2016, 08:38 PM
He has put so much positive energy back into our club over the past two seasons - driven by a genuine desire to ultimately reward both the fans and those who offered him his first break in management.
He will be feeling it and so will most of those who have worn the shirt this season and last - and some the season before.

I voted for Alan Stubbs to stay as I really do believe that he will learn from his mistakes and be far more aware of what it actually takes to get out of this dreadful division of attrition and grafting, route one specialists.

Losing him now would set our club back possibly years as a new manager will bring his own ideas, staff and players with no guarantee of anything other than a "fresh start" and "fingers crossed"

Alan Stubbs is deeply wounded and hurt but he is not defeated and I dare anyone to suggest that he will not have us fired up for the Scottish Cup Final - knowing what is at stake for both himself, his players, the supporters and those at the top who have put faith in him.

Hibhibhurray has it right in my opinion. I am as disappointed as any Hibs supporter with our league predicament but I still have faith that our club is better run with LD at the executive helm and AS in charge of the team and learning from the last two seasons to get us back up.

14-05-2016, 08:46 PM
Hibhibhurray has it right in my opinion. I am as disappointed as any Hibs supporter with our league predicament but I still have faith that our club is better run with LD at the executive helm and AS in charge of the team and learning from the last two seasons to get us back up.

I agree to a certain extent but that horrrible run we had losing to all these wee *****y teams makes me think Stubbs is not the man to lead us to the SPL. I've always wanted him to succeed as he has brought passing football and committed players back to Hibs after years of abject pish but his stubbornness to adapt to the opposition tactics has left me totally scunnered I have to say.

LD - yes, keep up the good work.

14-05-2016, 08:59 PM

I don't mind the optimism and sense of loyalty to back Stubbs. However, there is absolutely no reason why Hibs can not profit from a change in manager. Stubbs hasn't performed miracles. He has brought a good core team together, but that team needs goals added to it. It could be Stubbs that has all the answers, but so far he hasn't delivered them. From what I hear on this board he is wanting away anyway. If he goes, Leanne should be in a good place to objectively assess where we need improved, and what we face in this league. I believe in Leanne, and I would happily let her find someone to get the job done.

Cheshire Hibby
14-05-2016, 09:02 PM
I agree to a certain extent but that horrrible run we had losing to all these wee *****y teams makes me think Stubbs is not the man to lead us to the SPL. I've always wanted him to succeed as he has brought passing football and committed players back to Hibs after years of abject pish but his stubbornness to adapt to the opposition tactics has left me totally scunnered I have to say.

LD - yes, keep up the good work.

Perfectly understand you being scunnered. Felt much the same with Pat Fenlon and like many Hibees, thought Butcher would lead us to better and bigger things. I recall vividly the NY derby match and the first time the new ER was sold out and that the 'Butcher' factor was the reason. We enjoyed the win, sung SOL at the end and went home happy. Little did we know. Case of being careful what we wish for.

For that reason I am for staying with AS. He will be as scunnered with failing to get promotion and I hope he sees it as unfinished business and learns from his 2 year apprenticeship and becomes a master tradesman. I cannot see anyone else who would do better. Just my opinion.

14-05-2016, 09:13 PM
This week is the wrong time for a post mortem.

14-05-2016, 10:07 PM

I don't doubt that Stubbs is hurting over his failure to get us promoted and is desperate to win the cup as a consolation.

I do doubt that he will learn from his mistakes when those are the same mistakes that were being questioned last year. At least then he had the excuse that it had been his first ever season as a manager.

ozhibs
14-05-2016, 11:30 PM
This week is the wrong time for a post mortem.

I agree with this we are all hurting too much.

broondog
14-05-2016, 11:43 PM
Stubbs has no qualities as a manager at all. He continued to play Oxley for a few weeks after anyone that knows anything about football could see he had lost it big time.Even worse than that was his failure to see Fraser Fyvie had crumbled and lost it. The last 3 games Fyvie played were a total embarrassment and an even bigger embarrassment were all the plums on here that continued to say Oxley was ok and hibs were a better team with Fyvie.

i have refrained from commenting on here after watching all the really poor comments levelled at those that are early posters so feel free to have a pop at someone that has followed hibs for over 50 years and knows more about football than the vast majority on here.

Stubbssy hope Blackburn take you sooner than later.

agree with this. I never rated him but stayed positive until the awful run at the end of the season when it was obvious he had no plan B. he needed to go then and because he didn't we have failed. he now must go BEFORE the final in my opinion. we stand no chance if we keep him. at least get someone in now who can generate a bit of buzz and im confident we stand a chance. as for his decision to play that pile of ***** fyvie, baffling, just baffling. Another poor decision in a string of awful decision by an awful rookie manager. **** off alan stubbs

14-05-2016, 11:44 PM
Guys this could be the holy grail week. Friday night was a disappointment. Let's park the hate for a week and get through next Saturday. That would be the time to reflect on the season.

I have my own views, but will reserve may refection on the season until after next Saturday. I suggest the bed wetter's do the same.

14-05-2016, 11:57 PM
This is all pretty sad!

He's our manger and will be at least until next weekend. I suggest people turn their focus from having a pop to backing the club.
Friday night was a disappointment but we still have an opportunity to achieve something out of a this season.

If you want to cast stones but I suggest to save it until after next weekend.

We should have been looking forward to a play-off final so the the Mangers has made mistakes, the CEO for me has also made mistakes but the time to judge is after next week. Too much at stake next week to be judging people just now.

JJP
15-05-2016, 12:01 AM
Hope he stays but doubt he will. Think he is eyeing moving to England.

joebakerforever
15-05-2016, 01:05 AM
IMO despite the disappointing finale to our League campaign, I reckon he has made further progress and will adjust his strategy for 2016/17, to counteract the anti-football tactics of poorer quality opposition that he has experienced this Season.

However if his family are still residing in England, it could well be that domestic matters might influence an imminent return to a club nearer home.

15-05-2016, 07:30 PM
This time next Sunday if we beat the Huns and win the Scottish you won't e saying that.

Stubbs is still 90 mins away from being a legend. Nobody will remember this season if we win next week and we have pumped rangers twice already.

Does winning in Saturday get us promoted then?

Worst post I've read on here in ages.

15-05-2016, 07:32 PM

A win next Saturday does not redeem Stubbs. He still has to go regardless.

OsloHibs
15-05-2016, 08:12 PM

Oh. My. God.

15-05-2016, 08:14 PM

You can't have been reading many then.

15-05-2016, 08:22 PM

Wow!
I've had a season ticket for the last 27 years(and you can add in next year as well) and during that time we've had maybe 2 good years. The rest have been somewhere between mediocre and abject misery. The fact you can suggest the man who (hypothetically) wins us the Scottish Cup isnae good enough suggests to me you're either a product of the Sky/Football Manager generation - or your aff yer heid on mood altering substances.
Whichever it is, you're wrong.

*whether he'll actually still be here is a different discussion point

15-05-2016, 08:27 PM
Wow!
I've had a season ticket for the last 27 years(and you can add in next year as well) and during that time we've had maybe 2 good years. The rest have been somewhere between mediocre and abject misery. The fact you can suggest the man who (hypothetically) wins us the Scottish Cup isnae good enough suggests to me you're either a product of the Sky/Football Manager generation - or your aff yer heid on mood altering substances.
Whichever it is, you're wrong.

*whether he'll actually still be here is a different discussion point

Look, cups are a bonus. He said two seasons in a row that promotion is priority and we need to get out this league. Has he done that? No! He's failed miserably at both attempts. Are you happy that our manager has failed to get us out this league and we will be playing these anti football teams next season? £380 for that is not acceptable. He has to go regardless of the result next week. I do not take mind or mood altering substances by the way.

15-05-2016, 08:32 PM
I want him to go but will only shout about it after we are humiliated by the huns next week.

He is not good at motivating good players to beat rubbish teams and that is his major failing (and in this league there are plenty rubbish teams).

15-05-2016, 08:37 PM
Rubbish

15-05-2016, 08:42 PM
While I'm never slow to voice my opinion, I think a ceasefire is probably the way to go now for this week. Nothing is going to happen now until Monday.
After that, whatever happens there will be a huge debate to be had. But for this week, I think just look forward to Saturday.

15-05-2016, 08:44 PM
Look, cups are a bonus. He said two seasons in a row that promotion is priority and we need to get out this league. Has he done that? No! He's failed miserably at both attempts. Are you happy that our manager has failed to get us out this league and we will be playing these anti football teams next season? £380 for that is not acceptable. He has to go regardless of the result next week. I do not take mind or mood altering substances by the way.

Fair enough re the psychedelics ;-)

"Cups are a bonus" is often said - but to me, the only teams who should be thinking that way are the ones in the race for the League title, not the also rans.
And in my 43 years we've never been in that race (*second tier does not count). So why dismiss the only real chance we've got at glory as simply as "bonus"?

As for our league position? I'm scunnered we'll have at least another year in the diddy league - but that's where we are.
Has the manager failed? YES
Is it value for money? That's in the eye of the beholder.
Does it matter to me we'll be playing dunfermline, dundee utd and Raith Rovers rather than dundee, Hamilton and Partick? Naw.

Is winning next week a bonus? No, it's EVERYTHING to our club at this point.

15-05-2016, 08:48 PM
Rubbish

Is it really? Does a cup win make up for no promotion for two season? You do realise that a third season in this league could be financially crippling for the club? Crowds will be down, player budgets and wages will be down and as result of poorer players the performances will be down. That is Stubbs fault for his failure to get us out the league. The fans have consistently backed the club when the rallying calls have went out over the last two seasons and we've got nothing in return.

high bee
15-05-2016, 08:54 PM
Is it really? Does a cup win make up for no promotion for two season? You do realise that a third season in this league could be financially crippling for the club? Crowds will be down, player budgets and wages will be down and as result of poorer players the performances will be down. That is Stubbs fault for his failure to get us out the league. The fans have consistently backed the club when the rallying calls have went out over the last two seasons and we've got nothing in return.

Agreed, this season the cups have been our downfall and our saviour because they must have softened the financial blow significantly. I'd like to think we can maintain the same wage budget for next season but if we don't go up next year I think we would have to make some serious cuts.
There are big decisions to make, I think we need to get a manager and some players inbthat know how to win against parked buses.

15-05-2016, 10:51 PM
Is it really? Does a cup win make up for no promotion for two season? You do realise that a third season in this league could be financially crippling for the club? Crowds will be down, player budgets and wages will be down and as result of poorer players the performances will be down. That is Stubbs fault for his failure to get us out the league. The fans have consistently backed the club when the rallying calls have went out over the last two seasons and we've got nothing in return.And who do we bring in who knows the championship better now? You can discount the first season because he didint have enough time(and still finished second).This season Could have been better but we were favs to go to the playoffs from the start and did. The way we've gone out is hurting us all.Tie could have been over at ER if the we had a real ref.He deserves another chance.

15-05-2016, 10:54 PM
And who do we bring in who knows the championship better now? You can discount the first season because he didint have enough time(and still finished second).This season Could have been better but we were favs to go to the playoffs from the start and did. The way we've gone out is hurting us all.Tie could have been over at ER if the we had a real ref.He deserves another chance.

If Falkirk don't go up then Houston. What about McCall? Or Mcleish?

15-05-2016, 10:56 PM
Stubbs out!

15-05-2016, 10:56 PM
Stubbs out!

15-05-2016, 10:59 PM
Rubbish

The cup would be incredible. Course it would. Stubbs would be a legend.

That said it doesn't make him the man to be in charge next season. It would be a big mistake to allow the cup to dictate what happens on that front.

15-05-2016, 11:02 PM

If we win the cup this weekend there is no way we would sack him. We have only won 9 major trophies since our formation, 4 leagues, 2 Scottish Cups and 3 League Cups. Are you suggesting that the manager that brings us our tenth should be sacked and deemed a failure? Bringing us our 6th major cup win in 141 years of history

It is absolute lunacy but his tenure hinges on this one game. Two years building a team and now it all comes down to Hibs v's Rangers. There is no middle ground, we win he is a hero, we get beat and it is another season of almosts.

:gwa:

15-05-2016, 11:02 PM
If Falkirk don't go up then Houston. What about McCall? Or Mcleish?

He's just done a two year management crash course with us. Lets see what he can do now. He's 90 minutes away from being a Hibernian legend this week.

15-05-2016, 11:04 PM
He's just done a two year management crash course with us. Lets see what he can do now. He's 90 minutes away from being a Hibernian legend this week.

What would this game tell you about his ability to take us up next year?

I'll tell you. Nothing at all.

15-05-2016, 11:08 PM
If we win the cup this weekend there is no way we would sack him. We have only won 9 major trophies since our formation, 4 leagues, 2 Scottish Cups and 3 League Cups. Are you suggesting that the manager that brings us our tenth should be sacked and deemed a failure? Bringing us our 6th major cup win in 141 years of history

It is absolute lunacy but his tenure hinges on this one game. Two years building a team and now it all comes down to Hibs v's Rangers. There is no middle ground, we win he is a hero, we get beat and it is another season of almosts.

:gwa:

And of those times we won did we have a league target that was very clearly defined? The 2 trophies I have seen us win our league position could be argued as to what was acceptable. Alan Stubbs unfortunately for him had a 100% not up for debate black and white goal and that was promotion.

When Collins won it we were likely hoping for Hibs to finish in Euro spot but we would likely get away with a position a lot lower, Stubbs has no such room for manoeuvre.

15-05-2016, 11:13 PM
What would this game tell you about his ability to take us up next year?

I'll tell you. Nothing at all.Your right it doesnt tell us anything. I think he will have learned enough now to make us champions next season.

15-05-2016, 11:21 PM
Best scenario IMO we win cup and he leaves himself. He wins cup and he leaves with head high. He stays and we are looking dodgy in league then that could really sour things and I wouldn't want that.

Deliver the cup Alan then move on that for me is best for all parties.

15-05-2016, 11:33 PM
And of those times we won did we have a league target that was very clearly defined? The 2 trophies I have seen us win our league position could be argued as to what was acceptable. Alan Stubbs unfortunately for him had a 100% not up for debate black and white goal and that was promotion.

When Collins won it we were likely hoping for Hibs to finish in Euro spot but we would likely get away with a position a lot lower, Stubbs has no such room for manoeuvre.

I'm not sure if I'm honest, of that silverware only two of those trophies have been won in my lifetime. Therefore it is an incredible feat if we do win it and he deserves a shot at it next season. If he gets pursued and leaves to go elsewhere then fair play.

If he wins the cup and we sack him nobody will want the job.

My gut feeling is I don't think he will be here next season. He wins the cup his stock will be high and someone will come in for him. If he doesn't win it then I think he may step down because if we don't get a flying start to next season under his charge then he would be under heavy pressure.

15-05-2016, 11:47 PM
I'm not sure if I'm honest, of that silverware only two of those trophies have been won in my lifetime. Therefore it is an incredible feat if we do win it and he deserves a shot at it next season. If he gets pursued and leaves to go elsewhere then fair play.

If he wins the cup and we sack him nobody will want the job.

My gut feeling is I don't think he will be here next season. He wins the cup his stock will be high and someone will come in for him. If he doesn't win it then I think he may step down because if we don't get a flying start to next season under his charge then he would be under heavy pressure.

Why would he not be under heavy pressure if we win cup? Sorry but winning cup cuts zero slack in next seasons league if he is manager. That is why if he wins he should step aside.

2nd isnt good enough now 2 playoff loses show us that. League simply has to be won and Stubbs has had a very fair chance at it.

15-05-2016, 11:52 PM
While I'm never slow to voice my opinion, I think a ceasefire is probably the way to go now for this week. Nothing is going to happen now until Monday.
After that, whatever happens there will be a huge debate to be had. But for this week, I think just look forward to Saturday.

15-05-2016, 11:59 PM
Why would he not be under heavy pressure if we win cup? Sorry but winning cup cuts zero slack in next seasons league if he is manager. That is why if he wins he should step aside.

2nd isnt good enough now 2 playoff loses show us that. League simply has to be won and Stubbs has had a very fair chance at it.

Winning the Scottish Cup would be a fantastic achievement. As a football club the aim is to win things, we have won 9 major trophies in 141 years so we are not very good at that. Winning a tenth would be huge for the club.

We've had a bad 4/5 months losing against sides we shouldn't have but that could culminate in us winning the Scottish Cup. While I would have liked promotion I would have no hesitation giving Stubbs and his team next season to finish the job they began if they can win on Saturday.

Opinions eh ;)

16-05-2016, 12:28 AM
Where's the option for "he should be fired before the cup final"?

Doesn't deserve to lead us out ever again. An absolute failure.
Oh dear!

16-05-2016, 12:59 AM
Houston @ hibs, aye right :faf: 75% of the support lost in one fell swoop

portohibee
16-05-2016, 07:07 AM
I watched a few interviews with him prior to and after the game on Friday night and from his body language and what he said, especially prior to Friday night, ' I will decide where I go when the season is finished' kinda tells me he's offski.

Look, a 2 horse race and Hibs finished 3rd, not good enough and the aim was to gain promotion, so in that regards he has failed, the big question is who replaces him
Cup runs are all well and good but we got pumped in the last final and I don't hold out much hope for this weekend, so the harsh reality is he has failed allover,

Bye Stubbsy,

16-05-2016, 07:15 AM
The sustained form of Falkirk showed it was never a 2 horse race. Anyone who thought otherwise during the season wasn't watching properly - unless you're talking about 2nd place.

16-05-2016, 07:20 AM
The sustained form of Falkirk showed it was never a 2 horse race. Anyone who thought otherwise during the season wasn't watching properly - unless you're talking about 2nd place.

All we had to do was improve a tiny little bit on the previous season (when we were a complete shambles, only 8 players etc) and we would have been 2nd.

16-05-2016, 07:31 AM

Wheels fell off that ****ty night in Livingston. The fact Falkirk did finish ahead of us cements his position as untenable. To then manage to throw away the play off semi final in the fashion we did is just insulting.

Players can also be blamed in this, however I don't think I'd be alone in thinking this is a talented group of players who really should have pushed The Rangers all the way.

I've been a massive supporter of Alan all season, however it's just not in the clubs interests to keep him on IMO - my only issue is who the F do you get in place of him?

TonyStokeprano
16-05-2016, 07:35 AM

Stubbs said himself Falkirk were to far behind us to worry about at one stage . That's a fact, so it's a pity our manager doesn't watch properly !

16-05-2016, 07:35 AM
Your right it doesnt tell us anything. I think he will have learned enough now to make us champions next season.

I admire your optimism but I disagree. After what he learned last year this season we again were beaten by Dumbarton...twice! I was going to list all the diddy teams that pumped us again this year but I cant be bothered.

With Hearts being replaced by St Mirrem in the league we had easier fixtures yet we regressed on last year, a year which wasn't good enough to start with.

16-05-2016, 07:37 AM
I expect relentless rumour, innuendo and negative drivel in cup final week when we are playing one of the ugly sisters.
The problem is I expect it in the media not on a Hibs forum.
Would it be too much to ask that we all stand together this week and leave the blood letting until the season is over.
The managers position will be dealt with then one way or the other.

TonyStokeprano
16-05-2016, 07:42 AM
He does the same thing over and over again that pish little tippy tippy narrow minfield, everyone knows Falkirk will try and hurt us with crosses so he plays a narrow diamond every time giving they're full backs the freedom of the pitch, it's a stubbornness trying to say I'll beat them my way, shoulda just went 442 with Boyle and Henderson wide in the two games and had a right go at them, keeps the full backs occupied aswell. We're 3rd behind Falkirk for God sake , a few points in front of raith aswell, Ray mackinnon will have stubbs on toast next season with a bigger budget! Regardless of the result on Saturday he'l be gone before the end of may I reckon . Hopefully the next manager doesn't just have one style of football that has to be played at all times!

16-05-2016, 07:48 AM
Just a reminder of what some of us were thinking around this time last year.

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?301204-Expectations&highlight=expectations

high bee
16-05-2016, 08:04 AM
If we hadn't had that horrible run of results and finished 2nd by a distance but still lost to Falkirk in the playoffs I think there would be very few calling for change. It would've been down to losing one tie but we would be confident for next year, as it is we finished behind Falkirk and now have Dundee United, Falkirk/Killie and an unknown in Dunfermilne to deal with.

Can we really afford to let a potential cup win cover that up? It's the league we've struggled with and a cup win doesn't change that. Stubbs and the boys would go down as legends, rightly so, but it would still be for the best to get someone in who will play to win the league at all costs. Who cares if we've only won 9 trophies before, if we were in the premier we could finish 10th and win it and no questions would be asked but we're not and we need to think of the long term health of the club.

16-05-2016, 08:39 AM

:agree: Overwhelmingly for promotion either as champions or through the play offs and also challenging Rangers for the league at least.

Forward a year and same points, no real challenge and finish behind Falkirk, for me that is complete failure and no matter what happens in the cup Stubbs has shown he isn't the man to take us up. We have continued with the same old traits as last season, not enough goals and struggling to overcome 20 men defences, plus a slow laborious build up to our play, we screamed for width and pace at the end of last season and when we signed Boyle we thought, good he's recognised this but then he reverts back to the diamond and Boyle gets cameo appearances :confused:. He has not learnt, still doesn't know how to change a game, subs are bizarre, too loyal to players out of form and when he gets it right he then changes it back for the net game.

On a plus for Stubbs, he has an eye for a young player and the players seem to enjoy training and playing for him but is he maybe too nice and soft?

I think Stubbs thought we'd get up within 2 years and he'd be back down south with his family, promotion gained and his reputation on a high because of this, that is why I think he'll be gone no matter what happens on saturday, 2 years is a long time to be away from family and kids.

16-05-2016, 08:43 AM

Indeed - the redrawing of the lines as we have gone on this year has been remarkable!

16-05-2016, 08:48 AM
I like Stubbs and his management team if we win the cup and stay then Leanne and rodders have to make sure we add and keep some of our better players imo

Dr Jimmy
16-05-2016, 08:48 AM
:agree: Overwhelmingly for promotion either as champions or through the play offs and also challenging Rangers for the league at least.

Forward a year and same points, no real challenge and finish behind Falkirk, for me that is complete failure and no matter what happens in the cup Stubbs has shown he isn't the man to take us up. We have continued with the same old traits as last season, not enough goals and struggling to overcome 20 men defences, plus a slow laborious build up to our play, we screamed for width and pace at the end of last season and when we signed Boyle we thought, good he's recognised this but then he reverts back to the diamond and Boyle gets cameo appearances :confused:. He has not learnt, still doesn't know how to change a game, subs are bizarre, too loyal to players out of form and when he gets it right he then changes it back for the net game.

On a plus for Stubbs, he has an eye for a young player and the players seem to enjoy training and playing for him but is he maybe too nice and soft?

I think Stubbs thought we'd get up within 2 years and he'd be back down south with his family, promotion gained and his reputation on a high because of this, that is why I think he'll be gone no matter what happens on saturday, 2 years is a long time to be away from family and kids.

16-05-2016, 08:53 AM
Indeed - the redrawing of the lines as we have gone on this year has been remarkable!

Who has been redrawing lines? We should have been in a title race, we weren't. Most people expected us to finish first or second and the chat on here is all about how we failed to do that. That failure is based on the original lines.

16-05-2016, 09:05 AM
Who has been redrawing lines? We should have been in a title race, we weren't. Most people expected us to finish first or second and the chat on here is all about how we failed to do that. That failure is based on the original lines.

Somewhat mitigated by 50 odd games played because of cup runs, and a fixture pile up that we couldn't have foreseen.

The legs went, accept it, move on, and don't moan if we get put out early next season.

16-05-2016, 09:12 AM

Matty - I think you will be aware that in recent weeks we've heard that we were never in a position to win the league anyway, then it was that second wasn't that important, it was all about the play offs, now we've failed there the talk is that the cup finals are success. Falkirk are being talked up as always being in with a chance.

All this is quite a long way away from what expectations were when we started the season.

16-05-2016, 09:50 AM

That was why I started that thread in the first place. I just forgot about it. [emoji23]
A lot of happy clappers on here just lower their expectations with each defeat. I saw someone post the other day that we were always going to be down here for two seasons. It's actually quite funny.

16-05-2016, 10:20 AM
That was why I started that thread in the first place. I just forgot about it. [emoji23]
A lot of happy clappers on here just lower their expectations with each defeat. I saw someone post the other day that we were always going to be down here for two seasons. It's actually quite funny.

I think if you look at the shambles that was left when Stubbs came in we gave him a bit of leeway in the 1st season as he had a huge rebuilding job and a short time to do it, this season though it's his squad and we expected to either challenge for the title or be a close second, anything less is seen as abject failure.

16-05-2016, 10:36 AM

What a load of disrespectful pish.
Are these the same people who you are asking to signup for HSL?

16-05-2016, 12:23 PM
Yes he should stay 100%. One thing I would say is he has to be willing to adapt his tactics to what it takes to get out of this horrible league.

Ilovehibs
16-05-2016, 12:27 PM
Matty - I think you will be aware that in recent weeks we've heard that we were never in a position to win the league anyway, then it was that second wasn't that important, it was all about the play offs, now we've failed there the talk is that the cup finals are success. Falkirk are being talked up as always being in with a chance.

All this is quite a long way away from what expectations were when we started the season.

Sums it up perfectly.

16-05-2016, 12:34 PM
We need someone with experience like Neilson or someone who knows the league well like Warburton

16-05-2016, 12:38 PM
It would absolutely redeem him somewhat but yes he would still have to go.

A win on Saturday is simply the difference between him leaving on good terms with my best wished or leaving as a complete failure

16-05-2016, 12:43 PM
It would absolutely redeem him somewhat but yes he would still have to go.

A win on Saturday is simply the difference between him leaving on good terms with my best wished or leaving as a complete failure

It's truly astonishing that we've found ourselves in a position where Hibs fans would want the manager who won us the Scottish Cup sacked. Always thought they would take on a god-like status and we'd name stands after them. Never in all my days....

16-05-2016, 12:44 PM
Circa 47% of people who have voted want Stubbs to remain regardless, 36% want him to go...

FWIW I think he will go, of his own accord. I'm not though one who subscribes to the view this is a good thing. The thought of another rebuild, and another transition period puts next season at risk. I think we have more chance of success with Stubbs than taking a risk with another manager - He has one year left, I hope he honours it and gets us up...then he can do what he wants...

16-05-2016, 12:53 PM
What a load of disrespectful pish.
Are these the same people who you are asking to signup for HSL?

Try not to take it so personally. It's just an observation.

16-05-2016, 12:56 PM
Circa 47% of people who have voted want Stubbs to remain regardless, 36% want him to go...

FWIW I think he will go, of his own accord. I'm not though one who subscribes to the view this is a good thing. The thought of another rebuild, and another transition period puts next season at risk. I think we have more chance of success with Stubbs than taking a risk with another manager - He has one year left, I hope he honours it and gets us up...then he can do what he wants...

I think to survive, even if Saturday goes as we all hope, he would need to do some good explaining of what he thinks we're the reasons behind our lack of goals and what he thinks the solutions are.

16-05-2016, 01:04 PM

Rangers have been through 4 Managers in the time we have had Stubbs. The saw that risk of keeping the failures in charge outweighed the risk of getting the failures out and getting someone else to do the job. I would have happily gone through 4 managers if it meant going up this season.

Changing manager and rebuilding doesn't have to be a 2 or 3 year job. Neilson, McInnes and Warburton all done it in one summer and Mark McGhee did it with Motherwell in even less time.

GreenOnions
16-05-2016, 01:07 PM
We MUST get promotion next season - we'd all agree on that. Failure to do so this season is a major blow but, although I think AS has to take his share of the blame for that, I also believe he has taken us a long way forward from where we were when he arrived. I also like the way in which he's done that. Yes- I accept the bottom line is the outcome - but for me - we've changed managers too frequently in recent years and the upheaval that a new appointment would create might leave us off the pace right from the start again next year.

Allan might decide to leave of his own accord but, if he'd like to stay, I'd like him to do that - to use his experience in this league and to learn from his mistakes.

Keep the faith.

Paloschi
16-05-2016, 01:13 PM
No!

Even if we do win the Scottish he has failed to get us promoted twice and does not deserve a third attempt.

He also clearly is not committed to any long term project here and will be looking to move to England asap.

16-05-2016, 02:55 PM
I think we need a ruthless manager not afraid to make changes and set us up with more steel. I fear it may not be pretty but your Alyerdyce, Warnock types I think would be more suited to get us out.