View Full Version : I'll do it then... STUBBS OUT!

Pages : 1 [2] 3

10-04-2016, 09:14 AM
You wouldn't think there was any issue with Stokes going by several players' social media accounts.

10-04-2016, 09:17 AM
I don't care if the players don't like stokes or if he keeps himself to himself. He is on loan to score goals. He dug us out a hole on Tuesday along with Boyle and got us to cup semi after replay goals.

If he was our only problem then we would be in great shape. Reality is we have issues all over the place, loss of form, terrible formation, no width, no pace and conversion of chances terrible.

10-04-2016, 09:52 AM
I don't care if the players don't like stokes or if he keeps himself to himself. He is on loan to score goals. He dug us out a hole on Tuesday along with Boyle and got us to cup semi after replay goals.

If he was our only problem then we would be in great shape. Reality is we have issues all over the place, loss of form, terrible formation, no width, no pace and conversion of chances terrible.

Is his presence stopping others scoring (e.g. Cummings)?

10-04-2016, 10:05 AM
The players cant stand Stokes.

Load of *****

10-04-2016, 10:11 AM

Even if this was true (you don't say how you know this for a fact) is it a valid reason / excuse for a series of frankly disgraceful results and team performances over the last 7/8 weeks or so?

Performances which could seriously impact on this club for years to come possibly? Where is their pride in their own performances?

So they are in the huff with Stokes and the lot of them decide to down tools? Surely not?

If it is having such a serious impact on the performance of the team on the pitch, why isn't the head coach addressing the problem?

10-04-2016, 10:14 AM
The Celtic squad hated Stokes as well, not a nice individual

Ive been told that Arsenal were happy to see him move on. One of the conditions of him going there as a youngster was to bring family members over and house them in a club flat. Apparently they were neighbours from hell.

Ive no idea whether he has matured as a person but our downturn cant be attributed to one player.

If Stubbs doesn't deliver promotion , given the backing he has received from his employers, he has to go. I would hope that he could go with some dignity. A third season in the Championship would be a real watershed both financially and morale wise. A pragmatic manager with a flexible "philosophy" that grinds out results however achieved would be needed instead of someone with Stubbs purist approach.

10-04-2016, 10:14 AM
I know a few of the boys at Hibs and can confirm that Stokes is well respected in the dressing room and is no bother whatsoever. Stop scapegoating him because it's utter pish.

10-04-2016, 10:16 AM
You wouldn't think there was any issue with Stokes going by several players' social media accounts.

Plus when he scores the players all surround him, as at livi. Usual **** stirring bollocks from the same nonsensical posters. None of the usua itk boys have said a thing, that speaks volumes for me.

The "I didn't want him here" squad are desperate for it to be the case so they can say I told you so.

10-04-2016, 10:16 AM
Stubbs deals with players if issues with anyone it's his job to deal. A player being an issue isn't an excuse for sloppy defending and lots of players missing chances.

No excuses.

10-04-2016, 10:21 AM

Really? Which ones?

GreenOnions
10-04-2016, 10:26 AM
The difference 45 days can make.

On the 21st of February we defeated Alloa 3-0 shortly after knocking Hearts out of the cup. Back then Stubbs was Mowbray 2.0.

This. I agree that failure to get promoted would be complete failure. If that happens I expect AS to resign.

Unlike most on here I consider the cup to be irrelevant this season and the only reason I'm bothered about us winning the semi is it might be a confidence-booster for the league.

AS has had the team playing well and playing effectively for most of the last two years. IMHO he has earned the right to continue and get us promoted despite our dire current form.

He MUST turn it around soon but I feel he should expect our confidence in his ability to get us back on track.

10-04-2016, 10:27 AM
Calling him a ****ing prick and get the **** to **** is what's being posted. Boy is loved in the club, is a good man and doesn't deserve half the abuse. In my opinion he should resign this evening but no need to make it personal.

I agree about those comments SJM, but to be fair, you're talking about, what, maybe five, six posts out of hundreds of posts?

10-04-2016, 10:50 AM
We're all hurting, frustrated, and angry, but if you want change, then take control of our future.

http://www.hiberniansupporters.co.uk/donate.html

The offer has been on the table for over a year now and we all have opinions as to what is the best way to go.

We either unite as one group or let this festering nonsense rumble on. It's our club and maybe, just maybe it's time to step up. Let's look forward with hope and not back with regret.

GGTTH.

10-04-2016, 11:00 AM

So why do they go out drinking with him? Boyle,Cummings,handling and a few others socialise with him all the time. Seems odd if they don't like him. Fwiw I'm not a huge stokes fan. Our problem is the same problem we have had for years. We lack fight all through the team. The majority of the players really don't care about losing.

10-04-2016, 11:07 AM
So why do they go out drinking with him? Boyle,Cummings,handling and a few others socialise with him all the time. Seems odd if they don't like him. Fwiw I'm not a huge stokes fan. Our problem is the same problem we have had for years. We lack fight all through the team. The majority of the players really don't care about losing.
If that is the case they shouldn't be in the team.

I'm of the opinion that you should play every game like it's your last and give your all. We lack leadership and a strong spine through the team and at this moment in time I cannot see anything changing.

SJM
10-04-2016, 11:08 AM
I agree about those comments SJM, but to be fair, you're talking about, what, maybe five, six posts out of hundreds of posts?

Fair call mate, still not nice seeing tho.

steviehibsleith
10-04-2016, 11:10 AM
Disagree with the thread Stubbs out really should be Players out.
Regardless of whatever formation AS had dictated and set out the personnel on the field should have won yesterday.
Defensively we had a full compliment to choose from and they should have coasted the game conceding nothing but yet again we lose a goal.
We are a fulltime team and the midfield should have dominated and should be able to contribute goals.
Strikers should be scoring the amount of chances they have.
The Hibs player getting the lowest wage yesterday would still be getting twice what the highest paid Alloa is so id like to sack some of the players not Stubbs .

SJM
10-04-2016, 11:10 AM
Really? Which ones?

There's one player he doesn't get on with the rest are all good pals with him. You'll know that too though.

SJM
10-04-2016, 11:13 AM
Disagree with the thread Stubbs out really should be Players out.
Regardless of whatever formation AS had dictated and set out the personnel on the field should have won yesterday.
Defensively we had a full compliment to choose from and they should have coasted the game conceding nothing but yet again we lose a goal.
We are a fulltime team and the midfield should have dominated and should be able to contribute goals.
Strikers should be scoring the amount of chances they have.
The Hibs player getting the lowest wage yesterday would still be getting twice what the highest paid Alloa is so id like to sack some of the players not Stubbs .

Alan Stubbs brought the players in to win promotion. It's the managers fault and he has to take the blame as much as he took the credit when things went well. It's turning slowly into another Williamson situation where another manager could take control and thrive under the players we have. We lose on Tuesday and the board have the decision to make and for all the plaudits Leann gets this is her big call to make and I'll trust her judgement for our club.

10-04-2016, 11:17 AM
Fair call mate, still not nice seeing tho.

I agree completely. No need. :aok:

steviehibsleith
10-04-2016, 11:24 AM
Alan Stubbs brought the players in to win promotion. It's the managers fault and he has to take the blame as much as he took the credit when things went well. It's turning slowly into another Williamson situation where another manager could take control and thrive under the players we have. We lose on Tuesday and the board have the decision to make and for all the plaudits Leann gets this is her big call to make and I'll trust her judgement for our club.
If AS leaves/pushed do you think he will go to a team deemed as lower or higher than Hibs ?
I believe he will go to a SPL team or back down south to a Championship team therefore higher than Hibs. So who is failing Players or manager .

supermcginn
10-04-2016, 11:39 AM
If AS leaves/pushed do you think he will go to a team deemed as lower or higher than Hibs ?
I believe he will go to a SPL team or back down south to a Championship team therefore higher than Hibs. So who is failing Players or manager .
A less media friendly manager would be getting absolutely panned for the job he's done considering the resources at his disposal, if he does end up at a higher level it won't be because of his record here that's for sure!

10-04-2016, 11:46 AM
27th Feb against Dumbarton, both Gray and Stokes missing from the squad, seemingly had a bust up and dropped for that game, Gray appeared with Stokes in the next game with Gray sporting a few wee stitches in his eyebrow.

That is because the two of them had a fight in the dressing room after the Morton disaster....

Turkish Green
10-04-2016, 11:51 AM
With the size and experience of his squad, Stubbs should be doing better than the current run of results would indicate. Stats against Alloa would suggest they did everything except score; something that has occured all too often of late.

One hopes that the team is concentrating on the cup as they appear not to be on the Championship.

As for the OP, end of seadon if he fluffs the play-offs. Winning the cup and remaining in the Championship next season is not acceptable to me.

SJM
10-04-2016, 11:58 AM
That is because the two of them had a fight in the dressing room after the Morton disaster....

Heard that too PH. Hope you're well mate.

Schteff
10-04-2016, 12:01 PM

Based on what? He's achieved absolutely nowt here

SJM
10-04-2016, 12:01 PM

No he won't. He speaks a good game but why would a chairman at another club trust him to do a job there when he is failing, unfortunately here? Why would someone else trust him to get promoted or save relegation? He's miles and miles behind Mowbray. In fact where's Mark Venus?

10-04-2016, 12:13 PM
A guy posted this on the Hibs fans FB page .

Right ppl have we vented enough?? I like you all are hurting at this time, yes this season promised to deliver and is now looking like we could have hibs'd it!!! But let's just pause for a moment, we are still in playoffs, we are in semi final of that cup and we have 2 games in hand on Falkirk, yes the feel good factor has depleted and I'm stunned at the amount of ppl who are wanting Stubbs sacked, can I just remind you where we were under Butcher and Co. We need to stop this knee jerk reaction and get fully behind our team until the end of the season, if we aren't promoted then I think Stubbs will know he's away, but we are still in with a chance of getting that cup and promoted, so come on Hibees let's try and look at the positives, instead of focusing on the doom and gloom, we need to support this team in numbers and that means if you can make it on Tuesday then get yer bums along to ER, Hibs need us.

I'm now away to hide in a nuclear shelter😏

Couldn't agree more .

10-04-2016, 12:24 PM

Right ppl have we vented enough?? I like you all are hurting at this time, yes this season promised to deliver and is now looking like we could have hibs'd it!!! But let's just pause for a moment, we are still in playoffs, we are in semi final of that cup and we have 2 games in hand on Falkirk, yes the feel good factor has depleted and I'm stunned at the amount of ppl who are wanting Stubbs sacked, can I just remind you where we were under Butcher and Co. We need to stop this knee jerk reaction and get fully behind our team until the end of the season, if we aren't promoted then I think Stubbs will know he's away, but we are still in with a chance of getting that cup and promoted, so come on Hibees let's try and look at the positives, instead of focusing on the doom and gloom, we need to support this team in numbers and that means if you can make it on Tuesday then get yer bums along to ER, Hibs need us.

I'm now away to hide in a nuclear shelter

Couldn't agree more .

Yeh lets get behind the team and be positive.. I will not apologise but venting my frustration at the inability to beat Dumbarton , QOTS , an already relegated Alloa and being well and truly horsed at home by Morton.. Teams that have in the 34 years I have been alive are and always will be dreadful and contribute absolutely nothing to Scottish football... I for one am not interested where we ' were ' under Butcher and being honest under AS we are also worse off.... All very well having 2 games in hand on Falkirk but unless we win those and win on Tuesday then that will also mean nothing... They have the points on the board , we don't and I know which camp I would rather be in ... I at the moment find it very hard to focus on any positives and this is not a knee jerk reaction...

10-04-2016, 12:36 PM
A less media friendly manager would be getting absolutely panned for the job he's done considering the resources at his disposal, if he does end up at a higher level it won't be because of his record here that's for sure!

I posted similar on the PM board last week.

If Stubbs wasn't as good a talker as he is a lot more people would be having a pop at him. A number are still judging him on what he says rather than what they are seeing play out in front of them.

10-04-2016, 12:37 PM

I'm now away to hide in a nuclear shelter😏

Couldn't agree more .

Can judging someone based on almost 2 years in the job be described as 'knee jerk'?

10-04-2016, 12:47 PM
Can judging someone based on almost 2 years in the job be described as 'knee jerk'?

I think you've picked out the one contentious phrase in there though, S. It's a good post otherwise don't you think? A call to arms? I personally don't know if we should sack Stubbs or not, last night I voted yes, sack him. But the focus for all of us should be furious positivity on Tuesday even when we're criticizing the team on messageboards. That's all the guys saying I think :dunno:

10-04-2016, 12:49 PM
Get him and his diamond tae ****

10-04-2016, 12:50 PM

What I was told too.

gaz1875
10-04-2016, 12:53 PM
The trouble for AS is he needs to be seen doing something, unfortunately the only thing he seems to be doing is swapping Keatings for Dagnall and McGregor for Fontaine (just a couple of examples). What he is not doing is changing the formation or style of play. We are all football managers on here so it's easy sitting behind a keyboard saying do this or do that. What the vast majority on here are complaining about is the diamond formation and the lack of width and pace. If we as keyboard managers are all seeing this why is he not or refusing to??

10-04-2016, 12:57 PM

Couldn't agree more .

It's a fine sentiment, and nothing at all against you egb, but I just have to say I can't stand it when our own fans use that "hibsed it" expression.

10-04-2016, 01:13 PM
It's a fine sentiment, and nothing at all against you egb, but I just have to say I can't stand it when our own fans use that "hibsed it" expression.

I don't like that either ( very yamish ) I should have said I agree with everything bar the h it bit .

10-04-2016, 02:51 PM
We're all hurting, frustrated, and angry, but if you want change, then take control of our future.

The offer has been on the table for over a year now and we all have opinions as to what is the best way to go.

We either unite as one group or let this festering nonsense rumble on. It's our club and maybe, just maybe it's time to step up. Let's look forward with hope and not back with regret.

GGTTH.

I wish HSL would make more of the fact that it can be a vehicle for fans to actually grab control of the club and make changes rather than leading with how the funds will help the manager.

10-04-2016, 02:52 PM
In all my years I have wanted us to finish in top 3 of SPL, sometimes it probably was to much with team other times it should have been done.

I wanted Hibs to finish in top 2 this year and IMO this was the easiest chance in my time to have at least my expectations met. To be struggling to do that, well it's not on.

10-04-2016, 02:59 PM

Surprised there has not been a thread about that.

10-04-2016, 03:09 PM
If fighting after Morton game good, it should have been more than 2 players fighting seeing as they chucked the title that night.

10-04-2016, 04:02 PM

Couldn't agree more .

In the SPL.

Stubbs has had us in the Championship for 2 seasons and still struggling to get us out of it.

Schteff
10-04-2016, 04:05 PM
So what's the difference between what I posted and the stuff that's still here?!

95% of this forum is "unsubstantiated" no?!

PaulC
10-04-2016, 04:07 PM
What I was told too.

If true Stokes should get the **** out of our club. Something has definitely hit the team spirit we had - coincidence? I would guess not!!

Schteff
10-04-2016, 04:10 PM
If true Stokes should get the **** out of our club. Something has definitely hit the team spirit we had - coincidence? I would guess not!!

How can you be sure it's his fault?

PaulC
10-04-2016, 04:15 PM
How can you be sure it's his fault?

I don't know it is him but something looks like it has hit the team spirit we had.

10-04-2016, 04:22 PM
I honestly don't know what we should do. I made my feelings post-Alloa very clear, but I don't know what we should do for the best. We're a laughing stock at the moment, which is totally unacceptable, but do we stick or twist? I honestly thought Stubbs had put some steel into the club, but here we are once again collapsing at the end of a season. We have a real dilemma: I like Stubbs, he's got a lot right so far, but just now it's going horribly wrong and he's failing to demonstrate he has the answers. If I had to make the call, I think I'd give him the rest of the season and a chance to redeem things, though of course that also involves the risk of the situation getting even worse.

10-04-2016, 04:24 PM
I keep hearing that we are a "laughing stock" from our own supporters.

Does anyone honestly give a **** what other people think of hibs?

10-04-2016, 04:30 PM
I wish HSL would make more of the fact that it can be a vehicle for fans to actually grab control of the club and make changes rather than leading with how the funds will help the manager.

That point has been made by myself many times. Just now, most people are buying the shares direct which doesn't get us any nearer having someone on the board to bring that day closer.
It's also said that we haven't stepped up like the Hearts fans did because we are not in crisis like them? I'm not sure how bad our crisis has to get before our fans say enough is enough.

10-04-2016, 04:41 PM
That point has been made by myself many times. Just now, most people are buying the shares direct which doesn't get us any nearer having someone on the board to bring that day closer.
It's also said that we haven't stepped up like the Hearts fans did because we are not in crisis like them? I'm not sure how bad our crisis has to get before our fans say enough is enough.

Getting one person on the board doesn't get you any sort of control.

I bought direct because I just wanted to own an actual bit of the club. I don't care about control of the club and I'm not too convinced some collective with a board and majority voting from its membership on its share gives us any more of a representative ownership model than we have now.

Newhaven
10-04-2016, 04:44 PM

Not having a go at you mate but what exactly are HSL going to change once the day comes they can gain any control at hibs?

Fans wanted rod out and he's side stepped for Leanne who's doing wonders according to many. Fans have had more than enough paying frankly disgraceful prices for a woeful product. I salute those that have contributed but the time has come for many for the club to deliver to the loyal and faithful supporters.

If teapot team like Hamilton, Ross county and st Johnstone can do it with average gates of 4K then so should we.

10-04-2016, 04:47 PM
I keep hearing that we are a "laughing stock" from our own supporters.

Does anyone honestly give a **** what other people think of hibs?

I don't care especially what others think, no, but it's a fact that the rest of Scottish football is having a laugh at our expense, which is an unacceptable situation.

10-04-2016, 04:56 PM

I bought direct because I just wanted to own an actual bit of the club. I don't care about control of the club and I'm not too convinced some collective with a board and majority voting from its membership on its share gives us any more of a representative ownership model than we have now.

Who says we have to stop at one?
I do know the current owners are failing big time and there are no new owners on the horizon. We can either stand up for our club like the yams have or carry on as we are.

10-04-2016, 05:05 PM

Every story has a beginning! GGTTH

10-04-2016, 05:14 PM
Not having a go at you mate but what exactly are HSL going to change once the day comes they can gain any control at hibs?

Fans wanted rod out and he's side stepped for Leanne who's doing wonders according to many. Fans have had more than enough paying frankly disgraceful prices for a woeful product. I salute those that have contributed but the time has come for many for the club to deliver to the loyal and faithful supporters.

If teapot team like Hamilton, Ross county and st Johnstone can do it with average gates of 4K then so should we.

I'm not sure how he has side stepped for Leeann? He is her boss. She has been employed to do his bidding.

10-04-2016, 05:15 PM
I don't care especially what others think, no, but it's a fact that the rest of Scottish football is having a laugh at our expense, which is an unacceptable situation.

I don't think that is the case. Maybe the fans of a couple of clubs who need no introduction but I think most are sympathetic, the ones I speak to are anyway.

kdhibees1
Stubbs oot, Ranieri in

pennyhibee
Of course we should all get behind the team and support them .Like we did when butcher only needed 1 win but our support didn't solve the problem then Honestly I hope Stubbs can turn it around and take us up and win the cup rthen make us a force in the premier next year but it's not looking like it he's an untried or tested manager who doesn't seem to be learning from his mistakes Tavernier alluded to Stubbs jibes adding to rangers ambitions to win the title and yesterday the Falkirk staff said the same about doolans comments in midweek regarding them Maybe they can do the same for us in the coming weeks and also turn some of our players into leaders on the park We don't want to be down here another year or more so the nicities have to go oot the windae

HSL lacks focus. If there had been 51% of the club made available to HSL exclusively then a fans collective would have been possible. With every additional window that the club opens to sell shares direct that aim becomes ever more harder to reach.

10-04-2016, 05:22 PM
HSL lacks focus. If there had been 51% of the club made available to HSL exclusively then a fans collective would have been possible. With every additional window that the club opens to sell shares direct that aim becomes ever more harder to reach.

Which was exactly Hibs plan when the idea was announced.

I'm still all for people buying shares direct or subscribing to HSL as it ultimately results in additional funds for the club we all love but the way this has been set up means that inevitably power remains with the 49% as opposed to the fans.

10-04-2016, 05:22 PM

I agree but it was the club's choice to have two ways to purchase shares. A cynical person might think they have done this to help them retain control.

10-04-2016, 05:38 PM
I agree but it was the club's choice to have two ways to purchase shares. A cynical person might think they have done this to help them retain control.

Whether that was the intention or not, it's effectively what will happen even if we take up the full 51%.

10-04-2016, 06:00 PM
Whether that was the intention or not, it's effectively what will happen even if we take up the full 51%.

I think if we got anywhere near those percentages the club find it difficult to deny us increasing our shareholding.

10-04-2016, 06:09 PM
So why do they go out drinking with him? Boyle,Cummings,handling and a few others socialise with him all the time. Seems odd if they don't like him. Fwiw I'm not a huge stokes fan. Our problem is the same problem we have had for years. We lack fight all through the team. The majority of the players really don't care about losing. as long as the players get paid and don't have any affiliation to the club then it won't matter to them if they lose , just means they lose out on a win bonus ,no big deal

10-04-2016, 06:09 PM

And why not?

It's been pretty clearly shown that no one else, fans included, have come up with the cash to buy the club.

51% of the club is being made available with no money at all going to the current owners.

Talk of cynical intentions and so on is daft.

And HSL only really came about due to selling shares direct being tricky. A collective was basically an afterthought to fans having the opportunity to buy shares.

I've done direct and HSL but I've no burning desire to see ownership or board change.

We currently have two fan reps on the board and I've no idea how that's going. These things tend to get messy in committees and Blazers.

Maximise cash to the club by encouraging all and any options to do so. I don't see why we should be talking down any particular route for people buying in.

10-04-2016, 06:23 PM
And why not?

It's been pretty clearly shown that no one else, fans included, have come up with the cash to buy the club.

51% of the club is being made available with no money at all going to the current owners.

Talk of cynical intentions and so on is daft.

And HSL only really came about due to selling shares direct being tricky. A collective was basically an afterthought to fans having the opportunity to buy shares.

I've done direct and HSL but I've no burning desire to see ownership or board change.

We currently have two fan reps on the board and I've no idea how that's going. These things tend to get messy in committees and Blazers.

Maximise cash to the club by encouraging all and any options to do so. I don't see why we should be talking down any particular route for people buying in.

If your happy with the way things are then I doubt I'm going to change your mind. That makes it you and 400,000 yams.

broondog
10-04-2016, 07:03 PM
I backed Stubbs and was very positive about him until very recently but he is totally out of his depth now and has to go. Totally unacceptable that alloa loss.

10-04-2016, 07:06 PM
If your happy with the way things are then I doubt I'm going to change your mind. That makes it you and 400,000 yams.

You'll have to explain the yam comment to me.

I'm not happy with what's happening on the pitch but how the club is owned is about bottom of my list of things to concern myself with.

10-04-2016, 07:10 PM
You'll have to explain the yam comment to me.

I'm not happy with what's happening on the pitch but how the club is owned is about bottom of my list of things to concern myself with.

Every yam I know is happy with the way things are at Hibs.
Do you not think the ownership of the club and the sustain failure on the pitch might be connected?

10-04-2016, 07:16 PM
Do you not think the ownership of the club and the sustain failure on the pitch might be connected?

Every yam I know is an idiot and has no idea about how we are owned and run.

You are promoting HSL which is a club led imitative really and has Hibs employees in its board. It will take a number of years just to get a director on the board and will never reach full control on its own.

If you want ownership change you are not getting it through HSL. Or any other route now that this has started.

10-04-2016, 07:22 PM

No connection at all. The constant failure on the pitch is down to poor management and some bad luck nothing else.

10-04-2016, 07:53 PM

I agree with your first sentence. The Yams are having an absolute field day at the current state of affairs at Hibs. It's just a massive piss take. That's one of the reasons Hibs fans are so angry just now. It's harder living in a two team city. The local rivalry tends to be fierce, and there's no escape for those on the receiving end.

However, I don't think the sustained failure on the pitch at ER can be laid at STF's door. That has been down to a lack of leadership and ambition, both on and off the pitch, for many years, resulting ultimately in the club being relegated. I exclude Leeann Dempster from that criticism.

The latest collapse over the last couple of months I have no answer for. Something has gone badly wrong, but I don't know why it has gone wrong so spectacularly. It could be a number of different reasons all combined.

10-04-2016, 07:56 PM

Who gives a flying **** what the yams say. We knocked them out of the Cup. Again.

10-04-2016, 07:57 PM
Every yam I know is an idiot and has no idea about how we are owned and run.

You are promoting HSL which is a club led imitative really and has Hibs employees in its board. It will take a number of years just to get a director on the board and will never reach full control on its own.

If you want ownership change you are not getting it through HSL. Or any other route now that this has started.

So what do we do? Just sit on our hands and hope Rod gets it right soon?

10-04-2016, 07:57 PM
Who gives a flying **** what the yams say. We knocked them out of the Cup. Again.

You do.

10-04-2016, 08:00 PM

A cynical person might perceive your constant negativity about fans choosing to buy shares themself as indicative of the kind of blazer-chasing and wanting a bit of power/control on someone else's dollar that turns a lot of people off schemes like HSL.

10-04-2016, 08:18 PM
A cynical person might perceive your constant negativity about fans choosing to buy shares themself as indicative of the kind of blazer-chasing and wanting a bit of power/control on someone else's dollar that turns a lot of people off schemes like HSL.

HSL is democratic. Who in their right mind would vote for me? Do you think that's why I'm working so hard on my popularity on here? [emoji23]
There is very few people less suited to running Hibs than me. I haven't worn a blazer since school and there is a very good chance I will never wear one again.
Hope that puts your mind at ease and you can get behind HSL.

HappyHanlon
10-04-2016, 08:41 PM
Some guy on twitter called Owen McLacey tweeted: "mate am pure raging I might just find Stubbs and cut his other ball off as he doesn't deserve any!"

**** in our support!

10-04-2016, 08:49 PM

What can Rod do this week that will influence the next two games.
Tell Stubbs to abandon that bloody diamond?

ShinyFantastic
10-04-2016, 08:50 PM
Key Events in Alan Stubbs' Tenure as Hibernian Manager:

Lost to Falkirk in the Scottish cup semi final in what turned out to be an incredible chance of winning the holy grail.

Lost to the worst Rangers side in history when it really mattered in the play-offs through pure tactical ineptness and stubbornness

Made the catastrophic decision to sign Mark Oxley on a permanent deal when it was clear he was never good enough, persisting with him in every single match even when we need to test another goalkeeper since golden boy will be suspended for the biggest game of the season; the semi-final

Let Dominique Malonga leave, the only player that could single-handedly win a 'tight' match where Stubbs' bore the other team into submission tactics had left the scoreline 0-0

Lost three! (yes three) matches against part-time opposition, including an already relegated one, in our second season in the Scottish Championship after 'learning' in our wonderful first season down here

Conspired to lose a league cup final against minnows Ross County in front of 30,000 Hibs fans

Of course there have been good moments, such as the victory against Aberdeen in the league cup, the two games against them in the Scottish cup.

But as so often is the case with Hibs, the games that have really really mattered have been unmitigated disasters. Alan Stubbs is just another loser in a long line of losers.

HibsMax
10-04-2016, 08:51 PM
At this stage what is harm in waiting till the end of the season? Will Hibs find and bring in a replacement in time to change the team enough to guarantee promotion or increase our chances in the Scottish Cup? My opinion is "no" so let's leave team alone for right now and make the required changes at the right time.

HibsMax
10-04-2016, 08:53 PM

Lost to Falkirk in the Scottish cup semi final in what turned out to be an incredible chance of winning the holy grail.

Lost to the worst Rangers side in history when it really mattered in the play-offs through pure tactical ineptness and stubbornness

Made the catastrophic decision to sign Mark Oxley on a permanent deal when it was clear he was never good enough, persisting with him in every single match even when we need to test another goalkeeper since golden boy will be suspended for the biggest game of the season; the semi-final

Let Dominique Malonga leave, the only player that could single-handedly win a 'tight' match where Stubbs' bore the other team into submission tactics had left the scoreline 0-0

Lost three! (yes three) matches against part-time opposition, including an already relegated one, in our second season in the Scottish Championship after 'learning' in our wonderful first season down here

Conspired to lose a league cup final against minnows Ross County in front of 30,000 Hibs fans

Of course there have been good moments, such as the victory against Aberdeen in the league cup, the two games against them in the Scottish cup.

But as so often is the case with Hibs, the games that have really really mattered have been unmitigated disasters. Alan Stubbs is just another loser in a long line of losers.

1. Ross County minnows? They're in the SPL so where does that put us? At some point we have to let go of history and embrace reality - we're not a great team.
2. A deliberate action? Interesting.

10-04-2016, 08:59 PM
1. Ross County minnows? They're in the SPL so where does that put us? At some point we have to let go of history and embrace reality - we're not a great team.
2. A deliberate action? Interesting.

Fair point. The way our crowds are going it won't be long till we consider them our equals.

ShinyFantastic
10-04-2016, 09:03 PM
Fair point. The way our crowds are going it won't be long till we consider them our equals.

There's no way it should ever be acceptable for Hibs to consider Ross County as our equals. Where we are in comparison to them is just a measure as to how terrible things are at Hibs.

10-04-2016, 09:08 PM

It's done. The route is set. We spoke, we said we wanted more fan ownership and the process is well on the way. We have another two fan board members, we will get another with HSL and on we move.

broondog
10-04-2016, 09:09 PM

agree 100%, his record is shocking. Fenlon was a much better manager

10-04-2016, 09:14 PM
At this stage what is harm in waiting till the end of the season? Will Hibs find and bring in a replacement in time to change the team enough to guarantee promotion or increase our chances in the Scottish Cup? My opinion is "no" so let's leave team alone for right now and make the required changes at the right time.

I don't agree, we nearly always wait until its impossible to reach our goals before sacking our manager. Lets punt him now and get McCall or Davies or anyone who actually can lift this team and set them up properly for these remaining games.

Under Stubbs its just one stubborn set up after another, and its been sussed out.

10-04-2016, 09:23 PM

One of the most urine-soaked first posts in the history of the internet. Losing three games over the course of a season is somehow a "key event" whereas beating the second best team in the country and Hearts in cup ties are mere "good moments"?

Mark Oxley's been done to death on here recently.

How many tight games did Malonga single-handedly win? I was one of his biggest fans and agree we should have kept him but can't recall him single-handedly winning any games which were 0-0.

Also, I don't think you have a good grasp of what the word "conspired" means. Or "minnows".

10-04-2016, 09:24 PM
There is a malaise at the club that stems from the very top, this "decline" has been overseen by the geezer with the tach for twenty years. He knows the square root of f all about football and probably thinks that the club is in not to bad a position as we have a good stadium/training ground which by the way has increased the value of his initial stake in the club many times at the cost of zero to himself-nice. We have been scratching around for years, some better than others-do you remember Blobby signing Ewardo Hurtado to try and save us from relegation ? He appointed seven managers in a ten year period and every one worse than the previous one, how much did that cost us ! Until he goes and we are run by someone that knows and loves the club then we will never progress. I often wonder if our managers are given an easy time from those at the top as it seems they know very little about football and this promotes a slackness in the manager as he knows he is never going to get hauled over the coals for a series of bad results, managers have joined and been reasonable elsewhere but they seem to fall into a decline, get sacked and some go on to do reasonably well in their next job ! just a theory.

10-04-2016, 09:26 PM
There is a malaise at the club that stems from the very top, this "decline" has been overseen by the geezer with the tach for twenty years. He knows the square root of f all about football and probably thinks that the club is in not to bad a position as we have a good stadium/training ground which by the way has increased the value of his initial stake in the club many times at the cost of zero to himself-nice. We have been scratching around for years, some better than others-do you remember Blobby signing Ewardo Hurtado to try and save us from relegation ? He appointed seven managers in a ten year period and every one worse than the previous one, how much did that cost us ! Until he goes and we are run by someone that knows and loves the club then we will never progress. I often wonder if our managers are given an easy time from those at the top as it seems they know very little about football and this promotes a slackness in the manager as he knows he is never going to get hauled over the coals for a series of bad results, managers have joined and been reasonable elsewhere but they seem to fall into a decline, get sacked and some go on to do reasonably well in their next job ! just a theory.

McLeish signed Hurtado.

10-04-2016, 09:28 PM
McLeish signed Hurtado.

Hush you and your so-called facts.

itslegaltender
10-04-2016, 09:33 PM
no way do I want another Hun apologist at our club. McCall on radio last week saying Rangers were punished and sent down to div 3. Watch him gushing tonight over the diddy cup win.

ShinyFantastic
10-04-2016, 09:43 PM
One of the most urine-soaked first posts in the history of the internet. Losing three games over the course of a season is somehow a "key event" whereas beating the second best team in the country and Hearts in cup ties are mere "good moments"?

Mark Oxley's been done to death on here recently.

How many tight games did Malonga single-handedly win? I was one of his biggest fans and agree we should have kept him but can't recall him single-handedly winning any games which were 0-0.

Also, I don't think you have a good grasp of what the word "conspired" means. Or "minnows".

I find your first sentence incredibly vulgar and quite frankly it makes no sense but that's beside the point...

Are you saying you disagree that losses to part-time teams are "key moments"? Is that how bad we've become that this is just the norm? Describing the wins against Aberdeen and Hearts as "good moments" was in no way to belittle them, they were absolutely fantastic at the time, I was making the point that there have been "good moments" under Stubbs, would a change of adjective help you understand?

Okay Mark Oxley has been "done to death on here", does that make him less of a problem?

Malonga regularly came up with moments of magic, such as the run and goal against Aberdeen, the screamer against Raith Rovers in the cup, the 97th minute winner against Queen of the south. Granted, I may have exaggerated slightly on that point, I'll give you that one. But it was a huge mistake letting him go and you must agree with that.

And really? Ross County, the Highland galacticos?

10-04-2016, 09:45 PM
Interesting post apart from factual error (s) like Hurtado as Andy74 has pointed out and bit about managers never being hauled over the coals - are you saying careers of managers like Hughes and Fenlon won`t have been affected by being sacked / pushed out of Hibs ? In both cases , taking Hibs to Europe if allowed time to consolidate would have led to jobs with bigger clubs than us or even better leading us to better things especially given Hearts and Rangers situation . Anyway I agree with some of what you say but it looks like you`ve been waiting for an extra bad result like yesterday`s to post it and think just before a huge cup semi and league games against Falkirk and Rangers is not best timing .

Newhaven
10-04-2016, 09:50 PM

100% agree about Rod yet the fans are told he has no influence/sway of
power/direct involvement in the day to day running of the club. Hence the reason many ask what possible role does he have at the club other than be STF's silent partner.

Many managers,coaches and board members have come in and out the club over the past decade yet Rod still manages to cling on. Incredible.

10-04-2016, 09:57 PM
power/direct involvement in the day to day running of the club. Hence the reason many ask what possible role does he have at the club other than be STF's silent partner.

Many managers,coaches and board members have come in and out the club over the past decade yet Rod still manages to cling on. Incredible.

I think it would be answered if you looked up the difference between executive and non executive directors.

10-04-2016, 10:02 PM
no way do I want another Hun apologist at our club. McCall on radio last week saying Rangers were punished and sent down to div 3. Watch him gushing tonight over the diddy cup win.
I agree with this 100% . IF we change manager in next day / week / month / year last thing we want is another Rangers man . Miller , Williamson and Butcher show why not .

10-04-2016, 10:08 PM
Not been on for a few days and while I expected the obvious bed wetters to be out in force I am a bit surprised that it seems to be the majority wanting Stubbs out for what's been a dismal last couple of months with only one impressive result.

It has only been a couple of months though and before that we were on course for a record breaking run. His tactics have been poor of late and it seems we got January badly wrong but I'm sticking by him for now.

When folk are suggesting the likes of McCall (and can't even spell his name) or Billy Davies (a gaffer we'd promptly dislike) then some potential foresight is required. They are not the answer.

I firmly believe we can still go up.

10-04-2016, 10:14 PM
I agree with this 100% . IF we change manager in next day / week / month / year last thing we want is another Rangers man . Miller , Williamson and Butcher show why not .

Who cares. I'd take anyone who can win football matches just now.

10-04-2016, 10:19 PM
Not been on for a few days and while I expected the obvious bed wetters to be out in force I am a bit surprised that it seems to be the majority wanting Stubbs out for what's been a dismal last couple of months with only one impressive result.

It has only been a couple of months though and before that we were on course for a record breaking run. His tactics have been poor of late and it seems we got January badly wrong but I'm sticking by him for now.

When folk are suggesting the likes of McCall (and can't even spell his name) or Billy Davies (a gaffer we'd promptly dislike) then some potential foresight is required. They are not the answer.

Ouch the spelling police are here. 16369

Nutmegged
10-04-2016, 10:22 PM
I was wondering when it was going to all come back down to Petrie

11-04-2016, 07:05 AM

The harm is that this clown won't get us promoted

11-04-2016, 07:51 AM

IIRC McLeish was a good Rangers man and he did ok for us when he was here.

11-04-2016, 07:54 AM

Petrie is here in a non exec role purely as a man on the board for Farmer, also the fact he has aspirations of getting the SFA gig at some point and you need to be a chairman of a club to do that.

11-04-2016, 08:02 AM

Miller being 1 of only 2 managers who have brought us a national trophy in the last 25 years....

paddy1875
11-04-2016, 08:19 AM
1 defeat to a part time team isint acceptable but can happen has we've seen in recent year these teams can pull off shock wins against bigger teams, but to lose 3 is criminal. I like Alan Stubbs the man, but in the past few months he's been far to stubborn with the teams set up. He very rarely changes the teams overall shape unless it's inflicted by injury during a game. The run he had us on was good, not great. We were playing against dross teams in the league, a few premiership clubs in cup competition where our footballing ability got us the wins. Good wins Aswell. But like many hibs managers in the past, when it comes to the 'must win games'. We've reverted to type by making a pigs ear of things. He needs to make up a plan b and c. I know nothing about being a football manager, but everyone on here can see the problem with formation. Why can't he?

It's like all the managers in the league have passed out a manual on how we set up and how to beat us. Even the part timers have Sussed us out. With no wide men everything comes through the middle. We have Boyle who was motm against Livingston constantly on the bench?

If nothing's won by the end of the season, he'll walk. But it's nobody else's fault but his own for being to stubborn and predictable

11-04-2016, 08:44 AM
I find your first sentence incredibly vulgar and quite frankly it makes no sense but that's beside the point...

Are you saying you disagree that losses to part-time teams are "key moments"? Is that how bad we've become that this is just the norm? Describing the wins against Aberdeen and Hearts as "good moments" was in no way to belittle them, they were absolutely fantastic at the time, I was making the point that there have been "good moments" under Stubbs, would a change of adjective help you understand?

Okay Mark Oxley has been "done to death on here", does that make him less of a problem?

Malonga regularly came up with moments of magic, such as the run and goal against Aberdeen, the screamer against Raith Rovers in the cup, the 97th minute winner against Queen of the south. Granted, I may have exaggerated slightly on that point, I'll give you that one. But it was a huge mistake letting him go and you must agree with that.

And really? Ross County, the Highland galacticos?

Get sick of hearing this stuff to be honest ... County's run to the League cup final was every bit as impressive as ours was and they currently sit one point off 4th place in the Premiership, a game against them wasn't going to be a 'gimmie' for any team in Scotland. As well as that, I've now seen Hibs lose 8 finals and that's one of the few I can genuinely say we were unlucky to lose.

Ross County made a lot of the fact that they changed their system to combat the way Hibs play, but the truth is that Hibs were on top for practically the whole game ... we had 57% possession, 12 shots to 5 ....... 8 on target against 3 on target and 9 corners to 2, to me that says Hibs system worked just fine on the day and County's tactical master stroke was anything but, in as far as these stats show that Hibs were more effective than County were.

Their first goal was down to Hibs losing the ball in a bad area and the ball breaking in County's favour at least once after that. The only thing Hibs got wrong on the day that I would put down to bad management was going gung ho for the win in the last 10 minutes instead of playing the odds by tightening up at the back and accepting that extra time was going to give us half an hour more to win the game.

11-04-2016, 08:44 AM

This might just be the worst post to ever grace .net. Congratulations.

11-04-2016, 08:48 AM
If anyone is suggesting Billy Davies they know nowt about football. He would make Butcher look like a dream. He's borderline Dissociative Indentity Disorder and should be avoided at all costs.

11-04-2016, 09:19 AM

I'd say ( if we are going to get rid off him) do it now bring in a manager who has the rest of the season to turn around our fortunes before the play offs and can assess each player properly so he can know who to keep and who not to, before next season that way he can address players he needs wants so we can get them in early rather than leaving to the last minute again.

11-04-2016, 09:24 AM

Most of it looks pretty spot on to me....

11-04-2016, 09:40 AM

The bed was soaked years ago mate, we were all called bed wetters for fearing Terry would relegate us, but just get behind the team and it'll all be fine.

Just keep telling yourselves it'll all be fine, that's always worked in the past.

ShinyFantastic
11-04-2016, 09:53 AM

Thanks very much, you've made my day.

11-04-2016, 09:55 AM
Hibs always do well then suddenly hit free fall and can't get out of it. ...it's like a curse has been put on us. We even change an entire team and the same thing happens.

SJM
11-04-2016, 09:58 AM
Thanks very much, you've made my day.

You make some very good points some are also Shan though.

ShinyFantastic
11-04-2016, 10:05 AM

Fair enough, I can live with that. What is it you disagree with?

SJM
11-04-2016, 10:33 AM
Fair enough, I can live with that. What is it you disagree with?

Malonga left because his little girl was about to begin school and he has an Italian girlfriend who wanted to go home.

Ross County aren't minnows, they are better than us just now, we have to live with that fact.

Shan was too harsh, I'm sorry.

General terms I agree though. Our biggest problem is not changing things when it isn't working. First it was during matches now it's all the time. I would give him this week. I would even take one win this week and leave it until the end of the season. Both matches we lose or one loss and one draw meaning we are out the Scottish cup and he goes.

ShinyFantastic
11-04-2016, 10:43 AM
Malonga left because his little girl was about to begin school and he has an Italian girlfriend who wanted to go home.

Ross County aren't minnows, they are better than us just now, we have to live with that fact.

Shan was too harsh, I'm sorry.

General terms I agree though. Our biggest problem is not changing things when it isn't working. First it was during matches now it's all the time. I would give him this week. I would even take one win this week and leave it until the end of the season. Both matches we lose or one loss and one draw meaning we are out the Scottish cup and he goes.

Do we actually know that about Malonga? At the end of the day he was still under contract...

Unfortunately, yes Ross County are in a better position than us at the moment. It doesn't make it any easier to take losing against a team like that in a cup final when we outnumber their support 6:1. And I still think we actually have a better team than them, tactics and the Hibs hard luck story cost us on the day.

I forgive you :greengrin

And yet, after all the disappointments I have listed, I sort of agree with you on giving him the week. In fact, if we win the semi I'll give him until the final!

SJM
11-04-2016, 10:46 AM
Malonga you would have take my word on but it's true mate.

Your totally right on the RC matter but it's disrespectful when they are in a higher league and I'm sure they would pump the Alloa of the worlds.

Thanks 😂

Stubbs wins the Scottish there will be a statue of him. Lose this week he will be jobless. It's fine line and I don't trust him to deliver though when this time last month I would.

11-04-2016, 10:54 AM
Do we actually know that about Malonga? At the end of the day he was still under contract...

Unfortunately, yes Ross County are in a better position than us at the moment. It doesn't make it any easier to take losing against a team like that in a cup final when we outnumber their support 6:1. And I still think we actually have a better team than them, tactics and the Hibs hard luck story cost us on the day.

I forgive you :greengrin

And yet, after all the disappointments I have listed, I sort of agree with you on giving him the week. In fact, if we win the semi I'll give him until the final!

I agree that this week is crunch week and no wins means that he has completely lost the plot. If we win both then it could be the turn around we so desperately need.

It could end up in two draws which would be terrible on all fronts as far as I am concerned with no wins and another game to play.

ShinyFantastic
11-04-2016, 10:54 AM

Your totally right on the RC matter but it's disrespectful when they are in a higher league and I'm sure they would pump the Alloa of the worlds.

Thanks 

Stubbs wins the Scottish there will be a statue of him. Lose this week he will be jobless. It's fine line and I don't trust him to deliver though when this time last month I would.

I don't trust him either. Why he hasn't gave the goalie that will be playing in the semi a run out in any of the last couple of games is just mind boggling. He knows what's at stake on Saturday. And I don't actually trust that he will be jobless should the unthinkable happen and we lose both games.

ShinyFantastic
11-04-2016, 10:57 AM
I agree that this week is crunch week and no wins means that he has completely lost the plot. If we win both then it could be the turn around we so desperately need.

It could end up in two draws which would be terrible on all fronts as far as I am concerned with no wins and another game to play.

He absolutely would have to go if we lost both. However, we can't end up with two draws because the game on Saturday would go to extra time in the event of a tie. So we will be either jumping for joy or crying on Saturday evening!

11-04-2016, 10:59 AM
He absolutely would have to go if we lost both. However, we can't end up with two draws because the game on Saturday would go to extra time in the event of a tie. So we will be either jumping for joy or crying on Saturday evening!

Ah right, that's good! I thought the Scottish Cup went to replays but if they have changed that rule I am glad as semi final replays are daft and attract awful crowds.

11-04-2016, 11:04 AM
Pity we've a game midweek though. Could have fit in a wee trip to La Mingo to refresh the batteries for the semi.

11-04-2016, 11:23 AM
After raging on Saturday demanding Stubbs head on a platter I have cooled down and agree with those who say we need to pull together and take stock when it's all done and dusted.
One thing I do know is tomorrow night is absolutely massive and Easter Road will be no place for faint hearts both on and off the pitch.
The fans have been very patient considering all they put us through year on year and I have no doubt everyone who rolls up tomorrow night will get right behind the team.
Things are bad but as we all know one good result can prove a catalyst for transformation of a season.
It's time the players and coaching staff took their turn and dug out a result.
It's strange but I am really looking forward to the next few weeks.

SJM
11-04-2016, 11:25 AM
Ah right, that's good! I thought the Scottish Cup went to replays but if they have changed that rule I am glad as semi final replays are daft and attract awful crowds.

Aye it's the fans fault 😂😂

11-04-2016, 11:27 AM
Aye it's the fans fault 😂😂

That's not even close to what that post says though is it?

11-04-2016, 11:31 AM

For what its worth pal, i have no idea why you're getting pelters. Barring the word 'conspired' and Malonga being our Messi, this is fairly accurate account.

11-04-2016, 11:32 AM

What nonsense.
So it doesn't matter if someone is potentially the best manager in the world, if he is a "Rangers Man" we don't want him.
And you wonder why this club is stuck in the doldrums.

11-04-2016, 11:35 AM

Like "conspiring to lose the cup final", more pointless Oxley bashing and other drivel? Not just Shan, also very suspicious.

11-04-2016, 11:36 AM

It's the .net stock response to any attempt at sensible debate though.

ShinyFantastic
11-04-2016, 11:38 AM
For what its worth pal, i have no idea why you're getting pelters. Barring the word 'conspired' and Malonga being our Messi, this is fairly accurate account.

Cheers mate haha. I did try my best to only include the facts. And funnily enough, after I submitted it I did wonder if I had used the word "conspired" correctly. It's amazing what people will pull you up for :tee hee::tee hee:

ShinyFantastic
11-04-2016, 11:39 AM
Like "conspiring to lose the cup final", more pointless Oxley bashing and other drivel? Not just Shan, also very suspicious.

Suspicious you say? :shocked:

11-04-2016, 11:41 AM
It's the .net stock response to any attempt at sensible debate though.

At least on most occasions it has some form of context.

That was in reply to someone praising the decision to get rid of semi final replays and play games to a finish. I can't really work it out if I'm being honest.

11-04-2016, 11:45 AM
At least on most occasions it has some form of context.

That was in reply to someone praising the decision to get rid of semi final replays and play games to a finish. I can't really work it out if I'm being honest.
I thought it was a joke to be honest, awful crowds at replays = fans fault?

11-04-2016, 11:47 AM
Suspicious you say? :shocked:

Yes, it's your use of the word "conspiring". It's left me wondering if you either don't know what the word means or that you're making baseless accusations and don't have a ghost of an idea what you're talking about.

Which one is it?

ShinyFantastic
11-04-2016, 11:51 AM
Yes, it's your use of the word "conspiring". It's left me wondering if you either don't know what the word means or that you're making baseless accusations and don't have a ghost of an idea what you're talking about.

Which one is it?

I'm really sorry to extinguish the notion that I was making "baseless accusations" but unfortunately I made a mistake. I don't make them very often so don't you go worrying about it :aok:

SJM
11-04-2016, 02:36 PM

Fair call I read it wrong and had a **** morning. Sorry Slick Shoes.

11-04-2016, 03:56 PM
Hibs always do well then suddenly hit free fall and can't get out of it. ...it's like a curse has been put on us. We even change an entire team and the same thing happens.

:agree: Nothing to do with a curse and 100% due to culture, culture culture. There is no secret to Hibs consistent record of underachievement and abject failure.

SlatefordHibby
11-04-2016, 04:04 PM

This thread reeks. Time to ignore.

broondog
11-04-2016, 08:47 PM
Most of it looks pretty spot on to me....

agree with that previous post 100%. completely accurate summary of stubbs' embarrassing attempt at trying to manage us.

11-04-2016, 08:53 PM
After raging on Saturday demanding Stubbs head on a platter I have cooled down and agree with those who say we need to pull together and take stock when it's all done and dusted.
One thing I do know is tomorrow night is absolutely massive and Easter Road will be no place for faint hearts both on and off the pitch.
The fans have been very patient considering all they put us through year on year and I have no doubt everyone who rolls up tomorrow night will get right behind the team.
Things are bad but as we all know one good result can prove a catalyst for transformation of a season.
It's time the players and coaching staff took their turn and dug out a result.
It's strange but I am really looking forward to the next few weeks.

Agree with this. Despite what's happened in the last couple of months, the team is still capable. I'm still bewildered at how all this has been allowed to happen but one wee break tomorrow could change everything.

PiemanP
12-04-2016, 08:46 PM
Times up Stubbs. I don't fancy playing Falkirk again in the playoffs with Stubbs as manager.

12-04-2016, 08:50 PM
Times up pal. Pack your bags.

12-04-2016, 08:54 PM
Maybe the delusional fans who wanted Stubbs to remain will now see the light and realise - Stubbs is absolutely worse than a man down. It's laughable that a man of his incompetence is allowed to oversee yet another embarrassment associated with Hibernian Football Club.

12-04-2016, 08:55 PM

Will you be surprised if there's any "bedwetting" tonight then? Time to wake up and face the reality of the situation as it really is, I think.

I have felt many highs and lows watching Hibs, but I felt sick at the end tonight. How many more times can a team let you down? 2-0 up with 9 minutes to go against 10 men. Pathetic. Just pathetic. You try to be optimistic etc. and the fans turn out yet again in decent numbers in spite of Saturday and other results and woosh, another hefty kick in the city halls from nowhere. I'm going to cool off for a bit. Sick of this.

Benny Brazil
12-04-2016, 08:57 PM
Maybe the delusional fans who wanted Stubbs to remain will now see the light and realise - Stubbs is absolutely worse than a man down. It's laughable that a man of his incompetence is allowed to oversee yet another embarrassment associated with Hibernian Football Club.

Not sure you can blame Stubbs for that - we were 2-0 with 3mins to go - blame the players for that one.

12-04-2016, 08:59 PM
Not sure you can blame Stubbs for that - we were 2-0 with 3mins to go - blame the players for that one.

Never - game management, the manager sets the team out to see a 2 nil lead out against 10 men.

CallumHibs07
12-04-2016, 08:59 PM

ANY manager should be able to see out a game at 2-0 and a man up. The guy doesn't have a clue.

Benny Brazil
12-04-2016, 09:00 PM
Never - game management, the manager sets the team out to see a 2 nil lead out against 10 men.

Rubbish - the players are getting off scot free at the moment - they are the ones to blame - defence cant deal with high balls and we concede - nothing Stubbs can do about that.

Time to go Allan.

:agree: Not Stubbs' fault, neither is it that of Oxley as I'm sure someone will try and suggest - individual errors at the back.

All of this "Stubbs out" faux fury tackles the point that we should be asking - what's changed since February for such a slump in form, and after several different managers haven't proved to be the correct answer, neither has different playing personnel, neither has changing the person running the club, where does the buck really lie?

12-04-2016, 09:01 PM
2 wins in 10 championship games. Not a single person can defend that record. Cheerio Alan.

12-04-2016, 09:01 PM
I blame every living thing and person.

Benny Brazil
12-04-2016, 09:02 PM
ANY manager should be able to see out a game at 2-0 and a man up. The guy doesn't have a clue.

Really - can the players not think for themselves in that situation?

12-04-2016, 09:02 PM

His subs were poor. Fyvie was spent yet he took off Bartley and McGinn. Nah he has to go...shame as liked him.

12-04-2016, 09:03 PM

Yes you can blame Stubbs. Maybe you can't give him total responsibility for tonight's 3 minute fiasco, but he has masterminded every nightmare we have suffered in the past two months. I don't think the board will have the balls to sack him, but if he had any conscience he would walk away.

Greenblood70
Not sure you can blame Stubbs entirely for that utterly cowardly capitulation tonight. However I do hold him responsible for us being in the position we are at the moment and the terrible run of results we're on.

We are tolerating failure if he remains in place. He has to go.

ShinyFantastic
Well..... He has to go!!!!!!!

Rubbish - the players are getting off scot free at the moment - they are the ones to blame - defence cant deal with high balls and we concede - nothing Stubbs can do about that.

The most important thing the players are free of is the guidance of a competent manager.

allmodcons

2 wins in 10 games and conceding goals for fun in the championship FFS.
Stubbs has to go and go tomorrow.

12-04-2016, 09:04 PM

Stubbs big weakness is inexperience. He's certainly learning his trade the hard way. Still, if we get promotion now from this point it will be evidence that he and the team have got guts. Nothing is decided until the play offs, so Im waiting to make any final judgements until then.

Crazy stuff Hibs. Even for us!

AL-Qaholik
12-04-2016, 09:04 PM
Worse than Butcher. Get him punted immediately.

James.
12-04-2016, 09:06 PM

As much as we are woeful and this is certainly a low there is absolutely no comparison there.

12-04-2016, 09:07 PM

I'm hoping that you're just pissed off about the result because that is beyond parody.

Stubbs in.

No bottling it now. Another setback but let's keep it together.

nickwhibs

Exactly. Stubbs got the tactics spot on tonight. Cruising at 2-0. Two balls into the box that weren't dealt with. But I honestly feel cursed bring a hibs fan - how many times can a team kick you in the teeth??

SJM
12-04-2016, 09:08 PM
Sad times but we need a new manager.

12-04-2016, 09:08 PM

Thanks 

Aye, right after the headline "Following his move to Celtc......"

12-04-2016, 09:09 PM
So - when we are in games and playing utter ***** and behind or level and never looking like scoring, he doesn't make any subs. Now when we are against 10 men and romping it he changes things.

Callum7
No one can blame Stubbs for this, it was the players fault for not defending.

Stubbs is not very good and I'd be happy for him to leave tomorrow, but worse than Butcher? Nope. Butcher was the worst of the lot.

AL-Qaholik
12-04-2016, 09:10 PM
I'm hoping that you're just pissed off about the result because that is beyond parody.

Results wise worse than Butcher. Obviously Stubbs isn't as bad as him - but this run of results, in the 2nd tier ffs, are definitely worse.

We've been chucking goals in since we got pumped by Morton. What's he done to sort it out?

Two wins. Ten games. The Scottish Championship. Just let that sink in.

Benny Brazil
Exactly. Stubbs got the tactics spot on tonight. Cruising at 2-0. Two balls into the box that weren't dealt with. But I honestly feel cursed bring a hibs fan - how many times can a team kick you in the teeth??

Hibs will always find a new way to do that to us:agree:

SJM
Aye, right after the headline "Following his move to Celtc......"

He won't ever get the Celtic gig. Perhaps a scout though.

SJM
12-04-2016, 09:11 PM

Who picks them?

12-04-2016, 09:13 PM

I've found out over the last 40 odd years, many, many, many times!

12-04-2016, 09:13 PM
Results wise worse than Butcher. Obviously Stubbs isn't as bad as him
If his results are worse then he is worse. Stop dressing it up. Stubbs is honking.

12-04-2016, 09:15 PM
I've finally lost the plot. I'm not sure sacking the manager is the right way to go and I've been banging on about him being the right man for months now but something is wrong with this club. We accept mediocrity and are an absolute toothless shower of ***** when it comes to the business end. The board can't surely be accepting of our current predicament?

Benny Brazil
12-04-2016, 09:16 PM
Who picks them?

And for 87 mins it was working fine - so does he get the credit for that? The defence blew that tonight.

Sickening but not at all unpredictable what happened at end but we`ve got a massive match on Saturday and players , managers and fans have to focus on that . On Saturday we have the advantage of playing a team who must be short on confidence as well . Getting to the final would be a massive boost for remaining league games .

Bye Stubbs.

12-04-2016, 09:17 PM
And for 87 mins it was working fine - so does he get the credit for that? The defence blew that tonight.

He gets credit for **** all because we didnt win the game. Winning a game for 87 minutes counts for nothing. He's out of his depth in a big way.

AL-Qaholik
12-04-2016, 09:19 PM
If his results are worse then he is worse. Stop dressing it up. Stubbs is honking.

Stubbs at least had A tactic that worked for s while and got some decent results. Butcher never had a sniff of a clue.

Stubbs is just out of his depth and has been completely found out.

12-04-2016, 09:20 PM
I've finally lost the plot. I'm not sure sacking the manager is the right way to go and I've been banging on about him being the right man for months now but something is wrong with this club. We accept mediocrity and are an absolute toothless shower of ***** when it comes to the business end. The board can't surely be accepting of our current predicament?
The problem is anyone that stands up and says it's not good enough gets acoused of being a yam or a bed wetter... Hearts fans pulled together, sevco and even us in 1999 but where has our fans been this season? Poor attendance's even when we went 20 something games unbetween bar semi and cup final and vs hearts .. Simply fans have had enough who can blame them. I don't know what the answer is. That's not my place that's the clubs place.

SJM
12-04-2016, 09:20 PM

Aye they were great and the team was brilliant. We still ****ed up though, this isn't Celtic or Newco, this is a *****y league and it's not good enough.

12-04-2016, 09:22 PM
Seasons over. Get him to **** :aok:

JK Rolling
12-04-2016, 09:25 PM
The problem is anyone that stands up and says it's not good enough gets acoused of being a yam or a bed wetter... Hearts fans pulled together, sevco and even us in 1999 but where has our fans been this season? Poor attendance's even when we went 20 something games unbetween bar semi and cup final and vs hearts .. Simply fans have had enough who can blame them. I don't know what the answer is. That's not my place that's the clubs place.

This. :top marks I wasn't there tonight due to work but sadly feel quite glad I wasn't. A 1 or 2 nil defeat might've been easier to cope with. I genuinely have no idea where we go from here.

12-04-2016, 09:25 PM
I thought we played really well tonight, we were very unlucky not to win. The ******** of a ref didn't help ! In saying that we shouldn't be losing two goals in the last couple of minutes . I've been following hibs for 50 years and have to say WE ARE F..KING CURSED :(

12-04-2016, 09:27 PM

Stubbs record is a lot better than Butcher's. What are you on about?

Schteff
12-04-2016, 09:29 PM

2 seasons against the 2nd tier joiners, posties & mechanics..

Tough job being better than all predecessors eh

12-04-2016, 09:29 PM

100% correct. first goal is a simple cross that the players didn't defend. They then proceed to sit deeper and deeper and let them attack us.

Mr Grieves
12-04-2016, 09:31 PM

How can you compare when they managed us in different leagues?

Butchers record in the premiership was *****.

Stubbs record in the championship is *****.

mcfly
He's 90 mins away from the sack....

Lose on sat and I can't see us getting promoted.

All the other teams have momentum and they will know hibs are weak in character . That was disgusting tonight and for Stubbs to say he's sorry for the players is shocking.

Never mentions the poor fans who pay his wages and have to watch that garbage. Dreadful defending.

Going to Spain on that jolly had not proved money well spent - since then we have won 1 game.

I thought we played really well tonight, we were very unlucky not to win. The ******** of a ref didn't help ! In saying that we shouldn't be losing two goals in the last couple of minutes . I've been following hibs for 50 years and have to say WE ARE F..KING CURSED :(

for 75 mins we played well and we showed what most fans had been crying out for....last 10 mins was just plain awful and the players must take the blame. Its very easy to blame the guy on the sideline but he isn't the one bottling out of tackles and failing to attack simple crosses.

paddy1875
12-04-2016, 09:42 PM
for 75 mins we played well and we showed what most fans had been crying out for....last 10 mins was just plain awful and the players must take the blame. Its very easy to blame the guy on the sideline but he isn't the one bottling out of tackles and failing to attack simple crosses.

I'd say we did play well first half, second half tho I thought Falkirk were first to every ball, and breaking ball. Thought we should've had a penalty earlier but he gave us one later on. After the sending off then the second goal we switched off. Sat deep let them have the ball. On the lead up to the second goal their left back carried the ball from the edge of his box all the way upto the half way line without a challenge. Naive of the players and management to think the game was won after the way Falkirk came back against rangers.

Naive and a failure to win headers in our own box cost us.

Gutted

ShinyFantastic
12-04-2016, 09:44 PM
Seasons over. Get him to **** :aok:

It's not quite over yet. There are a few more disappointments to come yet....

coldingham hibs
12-04-2016, 09:54 PM

We didn't play well at all we got two fortunate goals, the first against the run of play and the second a penalty. We hoofed the ball aimlessly up the park most of the game, no passing controlled football. Most players looked totally clueless. Name a single player who had a good 90 mins.

12-04-2016, 10:05 PM
Who picks them?

Who would you have picked?

SJM
12-04-2016, 10:09 PM
Who would you have picked?

I don't get paid from my club to sign, coach and manage our club mate. I would have people in our side who know how to win a league instead of gambling on youngsters and Celtic loan players. I would have pace down the flanks to get in behind teams. We didn't learn when we passed it to Scotty Allan last year hoping for a miracle against Rangers and previously Falkirk.

12-04-2016, 10:11 PM
I don't get paid from my club to sign, coach and manage our club mate. I would have people in our side who know how to win a league instead of gambling on youngsters and Celtic loan players. I would have pace down the flanks to get in behind teams. We didn't learn when we passed it to Scotty Allan last year hoping for a miracle against Rangers and previously Falkirk.

I never said you did. But who would you have picked tonight out of the squad available. In all honesty our defence hasn't been the problem lack of goals has.

12-04-2016, 10:11 PM
Bye Stubbs.

Great post

Allan45
12-04-2016, 10:12 PM
Stubbs sort it or we are in theChampionship again, so gutted like all hibs fans. Players sort it out, blew it big time. Stubbs out not the answer! There has to be sh## happening behind the scenes. Why bring in Thomson ffs, we are going backwards with subs, lets effin find form like we had before the new year!
Something very wrong.
We will have to play raith and Falkirk over 2 legs, and win, then the playoff final. Get an effin grip or we as fans will be let down again.
We can do this! Get this team promoted!

12-04-2016, 10:14 PM
Stubbs sort it or we are in theChampionship again, so gutted like all hibs fans. Players sort it out, blew it big time. Stubbs out not the answer! There has to be sh## happening behind the scenes. Why bring in Thomson ffs, we are going backwards with subs, lets effin find form like we had before the new year!
Something very wrong.
We will have to play raith and Falkirk over 2 legs, and win, then the playoff final. Get an effin grip or we as fans will be let down again.
We can do this! Get this team promoted!

This team of bottlers will be lucky to win another game this season.

12-04-2016, 10:14 PM
To finish 3rd in this league is unacceptable regardless of playoffs.

12-04-2016, 10:15 PM
I never said you did. But who would you have picked tonight out of the squad available. In all honesty our defence hasn't been the problem lack of goals has.

Tonight though, Hibs couldn't defend a two goal lead, on their own pitch, against 10 men (who must have been tiring too) for 3 minutes or so. There is no excuse. It's shocking stuff.

Hibs have got problems in attack and defence. Recipe for failure.

He is the manager that picks the players and coaches them on what to do. This isn't the first time that the defending has been honking, it's the same old stuff that's happening time and time again. Houston apparently highlighted before the game that we are weak at defending balls into the box, he was correct. If Houston knows this and other managers know it, why isn't our manager fixing it??? Why we get beat is almost always down to individual errors or a poor performance from the team so does that mean it's never the managers fault??

if this was a one off I would agree that it's not Stubbs fault, but this isn't a one off where the defence has not dealt with things. He has not addressed our weaknesses.

SJM

Defence was tonight mate.
Out our squad never ever take Bartley off, player of the year and McGinn too is criminal. We can't score, have no pace and can't shut up shop. I'm done for tonight mate so apologies if I don't get back to you.

12-04-2016, 10:17 PM
Out our squad never ever take Bartley off, player of the year and McGinn too is criminal. We can't score, have no pace and can't shut up shop. I'm done for tonight mate so apologies if I don't get back to you.

McGinn was dead on his feet after 65 minutes or so and Bartley was on a booking when the game was getting very physical and scrappy?

12-04-2016, 10:18 PM

No worries mate. I just think the defenders tonight were to blame not the man who picked them.

12-04-2016, 10:18 PM
McGinn was dead on his feet after 65 minutes or so and Bartley was on a booking when the game was getting very physical and scrappy?

Fyvie looked a lot more tired than anyone on the pitch IMO.

12-04-2016, 10:20 PM

Bartley was injured

12-04-2016, 10:22 PM
It's not quite over yet. There are a few more disappointments to come yet....

Can we just fast forward to the play-offs where we'll lose to Raith.

12-04-2016, 10:24 PM
To finish 3rd in this league is unacceptable regardless of playoffs.

That is exactly my view as well. Just not good enough.

12-04-2016, 11:20 PM
We didn't play well at all we got two fortunate goals, the first against the run of play and the second a penalty. We hoofed the ball aimlessly up the park most of the game, no passing controlled football. Most players looked totally clueless. Name a single player who had a good 90 mins.

Believe me mate after 50 years I've seen a lot worse :( I thought Stevenson played very well for one I also thought John mcginn had a decent game tonight !

13-04-2016, 02:18 AM
Believe me mate after 50 years I've seen a lot worse :( I thought Stevenson played very well for one I also thought John mcginn had a decent game tonight !

I thought he was pretty annonymous.

13-05-2016, 08:53 PM
Get yourself to **** Alan. No one deserves three attempts at getting this club out of this division.

Jack Ferrigan
13-05-2016, 08:54 PM
Get yourself to **** Alan. No one deserves three attempts at getting this club out of this division.

Get real would you.

13-05-2016, 08:55 PM
This game tonight was an example of plucking defeat from the jaws of victory.

13-05-2016, 08:55 PM
Get real would you.

Why should he get another season?

13-05-2016, 08:56 PM
What a prick. Wrong time for that question, no it's not **** off.

13-05-2016, 08:56 PM
Get real would you.

Wtf are you on?

13-05-2016, 08:57 PM
Has to go. If he cant get hibs out that ****ing tin pot league after two attempts hes not up to it

AL-Qaholik
13-05-2016, 08:58 PM
If he's still here next season, I won't be. ******ing sick of the amount of Hibs fans willing to accept mediocrity. Frankly, I've got better things to do than continue financially and emotionally supporting something which is clearly broken. Top to bottom changes needed immediately or I'll be just one more fan this decade of disgrace has pushed away permanently.

hibshibshibs84
13-05-2016, 08:58 PM
of course Stubbs has to go.
3rd in this league (no matter how slim the margin)

I don't trust him to bring us up next season.

Lee Marvin
13-05-2016, 09:02 PM
If he's still here next season, I won't be. ******ing sick of the amount of Hibs fans willing to accept mediocrity. Frankly, I've got better things to do than continue financially and emotionally supporting something which is clearly broken. Top to bottom changes needed immediately or I'll be just one more fan this decade of disgrace has pushed away permanently.

He is history. No question

RoadtoER
13-05-2016, 09:03 PM
Bye Alan. Don't let the door hit you on the way out.

Get real would you.

You would keep him now? No chance he deserves it, we have been worse this year not better so he should go now

Has to go no matter what happens next week, preferably before next wek

ShinyFantastic
13-05-2016, 09:04 PM
Must win the cup. If he doesn't his position is untenable. This is unacceptable.

13-05-2016, 09:06 PM
I'd rather he stays. Must win the championship though or it's bye.

13-05-2016, 09:07 PM
Please leave Alan, if you win the cup it does not make up for you consigning us to the worst league performances in our entire history.

Awful awful manager.

13-05-2016, 09:08 PM
He has to go. He's blown it.

13-05-2016, 09:09 PM

You're bang on with that line !!. Problem is, the money-men KNOW that despite the number of times HIBS gave continually let us down/embarrassed us/shamed us etc, they know that the fans will be back the following season !. It's like kicking the crap out of a wee puppy and 5 mins later, it's back again, humping your leg !

'BUSINESS 1st, FOOTBALL 2nd' still rules at Easter Road !

norhfc
13-05-2016, 09:10 PM
Been struggling all season to break teams down, no pace and no width, too easy to defend against. Gutted tonight, even the wife is asking why ffs. Win or lose next week Stubbs has to go.

13-05-2016, 09:11 PM
Don't think hibs will have a choice in the matter, we're a basket case and he'll have offers. Ta ta

Ómaigh-Hib
13-05-2016, 09:11 PM
Must win the cup. If he doesn't his position is untenable. This is unacceptable.

The last two seasons have been unacceptable.

Will he stay or will he go? Who would take him after what he has "achieved" here?

Stubbs has made our great club a laughing stock. I bet the yams are bouncing tonight.

13-05-2016, 09:12 PM
Been struggling all season to break teams down, no pace and no width, too easy to defend against. Gutted tonight, even the wife is asking why ffs. Win or lose next week Stubbs has to go.

It's been the same since last season. Did he change his approach at all? Nope. Does he still fail to affect or change games in play? Yes. His use of subs is horrible. Get him to **** after the final.

13-05-2016, 09:14 PM
Played well, but it's goals that count.

Can't argue with anyone who wants Stubbs to go. We should be winning these games simple as that.

I'm gutted.

archiebald
13-05-2016, 09:14 PM
And the next manager is

13-05-2016, 09:15 PM
There is no doubt, Stubbs is a rubbish manager.

13-05-2016, 09:15 PM
Played well, but it's goals that count.

Can't argue with anyone who wants Stubbs to go. We should be winning these games simple as that.

I'm gutted.

He should have gone months ago.

13-05-2016, 09:16 PM
He goes after next Sat, anything else after two failed league camiaigns says it clear - club is a laughing stock, but we accept it.

Paloschi
13-05-2016, 09:16 PM
GTF Stubbs

Lee Marvin
13-05-2016, 09:18 PM

He should have been gone before I started this thread 2 months ago

When we were on that horrible league run was his time to go. Losing away to Alloa Athletic is when any support i had for him went. He's hopeless.

Why would the BOARD sack AS right now ???
Were all down., Why shouldnt we be??
However we can still win this Donkee of our backs...GET US INTO EUROPE ALAN....Build a team for next year. Its in your hands

Joe
13-05-2016, 09:22 PM
Stubbs out!!!

13-05-2016, 09:24 PM
Don't think hibs will have a choice in the matter, we're a basket case and he'll have offers. Ta ta

Ridiculous if he does considering he's won **** all and can't get us out of a league with a bigger budget than everyone else outside Rangers.

Lovely guy good eye for a player but ***** manager.