View Full Version : The bonnie laddie

25-04-2016, 07:58 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc3/t31.0-8/1052599_531889043525072_863586873_o.jpg

25-04-2016, 08:50 PM
Is that Rod Petrie with the scarf?

25-04-2016, 08:56 PM
Is that Dougie Bell with Jim Duffy at the front and Bobby Smith second from the right at the back? Some seriously dodgy moustaches going on there

25-04-2016, 08:58 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc3/t31.0-8/1052599_531889043525072_863586873_o.jpg

Willie Irvine 2nd from left at the back?

25-04-2016, 09:09 PM
Beat hertz supporters 4-1 . Hibs supplied the kit hertz wouldn't give their supporters nowt

25-04-2016, 09:40 PM
Willie Irvine 2nd from left at the back?

Is that Dougie Bell with Jim Duffy at the front and Bobby Smith second from the right at the back? Some seriously dodgy moustaches going on there

Certainly looks like Bobby S. Could it be Willie Hunter in front? I know a lot of those faces but struggling with names, anyone help?

25-04-2016, 09:44 PM
Certainly looks like Bobby S. Could it be Willie Hunter in front? I know a lot of those faces but struggling with names, anyone help?

I'm thinking maybe Malky Robertson, front row far left? Possibly Dougie Bell, to Hunter's right?

Loopz
25-04-2016, 09:48 PM
Ozyhibby might know, sure one of the guys used to be his tradesman. Another one of the non players looks like my mates Uncle Jimmy.

25-04-2016, 10:02 PM
Ozyhibby might know, sure one of the guys used to be his tradesman. Another one of the non players looks like my mates Uncle Jimmy.

None are players . They're all supporters

Loopz
25-04-2016, 10:07 PM
Maybe should have said, without strips on.:greengrin

25-04-2016, 10:14 PM
[QUOTE=Loopz;4660907]Maybe should have said, without strips on.:greengrin[/QUOTE

Post 5 :greengrin

25-04-2016, 10:16 PM
The big guy in the hat is the guy that used to sing in the East all the time :greengrin

25-04-2016, 10:16 PM

Nonsense! That's clearly Conrad Logan wearing a scarf in the middle of the back row

25-04-2016, 10:19 PM
Nonsense! That's clearly Conrad Logan wearing a scarf in the middle of the back row

25-04-2016, 10:24 PM
The big guy in the hat is the guy that used to sing in the East all the time :greengrin

I guessed that might be him- legend! He was actually sitting in front of me at the semi v United and I didn't realise it was him till he gave a quick rendition of his wee tune :greengrin He's looking much more erm... tidy and sober these days!

25-04-2016, 10:27 PM
I guessed that might be him- legend! He was actually sitting in front of me at the semi v United and I didn't realise it was him till he gave a quick rendition of his wee tune :greengrin He's looking much more erm... tidy and sober these days!

Aye everything fits him these days

26-04-2016, 12:03 AM

If it's the same guy I'm thinking of, he'll be approaching 70 now and still attending ER regularly. Saw him in the queue for Hampden tickets recently. Sure his name's Stuart, ex Holy Cross boy wi' a voice that would waken the dead

26-04-2016, 12:09 AM
If it's the same guy I'm thinking of, he'll be approaching 70 now and still attending ER regularly. Saw him in the queue for Hampden tickets recently. Sure his name's Stuart, ex Holy Cross boy wi' a voice that would waken the dead

Correct , Stuart Reid . He's in the FF stand now . Used to sing to clients when we worked together :greengrin

SJM
26-04-2016, 06:59 AM

The toora loora loora guy? Utter legend.

In fact going with his thread, didn't he shout "come on Ma bonnie laddies" at the end of a song too?

johncrobertson@
26-04-2016, 07:18 AM
Any idea what date this was taken? Is that Pat Watt in the front right? Great Hibee.

26-04-2016, 08:27 AM

In fact going with his thread, didn't he shout "come on Ma bonnie laddies" at the end of a song too?

He sits in front of me in the east, and yes he still sings that song and finishes it "come on ma bonnie boys" 😂

26-04-2016, 08:49 AM

Was it not more often "Bonnie Boys"? He sat right at the back of the terracing, about the 18 yard line going down the slope?

SJM
26-04-2016, 08:55 AM
He sits in front of me in the east, and yes he still sings that song and finishes it as above 😂

He's a ledge! I remember him one time just standing up for no reason and singing that Roy Chubby Alice song going "and for 24 years I've been living next door to Jeffries, Jeffries, who the **** Is Jeffries" don't even think we where playing hearts :)

SJM
26-04-2016, 08:56 AM
Was it not more often "Bonnie Boys"? He sat right at the back of the terracing, about the 18 yard line going down the slope?

Aye, that's the boy mate and it could have been boys, in fact your spot on 👍🏻

Fisherrow Harp
26-04-2016, 09:18 AM
Remember the "Come on my bonnie boys" well. Used to hear it from behind every game at Easter road. Also remember it at Starks park on a week day night and being a wee bit bamboozled at the time as it came from the same direction it did at Easter road! Absolute legend!

26-04-2016, 09:29 AM
I thought he'd been knocked down with the old East Terracing but then I heard him, somewhere behind me, giving it big licks at the semi-final.

Delighted to hear he's ok and still going to ER!

Giro Playboy
26-04-2016, 09:35 AM
Remember the "Come on my bonnie boys" well, Absolute legend! I think calling him an ''absolute legend'' is taking things a bit far. He was entertaining (for about 5 minutes) but i wouldn't describe his antics as legendary

26-04-2016, 11:19 AM
Any idea what date this was taken? Is that Pat Watt in the front right? Great Hibee.

About 1988 and all great Hibees mate

HibeesLittleHel
26-04-2016, 11:19 AM
I don't doubt his signature tune can be seen as evocative and unique but if its the same guy I'm think of he can be a cantankerous old b****r and frankly rude and abusive!

26-04-2016, 11:25 AM
I think calling him an ''absolute legend'' is taking things a bit far. He was entertaining (for about 5 minutes) but i wouldn't describe his antics as legendary

I don't doubt his signature tune can be seen as evocative and unique but if its the same guy I'm think of he can be a cantankerous old b****r and frankly rude and abusive!

TBF I do think guys like him are legends. Every club has them, the "one of a kind" fan that everyone knows about. Some get nationwide notoriety (such as Fergie at Hamilton) but some are just known in their own back yard.

I'm pretty sure I once ended up next to this guy in the big stand behind the goal at Love Street, so there was no escape. Whilst I enjoyed his "music" from a distance at ER he was a f*****g nightmare to be stuck next to!

26-04-2016, 12:08 PM

Yip bit of a pain in the erse

26-04-2016, 12:18 PM
Ouch, that went a bit south quickly :greengrin

The boy's gone from a legend to a pariah in a matter of minutes!

26-04-2016, 12:28 PM
Ouch, that went a bit south quickly :greengrin

The boy's gone from a legend to a pariah in a matter of minutes!

'Legend' and 'nightmare' in the wan post!!

26-04-2016, 01:42 PM
i can mind him in the old east always shouting "come on my bonnie boys" legend :aok:

26-04-2016, 04:11 PM
Willie Wallace, Watty Hastings and Jimmy Forbes are three I recognise

26-04-2016, 05:41 PM
Willie Wallace, Watty Hastings and Jimmy Forbes are three I recognis

:agree: Mark Smith , Wullie Black , Jim Reavley , Scott Rice , Rookie and John McQueenie

26-04-2016, 05:50 PM
i can mind him in the old east always shouting "come on my bonnie boys" legend :aok:
Is this the same guy that sat in the terracing in the corner and would whip of his shirt and wave it. That's my lasting memory of a 5 year old supporting Hibs that and Mark Libra scoring a double against Celtic..15 years later he was sitting beside me in the famous five top but he's moved on now.

26-04-2016, 05:58 PM
:agree: Mark Smith , Wullie Black , Jim Reavley , Scott Rice , Rookie and John McQueenie

Cheers, just spotted Mark Smith as well.

26-04-2016, 06:01 PM
Cheers, just spotted Mark Smith as well.

Or is it Bobby Smith :greengrin