23-04-2016, 11:40 AM
Rangers 0 1 Alloa

HibeeHendo
23-04-2016, 11:43 AM
Rangers are really rubbish at the back.

23-04-2016, 12:13 PM
Halliday slots a penalty outside the post.

muzzando
23-04-2016, 12:13 PM
Halliday misses the customary penalty for the rangers

paddy1875
23-04-2016, 12:14 PM
Andy Halliday, what a tosser

23-04-2016, 12:14 PM
Definite penalty but ha ha Halliday.

Oh well 1-1

muzzando
23-04-2016, 12:15 PM
1-1 now Tavernier

23-04-2016, 12:16 PM
Keeper blunder 1.1

23-04-2016, 12:23 PM
Interesting that the Rangers contijue to look dodgy at back and look like they are going through motions.

If this continues until end of league season and then they have 3 weeks gap they may struggle to get right back to the intensity they showed in old firm game.

23-04-2016, 12:46 PM
Liverpool short of a defender today. http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/36120459

ShadesLongThrow
23-04-2016, 01:15 PM
Derby v Sheffield Wednesday great game on Sky. Johnny Russell and Barry Bannan both stand outs. 1-1 with 5 mins to go.

muzzando
23-04-2016, 01:22 PM
Rangers 1-1 Alloa FT

aussie_hibee
23-04-2016, 01:23 PM
Rangers looked rancid today. No cutting edge at all.

23-04-2016, 01:25 PM
Hopefully a start of a bad run of results for rangers and including a bad result in the final

23-04-2016, 01:30 PM
two stings in two games for the bigots, the bees and the wasps

haw haw

23-04-2016, 02:19 PM
two stings in two games for the bigots, the bees and the wasps

haw haw

23-04-2016, 02:30 PM
murrawell 1 jamturds 0

muzzando
23-04-2016, 02:33 PM
Sam Stanton scores again for Livi

23-04-2016, 02:34 PM
Sam Stanton scores for Livingston at Dumfries.

23-04-2016, 03:09 PM
Liverpool 2 Newcastle 1

Hope for the geordies

23-04-2016, 03:39 PM
Liverpool 2 Newcastle 2

23-04-2016, 03:52 PM
Liverpool 2 Newcastle 2

If only Rafa had come in a few weeks earlier.

23-04-2016, 04:30 PM
Man Utd looking pretty good in the opening 15 mins. Still 0-0.

Lukaku almost in there though.

23-04-2016, 04:30 PM
1-0 Raith

Edson Arantes
23-04-2016, 04:36 PM
Raith 1-0

23-04-2016, 04:48 PM
1-0 Man Utd

Fellaini, deserved

23-04-2016, 05:02 PM
Anyone know why Raith are wearing what was originally a special commemorative away strip?

23-04-2016, 05:05 PM
Raith leading at half time.

23-04-2016, 05:20 PM
Hopefully a start of a bad run of results for rangers and including a bad result in the final

That would be great, but I think it's wishful thinking.

They've already got promotion, and they can take their foot off the gas now that's wrapped up. They are under no pressure now it's holiday time for them. Meanwhile, every game for Hibs is a high pressure game.

Even then, the stats at Greyskull show Alloa's draw there today was a real smash and grab. Possession 75/25; shots 26/4; corners 14/0. Ridiculously one sided.

I don't like it, but these are the facts.

PS: It's still possible Hibs might beat them in the final, but the odds are not in Hibs favour I don't think.

23-04-2016, 05:23 PM
Comon Raith Rovers!

HibeeEmma
23-04-2016, 05:26 PM
Comon Raith Rovers!

37 minutes to go...

23-04-2016, 05:27 PM
Pen for everton, no sure if it should have been.

Saved by De Gea

23-04-2016, 05:28 PM
Raith boy should be off. Attempted kick to the face.

23-04-2016, 05:28 PM
De Gea with a brilliant penalty save from Lukaku.

Callum7
23-04-2016, 05:29 PM
1-1 at Starks park

De Gea is the best in the world, IMO :agree:

Justice - Fosu-Mensah got the ball.

Edson Arantes
37 minutes to go...

Hold on!

Twiglet
No wonder Everton are 11th, they dither on the ball so much, 10 touches when 1 is needed. So frustrating.

23-04-2016, 05:30 PM
FFS don't get sent off!

Edson Arantes
23-04-2016, 05:30 PM
Bollox 1-1

23-04-2016, 05:32 PM
Draw puts us in the same position as we'd have been if we'd won. Not the worst result but would love to see Raith get a winner.

23-04-2016, 05:35 PM
Draw puts us in the same position as we'd have been if we'd won. Not the worst result but would love to see Raith get a winner.

If we'd won and Falkirk draw it would have been in our hands whereas as it stands it's not or am I totally miscalculating?

Difference is huge. Draw likely gives Falkirk 2nd. RR win and it's in Hibs hands.

If we'd won and Falkirk drew it would have been in our hands whereas as it stands it's not or am I totally miscalculating?

As it stands we need to win big in our last 2 games to overturn the 7 or 8 goal difference.

23-04-2016, 05:37 PM
That should have been a penalty to United.

As it stands we need to win big in our last 2 games to overturn the 7 or 8 goal difference.
That's how I'm reading it.

I suppose it is technically in our hands but it's far from ideal. 3 points today and it staying the same at Starks and it was simply win the last 2 as opposed to needing a huge goal swing.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Great save by Jagielka

I've a feeling if Raith / Falkirk ends in a draw today, Hibs will lose out on 2nd on GD. I can't see Falkirk chucking it away at home on the last day of the season to Morton.

23-04-2016, 05:38 PM
Great save by Jagielka

Aye, how was that not given, yet he gave a penalty to Everton for a clean tackle? :confused:

23-04-2016, 05:39 PM
That should have been a penalty to United.

He was falling so naturally he had his arms out to break his fall so not sure myself. He also clearly tried to clear with his head as he was falling.

23-04-2016, 05:39 PM
I've a feeling if Raith / Falkirk ends in a draw today, Hibs will lose out on 2nd on GD. I can't see Falkirk chucking it away at home on the last day of the season to Morton.

I can. It's Hibs ability to win 2 home league matches that's the problem.

23-04-2016, 05:40 PM
I can. It's Hibs ability to win 2 home league matches that's the problem.

Our home form has been generally decent.

Well on the evidence of today we have no chance of doing that so its a Raith win we need imo

He was falling so naturally he had his arms out to break his fall so not sure myself.

Bit of a tough one for you scouse? Who would you rather see win?

23-04-2016, 05:41 PM
Bit of a tough one for you scouse? Who would you rather see win?

Everton and then get pumped in the final.

23-04-2016, 05:41 PM
Well on the evidence of today we have no chance of doing that so its a Raith win we need imo

Our next two games are at home are they not?

23-04-2016, 05:42 PM

We've rarely scored 3 in a game this season - Rangers and Alloa recently and can't think far enough back for more so it's pretty unlikely!

C'mon Raith.

Everton and then get pumped in the final.

Ok so not such a tough one after all :greengrin

Callum7
2-1 raith

23-04-2016, 05:43 PM
Get in.

2-1 raith

I'm on the I player and they haven't scored yet.

Good but nippy.

Ok so not such a tough one after all :greengrin

:-)

23-04-2016, 05:44 PM
Houstons lot are bairning it big time today. Obviously feeling the pressure against a 2nd string Raith side.

23-04-2016, 05:44 PM
Great wee goal, Well done Raith!! :thumbsup:

Off the bar
23-04-2016, 05:45 PM
I'm on the I player and they haven't scored yet.

Good but nippy.

Welcome to the reality of everyone who watches hibs.TV and follows the thread on here!

If we'd won and Falkirk draw it would have been in our hands whereas as it stands it's not or am I totally miscalculating?

What I meant is that if we won and Falkirk won then we're in the same position as we would be if both games drew.

Anyway. Mon Raith!

18 mins to go. Please hold on for a win Raith Rovers.

23-04-2016, 05:46 PM
Og 1-1

Our next two games are at home are they not?

They are indeed pete but we struggle to break teams that defend down and score heavily but you never know

Off the bar
Kin hell Ronaldo has been on the Logan diet!

23-04-2016, 05:47 PM
1-1 Everton v Utd.

Own goal by Bobby Moore. Sorry Chris Smalling, I got confused by the commentators hysteria about how good he is.

23-04-2016, 05:47 PM
We've rarely scored 3 in a game this season - Rangers and Alloa recently and can't think far enough back for more so it's pretty unlikely!

C'mon Raith.

Agree it has to be a raith win

23-04-2016, 05:50 PM
1-1 Everton v Utd.

Own goal by Bobby Moore. Sorry Chris Smalling, I got confused by the commentators hysteria about how good he is.

He's certainly improved, but he's no Ferdinand/Vidic/Stam.

1-1 Everton v Utd.

:agree: He couldn't lace Bobby Moore's boots IMHO.

More I watch this game (RR vs F), more useful 2nd place looks… Hold on Raith Rovers please.

23-04-2016, 05:52 PM
More I watch this game (RR vs F), more useful 2nd place looks… Hold on Raith Rovers please.

What do you mean by "useful"? Has this just dawned on you? Not being funny. Genuine question.

23-04-2016, 05:53 PM
Lukaku should have won it there. He's had a shocker.

23-04-2016, 05:55 PM
Into last 10 mins regulation time at RR. :pray:

23-04-2016, 05:59 PM
Into last 10 mins regulation time at RR. :pray:

Karma fae a fifer so that should do the trick green grin

23-04-2016, 05:59 PM
What do you mean by "useful"? Has this just dawned on you? Not being funny. Genuine question.

Not quite just dawned, but I have had confidence that over two legs we would be pretty big favourites over Raith (and Falkirk). The match is simply reminding me that we are closer to 50/50 for each playoff, and hence reinforcing how damaging a third place finish is.

However even if we finish third, we have two ties where the players have no hiding place, and no more wiggle room. If out lads produce their best, Id still be hopeful we can get through both teams.

pogo
23-04-2016, 06:01 PM
2-2!

2-2.

Ffs.

Baws.

23-04-2016, 06:02 PM
Crap.

23-04-2016, 06:02 PM
The late, late show from Falkirk yet again.

Lee Marvin
23-04-2016, 06:03 PM
Serves us right. A win today and we would have had it in our hands. Pathetic really.

pogo
4 minutes injury time.

Was expecting it. That's it folks 2nd has gone.

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaas

Martial

Man Utd win it in the 93rd minute.

No doubt that Falkirk have character in their team.

23-04-2016, 06:04 PM
Ffs

Falkirk deserve second.

As a team they are better

No doubt that Falkirk have character in their team.

Yep.

They barely have a single player that would get in our team but they are a good side as a whole.

23-04-2016, 06:05 PM
At this point does anyone really care if man Utd win?

More or less consigned to third place

23-04-2016, 06:05 PM
Raith done their bit pity we screw up all the time

23-04-2016, 06:06 PM
At this point does anyone really care if man Utd win?

More or less consigned to third place

It's the semi final of the cup!

23-04-2016, 06:06 PM
We don't deserve second.

23-04-2016, 06:07 PM
Full time, 2-2.

Can't see us getting second place now if I'm honest.

Callum7
Raith 2 - 2 Falrkirk FT

I shouted like a madman when Martial scored :greengrin

McHugh right at the death again, He's done that against The Rangers, Hibs, and now Raith in recent weeks.

**** off.

23-04-2016, 06:08 PM
Full time, 2-2.

Can't see us getting second place now if I'm honest.

Raith will give us a game ! Promo has just become doubly tough.

pogo
FT, 2-2, could really have done with a favour from RR, but if we'd done the business ourselves......

Our only hope of 2nd is to batter the **** out of Dumbarton and QOTS and hope Falkirk either draw or win narrowly against Morton. Ain't happening.

Genuinely think we have more chance in the SC final than we do of being promoted

bob12345
23-04-2016, 06:09 PM
5 or 6 required against Dumbarton now. Plan B needed tactics wise, over to you Stubbs.

What a game at Wembley! Typical Toffees of course chucking it away. Martial is some player.

Got to go and put 6/7 passed a part-time side with nothing to play for then beat QoS by a few as well.

JJP
You have to admire the Falkirk players for their professionalism and character. Countless late goals in big games lately. They simply want it so much more than we do.

23-04-2016, 06:10 PM
Our only hope of 2nd is to batter the **** out of Dumbarton and QOTS and hope Falkirk either draw or win narrowly against Morton. Ain't happening.

Is it an 8 goal swing we need?

Assuming Falkirk beat Morton that's going to leave us needing to hand out a couple of real big humpings (by 4 or 5 goals) in a week. We've not managed that all season so it's a huge ask now.

I think our best hope is Morton taking something of Falkirk.

23-04-2016, 06:10 PM
Better than Falkirk winning. Morton will give them issues on D-Day. If we beat Dumbarton by a hatful, and it could be very tense...

23-04-2016, 06:12 PM
It's going to be very difficult to finish second now, but let's be honest, our results over the past couple of months haven't been good enough to merit second. If we do happen to sneak it, we'll have been very lucky. We only have ourselves to blame.

23-04-2016, 06:13 PM
5 or 6 required against Dumbarton now. Plan B needed tactics wise, over to you Stubbs.

Yea 5 or 6 just like that. When was the last time that happened? They only needed 1 goal today.

Dumbarton will actually feeling quite good right now because they ensured another season in the Championship today by beating St Mirren 2-1. Not bad for a part-time club with really limited resources.

23-04-2016, 06:14 PM
Is it an 8 goal swing we need?

Assuming Falkirk beat Morton that's going to leave us needing to hand out a couple of real big humpings (by 4 or 5 goals) in a week. We've not managed that all season so it's a huge ask now.

I think our best hope is Morton taking something of Falkirk.
Why are we assuming Falkirk will beat Morton? That's not an easy game.

23-04-2016, 06:16 PM
Got to go and put 6/7 passed a part-time side with nothing to play for then beat QoS by a few as well.

QOS took 6 off Dumbarton.
Against a poor part time side, play an attacking team with width and no sitting midfielder.

23-04-2016, 06:18 PM
A Hibs/Man United cup double. Oh yes!! :greengrin

23-04-2016, 06:19 PM
Man Utd win it in the 93rd minute.

Who cares

Who cares

Me :aok:

Falkirk to get at least a draw at home against Morton, no brainer, I'd put my mortgage on it.

23-04-2016, 06:20 PM
Our mentality surely has to be to assume we need maximum points and goals?

There's no point in winning 1-0 in midweek and going into Saturday knowing it's a case of scoring 6+ or praying for a Falkirk defeat. Go for it against Dumbarton, score a few and hope that puts the pressure onto Falkirk.

23-04-2016, 06:21 PM
Who cares
It's a thread about todays games. The clue is in the title about what might be discussed.

If you don't care then why waste your time passing comment? It's easy enough to ignore.

23-04-2016, 06:22 PM
It's a thread about todays games. The clue is in the title about what might be discussed.

If you don't care then why waste your time passing comment? It's easy enough to ignore.

:applause:

23-04-2016, 06:23 PM
2-4-4 v Dumbarton....throw caution to the wind and freakin go for it :)

23-04-2016, 06:24 PM
It's good that all these small teams are in and around the semis of the FA cup. Gives them a chance of some glory.

It's a shame the big boys still don't take it seriously.

23-04-2016, 06:25 PM
Falkirk to get at least a draw at home against Dumbarton, no brainer, I'd put my mortgage on it.

If they draw and we win both our games then second is ours.

It's as you were but with one less game to go.

23-04-2016, 06:26 PM

There's no point in winning 1-0 in midweek and going into Saturday knowing it's a case of scoring 6+ or praying for a Falkirk defeat. Go for it against Dumbarton, score a few and hope that puts the pressure onto Falkirk.

:agree: unless stubbs has already accepted we will be 3rd and decides to rest 3 or 4 players

23-04-2016, 06:26 PM
It's good that all these small teams are in and around the semis of the FA cup. Gives them a chance of some glory.

It's a shame the big boys still don't take it seriously.

I remember a wee team called Man City taking it very seriously when they won their first trophy in 36 years. :wink:

23-04-2016, 06:27 PM

We've only managed to score 7 goals in our last 6 games, what gives you the idea that we might score 6 in one game?

If Falkirk win next week, we'll be finishing third.

23-04-2016, 06:27 PM
2-4-4 v Dumbarton....throw caution to the wind and freakin go for it :)

Oxley up front might work!

23-04-2016, 06:28 PM
Falkirk to get at least a draw at home against Dumbarton, no brainer, I'd put my mortgage on it.

Falkirk play Morton at home next week. A fixture most people, including the bookmakers, will expect to see them win.

23-04-2016, 06:30 PM
Oxley up front might work!

naw, get conrad to balance the ball on his head with all challenges just bouncing off him then he heads it in the net(x 6)

:)

23-04-2016, 06:30 PM
I remember a wee team called Man City taking it very seriously when they won their first trophy in 36 years. :wink:

They've moved on a bit since then. They now see the FA cup as a bit, well, small time. :agree:

23-04-2016, 06:31 PM

Yep and not so much the big boys as the rich boys. They'll never achieve what the real big boys of English football have achieved either.

23-04-2016, 06:37 PM
Falkirk play Morton at home next week. A fixture most people, including the bookmakers, will expect to see them win.

But not sure to win.

23-04-2016, 06:38 PM
They've moved on a bit since then. They now see the FA cup as a bit, well, small time. :agree:

Yep and not so much the big boys as the rich boys. They'll never achieve what the real big boys of English football have achieved either.

The EPL and the Champions League is what a club like Man United should be competing for, and it's fair to say the F.A. Cup isn't the great prize it was once was. Van Gaal will lose his job regardless in the summer, accordingly. City have the money to buy their way to the top table, just as Chelsea did, but SH is right when he says those clubs can never be like the established great names. What happens if/when their owners decide to sell up?

23-04-2016, 06:49 PM
But not sure to win.

Agree. No game is sure to be won. Upsets do happen in football. As all Hibs supporters are only too well aware.

The same logic applies to Hibs matches against Dumbarton & QOS. Teams who have already beaten Hibs this season IIRC. Yet folk are talking about how many goals Hibs need to rack up against these teams, without conceding any presumably.

Hibs seem spent to me, but I might be wrong. I wasn't at today's game, but some who were have said it was a very poor and insipid performance.

It's OK to be optimistic. Hopefully those folk won't be disappointed.

23-04-2016, 06:55 PM
If they draw and we win both our games then second is ours.

It's as you were but with one less game to go.

Yep.

23-04-2016, 06:56 PM

No argument from me, chief. That's not the point I'm making - just saying we shouldn't write us off just yet.

IMHO, we have no choice but to try for a cricket score against Dumbarton, and then again against QotS.

23-04-2016, 07:05 PM
The EPL and the Champions League is what a club like Man United should be competing for, and it's fair to say the F.A. Cup isn't the great prize it was once was. Van Gaal will lose his job regardless in the summer, accordingly. City have the money to buy their way to the top table, just as Chelsea did, but SH is right when he says those clubs can never be like the established great names. What happens if/when their owners decide to sell up?

Success, whatever way you get it, brings fans and status.

I have no doubt that if city's owners were to disappear (which they've no intention of doing) they will have the worldwide glory hunters propping them up.

It's all very well saying that some teams are big and established, therefore they should be competing. Huddersfield and Leeds were once big and established and look what's happened to them.

It's tough at the top and teams like Liverpool and United might find themselves floating around mid table next year if the downward spiral continues.

23-04-2016, 07:09 PM
Yep.

That's wrong though isn't it? We win our last two games and we'll finish third, assuming Falkirk win their last game

23-04-2016, 07:09 PM

I have no doubt that if city's owners were to disappear (which they've no intention of doing) they will have the worldwide glory hunters propping them up.

It's all very well saying that some teams are big and established, therefore they should be competing. Huddersfield and Leeds were once big and established and look what's happened to them.

It's tough at the top and teams like Liverpool and United might find themselves floating around mid table next year if the downward spiral continues.

Perhaps, but United will still be the best supported team in the country, as was the case when they were in the second division in 1974-75 and averaged over 50,000: the highest in the UK.

23-04-2016, 07:17 PM

Huddersfield and Leeds wow that's a blast from the past. Personally the likes of City and Chelsea don't really register with me as giants of the English game and I doubt they ever will. They just don't register with me. I guess that's mainly down to my own smugness of being able to say that I personally have seen my team win 5 European Cups, 8 League Cups, 6 FA Cups,3 Uefa cups, European Super cups and so many league titles I can't remember how many I've actually seen. I doubt anyone will ever see their team achieve that success again so the newbie fans of City,Chelsea and the like make me laugh when they compare their teams to mine.

23-04-2016, 07:23 PM
Huddersfield and Leeds wow that's a blast from the past. Personally the likes of City and Chelsea don't really register with me as giants of the English game and I doubt they ever will. They just don't register with me. I guess that's mainly down to my own smugness of being able to say that I personally have seen my team win 5 European Cups, 8 League Cups, 6 FA Cups,3 Uefa cups, European Super cups and so many league titles I can't remember how many I've actually seen. I doubt anyone will ever see their team achieve that success again so the newbie fans of City,Chelsea and the like make me laugh when they compare their teams to mine.

All that is part of the past, the same as Huddersfield and Leeds and about as relevant as Uniteds average attendance in the seventies.

These teams might not register with you but they certainly register with the engravers who put their names on trophies. They will probably also register with those who do the draw for the knockout stages of the champions league.

Face it guys, the future is blue while the once mighty are scraping around the bottom of a sack for crumbs like the UEFA cup.

23-04-2016, 07:27 PM
All that is part of the past, the same as Huddersfield and Leeds and about as relevant as Uniteds average attendance in the seventies.

These teams might not register with you but they certainly register with the engravers who put their names on trophies. They will probably also register with those who do the draw for the knockout stages of the champions league.

Face it guys, the future is blue while the once mighty are scraping around the bottom of a sack for crumbs like the UEFA cup.

God love you, Peter :greengrin

23-04-2016, 07:29 PM

God love you, Peter :greengrin

23-04-2016, 07:31 PM

God loves a trier mate but you don't half spout some comical pish, the future is blue is a cracker,Everton and Leicester may well surprise me but I doubt it. :-)

23-04-2016, 07:33 PM
That's wrong though isn't it? We win our last two games and we'll finish third, assuming Falkirk win their last game

By your logic Hearts should have won the league in 1986.

23-04-2016, 07:33 PM

If you assume Falkirk win then they can't draw, which is what Pete said.

23-04-2016, 07:39 PM
If you assume Falkirk win then they can't draw, which is what Pete said.

Sorry, I thought Pete was talking about today's Falkirk game.

Fwiw in terms of getting promotion I don't think it makes any difference if we finish second or third. If we can beat Raith that'd be a great confidence boost which would act as more valuable to a week or so rest.

We got a break last year and it counted against us in the end.

23-04-2016, 07:42 PM
Sorry, I thought Pete was talking about today's Falkirk game.

Fwiw in terms of getting promotion I don't think it makes any difference if we finish second or third. If we can beat Raith that'd be a great confidence boost which would act as more valuable to a week or so rest.

We got a break last year and it counted against us in the end.
:aok: We need to finish second, imho. Three ties plus a cup final is too much, imho.

23-04-2016, 08:00 PM
:aok: We need to finish second, imho. Three ties plus a cup final is too much, imho.

And there in lies the problem , nail on the head Matty I now don't think we will finish second unless Falkirk bottle it and they have shown they ate fighters right to the end of games
Was at greenock today and not going to labour the point but we simply didn't go for the win in any convincing way
The Rangers game should of given us confidence but we didn't look hungry
If its tiredness creeping in and affecting players then as you say three ties and a Cup Final is not what we need and that is why three points was a must today imo
Cummings looked leggy and its clear thats going to be issue for him and others

MickeyEdwards
23-04-2016, 08:14 PM

I too agree with you and think that we will struggle to beat Raith and Falkirk and then the SPL second bottom team making winning the Holy Grail for older Hibbees like myself perhaps a step too far too.

I really hope that I am wrong but the respective track records over the past couple of months don't bode well for us!