View Full Version : Liverpool Dominant

05-05-2016, 08:55 PM
That's how to turn a first leg defeat around absolutely pumped them tonight all over the pitch.

berwickhibee
05-05-2016, 08:58 PM
Superb again tonight. Hibs,some of this tempo on Saturday please,Villarreal were suffocated from the 1st minute ,excellent performance.

05-05-2016, 08:59 PM
Have we had the drug testing staff in yet to take their samples?

murray26
05-05-2016, 09:00 PM
The fans were also right up for it which helped..

The really big clubs in Europe don't care about the Europa league. Liverpool are now at that second tier level eg Sevilla , Shaktar ect.

Superb again tonight. Hibs,some of this tempo on Saturday please,Villarreal were suffocated from the 1st minute ,excellent performance.

If they win it, what are the champions league implications

05-05-2016, 09:02 PM

England receive a fifth place, which Liverpool would fill. Same for Spain if Sevilla were to win it

05-05-2016, 09:02 PM
The really big clubs in Europe don't care about the Europa league. Liverpool are now at that second tier level eg Sevilla , Shaktar ect.

Yawn zzzzzxxx

05-05-2016, 09:03 PM
England receive a fifth place, which Liverpool would fill. Same for Spain if Sevilla were to win it

Jesus, not much of a champions league if 5 teams from one country are involved

05-05-2016, 09:04 PM

Nothing.

Five teams from the same country can qualify for the Champions League so the top four teams plus Liverpool would qualify.

05-05-2016, 09:05 PM
Yawn zzzzzxxx

You don't see the Barca , Bayerns , Real's ect celebrating a Europa league victory. Primarily because they are not reduced to having to playing at that level.

Liverpool are small fry in Europe these days and have been for years.

05-05-2016, 09:06 PM
I'm not a Liverpool fan but it's tough not to like Klopp and despite a penalty shout 2nd half and a shot early in the game, Villarreal didn't really manage to create any problems for Liverpool.

Looking forward to seeing if Liverpool can put together that kind of performance in the final. Every chance of winning it if they do.

05-05-2016, 09:07 PM
You don't see the Barca , Bayerns , Real's ect celebrating a Europa league victory. Primarily because they are not reduced to having to playing at that level.

Hahaha carry on pal you're hilarious

05-05-2016, 09:08 PM
A pity since Villarreal really are an example to other modest clubs ( like Hibs ) of how good management at all levels can get success . Only saw second half and Villareal seemed to have kept a bad performance for a big night but even then 2 decisions ( sending off which was probably right but would have been missed by many refs and allowing 3rd goal which looked offside ) meant there was no nervy finish for Liverpool .

05-05-2016, 09:09 PM
I've just read that Liverpool will receive under 9k tickets for the final in Basel :faf:

05-05-2016, 09:09 PM
Hahaha carry on pal you're hilarious

It's just pointing out the facts. If it hurts and you choose to make a joke of it then fair enough , carry on 'pal' :greengrin.

05-05-2016, 09:11 PM
A pity since Villarreal really are an example to other modest clubs ( like Hibs ) of how good management at all levels can get success . Only saw second half and Villareal seemed to have kept a bad performance for a big night but even then 2 decisions ( sending off which was probably right but would have been missed by many refs and allowing 3rd goal which looked offside ) meant there was no nervy finish for Liverpool .

3rd goal was onside and Liverpool totally pissed all over them,they were never allowed to play because they were totally dominated.

05-05-2016, 09:13 PM
It's just pointing out the facts. If it hurts and you choose to make a joke of it then fair enough , carry on 'pal' :greengrin.

Hurts me hahahahahaha yer avin a laugh.

05-05-2016, 09:14 PM

Yeah, that small fry that they're continuously within the top 10 biggest football clubs in the world, year on year. Give yourself a shake you moron.

Its been a long process, however we seem to be turning the corner.

05-05-2016, 09:16 PM
I read somewhere that if City dropped into the Europa League from the group stages of the champions league they would withdraw from the tournament due to it being small-time. :agree:

05-05-2016, 09:18 PM
I read somewhere that if City dropped into the Europa League from the group stages of the champions league they would withdraw from the tournament due to it being small-time. :agree:

Yeah, well with all there European history, its just not a big enough tournament. :greengrin

Good luck to your guys in the final scouse, it's a decent achievement getting there. I reckon you're good enough to beat Sevilla :aok:

Keep trying pal :-)

Hibtastic
05-05-2016, 09:19 PM
The fact Liverpool could get into the champions league is very very important to attract quality players next season so it's no wonder they are celebrating! They are still one of the best teams from the premiership to watch and Jurgen Klopp is impossible to dislike!

To say they are small fry is just nonsense - they are one of the biggest clubs in the world and is why a world class manager took the job there!

05-05-2016, 09:20 PM
Keep trying pal :-)

I was going to say I hope you get a ticket if you want one but it looks like the "football family" are taking the lions share. 9000 for a final is ridiculous.

05-05-2016, 09:20 PM
I feel sorry for fans of the small clubs like City who have no European pedigree and the chances of ever reaching a European final are just a pipe dream.

05-05-2016, 09:21 PM

Liverpool are small fry in Europe these days and have been for years.The same Bayern who drew with Aberdeen in the Uefa cup less than 10 years ago?

Yeah, that small fry that they're continuously within the top 10 biggest football clubs in the world, year on year. Give yourself a shake you moron.

Its been a long process, however we seem to be turning the corner.

The Europa League means **** all to the top European clubs. You are kidding yourself on if you think otherwise.

Vamos Sevilla! :thumbsup:

05-05-2016, 09:22 PM
Delighted to see Sevilla through to the final again. My mate has been a fan since he visited there when he was wee and managed to make a few games. A few years ago him and I celebrated Hibs and Sevilla both being in the Europa league, mental to think they haven't been knocked out since then.

05-05-2016, 09:23 PM
The same Bayern who drew with Aberdeen in the Uefa cup less than 10 years ago?

Probably proves my point more than yours ,no?

05-05-2016, 09:23 PM

I was going to say I hope you get a ticket if you want one but it looks like the "football family" are taking the lions share. 9000 for a final is ridiculous.

Yep there will be one hell of a crowd outside I reckon, I already know of one Edinburgh footballer who has 2 tickets for the final through his agent. Him and his brother are both Reds supporters so lucky them.

05-05-2016, 09:24 PM
The Europa League means **** all to the top European clubs. You are kidding yourself on if you think otherwise.

At the end of the day, it doesn't matter a jot what it means to other clubs.... Liverpool have made the final, giving them the opportunity at Champions League football next year, which is a massive coup if achieved.

You said Liverpool are small fry - d'ya think Jurgen Klopp, arguably one of the best football managers on the planet thought that when they called? F OFF.

05-05-2016, 09:25 PM
3rd goal was onside and Liverpool totally pissed all over them,they were never allowed to play because they were totally dominated.Fine . Looked offside but to be honest I`m not bothered as Hibs are only club team I really follow . Should be a good final . Lot of comparisons with Sevilla and Hibs this season . Both got to 2 cup finals with league results suffering at same time ( our target was promotion , Sevilla`s qualifying for Champions League ) . Hopefully we`ll still get promoted with cup to go with it and Sevilla can still qualify for CL by beating Liverpool and win Spanish Cup as bonus though Hibs stuff is what really matters .

05-05-2016, 09:27 PM
At the end of the day, it doesn't matter a jot what it means to other clubs.... Liverpool have made the final, giving them the opportunity at Champions League football next year, which is a massive coup if achieved.

You said Liverpool are small fry - d'ya think Jurgen Klopp, arguably one of the best football managers on the planet thought that when they called? F OFF.

Cmon now. That's you called me a moron and told me to **** off in 2 posts, if your going to lose a debate atleast do it with some class :greengrin.

05-05-2016, 09:27 PM
Fine . Looked offside but to be honest I`m not bothered as Hibs are only club team I really follow . Should be a good final . Lot of comparisons with Sevilla and Hibs this season . Both got to 2 cup finals with league results suffering at same time ( our target was promotion , Sevilla`s qualifying for Champions League ) . Hopefully we`ll still get promoted with cup to go with it and Sevilla can still qualify for CL by beating Liverpool and win Spanish Cup as bonus though Hibs stuff is what really matters .

Liverpool have a similar scenario to Hibs, beaten in the League Cup Final, league position poor and in another final.

05-05-2016, 09:28 PM
Probably proves my point more than yours ,no?No, it proves that things can change very quickly in football. Bayern were pretty awful then, no reason Liverpool can't be a top side under Klopp.

Never understood why people feel to need to insult and belittle the achievements of clubs that aren't even rivals of the one they support, utterly pathetic. Liverpool have done brilliant to get to the final, only 2 clubs wouldn't swap their European campaigns for Liverpools and that is the 2 champions league finalists.

05-05-2016, 09:28 PM
Cmon now. That's you called me a moron and told me to **** off in 2 posts, if your going to lose a debate atleast do it with some class :greengrin.

It's a passionate game :-)

05-05-2016, 09:31 PM

The F OFF was in reference to the rhetorical question, not you....
The moron was perhaps harsh (apologies), however stating that Liverpool are 'small fry' in the football world is a bit of a daft statement, no?

05-05-2016, 09:37 PM
The F OFF was in reference to the rhetorical question, not you....
The moron was perhaps harsh (apologies), however stating that Liverpool are 'small fry' in the football world is a bit of a daft statement, no?

Liverpool are a great club with potential to get back to the top table of European football. They have an almost unrivalled European history.

At this time though they are miles away from the top European clubs and in that regard they are small fry compared to Barca , Bayern ect. If Liverpool next season finish 4th in their domestic league it would be seen as success for them. That's not the mindset of a top European club.

05-05-2016, 09:38 PM
Watched the game in our local, met another Hibs fan (for the first time) and talked Hibs all night, much to everyone elses amusement/amazement.

We'll smash these in Europe next season :wink:

05-05-2016, 09:39 PM
Liverpool are a great club with potential to get back to the top table of European football. They have an almost unrivalled European history.

At this time though they are miles away from the top European clubs and in that regard they are small fry compared to Barca , Bayern ect. If Liverpool next season finish 4th in their domestic league it would be seen as success. That's not the mindset of a top European club.

05-05-2016, 09:44 PM

You might be right about those three clubs, but them only. Across Europe the Europa league is taken very seriously by big and middle sized teams everywhere; French German Dutch teams all play full strength teams in it always. And ask Sevilla what their unprecedented treble felt like. It's only the crazy TV deal that's made it a minor tournament for English clubs.

05-05-2016, 10:04 PM
Jesus, not much of a champions league if 5 teams from one country are involved

It's never been the Champions League since day 1. The UEFA money men killed it. Farcical title for the competition.

05-05-2016, 10:05 PM
You might be right about those three clubs, but them only. Across Europe the Europa league is taken very seriously by big and middle sized teams everywhere; French German Dutch teams all play full strength teams in it always. And ask Sevilla what their unprecedented treble felt like. It's only the crazy TV deal that's made it a minor tournament for English clubs. Disagree . Barca , Real Madrid , Bayern , Juventus , PSG , Milan clubs , top English clubs ... do not want to be in Europa League and finishing 3rd in CL groups is their nightmare ( Arsenal always seem to scrape into last 16 when 3rd and EL looks more likely but I`m sure they pray for 2nd or 4th ) .

Reaper
05-05-2016, 10:08 PM
Delighted. Folk can knock Liverpool all they want and half the supposed 'Big Clubs' nowadays only have money, not history or status. End of the day there's only two teams that can say they were successful in Europe at the end of each season. CL winners and EL winners.

05-05-2016, 10:24 PM
Delighted. Folk can knock Liverpool all they want and half the supposed 'Big Clubs' nowadays only have money, not history or status. End of the day there's only two teams that can say they were successful in Europe at the end of each season. CL winners and EL winners.

It beggars belief that fans of other teams knock competitions as being insignificant. As you say there are now only two European trophies to be won. It's the same with the numpties dismissing the League Cup.If your club wins a trophy, any trophy it is a measure of their success on the pitch which is all that matters to supporters.

hibs69
05-05-2016, 10:38 PM
Watched the game in our local, met another Hibs fan (for the first time) and talked Hibs all night, much to everyone elses amusement/amazement.

We'll smash these in Europe next season :wink:

Holy sheet......., how many pints did you both have?

05-05-2016, 10:38 PM
Its not the same now European giants like Hibs don't bother with it. We were making European semi finals when the likes of Liverpool were ar5ing about in the second division.:greengrin

Enjoyed the game tonight, thought Liverpool played very well, should be an interesting final against Europa league specialists Sevilla, oddly small venue for the final though.

05-05-2016, 10:40 PM
Holy sheet......., how many pints did you both have?

2, its midweek. I run a pint each half policy for midweek games in the pub. :greengrin

majorhibs
06-05-2016, 03:21 AM

Get out of here! What a zoomer! Hibs fans? The Europa league is 2nd tier. Where were YOU when Hibs played in Europes 3 competitions, with some of the finest squads imaginable? Oh aye in yer latest fifa for zoomers Europa league doesnae matter. I sometimes wonder what planet you people populate, or. what carefully orchestrated world it is you see looks like? Thank F tho I am never there.

06-05-2016, 06:54 AM
I enjoy watching Europa League games more than CL which I very rarely watch a full game from. Too predictable.

Oddly I seem to have also started watching more League 1/2 and non-league fare from England.

CorrieHibs
06-05-2016, 07:15 AM

Good one!

06-05-2016, 08:13 AM
Get out of here! What a zoomer! Hibs fans? The Europa league is 2nd tier. Where were YOU when Hibs played in Europes 3 competitions, with some of the finest squads imaginable? Oh aye in yer latest fifa for zoomers Europa league doesnae matter. I sometimes wonder what planet you people populate, or. what carefully orchestrated world it is you see looks like? Thank F tho I am never there.

Very strange for a 'Hibs fan' to knock his own team like that. No time for that kind of keek at all.

Giro Playboy
06-05-2016, 08:17 AM
That's how to turn a first leg defeat around absolutely pumped them tonight all over the pitch. Thats what happens when you have a vastly experienced tactically astute manager

06-05-2016, 08:38 AM
Very strange for a 'Hibs fan' to knock his own team like that. No time for that kind of keek at all.

Is this referring to myself? In what way have I knocked Hibs, we are talking about Liverpool. Hibs and Liverpool will always be poles apart in the footballing world so you can't make a comparison.

Like I said above Liverpool are a great club, a proper football club if you like, but currently they are not a top European side. Maybe the term small fry was abit OTT but I don't think you can argue that they are not currently sitting at Europe top table. The have a great manager so they might get back to the top.

I stand by initial comment though that the very top clubs don't care for the Europa league.

Giro Playboy
06-05-2016, 09:06 AM
- Jurgen Klopp, arguably one of the best football managers on the planet If he was that he would not be at Liverpool. Could you imagine Guardiola, Mourhinio or Simone going to Anfield

06-05-2016, 09:29 AM
If he was that he would not be at Liverpool. Could you imagine Guardiola, Mourhinio or Simone going to Anfield

No they would be **** scared of going to an English club that couldn't buy them the title. Klopp had the balls and faith in his highly regarded ability to take on the big boys and he will give them a run for their money.

06-05-2016, 09:35 AM
If he was that he would not be at Liverpool. Could you imagine Guardiola, Mourhinio or Simone going to Anfield

Have a word with yourself. Other than Simeone on that list, they would'nt come cause Liverpool don't have billions to bankroll success. Jurgen Klopp is once again proving himself to be an outstanding man manager who is extremely tactically astute. BTW - I think he'd be on the shortlist for Bayern, Chelsea, Man UTD, Real, M City... etc etc had he not been snapped up when he was.

hibs69
06-05-2016, 09:39 AM
Like someone else also said......., it's impossible to dislike him. I YouTube Jurgen Klopp interviews when I'm feeling depressed......, (a depressed Hibee? No!) ....., his positivity rubs off. Night and day between him and Mourinho.

06-05-2016, 10:11 AM
Is this referring to myself? In what way have I knocked Hibs, we are talking about Liverpool. Hibs and Liverpool will always be poles apart in the footballing world so you can't make a comparison.

Like I said above Liverpool are a great club, a proper football club if you like, but currently they are not a top European side. Maybe the term small fry was abit OTT but I don't think you can argue that they are not currently sitting at Europe top table. The have a great manager so they might get back to the top.

I stand by initial comment though that the very top clubs don't care for the Europa league.

Was talking about 'majorHibs' comment....the person who I quoted..

06-05-2016, 10:46 AM
Was talking about 'majorHibs' comment....the person who I quoted..

Apologies. I tbought you were agreeing with his comments he made towards myself.

06-05-2016, 10:49 AM
Rubbish. The only clubs who don't take the Europa League seriously are some from England.

The only thing wrong with it is UEFA forcing matches to be played on a Thursday and often at silly kick-off times.

since90plustwo
06-05-2016, 12:13 PM

So where does Dortmund dropping players for their derby game vs Schalke for the second leg at Anfield? Are they not a big club?

06-05-2016, 03:30 PM
No they would be **** scared of going to an English club that couldn't buy them the title. Klopp had the balls and faith in his highly regarded ability to take on the big boys and he will give them a run for their money.

To be honest I think Klopp has the potential to be successful at Liverpool.

By successful I mean find and develop players who can eventually take the step up to one of the established champions league teams like City.

Liverpool and United can definitely influence things indirectly. :agree:

06-05-2016, 03:44 PM

By successful I mean find and develop players who can eventually take the step up to one of the established champions league teams like City.

:fishin:

06-05-2016, 03:52 PM

Don't be daft. Klopp was the one they all wanted. Most respected coach in the world game bar none. The scousers were very very lucky to get him.

06-05-2016, 03:55 PM
If he was that he would not be at Liverpool. Could you imagine Guardiola, Mourhinio or Simone going to Anfield:faf:

Klopp won the Bundesliga twice and took Dortmund to the champions league final, he is an incredible manager.

majorhibs
06-05-2016, 04:40 PM

See what you want to see. I was "knocking" billy big baws who seems to ken what every team does or doesnt deem important. Nae time for you or yer usa at all.

06-05-2016, 05:58 PM

You love this fishing lark don't you.Nice try no cigar.

06-05-2016, 06:04 PM
You love this fishing lark don't you.Nice try no cigar.

Fishing? Outrageous accusation. :-)

06-05-2016, 06:44 PM
Liverpool dominant? Have we gone back in time to 1980? :greengrin

06-05-2016, 06:48 PM
Liverpool dominant? Have we gone back in time to 1980? :greengrin

Watching them play last night it looked like it :-)

06-05-2016, 06:55 PM
Watching them play last night it looked like it :-)

A wee bit of sidetracking here, Scouse :greengrin

A few years ago I was asked a quiz question regarding naming players that have played for Liverpool, whose initials are LL. I got two but was told there are more.

My two were Larry Lloyd and Lucas Leiva.

Are there more and if so could you put me out of my misery and name them? :greengrin

06-05-2016, 07:14 PM
A wee bit of sidetracking here, Scouse :greengrin

A few years ago I was asked a quiz question regarding naming players that have played for Liverpool, whose initials are LL. I got two but was told there are more.

My two were Larry Lloyd and Lucas Leiva.

Are there more and if so could you put me out of my misery and name them? :greengrin

JB I have been asked this question before and after coming up with the same two,I later checked records and could find no more.

06-05-2016, 07:15 PM
JB I have been asked this question before and after coming uo with the same two,I later checked records and could find no more.

Cheers Scouse. Was driving me nuts but like you, I couldn't find any others :aok: