View Full Version : Embarassed, ashamed, humiliated and disgraced

09-04-2016, 04:06 PM
Hitherto I've been one of .netters who has stood by Stubbs and asked others to back him to the hilt and trust him. However, there is NO justification for losing at Alloa; and, incidentally, losing is one thing, but not even managing a goal against them.....

I really thought we had turned a corner this season, after almost a decade of decline, but right now I am close to spontaneous human combustion. Why do Hibs always do this to us? Beaten twice by Dumbarton and now Alloa: both part time clubs. Was that Alloa's first home win of the season? Hibs, one of the biggest clubs in Scotland reduced to this. I'm sorry, but I'm sick and ******* tired of it. I've renewed for next season (perhaps some of us never learn) but there's going to come a point - should this decline continue - when the fans turn. We've been more patient than most would have been in these circumstances.

Scunnered by this ****. I don't know what we should do next.

09-04-2016, 04:09 PM
Understand the sentiment but that's a belter of a post title. Should see it at the top of the boards for a while.

09-04-2016, 04:11 PM
Understand the sentiment but that's a belter of a post title. Should see it at the top of the boards for a while.

I think someone's just topped the last drama queeny post title. Some doing.

Last Minute
09-04-2016, 04:11 PM
Feel the same I'm so angry, we are a joke of a club. Stubbs has no plan B and I'm embarrassed just now.

09-04-2016, 04:12 PM
Great post, after 40 odd years a Hibby, I've been here too often, someone or something has to change this one day, surely???

09-04-2016, 04:16 PM

Drama queen, Pete? Aye right. I've been backing Stubbs against some strong criticism on here, but those are the emotions I'm certainly feeling immediately after the final whistle at Alloa. How low do let Hibs fall before we accept the 'drama' of it?

Are you embarrassed just now? You should be
Are you ashamed? I am
Is it humiliating? Oh **** aye
Is it disgraceful? You'd better believe it.

I can't accept this is what we've become.

Torto7062
09-04-2016, 04:18 PM
Hitherto I've been one of .netters who has stood by Stubbs and asked others to back him to the hilt and trust him. However, there is NO justification for losing at Alloa; and, incidentally, losing is one thing, but not even managing a goal against them.....

I really thought we had turned a corner this season, after almost a decade of decline, but right now I am close to spontaneous human combustion. Why do Hibs always do this to us? Beaten twice by Dumbarton and now Alloa: both part time clubs. Was that Alloa's first home win of the season? Hibs, one of the biggest clubs in Scotland reduced to this. I'm sorry, but I'm sick and ******* tired of it. I've renewed for next season (perhaps some of us never learn) but there's going to come a point - should this decline continue - when the fans turn. We've been more patient than most would have been in these circumstances.

DITTO.....

No wonder the gorgie mob ridicule us with such ease....

This is as much of a low as THAT Final....

GUTTED

09-04-2016, 04:19 PM
DITTO.....

GUTTED

unfortunately it's no longer just the yamboids that ridicule us, we're giving fans of most clubs a right good laugh nowadays

bookert
09-04-2016, 04:20 PM

Worst set of league results ever, I feel the same as the OP

09-04-2016, 04:21 PM
unfortunately it's no longer just the yamboids that ridicule us, we're giving fans of most clubs a right good laugh nowadays

Exactly.

We're taking an absolute pounding on Twitter just now from ALL clubs fans and even journo's.

Complete laughing stock we are.

09-04-2016, 04:23 PM
Exactly.

We're taking an absolute pounding on Twitter just now from ALL clubs fans and even journo's.

Complete laughing stock we are.

And that isn't being dramatic. It's one hundred per cent unacceptable. This is Hibs, not Livingston.

Torto7062

I'm even getting text's from mates in London and Manchester...ffs even a Walsall fan has ripped into me today.

[emoji35] [emoji35]

Drama queen, Pete? Aye right. I've been backing Stubbs against some strong criticism on here, but those are the emotions I'm certainly feeling immediately after the final whistle at Alloa. How low do let Hibs fall before we accept the 'drama' of it?

Are you ashamed? I am

It's the thread title I was referring to and no, I feel none of those emotions that you think I should.

It's a game of football FFS.

09-04-2016, 04:26 PM
It's the thread title I was referring to and no, I feel none of those emotions that you think I should.

Of course it's a game of football; nobody is claiming otherwise. Yet you feel nothing about this situation? Well good for you, but I'm feeling them, and that is nothing to do with being a drama queen.

09-04-2016, 04:28 PM
DITTO.....

GUTTED

Deary me

09-04-2016, 04:31 PM
Of course it's a game of football; nobody is claiming otherwise. Yet you feel nothing about this situation? Well good for you, but I'm feeling them, and that is nothing to do with being a drama queen.

Why? It wasn't you on the pitch or in the dug out.

The players should be feeling these emotions but I'll never be embarrassed or ashamed to call myself a hibs fan.

hhibs
09-04-2016, 04:32 PM

So sorry we broke into your Harmony and Happy place........Spock.

09-04-2016, 04:32 PM
Bigger club than hearts? My arse. We are slowly disappearing into the Scottish football backwaters.

09-04-2016, 04:33 PM
Hibernian - specialists in failure

09-04-2016, 04:35 PM
The decline and fall of Hibernian Football Club is what we are currently witnessing. Breaks my heart.

09-04-2016, 04:38 PM
So sorry we broke into your Harmony and Happy place........Spock.

Pardon?

Makes as much sense as your "Slow death" crap.

09-04-2016, 04:39 PM
The common denominator in all this is ROD PETRIE.

Until he is gone Hibs will be in terminal decline.

09-04-2016, 04:42 PM
DITTO.....

GUTTED

What a strange post. :cb

09-04-2016, 04:44 PM
A new low Mind you i've said that for too many years that i care to remember Ashamed Season ticket maybe not for the first time in 20 odd years

09-04-2016, 04:45 PM

I'm far from Rod's biggest fan but he's not at fault here. He is not the one that week after week after week persists with the same formation and same players that continually fail to perform.

09-04-2016, 04:45 PM
Why? It wasn't you on the pitch or in the dug out.

The players should be feeling these emotions but I'll never be embarrassed or ashamed to call myself a hibs fan.

And who mentioned being embarrassed or ashamed to call themselves Hibs fans? :confused: I must have missed that. This is about today and the current level we're at it. You aren't embarrassed and ashamed by where we are as a club at the moment? I don't believe that.

09-04-2016, 04:48 PM
A new low Mind you i've said that for too many years that i care to remember Ashamed Season ticket maybe not for the first time in 20 odd years

True, WTG, but I've had a gutful of 'new lows' in recent years. When are we going to say we've hit rock bottom and demand a response?

09-04-2016, 04:52 PM
And who mentioned being embarrassed or ashamed to call themselves Hibs fans? :confused: I must have missed that. This is about today and the current level we're at it.

Well then I'll rephrase it. I'll never be ashamed or embarrassed about ANYTHING to do with my club.

So you feel these emotions about today's score and the level we are at. Well I don't because I wasn't on the pitch and I am not responsible for it. You do your bit by buying season tickets etc...which is a positive contribution so what do you have to get all slushy about?

I'll go and watch the club my dad passed down to me and I'll be nothing but proud of doing that even if we are in the lowland league.

Sorry if that's too happy clappy for some.

09-04-2016, 04:54 PM
The decline and fall of Hibernian Football Club is what we are currently witnessing. Breaks my heart.

It's baffling that some people can't see it, everything gets continually worse. I am sure we will still see the usual suspects come out and say it's the fans fault for not getting behind the team or buying enough tickets, but the only people that can win games are the players and the manager not the fans.

09-04-2016, 04:55 PM
Nutter of a club. Swing our heads in the clouds one week then shove us to the depths of despair the next. I wouldn't rule out the Scottish cup.

09-04-2016, 04:56 PM

I'm willing to believe that Rodders is the reason for us not being able to beat the likes of Alloa and Dumbarton. What specific decisions do you feel started our current run?

09-04-2016, 05:01 PM
Well then I'll rephrase it. I'll never be ashamed or embarrassed about ANYTHING to do with my club.

So you feel these emotions about today's score and the level we are at. Well I don't because I wasn't on the pitch and I am not responsible for it. You do your bit by buying season tickets etc...which is a positive contribution so what do you have to get all slushy about?

I'll go and watch the club my dad passed down to me and I'll be nothing but proud of doing that even if we are in the lowland league.

Pete, it isn't a question of being a 'happy clapper' or a 'drama queen'. That stuff is banal and prevents us from looking at the situation clearly. I admire the fact you defend the club at all costs; I've never doubted your love for Hibs, but this is totally ******* wrong. We have to speak up and get angry when circumstances dictate. We've been failing for almost ten years; where do we draw the line?

big gogs
09-04-2016, 05:04 PM
My first Hibs game was back in 1964,followed Hibs home and away over many years,my wife and I renewed our season tickets 2weeks ago,witnessed that golden era namely turnbulls tornados,attended the 0 7 at Tynecastle.since then watched as the club went slowly but surely went down hill. I don't have the answer to the many problems that seem to be surfacing at Hibs,managers appointed and fired ,no doubt compensation being paid.alan Stubbs has had more backing than most ,but still failed up till now .beating hearts has been the highlight of the season,and I'm not forgetting the cup final,if Stubbs is sacked/walks away,the entire back room staff must go,at a cost,who do we bring in ?.am I hurting no ,seen it to many times in fact almost immune to failure.sorry to bore you all ,still be at the game on Tuesday.

09-04-2016, 05:09 PM
We could still go up and win the cup, however unlikely that is, but what's going on re the bigger picture? This isn't the Hibs I first remember, even back in the late eighties. We were pish, to be honest, but we would never have accepted this. Just look at our last ten or results in the SECOND TIER of Scottish football: that was unthinkable when I was a kid. I'm just at my wits end with the 'new lows', and if my granddad were alive today, he wouldn't believe this.

09-04-2016, 05:12 PM
It's baffling that some people can't see it, everything gets continually worse. I am sure we will still see the usual suspects come out and say it's the fans fault for not getting behind the team or buying enough tickets, but the only people that can win games are the players and the manager not the fans.

:agree: What makes it even worse is that I was daft enough to think just maybe Hibs were on the right track earlier in the season. Then a total collapse, very similar to the one that got the club relegated.

Now it's happening against clubs like Alloa, Dumbarton (part-time clubs FFS) rather than say Hamilton & Kilmarnock.

The status and reputation of this club is at a new low.

09-04-2016, 05:18 PM
Pete, it isn't a question of being a 'happy clapper' or a 'drama queen'. That stuff is banal and prevents us from looking at the situation clearly. I admire the fact you defend the club at all costs; I've never doubted your love for Hibs, but this is totally ******* wrong. We have to speak up and get angry when circumstances dictate. We've been failing for almost ten years; where do we draw the line?

My original point was that I found your headline dramatic as I simply don't feel these emotions when we lose or are at a low ebb. We all have different ways of looking at things and it doesn't mean I love the club any more or less than yourself or anyone else.

Where do you draw the line and speak up? Probably a few years ago when Petrie was in charge. Unlike then, the club are at least trying now with Leeann calling the shots and building a good squad and good (maybe) management team. However, it's a results business and people will live and die by that and I have some faith that unlike before, if we fail we will take the correct action, whatever that may be. We'll just have to wait until the end of the season I suppose.

09-04-2016, 05:20 PM
Nutter of a club. Swing our heads in the clouds one week then shove us to the depths of despair the next. I wouldn't rule out the Scottish cup.

Everything summed up in one post. :greengrin

09-04-2016, 05:22 PM
:agree: What makes it even worse is that I was daft enough to think just maybe Hibs were on the right track earlier in the season. Then a total collapse, very similar to the one that got the club relegated.

Now it's happening against clubs like Alloa, Dumbarton (part-time clubs FFS) rather than say Hamilton & Kilmarnock.

This my thinking, EG. Exactly how bad do things have to get? We'll be just like Livingston if this continues, and that isn't being a 'drama queen'. We have no right to be complacent, it could happen. Today feels like being winded and unable to catch one's breath. We simply must recover this.

09-04-2016, 05:26 PM
Had some real downers as a Hibby for 50 odd years.

Today ranks as one of the worst.

Gutted, absolutely gutted right now.

Should be used to it by now, but this one is bad.

09-04-2016, 05:26 PM

You're right PP. It is a bit happy clappy given the current state of the season, or to be more accurate what the season has become.

BUT - you are also right about what the majority of hard core supporters will do in the future - support and go to the games no matter what league we are in.

What is hurting at the moment is when a season looks as though it might be, shall we call it 'a success', we have the usual reasonable run up until Xmas and into the new year, then for some unexplainable reason we just lose it and can hardly do a thing right, bar the odd narrow one goal win that gets everyone's hopes back up again.

For that reason, most of us do feel one if not all of "the thread title". We can't just go on saying week after week that it'll come good eventually because we are Hibernian FC. It just doesn't work that way. At least, not in Hibs case.

I'll be at Hampden next week. I've renewed ST for next season. That's because I'm a Hibs fan. But it doesn't stop me from feeling the emotions mentioned in the thread title from time to time. Doesn't make me any less of a supporter to say that's how I feel about the current situation.

09-04-2016, 05:36 PM
This my thinking, EG. Exactly how bad do things have to get? We'll be just like Livingston if this continues, and that isn't being a 'drama queen'. We have no right to be complacent, it could happen. Today feels like being winded and unable to catch one's breath. We simply must recover this.

I agree, and share your concerns Hibernia&Alba.

First of all, you are certainly not being a "drama queen". Clearly you are hurting, as am I, like thousands of Hibs supporters tonight. You ought to see some of the text messages I've received from Hibs fans, most of them who don't post on here. What you've said is very mild by comparison, believe me.

I don't know how bad things have to get TBH, but see my earlier post #20. I've not got any answers now, other than the head coach and his squad start winning matches again. I don't see it now though, because confidence is very important for a football team and it seems to have totally disappeared at Hibs. Why? I've no idea.

The situation at Hibs deserves a better debate than the usual pish about either being a bed wetter or a happy clapper.

09-04-2016, 05:44 PM
I agree, and share your concerns Hibernia&Alba.

First of all, you are certainly not being a "drama queen". Clearly you are hurting, as am I, like thousands of Hibs supporters tonight. You ought to see some of the text messages I've received from Hibs fans, most of them who don't post on here. What you've said is very mild by comparison, believe me.

I don't know how bad things have to get TBH, but see my earlier post #20. I've not got any answers now, other than the head coach and his squad start winning matches again. I don't see it now though, because confidence is very important for a football team and it seems to have totally disappeared at Hibs. Why? I've no idea.

The situation at Hibs deserves a better debate than the usual pish about either being a bed wetter or a happy clapper.

I couldn't agree more, it will get us nowhere. At some point we have to draw a line in the sand and say we refuse to accept this. The moment we accept that clubs like Alloa and Dumbarton are able to beat us and that we should be phlegmatic about it, we're dead as one of Scotland's biggest clubs. This is Hibs - start acting like it.

Lang Toun hibby
09-04-2016, 05:49 PM

About the turn of the year I started to fear for us, the writing was on the wall due to the single goal wins. Where I think we have gone wrong is that Stubbs is a good man manager but needed a knowledgeable assistant who knew the Scottish game inside out and had an influence on team selections and tactics. The current management team do not seem to influence a very stubborn Stubbs. Rangers and Hearts along with Falkirk, Raith, Aberdeen, Celtic, Dundee etc etc all have managers or/and assistants who understand how to win/grind out results.

09-04-2016, 05:53 PM

I couldn't agree more, it will get us nowhere. At some point we have to draw a line in the sand and say we refuse to accept this. The moment we accept that clubs like Alloa and Dumbarton are able to beat us and that we should be phlegmatic about it, we're dead as one of Scotland's biggest clubs. This is Hibs - start acting like it.

Just to be clear, if anyone thinks it was me that was taking any discussion down the bedwetter/happy clapper road then it certainly wasn't. If I did then it wasn't my intention.

Genuine question...what are you going to do? What action can you take to let people know that you think this is unacceptable?

09-04-2016, 06:01 PM

About the turn of the year I started to fear for us, the writing was on the wall due to the single goal wins. Where I think we have gone wrong is that Stubbs is a good man manager but needed a knowledgeable assistant who knew the Scottish game inside out and had an influence on team selections and tactics. The current management team do not seem to influence a very stubborn Stubbs. Rangers and Hearts along with Falkirk, Raith, Aberdeen, Celtic, Dundee etc etc all have managers or/and assistants who understand how to win/grind out results.

You make a fair point Lang Toun.

09-04-2016, 06:05 PM
Just to be clear, if anyone thinks it was me that was taking any discussion down the bedwetter/happy clapper road then it certainly wasn't. If I did then it wasn't my intention.

Genuine question...what are you going to do? What action can you take to let people know that you think this is unacceptable?

I honestly don't know what we do. We could still go up and we're in the cup semi final, so let's not overreact; but if this season all goes wrong, there'll be hell to pay from many. Should the worst happen, events will overtake any one individual. I certainly wouldn't claim to have all the answers.

09-04-2016, 06:06 PM

I think raising these matters on a fans forum is a reasonable place to start

I was at Dumbarton, that should have been the lowest point

Next game, though, Stubbs stuck with the narrow diamond that *even alloa* have sussed out. He keeps oxley in goal. He has singularly failed to talk the talk that hearts did last year and Warburton this year ie get your nose in front early (through harder work, better attitude & intensity) then see how much easier the last 30 mins of each game are.

With low intensity narrow football, and a keeper who is nervous at cross balls (going back as far as Hampden one full year ago) we are always 0-1 down, chasing games, losing.

Until Stubbs cleans out the shirkers and the "simply not good enoughs", and makes a show of that, and increases workrate, he won't become the manager he's capable of becoming. He could be special. Right now he's the butt of twitter

QMU-1875
09-04-2016, 06:07 PM
Stubbs out. Simple. He's totally lost the plot. Keatings keeps starting the boy is useless

09-04-2016, 06:10 PM
I think raising these matters on a fans forum is a reasonable place to start

I was at Dumbarton, that should have been the lowest point

Next game, though, Stubbs stuck with the narrow diamond that *even alloa* have sussed out. He keeps oxley in goal. He has singularly failed to talk the talk that hearts did last year and Warburton this year ie get your nose in front early (through harder work, better attitude & intensity) then see how much easier the last 30 mins of each game are.

With low intensity narrow football, and a keeper who is nervous at cross balls (going back as far as Hampden one full year ago) we are always 0-1 down, chasing games, losing.

Until Stubbs cleans out the shirkers and the "simply not good enoughs", and makes a show of that, and increases workrate, he won't become the manager he's capable of becoming. He could be special. Right now he's the butt of twitter

Never been on Twitter in my life, mate, and don't care about it. What I care about is the Hibs fans, matchgoing or not and who love the club; those who keep the club going. I want to hear their opinions.

09-04-2016, 06:14 PM

The bit in bold - it depends who you mean by "people". If you mean Leeann Dempster for example, I believe she is approachable and can be contacted by letter and/or email. Letters can be sent to the board of HFC too.

Hibs currently have supporters representatives sitting on the board. What are their views? Maybe they could communicate with the supporters on this forum? If not, fans can contact them.

Most football fans will not do these things however. What they will do though is show that current results like today's are unacceptable by not buying season tickets and/or attending matches. That's what usually happens when a team is losing, particularly to teams that every man and his dog expects them to beat.

09-04-2016, 06:20 PM
I hope players and management team are reading this thread to see how much fans are hurting and how much club means to us . Recent collapse is hard to explain but I think a lot of the players think they`re too good for the division we`re in and are complacent at times or are simply not as good as they and many of us think ( we weren`t that impressive in many of the league games we won ) . A lot of the players also know they won`t be with us next season whatever league we`re in so may not be that bothered but all clubs have the same problem .

09-04-2016, 06:24 PM

Are you ashamed? I am

I'm not embarrassed or ashamed , and I don't feel humiliated. The management team and the players should be though.
It's a black day for the club and a new low but the supporters have nothing to be ashamed of, in fact the opposite is the case. Following this club is a lifelong struggle.

09-04-2016, 06:25 PM
I hope players and management team are reading this thread to see how much fans are hurting and how much club means to us . Recent collapse is hard to explain but I think a lot of the players think they`re too good for the division we`re in and are complacent at times or are simply not as good as they and many of us think ( we weren`t that impressive in many of the league games we won ) . A lot of the players also know they won`t be with us next season whatever league we`re in so may not be that bothered but all clubs have the same problem .

If only!

09-04-2016, 06:28 PM
Are you ashamed? I am

Or e) none of the above.

It might be disappointing but it's a game of football, nothing else.

Why would you be ashamed or humiliated?

Did you do something shameful? :confused:

09-04-2016, 06:29 PM
I'm not embarrassed or ashamed , and I don't feel humiliated. The management team and the players should be though.
It's a black day for the club and a new low but the supporters have nothing to be ashamed of, in fact the opposite is the case. Following this club is a lifelong struggle.

We are the club! We live with it after players and managers have moved on. It's we who ensure the perpetuation of the club and who embody it. I am ashamed and humiliated because this is MY club, as it was the clubs of generations past.

09-04-2016, 06:30 PM

me too :wink:

09-04-2016, 06:32 PM
The bit in bold - it depends who you mean by "people". If you mean Leeann Dempster for example, I believe she is approachable and can be contacted by letter and/or email. Letters can be sent to the board of HFC too.

Hibs currently have supporters representatives sitting on the board. What are their views? Maybe they could communicate with the supporters on this forum? If not, fans can contact them.

Most football fans will not do these things however. What they will do though is show that current results like today's are unacceptable by not buying season tickets and/or attending matches. That's what usually happens when a team is losing, particularly to teams that every man and his dog expects them to beat.

I suppose there's nothing wrong with letting the board know how you feel by using the open channels of communication (which wasn't really an option before).

I'm just hoping the board are sensitive enough to the situation to act before it gets to the stage where people don't buy tickets or worse, mobs demonstrate like they did a few years ago.

09-04-2016, 06:33 PM
Are you ashamed? I am

Or e) none of the above.

Lang Toun Hibs
09-04-2016, 06:36 PM

Yup, it's quite a ride!

09-04-2016, 06:36 PM
Or e) none of the above.

No , I personally didn't do anything shameful, but this your (and my) club, and we'll feel it long after employees have gone. Of course it's only football, but if it has no emotion beyond being 'disappointing', don't get involved. 'Disappointing'? If only it was that superficial.

Lang Toun Hibs
09-04-2016, 06:42 PM

You just over the road from me?

09-04-2016, 06:42 PM
No , I personally didn't do anything shameful, but this your (and my) club, and we'll feel it long after employees have gone. Of course it's only football, but if it has no emotion beyond being 'disappointing', don't get involved. 'Disappointing'? If only it was that superficial.

So if defeats don't have a certain effect on you, you shouldn't get involved?

Is that what you are saying?

Lang Toun Hibs
09-04-2016, 06:47 PM
Stubbs out. Simple. He's totally lost the plot. Keatings keeps starting the boy is useless

Not sure I agree...him and stokes seem to have an understanding...if played up front together. They were excellent v ict

Lang Toun Hibs
09-04-2016, 06:52 PM

Whatever happened to them?

Lang Toun Hibs
09-04-2016, 06:54 PM
I think a lot of the players think they`re too good for the division we`re in .

Many of them are!

09-04-2016, 06:55 PM
So if defeats don't have a certain effect on you, you shouldn't get involved?

Is that what you are saying?

'Disappointing' is so banal; it sounds like an uneducated footballer after a defeat. Disappointing is your local supermarket not having something you always buy; it isn't your football team losing at Alloa and collapsing at the business end of the season. I don't want to hear the football phrases of being either 'delighted' or 'disappointed', I want analysis in combination with passion. I want humility post Alloa, in combination with a plan that will be fulfilled. Nae excuses, full culpability and a plan of expiation.

09-04-2016, 06:57 PM

The important thing to remember is that we will be here long after the present mob have moved to pastures new and left us to deal mentally with the trauma of another major let down.
I'm running out of time but we live in hope , even daring to dream about somehow winning two games and lifting the cup next month no matter how unlikely that might be.

09-04-2016, 06:59 PM
'Disappointing' is so banal; it sounds like an uneducated footballer after a defeat. Disappointing is your local supermarket not having something you always buy; it isn't your football team losing at Alloa and collapsing at the business end of the season. I don't want to hear the football phrases of being either 'delighted' or 'disappointed', I want analysis in combination with passion. I want humility post Alloa, in combination with a plan that will be fulfilled. Nae excuses, full culpability and a plan of expiation.

Ah. If you're talking about players reactions to todays defeat then I agree.

Sorry, wrong end of the stick.

09-04-2016, 07:00 PM
I suppose there's nothing wrong with letting the board know how you feel by using the open channels of communication (which wasn't really an option before).

I'm just hoping the board are sensitive enough to the situation to act before it gets to the stage where people don't buy tickets or worse, mobs demonstrate like they did a few years ago.

How would you like to see the board acting right now?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
09-04-2016, 07:01 PM

Great post

09-04-2016, 07:02 PM
Question:

Do the supporters reps on the board , Amit and Frank have the power or ability to bring about managerial change?

09-04-2016, 07:07 PM
Ah. If you're talking about players reactions to todays defeat then I agree.

Sorry, wrong end of the stick.

Pete, I know you care, but we can't simply support anything in order to prove loyalty. Loving the club requires demanding that which is best for its future, yet just now we risk falling into long term mediocrity or even lower. If we fail to go up this season, I fear for our future and what we may become.

09-04-2016, 07:09 PM
Question:

Do the supporters reps on the board , Amit and Frank have the power or ability to bring about managerial change?

They can propose a change to the rest of the board I suppose but the reality is nothing will happen unless Petrie wants it to happen.

09-04-2016, 07:10 PM
Question:

They have as much of a voice on the board as the rest of them. It would depend on what the majority of the board want to do.

09-04-2016, 07:11 PM
How would you like to see the board acting right now?

Sticking with him to the end of the season and taking things from there would be my plan but to be honest I'm not really sure any more.

09-04-2016, 07:14 PM
Sticking with him to the end of the season and taking things from there would be my plan but to be honest I'm not really sure any more.

Fair enough. The bit in bold - neither am I.

09-04-2016, 07:15 PM
Way back when discussing winning cups versus being promoted, I insisted that promotion had to be top priority. I have now completely changed my mind because we have no chance of promotion the way we are playing, but we might ( unlikely to be honest ) just fluke a win in the cup, which would be a small compensation for the nightmare of a season this is turning out to be. It's anyone's guess how we will fare next season in the Championship.

09-04-2016, 07:15 PM

I wouldn't sack Stubbs before the end of the season, not at all, but we are in a mess I didn't see coming just a few weeks ago.

09-04-2016, 07:17 PM
After calming down , well slightly at least... I m leaning towards giving him til the end of the season.. No promotion and he goes simple as that.

I have a feeling however things could start getting nasty if we get beat at hampden next week. That game could be what makes or breaks him as a manager. Failure next week could make it difficult to remain as manager

09-04-2016, 07:19 PM
Way back when discussing winning cups versus being promoted, I insisted that promotion had to be top priority. I have now completely changed my mind because we have no chance of promotion the way we are playing, but we might ( unlikely to be honest ) just fluke a win in the cup, which would be a small compensation for the nightmare of a season this is turning out to be. It's anyone's guess how we will fare next season in the Championship.

Utter nonsense.

09-04-2016, 07:22 PM
Utter nonsense.

Really?Expand.

09-04-2016, 07:27 PM

voting time finished :greengrin

micksoo
09-04-2016, 07:33 PM
Minimum requirement for Stubbs this season is promotion. If he doesn't achieve it then it's simply not acceptable and he must be replaced. Today was as poor as I can remember simply not acceptable.

09-04-2016, 07:40 PM
I expect losing cup finals to the Old Firm. I will accept the occasional embarrassing reverse, but I will never accept Hibs being the first team to lose away at Alloa, nor losing twice to Dumbarton. I can't put it more plainly that that; it's appalling. The day we accept such things is the day we go amateur.

09-04-2016, 07:43 PM
Deary me. Bed wetters out in force I see. Can't believe so called fans are calling for Stubbsys head already. Not Hibs class

09-04-2016, 07:46 PM
Deary me. Bed writers out in force I see. Can't believe so called fans are calling for Stubbsys head already. Not Hibs class

Who is?

09-04-2016, 07:49 PM
They can propose a change to the rest of the board I suppose but the reality is nothing will happen unless Petrie wants it to happen.

That's just not true. If everyone else on the Board wanted something to happen but Rodders didn't, it would happen.

bookert
09-04-2016, 07:51 PM
Deary me. Bed writers out in force I see. Can't believe so called fans are calling for Stubbsys head already. Not Hibs class

I don't think hibs will get rid now and I don't think that would be the right move now, but I can see absolutely why supporters want shot. This is the worst run of league results ever.

09-04-2016, 07:56 PM

Lang Toun hibby
09-04-2016, 08:16 PM
You just over the road from me?

No your over the road from Monty. I am in the Lang Toun (Kirkcaldy) just up from the Rovers who get 1500 crowds, have no money, so art timers but are 4 points behind us!

Big L
09-04-2016, 08:16 PM
Deary me. Bed wetters out in force I see. Can't believe so called fans are calling for Stubbsys head already. Not Hibs class

Nobody really wants Stubbs sacked, we would all like him to be successful and get us up, but it would appear because of the results, 2 wins in 10 that their are people on here that don't think he can do that, and I'm one of them. So, we have a choice, do we just simply decide to forget promotion or do we do something about it? Your choice.

09-04-2016, 08:27 PM

Make up your mind. You have been calling for his head in other posts tonight.:confused:

09-04-2016, 08:28 PM
People claiming to genuinely be ashamed and disgraced as a result of a football game need to have a wee reality check.

A terrible result and merely cements my opinion that we don't have what it takes to go up but we must dust ourselves off and hope/believe we can win the next game. Or else, what's the point.

Stubbs will be sacked if we don't go up season and don't with the SC, of that I'm sure. Speculation and hysteria before then is pointless and not exactly helpful.

09-04-2016, 08:30 PM
People claiming to genuinely be ashamed and disgraced as a result of a football game need to have a wee reality check.

A terrible result and merely cements my opinion that we don't have what it takes to go up but we must dust ourselves off and hope/believe we can win the next game. Or else, what's the point.

Stubbs will be sacked if we don't go up season and don't with the SC, of that I'm sure. Speculation and hysteria before then is pointless and not exactly helpful.

But this is the reality! You don't feel the disgrace, as part of the club? You should.

09-04-2016, 08:34 PM

Deary me. Why did you post the above, yet your post #19 on the STUBBS OUT thread says simply "Stubbs Out"?

What are you on about?

09-04-2016, 08:48 PM
Deary me. Why did you post the above, yet your post #19 on the STUBBS OUT thread says simply "Stubbs Out"?

What are you on about?

09-04-2016, 08:57 PM
Will Leeanne and Rod be in Behind the Goals before the match on Tuesday to mingle with us and have a bit of a chat?

Would be nice to think they will.

09-04-2016, 09:04 PM
I've not felt as down as this after a result for a very long time. Can't seem to shake it off. Normaly I just shrug it off.

09-04-2016, 09:18 PM
But this is the reality! You don't feel the disgrace, as part of the club? You should.

I feel part of the club but I don't feel disgrace, embarrassment or anything like that. Again, I do my bit and the strongest emotion I ever feel is to demand better from the players.

But hey, we're all different and I wouldn't dream of telling you how you should be feeling.

Peace man. The cups in the bag :thumbsup:

Pat s 4
09-04-2016, 09:23 PM
I have been going to watch hibs for over 50 years and nothing has changed, couple of good years every decade and league cup wins, still a season ticket holder till i die,

09-04-2016, 09:29 PM
I feel part of the club but I don't feel disgrace, embarrassment or anything like that. Again, I do my bit and the strongest emotion I ever feel is to demand better from the players.

But hey, we're all different and I wouldn't dream of telling you how you should be feeling.

Peace man. The cups in the bag :thumbsup:

Everyone needs to go on the peeve with positive Pete. Always cheers me up when I read your posts. 😁👍🏼

Today is another low in our history but right now it's not just about the battle it's about winning the war. The war is the play offs plain and simple. I must be mad to still think we can win the play offs. I also think we'll beat Utd but lose the final if I'm honest.

Either way today shouldn't be happening and I'm not happy, but life as a Hibby goes on and we all pick ourselves back up and hope for the best. Without hope what do we really have!!

09-04-2016, 09:50 PM
I'm with the OP, I'm a pretty pissed off Hibs fan right now, today's result is an embarrassment to our club. The rest of Scottish football is laughing at us right now, laughing at us to an extent where our club nickname has become an adjective for ****ing something up. We have had a torrid time of it the last few years and once again when you don't think things could get any worse they do. I'm pretty perplexed to see where we are heading. On paper we have a fairly decent group of players but both they and the management can't seem to achieve what's expected of them. But there's too much feeling sorry for ourselves and there's too much wait n see or there's always next year, I'm personally tired of hearing and reading these kinds of comments amongst the Hibs support. What's wrong with us telling the club we want and deserve better than what we are getting now?

Against my better judgement I renewed my season ticket yesterday, I wasn't going to but I did. With that renewal I expect more than I'm getting just now.

LD, Petrie, Farmer or who ever the hell runs our club these days need to have a look at the attendance on Tuesday because that will be the norm if we don't get promoted. Semi final sales are ****, attendances down, The fans are walking, what are you gonna do?

09-04-2016, 09:59 PM

See if you went to games, home and away you'd see Franck Dougan at every match, including under 20's games. He is very approachable and listens to what supporters have to say and takes everything on board. Never seen the other boy at games to be fair.

09-04-2016, 10:01 PM
No your over the road from Monty. I am in the Lang Toun (Kirkcaldy) just up from the Rovers who get 1500 crowds, have no money, so art timers but are 4 points behind us!

Raith are not part-time

09-04-2016, 10:02 PM
See if you went to games, home and away you'd see Franck Dougan at every match, including under 20's games. He is very approachable and listens to what supporters have to say and takes everything on board. Never seen the other boy at games to be fair.
I usually see amit in the east stand, he sits the next block along from me. I have never spoken with him though.

09-04-2016, 10:05 PM
I usually see amit in the east stand, he sits the next block along from me. I have never spoken with him though.

Never seen him at an away game. Always see FD though, even had a quick chat with him today. Shouldn't be on the board if you don't go to games.

09-04-2016, 10:06 PM

I think you need to get a bit of perspective. Talking about being humiliated and ashamed and disgraced seems over the top to me.

Do you really feel like that? I hope nothing really bad ever happens to you or you'll struggle to cope.

09-04-2016, 10:48 PM

Spot on on several fronts.

On another forum A while ago I suggested that our single goal victories over supposed much lesser teams was a worrying thing, and we needed to score more as it left us exposed to a single error/dodgy decision taking points of us.

I was inundated with unthinking comments along the lines of...'1-0 every week will do me"

The writing on the wall was there for a while but Stubb's either did not see it, or could not, or would not change our playing style.

Yes, he brought in Stokes, but unfortunately he has not had a major effect.

But loan players are one thing.

Next season whomever is manager we need to play with width and speed, and have a proven goal scorer....too many times this season we have seemed to play with little attempt by anyone to run into the penalty area and take men on.

09-04-2016, 10:54 PM

....says the poster who posted this earlier on the "Stubbs Out" thread:

Stubbs Out.

edit: I missed one-
The answer is Stubbs Out

09-04-2016, 10:55 PM
Never seen him at an away game. Always see FD though, even had a quick chat with him today. Shouldn't be on the board if you don't go to games.

I have no idea how often individual directors attend games, but being on the board isn't about going to every away game. You get loyalty points for that instead.

09-04-2016, 10:58 PM
It's only a game.

09-04-2016, 10:59 PM
....says the poster who posted this earlier on the "Stubbs Out" thread:

You never lose it, GG.

Making idiots out of idiots.

09-04-2016, 11:00 PM
In the context of football which this thread is then it is a disgrace and the rest.

09-04-2016, 11:04 PM

Prize for the most emotional nonsense ever on Hibs. net. :aok:

09-04-2016, 11:32 PM
It's only a game.

Of course it is, but it matters. If it didn't, we wouldn't post here.

09-04-2016, 11:46 PM
I think you need to get a bit of perspective. Talking about being humiliated and ashamed and disgraced seems over the top to me.

Do you really feel like that? I hope nothing really bad ever happens to you or you'll struggle to cope.

Which was basically my point. I wish I'd had such a cushty life so far that a defeat to Alloa was such a traumatic event that it managed to stir feelings of shame, disgust and humiliation (or whatever).

In a footballing sense it's (yet another) embarrassment to Hibernian FC, but do I feel disgusted or humiliated of being a Hibs fan personally??

No, and never.

10-04-2016, 12:00 AM
Small point but to be fair to the OP, I think he is confusing the meanings of being "disgraced" and "disgusted".

I don't believe for a second he feels as personally responsible for our current situation as that.

10-04-2016, 12:18 AM
Prize for the most emotional nonsense ever on Hibs. net. :aok:

There is some proper hysterical bull**** on here right now.

10-04-2016, 06:03 AM
Everyone needs to go on the peeve with positive Pete. Always cheers me up when I read your posts. 😁👍🏼

Today is another low in our history but right now it's not just about the battle it's about winning the war. The war is the play offs plain and simple. I must be mad to still think we can win the play offs. I also think we'll beat Utd but lose the final if I'm honest.

Either way today shouldn't be happening and I'm not happy, but life as a Hibby goes on and we all pick ourselves back up and hope for the best. Without hope what do we really have!!

Thanks TC23, much appreciated. :thumbsup:

It's always good to have people like ourselves around lifting spirits and providing a contrast to the more negative views of posters like Herman's Crab*, BrockpoolHibs* and Steve30*.

*Names have been changed to protect identities.

10-04-2016, 07:57 AM
Of course it is, but it matters. If it didn't, we wouldn't post here.

I genuinely like most of your posts. But in this instance talk of humiliation disgrace or particularly 'disgust' is evidence of not having a balanced set of priorities.

banarc7062
10-04-2016, 09:07 AM

Are you ashamed? I am

This post echos my feelings exactly. Been a Hibs supporter since 1953, Coronation Cup Final, and been through all the highs and very low, lows. You could never call a true Hibs supporter a glory hunter. It gets into the blood and it does not go away. Come on Hibs give us a break now and again.

10-04-2016, 09:59 AM

It's always good to have people like ourselves around lifting spirits and providing a contrast to the more negative views of posters like Herman's Crab*, BrockpoolHibs* and Steve30*.

10-04-2016, 04:00 PM
The day after the terrible day before.I've calmed down a tad but not completely; far from it. Still can't believe we managed to lose a game in the Scottish Championship to a part time team that hadn't managed a home win all season. This coming just a couple of weeks after defeat to another part time club, Dumbarton. Horrible.

broondog
10-04-2016, 09:27 PM
we are a joke and Im not going to pay to watch that **** anymore. Disgraceful set of results, I won't be renewing for next year.

10-04-2016, 09:30 PM
we are a joke and Im not going to pay to watch that **** anymore. Disgraceful set of results, I won't be renewing for next year.

Thanks for that.

10-04-2016, 09:31 PM

Yeah he was a right ray of sunshine during the Fenlon era. He didn't like him though so being negative was fine.

10-04-2016, 09:38 PM

That doesn't tell us how effective the two board members are. We vote for them, they represent the fans but there's no particular way to judge if they are doing any good or not.

I think it would be useful for our board to do an independent evaluation process of their performance and their own thoughts on how they operate.

10-04-2016, 09:46 PM

Well I did not see that coming.

10-04-2016, 10:11 PM

Top drama queenery.

10-04-2016, 10:12 PM
The day after the terrible day before.I've calmed down a tad but not completely; far from it. Still can't believe we managed to lose a game in the Scottish Championship to a part time team that hadn't managed a home win all season. This coming just a couple of weeks after defeat to another part time club, Dumbarton. Horrible.

Good for you.

10-04-2016, 10:22 PM
Yeah he was a right ray of sunshine during the Fenlon era. He didn't like him though so being negative was fine.

It's fine, you can be as negative as you like! Maybe I'll be as wrong as you were come the end of the season for wanting to stick with him. I'm sure I'll handle it a lot better though when he does eventually go.