View Full Version : Upgrade Where are you coming from this time?

19-04-2016, 09:55 AM
Well. Another final, another thread.
After all the expense and 'favours' with the misses' you guys used in March, are you able to get over for this one?

Again these threads are my favourite when we get into a final.

So, where are you coming from?

FAO Admins. For some reason tapatalk is telling me I have to put a prefix on, hence the prefix.

19-04-2016, 11:33 AM
Managua, Nicaragua. Cannae see there being too many Hibbys on the plane.

Dunedin Hibs
19-04-2016, 11:44 AM
Dunedin , New Zealand....2 days travel to see the mighty Hibs . Worth every 19,000 km

ontario hibby
19-04-2016, 12:00 PM
london ontario:agree: :gwa:

19-04-2016, 12:09 PM
Anybody who travelled from abroad for the League cup final and is coming back for this one too should be given a free East Stand stone with their name and where they travelled from on it ......... especially if they have come from the colonies or the new world, incredible commitment http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

19-04-2016, 12:25 PM
I missed the last one due to a trip to watch tennis with the wife. She goes to the LA Galaxy games with me and she used to love going to see tennis so I made an effort to go with her to some tournaments. It clashed with the league cup final so I was streaming it like the Murray brothers and was gutted that we lost. I said I would come if we made it to the SC Final and flights and hotels are booked already.

We deserve to win against this lot after the scandals of 1979 and McCoist's over head fluke in the league cup final at the Soap Dodger Stadium in 1993.

Sproule Three
19-04-2016, 12:57 PM
Sydney Australia.
Thought about coming for LC final but knew I couldn't afford two trips in 2 months .
Hanlon's last minute equaliser at Swiney prevented me paying for a flight that night.
Hoping to see the play off final the following Wednesday although not anticipating getting a ticket for a the away leg to wherever it is . Be good to be around Edinburgh if iwe get promotion after winning the cup-;)
There's at least 5 Sydney Hibees that I know of who are travelling and plenty more from elsewhere in Aus

StokePogesHibs
19-04-2016, 01:55 PM
Arkansas/LA depending on work that week. My 13th visit to Glasgow for a League or Scottish Cup Final. Let's hope it's a lucky one:flag:GGTTH

Ich liebe Deek
19-04-2016, 02:54 PM
Daytripping from Dubai but not told the Mrs yet which will be an interesting txt for her to read:na na:.Need to fly back at 9.30 from the weeg that night though as my cover is also on annual leave and were flat out.Straight into work off the flight should be fun.

19-04-2016, 03:43 PM
Falkirk :greengrin

shetlandhibee
19-04-2016, 04:13 PM
shetland :flag:

19-04-2016, 05:02 PM
I came over in March and doubt it'd be an option this time.

FWIW, I was totally p1ssed off after that game and vowed never to go to another Final again... but no doubt I'll break that promise at some point.

Green Blood
19-04-2016, 05:20 PM
Aboyne in Aberdeenshire!:flag:

Benny Brazil
19-04-2016, 05:21 PM
Ma hoose.

hibs69
19-04-2016, 05:36 PM
Costa Del South Queensferry

19-04-2016, 05:39 PM
Well I returned from Oman just before the League Cup Final. Not specifically for the match as I was coming back anyway. However if I was not due back for the final I would have changed travel plans.

I am back in Oman at the moment. It is not true to say that I am coming back for the Scottish Cup Final specifically as I will return home on Thursday! I have missed the Falkirk match and will also miss the Rangers League match.

MKHIBEE
19-04-2016, 05:58 PM
I'm coming from Northampton. Staying at a B and B owned by a jambo.

HibsMax
19-04-2016, 06:13 PM
Massachusetts. Couldn't make the LC Final as I was saving my pennies (and holidays) for this one.

deeside_hibby
19-04-2016, 06:20 PM
Banchory, Aberdeenshire.... Once again.. Third trip to Hampden this season :flag:

19-04-2016, 06:24 PM
Deepest darkest Lancashire but the dilemma is whether to do the day trip to Glasgow or go up to Edinburgh and go across to Glasgow and then return to Edinburgh for the post match party of the century. :greengrin

19-04-2016, 06:36 PM
Halifax. Need to get to London after game any ideas on best way?

celthedd1
19-04-2016, 06:47 PM

Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysilio gogogoch...digs booked and let the the train take the strain.....again

19-04-2016, 07:09 PM
Dalkeith.

19-04-2016, 08:38 PM
Dalkeith.

That's a trek mate. Must be costing a fortune for flights.

19-04-2016, 08:52 PM
That's a trek mate. Must be costing a fortune for flights.

That new eskbank train is murder I know 👍🏻

19-04-2016, 09:10 PM

Haven't checked the prices for that day but you can usually fly Glasgow to London for peanuts.

hibeeleicester
19-04-2016, 09:38 PM
Will probably be heading over to Malaga for a direct flight to Edinburgh again.

Great timing really as i have a meeting in Edinburgh on the 16th :gwa:

HibeesLA
19-04-2016, 09:40 PM
Los Angeles if I make it over. Not sure if I can yet, but started to look at flight costs to see what's possible.

19-04-2016, 11:01 PM
Glasgow - Heathrow after the game BA £44 if your quick booked mine last night :aok:

Virginia Hibs
19-04-2016, 11:32 PM
Virginia Hibs are coming back again! Without the laddie though, he's got exams! We'll worry about the credit card bill later!

19-04-2016, 11:42 PM
Glasgow - Heathrow after the game BA £44 if your quick booked mine last night :aok:

I booked mine for Sunday so I can drink champaign after we win at the Louden Tavern in my Hibs top.

cheltenhamhibee
20-04-2016, 12:08 AM
2 of us heading up from Cheltenhamshire

SingaporeHibs
20-04-2016, 12:54 AM
Flights booked, coming home from Singapore, I'm excited already GGTTH

SingaporeHibs
20-04-2016, 01:03 AM
Flights booked, coming home from Singapore, I'm excited already GGTTH

HibeeEmma
20-04-2016, 08:11 AM
Coming from Freetown, Sierra Leone in West Africa, via Brussels and London.

:flag::flag:

MKHIBEE
20-04-2016, 08:50 AM
I booked mine for Sunday so I can drink champaign after we win at the Louden Tavern in my Hibs top.
From a Buckie bottle?

rannochhibby
20-04-2016, 09:09 AM
Arkansas/LA depending on work that week. My 13th visit to Glasgow for a League or Scottish Cup Final. Let's hope it's a lucky one:flag:GGTTH

Hope you are bringing Lauren our lucky charm!

20-04-2016, 09:45 AM
I love these threads 💚

Fratelli
24-04-2016, 10:15 PM
Great commitment again by the 'Fratelli'...older brother flying back from Serbia (again!) and younger fratello flying in from Dubai (again!) on the Friday and flying back early on the Sunday morning.

Let's hope the players show the same commitment as the ever loyal Hibs fans do...

24-04-2016, 10:28 PM
Prague 2001
Sao Paulo 2012
Lisbon 2016! :greengrin

Edit: I go to games during the season too - home & away games in Dec/Jan, Oct/Mar and in August. I know what some of you were thinking! :greengrin

25-04-2016, 07:53 AM
Mate is coming from Dallas and he did the same for the league cup final.

25-04-2016, 07:56 AM
leith

farawayhibee
25-04-2016, 09:16 AM
Darmstadt germany... was back for league cup aswell...

25-04-2016, 09:55 AM
Flights booked from belfast. I like to think travelling from George Best airport to a hibs match is a good omen but it hasn't always worked out that way unfortunately.

25-04-2016, 12:36 PM
Prague 2001
Sao Paulo 2012
Lisbon 2016! :greengrin

Edit: I go to games during the season too - home & away games in Dec/Jan, Oct/Mar and in August. I know what some of you were thinking! :greengrin

Aye, your a lucky bast........ Never mind, I'm just jealous :thumbsup:

25-04-2016, 04:33 PM
Aye, your a lucky bast........ Never mind, I'm just jealous :thumbsup:

Cheers. Not on holiday or anything. Just how my work pans out - hard work too, like everyone else. :wink:

2001, I part took a bus, part hitched my way to London, then caught a lift the rest of the way from Springbank (the poster on here). Took 3 days to make it back. It was all too much and I couldn't help greeting after the final whistle. Tired and emotional etc. :greengrin

The less said about 2012 the better, but I flew back from Brazil overnight on the Friday and landed Saturday morning. Headed straight to the game. We'll leave a wee blank there, I think. Flew back overnight on Sunday, landed in Brazil on Monday morning at 0500 and I was at my desk at 0730 for the day's work. It took me 6 months to pay off the flight.

Fingers crossed for an easier journey and different result this time. :thumbsup:

25-04-2016, 06:43 PM
Cheers. Not on holiday or anything. Just how my work pans out - hard work too, like everyone else. :wink:

2001, I part took a bus, part hitched my way to London, then caught a lift the rest of the way from Springbank (the poster on here). Took 3 days to make it back. It was all too much and I couldn't help greeting after the final whistle. Tired and emotional etc. :greengrin

The less said about 2012 the better, but I flew back from Brazil overnight on the Friday and landed Saturday morning. Headed straight to the game. We'll leave a wee blank there, I think. Flew back overnight on Sunday, landed in Brazil on Monday morning at 0500 and I was at my desk at 0730 for the day's work. It took me 6 months to pay off the flight.

Fingers crossed for an easier journey and different result this time. :thumbsup:

Wow, :top marks

25-04-2016, 06:56 PM
London.

25-04-2016, 07:35 PM
Sunny Portobello, not too far but got a mate doing the Alaska to Edinburgh journey for the 2nd time this year.

25-04-2016, 07:51 PM
Sunny Portobello, not too far but got a mate doing the Alaska to Edinburgh journey for the 2nd time this year.

I think he posts on the Hibs tv wall on match days? "Anchorage Hibby" or something like that? What a journey that is!!

Magnifique
25-04-2016, 10:16 PM
london ontario:agree: :gwa:

Having just made the move from Edinburgh to Ontario at start of month my wife to be would have a right good kick at my balls for even considering it.'...............

What flight you on😀

EH75
26-04-2016, 08:32 AM
Norwich provided I can obtain a ticket. Nothing compared to some people though!

26-04-2016, 08:48 AM

That's not Ian Borge by any chance is it?

26-04-2016, 09:13 AM

Yes mate it is, he had a hectic schedule when he came over for the League cup, so I didn't manage to catch up with him, I'll try this time depending how long he's over for. Problem last time was after the cup final he was up to Inverness then back off home, maybe have more time because we'll hopefully have a play off game to go to after the final.

26-04-2016, 09:29 AM
Yes mate it is, he had a hectic schedule when he came over for the League cup, so I didn't manage to catch up with him, I'll try this time depending how long he's over for. Problem last time was after the cup final he was up to Inverness then back off home, maybe have more time because we'll hopefully have a play off game to go to after the final.

He won't know me he knows my mum though from years ago before he went to alaska with BP. is he on this?

scm70nyd1973
26-04-2016, 09:36 AM
Auckland - big year for me as it is my 25th wedding anniversary, my mum's 90th, my daughter's 21st and 2 finals - no way am I going to print on the priority in that ! I fear that I will have nae RS McColls left if I book a flight as I am under pressure to get some dosh together for the less important bashes (did I really put this in b and w) and keep holidays too 😎. It would be my first SC cup final miss since the 1972 6-1 game so I don't want it to be a first but I want the result to be a first - bit of a dilemma but sense will prevail - or in other words I will book a flight, not tell her and not give a hoot about losing the said RS McColls if we win - if we don't win then the outlook could be bleak - we shall see.

26-04-2016, 11:59 AM
Auckland - big year for me as it is my 25th wedding anniversary, my mum's 90th, my daughter's 21st and 2 finals - no way am I going to print on the priority in that ! I fear that I will have nae RS McColls left if I book a flight as I am under pressure to get some dosh together for the less important bashes (did I really put this in b and w) and keep holidays too . It would be my first SC cup final miss since the 1972 6-1 game so I don't want it to be a first but I want the result to be a first - bit of a dilemma but sense will prevail - or in other words I will book a flight, not tell her and not give a hoot about losing the said RS McColls if we win - if we don't win then the outlook could be bleak - we shall see.

Why not take her for a "surprise" 25th anniversary trip to Scotland? Show her how much it means to you....:greengrin

26-04-2016, 12:01 PM
He won't know me he knows my mum though from years ago before he went to alaska with BP. is he on this?

Don't think so.

26-04-2016, 02:52 PM
Holland, was back for the last final so hopefully this one will be THE ONE.

26-04-2016, 03:12 PM
Holland, was back for the last final so hopefully this one will be THE ONE.

Why bother if you're predicting a 1-2 defeat to Dumbarton tonight, surly we have no chance at beating the rangers?? :greengrin

26-04-2016, 03:20 PM

Some years ago when Hibs Interactive was in its infancy, one of the first commentaries I did was in the dead of winter at Cappiow where I was perched on one of those benches behind the goals. How it worked in those days was that I did my commentary via a mobile phone to Stuart Crowther who touch typed the main points into the Hibs List (bit different from today's live coverage :greengrin)

At one point I said 'It's freezing here' and a few moments later Stuart came on the line to say that Ian wanted to know if it was as cold in Greenock as where he was :greengrin

Bahrain Hibee
27-04-2016, 07:37 AM
coming back from Melbourne via Rome where I'll be popping into the Vatican to get a Papal blessing!
this is the year we do it!

HibbyScott
28-04-2016, 11:24 AM
Coming back up from Suffolk again!

Work til 4pm on the Friday, leave straight from work, 7/8 hour drive up the road, get in around midnight, up early for Hampden, hopefully a night getting slaughtered in Edinburgh celebrating!! Then get it out of the system to do the drive again on the Sunday... IF I can get a ticket! Don't want to drop over £100 on flights and not get a ticket!

Jonny1875
28-04-2016, 11:42 AM
Flights booked from belfast. I like to think travelling from George Best airport to a hibs match is a good omen but it hasn't always worked out that way unfortunately.

Travelling from Belfast too, theres an Irish Hibernian Supporters page on facebook if your on it. :thumbsup:

14-05-2016, 09:19 PM
So has everyone who is travelling from a far managed to get a ticket?

14-05-2016, 09:21 PM

Hibs tv applications were on Thursday. Those people don't know yet, but I think some others have been helped out by ST holders who have renewed.

14-05-2016, 09:23 PM
Hibs tv applications were on Thursday. Those people don't know yet, but I think some others have been helped out by ST holders who have renewed.

There will definitely be spares going about closer to the game.

Cheshire Hibby
14-05-2016, 09:25 PM
Again, impressive distances from the overseas Hibees, simply brilliant. Cheshire for me, there's a surprise!:gwa:

Virginia Hibs
14-05-2016, 09:27 PM
Money was taken out of my account today by Hibernian FC so there is an assumption that my Hibs TV ticket application has been successful!

stirling_hibee
14-05-2016, 09:31 PM
Three of us coming from South London but loving the stories of folk coming from Australia, NZ etc. Commitment! 👍

14-05-2016, 10:26 PM
No travel from Zurich this time. Life is getting in the way and honestly, I'm not too gutted.

If we contrive to win it, I reserve the right to change that statement but I'm really not feeling it sadly.

Bay Area Hibees
14-05-2016, 10:40 PM
San Franciso again.

Applied for hibs tv ticket thur not heard yet.

OsloHibs
14-05-2016, 10:51 PM
I've got a ticket and I'll be there!!!!

JON6207
14-05-2016, 11:17 PM
Gold Coast, Queensland. Just for the weekend. :greengrin

14-05-2016, 11:38 PM

Yes, but we might need to kip on your sofa. :greengrin