View Full Version : Tired cliches and phrases you'd do away with...

13-05-2016, 06:29 AM
Generally it's the tabloid-esque sound-bite but In no particular order...

"Wage thief"
"Laughing stock"
"I wish I was wrong"

And the saddest...
"If he was any good he wouldn't be playing at Hibs."

13-05-2016, 06:32 AM
Wage thief and roaster are my two pet hates.

Wage thief is such a strong accusation for someone just not playing well.

Roaster is used to death on here.

13-05-2016, 06:34 AM
He's just about kept that in, referring to an incident where a player has juat kept the ball in the park and no more.

No he hasn't just about kept it in. He's ******* kept it in!

greenlad
13-05-2016, 06:34 AM
These decisions even themselves out over the course of the season
I never saw it
The boy <INSERT PLAYERS SURNAME> is a good lad but he's prone to going down too easily [when he's been poleaxed in the box]

13-05-2016, 06:36 AM
We all know these decisions even themselves out over a season. :rolleyes:

13-05-2016, 06:38 AM
'Tin hat firmly on here' really gets on my t1ts

13-05-2016, 06:38 AM
"I don't think there was any malice intended... It was just a coming together"
[usually when the likes of Mark Hateley has elbowed Geebsie to leave him semi conscious at Ipox to go on and score]

13-05-2016, 06:39 AM
Anything succeeding a "but" or "respectfully" - "but with respect" even worse ;)

13-05-2016, 06:40 AM
'He's got a good touch for a big lad'...no, he has got a good touch regardless of his height.

Joe's ice cream
13-05-2016, 06:49 AM
He's just about kept that in, referring to an incident where a player has juat kept the ball in the park and no more.

It's the same when they say " he was just onside/ offside " actually he is on or off side - fact

hibs69
13-05-2016, 06:52 AM
"I didn't see it"

13-05-2016, 06:54 AM
Just lacking that little bit of quality in the final third/ball etc

aussie_hibee
13-05-2016, 06:54 AM
Get it in the mixer.

13-05-2016, 06:56 AM
Get it in the mixer.

Ha! Craig Patterson special!!

13-05-2016, 06:56 AM
Making teams and players names plural...the Celtics, Chelseas, Arsenals...or your Kanes, Rooneys, Sturridges etc.

13-05-2016, 07:02 AM
It's the same when they say " he was just onside/ offside " actually he is on or off side - fact

This! Drives me nuts!

MKHIBEE
13-05-2016, 07:07 AM
"He's taken one for the team"
No he hasn't , he has just cheated the opposing team out of a goal, chance or whatever

13-05-2016, 07:09 AM
" handbags" !! 😳

13-05-2016, 07:10 AM
Players adding "listen" before every sentence and ending with "to be fair"

Cracks me up! 😁

13-05-2016, 07:11 AM
The worst of all for me and one which we kill off over the next few weeks :

" Hibsed it "

13-05-2016, 07:14 AM
That was always going just over (or wide).

13-05-2016, 07:16 AM
worst -At this moment in time, instead of just saying now!

Favourite - Wooooooooooooof! by archie Macpherson

13-05-2016, 07:17 AM
"He's earnt his side a penalty."

13-05-2016, 07:19 AM
Making teams and players names plural...the Celtics, Chelseas, Arsenals...or your Kanes, Rooneys, Sturridges etc.

... and even worse when they add "of this world".

13-05-2016, 07:22 AM
These decisions even themselves out over the course of the season
I never saw it
The boy <INSERT PLAYERS SURNAME> is a good lad but he's prone to going down too easily [when he's been poleaxed in the box]

Definitely agree with the first one (although events on Tuesday may be influencing me somewhat). There's an implication of science or logic to this when in fact there is absolutely no evidence or rational reason who things even out over the season. Its basically karma, and who really believes in karma in real life?

13-05-2016, 07:24 AM
He's just about got away with that...

13-05-2016, 07:24 AM
"One for the future" annoys me. Especially on this board because 99% of our "one for the futures" end up being rank. The term, opening your mouth and letting your belly rumble comes to mind.

13-05-2016, 07:42 AM
Radio commentators saying 'X team kicks off the half playing left to right' (or vice versa).

13-05-2016, 07:49 AM
Nearly said "the famous" "we're a big team" and "its not debt as we owe it to ourselves" but they should be preserved as examples of historical irony and testimony to how easily people can be led.

13-05-2016, 07:49 AM
"Rangers are the same club"

13-05-2016, 07:50 AM
It's only a minority who sing banned sectarian songs

mmmmhibby
13-05-2016, 08:26 AM
"scapegoat"

Dublin07
13-05-2016, 08:31 AM
For about the last 30 years every time a commentator says it's a set piece my old man says their getting the sandwiches oot again what a loady pish.

13-05-2016, 08:36 AM

13-05-2016, 08:43 AM
Goalkeepers making world-class saves, when they would have to be invisible not to keep the ball out as its smacked straight at them.

Anything Liam McLeod says.

13-05-2016, 08:43 AM

:agree: Commentators spout this stuff all the time. Does my nut in.

woodythehibee
13-05-2016, 08:47 AM
"If anything he's hit it too well" when a striker misses/keeper saves.

"The keeper just about gets his hand to it to push it round the post" no, the keeper did get his hand to it to push it round the post.

13-05-2016, 08:50 AM
According to the newspapers or media, clubs or managers always 'swoop to sign' so and so.

The idea of some managers swooping is patently ridiculous. Basically they've asked someone to sign a contract.

13-05-2016, 08:54 AM
Chairmen who "jet in"

OF planning a "swoop", as Spike says.

"Boyhood heroes"

"Rangers are back in the Premier League..."

"Eyeing a move..."

"Hibsed it" - anyone who uses that on here, should be faxed back to Kaunas. Such a yammish thing to say.

13-05-2016, 08:57 AM
Anything that comes out of alan prestons mouth

Tommy75
13-05-2016, 09:05 AM
"All form goes out of the window in derbies" really bugs me.

13-05-2016, 09:08 AM

That drives me mad as well.

It seems to be an English thing.

13-05-2016, 09:17 AM
Cliff Pike has a good one that he uses fairly often, when he questions whether something was done "by intention or design?".

It's the same thing Cliff - I think "chance or design" is the expression you're wanting.

Anyway, I won't get started on Cliff - I've work to do today.

13-05-2016, 09:29 AM
'hammer throwers'
'It's 2016'
'Penalties/play-offs are a lottery'

TrinityHibs
13-05-2016, 09:32 AM
He gave 110%.......Its just impossible

high bee
13-05-2016, 09:51 AM
"We set up to frustrate them." No you didn't, you decided to waste time, put 10 men behind the ball and kick/manhandle everything that moves. Our national team is so far behind, so much talent wasted by not going out and playing and developing their technical ability.

Dublin07
13-05-2016, 09:54 AM
For about the last 30 years every time a commentator says it's a set piece my old man says their getting the sandwiches oot again what a loady pish.

Sweet Left Peg
13-05-2016, 10:05 AM
"Get a result" when they mean nick a draw or a win. Even if a team get pumped 12-0 they still got a result! Just not a positive result.

Last season after Gareth Bale clearly dived to try to win a penalty the commentator said " you could argue that he's gone to ground to avoid the contact". Nope, he's cheated to gain an advantage. No other way.

13-05-2016, 10:08 AM
"He had too much time to shoot" when in fact he made a mess of it.
"Dearie me" - overused these days
"...and you, sir ...." - giving mocking respect to someone we are disagreeing with.
"Ex-celt" or "ex-Rangers" when the player has played half a season with the OF club and the rest of his career with a non-OF club.
"The old onion bag" - used to be an Irish commentator used this phrase ad nauseum.

Fogzie
13-05-2016, 10:09 AM
"These things balance themselves out over the season. " GGGGRRRR

hibs69
13-05-2016, 10:27 AM
"Get a result" when they mean nick a draw or a win. Even if a team get pumped 12-0 they still got a result! Just not a positive result.

Last season after Gareth Bale clearly dived to try to win a penalty the commentator said " you could argue that he's gone to ground to avoid the contact". Nope, he's cheated to gain an advantage. No other way.

Never watched that diving, cheating bstd since the Scotland Wales game. Point blank refuse. That's all he does......., every time a player is within a few yards, he's producing an oscar winning performance to the ground. A$$hole.

:hilarious Dunbar........., regarding set pieces, that's my old man too.

Cauld Bovril
13-05-2016, 10:44 AM
"Going forward" pre-fixed to every sentence does my head in. Unless you're Marty McFly, we're all "going forward".

13-05-2016, 10:52 AM
"The old onion bag" - used to be an Irish commentator used this phrase ad nauseum.

I like the onion bag - once heard Steve Claridge use it in his own inimitable way. It was something like "If he gets into that position, he's got to stick it in the onion bag".

13-05-2016, 10:55 AM
Fact!

hibs69
13-05-2016, 11:00 AM
"It is what it is" ....., "we are what we are"

someone on here was asking about the crowd at ER the other night........, someone replied with "the crowd is what the crowd is" ? EH?

13-05-2016, 11:08 AM
Commentators (English usually) who go on about the Spanish or the Germans for example instead of Spain or Germany. They would never say " that's Italy through to face the English".

13-05-2016, 11:26 AM
He put his laces throught the ball.

13-05-2016, 11:30 AM

Scouse hibee :wink::na na:

13-05-2016, 11:32 AM
Commentators saying "he's capable of that" just after the player has done whatever it was that he was clearly capable of.

13-05-2016, 11:35 AM
Just after some team scores a goal and fans turn and say

"See....it's that simple/easy"

The hibs tv commentator said for Henderson goal against falkirk

"See its that easy, pass back, cross it in, head it across goal and half volley it in" or something similar.

norhfc
13-05-2016, 11:46 AM
I for one....in any sentence.

13-05-2016, 11:55 AM
"Hibsed it" - anyone who uses that on here, should be faxed back to Kaunas. Such a yammish thing to say.

Same with any phrase that is used attached to our club in a negative sense. "Only hibs", "the hibs way" etc...are others who's users can also bugger off to Tynecastle.

"Accepting mediocrity" is another on here. It's just smacks of today's instant gratification/consumer based society that we live in and should have bugger all to do with sport. Yes, it's a sport, not a contract with service level agreements.

13-05-2016, 12:08 PM
Quality....

That pass was pure quality. What a quality finish from a quality player. Drives me pure radge....

13-05-2016, 12:14 PM
"He's a big strong lad, he'll be back on his feet and ready to play on" - when the boy could be lying on the ground with concussion.

"Using all his experience" - How many years do you have to have played the game to know that it's an idea to take the ball to the corner flag when protecting a lead?

"You see that a lot with european/foreign players" - No, it's just when it's an English player, you call it something else.

"You'd like to think common sense would prevail" - No I wouldn't, I'd like to see the referee doing his job according to the rules. And don't tell me what I'd like to think.

"This early in the game...." - I'll stop you there, a booking is a booking, regardless if there is one minute gone, one minute to go or any other time!!

Septimus
13-05-2016, 12:15 PM
The use of the word insists as in eg McCracken insists he did not handle the ball.

hibbydog
13-05-2016, 12:17 PM
Wage thief and roaster are my two pet hates.

Wage thief is such a strong accusation for someone just not playing well.

Roaster is used to death on here.

*****ing roaster !!

13-05-2016, 12:23 PM
:clapper: for some great shouts.

when a player makes a good run to get to a ball that is on its way out, and manages to get a cross in

"He had no right getting to that ball!"

13-05-2016, 12:25 PM
In the aftermath of a player being sent off for a horrendous challenge I ****ing hate "He's not that type of player" from their manager or pundits!!

13-05-2016, 01:17 PM
" opened up a tin of beans " :giruy2:

since90plustwo
13-05-2016, 01:18 PM
''We wouldve won if he scored that''

13-05-2016, 01:20 PM
" opened up a tin of beans " :giruy2:

:giruy2:

13-05-2016, 01:27 PM
'Last Man' - and he usually isn't, even if there was a 'last man' rule which there's not.

'He's entitled to go down there' - Where does this 'entitlement' come from? It's no as if he's paid for an afternoon in Scorpio Leisure!

crewetollhibee
13-05-2016, 01:34 PM
They both went for the same ball - how many balls are on the park ?

13-05-2016, 01:44 PM
They both went for the same ball - how many balls are on the park ?

Or 47, depends on the ref.

Man Down Under
13-05-2016, 01:58 PM
"seething"

Sent from my SM-J200Y using Tapatalk

1987kev
13-05-2016, 02:05 PM
A young player being called the new messi or ronaldo or any other world class player

13-05-2016, 02:09 PM
In the aftermath of a player being sent off for a horrendous challenge I ****ing hate "He's not that type of player" from their manager or pundits!!

:agree: Especially when it's repeated often and he clearly IS that type of player e.g Goodwin, Cattermole etc.

Yorkshire HFC
13-05-2016, 02:17 PM
Hibs are too good for this league.

Hopefully we can put this one to bed over the next couple of weeks.

13-05-2016, 02:19 PM
Putting opinions to bed.

13-05-2016, 02:20 PM

:top marks :thumbsup:

Thought it was only me that was as pedantic as this! :greengrin But I agree entirely

Tommy75
13-05-2016, 02:25 PM
"The business end of the season" does my head in.

13-05-2016, 02:27 PM
"If anything he's hit it too well" when a striker misses/keeper saves.

"The keeper just about gets his hand to it to push it round the post" no, the keeper did get his hand to it to push it round the post.

I just about wet myself when Hibs are hanging on to a 1-0 lead for the last fifteen minutes. Luckily, I don't actually. :greengrin

Yet.........

13-05-2016, 02:37 PM
""You'd like to think common sense would prevail" - No I wouldn't, I'd like to see the referee doing his job according to the rules. And don't tell me what I'd like to think.

"This early in the game...." - I'll stop you there, a booking is a booking, regardless if there is one minute gone, one minute to go or any other time!!

"The Ref done well to keep it 11 v 11"

That is not his job. He's there to apply the rules of the game, not to interpret them.

13-05-2016, 02:39 PM
" he's got that in his locker " ...... eh ?? 😂

13-05-2016, 02:40 PM
" He's playing in the hole " !!!! 🙈

13-05-2016, 02:50 PM
When pundits talk about a manager "that likes to get the ball down and play".

cozy sausage
13-05-2016, 02:54 PM
"..twists and turns..." used at every conceivable opportunity from about April to end of the season.

Incidentally is a twist different from a turn?

JJP
13-05-2016, 02:57 PM
Fans calling the Scottish Cup, "the Scottish" makes my skin crawl for some reason. Probably because the first place I seen it was on Kickback but more and more seem to be using it on here now.

13-05-2016, 03:00 PM
The balls round, its meant to roll...or
The six packs lumpy, its there to be touched

13-05-2016, 03:16 PM
"On balance of play, we deserved to win today."

Nah, just put the ball in the net more than the other side and THEN you deserve to win.

"The lads are excellent in training"

Who cares, just do it when it matters!

"He/they literally...."

Don't bother finishing that sentence until you find out what literally means.

13-05-2016, 03:17 PM
"In my HONEST opinion". As if it gives it more gravitas than IMO.

"Must-win game" cos when is a match ever a MUST win.... ;)

IMHO.

13-05-2016, 03:19 PM
Anything that comes out of Preston's gob.

13-05-2016, 03:22 PM
'Come on, we're the better team here'

Na, the better team is usually winning

Time For Heroes
13-05-2016, 03:26 PM
" He's playing in the hole " !!!! 🙈

13-05-2016, 03:43 PM
'Tin hat firmly on here' really gets on my t1ts

...really gets on my t1ts.... :-)

Newcastlehibby
13-05-2016, 03:44 PM
He's won a penalty. No, he's been fouled in the box resulting in the award of a penalty.

"How are you?" "I'm good." You may well be but you are being asked how you are, not what you are!!

Santa Cruz
13-05-2016, 03:49 PM
People who shout 'second ball' the whole game

GordonR
13-05-2016, 04:05 PM
"...at the end of the day."

Idiotic, meaningless statement that anyone in football - players, managers, pundits - feel compelled to add into a sentence.

13-05-2016, 04:10 PM
"In my HONEST opinion". As if it gives it more gravitas than IMO.

"Must-win game" cos when is a match ever a MUST win.... ;)

IMHO.

Scottish Cup final is a must win game...no replay if it's a draw.

13-05-2016, 04:13 PM
Some bizarre examples on this thread of everyday descriptions and phrases that annoy folk!

13-05-2016, 04:15 PM
When someone tries a 25 yarder and the commentator says " he was never going to beat the keeper from there"
And " working their socks off"

13-05-2016, 04:18 PM
Some bizarre examples on this thread of everyday descriptions and phrases that annoy folk!

I've never heard anybody in football EVER come out with that phrase.

13-05-2016, 04:25 PM

I was just thinking that but I won't name them. Don't want to offend.

P.s. There's eff all wrong with "hibs class" :greengrin

13-05-2016, 04:38 PM
I've never heard anybody in football EVER come out with that phrase.

😂😂

13-05-2016, 04:39 PM
He gave 110%.......Its just impossible

So is the square root of -1 but we still use it.

rotherhamrob
13-05-2016, 04:45 PM
Armageddon

13-05-2016, 05:40 PM
Generally it's the tabloid-esque sound-bite but In no particular order...

"Wage thief"
"Laughing stock"
"I wish I was wrong"

And the saddest...
"If he was any good he wouldn't be playing at Hibs."

French teams being referred to as "French cracks" in the press. Where does that come from?

"He's got a cultured left foot..." A term never used for someone with a great right foot.

13-05-2016, 05:53 PM
The commentator on Sky Sports always says players "just about" manage to do something when they do something successfully.

The term "quality" is also overused when describing players in the SPL.

13-05-2016, 06:05 PM
A game of 2 halfs, are there anymore than 2

13-05-2016, 06:19 PM
People on here referring to other fans as " daytrippers" or " part timers", total uberfunds.

Other that are strange and over used " in and around the box" and the classic " eye watering or eye bleedingly bad football"

Not a fan of the "yam" term either, nor do I like the whole " peado" thing that some seem to overuse on here.

I do rather like the continuing use of "Hun", "soapdodger" and best of all............GGTTH

ChicoM1875
13-05-2016, 06:36 PM
"the current incumbent" - who talks like that??

heid the baw
13-05-2016, 07:21 PM
"The spectre of extra time is looming" Pishy saying which is guaranteed to be used every cup game when it is level with 10 to go.

aussie_hibee
13-05-2016, 07:39 PM
At least half of these have been used already by the commentators tonight!!!!!

JK Rolling
13-05-2016, 10:22 PM
The worst of all for me and one which we kill off over the next few weeks :

" Hibsed it "

The Scottish Cup Final will do one of two things with this phrase. It will either : -

1. Kill it stone dead

or

2. Carve it in stone

Stubbsy, over to you. :cool2:

13-05-2016, 10:24 PM
"The spectre of extra time is looming" Pishy saying which is guaranteed to be used every cup game when it is level with 10 to go.

God I hate that saying. Only fairly recently for some strange reason. :-D

14-05-2016, 12:06 PM
"the current incumbent" - who talks like that??

The Tache used it when sacking Yogi, IIRC.

14-05-2016, 01:13 PM
The Tache used it when sacking Yogi, IIRC.
Not quite. He described Yogi as the previous incumbent when Yogi was whining away about something or other (probably his sacking) in the press.