View Full Version : Hibs supporting political types

03-05-2016, 06:51 PM
Fair to say this week's Scottish Parliamentary elections have hardly fired the country's imagination but just as a topical aside from more important matters on the pitch, I've been trying to think of MPs and MSPs and local councillors (past and present) who support or supported Hibs.

Anyone aware of others?

SNP: Kenny Macaskill (also HSL chairman)

Labour: Kezia Dugdale, Iain Gray, Malcolm Chisholm

Conservative: Brian Monteith, Brian Meek (deceased), Sir Malcolm Rifkind (rumoured), Ramsay Dalgety (former Edinburgh councillor and deputy chairman of the Hibs Supporters Assocation)

Lib Dems: ???

Greens: ???

03-05-2016, 07:19 PM
SNP: Ian Blackford, MP for Ross, Skye and Lochaber.He posts on the Bounce.

03-05-2016, 07:22 PM
Lloyd Quinan is a SNP-supporting Hibby is he not?

muzzando
03-05-2016, 07:26 PM
Margo MacDonald was a Hibby

03-05-2016, 07:26 PM
Surely Malcolm Rifkind is an establishment Yam? He looks like one of that lot :greengrin

03-05-2016, 07:36 PM
Was Ron Brown a Hibby?

Sorry, popular fire-brand Ron Brown, to give him his proper Evening News name.

They don't make politicians like him anymore!

03-05-2016, 07:45 PM
Stefan Tymkewycz - was local leith SNP councillor couple of years back ,big Hibs fan

03-05-2016, 07:48 PM
Was Ron Brown a Hibby?

Yip he sure was colourful:greengrin

03-05-2016, 07:50 PM
The Labour MP for Clackmannanshire under Tony Blair, O'Neil (?), or am I just making that up?:confused:

03-05-2016, 07:52 PM
The Labour MP for Clackmannanshire under Tony Blair, O'Neil (?), or am I just making that up?:confused:

Martin O'Neill?

Yes, I think he is.

03-05-2016, 08:01 PM
David Martin Labour MEP is a Hibs fan.

Willie Dunn was a councillor on City of Edinburgh Council and later on West Lothian Council.

WeeWendy
03-05-2016, 08:02 PM
Keith Brown is a huge Hibs fan, as is Susan Deacon

03-05-2016, 08:02 PM
Former Edinburgh North MP, Sir Alex Fletcher (now deceased) was a lifelong Hibee

03-05-2016, 08:08 PM
Keith Brown is a huge Hibs fan, as is Susan Deacon

Is he? I stayed 3 doors from him and didnt know this, nice guy

03-05-2016, 08:09 PM
Gavin Strang former Edinburgh East MP, my old MP way back in the day. Pretty sure he was a member of the HOH committee.

03-05-2016, 08:16 PM
Was Ron Brown a Hibby?

I once asked him the question, he refused to say who he supported, said he likes to see both Edinburgh teams do well. I pressed him on the question determined to get an answer because there was an election coming up and I told him my vote depended on his answer. He lost my vote as he continually refused to tell me who he really supported, I think he may have been a Hun. Not sure about other political Hibbies but The Prime Minister supports Aston Ham United when he's not tax dodging or sticking his welt into pigs mouths

03-05-2016, 08:23 PM
Fair to say this week's Scottish Parliamentary elections have hardly fired the country's imagination but just as a topical aside from more important matters on the pitch, I've been trying to think of MPs and MSPs and local councillors (past and present) who support or supported Hibs.

Anyone aware of others?

Conservative: Brian Monteith, Brian Meek (deceased), Sir Malcolm Rifkind (rumoured), Ramsay Dalgety (former Edinburgh councillor and deputy chairman of the Hibs Supporters Assocation)

Greens: ???I think, Mr GB that you have slyly contrived in a sly way to involve politics and somehow impose your political preference on this forum. your avatar says something, and the high profile names tries to get a message over. just my opinion, but if it's political argument you wish then so be it

03-05-2016, 08:27 PM
I spoke (half canned at the end of the night) to Kez Dugdale at the recent player of the year event, charming lady and big Hibby.

03-05-2016, 08:41 PM

Yes, Martin O'Neill, now Lord O'Neill. I'd forgotten about him. Big Hibs fan.

03-05-2016, 08:54 PM
Ex Labour Finance Minister Angus MacKay had a photo of the 6-2 game up in his office, used to sit in the East. He left politics, no idea what he's up to now.

03-05-2016, 08:58 PM
Margo MacDonald was a Hibby

Of course, knew I'd forgotten an obvious one. She was a great Hibby. I've never been sure if her husband Jim Sillars is a Hibs fan tho.

cam2644
03-05-2016, 09:01 PM
Former Edinburgh North MP, Sir Alex Fletcher (now deceased) was a lifelong Hibee
Yes that is true. Not that I like to admit to it.

03-05-2016, 09:09 PM
David Begg - last seen in some Greek/Cypriot bar in London for the Aek Athens game - along with Irvine Welsh and other London/exiled Hibees. I think we drank the bar dry that night ;) the wonders of the Internet in the days of yore.

superbam
03-05-2016, 09:11 PM
Malcolm Rifkind tacitly supports hearts.

03-05-2016, 09:27 PM
Yes that is true. Not that I like to admit to it.

To him being a Hibby or a Tory? :greengrin

03-05-2016, 10:18 PM
Malcolm Rifkind tacitly supports hearts.

Yes, I wasn't sure about him. I recall he was in the old centre stand at Easter Road many years ago with his great pal Brian Meek (former convenor of Lothian Regional Council when such a thing existed and who was a lifelong Hibby) and was asked on a political programme shortly afterwards who he supported. As with Ron Brown, who somebody mentioned earlier on this thread, he said something along the lines of liking to see both Edinburgh teams do well. I guess MPs who operate in two-team cities are often deliberately coy about such things. I think the claim that Ron Brown was actually a Rangers fan may have been true.

03-05-2016, 10:30 PM
David Begg - last seen in some Greek/Cypriot bar in London for the Aek Athens game - along with Irvine Welsh and other London/exiled Hibees. I think we drank the bar dry that night ;) the wonders of the Internet in the days of yore.Beggy and I used to travel afar to see Hibs. last saw him when he had a seat behind me in the upper FF. Used to go to a lot of away games with Davie, a bit younger than me but he was brought up on the Prom, Porty and stayed near me.

03-05-2016, 10:36 PM
Possibly, and I really mean possibly , some high profile people of the Edinburgh establishment did want to see an Edinburgh team do well. History says different. For myself, I could not say that I wish both main Edinburgh clubs to do well. I once thought slightly different.

Giro Playboy
03-05-2016, 10:42 PM
I once asked him the question, he refused to say who he supported, said he likes to see both Edinburgh teams do well. I pressed him on the question determined to get an answer because there was an election coming up and I told him my vote depended on his answer. He lost my vote as he continually refused to tell me who he really supported, I think he may have been a Hun. Ron Brown didnt like football. He used to say that it divided the working classes.

03-05-2016, 10:44 PM
I once asked him the question, he refused to say who he supported, said he likes to see both Edinburgh teams do well. I pressed him on the question determined to get an answer because there was an election coming up and I told him my vote depended on his answer. He lost my vote as he continually refused to tell me who he really supported, I think he may have been a Hun. Not sure about other political Hibbies but The Prime Minister supports Aston Ham United when he's not tax dodging or sticking his welt into pigs mouths

03-05-2016, 11:04 PM
Ron Brown didnt like football. He used to say that it divided the working classes.

Sounds like a Celtic man and a Phil MacGhiollabhain reader at that! :wink:

03-05-2016, 11:17 PM
Martin O'Neill?

Yes, I think he is.

Yup he was on the hibs board for a bit too.his family are hibs daft

SkyeHibs
03-05-2016, 11:43 PM
SNP: Ian Blackford, MP for Ross, Skye and Lochaber.He posts on the Bounce.

I am also a member of Hibs net but rarely post. I am glad to say I have long been an admin on the bounce.

GGTTH.

04-05-2016, 12:04 AM
Kezia will be at Starks Park cheering on the Hibees.

With the Scottish elections the next day, it's nice to see where her priorities lie. :wink:

04-05-2016, 12:58 AM

Ron Brown was a Jambo.

Billy McKirdy
04-05-2016, 01:37 AM
Lloyd Quinan is a SNP-supporting Hibby is he not?

He's a lifelong Hibby through & through.

04-05-2016, 04:13 AM
Gavin Strang former Edinburgh East MP, my old MP way back in the day. Pretty sure he was a member of the HOH committee.

Gavin is a St Johnstone fan first and foremost, although attends Hibs games from time to time.

Weststandwanab
04-05-2016, 05:46 AM

With the Scottish elections the next day, it's nice to see where her priorities lie. :wink:

If I was about to come third in an election I would be off watching Hibs too.

04-05-2016, 07:23 AM
Gavin is a St Johnstone fan first and foremost, although attends Hibs games from time to time.
Definitely on HOH committee but you are probably right.

04-05-2016, 08:13 AM
Adolf Hitler, he even forged his DAP membership card to 7. Ok, the flaw in this theory lies in the fact we hadn't tanked them by 7 at the point of issue but he was a visionary.

04-05-2016, 08:30 AM

Gavin is my uncle. Whilst he supports the club he represented for most of his 30 years as an MP (bar a few years when constituency borders moved) and he does come along to games now and again, he is a St Johnstone fan and season ticket holder. He is originally from Perth.

04-05-2016, 09:01 AM
Adolf Hitler, he even forged his DAP membership card to 7. Ok, the flaw in this theory lies in the fact we hadn't tanked them by 7 at the point of issue but he was a visionary.

Did the wee creep Di Stefano who was involved with Dundee and claimed to be one of Saddam Hussein's lawyers not claim that Saddam was a massive Hibs fan? :greengrin

itslegaltender
04-05-2016, 09:05 AM

That big a Hibby, she wasnt at the League Cup final.

04-05-2016, 09:17 AM
I'd be astonished if Hitler, Saddam Hussein and Rifkind were anything other than Rangers fans.

04-05-2016, 09:20 AM
Gavin is my uncle. Whilst he supports the club he represented for most of his 30 years as an MP (bar a few years when constituency borders moved) and he does come along to games now and again, he is a St Johnstone fan and season ticket holder. He is originally from Perth.
Cheers for clearing that up. He was a popular MP in my family circle.

04-05-2016, 10:17 AM
Long deceased and I'm not sure if he held elected office but James Connolly was a key figure in Socialist political circles both in Ireland and America.

Referred to in Trainspotting as 'James effin Connolly, an effin great rebel, an effin great socialist and an effin great Hibby'

04-05-2016, 10:24 AM

Yes, another one I'd forgotten. He served that constituency for a long time in the days when the Conservatives still used to return a fair few Scottish MPs to Westminster. I recall he died quite suddenly at a relatively young age.

AndyM_1875
04-05-2016, 10:41 AM
Douglas Chapman, MP for Dunfermline is a Hibby too.

As MP's go I'm far from impressed but big Hibby all the same.

GreenOnions
04-05-2016, 11:29 AM
Ron Brown didnt like football. He used to say that it divided the working classes.

I take it he wasn't into religion then either :-/

04-05-2016, 11:30 AM

Anyone aware of others?

Greens: ???
Kenny McCaskill really ?

04-05-2016, 12:20 PM
Alastair Darling....allegedly...

04-05-2016, 12:23 PM
I am also a member of Hibs net but rarely post. I am glad to say I have long been an admin on the bounce.

GGTTH.

Was in Skye a few weeks back. Seen mountains of folk with snp on their lawns. Was it your name?
I don't think it was but I can't be sure.

04-05-2016, 12:27 PM
Alastair Darling....allegedly...

http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.2991270.1373045297!/image/409559103.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_300/409559103.jpg

04-05-2016, 12:43 PM

Was my Mp when I lived in Craigentinny.

Didnae get to vote in many elections before emigrating in 74, but he got my vote.

son of haggart
04-05-2016, 12:50 PM
Beggy and I used to travel afar to see Hibs. last saw him when he had a seat behind me in the upper FF. Used to go to a lot of away games with Davie, a bit younger than me but he was brought up on the Prom, Porty and stayed near me.

Was in my year at Porty and my older brother was great mates with his older brother who is a big Hearts fan and still goes to games and meets us in Stratties when he's up. Happy families eh?

Mili Tant
04-05-2016, 01:08 PM
Was in my year at Porty and my older brother was great mates with his older brother who is a big Hearts fan and still goes to games and meets us in Stratties when he's up. Happy families eh?

Ye must be lying aboot yir age then!!!

son of haggart
04-05-2016, 02:17 PM
Ye must be lying aboot yir age then!!!

Nope - the site is lying (its a wee dig at Hearts supporters...)

04-05-2016, 02:42 PM
My old man was a councillor for nearly 30 years southside has a soft spot for the Hibs but is actually a Dundee fan he was at the 7-0 game and Best's debut, tons of games with me a few against Dundee which we invariably won when sat with me in the Hibs end!

04-05-2016, 02:44 PM
I'm not convinced that Kenny MacAskill is a football fan, never mind a Hibby.

04-05-2016, 03:56 PM
I'm not convinced that Kenny MacAskill is a football fan, never mind a Hibby.Can I convince you then. He is a Hibs fan, he regularly goes to games, and my next door neighbour who is not a Hibs fan as such, goes with him to maist hame games. Also mad on the tartan army mob.

04-05-2016, 03:57 PM

http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/552065/Hibernian-Fans-Bid-To-Boy-Club

I'm guessing you're not a member of HSL? He's the chairman.

04-05-2016, 04:02 PM

I played against him in a 5-a-side competition once.

I put and accidentally-heavy-but-clumsy challenge in on him and he did not like it one bit.

A wee bit of a temper.

I didn't speak to him on the day but have a few mates who know him well and seemingly he's a good lad.

SkyeHibs
04-05-2016, 11:09 PM
Was in Skye a few weeks back. Seen mountains of folk with snp on their lawns. Was it your name?
I don't think it was but I can't be sure.

It would be Kate Forbes name you saw who is standing for the Scottish Parliament, I had my shot last year!

son of haggart
05-05-2016, 09:57 AM
Not a politician but did write a fair bit about it - the late ian Bell, who was in the same year at Porty and Uni as me