View Full Version : First Hibs game

AngusHibby
24-04-2016, 12:26 PM
I'm sure this has been done to death on here but interested to hear about everyone's first Hibs game.

Mine was in 2006 v Rangers aged 12, 2-1. Killen bagged a brace, Filip Sebo of all people got the goal for them. I'd only decided to become a Hibee about a year previous having moved from up North and was only used to lower league games. Couldn't believe my ears when we scored both goals, sat/stood in the middle of the old east as well. Well and truly had the Hibs bug after that.

24-04-2016, 12:31 PM
First one I can really remember was the Hibs v San Jose Earthquakes with Goeorge Best.
I had been to many before that but that's the first I remember.

24-04-2016, 12:51 PM
First really remember was against Strasbourg 1978. Ally Mcleod penalty but i was taken to a Hibs Celtic match a few years earlier. Think it was 4-1 but i hardly remember it.

Man Down Under
24-04-2016, 01:10 PM
Hibs Aberdeen, mid 90's I think. It was when Darren Jackson played. We won 2-1.
My dad took me a few times until I started copying a few hand gestures that were a favourite amongst the crowd haha.
The next game I went to after that was when we came back to beat Falkirk 4-3 in the SC quarters. So a very long hiatus indeed.

Sent from my SM-J200Y using Tapatalk

OtleyHibs
24-04-2016, 01:42 PM
Patrick Jags 2 Hibees 2 at firhill around about 94. I had seen Hibs a few times when my dad dragged me to Parkhead (Glasgow boy from a Celtc family) but this was the first after being allowed to join the Glasgow Hibs supporters club following months of pleading with the parents.

Never looked back since : )

24-04-2016, 01:49 PM
A home win against Stirling Albion about 1966 or 67.

DUX
24-04-2016, 02:01 PM
I honestly cannot remember my first game. My Dad was a North Stand st holder and took my and my brother there from an early age. I seem to recall a European night when the two Icelandic or Norwegians were signed which was very exiting for all of us in the late seventies. My Dad took us up to Shaws Heights that night and it was brilliant!

Felt like we were up in the clouds!

Billy McKirdy
24-04-2016, 02:04 PM
A reserve fixture against Aberdeen in the old main stand around 1973, I was 8 and I remember my old man telling me Pat Stanton was playing and me thinking who's Pat Stanton?
I remember nothing about the game itself and it was a good 4 years or so before I started getting interested in Hibs.

Galahibby
24-04-2016, 02:04 PM
The first Hibs game I remember was George Best's first home game, although I had definitely been to Easter Road before that. My formative years were actually spent at Tynecastle thanks to a member of Hibs.net royalty's brother! :wink: Soon saw the light though :flag:

24-04-2016, 02:05 PM
Sept 1970 vs Hearts t ER. 0-0

Sent via the bushes @ EM

24-04-2016, 02:22 PM
Gordon Rae testimonial

24-04-2016, 02:27 PM
Hibs 9-2 St Johnstone 28/08/76 (Aged 7)

There was me thinking it would be like that every week - little did I know...

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=25078

DUX
24-04-2016, 02:30 PM
Coming back to me a bit. Was it Isaac Reffic who was one of the Icelandic/Norwegians who signed, can't remember the other one Ricky something or other. Caused a lot of excitement around 78 if I remember rightly.

Anyone remember more clearly?

24-04-2016, 02:47 PM
91 League cup final.

Good start to life as a Hibs fan.

hibee
24-04-2016, 02:59 PM
I have absolutely no idea what my first game was.

I can remember my dad always made us stand in the uncovered corner of the terracing at the same barrier every week though whatever the weather!

24-04-2016, 03:18 PM
Coming back to me a bit. Was it Isaac Reffic who was one of the Icelandic/Norwegians who signed, can't remember the other one Ricky something or other. Caused a lot of excitement around 78 if I remember rightly.

Sven Mathiesen

biggineurope
24-04-2016, 03:24 PM
As a wee tubby cheery 8 yr auld, my first game was 1st December 1979 2-1 win against Partick. The team guest starring none other than the legend George Best. I mind my auld man saying " see that boy there son- he's George Best and he's world class. Can't remember any of the game much but I mind being slightly spooked by the huge crowd and high terracing.

DUX
24-04-2016, 03:25 PM
Sven Mathiesen

That's him!

Issac Revic and Sven Mathiesen. Caused a lot of exitement around 78 as foreign players were virtually complete unknowns then unless they were Franz Beckenbauer or Pele or Johann Cruyff.

ruthven_raiders
24-04-2016, 03:28 PM

Isaac Refvik and sven mathieson... Did cause a lot of excitement.. But didn't workout for various reasons, did one of them die not so long ago?

DUX
24-04-2016, 03:32 PM
Isaac Refvik and sven mathieson... Did cause a lot of excitement.. But didn't workout for various reasons, did one of them die not so long ago?

Dearie me. Shame if one of them did!

24-04-2016, 04:03 PM
January 1971 v Aberdeen at the start of Joe Baker's second spell.

24-04-2016, 04:16 PM
Larsson's debut for Celtic at Easter Road. Was even on tv at half-time. :wink:

24-04-2016, 04:20 PM
Beat Dundee 5-2 Oct 1999

McIntosh
24-04-2016, 04:20 PM
Dundee Utd in the 1970s

24-04-2016, 04:31 PM
Skol Festival Trophy - Hibs beat Hearts 2-1, which was immediately followed by Man City v Coventry - quite a lot of football for a debutant.

http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/197908041.html

stantonsboots
24-04-2016, 04:50 PM
hibs v st johnstone 1974. 0-1 jimmy O'Rourke scored for st johnstone having moved there a couple of weeks earlier:boo hoo:

Yorkshire HFC
24-04-2016, 04:58 PM
No idea - early 1970s with my dad, who used to go to most games - probably 72 or 73. Remember games at ER against Dundee and Dunfermline and an away trip to Muirton Park

Big L
24-04-2016, 05:12 PM
1951 Hibs v Aberdeen think the score was 4- 4.I was at the 58/59 semi and replay with Rangers and the final against Clyde, bookies were given odds Clyde would't turn up, they did and beat us 1 - 0 with a deflected Coyle goal.

tanfield
24-04-2016, 05:19 PM
Pat Stanton testimonial. Mind being really excited with the prospect of Roughie playing for Hibs that day.

24-04-2016, 05:28 PM
1959 reserve game against Kilmarnock, i remember Jock Buchanan playing, Joe bakers understudy but not in the same league.

24-04-2016, 05:28 PM
Binos 4 Hibs 1. Downhill ever since.

Yorkshire HFC
24-04-2016, 05:44 PM
No idea - early 1970s with my dad, who used to go to most games - probably 72 or 73. Remember games at ER against Dundee and Dunfermline and an away trip to Muirton Park

24-04-2016, 05:46 PM
Kilmarnock, at home, mid 80's, 7 or 8 - 1 to us from memory

24-04-2016, 05:53 PM
My grandad took me to see Hibs v Clyde in 1948 to the North end of the stand where all the old timers sat.We didn't live in Scotland then but when we moved here I declared myself a Hibs supporter although I went most often to Tynecastle with a pal from primary school and his dad.We used to get the train from Leith Caley(six old pence)to Dalry Road.Crowds were huge but my mother didn't realise that we only saw my pal's dad when we got on and off the train in Leith because of course we went to the boys gate(one shilling).As I was only 9 at the time I left her in ignorance until I asked her if I could go to Easter Road on my own(NO)so I told her how it worked and she relented.So 1952 it was 7 goals against Motherwell with a hat trick for Reilly -naturally I thought it would always be like that.

24-04-2016, 06:01 PM
First I remember was home to Motherwell when I was 5 in 2000. Pretty sure we won but my only clear memories of the day are getting annoyed at my dad whenever he shouted and having a girl right behind me who kept shouting "Motherwell are mince and tatties"

Apparently I'd been to a few beforehand but thats the first I can recall.

24-04-2016, 06:14 PM
Napoli

After being regularly dragged to hertz matches as a boy, I stopped going to any football games when I was 12....watching hertz does that to normal people....until going to ER with mates from school for this game 3 years later.

Privileged to have seen that :not worth

OxoHibby
24-04-2016, 06:22 PM
I'm sure this has been done to death on here but interested to hear about everyone's first Hibs game.

Mine was in 2006 v Rangers aged 12, 2-1. Killen bagged a brace, Filip Sebo of all people got the goal for them. I'd only decided to become a Hibee about a year previous having moved from up North and was only used to lower league games. Couldn't believe my ears when we scored both goals, sat/stood in the middle of the old east as well. Well and truly had the Hibs bug after that.

Mine was pat stantons testimonial. Taken by my Celtic supporting older brother. Stood in the old enclosure under the only stand then. Dad was a hobby so was always going to be. Dunno how my brother slipped through the net. More of a glory Hunter than me I guess

24-04-2016, 06:28 PM
Scottish Cup semi final, 2006.

Hillsidehibby
24-04-2016, 06:40 PM
1968 v Falkirk. getting beat 2-0 then a Joe Davis penalty and two from Peter Cormack right at the end gave us the win.
I have the programme.

Tom Hart RIP
24-04-2016, 06:47 PM
Hibs 2 Dunfermline 0 October 1967. Peter Cormack lobbed keeper from centre circle. Few weeks later we beat Naples 5-0

24-04-2016, 06:56 PM
I wasn't allowed to go as a kid and had no-one to take me, so my first game was Aberdeen early in the 1990/91 season after I'd left uni.

Went to several games that year before getting a season ticket for the North Stand. Real life and disillusionment eventually set in and I had several years away until we played Raith last February. I'd only gone to the match to get myself on the data base so that I could buy shares, but once there found I missed it more than I'd realised. Been to a few games since then when I have the time.

24-04-2016, 07:06 PM
1968 v Falkirk. getting beat 2-0 then a Joe Davis penalty and two from Peter Cormack right at the end gave us the win. I have the programme. yes I was at that game too , we scored two in the last minute . No injury time in those days game finished at 90 mins

Yuillsy
24-04-2016, 07:14 PM
St Mirren at Easter Road. 10/1/87 we won 1-0 with Graeme Mitchell getting the goal!!

Sexton
24-04-2016, 07:20 PM
2-1 win against clyde. Must have been a cup game 92ish? We went 1 down. My big brother and my dad took me. My brother is 9 years older than me and took me to a few games when he could and got me into it.

Hillsidehibby
24-04-2016, 07:37 PM
yes I was at that game too , we scored two in the last minute . No injury time in those days game finished at 90 mins

24-04-2016, 08:16 PM
Hibs 3 Raith 0 on 2nd January 1969 . I`ve just checked on excellent Hibs stats site someone mentioned above . Know we drew at Tynecastle just 24 hours earlier and pre Hearts relegation in 70s played at Tynecastle on New Year`s Day in odd years . Strangely we beat Raith on same date and also 3 v 0 2 years earlier but think it was 1969 .

24-04-2016, 08:22 PM
1951 Hibs v Aberdeen think the score was 4- 4.I was at the 58/59 semi and replay with Rangers and the final against Clyde, bookies were given odds Clyde would't turn up, they did and beat us 1 - 0 with a deflected Coyle goal. Wonder how many others here were at 1958 final . My first final was 1972 and I`ve been to all since including all 3 in 1979 but there are probably a lot of others the same but probably not many who also went in 1958 . Wonder if there`s anyone who was at 1947 final and all since ?

24-04-2016, 08:29 PM
Late 1990 can't remember who was the opposition.

24-04-2016, 09:30 PM
Pre season friendly against Newcastle Utd round about 1969, 0-0 draw if I remember correctly.

hibs62
24-04-2016, 10:00 PM
Hibs v Celtic in the Scottish Cup, Easter Road, March 1986. Eddie May came on and scored the winner for us to win 4-3. Superb.

24-04-2016, 10:05 PM
Hibs v Celtic in the Scottish Cup, Easter Road, March 1986. Eddie May came on and scored the winner for us to win 4-3. Superb.
The goal is my avatar. The only time we've beaten Celtic in the Scottish cup since we won last won it.

Time For Heroes
24-04-2016, 10:18 PM
Shearers first game for Southampton

24-04-2016, 10:22 PM
Cracking match, we put them out of both cups that season, the league cup tie being memorable for Pearce O'Leary's penalty in the shoot out going into the cemetery behind the seated enclosure. That was after a cracking 4-4 draw, my favourite memory was John Collins using Roy Aitkens backside as a stepping stone with the big Celtic huddy lying on the turf after a failed slide tackle. Hibs were great that night with Durie and Cowan leading the line, one of my favourite ever games, The 4-3 Scottish cup tie was outstanding too, Eddie scoring after coming on as a sub if I recall correctly. He had a habit of scoring important goals, a winner v Hearts and another at Ibrox also in his resume. His best though? A brilliant solo effort when he romped through the entire Clydebank team in a rare Easter Road defeat against The Bankies, I think it was Hibs 5000th or 6000th competitive goal, there was an article about it in the following Monday's news, still gutted we lost though... Unacceptable! Miller Out! My first game versus Middlesboro, 71, pre season friendly... Done this thread way too
many times

25-04-2016, 09:19 AM
No idea who we were playing, or what the score was. I was sitting (playing) in the old North stand with my dad.
The two things I do know - I was watching the Famous Five and we won the league that season :thumbsup:

25-04-2016, 11:59 AM
Pre season friendly against Newcastle Utd round about 1969, 0-0 draw if I remember correctly.

Pretty sure that was my first game.

DUX
25-04-2016, 12:03 PM

Magic game.

Remember a similar type game around those seasons.

Think it ended up 4 all with Pierce o leary missing the vital pen.

25-04-2016, 12:25 PM
Magic game.

Yeah, I remember that game too, principally for John Collins using Roy Aitkens backside as a stepping stone with the big Celtic huddy lying on the turf after a failed slide tackle.

DUX
25-04-2016, 12:32 PM
Yeah, I remember that game too, principally for John Collins using Roy Aitkens backside as a stepping stone with the big Celtic huddy lying on the turf after a failed slide tackle.

:flag:]

:faf: Big Roy Aitken!

How the f did he make it as fitba player. A more clumsy man I have yet to see, oh wait oor benny.

I'm sure Big Roy even conned his way into the Scotland team lol.

25-04-2016, 12:40 PM
Magic game.

Was the same season in the league cup.

DUX
25-04-2016, 12:46 PM
Was the same season in the league cup.

Cheers bud.

I thought it was but could nt be certain. Halcyon games they two.

Totally unexpected at that time. The atmospere at ER was electric.

25-04-2016, 12:47 PM
The only time we've beaten Celtic in the Scottish cup since we won last won it.
That's an amazing fact (if true).

DUX
25-04-2016, 12:49 PM

News to me too.

Don't want to speak too soon but good omens!

f it. This is the Year!

Kick on the Hi bees.

Dav1986
25-04-2016, 01:07 PM
10th December 1994 for me against Falkirk. Finished 2 all with Michael o'neill scoring late on to equalise. Can't remember much more than that from it other than it making me want to go to more games. My dad bought me the whole purple and green striped away strip we had then with boots to match. Still my favourite strip.

25-04-2016, 01:28 PM
10th December 1994 for me against Falkirk. Finished 2 all with Michael o'neill scoring late on to equalise. Can't remember much more than that from it other than it making me want to go to more games. My dad bought me the whole purple and green striped away strip we had then with boots to match. Still my favourite strip.

Was that game not 3-3?

My mate (who supports Falkirk) often refers to it as one of the best days out of his life. We were 17 and in our last year at school and had a few beers on the bus on the way through to that game. We were both shelf-fillers at Presto supermarket at that time and that night was the supermarket workers Christmas night out at Wee Jimmies in Cowdenbeath, a good chance to "mingle with" the checkout girls.

Absolutely brilliant day, night and game.

Good times.

I remember being surprised my mate enjoyed it so much because I'm sure the away end was a seated open terrace and there was an iconic photo that did the rounds of all the drookit Falkirk fans in their yellow ponchos in the Dunbar end - it looked bloody miserable.

25-04-2016, 02:15 PM
Shearers first game for Southampton

Do you mean Blackburn?? :)

25-04-2016, 02:35 PM
December 2005 we played Motherwell, I was more of an EPL fan up until then and didn't follow Scottish football much but my uncles a big hibby and took me along to the game, we were about 5 minutes late but literally as soon as I walked up the stairs and saw my first glimpse of the pitch we scored, was hooked right away. ended up scoring a last minute winner to win 2-1!

BigT-Hibeez
25-04-2016, 05:02 PM
Pat Stanton's testimonial Vs Celtic at ER, 30/04/1978, Hibees won 2-1... Was a massive fight up easter road after the match and shop windows were getting smashed in.. Was a bit scary as a young lad!

25-04-2016, 06:34 PM

You're a bad man Mr Lapsed, the poor boy may not have been the school dux but there's no need to tease him :-)

Annasam
25-04-2016, 06:54 PM
Early 70's at Parkhead. I remember I only wanted to see Stanton, Blackley, Brownlee, Sheadler, Edwards, Gordon. The sub was a lad called Hazel whose name brought great anticipation and even Tam McNiven the Physio wi the exotic bunnett. I pitied Celtic and hoped we wouldn't beat them too severely. My life as a Hibee was going to be truly great!

DoonTheSlope
25-04-2016, 07:05 PM
Hibernian v Sporting Lisborn 27th September 1972 6-2. As a ten year old I climbed the wall and run up the old terracing looked down onto the pitch..... and instantly fell in love with The Hibs

Agnes Gordon
25-04-2016, 07:07 PM
1972 Cup Final defeat to Celtic.......I know
My dad brought me over from Belfast with my older brother.
Wasn't a complete disaster of a day for the family as they both were / are Celtic fans.
Thankfully future games were a little more enjoyable :greengrin

RAY
25-04-2016, 07:10 PM
My first game wis against Raith 1969 70 season. Won 3-1 Marinello got the first i think.

spudhib
25-04-2016, 07:15 PM
V Partick mid to late seventies remember Tom mcadams Barnet .

Docc109
25-04-2016, 07:16 PM
First I recall was The 7-0, not a bad start, also was at more recent 0-7.

25-04-2016, 07:19 PM

It is true

25-04-2016, 07:21 PM
3-1 to Celtic at parkhead one midweek in late 80s think daruiz wdozcyk or whatever his name was scored a freekick.

25-04-2016, 08:03 PM
2-2 draw against Dundee in Oct 1962.
Didn't appreciate until recently that my dad probably took me to that game as much to see Hibs but also because Gordon Smith (dad's favourite Hibby) was playing for Dundee that day. So, although I didn't realise it at the time, I can honestly say that I've seen one of the FF play at ER, even though all their successes were well before I was born.

25-04-2016, 08:08 PM
January 1971 v Aberdeen at the start of Joe Baker's second spell.

That's the first one I remember as well, but as an 8 year old at the time I would definitely have been there a long time before that.

25-04-2016, 08:09 PM
Hibs 2 Dunfermline 0 October 1967. Peter Cormack lobbed keeper from centre circle. Few weeks later we beat Naples 5-0

Was at both games too. Happy days.

confused
26-04-2016, 08:46 AM
I think it was 29th Jan 1955, against Clyde, we were beat 3-2 ( I think ) I was only 5 yrs old It was a wet day , and I think the last home appearance of the famous 5, 62yrs later I have had many many more wet dreich days at my beloved Easter Road,

SJM
26-04-2016, 09:01 AM
1-1 v Raith Rovers about 1997. Rougier was brilliant for them.

26-04-2016, 12:56 PM
Binos 4 Hibs 1. Downhill ever since.

That's the first away game that I remember

I remember a 5-1 against Partick, Malmo 6-0, Hamburg 2-1 and an Old Rangers game played on Christmas day 0-1