View Full Version : Hibs corners...last goal ?

18-04-2016, 04:00 PM
I would love to know how many corners we have had this season and how many goals we have scored off them.

Can any provide such information?

I'm struggling to remember the last time we scored off a corner also - can anyone remember which game ?

18-04-2016, 04:04 PM
I would love to know how many corners we have had this season and how many goals we have scored off them.

I'm struggling to remember the last time we scored off a corner also - can anyone remember which game ?

Hanlon v the huns was the last one that I can recall.

shamo9
18-04-2016, 04:04 PM

Paul Hanlon scored the winner from a corner against Rangers earlier in the season. They also conceded from a corner against Celtic at the weekend and didn't look convincing at a fair few others. Hopefully Stubbs was taking notes :aok:

Paul Hanlon's last minute goal against Hearts was also from a corner. Keeper saved from McGregor and Hanlon got the rebound.

18-04-2016, 04:07 PM
Erm.... http://youtu.be/umCeEd9R3Ig

18-04-2016, 04:07 PM
I did notice Rangers looked weak at corners - key is a deep run and good delivery.

18-04-2016, 04:10 PM
Hanlon first leg against hearts?

steve75
18-04-2016, 04:12 PM
Fontaine in the final was from a corner wasn't it?

18-04-2016, 04:16 PM
Fontaine in the final.

18-04-2016, 04:17 PM
Stokes at Raith also from a corner.

Our set pieces aren't anywhere near as bad as some people would have you believe

18-04-2016, 04:18 PM
Aye but were pish at corners.

18-04-2016, 04:23 PM
We get the bounce of the ball once every 30 corners or so.

18-04-2016, 04:23 PM
Aye but were pish at corners.

Worse than throw-ins?

18-04-2016, 04:27 PM
Worse than throw-ins?
Probably. I blame the fans.

18-04-2016, 04:30 PM
Stokes at Raith also from a corner.

Our set pieces aren't anywhere near as bad as some people would have you believe

We don't have many players who are either really tall or particularly good in the air (although all our centre-halves are decent).

In view of this I think our return of goals from corners really isn't that bad at all. Our centre-halves are actually a really good threat from corners, I think they move and attack the ball well. Most of our midfielders and strikers are fairly wee guys who you wouldn't really expect to get on the end of much.

Fontaine also seems to manage to miss a free header most of the times he plays.

TBH I'm a lot more concerned about the silly goals we lose from corners/ long throws/ punts into the box that should be bread and butter to defenders (and were earlier on this season).

18-04-2016, 04:52 PM
We don't seem to get many headers on target from corners, not as effectively as Rob Jones used to.

18-04-2016, 05:05 PM
We don't seem to get many headers on target from corners, not as effectively as Rob Jones used to.

Or Forster!

18-04-2016, 05:16 PM
Almost all our corners on Saturday were deep and headed back across goal, but nobody ever attacked the second ball. Just like we put the ball into the box about 10 times but there was never anyone there!!

18-04-2016, 05:23 PM
It was the winner in 1902 cup final.

Our next will be the winner in the 2016 cup final.

18-04-2016, 05:49 PM
We won a penalty from a corner against Falkirk last week, does that count?

18-04-2016, 07:03 PM
I think our rate of return from corners and free kicks is abysmal.I would say that 9 times out of 10 Hanlon or more particularly Fontane get a good free header but almost every time fail to get it anywhere near.Just not good enough.