View Full Version : God I hate Peter Houston

thebausburst
12-04-2016, 08:57 PM
Heard his post match interview, he really is a bitter, twisted, horrible individual.

allmodcons
12-04-2016, 08:59 PM
Deluded grade A prick of a man, but he's a far better Manager than Stubbs.

12-04-2016, 09:00 PM
Heard his post match interview, he really is a bitter, twisted, horrible individual.

Agree so let's get right intae them in the playoffs ( assuming we get past Raith...🙁) should be no shortage of motivation

12-04-2016, 09:02 PM
Funnily enough I just text my token jambo mate saying Houston must be 100% nailed on as the next hertz gaffer

12-04-2016, 09:03 PM
Agree so let's get right intae them in the playoffs ( assuming we get past Raith...dde41) should be no shortage of motivation get past raith can't see it at the moment

12-04-2016, 09:03 PM
Well he has Stubbs's number anyway.

12-04-2016, 09:06 PM

Unfortunately true.
He does what he has to, to get results, and as long as his team get them, he's not really bothered about what anyone else thinks.

DickieDastardly
12-04-2016, 09:07 PM
He oozes Jambo arrogance.....

12-04-2016, 09:07 PM
Cheating whinging Welt of a man. We must never sink to that level.

12-04-2016, 09:09 PM
Yes but he made changes that turned the game in 2nd half and again when they scored. He is a decent experience manager. But he is a Jambo loving fat prick of a man.

12-04-2016, 09:09 PM
I sincerely hope we **** them in the playoffs and shut him and their fans up.

TheMentalHibees
12-04-2016, 09:12 PM
His team are a bunch of well organised cloggers. He's no master tactician, I could tell a bunch of players to niggle, foul and disrupt the flow of a game. Referee let them away with absolute murder.

12-04-2016, 09:13 PM

But we all have to sit there and suck it up because our well paid, crappy team cannot do their job.

12-04-2016, 09:17 PM
Yep - typical interview from him. I was still numb enough from what happened in the dying minutes of the game that I didn't flinch while he was pouring out his bitter nonsense.

I am assuming he just really hates Hibs and doesn't act like that constantly towards every other club?

12-04-2016, 09:44 PM

In what way does he have Stubbs' number? In the five games between the sides since last season's Scotttish Cup semi-final (which we should have won) Falkirk have failed to beat us. Two Hibs wins (should obviously have been three bar tonight's absurd capitulation) and three draws (one of which we secured with nine men on the pitch). If we can get past Raith in the play-offs I'd still fancy Hibs against Houston's team.

What annoys me more about him is his continued insistence on referring to the fact Hibs have a bigger budget than his side. Why the obsession with this? You'd think we were throwing millions around on player signings the way he goes on about it.

12-04-2016, 09:48 PM
Funnily enough I just text my token jambo mate saying Houston must be 100% nailed on as the next hertz gaffer

Falkirk is his last job before he retires - source = Peter Houston.

12-04-2016, 09:49 PM
In what way does he have Stubbs' number? In the five games between the sides since last season's Scotttish Cup semi-final (which we should have won) Falkirk have failed to beat us. Two Hibs wins (should obviously have been three bar tonight's absurd capitulation) and three draws (one of which we secured with nine men on the pitch). If we can get past Raith in the play-offs I'd still fancy Hibs against Houston's team.

What annoys me more about him is his continued insistence on referring to the fact Hibs have a bigger budget than his side. Why the obsession with this? You'd think we were throwing millions around on player signings the way he goes on about it.

Don't know why - I've not heard him refer to Rangers budget much? I think he doesn't like Stubbs and it's a dig after Stubbs comments about Rangers budget.

He seems to think he's a trainee mind game specialist - all the moaning about soft penalties. I don't know why the interviewers let him away unchallenged - any mention of him calling McGinn a cheat incorrectly?

He's an absolute cock.

12-04-2016, 09:51 PM
Why was his team 2-0 down and distant 2nd best?

12-04-2016, 09:51 PM

Now include all of last season and how many games have we win against them?
1 win from 5 last season
1 from 4 this season
pathetic.

12-04-2016, 09:52 PM
Whatever he says in interviews , he`s obviously a good manager who gets the best out of his players and knows the Scottish League really well . If they get promoted I think he`d have to sign almost a whole team while if we make it , probably half the team at least would stay . At the end of the day you have to make the most of what you`ve got .

Gerard
12-04-2016, 09:52 PM
Say what you want about PH....... He has a desire to win games. We need to have that hunger to win games and get a draw when you are behind in games. Does AS have that hunger to get results?

12-04-2016, 09:55 PM

Why are his team above us despite him having substantially less resourses?

Criswell
12-04-2016, 09:55 PM
Watched him do a "Mixu" to the west stand after they equalised. Showing real class! I haven't heard his interview yet and don't really want to. He seems to have a total fixation with Hibs and his very personal animosity towards us goes far beyond what could be described as "normal" behaviour. You really have to question the man's mental health. Hopefully we can use his; and his players post-match OTT celebrations as motivation and stuff them in the playoffs!

12-04-2016, 09:56 PM
Say what you want about PH....... He has a desire to win games. We need to have that hunger to win games and get a draw when you are behind in games. Does AS have that hunger to get results?

Without wanting to turn into a serial defender of Stubbs (I admit to definitely thinking he should be our manager until the end of the season at least) - how does Houston acting like a classless fud show he has more hunger for results than Stubbs?

Criticism and debate over Stubbs' tactics and ability to take us to where we want to be is fair enough given the recent form... but are we genuinely now questioning his desire?!

12-04-2016, 09:57 PM
Say what you want about PH.......
Ta. He's a complete dick.

12-04-2016, 09:59 PM

I don't like the Hertz prick, but the reason he does this is because Hibs do have a bigger budget than Falkirk. It's a fact, and he knows it gives a boost to his players.

He goes on about it in the same way as some on here go on about The Rangers having a bigger budget than Hibs. Which is also a fact.

Gerard
12-04-2016, 10:00 PM

Agreed..... but he got a draw when his team should have be beat by at least 2 goals.This is a results driven business. If AS has to be a CD and he does the business:wink:

12-04-2016, 10:03 PM

If i had to watch that type of football being played in a Hibs jersey i think id give up going.

Their players are a load of cloggers and nothing else! Houston has to do what he has to do to get results from them.......

I would not want to see Hibs play this type of football under someone like him!

Nutmegged
12-04-2016, 10:04 PM
If we appointed Houston in November 2013 instead of Butcher we'd be an established top three Premiership club by now, we might all hate ourselves a wee bit more if he was at the helm but there is no doubt in my mind at all he'd have us at maximum levels

SJM
12-04-2016, 10:05 PM
Baldy headed ugly Jambo prick of a guy.

12-04-2016, 10:07 PM
If we appointed Houston in November 2013 instead of Butcher we'd be an established top three Premiership club by now, we might all hate ourselves a wee bit more if he was at the helm but there is no doubt in my mind at all he'd have us at maximum levels

Hahaha

Leith Mo
12-04-2016, 10:42 PM
if we appointed houston in november 2013 instead of butcher we'd be an established top three premiership club by now, we might all hate ourselves a wee bit more if he was at the helm but there is no doubt in my mind at all he'd have us at maximum levels

behave!!!

12-04-2016, 10:44 PM

No he doesn't care as much. Or alternatively its a very stupid question.

12-04-2016, 10:45 PM

i hope a recording of his interview is finding it's way to the SFA tomorrow morning

Leith Mo
12-04-2016, 10:47 PM
i hope a recording of his interview is finding it's way to the SFA tomorrow morning

One of those 10/10 emoticoms tae that.

12-04-2016, 10:50 PM
Why are his team above us despite him having substantially less resourses?

An unemotional and pertinent question that needs to be considered at the end of the season by the board.

12-04-2016, 10:51 PM

Tynecastle really wasn't that long ago.

In the past fortnight we've also come from behind to get a point in Paisley and win against Livi.

Houston got lucky tonight. They lumped a couple of balls into the box and we didn't deal with them. That doesn't make him Jose Mourinho.

Our games with Falkirk have all been tight recently. But we played them off the park tonight and I'd back us to do so again if we met them in the play-offs whether you think Stubbs has the hunger or not.

Ilovehibs
12-04-2016, 10:52 PM
He is just like all the rest of the ****bos- hibs hating obsessive who gets his thrills from slagging us rather than focussing on his own team. Vile jambo lowlife.

Gerard
12-04-2016, 10:54 PM
Tynecastle really wasn't that long ago.

In the past fortnight we've also come from behind to get a point in Paisley and win against Livi.

Houston got lucky tonight. They lumped a couple of balls into the box and we didn't deal with them. That doesn't make him Jose Mourinho.

Our games with Falkirk have all been tight recently. But we played them off the park tonight and I'd back us to do so again if we met them in the play-offs whether you think Stubbs has the hunger or not.

They also were lucky to beat us in the cup last year. Winners they say make their own luck. I hope you are right if we have to beat Falkirk in the play offs.

12-04-2016, 11:06 PM
Don't know why - I've not heard him refer to Rangers budget much? I think he doesn't like Stubbs and it's a dig after Stubbs comments about Rangers budget.

He seems to think he's a trainee mind game specialist - all the moaning about soft penalties. I don't know why the interviewers let him away unchallenged - any mention of him calling McGinn a cheat incorrectly?

He's an absolute cock.

I don't think we really need most of this thread as you summed it up perfectly with these 4 words.

Leith Mo
12-04-2016, 11:06 PM
Aside from his recent nonsense this season has anyone ever forgotten his comment re the Czech citizen's choice of squad number "51" at Dundee Utd and his "unawareness of the significance" of that? Evey chance he can he has a dig at Hibs so yes, provokes a response, but he is indefensible and a wind-up merchant as like most followers of the dark side of Scottish football he speaks with forked tongue.

12-04-2016, 11:13 PM
They were by far and away the dirtiest and most cynical side we've played. Left the boot in so many times, fall down at the hint of a challenge... Horrendous.

12-04-2016, 11:13 PM
Just got back to the car when he was being interviewed. He intimated something about David Gray trying to get Taiwo sent off as Gray had a "ripped sock." Hinting there was nothing wrong with Gray. That would be David Gray who hobbled off injured a few minutes into the 2nd half because of that very same challenge Peter.

12-04-2016, 11:14 PM
Just got back to the car when he was being interviewed. He intimated something about David Gray trying to get Taiwo sent off as Gray had a "ripped sock." Hinting there was nothing wrong with Gray. That would be David Gray who hobbled off injured a few minutes into the 2nd half because of that very same challenge Peter.

Mind he called McGinn a diver too, before having to apologise. Stay classy, Peter.

12-04-2016, 11:15 PM

Gray, Mcginn and Bartley all off injured. Cheers for the protection of ref.

12-04-2016, 11:34 PM
Can't think of any manager I've disliked more. Loser Levein maybe.

Houston always gets in a mention of Hibs budget or resources pre-match and I saw earlier he didn't disappoint again this evening. Never a mention about The Rangers, just an obsession with Hibs resources as an earlier poster correctly states. Classless clown. Well suited to Falkirk.

Stokesy's on fire
12-04-2016, 11:58 PM
He's weird really weird

13-04-2016, 12:10 AM

Must be due a win against us eh

13-04-2016, 12:12 AM

And still to beat us this season

SJM
13-04-2016, 12:20 AM

Set up his team to do what he and they had to. Who cares if they haven't beaten us? Check the budgets, check the cost of getting in, check the players we have. They have Tom ******g Taiwo in the middle of the park yet they are six points ahead of us. Before you say we have games in hand also we have been ***** since Rangers beat us at Ibrox barring the games against they gorgie tramps.

marleyhib
13-04-2016, 12:22 AM
Oh I dont want to watch agricultural football under someone like Houston - give it a rest - I am happy when we win, which is not often enough. Let's start with that, I'm right sick of all this free flowing, dynamic football I've been spoiled with since the late 70s .

I don't care for Houston, at the moment I'd be happier with him in charge rather than Stubbs going into the playoffs

13-04-2016, 01:39 AM
Set up his team to do what he and they had to. Who cares if they haven't beaten us? Check the budgets, check the cost of getting in, check the players we have. They have Tom ******g Taiwo in the middle of the park yet they are six points ahead of us. Before you say we have games in hand also we have been ***** since Rangers beat us at Ibrox barring the games against they gorgie tramps.

Who had the biggest budget last season ? Who has the biggest budget in England ? Has ICT got a bigger budget than UTD ? Naw .

ManBearPig
13-04-2016, 03:31 AM
Never saw a sack of money score a goal. This budget bull**** is becoming a crutch for managers

13-04-2016, 05:50 AM

Houston has defeated Stubbs more than Stubbs has defeated Houston.

EDIT: I'll add another thing going 2 wins in 9 against any team in this league is completely unacceptable and a big reason we are in the mess we are in.

13-04-2016, 06:17 AM

This. His players are undoubtedly inferior but there was no doubt who wanted to win that more last night.

I also begrudgingly admire his dig about budget. Our Queen of the mind games couldn't shut up about it when talking about Sevco.

13-04-2016, 06:22 AM
And still to beat us this season

Hardly anything to crow about. We've drawn with them 3 times and our only win was down to a horrendous penalty decision. Considering the squad available to him versus the one available to Stubbs , i think it's fair to say Houston's had the better of it. He had Stubbs properly lubed up last season.

13-04-2016, 06:32 AM

Oh but the sportsound boys thought he was wonderful and that he comes out with some "classic one liners after playing Hibs". Criticised Gray but no mention of Hippolyte who done his best impression of a dying fish after a challenge and then made a few bad challenges in a row after that, or John Baird who clearly thinks he's a wee hard man. He is a typical jambo. Highlight of his season is clearly playing us. Well I hope we shut him up in the playoffs.
And as for being a good manager? Nah. 2 crosses into the box that we didn't deal with. Again. I could tell a team to punt balls into the box and hope for the best.

13-04-2016, 06:33 AM
Hardly anything to crow about. We've drawn with them 3 times and our only win was down to a horrendous penalty decision. Considering the squad available to him versus the one available to Stubbs , i think it's fair to say Houston's had the better of it. He had Stubbs properly lubed up last season.

A horrendous penalty decision? It was a stone wall Hibs penalty literally 3 seconds before the ref blew his whistle. I'm still convinced that's what the ref gave the penalty for.

13-04-2016, 06:48 AM
Oh but the sportsound boys thought he was wonderful and that he comes out with some "classic one liners after playing Hibs". Criticised Gray but no mention of Hippolyte who done his best impression of a dying fish after a challenge and then made a few bad challenges in a row after that, or John Baird who clearly thinks he's a wee hard man. He is a typical jambo. Highlight of his season is clearly playing us. Well I hope we shut him up in the playoffs.
And as for being a good manager? Nah. 2 crosses into the box that we didn't deal with. Again. I could tell a team to punt balls into the box and hope for the best.

They were brutal kicking every player in Green that moved, some realy shockers which caused two melees, they kept leaving feet in after ball had gone. Lee Miller should have been booked twice prior to his eventual booking, then has another shocker, which he knew he was lucky to stay on for....

Referee totally lost the plot, and didn't do his job properly........

I didn't think JC was offside when he went through on goals, only to be clattered.

Houston remarked that they took Taiwo off because he ripped Gray's sock in a tackle, and allegedly we were trying to get him sent off. To me that was an appalling biased remark. He really is a graceless erchie

13-04-2016, 07:05 AM
This. His players are undoubtedly inferior but there was no doubt who wanted to win that more last night.

I also begrudgingly admire his dig about budget. Our Queen of the mind games couldn't shut up about it when talking about Sevco.

To be fair to Stubbs the media kept challenging on the budget comment whereas Houston is immune from that cos he's just good value.

Bill Milne
13-04-2016, 07:55 AM
Houston is just the latest in a long line of Falkirk managers (Totten, Smith et al), who cannot accept that their team does not win every game they play. There is always some skullduggery from the opposition stopping them being the best team that ever lived. Nothing at all to do with them being a pretty average side IMO.

13-04-2016, 08:02 AM

Who is the queen of the mind games?

13-04-2016, 08:22 AM
Falkirk have lost just four games in the league and have beaten Rangers twice, that deserves some begrudged respect... They also make a habit of scoring late, which suggests good fitness and spirit.
Houston has a problem... With Stubbs.
And that stems from our manager's lack of grace after the cup semi final defeat. He's been fuming ever since and looking to get under our skin at every opportunity. It's been working pretty well unfortunately.
We will have a chance to shut him up in the play-offs but it's going to be tight, tense and bad-tempered. I worry that suits them more...

killie-hibby
13-04-2016, 09:20 AM
Driving home from the game last night I listened to Houstons interview. It was his usual mocking Hibs style. Exactly what you expect from him. More annoying was Richard Gordon's orgasmic admiring praise of how clever Houston can be when referring to Hibs. Gordon made it obvious how loyal he is to the Falkirk manager and sometimes Sportsound employee. Why the hell was he laughing and chuckling at Hibs misfortune.He wouldnt dare react simarly to any of the Bigot twins. BBC Scotland impartial? Absolutely not,although some on Hibs Net would describe my opinion as paranoid.

13-04-2016, 09:25 AM
Driving home from the game last night I listened to Houstons interview. It was his usual mocking Hibs style. Exactly what you expect from him. More annoying was Richard Gordon's orgasmic admiring praise of how clever Houston can be when referring to Hibs. Gordon made it obvious how loyal he is to the Falkirk manager and sometimes Sportsound employee. Why the hell was he laughing and chuckling at Hibs misfortune.He wouldnt dare react simarly to any of the Bigot twins. BBC Scotland impartial? Absolutely not,although some on Hibs Net would describe my opinion as paranoid.

Gordon has made his feelings on Hibs clear over the last few seasons. Joke of a pundit.

13-04-2016, 09:26 AM
Falkirk have lost just four games in the league and have beaten Rangers twice, that deserves some begrudged respect... They also make a habit of scoring late, which suggests good fitness and spirit.
And that stems from our manager's lack of grace after the cup semi final defeat. He's been fuming ever since and looking to get under our skin at every opportunity. It's been working pretty well unfortunately.
We will have a chance to shut him up in the play-offs but it's going to be tight, tense and bad-tempered. I worry that suits them more...

It's definitely personal between Houston and Stubbs, whether it's down to the semi final or not I'm not sure. I'm sure Mcdonaugh will have been complaining about him as well - think he left on bad terms.

13-04-2016, 09:27 AM

Ever since that semi-final, we have not lost to Falkirk.

13-04-2016, 09:44 AM

3 draws and a win for Hibs suggests not. If we had a real ref tonight rather than one of Houstons banjo playing relations they would have ended up with 8 men.

Stokesy's on fire
13-04-2016, 09:45 AM
3 draws and a win for Hibs suggests not. If we had a real ref tonight rather than one of Houstons banjo playing relations they would have ended up with 8 men.

Exactly

13-04-2016, 09:52 AM

At I said in another post we have only won 2 games in 9 against them since Stubbs took over, not good enough. Why do folk think this kind of record is ok? This is the reason we have fallen so low we can't even have a decent record against falkirk FFS.

13-04-2016, 09:55 AM

That is just nonsense. He has a team full of hatchet men who run about a lot. I fully expect to see us beating that shower of ***** in the playoffs. We have carried no luck against them for two seasons now and played them off the park last night but got no protection from the ref. It's not happening for us right now but I know who I'd rather have as.manager

13-04-2016, 09:56 AM
At I said in another post we have only won 2 games in 9 against them since Stubbs took over, not good enough. Why do folk think this kind of record is ok? This is the reason we have fallen so low we can't even have a decent record against falkirk FFS.

It's not OK, it's an awful stat.

13-04-2016, 09:56 AM

It's likely that we'll have another 2 games to play against Falkirk this season.

If Stubbs can have a good record in those 2 games I am willing to forgive everything that has happened up until now.

Falkirk also have a better record against Rangers than anyone else btw.

13-04-2016, 09:57 AM

It is closer than it should be and in the games I have watched we have mostly been better but not punished them. Houston likes to list the McGinn penalty earlier this season however fails to mention the McGinn in the 1-1 game which was the most obvious pen ever apart from last nights one on Cummings. We blew it last night however got no protection from the officials and they got lucky with two punts we should have dealt with.

Greenwich_Hibby
13-04-2016, 10:11 AM
That is just nonsense. He has a team full of hatchet men who run about a lot. I fully expect to see us beating that shower of ***** in the playoffs. We have carried no luck against them for two seasons now and played them off the park last night but got no protection from the ref. It's not happening for us right now but I know who I'd rather have as.manager

That's the crux of this though - that's what you need to do to get out of this league, not play tippy-tappy sideways fitba with little or no goal threat. Stubbs built a team for the top league, he should have concentrated on players to get us out of this league first....

13-04-2016, 10:14 AM
It's not OK, it's an awful stat.
Agreed

It's likely that we'll have another 2 games to play against Falkirk this season.

If Stubbs can have a good record in those 2 games I am willing to forgive everything that has happened up until now.

Falkirk also have a better record against Rangers than anyone else btw.
I wouldn't dismiss Raith so easily if I were you, they are on form and we are off the boil.

It is closer than it should be and in the games I have watched we have mostly been better but not punished them. Houston likes to list the McGinn penalty earlier this season however fails to mention the McGinn in the 1-1 game which was the most obvious pen ever apart from last nights one on Cummings. We blew it last night however got no protection from the officials and they got lucky with two punts we should have dealt with.

First game 1-0 away win, scrappy game but got a penalty (deserved or not)
Second game 1-1 Draw played well until John McGinn Wrongly sent off struggled after only saved by a last minute goal from Boyle
Third Game 1-1 Draw Played awful in the first half and didn't really play well until the last 20 minutes or so.
Fourth Game 2-2 Draw Played well for parts of the game but succumbed to pressure of the last 5-10 minutes.

I think I summed up the 4 games fairly well, none of them were convincing performances though, part of the reason why so many are worried.

13-04-2016, 10:18 AM
I wouldn't dismiss Raith so easily if I were you, they are on form and we are off the boil.

I agree - I'm not dismissing Raith at all.

I did use the word "likely" and I believe that either ourselves or Falkirk would be more "likely" to beat Raith than not.

13-04-2016, 10:18 AM
Houston is an absolute grade A hearts ****. Classless in every way, as he proved last season with his comments over McGinn diving

13-04-2016, 10:22 AM
Everyone seems to be making a few assumptions on here,
1: we will not get 2nd place.
2: having not got said 2nd spot we will beat Raith in order to face Falkirk again.
I am willing to accept we will fail to get 2nd place, but to assume beating Raith is a given, well current form doesn't support that theory.

13-04-2016, 10:22 AM
Houston is an absolute grade A hearts ****. Classless in every way, as he proved last season with his comments over McGinn diving

That was this season but yeah agreed. He even was forced to apologise, yet still went out of his way to make the "ripped sock" comment last night, even although Gray had to go off becuase of it.

AndyM_1875
13-04-2016, 10:29 AM

Against Hibs that's a winning tactic. We lose goals from it with constant tedious regularity so why would you not do it?
I'm not convinced we'll get past Raith but certainly not Falkirk in the play offs especially if we are getting bombarded by diagonals into the box.

sarah_hibernian
13-04-2016, 11:04 AM
Living in Falkirk...I came into work faced with "you should have a look for Houston's interview...it was hilarious" and a condescending tone. Why do hibs do this to us?

13-04-2016, 11:04 AM
Hate houston but his budget comment isnt that wrong hes right we have a larger squad. We should be beating falkirk and teams like them

13-04-2016, 11:07 AM
Living in Falkirk...I came into work faced with "you should have a look for Houston's interview...it was hilarious" and a condescending tone. Why do hibs do this to us?

Just store it in the memory bank until the end of May. We'll see how hilarious he is then.

allmodcons
13-04-2016, 11:43 AM

Cliché, I know, but the game lasts 90 minutes.

If i had to watch that type of football being played in a Hibs jersey i think id give up going.

Their players are a load of cloggers and nothing else! Houston has to do what he has to do to get results from them.......

I would not want to see Hibs play this type of football under someone like him!

I'm not suggesting I'm remotely interested in having Houston at Hibs, I can't stand the guy. He's bitter and deluded but he's still a better Manager than Alan Stubbs.

He has proven that over the course of season. A lot less resources at his disposal and highly likely to finish above us in the league.

As an aside, if you listened to Stubbs post match interview yesterday you'd know he is clueless as a Manager.

That is just nonsense. He has a team full of hatchet men who run about a lot. I fully expect to see us beating that shower of ***** in the playoffs. We have carried no luck against them for two seasons now and played them off the park last night but got no protection from the ref. It's not happening for us right now but I know who I'd rather have as manager

He has very limited resources available to him but gets the job done.

If you, or anybody else for that matter, thinks our style of play under Stubbs is good to watch, then I'm at a loss for words.

2 wins in 10 games in the Championship (FFS) does not come about because of bad luck and poor protection from referees! Just look at the number of goals we're averaging in this league (i.e. - 1.5 per game) whilst conceding 1 per game. How many teams have we thumped with Stubbs style of play?

Stubbs has been found seriously wanting and IMO should do the decent thing and resign.

13-04-2016, 11:44 AM
Yes, I heard all that while I was driving back too. Gordon's anti-Hibs agenda is plain for all to see, particularly now that we humped his team in the League Cup, although he was at it a while before that. Houston is a bitter man who takes any opportunity he can to put down Hibs and people like Gordon back him up. You expect that kind of thing from Allan Preston who is opinionated to say the least and Gordon comes across as being a bit scared of people like that and jumps on the bandwagon to make life easier for himself. Actually, at the game I thought Houston fancied a shot at refereeing. From where I was sitting in the West Lower, he seemed to be directing the ref as much as he possibly could from the touchline with his gestures. Maybe he thought he was the 4th official. God help us if that ever happens.

13-04-2016, 11:47 AM
That was this season but yeah agreed. He even was forced to apologise, yet still went out of his way to make the "ripped sock" comment last night, even although Gray had to go off becuase of it.

If that was this season, is it the same incident he made reference to again last night?! "The softest penalty since their last one against us" ... something along those lines.

allmodcons
13-04-2016, 11:47 AM
Everyone seems to be making a few assumptions on here,
1: we will not get 2nd place.
2: having not got said 2nd spot we will beat Raith in order to face Falkirk again.
I am willing to accept we will fail to get 2nd place, but to assume beating Raith is a given, well current form doesn't support that theory.

You are correct, we will struggle against Raith Rovers.

13-04-2016, 11:52 AM
If that was this season, is it the same incident he made reference to again last night?! "The softest penalty since their last one against us" ... something along those lines.

No, he's referring to the penalty we got in the first game where we won 1-0. Soft penalty but 3 seconds earlier was a stonewall penalty incident, which is what I think the ref actually gave it for.

The Mcginn comment came after the 1-1 game. No penalty given and Houston later had to retract his comment and admit it should've been a penalty.

13-04-2016, 11:53 AM
Cliché, I know, but the game lasts 90 minutes.

I'm not suggesting I'm remotely interested in having Houston at Hibs, I can't stand the guy. He's bitter and deluded but he's still a better Manager than Alan Stubbs.

He has proven that over the course of season. A lot less resources at his disposal and highly likely to finish above us in the league.
As an aside, if you listened to Stubbs post match interview yesterday you'd know he is clueless as a Manager.

He has very limited resources available to him but gets the job done.

If you, or anybody else for that matter, thinks our style of play under Stubbs is good to watch, then I'm at a loss for words.

2 wins in 10 games in the Championship (FFS) does not come about because of bad luck and poor protection from referees! Just look at the number of goals we're averaging in this league (i.e. - 1.5 per game) whilst conceding 1 per game. How many teams have we thumped with Stubbs style of play?

Stubbs has been found seriously wanting and IMO should do the decent thing and resign.

Falkirk couldn't even make the play offs under Houston last season and we finished 2nd.

13-04-2016, 11:53 AM

It has been poor for the past few months but at times it is excellent and there was absolutely nothing wrong with it last night.

There was nothing wrong with our style of play when we beat Rangers 4-0. Aberdeen, Dundee United, St Johnstone and Hearts in the cup? Last 20 minutes against Livi last week?

We struggle to find adequate intensity against packed defences in league games - no doubt about it and Stubbs should work on improving this.

But our style of play, whilst still a bit inconsistent and not always brilliant can be superb at times.

I occasionally enjoy watching us play.

patlowe
13-04-2016, 11:55 AM
I didn't think Houston's comments were that bad to be honest - he's clearly a tad bitter when it comes to us but you can't really argue with the majority of what he said. They started well, they gifted us the opening goal and momentum, we got a soft pen, and had a man advantage, and we still couldn't beat them.

As someone said before, the most embarrassing aspect of the coverage was Gordon's glee and cringe-worthy response to Houston - it doesn't bother me hugely but he does certainly get a perverse joy out of seeing us fail.

13-04-2016, 11:55 AM
Houston is a classless welt, and idiots like Richard Gordon wouldn't be quite so cosy cosy if his antics were used against the Sheep in the premier league.

However what we really need to do - and this one is kinda obvious - is to stop giving these plums the ammunition to talk us down at every attempt.

Starting with the semi final, then the playoffs. Our crap form and others good form has to flip sometime, surely :greengrin:greengrin

13-04-2016, 11:57 AM
No, he's referring to the penalty we got in the first game where we won 1-0. Soft penalty but 3 seconds earlier was a stonewall penalty incident, which is what I think the ref actually gave it for.

The Mcginn comment came after the 1-1 game. No penalty given and Houston later had to retract his comment and admit it should've been a penalty.

:aok: Right enough- I recall it now.

thanks.

13-04-2016, 12:01 PM
Stubbs said something like, "let's see who is celebrating at the end of the season, not the end of the game".

There will be more twist and turns before the season's out!

Personally, I hope someone has the photo of Houston with his hands behind his ears goading those in the West Stand and pins it all around the changing room.:cb

He who laughs last, laughs longest!!

proverb
don't rejoice too soon, in case your delight at your own good fortune is premature.

liscious_hibs
13-04-2016, 12:22 PM

Dont you live in Alloa Sarah ;)

Sent from my E2303 using Tapatalk

sarah_hibernian
13-04-2016, 12:28 PM
Dont you live in Alloa Sarah ;)

From/work in Falkirk and live in alloa then. Not that living in Alloa is a delight after last week's encounter 😂

13-04-2016, 12:31 PM
While I imagine Houston's bitterness towards Hibs in particular is rooted in his Hearts connections, I get the impression he has a particular issue with Alan Stubbs. Largely, I suspect, because he thinks guys like Stubbs get the bigger jobs due to their successful playing careers. Jealous basically. Houston's had a crack at managing in the top flight and won the Scottish Cup with United (albeit just a few months after Potter left) but they went on a slump shortly afterwards that saw him sacked. He was then passed over for the Hearts job in favour of Gary Locke (!!) and clearly still believes he should be with a bigger club. Seeing Stubbs walk into the Hibs job clearly riles him. As Kevin Keegan might put it, AH'D LOOVE IT if Stubbs could stick it to him in the play-offs.

liscious_hibs
13-04-2016, 12:45 PM
From/work in Falkirk and live in alloa then. Not that living in Alloa is a delight after last week's encounter 😂

That was just an absolute joke 😂 i cried in my wee kitchen!

AndyM_1875
13-04-2016, 12:47 PM
While I imagine Houston's bitterness towards Hibs in particular is rooted in his Hearts connections, I get the impression he has a particular issue with Alan Stubbs. Largely, I suspect, because he thinks guys like Stubbs get the bigger jobs due to their successful playing careers. Jealous basically. Houston's had a crack at managing in the top flight and won the Scottish Cup with United (albeit just a few months after Potter left) but they went on a slump shortly afterwards that saw him sacked. He was then passed over for the Hearts job in favour of Gary Locke (!!) and clearly still believes he should be with a bigger club. Seeing Stubbs walk into the Hibs job clearly riles him. As Kevin Keegan might put it, AH'D LOOVE IT if Stubbs could stick it to him in the play-offs.

From what I have been told, it's not. The bitterness isn't directed at Hibs, It's directed at Stubbs who he appears to have a major problem with fuelled partly by Stubbs allegedly being disrespectful last season in one of the games.

13-04-2016, 01:51 PM
From what I have been told, it's not. The bitterness isn't directed at Hibs, It's directed at Stubbs who he appears to have a major problem with fuelled partly by Stubbs allegedly being disrespectful last season in one of the games.

Well I'm bitter towards that welt Houston after he disrespected both us and Dundee United.

13-04-2016, 03:03 PM
His team are a bunch of well organised cloggers. He's no master tactician, I could tell a bunch of players to niggle, foul and disrupt the flow of a game. Referee let them away with absolute murder.

That's it in a nutshell. They only do the odd thing well; stick to two banks of four, play a decent offside trap and wind up the opposition with niggley and sometimes dangerous fouls in different areas of the pitch to avoid red cards. I thought they were a pitiable excuse for a football team and how we threw it away was criminal. Houston's tactics didn't work for 84 minutes of the game, we stood up to the bullying.

We should be confident of beating them over two legs in the playoffs.

13-04-2016, 03:06 PM
It has been poor for the past few months but at times it is excellent and there was absolutely nothing wrong with it last night.

There was nothing wrong with our style of play when we beat Rangers 4-0. Aberdeen, Dundee United, St Johnstone and Hearts in the cup? Last 20 minutes against Livi last week?

We struggle to find adequate intensity against packed defences in league games - no doubt about it and Stubbs should work on improving this.

But our style of play, whilst still a bit inconsistent and not always brilliant can be superb at times.

Agree totally some superb stuff which has gone missing but reappeared a bit first half last night.

13-04-2016, 03:21 PM

Here's hoping.

Can't be bothered reading through all posts but he hasn't beaten us this season, and he won't if we face them in the play-offs.

SJM
13-04-2016, 03:26 PM
Here's hoping.

Can't be bothered reading through all posts but he hasn't beaten us this season, and he won't if we face them in the play-offs.

Houstons last job in football will be Falkirk.

GreensesArab
13-04-2016, 03:32 PM
They were brutal kicking every player in Green that moved, some realy shockers which caused two melees, they kept leaving feet in after ball had gone. Lee Miller should have been booked twice prior to his eventual booking, then has another shocker, which he knew he was lucky to stay on for....

Referee totally lost the plot, and didn't do his job properly........

I didn't think JC was offside when he went through on goals, only to be clattered.

Houston remarked that they took Taiwo off because he ripped Gray's sock in a tackle, and allegedly we were trying to get him sent off. To me that was an appalling biased remark. He really is a graceless erchie

I agree they were beyond physical last night. Dirty tackles going in all over the pitch. But I wish we had some dirty b******s playing for us. We try and play like that great Liverpool team of the early 70's when sometimes we should emulate the equally great Leeds team of the same era who were a bunch of hard, ruthless, uncompromising b******s that took no s**t from anyone. Loved it! We need some steel like that.

13-04-2016, 03:38 PM
I agree they were beyond physical last night. Dirty tackles going in all over the pitch. But I wish we had some dirty b******s playing for us. We try and play like that great Liverpool team of the early 70's when sometimes we should emulate the equally great Leeds team of the same era who were a bunch of hard, ruthless, uncompromising b******s that took no s**t from anyone. Loved it! We need some steel like that.

TBH I really don't want to see that.

We need to rise above it, not get dragged down to their level.

It was a perfect storm last night - an overtly physical opponent, a ridiculously weak referee and a cup semi-final on Saturday. I still didn't think we struggled to compete physically and whilst they had the odd chance we played all the football. We needed to concentrate better and two balls lumped into the box, not tailor our approach for 90 minutes to the physicality of our opponents. To be fair to our players I thought they kept their discipline very well whilst not allowing themselves to be bullied.

If we get dragged down to that level we'll get beat as they're more experienced at that kind of nonsense.

We keep playing football, we'll win more than we lose (as a famous man once said).

allmodcons
13-04-2016, 03:46 PM
Falkirk couldn't even make the play offs under Houston last season and we finished 2nd.

Here and now is the problem. 10 Championship matches and 2 wins. It's horrific form.

Occasionally, in a league full of poor teams just isn't good enough.

SON OF PADDY
13-04-2016, 03:51 PM

No he isn't !!
With that Big baldy heid he looks more Circumcised ?😁😁

GreensesArab
13-04-2016, 03:55 PM
TBH I really don't want to see that.

We need to rise above it, not get dragged down to their level.

It was a perfect storm last night - an overtly physical opponent, a ridiculously weak referee and a cup semi-final on Saturday. I still didn't think we struggled to compete physically and whilst they had the odd chance we played all the football. We needed to concentrate better and two balls lumped into the box, not tailor our approach for 90 minutes to the physicality of our opponents. To be fair to our players I thought they kept their discipline very well whilst not allowing themselves to be bullied.

If we get dragged down to that level we'll get beat as they're more experienced at that kind of nonsense.

We keep playing football, we'll win more than we lose (as a famous man once said).

To get out of this league I think we need both talent and physicality. We have more than sufficient talent but need a few strong, hard players that kick opposing teams up and down the pitch that think they can come here and bully us.

13-04-2016, 04:49 PM
Here and now is the problem. 10 Championship matches and 2 wins. It's horrific form.

Occasionally, in a league full of poor teams just isn't good enough.

Not saying it's not horrific......however you said that Houston is a better manager than Stubbs and results over the whole season prove it.....so last season Stubbs must have been far superior.

13-04-2016, 06:48 PM

Who's the queen of the mind games? :dunno:

13-04-2016, 06:52 PM
I was really disappointed with Falkirk last night - have seen them a few times playing good football. Last night they were one of the dirtiest and most cynical teams I've seen since the old days when Airdrie was full of ex-Yams. Every player left the boot in, went in late, fell over at the slightest touch... The boy rolling about when Bartley got booked was out and out cheating with that nonsense.

Unfortunately for us, the referee gave them free reign to do it. We were just lucky not to pick up more injuries. They could easily have had another two red cards, IMHO.

13-04-2016, 06:57 PM
I was really disappointed with Falkirk last night - have seen them a few times playing good football. Last night they were one of the dirtiest and most cynical teams I've seen since the old days when Airdrie was full of ex-Yams. Every player left the boot in, went in late, fell over at the slightest touch... The boy rolling about when Bartley got booked was out and out cheating with that nonsense.

Unfortunately for us, the referee gave them free reign to do it. We were just lucky not to pick up more injuries. They could easily have had another two red cards, IMHO.

:agree: They were absolutely shocking. And there's no doubt in my mind it was all under Houston's direction. Uruguay in the 1980s came to mind.

13-04-2016, 07:03 PM
Just store it in the memory bank until the end of May. We'll see how hilarious he is then.

And that has to apply for some of posters on here after we went two up last night?

13-04-2016, 07:17 PM
:agree: They were absolutely shocking. And there's no doubt in my mind it was all under Houston's direction. Uruguay in the 1980s came to mind.

They were exactly the same in the first game at Easter Road. Very soft sending off by someone rolling around like he had been shot, after that they should have killed us off, however they sat and done **** all until Oxley gave them one, and even then we were very unlucky not to win the game!

13-04-2016, 08:44 PM
They were exactly the same in the first game at Easter Road. Very soft sending off by someone rolling around like he had been shot, after that they should have killed us off, however they sat and done **** all until Oxley gave them one, and even then we were very unlucky not to win the game!

The defence gave them 2. Pish poor - not marking their man and jumping under the ball.

allmodcons
13-04-2016, 09:19 PM
Not saying it's not horrific......however you said that Houston is a better manager than Stubbs and results over the whole season prove it.....so last season Stubbs must have been far superior.

Strange logic. Comparing player budgets and results I'd say Houston has outperformed Stubbs. FWIW, I don't rate Houston as a Manager but IMO he's still better than Stubbs.