View Full Version : Remember when...

27-04-2016, 12:33 PM
Just for laughs.

Remember when some thought the Stokes unveiling picture holding up a strip at EM was a fake and we then had the photo experts telling us about shadow lines and pixel marks etc 😂

27-04-2016, 01:52 PM
Remember when ....

....you could park a 2 minutes walk away from ER 10 mins before kick off.

27-04-2016, 01:56 PM
..... Remember when new posters could come on here and not be hounded and accused of being a hearts fan based on their choice of user name and posts that don't agree with the regulars.......:rolleyes:

steve75
27-04-2016, 01:57 PM
... Hearts could beat us.

27-04-2016, 01:59 PM
.......Remember when the Huns told us that Scott Allan was 100% signing for them, and would refuse to go anywhere else cos he was a dyed in the wool teddy bear.

27-04-2016, 02:02 PM
....................remember when the majority of people wanted Butcher

Sioux
27-04-2016, 02:25 PM
....................remember when the majority of people wanted Butcher

.........remember when the majority of people who wanted Butcher suddenly changed their mind and seemed to remember they had told everyone he was the wrong man for the job.

27-04-2016, 02:49 PM
.........remember when the majority of people who wanted Butcher suddenly changed their mind and seemed to remember they had told everyone he was the wrong man for the job.

You made me wonder how we all thought. Makes interesting reading :greengrin - http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?273682-Are-you-happy-with-Terry-Butcher&highlight=Terry+Butcher

27-04-2016, 02:53 PM
You made me wonder how we all thought. Makes interesting reading :greengrin - http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?273682-Are-you-happy-with-Terry-Butcher&highlight=Terry+Butcher
Terry Boooooooooooooooootcher is as welcome as a fart in a wetsuit as far as I'm concerned. speedway knew from the start :not worth

SJM
27-04-2016, 03:03 PM
.......Remember when the Huns told us that Scott Allan was 100% signing for them, and would refuse to go anywhere else cos he was a dyed in the wool teddy bear.

Remember when then old Huns told us similar about Scott brown and sang about it not knowing he had already agreed a deal to join Celtic?

27-04-2016, 03:10 PM
Remember when Hearts won the league in 86? I couldn't bear to watch the end of that game.

Callum7
27-04-2016, 03:19 PM
... Hearts could beat us.

:faf::faf::faf:

OtleyHibs
27-04-2016, 04:02 PM
Remember when Steve Fulton got booked for being ugly : )

ArmadaleHibs
27-04-2016, 04:13 PM
Remember when we put the Scottish cup hoodoo to bed on 21st may 2016.

Yip

27-04-2016, 04:43 PM
Remember when Scottish Officials and the SFA were impartial..

Me neither...........

27-04-2016, 04:51 PM
Remember when Hearts won the league in 86? I couldn't bear to watch the end of that game.

Did they not do the double that year !

27-04-2016, 04:55 PM
Remember when Kano's overhead kick fell to Archie?

27-04-2016, 04:56 PM
Remember when Geebsie busted the jinx?

27-04-2016, 04:58 PM
Remember when yon fat lass burried a yams top under the stand only for it to be scooped up and flung out with the rubbish the next day?

xyz23jc
27-04-2016, 04:58 PM
Did they not do the double that year !

They did indeed........Jambottled it TWICE!! :greengrin:thumbsup::agree:

SJM
27-04-2016, 05:04 PM
Rankin squiggled a winner.

heidtheba
27-04-2016, 05:30 PM
...Hearts only owed the money to themselves...

27-04-2016, 05:38 PM
...the Mali Magician's silky skills sent us into Europe!

27-04-2016, 05:46 PM
...Hearts only owed the money to themselves...

Haha, that's a beauty

27-04-2016, 05:58 PM
Remember when Pa Kujabi was a free kick expert

27-04-2016, 07:19 PM
Fifth place in the top league could get you into Europe.

27-04-2016, 07:29 PM
Remember when Pa Kujabi was a free kick expert

https://youtu.be/xU92bJdIROM

27-04-2016, 07:32 PM
Remember when you go out with a ten bob note and go to the match, buy a programme, a pie and bovril at half time, a fish supper from the chippie in Albert Street after the game and the Pink News when you got home and you still had some change left.

Time For Heroes
27-04-2016, 08:05 PM
we shot down the slope....

27-04-2016, 08:10 PM
. . . . hearts were 2-0 up against us at tynecastle and knocked us out the scottish cup :boo hoo:

27-04-2016, 08:35 PM
.........................players could play two games in a week without complaining they were tired.

Ronster117
27-04-2016, 08:50 PM
Remember when benny Brazil scored a hatrick against Celtic......

27-04-2016, 08:55 PM
The Rangers were Rangers

Robbo was only fat

Latapy hit the sixth

Remember Rob Jones in the snow

Remember Keith in every round

Auckland Hibs
27-04-2016, 09:00 PM
There was a woman who sat in the old main stand who used to scream (in an Irish accent?)

"Come on Hiberrrrrrnian"

27-04-2016, 09:23 PM
Midweek games kicked off at half seven?

baggio70
27-04-2016, 09:46 PM
We flew to Athens only to find out on landing , the game was cancelled .

27-04-2016, 09:48 PM
.........................players could play two games in a week without complaining they were tired.It isn't the 2 games a week, it is 8 games in a month.

27-04-2016, 10:18 PM
The good old days before we had Sky etc dictating the kick off times and days when games can be played and also televised.

I think we've only had two Saturday 3pm kick offs at Easter Road this calendar year. The rest have either been crappy Sunday lunchtime or Tuesday and Wednesday midweek evening kick offs.

Petrie sort it out. :grr:

27-04-2016, 10:45 PM
There was only one Andy Goram :boo hoo:

28-04-2016, 12:05 AM
Remember when ....
..... everybody in the old north stand started stamping their feet in unison on the wooden floor.

hibbymick
28-04-2016, 05:28 AM
Remember when ....you could change ends at half time.

28-04-2016, 06:32 AM
Remember when getting to Hampden was a novelty.

Beginning to feel like our second home now.

28-04-2016, 06:40 AM
Remember when it was enough to get to a final.
Nowadays folk have a fit if they can't pick their exact seat.

28-04-2016, 06:48 AM
Remember when the air was thick with bottles, cans, golfballs and darts?

SJM
28-04-2016, 07:03 AM
Orman scored a wonder goal at Ibrox to get us a draw?

28-04-2016, 07:16 AM
Remember when you went to see Turnbull's Tornadoes with yer dad and grandad and football seemed so beautiful.

Drumlanrig
28-04-2016, 07:33 AM
Remember when I could remember things!

28-04-2016, 08:14 AM
Remember when Pat McGinlay made box to box runs

28-04-2016, 08:23 AM
... when you got lifted over the turnstyles

28-04-2016, 08:25 AM
Remember when

........Rangers were Rangers.

28-04-2016, 08:26 AM
Programmes were useful.

28-04-2016, 08:42 AM
when yogi blamed the strikers after drawing 6 all with motherwell :faf:

Dunedin Hibs
28-04-2016, 09:02 AM
...your first experience with your dad and uncle at Easter Road...beating Hearts...with champagne bottles all over the shop - I was 4/5 years old, very early 70's.

...and, more recently...the terraces, the shed...wonderful togetherness, songs and outright mayhem....especially the Souness sending off game...absolutely brilliant!

28-04-2016, 09:14 AM
If it was snowing, you got out an orange ball and got on with it.

SingaporeHibs
28-04-2016, 09:18 AM
When Hampden was big enough that there was no stress about getting your hands on a ticket

Torto7062
28-04-2016, 11:09 AM
Remember when Roberto Neilson said he picked the Hertz team ?????

Levein doesnt remember either

norhfc
28-04-2016, 11:51 AM
Remember when we got the choice of hot pies....or the scoreboard.

28-04-2016, 12:11 PM
Remember when ....

... there was a 'big step' on the old east terracing.

(I've mentioned this on threads before. One step, about 2/3rds of the way up in the lower section of the old east terracing, had a rise of about 12" while the rest were all around 9". We stood always met up & stood on the 'big step' just north of the halfway line. The 3" extra height gave us a better view.)

28-04-2016, 12:25 PM
"Hi-bees hi-bees give us a wave" had nothing to do with ticket sales?

Enough said
28-04-2016, 04:56 PM
Remember when benny Brazil scored a hatrick against Celtic......

:flag: 6-3 friendly at Easter road

28-04-2016, 05:04 PM
Remember when Gareth Evans scored a heider on his debut against Dundee at Easter road pretty much 30 years ago !! How scary is that !!!

28-04-2016, 05:16 PM
Remember when Gareth Evans scored a heider on his debut against Dundee at Easter road pretty much 30 years ago !! How scary is that !!!

That was my youngest brothers first game and we were right behind the goal (Cowshed) when he dived to score.

30 years ago is scary!!

28-04-2016, 05:18 PM
Remember when hearts "killed us as a club" after the cup final :rolleyes:

paddy1875
28-04-2016, 05:24 PM
Remember when hearts won the champions league

28-04-2016, 05:27 PM
Remember when hearts won the champions league

Oh yes after many glamerous, sell out nights watching their many world cup stars against Real Madrid and Bayern Munich in their new state of the art multiplex stadium Mad Vlad bought for them.

OtleyHibs
28-04-2016, 05:35 PM
Remember when Pat McGinlay made box to box runs

Very fondly : ) I loved Pat McGinlay! Was gutted when he went to Celtc and over the freaking moon when he came back.

28-04-2016, 05:40 PM
When you wore a green and white crash helmet with all the players names painted on it. Higgins spelt with one G and all your mates laughing at you

28-04-2016, 05:41 PM
Remember when...

...auld jakey type characters used to sell brick hard Macaroon Bars and tasteless Chewing Gum at games in Glasgow.

"Erramacaroonanchewinguuuuuuuummm!"

Ronster117
28-04-2016, 05:41 PM
6-3 friendly at Easter road
The match programme the next game had benny 3 Celtic 0
funny what you remember

heidtheba
28-04-2016, 05:44 PM
...you'd buy the Pink and look for the awful 'pun' headlines (Heart-ach, High-bees, Hib-Hib-Horaay and Jamtastic being regularly repeated). Then you'd wait up to watch the match highlights and have to shield your eyes from the awful stripey suits worn by Nicholas/Hately et al...

c31
28-04-2016, 05:46 PM
Remember when Edinburgh West -- Won the Tom Hart cup....

Enough said
28-04-2016, 05:48 PM
Remember when Gareth Evans scored a heider on his debut against Dundee at Easter road pretty much 30 years ago !! How scary is that !!! hit the under side of the bar and went in, we won 2-1 if am not mistaking ?

28-04-2016, 05:54 PM
Remember when Willie Miller (RB) always won his tackles?

28-04-2016, 06:07 PM
Remember when....

...there were two Willie Irvines

28-04-2016, 06:55 PM
Remember when the stand at rugby park was shaking when mcmanus scored a last min winner

28-04-2016, 06:56 PM
Remember when everyone left at 3-0 against falkirk

28-04-2016, 07:03 PM
Remember when everyone left at 3-0 against falkirk

Remember when we came back to win 4-3

28-04-2016, 07:05 PM
Remember when we used to 'get the down the slope'

28-04-2016, 07:07 PM
Remember when we used to 'get the down the slope'

I still think of it that way. Must be an age thing.

28-04-2016, 07:07 PM
I still think of it that way. Must be an age thing.

:greengrin Me too

28-04-2016, 07:13 PM
Remember when we challenged the Old firm with the Tornadoes and you get someone to give you lift over the turnstiles when you were a lad.

SON OF PADDY
28-04-2016, 07:26 PM
We flew to Athens only to find out on landing , the game was cancelled .

I remember that !!
Poor guy from the travel agency,had to stand up on the luggage carousel and tell everyone the bad news.
Brilliant trip, great sing song in the square.

28-04-2016, 07:28 PM
Remember when you'd meet your dad at his work in ER and then be dumped at his pals wifes whilst he had a bevvy in Middletons pre match, before rushing along to the ground with minutes to spare.

Remember how vast that terrace was once you finally climbed up the stairs and how classy Hibs looked when they took the field in that wonderful strip.

Remember the smell of cigars and that auld rickety scoreboard that worked with letters.

Remember, climbing in to games when you were only 9 and making the journey from Elbe St with the othr laddies to see games, including those first european nights ( for me) against Sporting Lisbon, Fc Besa and Hadjuk Split.

Remember having to nash home to Prince Regent St to make the 10 pm curfew imposed by yer radge ae a stepfaither for midweek adventures involving the Hibs.

These are the memories that make Hibs so important to me. Whether I go to games, have a season ticket or whatever. I'll love this team until the day I die. It's been in my family for generations and the next lot feel the force too. GGTTH

28-04-2016, 07:29 PM
Remember the days were we didn't have loyalty points.

28-04-2016, 07:34 PM
........Liverpool won everything

28-04-2016, 07:35 PM
Foreign players were a novelty

28-04-2016, 07:39 PM
When remembering when was good because it took away the fear of remembering when.

28-04-2016, 07:53 PM

This post should come with an age rating.

Nobody under the age of 30 will have a clue what you're talking about. :greengrin

28-04-2016, 08:00 PM
The guy in the last iteration of the east used to shout 'c'mon my bonny bonny boys'

28-04-2016, 08:02 PM
Remember when Steve Fulton got booked for being ugly : )

😂😂😂😂😂 that WAS funny! Even he laughed

28-04-2016, 08:06 PM
This post should come with an age rating.

Nobody under the age of 30 will have a clue what you're talking about. :greengrin

Shut it you ;-)

hibee
28-04-2016, 08:06 PM
The guy in the last iteration of the east used to shout 'c'mon my bonny bonny boys'

I thought I seen him in the FF upper midweek but could be mistaken, that's what I thought of when I seen him though!

28-04-2016, 08:07 PM
Remember when you heard that the Scottish Cup winners for the last 3 years have all been the ones to knock Raith Rovers out the cup

28-04-2016, 08:10 PM
....Hertz Mita won the league and Mita won the cup?

28-04-2016, 08:10 PM
Remember when we used to get decent pies at Easter Rd

hibee
28-04-2016, 08:12 PM
When you used to have to take time off work to go and queue for cup final tickets.

Now you just sit at your desk in the queue and save a holiday!

28-04-2016, 08:15 PM
Shut it you ;-)

paulhfc88
28-04-2016, 08:21 PM
Remember when wee Ivan tore rangers a new one 👏👏

28-04-2016, 08:23 PM
It was a regulation £40 fine for Breach of the Peace.

28-04-2016, 08:43 PM
Remember when teams like Liverpool and Manchester United were too big for the Europa League.

28-04-2016, 08:47 PM
When your dad says he's got to pick someone up on the way to the game and then Pat Stanton gets in the car?

28-04-2016, 08:58 PM
Remember when teams like Liverpool and Manchester United were too big for the Europa League.
Fail - It was the Cup Winners Cup when I was a lad.

28-04-2016, 09:00 PM
Fail - It was the Cup Winners Cup when I was a lad.

Or Fairs Cup. :greengrin

28-04-2016, 09:00 PM
Remember when City thought they had finally become a big team and could emulate the likes of Liverpool and Utd as dominant forces in English football........... Oh wait a minute that's one for the future, this damn crystal ball.

28-04-2016, 09:01 PM

Europa League didn't exist then daftie.:-)

28-04-2016, 09:08 PM
Fail - It was the UEFA cup when I was a lad.

FTFY ;-)

Cup winners cup was just done away with IIRC.

Edit: looks like they were merged.

28-04-2016, 09:11 PM
Europa League didn't exist then daftie.:-)

You're right. It's been a while since these teams have dined at the top table with the likes of Barcelona, Madrid and City.

28-04-2016, 09:14 PM
Remember when Henrik passed the ball straight to Chic.....BOOM!!

28-04-2016, 09:19 PM
Remember when Scottish teams used to do well in Europe. :-(

28-04-2016, 09:29 PM
Remember when the occasional banger going off didn't bother anyone really.

28-04-2016, 09:31 PM
Remember when the only flares at football were the ones you were wearing

Auckland Hibs
28-04-2016, 09:36 PM
Remember when Willie Miller (RB) always won his tackles?

Remember when he jumped up and caught an over-hit pass at East End Park - second yellow card and was sent off.

Remember when he nailed Maurice Malpas in the cup semi final at Tynecastle (Darren Jackson 1-0) - absolutely nailed him :greengrin

Remember when he went in goals after a red card for Jim Leighton (IIRC) - Motherwell away, did it finish 1-1 or am I getting confused?

28-04-2016, 09:36 PM
Remember when Man City won the Champions League/European Cup errr wait a minute

Liverpool
Nottingham Forest
Aston Villa
Man Utd
Chelsea

Aw I'm mistaken they've never won it, mind you I can't remember Liverpool winning the Premiership either.

28-04-2016, 09:38 PM
Remember when standing on the Kop was the normal Saturday routine.

28-04-2016, 09:39 PM
Remember when Scotland qualified for the World Cup.

28-04-2016, 09:46 PM
Remember the annual chocolate game???

28-04-2016, 09:49 PM
Remember when Hearts lost the league in 1986.

28-04-2016, 09:52 PM
Remember when...

... you stood agitated outside the newsagent waiting for the van to come with the Pink & Green.

Stenny
28-04-2016, 09:56 PM
Remember when Jimmy Boco got smashed in the face

28-04-2016, 09:59 PM
Remember when we had to wait until the following day to hear the fitba results. Particularly when we were playing away from home in Europe.

28-04-2016, 10:01 PM
Remember when Scotland qualified for the World Cup.

Remember when England didn't. :wink:

28-04-2016, 10:05 PM
Remember when ...

... we enjoyed a good ghost story

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aerUKtSjEN4

28-04-2016, 10:09 PM
Remember when the Hearts team selection was at the discretion of Rima and her golden stick.

28-04-2016, 10:11 PM
Remember when...

...we used to do the Hibees Bounce after every goal

28-04-2016, 10:19 PM

Remember when we destroyed Liverpool in the rain at Easter Road and Wee Fat Joe Harper scored the winner, John Brownlie's late penalty miss still haunts me.

OtleyHibs
28-04-2016, 11:02 PM
Remember when he jumped up and caught an over-hit pass at East End Park - second yellow card and was sent off.

Remember when he nailed Maurice Malpas in the cup semi final at Tynecastle (Darren Jackson 1-0) - absolutely nailed him :greengrin

Remember when he went in goals after a red card for Jim Leighton (IIRC) - Motherwell away, did it finish 1-1 or am I getting confused?

Was it not Andy Millen that went in goals at Fir Park?

28-04-2016, 11:25 PM
Remember Jim McClean getting hit on the back of the head with an ER pie.

Bobby Thomson strangling the linesman after the St Johnstone guy who was 20 yards offside scored a goal.

Arthur Duncan going over the wall at the cow shed end 'cause he was running too fast to stop

Getting a penny back on the pepsi bottles

Jim Cruikshank coming out the bookies in gorgie at 2.50 in full kit on derby day

Dino Zoff conceding 5 goals for the only time in his professional career

Stanton hitting the post against Leeds in the penalty shoot out

The sloop taking out medals McKay at chest height for fouling Brian Rice

28-04-2016, 11:27 PM

Super sub, ginger hair dude, forget his name.

Great team to watch back then.

Fairclough ?

28-04-2016, 11:30 PM
Remember when Hibs played in the top league.

28-04-2016, 11:35 PM
Remember when Hibs played in the top league.

Coming soon........:aok:

28-04-2016, 11:46 PM
Coming soon........:aok:

Hope so. :aok:

29-04-2016, 04:29 AM
You could get a bottle of Pomange for 50p.....:greengrin

baggio70
29-04-2016, 05:10 AM
Joe tortolano getting sent off in a friendly against manchester united at e r.
A tackle on Gordon strachan

29-04-2016, 06:50 AM
Joe tortolano getting sent off in a friendly against manchester united at e r.
A tackle on Gordon strachan

That wasn't a tackle, it was an aerial assault.... Gordon Rae's Testimonial, 3-0 Man Utd.

SJM
29-04-2016, 07:56 AM
That boy ran on the pitch to confront the ref after sending brebner off against hearts....then Garry scored a last win winner!!

29-04-2016, 08:06 AM
Remember when Hibs beat Hearts 2-1 in 1987 on a Saturday at 3pm.

Newry Hibs
29-04-2016, 08:36 AM
Remember when we had to wait until the following day to hear the fitba results. Particularly when we were playing away from home in Europe.
Or a day later when on holiday and waiting for the British papers. Was anxious from a Saturday to Monday back in the 80s I think, when we played Rangers. Had to wait until Monday to get Sundays paper and find out the result. We won!

You kids today don't know you're born with your new fangled internetweb and facechats.

SJM
29-04-2016, 09:12 AM
Or a day later when on holiday and waiting for the British papers. Was anxious from a Saturday to Monday back in the 80s I think, when we played Rangers. Had to wait until Monday to get Sundays paper and find out the result. We won!

You kids today don't know you're born with your new fangled internetweb and facechats.
Teletext waiting for the next page to load or teletext and the numbers jumped past the page with the scores on it used to set me into a fit of rage.

29-04-2016, 09:38 AM
That wasn't a tackle, it was an aerial assault.... Gordon Rae's Testimonial, 3-0 Man Utd.

And the Hibs fans singing "Robson Robson show us your knob"